Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Downs, Babbacombe 4 stars

Seafront, 41-43 Babbacombe Downs Road, Babbacombe, Torquay, Torquay, TQ1 3LN, United Kingdom

#102 of 124 B&Bs and Inns in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Overpriced. Didn’t honour Genius free drink on check in. Charged for parking. Bar empty every night.

    Location. Views. Breakfast. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a beautifull site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fan in the bathroom didn't work but was not realy a problem as long as we did not close the bathroom door. We mentioned this to the very polite guy who was cleaning the next door room, and he said this will soon be fixed. And the power of the shower could be beter. The are just minor remarks... Nobody is perfect ;-)

    Lovely room with unique seaview and big balcony (at little extra costs). Good and comfortable bed. Fantastic breakfast. Very nice and helpful hosts. Ed certainly knows how to run a hotel! We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location the room was clean and lovely bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location the room was clean and lovely bed Breakfast was one of the best i have had and the food was fresh and lots to choose from Definatley in the notebook to return if in the area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many dogs in the area.

    Food very good, service very good, accommodation very good, staff very friendly and professional, good area, very good places to eat and drink near by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, friendly staff and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was the water pressure in the shower which was very low.

    I liked everything. The location was spot on. The check in and check out was very quick. Overall, completely satisfied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great views, great spot, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded and had a lovely view from our room. The room was compact but well equipped .The location was excellent and there were plenty of facilities close by. Breakfast was well prepared.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel in babbacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ignore the bad reviews of this place, because it is immaculately clean and rooms with fantastic views, staff are friendly and defo stay again, couldn't fault + worth every penny!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing week by the sea.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had an enjoyable 7 night stay at The Downs Hotel between 4 and 11 April 2018. Ed, Kate and the team were warm and friendly and met our needs. Our room – sea facing – was comfortable and had a lovely balcony. The room was spotless, with plenty of tea and coffee and there was even a blanket and bowl provided for our dog. Breakfasts were of a high standard and we ate in the Hotel in the evening twice during our stay – food was very good and reasonably priced. The location was ideal and we took our dog on the beach every day via the little train which was only a couple of minutes walk along the sea front. All in all a lovely Hotel which we’d highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic long weekend. My little pooch loved her trip and I would definitely recommend this hotel 👍
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 2nd Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Such a lovely stay in Torquay..the room, facilities and breakfast were tip top and the staff really friendly...will definitely stay at the Downs again...Thank You 😃

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.4
    Lovely view from the tiny balcony.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor tired furniture totally uncoordinated, tiny en suit with bad finish to it toilet seat with a lump missing crap shower. No free parking.The breakfast was oily my boil in the bag kippers were not very hot (from the menu I thought grilled ) cold plates, very short space of time for breakfast considering it was Sunday !! Happy shopper toast

    Lovely view from the tiny balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable enjoyable mini break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t find anything I’d nit pick at I was quite happy with my pet friendly night away

    The staff were really friendly breakfast was lovely and nice to have a comfortable area where we could bring our dog Nice touches in the room with dog bowl towel and place mat The room was clean well stocked and a good size Parking was limited but we had a space outside the hotel, there is a pay and display directly behind the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    On arrival a member of staff offered to help with luggage and to make a us a hot drink in the bar ar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival a member of staff offered to help with luggage and to make a us a hot drink in the bar area. Really lovely room with a sea view and small balcony. Really good selection of hot drinks in the room. Big bed, shower room clean, lots of towels. Excellent breakfast, such a wide choice of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices and cooked. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Beyond excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were blown away with how accommodating the staff were of our vegan diet. We were given dairy free milk and biscuits in our room, soya yoghurt with breakfast as well as a phone call to ask what we would like for breakfast instead of meat. Such amazing personal treatment to something that usually makes us feel like a pain.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fab, fab , fab highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome, the room was excellent with on suit bathroom , tea/ coffee making facility and tv. The bed was luxurious with crisp white linen. Loved it. Breakfast was fab with anything and everything you could wish for plus specials. Coffee and tea was high quality and the breakfast room had the most fantastic view over Babbacombe Bay. Shops and beach are close by. There are some great local pubs. , takeaways and not to far from Torquay town or st Mary church. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful babbacombe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was cobwebs and the other guests were very noisy late at night, perhaps a polite notice could be left in the 2nd floor rooms reminding other gusets that people are trying to sleep in the rooms below or next to them

    The babbacombe area is very nice, the view was very good, apart from the trees

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Very nice, we will definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not a problem, but we had to eat a little bit earlier than we wanted, and there were only two other couples dining. Please this is not a criticism, but had we known, we would not have had lunchtime sandwiches in a local pub. Next time we come, as we will, we will know!

    very friendly staff, nice to talk with the owners, very helpful staff, lovely room [although we knew we were not getting a sea view) good honest food, and compared to some places we have stayed, very good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    2.5
    Never again!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 sets of stairs to the room plus the cleaning staff NEVER cleaned the carpet. The room had a tiny storage for hanging clothes. The bathroom was very small, just a tiny shower.

    Breakfast that's about it!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful view overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view overlooking the sea. Very friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay very freindly staff . Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great place and very dog friendly, would definitely recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very accommodating with our 2 dogs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely clean room and very comfortable, great breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely clean room and very comfortable, great breakfast very polite welcoming staff , would recommend this place for people with or without pets ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable. Lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking not allowed on balcony. I paid more than expected for my stay and had to pay £10 to park overnigHTC.

    Excellent waitress service at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Ideal for our one night trip - sea view - lovely coastal runs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Excellent bed and bathroom Quiet Gorgeous fresh cooked breakfast to perfection Cosy bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Liked the area but wouldn’t stay in such a small room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room!

    The staff and breakfast were fabulous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great break location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast is great and very good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room very very compact

    comfy bed. balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable. We'll cone again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Sea views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay the view out to the sea was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely and clean and smelt very fresh when we first walked in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Highly recommend and excellent position for the Babbaccombe theatre, right opposite the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent service, lovely sea view , delicious breakfast with loads of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Great view, very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Great view, very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay for Babbacombe Theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small. But clean and presentable

    Close to theatre and sea

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff were excellent and gluten free options for my wife...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and gluten free options for my wife were extensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was exemplary

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Beautifully presented bedroom and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower is low but not a serious problem

    Superb breakfast and friendly and efficient staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing the breakfast time could have been a little later

    How quiet and clean the room was and also all the little touches we had in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel, thoroughly recommended
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was leaving very early in the morning and the hotel premade some croissants and pastries for me the night before so I could take them with me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay and would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was running very hot then freezing cold all the time.

    The hotel was very good very comfortable and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed staying at the Downs and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very feienslyband nothing was to much trouble and excellent food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was excellent and waiting staff very polite. Room was clean and tidy every day . Faultless overall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a very good stay at the Downs and would recommend it to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent, the staff were helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    breakfasts were excellent no parking at hotel used council...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfasts were excellent no parking at hotel used council car park adjacent staff friendly and area clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Edward the owner was very helpful and happy to adjust to our requests. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Rear View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs.

    Breakfast, showers, bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    June vacation As most hotels the need to cram as many people as posible in the hotel results in poor quality rooms where
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room Shower no water pressure . No room ventilation

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    A cozy hotel with a home feel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power shower.

    The owners were lovely and very friendly. Breakfast was really good and organised. Comfortable bed and clean shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing good atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room with Balcony and Sea View 1st Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less air freshener in room

    Very welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48