Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edinburgh Lodge West End 4 stars

6 Hampton terrace, West Coates, Edinburgh, EH12 5JD, United Kingdom

#82 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 861 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Kind helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Priscilla was so helpful with tourist questions and directions for public transit. Aimee gave us very useful info on how to get there. They were great and made the visit so much better than normal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was very large, super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not in the centre of Edinburgh, but it is walking distance if you like walking. We were also given very helpful and detailed instructions at the hotel of which buses to take to go downtown and come back.

    The room was very large, super comfortable. Although it overlooked a main street, we couldn't hear any noise. The shower was a good size and the bathroom had lots of surface to place toiletries. We arrived very late in the evening. There was a note for us with instructions of how to get in and a lock box with the key. The process was super smooth. We were able to leave the car in the parking lot until mid-afternoon on the day we checked out. We had excellent WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 minute walk to Edinburgh. Places to eat nearby. We arrived late but we were still able to access our key easily. Room and en-suite were a very good size, both were decorated to a high standard. Fresh coffee maker, room big enough to accommodate a sofa. Plenty of power/USB points. Would definitely stay there again. Great stay for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Room was light and airy, comfy bed, apart from the pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small niggle, I found the pillows a bit lumpy.

    Room was light and airy, comfy bed, apart from the pillows. We liked the clean painted walls without pictures. The bathroom was lovely, great shower. Really enjoyed breakfast. Near to Murrayfield for our concert. Nice staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The room had been refurbished and was very tastefully done...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As most of the lovely English houses we find all the stairs and suitcases a bit of a problem.

    The room had been refurbished and was very tastefully done and was very roomy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    We had one room for one night and a different room for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had one room for one night and a different room for the second night because we didn't decide in the first place for how long we would stay in Edinburgh. The difference between the two rooms was enormous, even though for the beautiful 4 stars room we paid less than for the second room, which was of a 2 stars, maximum 3 stars quality. The second room had an external private bathroom which not ok at all, for it was situated far from the bedroom itself and on the way to the bathroom you would meet the people working at the hotel cooking breakfast. Too bad the second night was not ok, because our impression about the hotel, staff, location after the first night was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable, pleasant and welcoming atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely recently refurbished bathroom with fab shower heads, but the water just trickled out. Our room could also have done with a full length mirror.

    Lovely clean and comfortable room and bathroom, good breakfast and very helpful, pleasant young lady working all weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too fat and although there were plenty of them they were all the same. Room too hot too.

    Location. Big comfy room. Nice decor. Great coffee machine in room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely old residence in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately central heating is not instant but we will need to get used to that. To their credit the hotel did offer us a portable heater. Maintenance work going on whilst we were there but not too disruptive. Noise from neighbouring rooms may annoy some people.

    Within reasonable walking distance of all the city's attractions. Hotel staff very helpful with all our enquiries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Great room, great location. Would be good to see the hearing sorted and a small fridge in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating. Timer control must be set wrong

    Room was very comfortable however with the cooler weather could not get they heaters to come on in evening the came on early morning so we all sweated while asleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Right next to a bus stop with lots of options. Not too far from the zoo and other attractions. Lovely room. Nice and clean. Coffee machine and Netflix are a great touch! Would definitely come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Great and comfy, but might be too pricey given location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff wasn’t the most social (I.e. if we needed any help getting around the city with a map.) but might just be because she’s young.

    Beautifully decorated. Very comfortable beds. Makes you feel at home. Wonderful bathrooms. Great bus stop to get in the city. The area is very pretty. Might be too pricey for the area and what’s offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stunning. Very spacious and clean. The bathroom was a very good size. Staff were friendly although we didn’t see much of them. We didn’t eat on site, so cannot comment on that. Location was good. Handy transport links near by and onsite car parking is a big bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and would recommend to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch out booking online the prices quoted were differ once we got here. Hotel gave us some perks to make it up

    Lovely hotel inold beautiful building. Nice staff. Breakfast was great and reasonable. Bus stop right out the door or 20 min walk to downtown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Would be happy to make a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good. Excellent location -- within easy walking distance to Princes Street. Eating establishments also within walking distance. Very pleasant, recently decorated room. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great location and a lovely room to stay in Edinburgh,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The room was fantastic, Netflix on the TV was good for pre-exam relaxation! The bed was super comfy and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were amazing and let me park my car all day for my exam too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect start to our first wedding anniversary getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance and halls could do with abit of an update to match the room standards but otherwise wonderful

    Extremely pleasant and accommodating. Room was excellent, bed was super comfy, extremely good nights sleep and breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay with you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cold and wet weather; but we are not holding the Edinburgh Lodge responsibly for that, you made us feel warm and cosy!

    Everyone was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    really good location, great value for money, very modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was some drilling going on in the rooms next door which was kind of annoying but otherwise great stay

    really good location, great value for money, very modern room, netflix, buses right outside

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Comfort at affordable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like

    We arrived, welcomed in shown the room which had just been refurbished to a very high standard. The Lu family are very nice and are having all the rooms redecorate new furniture and all new bathroom furniture also. Although we have not had breakfast on our many stays we do know that the breakfast is very good and reasonably priced. Th ere is also a television lounge and also you can purchase a drink while you relax. The rooms are very comfortable and include television coffee and tea facilities hair dryer ironing board and iron. And you will not require to carry your own soaps etc as theý are all required.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Worthy of a repeat visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is currently under renovation which we were not aware of when booking. However it did not impact our stay.

    5 mins walk from Murryfield tram and stadium. Easy 15 mins walk to Prince st. Old period house. Our room was newly refurbished. Beautiful large room with fab ensuite. Owners friendly and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife would have liked a mirror on the dressing table to allow use of straighteners etc

    Great location, rooms well appointed ,staff very responsive,very quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    Cold and very forgettable-shall not be recommending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe was very dusty inside - top of wardrobe hadn't been cleaned in a while. Also, no heating during the day when outside temperature was well below freezing-it was timed to come on at 16:30 but didn't heat up properly. We even had to clear the snow from the car park.

    Breakfast was good although dining room cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    We would arrive late at night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took me a little while to find the place when the street lights were not good enough.

    We would arrive late at night. They kindly reminded me without me asking how to check in. And there was a notice without my name on it showing where to get the key. That was considerate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.6
    Weather nice pity about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head and shower hose very dirty plus bathroom window needed cleaning. Hotel very tired and in need of refurbishment.

    Location good for Edinburgh city centre. Plus free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Lovely stress free overnight stay. Great location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was not as modern as bathroom but still nice and clean.

    The bathroom facilities were amazing the waterfall shower wad an added bonus. The staff were all very helpful and informative. Lots of information booklets to ensure we knew where was recommended to go. Bus stop right outside straight into the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff and a good price but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as pictured on website. Breakfast was not great, cheap ingredients used. Noisy work was being done on the room next door throughout our stay which meant relaxing during daytime was impossible. Bar advertised no longer exists...

    Bed was comfy and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Located fifteen minutes from the airport and a short taxi ride from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold on arrival and took a while to warm up - it was the same the next morning whilst waiting for breakfast. Lovely property, but perhaps lacking the warmth of a good onsite host. The full skip in the car park suggested a property going through some sort of transition.

    Lovely bathroom with a fab shower and two sinks! Very clean. Comfy bed. Nicely-appointed good-sized room. Very good breakfast - they kindly allowed us to dine at 0800 rather than the scheduled 0830 (which seemed late for a weekday).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Edinburgh ideal city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust in room Breakfast hit and miss on quality re the cooked breakfast Continental ok

    Shower door prevented turning water on and off without getting wet as problem with water supply and hot water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Early check in handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper in the bathroom peeling off and rusty radiator makes bathroom look tatty. Bottled water in room a must at this price surely

    Early check in handy Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    EDINBURGH WAS GREAT AS ALWAYS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WHEN WE ARRIVED WE WERE INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RES. LOUNGE NOR BAR FACILITY AS THESE WERE CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT,AND WILL BE FOR QUITE A FEW WEEKS ,ONLY PLACE TO SPEND TIME IN THE HOTEL WAS SITTING IN OUR ROOM. THE CAR PARK WAS ALMOST NON EXISTANT, AS THERE WAS A MARQUE SET UP THERE, BUT THIS WAS ONLY GOING TO BE OPEN ON SUNDAY AFTERNOON. AS WE WERE ONLY IN EDINBURGH FOR ONE NIGHT, IF THIS INFORMATION HAD BEEN AVAILABLE PRIOR TO BOOKING WE WOULD HAVE BOOKED SOMEWHERE ELSE. WE HAD BEEN LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR SUNDAY BREAKFAST AS WE HAD READ PREVIOUS REVIEWS, COLD SELECTION WAS VERY LIMITED AND HOT BREAKFAST WAS NOT HOT, NO EXCUSE AS THERE WERE ONLY 4 COUPLES DINING THE TIME WE WERE THERE. THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Shower broken so hard to change temp, bit dated and water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower broken so hard to change temp, bit dated and water stains on wallpaper in bedroom. Bar/tv are closed for upgrading and we were not informed of this at point of booking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    great hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very surprised at the quality of the hotel,the room was a good size and nicely decorated , the TV's have netflix and you tube which is a nice touch , the bathroom has double sink and a nice hot shower , the bed was comfy and clean , we had breakfast once and this was hot and tasty with cereal and fruit available as well , staff friendly and great location to Princess street via a 20 min walk or local buses right outside the door for £1.60 , would deffo stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed it and relaxed. Would happily revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cool overnight, and the quilt was too lightweight to compensate. Bathroom door was awkward to close.

    Coffee machine, perfect bathroom, stylish spacious room, friendly staff, parking space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower in the family room was a little temperamental but didn't have an impact on our stay and we would stay again

    the room was lovely and the beds were so comfortable! good location and the fact it had on site parking was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location and beautiful rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large and comfortable. tv was large and there was usb plugs either side of the bed. Room had a Nespresso. Shower was great and modern. Plenty of parking and close to Murry field and haymarket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Good easy place to drop in to sleep for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a pain and the owners I think were doing Reno’s til 7pm banging it was annoying and loud. Receptionist kept knocking and walking into give us things.

    Good easy place to drop in to sleep for the night. Bed was alright and it was warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Almost criminal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Massivley overpriced. We paid nearly £250 a night, room only when usually it is less than £90!!!

    We stayed here for New Year and were charged a whopping £490 for two nights, for a tiny room with a view of a wall. I knew that the hotel were increasing prices due to the high demand over this period, but to more than triple the price is outrageous. Furthermore, to then not provide basics such as bottled water in the room is unacceptable. When I asked for some I was told they didn’t have any but the tap water in the bathroom is ok to drink! Again , I paid £490 for two nights! The young lady (while polite is clearly inexperienced) eventually found two small bottles of water for us, for our two night stay. Breakfast: most hotels allow for New Years lie ins as a lot of people have a late night celebrating, however , not this one so we missed the 10am cut off. Today, a normal working day - so most are up early , yet breakfast didn’t start till 8.30am. This is too late. So we essentially have been charged £500 for room only - which wasn’t even cleaned or refreshed yesterday. We were told that ‘the door seemed to be locked’ so they couldn’t clean it when we were out. Bizarre. Very disappointed and I feel very very stupid for booking this place. Avoid, or just pay £60 a night as that is it’s worth.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    It was fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not as smart as the pictures suggested - a bit down at heel. The bathroom was very cramped and the window was jammed open on a cold winter night.

    Good location, easy to find. Good parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up most mornings very early from the staff making noise in the hall and there was very limited places to put things in the room. The Lodge didn’t have a very homey feel, despite the coziness of the rooms.

    The staff were very friendly and it’s in a great location. It’s only a short walk to Haymarket station or into the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    It was well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was restoration work being undertaken that we weren’t told about either before or on check in which meant we had no heating or hot water until around 7pm - but once the workmen finished for the day the heat and hot water were fine

    It was well situated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, well located, at an excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been improved and we would always like a King size bed.

    Great location, staff and price. The team were willing to cook breakfast for us at 0800 as we had an early start.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.2
    I arrived there about 10 am was no body there I got keys...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived there about 10 am was no body there I got keys went to my room. I was tired try sleep but no chance, next room tv noise then from 5am morning door and stairs noise then 10am guy come door say check out and also in building Construction work so never ever back and Requirement anyone

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed this hotel when first arriving as the sign was not lit and impossible to see in the dark. They currently have renovations underway which meant the heat and water was not working when we arrived. The rooms are noisy and we heard every step of the other guests as they walked past in the hall and as they spoke in the next room. Worst of all was having to hear them use the toilet. This place has potential, but has a bit to go to justify the rating.

    Breakfast is good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Bed was nice and comfy, really easy to get from/to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water in a shower and bathroom sink barley ran, room is very small, whole place is noisy (you could hear people talking few rooms down the hall, when someone walked through hall it would sound like they are just next to you,...). You can get much better breakfast for that money somewhere else.

    Bed was nice and comfy, really easy to get from/to airport and city center. Staff are really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Staff very nice and helpful, we had a family room for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just the time of the reception, because it closes at 6pm, quite early.

    Staff very nice and helpful, we had a family room for 4 people and it was very big and spacious. Beds were comfortable, there were a lot of toiletries and also, when we arrived we found a chocolate on the bed for every one of us! In the morning we broke by accident a glass but the owner was very friendly and told us not to worry and didn't make us pay anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Quiet, peaceful area
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was not keen on the cooked breakfast. Also the breakfast room was very cold in the mornings (we stayed in december and the temperature dropped to minus 7 some evenings).

    Peaceful & quiet, especially at night. No loud, drunken people coming in at all hours and waking people up. Great links by bus to town centre and edinburgh airport. Also easy walking distance into town and some great places to eat just minutes away in Haymarket. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not in a great condition - missing bulbs, furniture worn-out, little stains/ damages on walls etc. When I checked In(~3pm), the room (ground floor) was quite cold, as central heating is switched at particular times.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    We were a little disappointed, wouldn't stay or recommend anyone to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't greeted on enterence, and thought we were staying in a en suit room for the price we paid. The shower room was in a completely different area to our room. There was no room for our car to park, so had to pay for parking, the room stated it came with parking.

    The bed was comfy and there was a coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in front of the reception/main door and we could hear everyone and everything. But the rest was very good. Nothing to complain at all

    Receptionist very friendly, very good size room and very well decorated, good size tv with netflix and free internet wifi, very good modern bathroom with amazing new shower box. Free car park (in Edinburgh car parks are too expensive) the city center is 15minutes walking straight far. Absolutely highly recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Loved it but I’d choose a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunalty, for the amount of money we paid, we didn’t think it was the best of rooms, the toilet was not with the room and we were told that it was for our use only so we shouldnt worry, but on the Saturday, the public where using it so it felt abit dirty. The rooms were not done through the day, which we thought was weird, and it was a little dated, it could do with a little spruce up

    The staff were so helpful and they were absolutely brilliant, the location of the property was perfect and walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    The owners are super helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard breakfast is at 8:30, which is a bit too late for a business trip. They will happily do it earlier, but I would have needed it much earlier.

    The owners are super helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Location is great, with a 20 min walk to Princes Street or a short bus ride, but I never made it, because restaurants in The Haymarket area are good and interesting. It is walking distance from Murrayfield if you want to watch some rugby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Location is great, staff is very kind but the hotel is old, noisy and it is very cold inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very old and noisy. We could hear everything what was happening outside the room. Every step you take makes noise. The shower was noisy as hell. When we put the lights on in the bathroom it made noise as well. The room we got was very different from the pictures on Booking.com. We had bees in the room when we arrived. And they were dead on the carpet for the rest of our stay. The worst was the temperature and humidity in the room. Heating was not working and it was very cold (9 degrees outside). We are both ill now and got antibiotics.

    Location of the hotel is perfect. Directly on the airbus route and quite close to the city centre (c. 15 minutes walk) and to the train station (c. 5 minutes walk). Hotel staff was very kind. The reception was closed when we arrived (after midnight) but we got all information we needed by email in advance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value, a short distance from main attractions but easy enough to access them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was dated- it did not look anything like the pictures online. Though it was a family room there was only one piece of furniture to sit on. Relaxing around the room was not possible unless you wanted to lay in bed.

    Spacious room, access to public transportation, unique building, grocery stores nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Room 1 is located next to the main entrance, the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 is located next to the main entrance, the reception and stairs. The room door provides no proper sound insulation, so you hear everything that happens outside, and vice versa everyone outside hears perfectly well what is happening in the room. It is very noisy, especially in the morning, and there is no real privacy. Based on the experience of staying in room 1, I would not recommend a stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    This was our first trip to Scotland and enjoyed it tremendously, we will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suggest changing room number 13 to another number, I am not superstitious but others may be. Parking bays very tight.

    Beautiful breakfast, pleasant staff, nice and quiet, honesty bar in the lounge is a good idea for weary travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely welcome and good food !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was central clean and comfortable with very helpful information and good communication from the staff.

    An old manage but no steep stairs. Several changes in levels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Perfectly good accommodation, helpful staff, perhaps they could up the anti on the breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was rather basic but just about acceptable. No choice of different bread (white sliced loaf only) and croissants were a bit stale. Scrambled eggs weren't too bad though!

    Room was lovely, warm, clean and comfy bed - all you would want

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Didn't like Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't big enough nor was it comfortable. Good size room and bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Location was good. Didn't much like the town on Edinburgh. Castle was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    It's very close to the bus stop and it is a spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room is very basic and also needs updating. No mixer tap and the water temperature of the shower fluctuates greatly.

    It's very close to the bus stop and it is a spacious Georgian property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Remarkable room, very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    Remarkable room, very comfortable and clean. Obviously recently redecorated with great taste. Owner – manager was accommodating and very pleasant. I can give this property my highest recommendation. We stayed overnight and found that the location was quite near the airport short taxi journey. A direct drive, just down the

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely house comfortable bed, easy reach of Princess street .
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really say we didn't like the room as it was clean and comfortable. However Pricilla did say it needed up grading. The decor was very nice and room very spacious Would recommend it to

    Lovely house comfortable bed, easy reach of Princess street . Bus stopped right outside guest house , choice of three buses as far as Waverley station off Princess street, Haymarket train station. Also good food at Platform 5 opposite railway station (good value) Pricilla and Adam made us feel very welcome and asked if there was anything else we needed . Breakfast very good choice , can't think of anything that wasn't offered each morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Good locations but very basic room for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a per night rate of £100 plus, i would have expected the rooms to be a little more equipped such as a coffee table to go with the two chairs. Room was quite dated and could do with redecorating.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, good location to walk into town. Nice easy parking with car park that was not too busy. Breakfast was also okay although the breakfast room was quite cold.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value stay in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The Edinburgh Lodge was clean, neat and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful. Parking was easy which was good after a reasonable drive. Location was out from the old town a little but only about a 15-20 min walk or a short bus ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.2
    Facility is no longer a friendly supportive pleasant place, no positive recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was broken. 2 power points were not working making it difficult to set up sleep machines. Carpet was worn and tacks were exposed and sharp The staff were difficult to understand and non responsive to constructive critique. There was no offer of compensation or reduction in fees as a result

    The price offered but it was not special as it was only reduced by 20 pound - the charge of having breakfast. The location was suitable for our requirements as close to public transport We had stayed at this facility in 2012 and were pleased with provisions then but not now

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing comfortable stay within easy walking distance of central Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all will stay there again when in Edinburgh

    Quiet location with only a 10 minute walk to Haymarket.Veggie Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    lovely clean hotel, location and very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow to set our table for breakfast. Which we ended up getting things of another table. Not the best value for money what we payed. But it was a bank holiday weekend with the fringe and the tattoo on.

    Nice friendly staff, very clean, location and breakfast. My partner left behind her handbag after we left the hotel. Priscilla got in touch as soon as possible but we was already back home in Manchester. After speaking to Priscilla she payed for the postage of the bag back to my partner on a bank holiday Monday! Brilliant service many thanks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice and cosy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff had difficulties to serve the breakfast timely, it took me almost 50 minutes to get my Scottish breakfast, my longest hotel breakfast ever.

    Nice and cosy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Bit expensive for what it was, but acceptable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have had better quality food, sausages and bread were acceptable, but for a so say 4 star establishment it was not the best, also the cold buffet breakfast did not have everything they said was available.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the area was within easy travelling distance to the centre of town, both walking or by public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Just felt disappointing for the money charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was 'tired' and the shower cubicle appeared old and grubby (stained grouting and sealant). We didn't want to flush the loo in the night because of the horrendous noise!

    Large family room with big bay window. Was left a gift of a small bottle of Merlot and hand written note in the room the day after staff saw our anniversary cards. All staff were friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing! This property is far too expensive for what it is. It is more like a motel on a very characterless street that is essentially the highway to the airport and not central for sightseeing in the city. There are many many hotels which are much more central and better value. I stayed at three 4 star hotels while in Edinburgh and the other two were much better. This one lacked any sense of special care, or tasteful touches, and there were absences - no in-room safe, for example. Breakfast only from 8- 9:30, which is a much more limited time slot than other hotels. Very ordinary breakfast- bread tasted like cardboard. No-one on the desk until 8am. Very ordinary tea and only nescafe coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Central stay in Edinburgh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather indifferent staff, did not have much interaction with them after booking in. Breakfast is not served until 8am which is too late if you're on business, so I went without. Quite expensive for the standard of accom on offer.

    Great location on edge of Haymarket, can walk into central Edinburgh from there. Big, clean room, offering a comfortable nights sleep. Does have parking which is valuable considering the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful staff - we arrived before check in time and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited onsite parking.

    Very helpful staff - we arrived before check in time and were able to leave the car and spend the day in town. The room was large and comfortable. Easy walk from the hotel to Princess Street and short drive to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Old world Charm combined with Freshly prepared Breakfast!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Property. It has an Old world Charm and lovely spacious rooms with high ceilings. The Breakfast is excellent and is freshly prepared. Very happy with my stay here. Ms Priscilla from the front desk is very courteous. Well done Edinburgh Lodge. We shall come back again!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Personal service,good double bed,all very clean and lovely breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing significant that affected our enjoyment of the stay.

    Excellent personal service provided by the new manager who could not have been more helpful. We will return !

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Edinburgh Lodge West End traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: