Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel & Bar 4 stars

Abbey Road, Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR, United Kingdom

#9 of 32 hotels in Barrow in Furness

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 758 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    was a lovely stay would stay again but if we got the same attitude ? never !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rude cleaners attitude !!

    I loved this hotel fantastic beautiful rooms clean, bed really comfortable could not fault the room at all only one thing was no communication? asked for a late check out said all ok ? next thing rude cleaners not happy we had not checked out told them late check out its thought they couldn't get rid of us quick enough? shame spoilt the hotel was great until that !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    It was in good location, close to town, massive bed, sound...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old windows which we had difficulty to get open, we were staying at one of the hottest days in summer, so quite hot inside too (no air conditioner, but had portable fan in room).

    It was in good location, close to town, massive bed, sound proof considering that there is bar downstairs and we were staying at 1st floor, very good shower. Good breakfast which had to be paid separately (10£ per person, but worth the money)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay in Barrow and could hav enjoyed another night there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could be a bit more prepared with a Barrow street map, tourist attraction details and more accurate with advising on walking distances.

    The location was excellent, in the centre and close to attractions such as the Town Hall, Maritime Museum and coastal walks. Good weekend retreat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Was excellent, friendly staff, half good food and nice little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the night in the vaults was yummy - steak was a little undercooked for my liking but I suppose people have different ideas about it so I dismissed this! Breakfast wasn’t great though, very dry and the bacon was a bit hard!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent and worthy of a second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows could have been in better condition and open more. There was no air conditioning and due to hot weather the room became very hot.

    The room was very large and decorated to a high standard. The food was great and very well priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    It was good for what we needed it for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has some kind of issue as to where our room was situated as the room thermostat was always reading 30 degrees sometimes 29 and up as far as 31/32and it was like a sauna. Not sure if under our room was the kitchen/laundry room but it was unbelievably far too hot and they can only give you a fan to try to cool you down but that just made things worse. So no sleep whatsoever for the 2 days so a bit annoying. We mentioned this at the reception and they know about the rooms and the problems they have but can’t do anything about it as the hotel won’t put air conditioning in so you just have to deal with it basically.

    Room was nice a spacious, bed was good. Breakfast was good, enough to choose from not loads but enough. Also the dinner menu was good too if you were eating there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    We accidentally booked this hotel, thinking that it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location :(

    We accidentally booked this hotel, thinking that it was located in the Lake District. As it turned out, it is actually quite a fair bit away from all the tourist attractions. We managed to visit a few place by public transport so not all was lost. The room and overall quality of the hotel was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a really nice stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t open windows so was hot. And breakfast is pricey. Had tea in restaurant was really nice breakfast not so good. Poach egg was hard and not running hash brown over cooked sausage poor quality

    Had a really nice stay here at the weekend. We ate at the restaurant for tea food was really good. Room was lovely. Bar was really good. Good selection of beers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night from downstairs bar.

    Lovely hotel, rooms were a great size and very comfortable, car park was also right outside and was located right next to all shops and bars so was a great location also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Damp damaged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp damaged walls and no conditioner room damp and dirty with other people's hair everywhere. Bar staff very slow service

    Parking was good and convenient reception staff great and loverly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A hotel with a difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives can be shared, flawless from check-in to check-out.

    Everything was perfect, lovely building with character and the true feel of a hotel with a history. Centrally located, easily accessible parking facilities at no extra cost. Comfortable two night stay, friendly and very professional staff. A venue I would not hesitate at staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Nice enjoyable stay with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get the heating turned down. But the receptionist was kind enough to give us her spare fan for the room

    It’s one of the best hotels we’ve stayed in. So friendly staff. Good value for money on the food and bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    On top floor overlooking side of roof so no view except for a seagull roosting on chimney..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable and woke up each morning.fissapointed at shower only room discription gave impression all rooms had a bath...

    Didn't have breakfast in the hotel...not. Breakfast person....thought it was a bit expensive at £10 a person... Would have added an extra £60 on to the bill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The hotel is excellent, all the area, We would not stay in the Lakes now we have found this hotel its only half an hour to Windermere. This hotel with its high standard & great price We don't think anywhere in the lakes could beat it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Went too quickly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the hotel is right on the corner of a junction, not in the best place.

    The rooms were lovely, the shower was super soft! There was plenty to do around the area to keep us busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.0
    Disappointing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking an executive room for 100 notes you’d expect something special... dusty room, wallpaper coming from the wall, small bathroom, the bar staff empting the glass bottles into the bin at midnight, having our small anniversary request totally ignored !

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing room & breakfast. Dirty hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what we expected(website extremely misleading) Dirty, stained bedding and noisy room due to bottle bins and staff all night. Extremely disappointed after paying over £110 for the supposedly better of the rooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some dust and cobwebs up high in rooms just my wife’s feed back as she is ocd and has worked in cleaning hotels a number of years ago

    Bed was comfy had a great nights sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, stunning room, amazing price, great stay,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just a tad too hot, it had air con though! Just wasn’t cold enough for me

    Beautiful hotel, stunning room, amazing price, great stay, we picked this hotel so that it was near South Lakes Zoo for our visit the following morning. It’s super close. Can’t fault it!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Executive room my a**
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a nice old building but that’s about it

    It’s just terrible. So dated. The room slanted to one side like it was on a hill. Facilities poor and the food was atrocious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    A very chilled stay thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing for me was there were a couple of lads in the bar being childish but when I spoke to the staff about it they were aware of the situation.

    Lovely hotel great staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    If you want a relaxing stay, look elsewhere!! Shockingly bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy!! We booked a "superior room" and were put on the 1st floor above a noisy pub with very loud music until the early hours both nights. 2nd night complained about very loud music at 4AM in the next room, young night porter "had a word" but still noisy so checked out at 4.30AM and drove the 3 hours home after no sleep!!! Ruined our weekend!! Promised a call from the manager next day, 3days on, still no call and I'm not expecting one. Worst "hotel" I've stayed in by far!!

    Not very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The Duke of Edinburgh was an excellent base for a Barrovians long overdue return to Barrow. Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No particular issues for us. It met expectations fully.

    As returning Barrovians, this hotel had particular memories, not least of which for my parents who had there wedding reception there 56 years previous. The Hotel has recently been modernised and the hotel rooms and bathrooms in particular were excellent. The cooked breakfasts were very good. Our party had a multitude of variations and all were served quickly, hot and well cooked to our satisfaction. The staff were very friendly and attentive and Josh in particular looked after my octogenarian parents needs extremely well. The location is ideal being on the edge of the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners were sat around looking you up and down as you passed them on the floor we was staying at, all staring at you aswell which make us feel uncomfortable. They were sat around on the sofa on the lift which mades is feel like we then didn't want to leave the room to go and get food downstairs, every time we passed to then go outside they were staring so we didn't go back to the hotel room until late at night. Never felt so uncomfortable.

    Very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Loved the Rooms, great breakfast, very helpful staff spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives whatsoever.

    Bed so so comfortable best Hotel bed yet! Refurbished to a very high standard and the attention to detail was excellent. Staff very helpful and kind in particular Madison in Receiption. We would recommend this Hotel which is so conveniently situated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Most of the stay was nice apart from when requested late...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    been woke up at 7am by phone calls when requested late check out for reason of arriving late at 10pm still got charged full price of room .and also being disturbed 10 mins before late check out by cleaners ..due to paying extra for this think it's in acceptable ..overall staff were nice tho.

    Most of the stay was nice apart from when requested late check out due to not arriving till 10pm , which we had payed for we still got disturbed with phone call at 7am and 10 mins before late check out by cleaners apart from this tho was overall nice stay thanks ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    nice stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    staff very helpful bed was comfi breakfast vey nice and hot and plenty breakfast staff couldnt do anymore than they did would deffo stay again when in barrow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    We had a family emergency and had to check to out, we would...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family emergency and had to check to out, we would like a refund for 1 night, I work in the hotel industry and I know when a emergency occurs a refund should be issued

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Not up to the standard we were expecting considering the costs of the rooms/breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on both days was poor, the 2nd day inedible. We complained and the waitress said the chef was new. New to what - a kitchen? The twin room our sons stayed in smelled of stale cigarettes - considering it's a non smoking hotel was not good.

    The showers in the rooms were excellent. Hotel was close to local amenities and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay helped by the helpfullness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tried the eggs benedict for breakfast and it was pretty awful aswell as cold when it arrived,my husband ate his full english breakfast and said it was nice. We were in a hurry to go so I just had the toast .

    Very helpful friendly staff especially reception ,manager and bar staff. stored our bikes for us with no problem to them .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok and served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downstairs. Receptionist that checked us in. Food was not great - vegetables were not cooked and they did not have what was on the menu.

    Thought it would be a bit nicer with better food and decor downstairs that was on a par with the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, great accomodation, great food. Great place to rest whilst in Barrow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly musty smell in bathroom. The speed of the lift.

    Beds very comfortable, staff very accomodating, room (although not big) and amenities were better than expected. I stayed in room 302

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't get booked in for dinner as they had quite a few large parties in. bed room was like a harry potter room.

    hotel car park was straight across road and parking permit was supplied. bed was very comfy. room was clean and bathroom was lovely with the high ceiling. the hotel is bang in middle of the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, frosty reception, Good bar and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted I'm a frosty manner by the receptionist, not told how anything works or where to go, felt almost as if we not really welcome. Breakfast is a extra 10 pounds per head, which is ridiculous as there is a Wetherspoons 1 minute down the road which charges £5.20 for a large breakfast

    The restaurant in the hotel was amazing, Really good food. The bed was comfortable and there was more then enough coffee and sugar. All the little details were taken care of

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nicely decorated and in keeping with the history of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is across the street and may be difficult if elderly or carry a lot of luggage.

    Very nicely decorated and in keeping with the history of the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    ok stay but could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very cold and the bathroom was not as clean as expected with a lot of dust on the floor surfaces and all bath sealant cracked

    staff and location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spacious rooms and a big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road right next to the hotel so fairly loud even though on the 3rd floor. Only one really slow lift too which was difficult when lots of people needed to use it.

    Lovely spacious rooms and a big bed. Rooms were clean and to a good standard

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The hotel was ideally located for our needs as we were there visiting family.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only used the bar once as they didn’t stock my drink, which I found surprising as Barcardi is a popular drink, so I spent my money in other bars.

    The room was plenty big enough for two people, I did think having a sofa in the room was a waste of space, but having an iron and ironing board is very useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    For £90 a nite the executive room was tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £90 a nite the executive room was tiny. No luxury shower or bath. Was quite disappointed at the room. Did go any query it but they said it was the right room. If that was the best room they had for that money I'm going else where

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay at the Duke of Edinburgh and would thoroughly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didnt like about this hotel and our stay.

    The room was spacious and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful. Food was excellent and the facilities in the hotel were perfect for us. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Large comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing cold when we arrived and when we woke up in the morning. Shower needs a proper enclosure as the floor of the bathroom got soaked with water when showering.

    Large comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park! Being 100 metres away & pouring with rain we struggled with our luggage only to be told you need to go back to your car asap (like now!) to display the parking permit as it's council run & you may get fined!

    All of it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    staff go out of their way to resolve issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loud noise coming from our cupboard in room think it was the boiler had to move rooms. ordered steaks and had to send them back could not chew them.

    staff go out of their way to resolve issues.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    The room was clean, well-appointed and comfortable, and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, well-appointed and comfortable, and although located at a busy road junction, was quiet. The free parking was in a private car park across the road. The restaurant meal was good with a wide choice of dishes. I only eat a light breakfast but that was fine with plenty of choice and freshly cooked pastries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice surprise but cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To cold , thermostat in the room for gas style central heating . Radiator valves control knobs had been removed meaning the radiator was turned down making the thermostat useless. Complained to management and was told most people complain it's hot in there but the weather had turned cold and we were cold all night . We left early the next morning as we were fed up being cold. It's ok as we will not be staying there again as we had no choice to turn the heating up or down . I see the removal of the valve knobs and not being able to turn the heat up for over a hundred quid a night is a p*ss take .

    Good size very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Huge luxury rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge luxury rooms! Staff extremly friendly and rooms very clean. In a very good location and was also good night out for drinks. Loved it that much already booked another stay 😁

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is diagonally opposite the hotel, and we didn't find any space to stop the car in front of the hotel to unload luggage. We arrived during heavy rainfall, so we all got drenched by the time we walked from the parking space to the hotel. If there was some facility to allow for that, it would make the experience much better.

    The cleanliness and space of the rooms, the decor of the hotel and the friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Overall very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal could have been better but the service was excellent

    Breakfast excellent, evening meal not so, staff seem friendly and always willing to help. Very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. Stains all over the carpets, walls in need of a good wash and window sills had a huge crushed moth and flies. Really not worth even the discount price of £95... not including breakfast!! Unless you want a drink, there's nothing in the area worth seeing, you have to drive elsewhere to the nicer parts of the lakes.

    The bed was comfortable, breakfast nice and short walk to restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    excellent value and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    seagulls but thats a barrow thing

    did not have food however the team were very helpful and everything was very clean. the room was decorated to a very high standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    We were upgraded to a larger room for a very reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is less than desirable when visiting the Lake District. We were hoping for a nice setting but made the mistake of booking a hotel on the outskirts of town.

    We were upgraded to a larger room for a very reasonable price extra that also included free breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.6
    Town centre hotel nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy at night due to location. Room dusty and dirty. Looked like surfaces had recently been wiped with wet cloth simply moving dust. Over priced obviously driven by Wind Farm industry.

    Staff helpful even when I checked in late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    A bit disappointing as my room was in need of an up-date
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was tired in need of an up-date

    I've stayed at this property 3 times first on ground floor room excellent 2nd time on 1st floor - not as good but ok 3rd time on the 2nd floor - room was tired in need of an up-date

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant staff welcome on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the seagulls waking me up at 3am

    Pleasant staff welcome on arrival Room was comfortable Breakfast was "really good" Hotel was ideally located for the purpose of our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Great place for a short getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't really have anything to moan about to be honest. :)

    Good location for local amenities, the bar in the hotel had a great atmosphere at night, the basement restaurant was great. Food cooked brilliant, lovely decor. Onsite car parking was easy to find and get to. The location of the hotel set a good base for us to visit the local attractions as they where all within a close locality - The abbey, the maze, the safari zoo, the train museum, the huge park, all within a 10 minute drive. Had a lovely time here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Good clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows. Only one opened 1/2 way. Not air conditioning. Just a fan in the room. No entertainment on site

    Bed really comfy. Room clean and tidied daily. Toilet and bathroom clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Definitely recommend this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only draw back was the heating in the room, although the room did have temperature control console it didn't work and given that it was an absolutely scorching day we had hoped that there might be air conditioning. However on the up side we did have a fan in the room that seemed to do the job

    My girlfriend and I stayed at the Duke of Edinburgh for one night after spending the day at Windermere, we arrived at 8pm. I was so happy to find the check in process very easy and very quick, we even got our parking free just opposite the hotel without any hassle. The bedroom was very spacious and we had a lovely deep bath in the bathroom with all the needed bath products. The stand out feature in the room had to be the very large and very comfortable bed. The staff were absolutely fantastic as we ate our dinner in "The Vault" section of the restaurant, the food was outstanding perfect portions and very reasonable prices. The decor of the restaurant was cosy and kitch I absolutely loved it. The check out in the morning was as hassle free as the check in I would 100% recommend the hotel to anyone that's visiting barrow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Not in the Lake District !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is NOT in the Lake District despite coming up in a search for hotels in the Lake District. The area is very oppressed and even the staff told us there was nothing of interest or anything to see here ! This hotel is at least a 40 minute drive from the Lake District. Apparently you should book direct with the hotel if you want breakfast otherwise it is £10 per person per night and although it was nice, it was not worth that much. I found a hair in my breakfast half way through it, I pointed it out to the staff, they just took the plate away she did apologise but I feel they should have refunded me for that days breakfast as a basic part of good customer service. The hotel is on a very busy crossroads which was very noisy all night and seemed to be a favourite with boy racers and the parking is off site and across the road next to the station parking. We felt this could compromise the security of our car especially as there is a sign saying it's the hotels car park and the permit we had to display on the dash board had our stay dates and times printed on it. This hotels position was not what I expected.

    Good food, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely weekend away with friendly and polite staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit of a let down for the hotel. Also the car park not being joint to the hotel is a bit bizarre. Would be better if the car park was next to hotel and not across the road

    The room was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    The room was very good value for money paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old windows were covered with new windows that would not open for fresh air

    The room was very good value for money paid. Very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommended, would definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely and helpful, was nice to feel so welcome especially as I was traveling alone. The room was great, nice and big, very clean and modern and the wifi was pretty good too. Breakfast was also very good. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked an executive room and from the pictures was lead to believe the bathroom had a bath. It looked more like a bathroom for someone with a disability with handrails and the cupboard in the bathroom had a shower or bath chair in it. When my partner spoke to reception he was told it was an executive room!! The view was of the kitchen extraction unit. Not happy, very misleading pictures on website

    Staff were all lovely, food was nice and large selection of drinks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no thing to complain about at all enjoyed our stay completely

    room was excellent, very good value and the bed was very comfy. food served in the vault restaurant was excellent and very reasonabley priced as long with the drinks. would definitely return to this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.3
    would not recommend, not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of staff interaction, our room was plain, the hotel information booklet was hidden away and untidy. Our bedroom was next to the outside the air con machines which were loud, bed was smaller than stated online, and it felt tired,and neglected. the Bathroom was for guest with accessible needs but lacked the care for guests who did not require this facility. Breakfast was not worth £10 and the check out was poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was completely different than what seen on the website, nothing of that standard, not expecting to get exactly the same room but the one we got was small, worn out with holes in curtains, stains on carpet, dirty walls and old furniture.

    Mattress

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast horrible ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff ... awful ... breakfast completely rubbish poached eggs rock hard toast wet thru one really small bacon ..terrible

    Reception n housekeeping

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a four star hotel. The staff were nonchalant as to weather you were staying or not. The hotel had a cheap feel to it with the bar styled like a noisy pub. The restaurant was really noisy and the service wasn't very good. I felt that the hotel is vastly overpriced for what it is and it could do with a really good clean. I would not stay at this hotel again. The hotel is also poorly located and is situated in a very noisy and non descript part of Barrow-in-Furness. It's not at the standard the hotel is attempting to market itself as on the internet. We booked because there was an offer on up to 30% off and we were visiting the surrounding area. If you want a break in the Lakes, don't stay here. I still feel robbed and definitely wouldn't pay full price to stay here. There's nothing special or superior about this hotel.

    The bed was reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist wasn't at all friendly....if you take on a position in customer service then you should learn to give a little welcoming smile. Room was a little dusty especially the kettle. We stay between at the hotel on the 5th may for 2 nights....milk was out of date by over a week, even when house keeping came they still didn't replace it so no teas or coffees for us!!

    Bar and restaurant staff were amazing, so friendly and literally couldn't do more for you. The receptionist however was miserable....never smiled once!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast not included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in a bathroom that was very big in size. Also no complimentary breakfast when booking through booking.com and was told on check out that if you book through the hotel that the breakfast is included for the same price!

    Ned was comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great stay at Duke of Edinburgh
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very powerful.

    Room was spacious, staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Bed was really comfortable, had a great nights sleep. Will definitely stay again, recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location within 2min walk of Barrow Station
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just the room temperature....too hot at 25/26degrees sometimes...and despite info in room on how to adjust...this didn't seem to work so had to open windows to bring down to suitable temp. Otherwise all excellent

    Lovely menu & excellent food & service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Clean, very comfortable, great facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travelled for business on short notice and the price I paid was an additional 50% on top of what it would have been if I was booking next-day (both days mid-week) -- this seemed quite extreme.

    Clean, very comfortable, great facilities. Very impressed with the room. The bar in the hotel is exceptional; the breakfast they serve was excellent too. Would very happily stay again, however would certainly look for better deals first. Colleagues stayed at a local hotel that looked equally nice for half the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    3.3
    Poor experience unfortunately...first and last time!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was very close to the wall and was therefore extremely uncomfortable to use it The room floor was creaking and i was disturbed several times by people walking outside and around the room as it was at the entrance to the floor..the creaking floor was the culprit The shower had no enclosure so the water was all of the floor after a bath The basin was clogged so took me 10-15 to shave ( waiting for the dirty water to drain) I wouldn't stay there again

    Bed was comfortable Iron provided

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A fantastic hotel as a base for visiting the neighbouring Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you're in a 1st floor room the noise from the bar can be quite loud late evening but that said it was a bank holiday weekend so understandable and not a major issue.

    The rooms were exceptionally clean and spacious. My partner and I were made to feel very welcome by the staff and we would highly recommend this property to friends and family as a base for visiting the surrounding Lake District.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    3.3
    Never again for that price
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 180 pound ..for 2 nights that apparently should have been over 300... the hotel was old ..rooms were small an noisy... it smelt...in the middle of a scruffy centre... nothing to do nearby... completely missold property by booking.com

    The food in the restaurant was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: