Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelling Light Apartments @ The Edge 4 stars

Clowes Street, Manchester City Centre, Manchester, M3 5NA, United Kingdom

#89 of 112 Holiday rentals in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 apartment reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    It was a good stay just pissed of about the overcharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged £40 for parking which i clearly asked not for and she said i couldnt get my money back i ddnt like this and it felt like she does this to everyone and found dirty knickers under the bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    me and my partner last minute booked this apartment - it was well in our budget and exceeded our expectations I couldn't fault the apartment or the hosts one bit. the apartment has everything you need and is in a brilliant location. the car park is secure and makes you feel confident about leaving your car over night. I will definitely be back! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Average, on air bnb for the same price you get a lot more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm. Towels were not very soft. No wifi. Furnishings are dated.

    Easy communication with host. Location close to Manchester Victoria station. Powerful shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Not going back to this place again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host decided to give mobile phone instructions on how to get the key when I arrived, alone, tired and handling luggage, rather than personal greeting at the property. It would be hopeless if someone has no mobile phone, or the phone is running out of battery arriving late at night. Only 2 ceiling lights in the bathroom, and one not working, reducing visibility by 50%. Loose tiles inside the shower - dangerous! Only one bedside light which did not work. TV not working. Again the hosts gave instructions over the mobile phone expecting the guests to sort out the control which did not work, rather than making sure in advance after the last guests departure that the TV control was working. Effectively, that's wasting guests time to sort out the TV control, while the host was not providing the expected maintenance service before guests' arrival. PVC sofa very well worn. blinds are worn and part missing. many lightbulbs were not working. Each mobile phone call from host was either gave instructions on how to get the key, or how to fix the TV, not once did anyone ask if I found the place in good order. They are more interested in when I would be leaving the next day and emphasized that I must leave before 11am. The final mobile phone call came just after 9am in the morning which I missed, then they followed up with a text telling me to ensure to leave the key as I found it. - without even one word saying that they hoped I had a good stay! Contact was only by mobile phone calls and not sure what would happen if the guests have no mobile phone or no battery on the mobile phone.

    It was just on top of my meeting place for the following day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay again ever!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything! The host was abrupt and frankly rude, the apartment was not as expected- Needs updated and a better check-in system, the rug in the living area was grotty and covered in burns, furniture was generally old and tired, getting into the apartment was made very stressful when it didn't need to be, all I needed was the instructions of where to get the key instead I was made to call the host several times and given lectures about everything and made to feel stupid, then sent to another apartment as the first one was not liveable, the instructions on how to get there were poor and I ended up lost upset and soaked! A male host spoke to me who was lovely and gave very clear directions immediately, just wish I had spoken to him sooner! I think he should deal with the bookings as he has much better people skills , I ended up not staying in either apartment and paying another huge amount of money to stay somewhere I felt was safe and clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    It was a great place to stay but could and should have been much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WiFi £9.92 handling charge for my debit card None of the appliances had been PAT tested Old tech/ TV Complicated process to get the key/ garage entry

    Perfect location, the apartment itself was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    The location was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer handling was worse, sounds like I was dealing with some school teacher asking me thousands of questions before arrive. When I arrived found no one on the property she told me over the phone to find the key in secret place.

    The location was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    The apartment is in a very good location, 5 minutes walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the apartment is very overpriced. That is the only negative side to it. It’s a little bit dated and could do with a freshening up for the price you pay for it. Was disappointed in what it was when we paid £200 for one nights stay.

    The apartment is in a very good location, 5 minutes walk to the MEN arena and a 5 minute walk to the Centre. The building block is very clean and secure and the area is very nice. Very spacious with an open plan style and the balcony is lovely. Lots of facilities in the kitchen and lots of storage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing and not worth the hassle or money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Process for key collection was stressful and I was unsure what was going on with the parking. I thought it was all sorted when confirmed with booking.com but that was not the case. It wasn't sorted until days later. The apartment itself is in a nice building but the bed / TV / stereo etc are beyond dated! Very poor quality towels and bed linen, and bring your own bottle opener! And extremely poorly stocked bathroom amenities. Almost empty hand soap, half a roll of toilet paper, empty shampoo dispenser and what smelled / felt like hand soap in the shower gel container.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.3
    Sub let property - avoid as may not be safe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a sub let property so avoid! There was no fire safety equipment, and given that it's sublet, I have reservations of it being insured properly. Also gaining access was very challenging as a third party person gives you instructions. Overall experience is rather concerning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    This was a last-minute booking after having the run around...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hear what other reviewers are saying about this apartment, yes it would benefit from a little revamp and a bit of TLC but its manageable and actually better than the online photos suggest.

    This was a last-minute booking after having the run around and then dumped by my first-choice venue. I booked this apartment and within 15 mins I was in the apartment and settled in. It couldn’t have been easier. The location is truly second to none. A 1 min walk and you’re on Deansgate the heart of Manchester City Centre with all its attractions. Yes I would book this apartment again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    4.2
    Great location, shame it's so shabby and reeks of cigarettes
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It reeked of stale cigarette smoke overlaid with nasty airfreshener throughout, to the point it made me nauseous . Shabby in serious need of refurbishment.The sofa was filthy, the valence on the bed was dirty. The bedding old. It was not a place to eat in, the toaster would have been at home at a dump,:aged,greasy, rusty and dirty. The microwave was not clean either. The mosaic tiled shower base had loose tiles scattered around. Graffiti had been scored into the wood shelf int tne lounge.The bathroom was tired the grout was fungused. the walls were weirdly painted over but not right up to the ceiling. Kim had said she'd had trouble with people and parties in the flat. The signing in was ridiculous.. we got 'talked through on the phone' there was no keycard for the garage or to get back into the garage. The keys were on a chain dangling from the letter box . I was asked if I wanted to leave them there!!The stay was deeply unpleasant and not much difference to the price we paid for an aparthotel. We left as early as possible and breakfasted elsewhere

    the location. the granite worktop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    The Edge is a great location but do not use Travelling light apartments, the most uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is in serious need of a refurb. It is clean but flooring and paint were full of stains. The grout on the tiling is disgusting.The blinds are absolutely with thick dust and discolouration. The furniture does look poor on the website, lacking in both quality and style but thought beyond that so long as comfortable, it wasnt!!!. We used to stay at the Edge years ago and whilst it was always amazing this particular apartment let it down. Most uncomfortable bed i ever slept in, really cheap bed linen & towels for not so cheap price. Not the usual Edge Experience in terms of luxury, but location is still brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice, comfortable if slightly dated apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was great but booking process was awkward, felt like I was being interrogated and that I was trying to convince light apartments to take my booking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are privately rented so keys cannot be obtained from reception. A very helpful lady will call you and tell you we're the key is hidden. Very late check in at the apartment.. if you want to arrive before 3pm you have to pay £15 cash to the cleaner, so the NCP is cheaper. I have stayed at both the apartments and they both need maintenance in the bathrooms as they are run down. We did have a scary incident when a complete stranger put their hand through the letterbox and his explanation was he thought the key was on a chain for him to get in!! Security arrangements and key collection and drop off need to be improved !!

    The lady who runs this apartment is so helpful and always on had in there is an issue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.7
    Ok stay in Manchester centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a hotel booking, you are essentially renting an apartment off someone. We had a long list of instructions to follow which where easy enough but felt like you was breaking some rules and not meant to be there. For example after a certain time if you arrived late you had to wait for someone to open the front door to follow them in. I was also instructed not to approach desk as they where nothing to do with booking. I had no issues its just a matter of personal preference. I also ended up paying 55 quid more than i thought i was going too for the night by the time all the extra fees for things like parking has been added on. If i wasn't desperate for a room i probably would have cancelled and stayed in radisson for the same cost

    The location was fantastic, the apartment was also very nice and had the wow factor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    4.6
    Luxury and customer service in short supply
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meet and greet from the manager/owner; the forced parking facilities; the lack of key cards to access the building and the garage; the shower/water pressure for an apartment of this quality; the state of the shower tray with mosaic tiles lifting; the lack of comfort of the bed; the cleanliness of the linen - it wasn't dirty but did not smell fresh; the sand paper like towels; the noise of people from above and walking past the apartment; the television from the 90's; the general tiredness of the decoration; the rust appearing on the bottom of the radiators; the broken half leaf entrance door which had clearly been forced at some time; the noise of the running stream outside the apartment which wakes you up several times during the night; the owner's refusal to refund parking charges when you decide that parking is not necessary - because it had been organised; requests for invoices to cover the cost of parking charges ignored; 4 star prices on 1 star accommodation - not a great experience and would definitely not use this apartment again.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    Perfect location, expected more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities weren't great, old tele, needed to transfer scart lead from tele to DVD when changing use, shower facilities not great (no power, tiles loose). Invoice was asked for and not received. Paid £100 more than quote due to parking and extra fees. These were taken out of account without a full understanding and confirmation of what they were. Not given key card to the main building which meant we weren't allowed in to apartments after 18.00. This was sorted once phone call was made.

    Location was good, lots to do close by. The room was comfortable and clean. Main building was nice to stay in and parking was secure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    3.3
    Not that great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    no WiFi, no aircon, just one chair on the balcony (no table), non-working TV-set left in the studio-flat while another one din't have the instruction manual, drinking ware not really clean, no tea towel to dry dishes, no dish cloth either, clutter in the hall way closet, several light bulbs defect, especially the non-functioning light bulb in the bath room above the mirror really annoying as there was only light above the shower

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.9
    NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful apartment weird setup gap missing from front door, dusty, dirty and not secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Best stay ever, amazing location, massive appartment, lovely helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The balcony view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    2.9
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was disgustingly dirty. The administration for the booking could only be described as a nightmare

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    comfortable and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the balcony were amazing and the apartment was top class

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    clenliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    awkward parking

    clenliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Spacious apartment, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a proper check in service. Had to call a number to check in.

    Spacious room, large shower, big balcony. Felt at home. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Apartment Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, great view and very central to everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.4
    The lady we booked with was un aware of our booking.
    • Couple

    The man on reception was horrid! he needs to pack in his day job and find something he enjoys doing!>..... anything to make a change on that face that looks like a slapped arse!

    The lady we booked with was un aware of our booking. we waited one hour before we were able to enter our room. However it looked as it said on the description and we had a comfy stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.6
    Stayed here for 1 night, as we were in Manchester for a Xmas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little cold- but it was December

    Stayed here for 1 night, as we were in Manchester for a Xmas party! Great location and had everything we needed! Check in was not complicated at all, simple one call to find the number of the apartment! Would use again

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    3.3
    Location near the conference venue, The Lowry Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The apartment was really dirty, Bedroom carpet was full of stains. Under the bed, there were some plastics and wooden pieced. Night light was broken. The freeze doesnt work. And finally the lady in charge, Mrs Kim Richards phoned me severeal times since I booked. She phoned also to my home in Spain thrice. I anoyed a lot and my amily too. Awful service and apartment.

    Location near the conference venue, The Lowry Hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    4.6
    Nice apartment .
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Landlady ignorant and arrogant. Only interested in if you have enough money in account to pay . Then takes more than you agreed to pay when you booked it on booking. Apartment stank .

    Nice apartment . Best location.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    3.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check in process was laborious, had no idea what I was supposed to do as kept losing reception. No-one to meet us and assist. Hidden costs on an expensive enough night. Bed is absolutely dreadful. Towels and bedding poor quality. Shower disgusting. Whole flat needs up-grading. TV 100 years old. Oven so dirty I couldn't face using it. Very very upsetting as really looking forward to my break. I will never return. Complete rip-off.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    10
    Secure parking, the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Secure parking, the location was great. Usually book hotel when I travel from New Forest to watch Man Utd game. But the apartment was a lovely change having flexibility of nit having to rush to breakfast and having your own kitchen was great. Will be using again.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Lovely apartment with all the kitchen essentials - tea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely apartment with all the kitchen essentials - tea, coffee, sugar and ice cubes!...

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    4.2
    The owners attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners attitude

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: