Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Dowans Hotel of Speyside

Aberlour, Aberlour, AB38 9LS, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Aberlour

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    A warm welcome with friendly service, beautiful hotel with lovely relaxing atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t feel there was anything missing but got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.

    Attention to detail was excellent while maintaining a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place for quick stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint was I wish the rooms had air conditioning, lack of air circulation in general, summers have been unseasonably warm and sadly don't think this will change.

    Hotel decor was beautiful, rooms were very comfortable and clean, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the view from the front porch, parking was close and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Hotel staff were very friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. The room was very clean. Dining room was nicely decorated, roomy and has a nice view of outside. We walked to the downtown to have a dinner, but we probably should have had a dinner at the hotel and get a better service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Will not find better hotel in area.
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    Great Whisky collection to try different brands . Top cocktails in comfortable lounge . Exellent dinner menu with different specials every day. Great views from Hotel with exellent seating in garden area. Rooms are very comfortable with all you need for a great stay. All the people there without exception are great service with a smile and nothing is to much trouble .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    A welcoming luxurious family-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The whole atmosphere was delightful. Staff were friendly, and the restaurant good. The view from our window was lovely The whiskey room was a particular treat for my husband

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly, welxom8ng and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no provision for hot water in the room, ie a kettle, only a Nespresso machine which is restrictive and unsuitable for my needs. The staff kindly provided small flask of hot water but had I been staying longer I would have had to request a kettle for convenience sake. Also the room was far too hot and airless even with the window open. A fan was provided but I prefer not to sleep with a fan on. I found the dining room too hot.

    The staff were very friendly, welxom8ng and helpful. Decor and ambience tasteful and pleasant and food excellent. Grounds, lovely and a super area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was not to like? The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, bathrooms are gorgeous and functional, the hotel itself has a cocktail bar, whiskey bar and restaurant on site. It’s the perfect place to have a lovely night in after a day of whiskey tasting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Overall not worth the money. Disappointed, so we won't come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too short!! With my 1,68 meters length my feet stick out the bed. My husband even more. And they did not do what we had asked (twin room). The colours inside the building (grey colours) were cold and did not match the "old castle" atmosphere (our opinion).

    The building looks a bit like a castle and the surrounding area and terrace are OK. A luxury feeling it gives you (in first instance). The food was ok, not perfect, a bit disappointing (expected more from this hotel). The bathroom was clean and had enough space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bed were very small. The bathroom however was very good and had recently been renovated. Breakfast was a bit disappointing after the amazing evening meal. My porridge was burnt and we never received an order of toast. We were unable to raise the server to ask for replacements. Once we were served our breakfast no one came back into the room. The breakfast room was understaffed.

    The hotel is set in a beautiful spot and an easy walk to the village. There is a distillery next door and a nice walk to the river and a waterfall. The whisky bar is fantastic and the evening meal was one of the best I’ve had with impeccable service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabolous hotel - great location for whiskey tasting at Aberlour and sighting seeing in and around Aviemore. Delicious dinner and the whiskey room was outstanding. Great room with all the little extra touches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Confortable rooms. Delicious breakfasts and dinners. Enthusiastic and professional staff. Amazing whisky selection. You need to stay at the Dowans Hotel if you are planning to visit the Speyside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing whisky room, great dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whisky room is simply amazing so wide choice, a paradise for whisky fans. We were thinking about to go out to the famous Mash Tun bar, but as we had seen the whisky room we rather remained and it was the best decision. In addition the meals were excellent too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A golden experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to go home!

    The hotel and staff were fantastic! We had booked a whisky holiday to celebrate our Golden Wedding and the bonus was that the hotel had a whisky room which is fabulous. We were able to visit qiute a few distilleries and a fascinating Cooperage. The beach at Lossiemouth was stunning and so was the weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Splitting hairs
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cramped. No space for luggage. Had to lie diagonally in bed as it was short. I’m not tall. Otherwise bed was comfortable. Low water pressure in shower.

    Beautifully finished and very stylish interior modern but with nods to local traditions and local heritage. Lovely bar with nice sofas. Great whiskey snug. Nice view from window. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. I would stay there again. I’d choose a larger room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    This property is excellent and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is excellent and value for money. The staff are outstanding and very helpful. The food was delicious and well prepared. The bed was comfortable. The room was lovely. Lots of lovely lounges to sit on and enjoy a drink and view. Best selection of whiskey! Highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful small castle-type building with a nice whiskey bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant a bit pricy. Aberlour is a very small town, so you don’t have many other options either. Our room was a bit on the cozier side.

    Beautiful small castle-type building with a nice whiskey bar and a good restaurant. Great view and a nice ourside terrace (depends on the weather).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both sisters that own the hotel went above and beyond to help us and continually made sure we were ok Rest of staff also could not have been any nicer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    A great family run business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage for the entrance to the Hotel could be improved and the speed bumps marked more clearly.

    Despite being particulary busy the staff were very helpful and had great local knowledge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful family run boutique hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the room was a bit pricey but can forgive this when you see that the family have renovated the whole building to such a high standard and with great taste. Would have liked a cappuccino at breakfast but was told the machine was not operating at that time.

    Beautiful room in a beautifully renovated building. Very friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Ideally situated for the whisky distilleries in the area. Really nice to see a small family business thriving in what is a very competitive industry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional in every way!! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding historic hotel property set in beautiful Highlands village. The hotel is lovely, rooms are very nicely decorated and everything is well appointed (and immaculately maintained.). There is a bar on site which offers an extensive (seriously extensive) selection of whiskies along with cocktails and the hotel has a dining room with excellent food. The staff is extremely kind, knowledgeable & professional in every way. My only observation is that due to private functions in the evenings the hotel team spends a lot of time rushing about, so it can seem hectic. That didn’t detract from my visit I just mention it as a watch point for any potential guests looking for a quiet, reflective property. But if you are looking for fabulous accommodations in the Scottish Highlands look no further. I know I’ll return to the Dowans Hotel again in the future and will certainly recommend it!! Loved it!! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    We were charmed with The Dowans and Aberlour and look forward to a return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bath we would have preferred more and brighter lighting over the mirror and small individual shampoo/body wash containers in lieu of the hotel chain like large pump dispensers.

    The warm and inviting family owners and the elegant comfort provided throughout. The gracious lounge is an ideal place to spend relaxing in the afternoon or to gather prior to dinner in the excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to room, however not an issue for us, might put others off.

    Great location to the speyside distillery’s. Excellent whiskey lounge with crazy amounts of whiskeys. Room was lovely with great view of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Can't wait to return - beautiful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't fault a thing - and that's unusual for me!

    This hotel exceeded expectations. The staff were fantastic, very friendly, attentive but not overly so, and the cocktails were delicious. The food was great and I love how you can wait in the bar area until your food is ready. The hotel itself is beautiful and the cleanliness was exceptional. Single room is perfect for a business trip single night stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel to my colleagues travelling in the Aberlour area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay and wouldn’t go back in a hurry. Seems more tailored to corporate groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brusque manager/owner (but other staff were nice), rooms small and the room occupied by our friends had a tiny bathroom you could not swing a cat in (so they moved rooms on the second night), and on the first night dinner was accompanied by a large group of whisky tourists, so it was crowded and not at all like a country hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    We loved our time from the moment we drove up and were sad to drive away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would stay in a larger suite next time as they would have a tub

    LOVED this property! This family run hotel is beautifully decorated. We had an exceptional experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, as always.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the price of some of the rooms leave me looking at somewhere else if the hotel is near full as I travel for business and struggle to justify it to my employer.

    Been going to this hotel for the last 15 years under different owners but the Murrays have taken it on to a different level. Good food, friendly staff and beautifully decorated rooms and hotel interior. Whenever I stay in the area I always try to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Relax while taking in scenic views and satisfy your taste buds with a wide selection on the menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had everything you needed, but was a tight squeeze between the sink, shower and toilet. Although they provided a bath rug, the shower would still drain out of the floor pan onto the bathroom floor making a mess. This should be looked into as it is causing damage to the surround floor and door.

    The staff were wonderful with a great sense of humor, even under the conditions of the weather causing many cancellation. This did not stop them providing us the same services as if the place were full. The bar and menu select was vast. The bed was spacious and bedding fresh. The room had a wonderful view of the snow laid hills and there was plenty of coffee items.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small but we did book the cheapest. Breakfast a little disappointing but mainly because we were expecting something special.

    Lovely setting. Truly amazing whisky selection friendly staff. Pleasant dinner. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    After a day skiing we had such a lovely stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a day skiing we had such a lovely stay here. The Staff were lovely and helpful. We got upgraded and our room was perfect with everything you could need. Bathroom had a heated floor, lovely bath and fantastic shower. We had dinner and breakfast and we really enjoyed both. Couldn’t fault our stay and would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Unforgettable stay at the Dowans!!! We extended our stay we loved it so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of a single thing we didn’t like.

    From start to finish, our entire stay was amazing. We stayed in the Aberlour suite and it was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable, loved the tub and bathroom, gorgeous view, top-notch TV options with Netflix and On Demand, the food was phenomenal, excellent location, service impeccable and whiskey selection unbelievable. We actually extended our stay here because we loved it so much. We can’t wait to visit again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised. Will return for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Family owned and operated. Lauren was fantastic. Friendly, accommodating, and made an amazing martini! The facilities are modern and comfortable with an old world charm. Would highly recommend to anyone going to northern Scotland who likes to travel with style.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Feels like home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was an old hunting lodge recently renovated by onsite owners. We stayed 3 nights and purposely wanted to stay in the tiny town of Aberlour. The Dowans is next door to the Aberlous Distillery (excellent tour). The restaurant serves local fare. The most fun and impressive room is the "whisky library". The Dowans is on the edge of town but it only take 10-15 minutes to stroll into town. Definitely will stay again if we get to Speyside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The staff was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful. My wife had a medical emergency and they were so accommodating. We had to take a trip to the hospital in Elgin Saturday night and missed any opportunity to eat. The staff had arranged some sandwiches for us upon our return. In a very stressful situation, the staff went above and beyond to help us. We greatly thank them!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Quality delivered with a homely atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, well trained staff. A welcoming and homely atmosphere which is not always the case in quality establishments. Well done, the balance is excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Great luxury boutique hotel in speyside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel was very nice. It was decorated and appointed very well. The family who runs the hotel was very nice and helpful. The restaurant was great. The food was delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    We loved the Dowans - the negative is that we did not stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we did not stay longer

    We loved the Dowans - the negative is that we did not stay longer!!! Employees, grounds, food, room, bed, linens, shower, etc. etc. all was wonderful!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the warm welcome by owners and staff, the room was just fantastic and the personalised touches included in the room were just so thoughtful. We will definitely incorporate the Dowans Hotel into our next Schottish adventure!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay, with incredible people and a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The family & staff were exceptional in making us feel welcome and comfortable. We consider our stay there a highlight of celebrating our wedding anniversary. The public rooms and our room were really, really nicely done, to a very high standard. The location can't be beat if you want to be in the Speyside area, with its central location near many distilleries, lots of nice walks (including the Speyside Way), and much more. The food and drink were imaginative and very well done. A very beautiful and relaxing place to be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel; strange room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in their nicest room, "The Macallan". The bathroom looked really slick, but was perhaps the worst design in terms of function I've ever experienced. The glass door to the bathroom was frosted except for an enormous hotel logo which was non-frosted--allowing a large, unobstructed view of whomever was sitting upon the toilet. The only place by the sink to put one's toiletries was under the hand soap dispenser and so got things got drenched. It was not physically possible to turn the water on in the shower without actually standing under the shower head, which was quite unpleasant until one got the temperature adjusted.

    Lovely building. Quiet, clean room. Good quality sheets. The food at the restaurant was quite good and they had an excellent selection of single malt scotch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable friendly hotel with great restaurant and bar that feature local specialties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion about the definition of a "double room". Apparently that meant a double bed, not double occupancy, however we were graciously accommodated.

    Hotel has been restored to provide modern and comfortable rooms. It's a short walk into the town of Aberlour and the Aberlour distillery. Staff were very friendly, helpful and provided great service. Whiskey and gin selections were fantastic with an emphasis on local options. Likewise both dinner and breakfast were delicious - great local fare, creative combinations and well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect get-away retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather!

    Wonderful retreat for a relaxing get-away. Very friendly family-run hotel with comfortable rooms and excellent food. The significant investment made by the current owners is evident throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel nestled among distilleries
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a great staff! Came in exhausted from driving and distillery tours, and they got me settled and checked in quickly. Amazing views and beautiful building. Will definitely return and spend some more time here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A relaxing and pleasant upscale stay in the heart of Speyside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the Dowans Hotel was maginificent. From the relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel, to the fantastic rooms, amenities, and stunning views. Located just outside of the main road in Aberlour, the Dowans is more like a retreat than just a hotel. The food is amazing, the staff is great, and unless for some crazy reason you're on a tight schedule or somehow busy, you will have one of the most blissful vacations ever. Also, the Whisky library in "The Still" is something to behold.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous and will defintely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road signs faced away from our direction so we missed the road leading to the hotel, could have signs facing both ways.

    The room was such a surprise, so modern with a coffee machine that worked for both coffee and tea and frothed your milk! Great food and service, highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    We can't wait to visit Scotland and this lovely hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully remodeled manor house in a gorgeous setting in the Speyside area of Scotland. The food was delicious -- by far the best breakfast we had in Scotland! The eggs benedict were sublime. We had two lovely dinners at the hotel and several delicious drams of whisky in their fabulous whisky bar. I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Great staff and a great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the third floor and the room temperature was a little warm and stuffy.

    The breakfast was good and cooked to order. The hotel was close to the things that we wanted to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    A delightful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel in Aberlour just a five minute walk from the Aberlour Distillery. We booked two rooms for our family of four - two adults and two teenagers. The adult's room was recently renovated so had a gorgeous bathroom and very comfortable king size bed with a view out to the front street and gardens. Our kids had an equally comfortable room but the renos hadn't yet been completed in their part of the hotel. Their bathroom was redone and was in fact bigger than ours. They had to share a queen bed which wasn't ideal (two twins would have been better) but that configuration wasn't available to us. The grounds are well kept with seating outside for guests to enjoy. The hotel has two restaurants and a whiskey room which was a nice place to relax and enjoy a drink in. My husband being a Scotch Whisky fan enjoyed looking at the many bottles on display. We enjoyed a full breakfast (included in our room rate) in the morning - it was delicious and a nice way to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    the two daughters who were managing the hotel the days we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if the room had not overlooked the carpark.....

    the two daughters who were managing the hotel the days we were there were professional, chatty, helpful - exactly what is needed in a great hotel The scotch bar is exceptional - if only we had 100 more days we could have tried a few more And the haggis pizza is a winner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were beautiful and well-appointed. They were also spacious, modern, and very comfortable. The staff were kind, thoughtful, and accommodating - they took excellent care of us throughout our stay. I really enjoyed having drinks in the lounge and in the Still Room, their whisky bar. The staff were really knowledgeable about whisky and had excellent taste. This was a fabulous place from which to explore the Speyside Whisky region. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Almost everything.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed there was no lift and no help with luggage and as my son was up a very steep stairs, he found this difficult.

    Almost everything. The staff were lovely and really helpful. Loved the cocktails and the food was really delicious. There

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    I'd stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden wasn't as large as we expected. Still beautiful.

    Absolutely gorgeous room and grounds. Huge selection of scotch to choose from for tasting or enjoying. Worth the price even if you only stay a nite or 2. The food at the restaurant was really great also. Lots of very helpful staff running around everywhere to help you out with any need you have.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great mountain getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not see an elevator but only 1 flight up and porter was available to assist. Americans are spoiled in that department and our first trip abroad but now we know not to overpack a full size suitcase!

    Fabulously located near key distillery tours. Ask for front room with view of mountains. Staff was helpful and friendly. Great food and a die for Still Room with a whisky wall! Loved it😍

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    7* Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really...

    The view was amazing & they have a fanatastic collection of Whiskies..over 500+ varieties ! Everything is upscale & top of the quality, They serve freshly baked Croissants which are amazing. Enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Steep stairs and watery porridge!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife has a mobility problem and we were allocated a room at the top (attic) of the building. One of the flights of stairs was extremely steep and another, had no hand-rail. In fairness, I didn't ask for a low floor room when booking, but I guess I didn't think in this day and age, such a climb would be permitted due to health and safety reasons. Also, on three occasions, at breakfast, my wife asked for porridge made with milk (a menu option). On the first two occasions, her porridge had been made with water (also a menu option). I would have thought that a Scottish Hotel would get such a simple order right first and every time! Otherwise, the food was excellent.

    The ambience of this Country House hotel was marvellous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Top renovation, soon the hotel choice of the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newly renovated rooms with very nice beds. Helpful staff. Really nice whisky room and bar. The restaurant need to step up one more level to be a top recommendation, but still good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    LOVELY HOTEL, BUT NOT FOR FISHERMEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    MANAGEMENT INFLEXIBLE. NO PACKED BREAKFAST OFFERED OR ANY PROVISION FOR EARLY RISERS, SO NOT IDEAL FOR A FISHING HOLIDAY!

    WELL DECORATED, GREAT FOOD AND GOOD WINE LIST. WAITERS AND BARMAN PARTICULARLY FRIENDLY AND ATTENTIVE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Excellent choice in gorgeous Speyside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so genuine and caring and the hotel was just gorgeous. Loved the whisky room, the complimentary breakfast was above and beyond and the 57 restaurant meals well very good. Loved the haggis! The beds were extremely comfortable. Enjoyed the short disatance to all the distilleries and castles. Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful family-run hotel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good about the property & its staff. Bar comfortable. Lovely views. Close to Speyside whiskey distilleries.

    Breakfasts & Dinner were of very high standard in food & service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay in speyside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tights, but everyone could fit!

    The grounds are very well kept. The building is beautifully modernized and we were very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and can aid in arrangements, just ask ahead of time! The food was wonderful, don't miss breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Absolutely Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    What an amazing place! A stunning, family run hotel where you are immediately made to feel part of the family. Lauren and Steph are hilarious hosts, the food is impeccable, and the whisky snug is the envy of any whisky enthusiast. Very tastefully decorated, and a stones throw from the town of Aberlour (and the great distillery). Didn't realise until the last morning there that the windows open from the top, as the room got a little warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The owners were fantastic, the staff attentive and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The owners were fantastic, the staff attentive and helpful in spite of being young (what a lesson for managers everywhere!) and the hotel was delightful. We were running late and worried but Steph (the owner's daughter) not only reassured us of our reservations but recommended we reserve for dinner in their restaurant which was fabulous. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place to explore whisky country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seating us at dinner was odd, it seemed to us. With a nearly empty room, they seated my husband and me next to the only occupied table - where another couple sat just a couple of feet away. We could hear them clearly and vice versa. It was uncomfortably close.

    We had the beautiful Benromach room with a turret that had been turned into a comfy seating area. The room was on the back of the hotel and pretty quiet. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The village itself and the river were beautiful. We could leave the car and walk to the village and along the river.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    An amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough whisky to choose from - look at the piccys, or go to the hotel you'll know Im joking! There is nothing to dislike

    Staff were extremely friendly, and attentive. Location was excellent, for the distillerys. for the golf clubs, and also for a walk into the village. Lunch, breakfasts and dinner the night we had it were excellent with much choice. I will be back with my wife!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing significant. Mirror in bathrooms too low! Minor quibble in what was otherwise a great stay.

    Staff and facilities were excellent. Very friendly and helpful with a great atmosphere. Food in the restaurant was excellent and bar was well stocked with great selection of spirits and a healthy cocktail menu.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was wonderful - staff, room, breakfast etc. A lovely family run hotel that looks like it has just undergone a complete refurbishment. Their whisky room/bar is amazing and I would definitely stay here next time i am in Speyside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    I have never had such a wonderful experience at a hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never had such a wonderful experience at a hotel before. The staff were absolutely lovely! They spent time to visit with us, explain the area, and tell us stories. It was such a personal touch. I will remember this experience forever.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were redecorating works on going but these were stopped at 4.00 pm for the benefit of the guests

    The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was immaculately prepared,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Best hotel I have stayed in for a while
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was an amazing stay :)

    Bed was great, staff were amazing, hotel was well thought out and luxurious. We would definitely come back and stay if we are up this way again. Oh and wait till you see the whiskey room 👍

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    A Let Down at a High Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very snug and the bathroom was tiny. The door had a two inch gap below and since there was a large corporate group being hosted below we were worried that the night would be disrupted. The staff seemed distracted and fairly cold. We found this surprising since we were some of the only guests during the shoulder season. We decided to eat dinner at a local pub which we realized was a good call since the breakfast was fine, but the hollandaise sauce seemed like melted butter. When we checked out, no one inquired about the quality of our stay. It was a disappointment since we had stayed at a wide range of hotels and this was the least hospitable and most disengaged.

    The building and the proximity to the village were great. The villagers were very friendly. The decor was quite glamorous and glitzy -which isn't our style, but I suppose would suit some.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel! Definitely worth staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although there was a top of the range Bosch pod-drink machine, I'd still like to have had the option of a kettle in the room. Machine was a luxury but if staying a few days, I'd like to be able to brew my own drink to my own choice of strengh. Minor point, it's a fab hotel!

    Staff were all fantastic, very pleasant and attentive. Met in the first instance by the friendly, capable owner. Obvious that staff are all well trained. (Nobody said my pet-hate phrase "are youse ready to order?") all courteous, well informed about the menu and happy to chat. Amazing whisky room! Food was lovely. Beautiful setting and luxurious room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Staff were all amazing, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like about the place. Would certainly be back

    Staff were all amazing, very helpful and friendly. Food was to die for. Very stylish and classy decor and feel to it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little on the small side for the price, however it was very well appointed and had a lovely view.

    Staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Food was superb.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    The whiskies collection with more than 400 bottles is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whiskies collection with more than 400 bottles is amazing ! And the castle owned by a family is just awesome when you know that few years ago the place was an orphanage!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a couples retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, staff, surroundings, atmosphere and room all exceeded expectations. Amazing place for a last minute "mini moon" get away. Can't recommend it enough. The whisky snug and cocktail bar were also brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    A jewel in Speyside !
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi temperamental

    Although the room was bijou it was for one person and was fine for a single night. Food and staff very good. Great selection of ales and an extensive selection of whiskies !

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Dowans Hotel of Speyside traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: