Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Elgin Hotel 3 stars

Charlestown, Dunfermline, KY11 3EE, United Kingdom

#15 of 15 hotels in Dunfermline

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 281 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff overlooked us despite being in the middle largest table with a noisy toddler. I was then forgotten twice more. The service wasnt great and the breakfast was sub par. There was mold in the bathroom, the decor was outdated and the property could do with being more modern. I asked on booking.com for sofa bed room and received 2 double beds. Despite my request got wrong room. The internet connection is awful and they do warn you in their leaflet that its due to the location.

    Waitress staff at night could not be more attentive or polite. Wonderful staff. Modern television in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfied will definitely be back👍🏻👍🏻😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was poor none for the 2 days there just in my room though and the phone signal also drifted but no big issue it’s just one of those things,

    It does as it says on the tin! great location, peaceful friendly staff, nice food, great value for money,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.0
    Never to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was appalling - we had dinner on the first night and breakfast on the first morning. We ate out the following two nights and made do with cereal and toast at breakfast. The hotel is stuck in an 80's time warp. Everything is down at heel and the quality of everything is the cheapest available. We know the hotel is on the market at the moment - hopefully someone will throw some money at it.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    2.5
    Never, ever again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything about this place, just awful

    There is nothing good to say about this hotel It is grimey, just awful !!! Wouldn't dream of suggesting this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the peaceful beautiful setting comfy beds and great breakfast although a bit dated its rather quaint and doesnt distract fron all the good points

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast & evening meal was good and they also have a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast & evening meal was good and they also have a nice ale on draft at the bar, nice location friendly and great price, A nice little pit stop thank you for a nice stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The view was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner.Mould in the bathroom and bedspreads were stained and needed a wash. Tea tray was dusty as they had just replaced tea etc but did not wipe down the tray

    The view was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful countryside traditional hotel not far from Edimburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Great location in the countryside not far from Edimburgh, close to the coast. Comfortable rooms with cozy beds and very nice breakfast. Craig's helpfulness and kindness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful and comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was lovely, the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast service in the morning and the view from the room and breakfast room was just wonderful! we are already speaking of visiting Scotland again and we will definitely stay here again! Also added bonus to all those like the 'classic' style buildings as it a wonderful place to look at!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Out dated room with uncomfortable bed but good views and cheap. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 5 does not look like any of the pictures that are on the booking page. It gave a false impression of what we were actually getting. What we got was an outdated room with an outdated ensuite and very small shower cubical. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the mattress looked to be about 10 years old if not older. You could feel every spring in it. I had to ask for 2 extra duvets to put on top of it to make it comfortable enough to sleep in. I suffer with fibromyalgia and as a result have constant lower back pain. The fact that the bed was so uncomfortable caused my pain to be worse than normal in the mornings which affected me throughout the trip. I'd expect a comfortable mattress as a minimum standard in any hotel or bed and breakfast. There is no lift in this hotel and it does not appear to cater for any disabled guests. The hotel itself could be a fantastic place but it clearly needs updating with decor and facilities. On leaving the hotel I was told that I had to pay for the room despite the fact I had paid for the room when booking it through booking.com. I had to prove I had paid already by showing the man working at reception my bank statement on my phone which showed the transaction had been completed. He then went on to say it was a virtual credit card and they hadn't taken any money from me which in my opinion was unnecessary as it was a issue with their paperwork and correspondence with the booking.com. He could have handled the situation better as it caused undue stress at the thought of having to pay twice. Had I not challenged the member of staff about the fact that I had already paid he would have taken the payment again as he was adamant that nothing had been paid.

    The shower pressure was great although the shower itself was very small and there was a large step up into the ensuite. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, however I wouldn't have paid £9.95 for it had it not been included. The table had fresh flowers which were a lovely touch and breakfast came with a very good up of tea. Service was quick and hot items seemed to be freshly cooked to order. The poached eggs were good. The views from the room, the hotel and the village are amazing and a wonderful place to go for a walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay in a quiet setting great staff and location would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park not being on camera and no cctv for the cars that are parked in the car park and outside apart from that nothing else This isn't something I didn't like just more of an oberservation

    Nice staff All requests that we had were met with no fuss at all including our breakfast at 06:45 on a Sunday morning when breakfast should from 8:40 am staff are a lovely bunch and the hotel is in a lovely peaceful location very well priced food n drinks including the accommodation the whole place was spot on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved the atmosphere and felt very relaxed and able to enjoy the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bathroom was tiny. The shower cubicle did not really leave room to manoevre and the tiniest of washbasins was inadequate. Our stay was only for two nights so not a great problem but it certainly would not have done for any longer. I would certainly return to this hotel but would request a room with a better bathroom.

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. Nothing was a problem and it felt very relaxed. The breakfast was of a high standard and we also enjoyed an evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    i loved this hotel the staff were great very caring and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i loved this hotel the staff were great very caring and very good at their job the hotel was so comfortable and clean we could not have asked for better thank you the breakfast was exactly what we needed after a good nights rest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely view of the water (sadly not from our room) and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures and fitting are dated (the avocado bathroom suite with the obligatory crack in the bath panel took me back 30 odd years!) but this kind of adds to the charm

    Lovely view of the water (sadly not from our room) and a picture perfect countryside location on the coast which was very quiet indeed. Good food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel was very good quality for the money we paid,the room was very spacious, the staff were very friendly,we had a fantastic view from our windows,the bed was very comfy aswell

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.8
    Alot of potential in the right hands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager/owner dont think he actually wanted to be there , would be a lovely wee hotel if brought into the 21st centuary , the girls that worked there were lovely but the gentleman was basically unfriendly and spent more time in his little back room watching the telly, wasnt interested in his customers at all , very negative attitude

    The peace and quiet and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location , tidy rooms., great views and best of all great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about really

    The Elgin represents value for money. Staff are fine and helpful. Owner is a right laugh if you get gigs humour. Nice rooms some with a great view. Great location and lots of walks. Plus Dunfermline only ten minutes always with nice shops bars and music venues Breakfast was included in room price and was easily to the standard of many more expensive hotels. Don’t expect the ritz for the price paid. Don’t expect champagne for beer money . Much better than the national chains and great value for money. If it was 100plus a night maybe I would review differently but when reviewing hotels you have to take into account the price you paid for the room. We travel with work and stay in lots of hotels. Top end and bottom end and this hotel would fit in the middle for overall ratings but near the top for value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great family run hotel, old fashioned proper service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family run hotel, old fashioned proper service including a jug of proper milk for tea rather than the plastic things. Reminded me hotels when i was growing up - a real sense of service and pride. Not am identikit outfit quite the opposite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Short stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift for disabled people as all rooms upstairs maybe downstairs rooms for wheelchair users would be better.

    Nice hotel but rooms need updating . Cooked breakfast could be better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Elegant Elgin gives a superstar stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    The hotel was excellent and great value. Food was very tasty and well cooked. Prices were very reasonable. The whole staff were friendly and very accommodating. We will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    On the whole it was comfortable,warm and an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given had a double and a single bed,which meant one side of the double did not have a bedside cabinet to put things on. Also it was far too close to the wall,which made getting out of bed awkward.

    Spacious room with a nice view. Good breakfast,we did not have dinner there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    We stayed as we had friends two minutes walk away so it suited our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bars and restaurant are deserted, apparently locals are not welcome even though it is situated in an historic village.

    Easy parking and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Always pleasant in every respect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!!

    Have been once or twice a year for last 4 years - a little dated in area's - always pleasant staff - room comfortable with tea/coffee facilities/TV - on line not the best but can be reached - meals wonderful - area/district very beautiful with great views of bridges - wonderful park in DUNFERMLINE.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    Think Faulty Towers rooms but with proper top staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a room with a bath but had to ask to be moved to get one. Though it was done without complaint it meant we did not have a sea view. On leaving we were told we should mention having stayed before and we would get a better room with a sea view!

    Nice staff. Breakfast was good. Fresh cooked.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    was like staying with relatives,very homely & easy going
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    someone walked back n forth outside the door , thinking it was another guest and they must be fit as they must have covered 5 miles grrrr but we eventually fell asleep and the stay was lovely, very kind friendly staff too

    had to leave early so no breakfst but it smelt delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Always an enjoyable visit, and keen to go back when the opportunity arises.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of note, weather was wet... (hard to blame the hotel for that!).

    Have used this hotel for many years and find it a comfortable retreat when away from home. Food is good, accommodation is traditional, small hotel style and clean. Always a pleasant welcome from the proprietor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    I would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated but clean, there was a damp patch in our room which was wet!

    It was great value for money, evening meal and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Location peaceful, outlook pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedrooms a little past their best, the flush mechanism of the toilet of the first room offered was non functioning and it took a fair bit of persuasion that this was not acceptable. A comfortable lounge would have been a plus.

    Location peaceful, outlook pleasant. Breakfast good. Host helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff were amazing and it was the perfect little Inn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very average dinner the last night which was disappointing as we had such a good experience with everything else.

    The staff were amazing and it was the perfect little Inn that gave a really local feel. The breakfasts were really good too. Location was good if you want to go exploring but a hire car is required

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Hope to stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wife's evening meal not up to the usual standard, although my choice was superb!

    Quiet location, overlooking the River Forth. Clean & very comfortable beds. Excellent, friendly staff. Big breakfast included!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay here, but it is time for this hotel to be freshened up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is looking a bit tired and dated now, and the bathrooms in particular need refreshing, as they are not well ventilated and have mildew in abundance. The towels in the bathroom were also old and a bit threadbare.

    This is an older style hotel close to the water, with magnificent views of the Forth estuary and the bridges in the distance. The room was large, with a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was lovely and the service was very quick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a bit dated and could do with a spruce up and for that reason only it seemed a little overpriced.

    The breakfast was lovely and the service was very quick. Lovely location. Bar staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Service excellence and unrivalled charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff willing to go the extra mile. Rooms are comfortable and well proportioned. The property has a history which adds charm to your stay and the view is divine! I will be coming back here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location for a night before our cruise from Rosyth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location for a night before our cruise from Rosyth. We were even able to leave our car in the car park for the duration of our cruise. Would happily stay here again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    great stay after late arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late (after 8pm) from the airport, kitchen was closed but staff prepared sandwiches, had a nice evening in the bar, great breakfast the next morning. Beautiful views from the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    3.8
    Not a good experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager needs to change jobs. He is quite condescending and patronizing. Our room in the back of the hotel was quite horrible with a view over the kitchen roof and the humming of the kitchen extractors. Quite small outdated bathroom which was not the cleanest I've seen. The bed seems like it has lived a long life and needs to be changed. Breakfast is adequate but the jams and marmalade offered in these awful plastic little containers are certainly not up to standard. Upon arrival, I really did NOT appreciate having to sign a paper listing the house rules! Outrageous and utterly ridiculous! Please here a picture of that paper.

    The location is wonderful. Charlestown is quaint and really quiet after a busy day in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Clean room, comfy bed and powerful shower- that's about all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very old fashioned and dated. When arriving you have to sign agreeing to a list of do nots which feels like you are a child getting a telling off. The reception is not manned and you have to unlock the main door yourself then pick up your key with everyone else's hanging up if you are any later than 11:30pm. They said it was for security but it feels rather insecure. Check out is at 10am and breakfast also finishes at that time so while my partner and I were packing our bags we get a phone call from a rather snappy woman asking if we coming down for breakfast, when we told her no she just hung up the phone! Not value for money at all.

    Although very dated and tired shower was very powerful. The bed was comfy enough and the room was cleaned to an acceptable standard. Check out was relatively painless but a friendlier approach would have been better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.6
    We liked how close it was to the wedding venue and we loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the owner of the hotel very difficult. We were excited that it was a small, privately run hotel in rural Scotland but actually found him unaccommodating and everything seemed to be an issue eg. Where we parked the car, which entrance we came through and the changes we made to the booking with another member of staff. The hotel itself is very dated and needs redecorating, especially the dated decor in the bedrooms (carpet, wallpaper and bedding is all very tired and old) and the very small bathroom. In comparison to other Scottish hotels we have previously stayed in, I will definitely not be recommending it, nor will we be back. I feel the owner needs to readdress his over-use of signage, his overall attitude and his room rates. As for breakfast being served until 10am and yet check out is at 10am-it makes no sense!!

    We liked how close it was to the wedding venue and we loved the little village it was located in. Very picturesque.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was a big concern. Leaving room key on the wall when leaving within arms reach of an unmanned reception and your allowed to just grab it. Had concerns about easy access to my room when or there by unknown person. Also writing my debit card number down on peice of paper at start. Concerned that could have been stolen.

    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not explained to us at check in how to enter the locked main door if we were back late. We arrived just after midnight and had to use the intercom to ask. The person on the intercom sounded annoyed with us but they should have informed us.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.4
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't enjoy turning up and being presented with a list of "rules" which I was expected to sign. These rules were things such as "I shall not use my mobile phone outside of my room". It did not make for a warm welcome. The bed was small and very hard, the walls were so thin I could hear people next door snoring. The floor creaked like a galleon when you walked across the floor and the sockets didn't work.

    Food location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay .told us about very nice restaurant just round the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing very pleasant sty

    The lady did meet us both at the front door she said her name was Julie very friendly her breakfast was was good big pot tea coffee all was spot on we will definitely go back there again the truth nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds have seen better days, my partner did not get the best sleep. Breakfast was nice but a bit greasy for our liking

    Nice location, friendly staff, lovely view from breakfast lounge. Hotel is not modern at all but had a good atmosphere .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Great B&B, quiet, excellent food, beautiful view of the river, easy free parking and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets could have been cleaned--they were dirty and needed to be cleaned. The floors squeaked walking around in the room and bathroom.

    The beds were excellent! The room and bathroom nice and large. Nice semi view of the river. It was quite close to Dunfermline and very quiet on the edge of a cute little town called Charlestown. The breakfast was excellent (full English and Scottish breakfast).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was missing towels from the room but a quick call to reception and the issue was dealt with promptly

    Excellent stay, the family run aspects provide a more personal touch than your massive chain hotels. A brilliant nice chilled and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place for a peaceful relaxing break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is an older established property some of the fixtures and fittings were a wee bit dated.

    Good food and friendly staff as well as a peaceful location which was close to places of interest to visit. Spotlessly clean throughout.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.1
    nice stay at elgin hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thought were rushed at breakfast. we came down at 9.20am as the breakfast finished at 10am but the waitress told all in the restaurant around 9.50 that the kitchen was now closed and that who ever wasn't down had missed out. so if you stay there ,get down in plenty of time or go hungry.

    location was nice with nice walks along sea front

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    doet wat het moet doen
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the restaurant was quite mediocre ( the famous sirloin steak barely 1 cm thick, ad not too big either ). Wines OK. Dog had to stay in the car or the room, if not we had to eat on a small square table in the corridor. Problems with connecting to internet ( not resolved ). Room OK, but old. Bathroom with a few pittfalls ( shower ). Hotel looks good from the outside, total experience is a little bit less satisfying. We stayed at 8 different places in Scotland and passing through England, this finishes as the one before last.

    Quiet setting, good private parking. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Courteous staff, excellent meals, clean rooms, quiet surrounding area: first-rate value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - It would be better if, on first arrival, help could be offered to carry luggage upstairs. . - Lunch and dinner menus could be better with the addition of more 'light' dishes (i.e.with small-to-medium portions) for those who do not wish to eat large 'heavy' dishes with large helpings of everything. - morning newspaper delivery could be offered for guests staying more than one night.

    The quality of well-made Scottish-style porridge on the breakfast menu. The helpfulness, efficiency and sincere attitude of all the staff. Laundry service provided on request ---without any requirement for filling in a special form listing each item.'Just put everything in a bag', I was told.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding anniversary and we had booked a double room.. and were shown to a twin. When we complained we were told, it was because of the view? The room we eventually got was comfortable enough, but had no view and had obviously not been cleaned for a few days, there were feathers and dust on the window sills in the bathroom.

    Location was great, a bit out of the way and that is why we chose it. Hotel was comfortable. Staff were on the whole very welcoming, if a bit preoccupied. Breakfast staff were wonderful and another couple were phoned to see if they were coming down to breakfast so they didn't miss out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    2.5
    Very bad hotel- Bad Cleanliness and customer communication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Me, my wife, and our 2 friends booked this hotel for 2-nights and arrived after a long 7-hour drive from London, expecting to at least have a bed to sleep in, and a bathroom with the basic necessities so that we could refresh ourselves in. However, when we arrived to the hotel, the first thing we encountered with was a door that wouldn’t open with the key that we were given, we had to go all the way back to receptionist while we listened to his half-assed excuses on how the key was badly cut. When we walked in the room, the first thing that we noticed was the old, poorly maintained and filthy carpet. The next room, the bathroom, had no soap so HOW WERE WE MEANT TO CLEAN OURSELVES? Next thing was the bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed we’ve felt in our lives! IT WAS BROKEN! Not only that, there wasn’t even any internet that we could use! And in 2016! After the first encounter with the turd kind. We went out to seek the manager in the store and complained to him about the horrible conditions. We demanded some form of compensation or refund, but then we were told by the manager that were weren’t clients to hotel but to booking.com and that were to complain to them instead! I am very disappointed in this irresponsible place that calls them a hotel they were successful in making this was my worst holiday this year thus far. I highly recommend that you do not go to this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.5
    A lovely find, would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel was a lucky find, off the beaten track, in a lovely historical Scottish Villiage . The location, is lovely, short walk to the coast, view from the hotel, amazing. The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.7
    Cozy feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messed up our booking and didn't inform us. Came to know after we called them to inform we will be arriving late. We were driving from Somerset! Had we not called, we would have been stranded. What a mess. They did manage to put us up in a different hotel for the night. We were not happy as we had to be away from our family for the night.

    Cozy feel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice calm place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet was very weak, maybe because of the location of the hotel. The hotel is a little bit oldish. The iron and the iron board was dirty.

    Calm. Most part of the staff are nice and helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    Needs an update, but great staff and really good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Off-the-beaten track - took a while to find it. Older facility which really needs an update. Limited dedicated parking for guests.

    Food was great, staff were great, location was really quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    3.8
    Worst night ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good in the evening.Waited half an hour for breakfast to arrive which turned out to be burnt with all the beans stuck together( no apology or offer for new ones).Room was dated and had an opened packed of biscuits sat by the kettle.Beds were brutal-never been so uncomfortable in my life.Room was far too warm-Windows wouldn't open.Bath plug was blocked.Shower temperature constantly fluctuated also. Will never stay here again-will certainly be passing on my experience at this hotel.

    Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    5.0
    Well located hotel, but bad conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hairs in the bathtub --> ugly, holes in the towels, room door can't be locked -> for what is the key?; breakfast hours too late --> so we can't eat breakfast, wifi only at reception available

    good beds, well located hotel, nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.8
    Reception and breakfast staff were very friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel decor needs updating, the dining room carpet looked very dirty also patch on roof needed painting. An awful lot of donts that you needed to sign off on on arrival. The owner was there when we checked in and never acknowledged us.

    Reception and breakfast staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    A pleasant location with great walkways,staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found it very hard to find even with the GpS,a no and the name of the road would have made a difference.

    A pleasant location with great walkways,staff helpful.Room was clean,and the breakfast good value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    Lovely Hotel, nice location.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    I loved the hotels location, looking out over the green and the Firth of Forth. The surrounding area was so quiet and it was lovely to be able to go out for a walk after our tea. The hotel is not modern, but it is clean, tidy and very comfortable. We had an evening meal and breakfast and all was beautiful. All staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location, good food, friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is small

    Good location, good food, friendly owner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful location. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    The location views and peacefulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location views and peacefulness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Very hard beds,,stains on bedding,,toilet not very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds,,stains on bedding,,toilet not very clean,,several ants in bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired and needing an upgrade

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floors

    Lovely location friendly staff good restaurant with good views of the river and bridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of dinner Hauling luggage up so many stairs

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But far from Edinburgh city centre

    It was clean and worth the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convient and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    I couldn't fault anything from the minute I arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything from the minute I arrived until my departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Quiet beautiful location, excellent food Rob the owner runs...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet beautiful location, excellent food Rob the owner runs a brilliant hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the food

    Nice comfy bed, room was good for price paid, the waiter was very nice, and very. Accommodating,nice peaceful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Cummfy stay for one night and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Time for some re-decoration in places

    Great value based on the online price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit dated but there is nothing i dislike

    Liked the location quietness and quaintness and homely feel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: