Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Elms Hotel 3 stars

London Road, East Retford, DN22 7DX, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in East Retford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Just what I thought for the price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exactly as expected The food was very good for the price The service was very good The breakfast was very good This was a business trip and its location was perfect for our work The rooms are simple but very adequate with Tea and coffee For the price and the fact that everything is in one place, it did exactly what I thought it would.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alarm bells should have been ringing when it took 5 phone calls and 3 emails to get to speak to someone about checking in. This is a pub not a hotel! And a "run down" one at that. Staff attitude when we tried to book in early (as arranged) was dreadful. Room was not ready. Barman who booked us in had zero customer skills and spent 20 mins on the phone talking about us to his manager, within earshot,as if we were a "problem" and why had she not charged us an extra £10. We were finally greeted at the room (once we had tripped over a bag of rubbish and a vacuum cleaner) with the comment "there is a funny smell in there, but I have done my best to spray it for you!". We were starving hungry (no food, too early) and running late for the wedding. It was a "bed for the night" and that was it. Bedding was covered in tea stains but by this stage I just couldn't be bothered to complain. Bathroom was desperate for updating. We were going to stay for breakfast but couldn't check out fast enough and stopped off at a café instead once we had gone down the list of taxi numbers and finally managed to get one whilst sat outside surrounded by fag butts and the stink of cigarettes. Friends who also attending the same wedding got a lovely immaculate B&B nearer to the venue for less money and including breakfast. Avoid!!!

    Room was large enough, décor was reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Cheap room in good location for wedding we were attending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member who checked us in was rude. We arrived 10 minutes early to be greeted by an unhelpful member of staff. When asked if there was anywhere to get ready, even toilets we were told no. The member of staff then said we could have our room key but the room would probably not be ready (10 minutes until 2pm check in). We accepted the key as we needed to change and get to our friends wedding venue by 2:30pm. The room was in fact ready. We had previously emailed and requested early check in but got no response.

    Cheap room in good location for wedding we were attending

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Awesome annexe stable rooms situated round the back of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there’s no all night staff as made it a bit of a faff for a wedding

    Awesome annexe stable rooms situated round the back of the hotel..... and Was only £65 for a double room!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place needs TLC. It needs updating and the Stables block where we stayed had no hot water and the floorboards creaked a lot. It was just as well it wasn't full as the constant noise would have been too much. The patching up on walls etc., needs to be finished off.

    The staff are its major asset. Very welcoming and willing to help. Apologetic when we had no hot water for the duration of our stay and gave us a free breakfast on last morning. The cooked breakfast was good.The cleaner was very approachable and ensured we had enough tea/coffee. Bedding was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasent stay close to all amenitys will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want to be picky a coat of paint would not go amiss on some of the radiators and the outside walls and doors but that is being very picky for the price I think we had a great deal / some of the children running around in the restaurant but that's for the parents to sort not the staff,

    The staff very pleasant and helpful and informative could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable service and food were 4*+ the food was easy to order and came quickly to the table and the portions large the meal deals of 2 mains for £8-99 lamb shank,mixed grill, curries did not have room for dessert would go back tomorrow

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.0
    GREAT HOST, COMFY ROOMS, GREAT SETTING AND THE FISHING WAS EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    FOOD NEEDS IMPROVEMENT AND THE HOTEL REQUIRES A LITTLE TLC

    THE STAND IN MANAGER WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE SURE OUR STAY WAS ENJOYABLE

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    Awful room, paint peeling off the walls, it was dark hot and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room, paint peeling off the walls, it was dark hot and stuffy, uncomfortable bed. Could hear everything from room above, them walking around sounded like the ceiling was going to cave in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Generally ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel generally very tired looking, needs some money spent on it. Had to change rooms as window latch was broken and room we were in was not as advertised on website.

    Full English breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in annexe bedroom in morning after problem in night, which apparently is recurring.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Food good quality and value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Plesant and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable and the floor boards very noisy, the bathroom needs a little TLC.

    The hotel is generally quite and relaxing, the staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My evening meal, platter of deep fried prawns, chicken strips mushrooms etc was grossly over cooked making it virtually inedible. However my husbands steak was very nice.

    Helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Our home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 26 nights

    N/A

    All the staff were fabulous! Very friendly and helpful. Made us feel welcome. The elms is a beautiful old building with history and centrally located to everything. Plenty of parking, affordable meals and great atmosphere! I highly recommend The elms. I definitely will stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable room was very clean but was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable room was very clean but was a little tired. Over all was very good one night stay and at £57.50 for the night we couldn't complain . curtains are black out curtain ,s will be very good in the lighter nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    food and drink reasonable price and good quality, it was very cold when we stayed for a week but the room was cosy and warm, staff were very helpful and courteous. We stayed in the main building and had a lovely Georgian room with balcony overlooking the front, all in all good value for money and we would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used the hairdryer but had to dust it first. Furnisher needed dusting and cobweb in the bath room. Shower curtain was rather grubby. Had to wait while a member of staff went out for milk in the morning before we could have breakfast. He was very apologetic.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    A good option for a night out in Retford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dated, the bathroom fan was like a Vulcan taking off, Basin tap was dripping ( didn't keep us awake though so a minor niggle as I'm a plumber). No soap or other toiletries in the bathroom.

    Comfy, clean and warm room. Ours had an extra seating area and 2 tellies.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.3
    Really poor accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was dirty (cut my foot on splinter of glass on floor) and smelt of damp, shower in one room only luke warm, one shower didnt work. Had no breakfast as we were too early but didnt offer any buffet. however the food the night before was so bad (three of us had upset stomachs after) that we probably wouldnt have eaten anything anyway.Also ten miles further away from the place we were rallying at than it said

    not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    3rd time we have stayed here but it seems to have gone Downhill. We won't be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor quality. Our bathroom ceiling in our room was black with mould. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff could do with being a bit more cheery.

    Location and ease of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Spacious car park, big bathroom, breakfast nice, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited quite a while to get checked in as the staff were serving. Comfy bedding but the bed wasn’t so comfortable unfortunately. Room in the stables ground floor was ok but we were awoken at about 5am but the creaking floors of people upstairs and water running. It was very loud & we just couldn’t sleep because of it.

    Spacious car park, big bathroom, breakfast nice, staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    The Hotel has ample parking, the rooms are away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get hot water from the shower in my room despite several attempts to do so. I paid extra to have Breakfast in the morning. There was a good spread of continental breakfast available. I ordered a full English breakfast as well which was obviously already precooked as it arrived rather promptly & was also lukewarm which wasn't great.

    The Hotel has ample parking, the rooms are away from the main bar/restaurant so not too noisy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Good staff, poor and heavily worn decor, real potential to be amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel/Inn/Pub has certainly seen much better days. It is probably a converted Georgian House, but it has not been well done or very well looked after. It is shabby (not in a chic way) and would benefit from some simple investment. My room was in an annex, an old stable block. The shower room was ok, but very worn and not that well maintained. Th toilet struggled to flush, the shower fittings were loose, the sink taps both ran warm and the cold tap was the hot tap and vice versa.

    Chris, who was on reception when I arrived in the evening, was running the bar, taking food orders and also and welcomed me to breakfast the next morning, was excellent. Friendly, polite and helpful, he is most likely the person who keeps the place going and and, undoubtedly, a prize asset to the owners. Without his warm welcome and service I would have had a poorer expereince.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Tiring!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise, even in the stable block rooms was dreadful. Very creaky floorboards, air vents in all bathrooms very noisy and the volume of every voice and every movement was as loud as it would've been if the walls were made of paper. Didn't get a single half decent nights sleep in 3 nights. The staff were friendly though and discounted by one night's worth which was appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    It was just about OK, and bed linen crisp and clean. But didn't like anything else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark car park - no lighting. Very squeaky floorboards so downstairs guests must have every footstep made. Carpet very grotty, bathroom dated. Reception area on check-in, no-one to greet you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Surroundings were nice location to town convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an evening meal on Friday which was acceptable would have liked fish but there was none left at 7-30 !! Breakfast first morning no marmalade and although mentioned to the staff still none the next morning (disappointing)

    Beds comfy asked for extra pillows but did not receive them

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    I will definitely not use this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lengthy wait for my evening meal . Breakfast wasn't included despite it saying it was on Booking .com In the morning i discovered I had been locked out of the main reception/bar area and had to walk through the garden and car park to main entrance which was also locked . I had to use the fire exit . I wasn't given a receipt as their printer wasn't working. I had to lend staff a pen when I checked in too .

    Room was very clean .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    cheap and cheerful for one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from room above and desk lamp and bathroom mirror light not working. Half the items of food and wine on menu not available. Breakfast average with over cooked sausages that tasted like cardboard

    good value room and food. room clean and nice size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very good weekend, room was clean and comfortable and in a good location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with The Elm's Inn but taxis are really hard to come by in Retford so would recommend booking a return journey when ordering a taxi.

    Everyone was really nice and helpful especially when we locked ourselves out of our room gone midnight. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Dreadful hotel, never again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything

    One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed at. Small room, tiny shower, floorboards creaked really badly and we could hear every movement in the room adjacent to ours and in the corridor outside our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Only ok, really wanted to stay in Lincoln but no accommodation available. Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the stable block. Room very dark. Weeds up to door way and broken down wall right outside the door. Noisy floor above. The décor of the main building was very dated, a gook lick of paint and general TLC would improve the appearance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    A bed for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you were to ask me if I would stay again my answer would be NO! The place itself was not as nice as the photos made it look. we got given a room where the bed was not even level and the room needed updating, doors needed painting and the bathroom wasn't very nice. This is a basic hotel for a quick nights stay. We got given a second room which was better but again wouldn't recommend for a prolonged stay. I would suggest the pricing was over priced. The breakfast was ok but there were few staff and in the morning we had to ask for cups and glasses.

    It was a bed for the night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    A pity that such an attractive building and pleasant staff let down by poor hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a room on the ground floor but our twin room was up a long flight of stairs. There was a hole in the room ceiling and, although September, the nights were cold. We asked for the central heating to be turned on but were told it couldn't be !!! Only half the ancient toaster worked, no saucers and food left on floor round one table at breakfast. Water too tepid to make a decent cup of tea in flasks at breakfast. Creaking bathroom floor no grab rails on bath !!!

    The staff were friendly and did their best to make the most of a rather amateurish attempt at a "hotel" !!! The beds were comfortable and the bedding clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Great location, spacious clean rooms and cheap and cheerful dining options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is greatly located within 10 mins walk to the town centre, easy to access public transport and ten mins walk to the country lanes and public footpaths. We stayed in the Barn accommodation to the rear of the property which was under refurbishment but did not impact our stay. The rooms were clean, spacious and came with a shower and a bath which was great, ample parking and access was not an issue. The food in the hotel was cheap and cheerful with plenty to chose from, the staff were helpful, witty and pleasant. We joined in on the weekly pub quiz during our stay, which was very relaxed and fun. Good value for money for our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfy bed and adequate for our stay and staff very friendly
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing wrong was the shower was dirty this is purely down to house keeping, tiles in the shower very grubby, we had no towels in the room the staff kindly brought some over to us but they were damp.

    Lovely fresh linen on the bed, comfy and room adequate for an overnight stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    This is a pub with rooms really, not a hotel. Cheap but clean and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is basically a pub/restaurant in a chain of 'Brewers Fayre' type pubs. The building was obviously once glorious but that is not longer the case. For us it was fine, as we were attending a local festival and just wanted a warm bed for the night, instead of a tent, but I would have been disappointed if I had wanted more. The main house and stable block are pretty tatty. You walk straight into the pub with the bar on the left and the restaurant on the right. The guy on reception was pleasant and helpful. We were put in anstable room and although it is September and not particularly boiling the room was quite uncomfortably hot. We left both small top windows open in our room and our bathroom all night and pulled the curtains open all night to try to get some air in and it finally cooled down about 4am. It was also very noisy, our room was very creaky and next door kept coming and going and banging the door all night long. We didn't eat in the pub so can't comment on the food. We did have our tea bags refreshed on our second day so that was ok. I probably wouldn't go back, but for value for money and if you are not looking for anything special then this is fine!

    Parking was good. The outside green areas are attractive. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Bed comfy and warm. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready. Not been cleaned or otherwise serviced. Room is in need of a good makeover. Looks tired.

    Positive response to initial problem with room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    We are going to go back, that says enough really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot really.

    Nice helpful and very friendly staff, lovely grounds, good food reasonably priced, just a nice pleasant place to stay and excellent overall value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    if was good and myself and husband also my brothers had a great time
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that my two brothers and partners only paid £130.00 and I had to pay £165.00 I wasn't happy about that, also the bathroom ceiling had big brown stains on it. the radiators were not working but I still enjoyed my short break.

    food was good, music was really good on Friday night and bar staff were very

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    O.k.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather cramped and stuffy. Creakiest floorboards I've ever encountered - glad we weren't downstairs. Shower ok, but door wouldn't stay closed so bathroom godfather wet. Beds comfortable enough but better ventilation would have helped us sleep better.

    Convenient location. Breakfast fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Two day stay with no real issues to worry about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An issue with a broken tap which probably should have been found when cleaning the room. Brought it to their attention and was quickly moved to a different room and upgraded. I have stayed here before and will stay again.

    Good staff who quickly solved issues. I have stayed here before and will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    This may be find for the locals to have apint and watch T.V. but for the traveller this is 1*
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more presentable, tables not wiped clean fully, ashtrays not emptied for days, rubble around the outside of the room, cats fighting, paint flaking off the room walls, I did not have breakfast, I just wanted to go without causing a fuss.

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    A happy stay in Retford
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lower stables rooms were unsuitable for my guests, but, since I had booked 4 rooms in total, a very helpful member of staff managed to change them to ones more suited to their needs. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    The Georgian style of the old building has been kept true to its era and colours wherever possible and practical. The grounds in which The Elms is set are well-maintained and complement the main building well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    Not the best stay we've had through booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money we paid, the rooms were quite small and from 7 o clock in the morning all you could hear was the people above waking around. The floor boards were so loud and it was impossible to get back to sleep after a late night wedding.

    The initial look from the outside of the rooms were cute but that was about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value hotel and helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant are in need of some refurbishment. Upholstery well worn in places and a bit grubby - though this did not detract from the over all service.

    Very helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Good value for money. Food very good. Good outside space / garden area for sitting out and useful to have parking right outside hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Would not recommend staying here until better organised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one room booked. I booked two. Was sorted after a few hours. No cooked breakfast first morning. Poor choice of cereals. Had to look for cutlery. No marmalade. jam or sauces. Toast either burnt or bread not toasted at all. Car vandalised. We were not advised not to park near room. No signage or security lighting in this area. (We were compensated by a reduced charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Room was very clean & spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 tea sachets... wasn't replaced by housekeeping.... did ask at the bar, but no-one came. Will take my own in future.

    Room was very clean & spacious. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.0
    would not choose to stay here again - has potential to be good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were very uncomfortable - springs everywhere there was no yogurt for breakfast one of the meals ordered in the restaurant was not available, but not notified of that until it was ordered not enough staff to cope - the reception was not obvious and the only member of staff present was taking orders at the bar

    Not much - food adequate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.0
    not the best but will do in a pinch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very dimly lit. there was a gap all around the door so wouldn't be good in winter. the bathroom door didn't shut and had no lock. in the morning we had to ask for milk for the teas and coffees at breakfast so a 4 pint bottle just got dumped on the side. the staff member was trying his best but you could tell the place had been left to get a bit run down and was understaffed. food was good though.

    food was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel lovely grounds so excellent for sunny days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as it suited our needs

    The staff were excellent and very hard working, seemed like they worked long hours but kept their politeness and friendliness at all times

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    3.8
    poor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was of poor quality and the beds was too small for taller person. Floorboards were horrendous all your could hear were people walking about causing squeaking noises due to them not been fit properly .we'd come away for a relaxing break and we're woken up at 6am by neighbouring rooms squeaky floorboards..very .very disappointing.won't be returning

    The beer and grounds were ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    Move on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pub was not clean and was unwelcoming. The room was small and not well equipped.

    There was nothing I liked -It was convenient otherwise I would not have been there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    ROOM NEEDS TLC SHOWER DISSCUSTING BLACK MOULD SEALENT PEELING AWAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4O MINUTE WAIT FOR EVENING MEAL ( WAS TOLD THIS BEFORE ORDERING ) ALSO BREAKFAST NOT VERY WELL ORGANISED TOASTER NOT SWITCHED ON AND HAD TO WAIT

    FOOD NICE

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for what we needed at the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot due to small windows and noisy floorboards above. There was no fruit at breakfast as advertised and yoghurt unavailable on last couple of days. Cleaning of windows while still having breakfast.

    The bed was comfy. The staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Could do much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a very serious update.The room was in some outbuildings and was a little better but the refurb in the bathroom toilet area was clearly done by someone who was not a professional more like a poor DIY

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    Awful food, small room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smaller than expected, not enough towels for two people, toilet needed attention, bathroom fan sounded like a helicopter taking off. Food was awful - burnt lasagne (hadn't heard of parmesan cheese when requested), curry was cold with burnt bargees, lukewarm naan and cold rice - breakfast was just as bad, no porridge, two pieces of bacon in sandwich, full english had cold and hot elements - just no care taken over preparation and cooking of the meals ordered. Staff unable to refund booked breakfast as full price charged but 2/3 were cheaper options (don't pre-pay!)

    The one member of staff working was very helpful but was running the bar, reception, solving room issues and waiting on the tables.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They provided us with detailed information about what to do in the area. The bedroom in the old stable building was clean and pleasing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not get the free wifi to work and the walls in my room were quite thin and I coiuld hear the other person talk on their phone at night but I can't speak for all of the rooms.

    Nice bar and pub restaurant and good parking at the front of the building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    If it was run better we might stay again but at the moment no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar could of been run better not enough drinks wife ask for a bitter lemon did not have any small drinks service was lacking had to wait about 10 minuites which to us was not good enough .

    The rooms were comfortable and clean fire alarm went off but no staff informed us of what was happening which I found wasn't really good enough but the meals were good for the money .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Ideal place to break journey or short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was warm during the night and we had window as wide as would let us, we commented after leaving if it was any warmer would not have got slept.

    Was ideal for our stay, bed was comfy, slept well, no passing noise, could eat at hotel. Just good to get away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    The Stable rooms need knocking down and rebuilding!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room for the night was in "the stables" a separate part from the main hotel. From the moment you entered this building it was noisy, all the floors were squeaking. We had room 17 (apparently 20 rooms in this little block) very small, not a problem for one night though. Mould on shower room ceiling and very squeaky floors all through our room. Bed was not at all comfortable, god knows how old it was! We ate in main hotel restaurant, food was as expected for a beefeater style chain, the staff were helpful and pleasant. Were woken up at 4 am by people in one of the nearby rooms, seemed to have lots of contract workers staying getting up at all hours, as the building is so noisy, even if they tried to be quiet it wouldn't make a difference. It did not get any quieter from then on, water heater started up sounded like a car revving up, think it was right above us. Vans picking up people, I could go on. At breakfast went to make a cup of tea and the "hot water" flask had cold water in. I have never had such a bad nights sleep in a hotel, the room was £70 a night plus breakfast, I would not stay at this hotel again if they paid me.

    The staff we met were very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Well worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift, but not a problem. Could do with a refresh

    Nice room, quaint squeaky floorboards, very clean. Staff were really helpful. Nice and quiet. I would definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 teabag supplied Being ignored by waitress at breakfast waited 20 minutes while she was chatting with another customer and clearing the tables Had to ask her if I could order the cooked breakfast Didnt apologise for ignoring me

    Quiet peaceful surroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Cheap, you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff. The room where very small. Not really that clean. They use cleaning spray, of which the bottles are left ready to use every where. Hot soapy water would be better. On the tables in the bar, they where sticky all the corners of the tables where dirty. The room had spiders in them and toilet paper left on the floor in the bathroom when we arrived. I didn't like having to go into the bar to book into reception and had to ask a member of staff where we book in. The fire alarm went off when we were in our room, two members of staff came running, with a tea towel? I asked what was happening and they did not have a clue, they where just looking. Eventually they came and asked could they look in our room and check, but still had no idea what had set the alarm off. Crazy🤔 I would not book into this hotel again simply because of the bedrooms, everywhere needs painting and upgrading.

    Location to where I needed to be was good. Food choice was good and not far to go from room to the bar. Staff where friendly, although could have been quicker in clearing tables.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yearly safety tests on electrical items in bedroom : overdue (as indicated on labels on items). Wifi never worked.

    I was in one of the rooms in "The barn"- ie in a building separate from the main building; it was very quiet. A very nice restaurant nearby (Market square)- "Spencer's": excellent food and nice/unusual decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and stuffy and too much noise to leave window open. Room was very basic and window was tiny so not enough natural daylight. No proper internal locks on doors and as a lone female traveller i felt very uncomfortable with this. Breakfast was poor quality, greasy and egg overcooked. Felt like a hostel/motel.

    The staff were friendly and the wine was cheap

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.4
    Leanne was very good to deal with, although I understand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and room was a bit tired and needed some investment. Bathroom light and extractor fan didn't work. Sink drained very slowly. Noise, creaky floorboards.

    Leanne was very good to deal with, although I understand that she leaves soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Ups and downs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water wash one sachet a day of coffee and sugar place needs a make over . Breakfast was nice managed a gluten free selection.

    Location was good winter duvet too hot, water cold, beeakfast good but times not clear so missed Mondays breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Creaky floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All floorboards creaking in the room and on the corridors,woke you up when people were coming and going especially at 6am

    Plenty of parking,we ate lunch there really good value and very tasty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a coat of paint, some Mildred above the shower.

    The staff, where very. Welcoming and helpful Traveling on my own I like to feel safe and know someone is there if I required assistance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Everything was great apart from the squeaky floor boards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floor boards and banging doors

    Everything was great apart from the squeaky floor boards everywhere very load. And pillows not my personnel fluff Ness . Food and staff fab

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.0
    Short an sweet, it was ok but definetly not worth the £75 for the room with no breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot , no fan or air conditioning , my daughter didn't sleep well as she said a door kept banging 😒 The shower wasn't a power shower so very slow and kept changing temperature Bathroom was a bit dated we were in the family room

    I liked the comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Easy booking, come and go to the room as you please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff. Rather watch tv than serve you at the reception desk. Maid walked into our room whilst we were still in bed, no dead bolt on the doors.

    Easy booking, come and go to the room as you please.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable stay, but the coming Refurbishment is a little overdue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat was loose, paintwork well ready for attention.

    Very convenient for walking to town,bedrooms very quiet.Staff very informative and helpful. Very fulsome menu in the dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.0
    Basic but tired.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floorboards were really creaky and noisy. The bathroom sink took ages to clear and the fan was noisy. We were in the stable block and the entrance stairs were especially tatty and tired, needing lots of repair. The room was basic but tired looking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    value for money.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lock on bathroom door,bath panel cracked, no deadlock on room door and not very soundproof so noise from neighbouring rooms.

    Comfy bed, friendly staff,good breakfast, price.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: