Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Edgemoor Country House Hotel And Restaurant 3 stars

Haytor Road, Bovey Tracey, TQ13 9LE, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Bovey Tracey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff, excellent food, exceptional care for our dog who shared a gated garden area with another, was also given a dog bowl filled with treats and a tennis ball. She has the ball and we have fond memories of this hotel. Would not hesitate to recommend. Convenient location for country walls and close to Parke.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first time we have booked in for an evening meal. Unfortunately this did not impress any of us. To highlight a couple of the meals the trio of sausages was extremely greasy and the fish (in the fish and chips dinner) contained an overcooked very small fish! Both could be better.

    A very comfortable overnight stay. The staff were helpful and welcoming and the visit was fully enjoyed by all of us. The breakfast deserves a mention. First class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming and understanding in that my colleagues were on the road and would have been just too late to order food. They suggested pre-ordering and this was done. My colleagues arrived and we enjoyed a very nice meal. Beds very comfy, accommodated an early breakfast too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great pet friendly rooms. Exceptionally friendly staff - special mention for James our waiter who was extremely attentive and really nice. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff very welcoming,great location .Excellent steak at dinner , delicious breakfast good service throughout. Knowledge staff went out of their way to be helpful. Very comfortable room enjoyed our stay very much a real Country House feel .Would definitely book again.Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner service was not on high level.

    The property itself and the rooms are really cozy and nicely decorated. The location is splendid and the garden all green and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an evening meal which was disappointing and breakfast could be improved. Not great quality materials were used except for the eggs which were delicious. Bread was the usual sliced, packet stuff and the croissants were poor.

    The situation of the hotel is excellent. We were in an annexe which was quiet and surrounded by trees. We even had a small terrace with a table and chairs which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being a converted school, rooms are of random sizes and in various states of quality. Creaky and uneven floors, paper thin walls and an actual "bad reminder of school" feel added to what seemed like a very basic stay.

    The breakfast was outstanding. A group of us needed to leave before the official breakfast start time, this was not a problem for the team. This was also greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more diverse menu would be good. Everything else was up to and beyond our expectations.

    We got, by chance, Room 10. It's large with an enormous 4 poster bed and massive bathroom which has a large shower and seperate big bath. Furnishings are in keeping with the history of the property. Bedding is of a good quality and a decent wall-mounted tv is fitted (not that you'll want to spend your time watching tv). The restaurant is relaxed and the menu is ok but a little limited. Food itself is very good. The bar and lounge is spacious and we can recommend the cream tea! Overall, a good value break can be had here and we would return...not something we say lightly in reviews.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu was pretty bland and food could have been much better overall, someone even managed to burn the baked beans!

    Room was comfy, but pretty basic and quite unlike the picture on website!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was cold! They couldn’t get the coal fires in the dining room and bar area to stay lit, so slightly spoilt the ambiance .

    Lovely location, beautiful building and fabulous breakfast, all local ingredients.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower control was very difficult to turn on and off.

    The ground floor was just what I required as I had recently had a bad fall. It was spacious as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Lovely and very comfortable. We were all allocated the rooms we requested. We all really enjoyed the festive dinner. Lovely location & would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A really comfortable hotel in a quiet location. We heard an owl hooting both nights. The staff were great (apart from a slightly offhand manager checking us out) and even offered to keep the restaurant open for us on a quiet Monday night. The dog friendly rooms are well situated and feel of good quality. We liked having a proper dressing table.. Definitely worth trying for a Dartmoor holiday or a night if passing by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fillet steak I ate on the first evening. A change of butcher might be useful. Another guest had the same opinion.

    The service and helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a little update

    We found the property to be in a nice position for trips to the moors and the staff were very helpful. The food was great and the service was excellent. We would definitely return there in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We particularly liked the staff-served, tasty breakfast. We liked the readiness of staff to give us an alternative room when we weren't happy with the first one offered, and voluntary refund of some of price when there was a problem with the heating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could a bit more disabled friendly like in the bathroom facilties

    It's ambieance is good...the history of the hotel was interesting... lovely Victorian building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For £20 a bottle, both the red and white wine was mediocre.

    Staff were friendly, smart and efficient, the room was comfortable and clean, The food at dinner dinner was for a party of 70+, it was plentiful and all three courses were well cooked and presented and extremely enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice Friendly hotel, good location big comfy bed and lovely cooked breakfasts. Perfect base for exploring dartmoor yet close enough to all major towns

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when sitting outside no one came to clear up dirty dishes or came to ask if you wanted drinks you had to go back inside we were in a disabled room had a very large step in to shower the room was very dark as half covered by plants

    the food was very good as were the staff but very busy room was clean and a nice size dog had lots of treats

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite bathroom needed a magnifying mirror for shaving and make-up!

    Very friendly staff, beautifully cooked breakfast, large room with huge bed- overall very good place inbetween sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can honestly say that there wasn't anything that we didn't like. Our room didn't have a view but then we only booked the week before we went to were happy that we'd managed to find somewhere.

    Staff were really welcoming and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a great stay. The breakfasts were excellent - there is a large breakfast menu with lots of choice for all tastes. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and it was lovely. Loved the Gym Bar and it's large selection of gins!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. I appreciated the freshly baked scone with my pot of tea in the old school gym. The evening meal was excellent, and the cooked breakfast we had the follow day was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room 1 was noisy from car park and delivery tyres on the parking surface. The bar is not atmospheric

    I especially liked the fact that when i had to leave a day early because of illness, there was absolutely discussion about deducting a night, very pleasing thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room looked lovely but as the evening went on we noticed cobwebs on the walls. Rusty soap dispenser over the basin. Staff friendly but lacking in the afternoon to obtain a cuppa tea in the bar area Very pretty location and right distance away from church as we had attended a funeral

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours 8.30-9.30am on a Sunday. Bar/lounge area very shabby and sorely in need of refurbishment. At £140 for our room, it was overpriced for what it offered.

    The location was wonderful for us as we were attending a wedding at Colehayes Park across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service on the second evening tailed off somewhat; not bad but could've been better. Eggs were overcooked at dinner and breakfast. No cocktails in the bar and a limited supply of rum types, but there was a large selection of gins which I suppose is fashionable.

    Staff were extremely friendly. Dinner on the first evening was excellent. Bed was extremely comfortable. Beautiful location. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely character building. It has a history and used to be a boys grammar school so you can have a drink in the gym and breakfast in the library! Family owned and run the people are nice too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was very good

    My dog Bertie was made very welcome with special treats for him together with other equipment. Staff very friendly. Accommodation was excellent and very suitable for our need. Have already recommended to doggie people and others

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service a bit sloppy Tiny little piece of fried bread not bigger than ten pence piece!!

    Room was perfectly adequate. Lovely garden and beautiful location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in room wouldnt close.

    Really comfy bed very polite staf. Excellent breakfast. Would stay there again although a little pricey compared to others in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here a few years ago and having had such an excellent experience we were left feeling disappointed this time. I understand why this business would prioritise the lucrative wedding market but look after your other guests also or don't accept them when you have events. Service was poor from most of the young staff - not all I must add and quality of the food and wine was not what I expected. Feels cheapened which is refelected in some of the decor and fixtures now also. Shame as it is a lovely house in a fab location.

    Location and setting is fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - very happy with all aspects of our stay.

    Wonderful service from the moment we arrived until we left. Food was very good too. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just delicious! A lovely fruity compote with thick Greek yogurt and fruit and nuts. Then perfectly cooked poached eggs and salmon. The beds were comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. If I need to revisit the area I'll definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel pushed all the buttons. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. The room was well-lighted. It had the essential extras like bathrobes and tissues. The food at dinner and breakfast was extremely tasty. The location and grounds of the hotel are rural and attractive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunches were not served and a lack of business amenities

    The friendly yet efficient staff, the breakfast was excellent and the home made scones were perfection. Lovely clean well appointed bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Trimming the Wisteria outside our bedroom window would have let in more light. Light levels in the bar area needed improvement after dark.

    The welcome when we arrived wet and tired - staff made tea and biscuits for us although there were tea making facilities in our room. All staff friendly and helpful appeared to enjoy working there. The food was very good especially the breakfast. Large bathroom and bedroom. The garden was lovely and well maintained. Very close to Haytor and helpful visitor centre there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was no breakfast room service.

    Stayed at the hotel overnight for a meeting the next day. Staff were really helpful and the room very clean and comfortable....the bed was excellent. Evening food and catered food at meeting next day was all beautifully prepared and tasty. Plenty of car parking space which was free. WIFI connection good in the bedroom and public areas of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather disappointed with the interior as it was very tired our room was over the kitchen and was subject to a noisy extractor fan

    The hotel looked good in the photos and had good reviews so I was happy to book our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant staff were excellent on Friday and Saturday but were of a lesser standard on Sunday night

    The staff were very friendly and went out of their was to help with finding interesting places to visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (room 11) was a little disappointing for the price range and having looked online at the other deluxe rooms it is clearly the poor relation. Other that that everything was brilliant.

    The setting, the hotel, the staff and the food were all excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English Breakfast very bland, bacon was hard and on second day the sauté potatoes were overdone. Hotel felt very cool for the time of year (march)

    Beautiful gardens, friendly staff and lovely old grammerschool building. Very impressive place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My main meal could have been better, the venison was overcooked, but it is a tricky dish to prepare.

    A very spacious and comfortable bedroom. The bottle of red wine we ordered was cold, but quickly taken away, warmed and decanted. A nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner of venison not so good

    Bed not so comfy But staff very friendly and welcoming to pets Was an old school and although in need of refurbishment had a charm to it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect - nothing wrong!

    Extremely comfortable bed, luxurious fittings in room. Very pleasant facilities, restaurant, bar, grounds and setting in woods on the edge of Dartmoor on the way u to Hay Tor. Very friendly welcoming staff and owners. Top class hotel in lovely spot at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    An excellent base to explore Dartmoor and the coast. Staff very friendly and chatty. They seem to enjoy working there. Food is excellent - wouldn't be out of place in France.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet and phone coverage were patchy at times - but as the Manager said, it is the result of being in an "off the main road" location

    The staff were very helpful and responded very positively to our requests. The bed was v comfortable as was the room we were allocated. The location is great for those wanting to explore Dartmoor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The bed was really comfy and the room was quiet which was important to me as I'm a light sleeper. Hotel situated in a perfect position and easy to park. Owners of hotel were charming & we were given a tour of the whiskey & Gin distillery in town that they are in middle of setting up.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of the hotel looked rather dated and the room layout a bit odd.To have a hatch as the reception area was particularly incompatible with hotels at this price level.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location on the edge of Dartmoor. The breakfast was impressive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only there for 2 nights so can't really comment on this. Our 2 nights were lovely

    arrived at 7pm and was told that we had been given a free upgrade - very nice! We had a wonderful room with a large 4 poster bed. Made our weekend extra special.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and facilities were great, but what remains most in the memory was being driven into town (and picking us up!) by the night manager. Brilliant service, thank you !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    I was on my own (after losing my husband) - not an easy decision to take holiday but this place was just fantastic - the staff, surroundings, food, rooms were first class and I'll certainly be going back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow, incompetent service spoiling what could have easily been a very pleasant experience. Some basic staff training and attention to detail would quickly rectify the situation. The 'free wifi' did not reach the bedrooms (at least not ours). Over 2 hours to serve our a la carte dinner, only 2 courses - we walked away from our dessert dishes, which never arrived!

    A comfortable and adequately appointed country house hotel, but spoilt by a poorly managed staff who failed to deliver the expected service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good, big disappointment from website expectations.The bathroom smelled of drains, the corridor to the annex (which should be avoided if at all possible) smelt of creosote! The view from the annex room was of a hedge. The bed was worn out. The trouser press was inaccessible without moving furniture. The wall mirror was impossible to use. The rooms were noisy particularly when people were showering. All in all not an experience I want to repeat. Certainly not worth the money. Breakfast OK.

    The only thing in it's favour was the location on the edge of Dartmoor. Staff however were extremely helpful and tried hard to please.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with our room being double booked and the staff asked us to move to another room. They offered us a free drink each at the bar and were extremely polite and apologetic about the mix up. The staff were great and offered helpful advise on good walks nearby. I would recommend and will definitely visit again if we are visiting the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive (at £180B&B) for what the hotel offers (e.g. some croquet on the lawn would go a long way). Main courses at dinner poor (chicken burger exceptionally dry); but starters good. Outdoor lights on until 1am with outdoor drinkers (staff?) until 12.40am.

    Nicely appointed room (rm10) and bathroom, if slightly faded decor. Friendly and obliging staff - nothing too much trouble. Generous breakfast and good options. Very convenient for an especially pretty bit of Dartmoor. Checking in early as the room was ready.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can't switch off the wood burner, so it's very hot in the rooms, which was uncomfortable on a couple of very hot days.

    Lovely dinner menu, character property, great service, right next to Dartmoor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 1. Unfortunately the dirty door on entry, the stained carpet, hair in the bathroom and stained furniture lent a rather scruffy feel to what could potentially be a beautiful room. The room, at £110.00 for a night, was overpriced. Both my partner and I concluded that the room was only worth £85.00 which was exactly the amount we were charged after expressing our disappointment.

    Breakfast was lovely as were the staff. The man on reception was knowledgeable about the local area, recommending places for us to eat, as we had chosen not to have our evening meal at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One day of our stay, a lot of mistakes were made by the staff. The venison steak was cooked well done instead of rare, that happened twice! The cook even insisted it should be cooked rare, but it made it well done anyway. Breakfast also took quite some time that morning.

    It's a beautiful location and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal expensive for what it was and breakfast varied. We thought the hotel was understaffed.

    A beautiful environment convenient for exploring the moors

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner could have been marginally better value for money. Specifically larger quantities.

    Loved the friendly staff, breakfast food quality, quantity and service was first class. The bedroom was very clean, well decorated and supplied with good quality drink sachets and toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel located on the Edge of Dartmoor. Extremely dog friendly (we had two) with bowls, treats and blankets waiting in the room for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was very good,staff very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location and staff very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Just what it said comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place set in beautiful grounds very nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was excellant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift

    Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room & the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ideal country hotel and surroundings. Pleasant owner and staff. Very peaceful. Good selection for breakfast. A very nice short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all lovely

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly a criticism but the hot water was absolutely scalding hot!

    Lovely big comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold

    Very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow bridge link from old to new rooms.

    Breakfast was excellent in choice and size

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: