Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ellesmere Hotel Eastbourne 3 stars

11 Wilmington Square, Eastbourne, BN21 4EA, United Kingdom

#46 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Eastbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was supposed to be ground floor when booked and was 3rd floor . Dust everywhere and broken wood down in between beds that was pushed together .

    Cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a "compact suite", and although the bathroom was new it had no acoustics at all and it is kind of improvised inside the room which is not very different from the room on the side. But the location is very good, the staff are very friendly and give the best of them for you to have a great stay. Great for those who do not want to spend too much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were awful. The shower tray had burn marks on it, dirty carpet in shower enclosure. Room only had top opening in the window so the room was stuffy and hot, despite a table top fan.

    Close to seafront

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean . Not able to watched tv . I couldn’t able to have a tea in the morning because of cups and kettle looked like being there all these years they were gramy.

    It’s a faulty towers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking available, had to park half a mile away. There was no lunch or dinner although it does say on their website it is offered at a price. The price of the room seemed reasonable upon booking and appeared to include breakfast, but this was not the case, breakfast was extra so was VAT which was also not mentioned, so it ended up quite expensive for two nights. Card machine was broke so had to get cash which was awkward as it was a large amount paying for 4 people and most cash machines are limited on daily withdrawals. No proper bedside lamps, (when you could find them), cold shower, carpet and mat in bathroom is a no no and dated old 70s furniture.

    The location It was in easy reach of the seafront and eateries

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was small, dirty, the carpet was laid down in the 1970s the furniture was old and falling to bits, the bathroom had hole's in the pipe work, we thought that rats could come in, there was mould in the bathroom, could we please have our money back or should we put the photos we have on facebook ?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had been staying more than one night, we would have liked a decent shower in the room- we wouldn’t have wanted to use the one in our room

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chaos when we arrived. Proprietor and manager were not there. Credit card machine broken/room allocation different to booked.Appropriately named Fawlty Towers.

    location and price and Sean, who was helping out was of assistance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    EVERYTHING..place is very dirty, smelly, disgusting... Bathroom was moldy with a lot of hair... Probably never ever was cleaned... Manager (we guess it was manager) was not really friendly and doesn't seems to be professional. We cannot recommend this place to anybody!

    Nothing, nothing, nothing stay away

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were a bit dated

    It was exactly like it says on the tin Faulty Towers Our expectations were not high so it was ok for 2 nights , comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I personally would have liked bath sheet sized towels.

    Friendly staff. Although furnishings are dated, the rooms are warm, clean and comfortable. Soft pillows. Good breakfast (extra cost). Disabled access available. Ideal base for theatres, seafront and shops - all within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated but for the price that's no a problem

    We booked the last double room available which was compact double. The very nice guy who met us on entry said it would be very small and warned us of this. When we got to the room we were surprised of the size. It was perfect for us for a short stay , with an en suite shower room as well. It was very good value For money . Location great , close to Sea front and pier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bar left much to be desired serving old bottles of leftover wine and the room was very basic and not very clean. The owner seemed decent but the manager was more inter step in belittling his assistant than seeing to guests and we had to pay cash as card machine was broken which was inconvenien.

    The breakfast was very nice and good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was not enough water pressure the shower was poor the bathroom could have done with a bit of a makeover looking a bit tired

    Got left alone didn't have any one in your face asking questions and the breakfast was the best we have had anywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel to stay in over Easter and made us welcome to looking forward to going back to stay again.

    Nice old and realy great staff very comfortable rooms and warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the owner was tipsy. He was upset that we arrived after 8pm. We arrived at 11:30pm but warned ahead on the website and by phone that we would be arriving at that time.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rugs in room

    It was a comfy room, in need of upgrading but was clean and tidy. The room was made up daily to a very good standard. The owners are extremely nice and go out of their way to help you xx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above

    when i complained about the being a single for 2 people his was very rude we have stayed here before with no complaints its gone downhill since would not recommend to anyone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a sea view - but for a last minute booking couldn't really expect that...

    The room was extremely well appointed. Small but had everything: TV, tea/coffee etc./dressing table & wardrobe. Very comfortable bed. Sparkling clean and modern shower/toilet. Position is GREAT - literally two minutes from the sea /promenade - and facing quiet open grassed square. Local shops/eateries not far. Plus there was a comfortable lounge area with big screen TV and small library of books and DVDs which I enjoyed. AND they provided "guest parking ticket" so I could park bang outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrible. Dirty. Unfriendly and unhelpful staff. Too much furniture. Mismatched curtains torn, dirty, way too small for windows. Dust everywhere. Has not been decorated for decades, old and unkempt. Would have left but arrived late. Promised parking permit at 8 am no one around so bought a 2 hour ticket. The staff appeared at 1015 and had received a parking ticket on his car! This hotel should come off booking.com its simply disgusting. Didnt stay for breakfast. The staff member gave no information about the hotel. Doesnt deserve any stars

    Nothing oh sheets seemed clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was run down and the owner was abrupt and inexperienced. The room was claustrophobic, the bed very uncomfortable, water pressure very low, and items were not replenished which included toilet paper. There were 2 power cuts and the boiler broke down.

    It was a bed for the 3 nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money. Friendly staff, very clean, neat, cosy & tidy. Well equipped pleasant room - TV/DVD, well stocked Tea/Coffee facilities. Plenty of big, comfy pillows. Lots of fresh white towels provided. Selection of nice toiletries in bathroom. Fast WiFi. Nice buffet style breakfast - No complaints. There's even a little covered smoking area/shelter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi signal was poor but it was a known issue that the internet company was trying to fix. Not a big deal.

    Room temperature was nice, we were warm and comfy. Near to local amenities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the hotel was a bit of a lower standard then we expected. The room was cold and even though it was booked as compact it was extremely tiny. Half way through the shower it stopped working and assistance was needed to reset a fuse. The most importantly the hotels manager is not "trained for a job". The guy was constantly on a video call to his friend and ate crisps while checking us in. We asked for a better room and offered to pay more but once we said that we are not happy with the standard of our room the guy kicked us out and we had to ask him if we could stay... Also it took few hours to get the wifi working after almost an argument with the same manager which did not need much. Breakfast better eat in town. The bottom line is a poor standard of the place and the manager really rude and quite agressive, we had to be very careful not to agitate him. Definitely not recommended.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the weather

    lovely warm room and warm reception on arrival - Tony recommended the thia restaurant round the corner and it turned out to be the no.1 thia restaurant in Eastbourne - the meal was delish. we both had duck curry one in a sauce and one with orange.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely man in charge Cleanliness Homely feel Comfortable Spacious room Quiet and pleasant Cheap Bar open until last person goes to their room no matter how late Warm in room Accidentally checked out a bit late but man was very lovely about it and didn't mind. Will most definitely come here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. The owner is still getting established, it was a very comfortable, friendly hotel and close to all amenities. Perfect if you are going to the Winter Garden Theatre it was just across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our family and dog had a very comfortable stay; comfy beds, hot shower, good breakfast and clean rooms . Tony and Claire couldn't do enough for us and even volunteered to dog-sit day and evening when we went out to eat. Thanks for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property needs to be modernised, beds not very comfy

    We had a sea view which was lovely, the location was very good as within walking distance of the beach and the town centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great welcome, friendly staff. Cosy and warm room with plenty of space and good quality linen ,mattresses and bed. Would be very happy to stay here again. Location is excellent for walking on the seafront, easy walk into town, local facilities including shops, restaurants, fish and chips etc. Right next to Devonshire Park Theatre too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was freshly cooked for us with excellent quality food. Fawlty Towers type rooms some larger than others! Conveniently situated hotel. Considering the cost of the overnight rooms, the value was extremely good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy and warm. Nice rooms and I had a great bathroom. Tea and coffee in the room and all mod coms. Fantastic breakfast best we`ve had for ages. Very helpful staff. Great value for the price paid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising, the parking is NOT free at all and would be very difficult during the summer months to actually get parked as its on the street near the seafront!!! The card machine on arrival didn't work and because of this I've had my bank frozen and the hotel have charged me several times by mistake. I had to drive miles to a cash point on arrival... Not a good start. Very old fashioned full of dust and the lift smelt of fart. The member of staff was in your face every time he heard you move, he was the ONLY staff member??? No cleaners or reception desk. The shower was not working, it was cold whatever setting i tried and even after it had been on 20 minutes no hot water. It was all just very odd in general. When ever we went out the guy either stood at the window staring straight at us or actually came out the door with us to watch us get in the car and just stood there? Very very creepy. Felt like I was in a horror movie. I've stayed at over 90 places in the last 18 months or so and unfortunately this is more to the bottom of my list.

    Very close to the seafront, staff member was polite and had good knowledge of the area. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with a complete overhaul very dated and dismal. Room could do with a set of curtains that block light rather than a glorified couple curtain

    The hotel was in a central location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room had to side step into the bed

    The room wasn’t a double had no room to walk up one side the bad was against the wall it was that small. And the bed itself very small. It was very dated but staff very friendly beds were very springy. Wouldn’t go back unless it was updated and new beds with some rooms being sold as a single which clearly they was

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 star rating on the room although comfortable & roomy

    5 star rating on service & effort from you, Thankyou The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from I will definately stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Mattress was so uncomfortable! Room smelt horrid! Shower didn’t work properly fire alarm went off gone midnight and went off for a fair while.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room so we couldn't have a shower or a wash. Fire alarm went off at 23.15 but no fire so was a very rude awakening

    Location is fantastic and staff who checked us in were lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property somewhat tired and in reality was quite different to photos on line.

    Basement accommodation good as we had our dog with us. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lift to our floor was rather dangerous as the door closed far too quick to allow access!!!!! the room was far too small to accommodate the double bed which was pushed against the wall on one side.. the shower gurglied sliush when the sink was emptied!!!

    the owner was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom very dated and small, only a sliding door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom, offering NO privacy

    Good breakfast and very comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with some modernisation.

    We have stayed at the Ellesmere before for short breaks, and find it a comfortable hotel with all our basic requirements in a good location, and at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, if anything a bit old looking but everything worked so not a problem with me

    Value for money accommodation for UK Close to beach and a selection of restaurants and bars. Town only 10-15 min walk Property was well heated, lift and comunial sitting room with bar facilities The room was ok size with an ok toilet and shower Would definitely look at staying here again if and when I come back to Eastbourne

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been comfier.

    We had a lovely room with a full sized bath which we weren't expecting as we thought we'd booked a compact room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was definitely "compact" but fine for one night. Disappointed our ground floor booking wasnt ground floor but a minor gripe and would stay here again

    Excellent location near the winter gardens and the beach. Good service and friendly welcome, very good full english breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower was rubbish

    the room was good beds was not very comfy but was clean tea and coffee in the room was first class but for what we paid we could not maon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated decor & rooms need refurbishment.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Check-in and check-out fast and efficient. Good location. Excellent buffet breakfast with a good variety of hot and cold options. Free Parking voucher is a big bonus on the street outside the Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable spring sticking in my back, so I couldn't sleep very well Shower was hot then went cold Mr c Croft

    Very good location overall clean would return again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite advertising Free Parking, there was a permit system operating between 8am and 9pm which costs 1 pound a day and on the day of checkout we had to pay again to stay for breakfast. Although not expensive, it is not free either.

    Hotel was very clean and convenient to the sea front. There was a pub that does food and 4 restaurants within 3 minutes walk .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny room depressing sink at the window near bed, with a kettle balanced on top of wall mounted mirror cabinet, felt like a student room/hostel bed is about a foot away from door light switch jammed down side of wardrobe that's squeezed in beside door horrible old green rugs on floor the noise from another room's toilet flushing was like water and rocks rushing down the wall paper-thin walls, a lot of noise from neighbouring rooms really run-down and old-fashioned parking was a nightmare, briefly went out for water, and all spaces were gone around the BnB when I returned toilet button was jammed and actually painful to force down to flush black mould in shower

    wi-fi works

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and noisy when you turn over. Room a little bit small but ok for a couple off nights only.

    Nice clean room. Plenty off tea, coffee and milk. Clean towels and nice crisp white sheets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was a bit slow but it worked and did the job

    We had a very friendly welcome. The room was well appointed with beverage making equipment and hairdryer. Towels were beautifully folded on the bed and were soft to the touch. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice available. The hot breakfast selection was topped up regularly so the food remained fresh and extra rations were quickly delivered. The coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, decor looks like a throwback to the 70's and the mattress must be there since then as well. The springs could be felt through the top of it. Had to try to sleep on top of the duvet with the sheet over me.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated and tired The view from one bedroom was onto a well with lots of du ting and units of some kind. We did not book for breakfast or dinner. I specifically booked this hotel for its location to Beachy Head and for parking- it did not stipulate clearly that it was on street parking only - in high season very difficult to park nearby at all. This was very misleading.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    We stay here because it takes dogs. There is very limited hotels in Eastbourne which do so. Normally we stay at the Hydro Hotel but it was full. Ellesmere is a good location as it it is near the sections of beach which allow dogs. Staff very friendly, breakfast adequate but otherwise very basic. TV in the lounge doesnt seem to work properly. Expensive stay for what it offers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet in bathroom - not very hygienic.

    Very close to Devonshire Park tennis and lots of restaurants. Very close to the beachfront. View excellent from our window. Fridge in room very handy. The owner was a very pleasant man who was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not trust the photos on the website. The whole property is drab and out dated. Our room was advertised as 'compact double' but was really a compact single. The furniture and decor was dreadful. Bathroom a lovely shade of 70's pink and awful green carpet. Light constantly flickered. Shower had poor water pressure. Bed was horrendous. You could feel all the springs and far too small for 2. I've stayed in hostels and hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst I've stayed at. I feel robbed spending £69 for this room. Really wish I had taken a few photos to post. Would not recommend. :/

    Location, nothing else!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some glasses in the room although there were generous amounts of tea and coffee

    The staff were very friendly and polite. It is a very basic hotel, little tired but really good value for money. Bed was really comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated and needed up grading.The place looked shabby all over. The rooms were very small and old furnishings looked shabby and un kept.The bed creaked and basically I would not have stayed here if I could have found a vacancy some where else. The rooms are very expensive and I would pay a fraction of the price.I would not stay here again or recommend it.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. Decor very old fashioned and the shower barely worked. It was ok for one night but I would not go back again unfortunately

    The location, and the owner was a very genuine friendly chap - which when I spoke to him on the phone confirmed to me that I should book the B&B.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, price of breakfast

    We stayed for airbourne, brilliant location just no parking, spent hour and half finding parking. Also thought £10 each for breakfast was a bit pricey but overall a good stay staff lovely. Will be recommending for next year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just off seafront so no sea view but I do not think matters. Good value for money my stay but prices vary Everything fine

    Friendly staff Comfortable room top floor with new well fitted bathroom although shower in quite a high sided bath lift to top floor I did not have break fast Can enter from street with no steps it is bed and breakfast style not a hotel and as such really good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not good, we had a half mile walk to our hotel with our luggage. The breakfast was good, well cooked and presented well. The room was clean, pity about view that was a brick wall. What staff we saw were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A mattress topper on the mattress would have made the sleep more comfortable - Mattress was not great

    A warm welcome in an excellent quiet location for an excellent price. It is quirkily old fashioned in a genuine time travel experience back to the 1970's but clean and smart.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodated us as a family very well! Adjacent rooms with a door we could close to the rest of the hotel. Excellent as we have young children aged 8 and 5.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was small. It was stifling indoors.

    We had a nice time in this hotel. Personal was friendly. Location is very good, just 5 minutes to embankment where it is so nice to have a promenade. Car parking is easy and free with special parking permit from hotel. Hotel is very cozy, very interesting and historical atmosphere here. Rooms have charming design. WiFi connection was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lady who managed the hotel was very friendly, helpful and hospitable. She let us leave our bikes and luggage there for a few hours while we explored Beachy Heady and the Seven Sisters.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small and needs some refurbishment. It was clean though. Sufficient drawer space for us (inside of drawers needed a clean) but I think it's time for a new room wardrobe.!

    Mein Host (Peter?) was helpful and courteous at all times. Felt welcome. Breakfast was just right. We only had a compact double room but there was room for twin beds and everything we needed was there. The small fridge was a real bonus! Quiet location with park in front and sea very close by. Very convenient for theatres and several nice restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shabby room. Inside of drawers dirty. Small wardrobe and unable to hang dresses as bottom filled with blankets and quilts. Botched repairs in bathroom. All in all room very dated and scruffy.

    Close to town and sea front. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable rooms with agreeable décor Generous supply of tea and coffee in room Efficient and easy-to-control shower Free and fast WiFi Pleasant and helpful proprietors Light and airy lounge in which to sit and relax, read or work Disabled entrance and lift Excellent location, in a quiet square a few minutes walk from Eastbourne seafront, Towner Art Gallery, Winter Garden, Devonshire Park Theatre, and Eastbourne Heritage Centre, and from a street of cafés, restaurants and shops, with stops nearby for buses to town centre, Seven Sisters and Brighton Facility to leave luggage after check-out with key to get back into the hotel to collect it Very good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs a bit of redecoration but I really have nothing to say about what I didn't like.

    The hotel is in need of some refurbishment but it was spotlessly clean,very comfortable and quiet. Very close to the sea and handy for everything.I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing on my trip but note small hotel with little common lounge

    Above average. Access ground floor no steps and lift. Room decor warm colours. Bathroom newly fitted large bath good shower bidet. All clean and high standard. Generous supply tea coffee in room comfortable double bed. Did not book breakfast location very good. Spa room for massage etc looked but I had no time to book I would return. Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower thermostat seemed dubious such that I was nearly burned then shivered. The room was tired, needing a complete refurbishment.

    The bed linen was clean and the bed most comfortable. The breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Ground Floor Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The pictures do not reflect the hotel. We were promised a ground floor and then put us on the 2nd floor. We had to walk around for 10-15 minutes trying to find a member of staff to check in. Same with check out. Rooms are disgusting and the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold. Appauling and should not be allowed to be still running.

    Nothing. The property is poor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i didn't see any hotel staff part from when i arrived which surprised me. the welcome wasn't too friendly either. I had to ring the bell and wait to be let in to the hotel. the elevator had a strong smell.

    The hotel provided parking permits for the two nights we stayed there. The hotel is in a great location, good food just round the corner. the hotel was satisfactory. i can't really complain about anything. the room was ok, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: