Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elephant Hotel 3 stars

Church Road, Pangbourne, RG8 7AR, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Pangbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a classic double (room 3) which was too small. We kept knocking ourselves on the wooden bed frame. The small built-in wardrobe was not deep enough to accommodate the hangers. The bathroom was dimly lit and not helped by the dark wall tiles.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Quirky decor, everything elephant, of course! All the things we expect of a modern hotel were there, inside and out. They also had extra touches in the room including bottled water, not just on arrival, but replenished each day; cafetiere coffee and a wide range of quality tea bags. The toiletries were also excellent and the shower powerful. There was a wide choice available at breakfast including smoothies; fruit compote; croissants and the usual cooked breakfast, again with many options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ended up being next to a busy roundabout that was really hard to get in & out of but didn't affect our stay as the staff & facilities were spot on.

    We had a fantastic spacious room in the annexe on the ground floor that opened out onto the lawn. They supplied veggie sausages for our breakfast as asked for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was distant- just doing her job - after a long travelling day a bit of cheerfulness would have been appreciated - not just another room to tick off. It’s a bit of a warren with different passage ways etc - would have been nice to have been shown to the room. Could not reserve parking - it is limited so had to use the public car park although next door isn’t fun if you have to park furtherest away - plus you have to get there early to add money in the meter.

    Nicely furnished - showers are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant menu disappointing but the quality was very good. The choice wouldn't suit a stay of more than 2 or maybe 3 nights.

    beds and linen very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be lighter and less stuffy. Had to be well insulated to prevent noise, I suppose. Difficult to reach tea tray as tallboy was rather high up.

    Breakfast was great - well cooked, plenty if variety and attentive service. Lovely garden - annexe room has access to this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was nice but we had let the staff know that we were on a tight schedule and let them know we needed to be finished by 07:30 (we entered the breakfast restaurant at 7). I only ordered scrambled eggs and a sausage but it still took 20 minutes to arrive so had to eat quickly. More electric sockets would be good.

    Shower in Room 7 was perfect. Loads of instant hot water, quiet and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stay at the elephant was excellent and the beds were very comfortable as was the room. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Parking can be abit of a nightmare but not a huge problem. The lounge area could be cosier but otherwise it was a great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had our dog with us and it was raining it would have been good to have a mat or a runner on the carpet by the front door to protect the carpet. We have managed to do that as we had extra blankets in our car which we were able to use so the carpet did not get any paw prints.

    Nice little place, dog friendly, with very comfy bed and lovely surroundings. We liked the deco which was homely and a bit "tired " but this only added to the charm of the place. The restaurant food was good and the locals friendly and welcoming. Excellent location to explore the Thames path. We loved the direct access to the garden which backed to the beautiful church.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service or anyone at reception when we phoned and went down to try and get a drink.

    The restaurant was really good, food was great and the bar area was pleasant serving a good range of cocktails.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt chilly and we didn’t have a good experience of breakfast which we asked to have in our room. My husband had to ring 4 times because we had fruit salad which we didn’t order and there was no coffee which we did. Then we had to ring again for milk when that arrived there was no butter which came but again we had to ask for knives for the croissants. My husband asked them to review the bill when we checked out because of our experience of breakfast but they didn’t offer to take the breakfast off the bill without my husband pointing it out that he had to ring them 4 times. The wide screen TV had instructions in the room but we couldn’t get a signal so after repeatedly trying again, we rang reception, they told us to do something that wasn’t stated in the instructions which I felt should have been, as it would have saved our frustration.

    I liked the room which had very comfortable beds and it was a good size which opened out onto the garden unfortunately the weather wasn’t warm enough to enjoy the garden. We had a very good meal in the restaurant, the ambience was very good.The staff were friendly. The hotel upgraded us to a delux garden room at no extra cost to us because I had read the reviews which adviced to ask for a room at the back because the road at the front was apparently noisy. I was very pleased with this gesture from them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated towel rail in bathroom and more hooks . Outside door leading to the car park which was probably not a good idea for two women staying there alone.

    Lovely gardens. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in room 14 though and there were no bedside lamps and one window only had blinds which did not keep out the light in the morning. Other than it was a lovely place to stay.

    the room was lovely and the food was really good. Theres a nice outdoor area which is lovely in the evening. The decor is nice and quirky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism is that we could have done with a full length mirror. Nothing else!

    The staff were amazing,nothing was too much of a problem,they told us there was a wedding at the hotel,but they were moving us to an annex room,it was a gorgeous room and we didn’t hear a thing! The huge choice of teas,coffees hot chocolate and biscuits in room was much appreciated! Super toiletries in bathroom ,huge fluffy towels and a rain shower that I didn’t want to get out of. The breakfast was amazing too,warm croissants and pain au chocolat ,hot breakfasts cooked to order,really delicious ! Highly recommended! Thank you all for a super stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small badly cooked breakfast. It would have been quicker to have the breakfast sent from another hotel as the waiter had a snail like pace. took him 30 mins to bring toast after breakfast had arrived. Then we had to ask for some butter (it is usually on the table in a hotel!!) Very poor performance. For £125 per night you would expect better.

    Four poster bed was nice even if room was a little too warm but overall room was to a very high standard spotlessly clean and tv was huge for a hotel. Would stay again but only if breakfast and serving staff were sorted out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No handrail on bath which was very difficult to get in and out. Service at breakfast was extremely poor - very slow and meals not served together!! Accompaniments such as toast and coffee came after the main meal and there were insufficient glasses/plates etc for juices and cereal

    Room quirky but clean and comfortable with good facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharged in our bill...had to ring up where very helpful Jasmin resolved issue and refunded us. But if I hadn’t thoroughly checked we’d have been very out of pocket. Garden furniture dirty, when was the last time the tables were cleaned? Plenty of bird poo on the seating, cushions and rattan so felt like you were sitting in grubby and uncared for area. This could be a fabulous asset to the hotel, who doesn’t like to sit in a lovely garden with a few drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door lock on room 16 needs replacing, just a little TLC required on some of the paintwork/wallpaper.

    Quaint room, great bed & pillows, fantastic free toiletries in the bathroom. Tea & coffee in the room were high quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from the annexe to the main hotel could be a problem in bad weather. Parking is limited but there is a pay and display car park right next to the hotel. Internet connection is patchy.

    The room was very comfortable, and having a door which opened into the garden with the church as a backdrop was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to run the cold water tap for a very long time before any came out.

    We where allowed to check in to our room early due to attending a wedding, bed was super comfy, shower was amazing, staff all very friendly and willing to help, breakfast was delicious and the grounds are beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day, the windows had been left tightly closed and there was no air conditioning so by the time we got there after a wedding at circa midnight, it was uncomfortably hot. We had barely any sleep which was made worse by roadworks starting at 7am right outside the (open) window on the Sunday morning. I slept better on my 11 hour flight the previous week. The roadworks are of course not the hotel's fault, but guests comfort is their responsibility. Sadly there was no apology or even empathy from reception the following day. I expected more forethought and care from staff at a hotel of this price and of otherwise good quality. The heat and noise completely ruined our stay- I couldn't wait to get home.

    Attractive rooms, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was slow and the staff at breakfast were not very attentive. Had to ask for menu. Coffee refill not forthcoming. Table not cleared between courses. The Elephant was sadly let down by it's service at breakfast.

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot due to not being able to turn off heated towel rails. Our room was quite small and stuffy

    The location was excellent and liked the quirkiness of the hotel. Staff were very friendly. Lovely big garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint I could possibly make is that the poached eggs I had for breakfast weren't runny. Such a tiny point after a lovely stay. And I'm sure if I had mentioned it they would have changed them in a heartbeat. The staff were just brilliant.

    We were looking for a romantic place to stay for a one night mini-break and The Elephant did not disappoint. The room was delightful. Really large and overlooking the garden. The treats they left out for my dog were so thoughtful. The toiletries were of a great standard and every little thing had been considered. It felt like a really personal place to stay and far exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs in dining room need replacing - a lot of them are stained with splashes. Does not give a good first impression.

    Tea and coffee tray in room was excellent. Sparkling and still water provided everyday. Generous with milk and biscuits and lovely coffee. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only feedback would be that the mirrors are not great for putting makeup on or doing your hair. The mirror was too high on the wall in the bathroom, I’m 5ft 4 so not that short and the one in the bedroom had a rather large desk in front of it so you couldn’t get up close. Parking can also be rather difficult as the hotel only has a small car park.

    Lovely decor and very comfortable beds. Food good, staff very friendly and a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dark, for doing make up etc.. Breakfast was a a little lacking, cooked breakfast very good but extras- no marmalade , cheese and ham - none left, only one croissant left

    Loved the room, staff very polite,very bright and welcoming. Really good overnight stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black pudding in stock for the breakfast. Pillows very soft and flat. Bed very soft and uncomfortable. Bathroom dark. Room very small, could barely walk around the bed. Plug sockets behind large cuboards so very difficult to reach and use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was very large for the size of the room but that's nitpicking as it's just my preference

    Good quality products for breakfast. Good quality things in the room (tea and coffee, shampoo etc)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cave like dark bathroom, lighting throughout is appaling; no full length mirror; wanted a light evening meal...resorted to only a dessert

    Comfy bed, good size TV

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas were all rather tatty and dingy; the bar lacked warmth, not least because of the howling gale under the external door from the street. A decent draught excluder would have solved the problem at very little cost.

    The room was very comfortable although the configuration of the bathroom left a lot to be desired.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite dark. Nowhere that you could see well enough to do makeup.

    Quirky decor. Bed was really comfy. Lovely teas, biscuits and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is so small it is hit and miss and is misused by people going shopping. The pillows in our room were so soft they were useless.

    The staff were helpful, friendly and attentive-going above and beyond. The food was excellent and the decor is quirky. A very comfortable hotel. I had colleagues meeting me- they were looked after as if they were staying guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV didn't work for the first day and due to the old single glazed windows the room was very cold. Radiator wasn't really warming it up unfortunately and nobody was on reception to help with this.

    The breakfast was very good and the room very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Charming Elephant-themed decorations, India-inspired photographs and nick-nacks on display, beautifully decorated throughout. Breakfast was wonderful - a great choice and the cooked food was perfectly cooked and presented

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy in the main house. Trains, traffic, single glazing and poorly fitting windows made it very noisy and very cold, and I do not feel the cold usually. The annexe I was then moved to was much better, quieter as it was away from traffic but still noisy when the church bells rang on the hour. Much warmer too.

    A quirky hotel with excellent restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived mid afternoon. It was a chilly day and there was no heating in the room. I enquired at reception and was told that heating was on a timed system. No-one at reception knew when the timing started. By late afternoon still no heat. I enquired again at reception and was told again that it was on a timer but they weren't sure when it came on. I pointed out that the radiator in reception was blazing away. At which point I was finally offered a convection heater. Radiator didn't work for whole stay. I feel that having heat in the room should be when the customer wants it not when the hotel decides it is appropriate but if you are going to have heating on a timer then at least ensure that your staff know the timings.

    Rooms were quirky. Beds were comfortable. Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This we a quirky hotel, on arrival the reception seemed dark, but the receptionist was very helpful. Our room was of a good size well equipped and very comfortable. On the Saturday night we ate in the dining room. The service was good and the meal enjoyable. The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Pangbourne. I would not hesitate to use the hotel again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying the night and the restaurant closed at 8 and we arrived dead on 8 they could not be bothered to take us had to go to a Chinese !

    We had a reunion there well organised and gelpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, individually decorated rooms. Ours was very nice, with an eclectic decor. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was good but very narrow with dim lighting. Room was very quiet. Public areas were really nicely decorated. Ate in bar area. Food was good but service was a little erratic. Breakfast was served in the restaurant; a beautiful room. Waiter seemed a little unsure of himself.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Elephant has a new eatery and is open to non-residents which very much restricts the available on-site parking - I personally do not wish to leave my car away from the hotel in a public car park; I arrived after 8pm and my room felt very dark and claustrophobic - two windows - one completely frosted with a view to nowhere and the other over immediate rooftops. Lighting was, as is in most hotels, awful both in the room and even more so in the en-suite. The room was adequate in size but very cluttered with huge furniture (maybe in theme to the name of the hotel?) My ensuite was like entering a cave - black floor and wall tiles, impossible lighting and unless you are waif like the gap between the bath/shower and the very oversized bath is inadequate - having to shimmy to the loo is not my ideal at £110 per night.....I had been advised that food both in the restaurant and bar finished at 9pm and the information in the room supported this. At 8.50pm I was rudely told by a member of the bar staff that food had finished - no apology, no alternative - I had in fact only asked to order a sandwich!! Thankfully there is a local supermarket where I purchased my dinner - pre-packed sandwich and a punnet of grapes and a bar of chocolate as commiseration. The receptionist had advised the duty manager that I had been declined food and I was met with huge apologies (still only maybe 9.10pm) and had the cost of my purchased dinner refunded and a drink offered - the gesture was appreciated but could have gone a whole way further to appease me especially after a long drive. Make-up is impossible to apply in the bathroom due to the lighting and though a full-length mirror in the bedroom, nowhere to put anything. A vast array of tea in the room, but for the life of me I could not open any of the coffee - resorted to the lone hot- chocolate and single biscuit - this is a double room right?

    Location to my business meeting was ideal for me; the building itself is beautiful; both the receptionist Jasmine and the newly appointed Manager Frank were welcoming & helpful;

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny, insignificant comment was to ask for milk for cereal and coffee at breakfast, 20 minutes after opening. As I said tiny observation but exercise was good for me!

    Quirky hotel with lots of character. Loved the relaxing room with comfy chairs and fire, lovely wood aroma.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the TV was so big - far bigger than required by the size of the room, & blocked the light & view from the room.

    Loved the decoration of the room we were in (rm 9), especially the bedhead! Good location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncontrollable shower, poor reading lighting, most staff pleasant but grumpy waiter at. breakfast on our second morning. Couldn't park on site had to pay at car park next door.

    Large television,, comfortable bed, good linen and large towels, radiator worked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given that a lot of guests were running the A100 it would have been nice to access breakfast earlier than 8am.

    Great place to stay, really warm and great service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free parking available. We had to park next door in the council car park and pay. Also, there was a strong smell of cat urine in the hall leading to our room.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had not been made up when I walked in. There was then chaos for 25 minutes as they sorted it out whilst leaving me standing at reception not knowing what was going on. I was late for my dinner appointment because I had not counted on this extra half hour's delay. To add, the entrance and bottom floor stank of stake beer or some other odious substance.

    Cosy, nice people. Good ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff need better training. No manager around. Room was spacious but not cosy and need of refurbishment. The (invalid) bathroom had no rails for towels. Public areas had been cleaned but corridor behind bar smelled.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One issue was the heating system noise in my room through the night. I am a light sleeper, got little sleep and this was not resolvable. I am also a bit of a challenge as I am Vegan. The staff accommodated me as they could which I appreciated but I should have bought food in London to eat for my evening meal. I would still recommend and indeed stay again.

    A lovely quality furnishings in the room. Staff were super. Price was excellent. Parking was great. Local to station which I needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy extraction fan during night Road noise can't be helped future visit will request rear accommodation

    Centre of Pangbourne Walking along Thames etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs for hairdryer in bathroom and the lighting in the bathroom and bedroom was rather romantic but not enough.

    The decor was very impressive and the bed was absolutely comfortable and huge! Also I loved that there was 2 USB charger socket next to the bed each side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel which is a lovely building and not cheap to stay it is run by kids! Some of the staff ok e.g. on reception but restaurant staff rubbish . One girl didn't smile or even say one word to anyone during breakfast . Need to get some professional staff working there.

    Bed really comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was too expensive for us but we found a great Italian round the corner.

    £75 is plenty to pay but unlike some others on our Thames Path walk this one felt worth it. Excellent service and choice at breakfast. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd just gone to sleep, when at 23:30 was awoken by machinery noise, which lasted at least an hour. Called down to reception to complain but it went to voicemail. Was woken at 06:30 by the bottle bank being emptied, and again at 07:00 by gas canisters being delivered. On arrival, I had to go and find staff to be able to check in. At breakfast, I had to wait ten minutes for staff to clear me a table to sit at (every available table was covered in dirty plates, it was so shocking I even took a photo!). By the time it came to check-out, staff were still invisible so after waiting a while, I just put my key on the counter and left. Took a while to exit the car park as it exits straight on to a busy roundabout. Also, door to bedroom was difficult to lock - took about five attempts each time. I stayed here as I had an 08:30 meeting and didn't fancy a 2-hour drive at 06:30 in the morning. In hindsight, I would have had a more restful night if I had done so, and not had to pay for the privilege!

    The room (5) was nicer than I'd expected, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Rainwater shower was nice, although temperature was inconsistent. Tv in the room was helpful to drown out the outside noise. Hairdryer was great (2000w). Nicely decorated throughout the hotel, and spacious whilst feeling cosy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait at reception for someone to appear for about 10 minutes and similarly on entering the dining room for breakfast so service could be better

    Fantastic bed linen and towels and good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly, the hotel was close to the train station and the decor was utterly incredible. Breakfast was extra delicious and the stay was so, so comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mixed up/DIY bedroom decor and quite pokey. General organisation / execution / finish was average. Can't decide what it's for: locals, weddings, boutique hotel, etc...?

    Location ace. Overall building lovely and grounds good. An individual style and upper end and cosy style of communal areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steak restaurant (The Herd) at the Elephant Hotel is excellent a great dining experience. Our rib eye steaks cooked on the "indoor BBQ" were amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. all great!

    a beautiful property with large well furnished bedrooms,and helpful friendly staff. a gorgeous looking restaurant although we didn't have time to eat there! I have already booked to stay again next year.i was surprised at how great this hotel was!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 4 - 5 cars squeeze into the onsite courtyard, parking defaults to a pay & display open car park. This is accessed by walking through a disgustingly filthy, stinking and overflowing refuse storage area. The bathrooms are like coal mines: painted black with no natural light and a couple of 20W bulbs. How is a bloke supposed to shave in this gloom?

    The only upside of the The Elephant is its proximity to my work destination

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast and service at breakfast, for the money we paid. A really expensive room, with 'dressing' of the hotel to make it look interesting/upmarket, but nothing else!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service from the staff allowing a check in to fit around our plans for a wedding nearby. They were also helpful in arranging a taxi for later on in the day. The property is nice with large rooms and interesting decor. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to explore many of the facilities. The breakfast was great with a large selection of cooked options as well as cereals and continental fare at the buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like, could not fault the hotel at all

    I liked everything about this hotel, I have to say it's the best hotel I've ever stayed in. I would strongly recommend that anyone travelling to Oxfordshire book into the Elephant. The owners of the hotel have spared no expense with furnishings, the bedroom was spacious, luxurious, the bed was enormous and so comfortable, I had the best nights sleep ever. The bathroom was gorgeous with a fantastic power shower. Even the complimentary tea and coffee had that extra touch, with a cafeteria with ground coffee, there was also herbal teas, the nicest I've ever tasted. The gardens are lovely, so peaceful and relaxing, over looking an old church with graveyard, which was very peaceful. The food was gorgeous and so tasty, and there is quite a lot of choice if you're a vegetarian like me. The staff are friendly and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble for them at all I highly recommend this hotel, and had a lovely time there, will most definitely be returning in the near future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately breakfast wasn't available until after I had to leave for work, an option for earlier starters would have been nice. Mirriors were awkwardly placed for getting ready, catering staff could be slow and sometimes a little unfriendly. A little over priced for the over all experience.

    bedroom was comfortable and clean. Room very stylish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in bathroom was poor. Only mirror in the room was inside the wardrobe door and was nowhere near any electrical sockets.

    Very friendly staff and the hotel decor was very good. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many things I didn't like from the darkness of the bathroom with black tiles on the floor to the ceiling and very dim lighting, erratic shower water flow and scalding hot water from it, chipped paint on doors, walls, floorboards, moldings, etc. to the smell of the entire place of mesquite smoke. No air conditioning, bad apples in fruit salad, cold sausages and toast, unfriendly service in restaurant, loud location, old furnishings of dark, heavy wood and more. Sadly, It just wasn't for me from the moment I arrived.

    Clean bedding. Nice receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available after 8.00PM on Sunday - no staff -no bar snacks available. 20 to 30 clients staying in hotel had to seek evening food at alternative location - only Chinese available in Pangborne. Room ok - clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was small and full, the room was hot and too noisy to open the windows, the bathroom had poor lighting with shower hard to turn on/off without a towel. However a good location lovely village

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needed a makeup mirror. Breakfast bacon was a dog chew. It would have been nice to have been told that the bar was being refitted

    Waitress staff was excellent. Fantastic big bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the Karma Sutra room, we did not know this and did not expect explicit images decorating the room. This room needs an R rating. But its very quirky if you are into kinky stuff.

    Nice place, well decorated. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind. Keep up the good work.

    The location is a mere stone-throw from the River Thames, The food is nice and the atmosphere in the restaurant has improved due to some recent renovations. The rooms are clean and tidy and has all the usual bells and whistles. They also have a nice bar and a nice garden and friendly staff too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm which was quite nice in some ways but not sure that the window opened so a bit like a sauna after a while

    Lovely room which was on an upgrade - much appreciated. Huge comfy bed; nice range of teas and coffee and good sized bathroom. Suited us well in terms of what we were looking for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendliness of the staff and the fantastic food and comfortable rooms make this a wonderful place while travelling alone. I always enjoy coming here and intend to stay a regular!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from my room as the blinds were down and was too high up for me to reach to turn and twist to draw. Bathroom was very small and painted black. Powerful shower though! Loved the themed rooms. Mine was Indian related. Bolt lock was broken on main door but the twisty lock still worked. Fantastic made to order cooked English breakfast!

    Great location! Very scenic. Fantastic comfort and old school english style hotel in the middle of no where!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waitress failed to clear breakfast table and we had to pile up plates and dishes on side as others joined us from the group I was with. Bathroom was very dark, partly due to black slate tiling maybe? Overall was trying a little too hard to be something special.

    Barman was very charming and reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very clean, bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom was lovely, tea and coffee selection was very well thought out and the garden was a perfect added bonus!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: