Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Esplanade Hotel 3 stars

Fistral Beach, Newquay, TR7 1PS, United Kingdom

#10 of 36 hotels in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was good
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy teabags kept being placed in the room. The maid came in twice very early in the morning and woke us up. The walls were quite thin and could hear the bloke in the room next to us snoring very loudly so didn’t get the best sleep.

    The breakfast was very good. The bathroom was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Only location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were smelly and noisy Different size room was shown while booking, but gave small tight room which was very uncomfortable

    Only location and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    The Hotel was a pleasant place to be for work or leisure, with helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had arrived late evening and was not informed that the door card was to be inserted in the slot to activate the electrics.

    The hotel was easy to find. The reception staff were polite and informative as to meals and use of the pool etc. I enjoyed using the swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi. After checking out I completed some paperwork in the Hotel lounge for a few hours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible. Booked a car park in advance, when we got there they didn’t have a parking for. We had to park miles away from the hotel. They told us that they carvpark was fully booked yet they had lots of space while we were staying there. So the staff in charge on the day was definitely needed t helpful. Paid £140 for the night. Not the worth the money. Also they keep telling us breakfast was £10 per person but when we went to pay it went up to £12.50 each!

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and amazing views to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room and some parts of the building could be restored. The housekeeping team should not bother guests at 8am on their departing day to check if they can clean the room

    Excellent location and amazing views to the beach. The room was big and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    We liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was fine with us, but be prepared that you need to walk to town centre

    Beds were very comfy even though we had a twin room for a couple. You can spend some time in a pool with small sauna. Very nice view from the rooms with sea view and from hall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic view of Fistral Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast poor. Sausages were the worst I think I’ve ever tasted, admittedly there was plenty of other cereals, toast, cold buffet etc. But, it’s all about the Full English! Wouldn’t stop me returning though, it’s a nice hotel

    Nice clean room, lovely views of Fustral Beach, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly rude receptionist and lots of dead mosquitoes in room and bathroom

    The barman was great, generally staff fantastic courtesy call in room to check if we settled was great and everyone helpful to me and my pregnant partner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Hotel has it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like thus was the 3rd time ive stayed there the hotel for me was everything I wanted

    Location,clean room with quality furnishings carpark good breakfast list gos on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, we will be back again with our children next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm but the fan provided was a great help

    The bed was extremely comfy, the views from the room were amazing! A very short walk to the beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Would not hesitate to book this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel more orientated to young families - fair enough - but more for older guests would have been welcome, e.g, more evening entertainment.

    Lovely room, very clean, comfy bed, plenty of toiletries. Fantastic view over Fistral beach. Nice location. Good restaurant with lovely sea view. Helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is situated very close to the beach and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in the bathroom was disappointing. You coudn't take the shower head in order to shower properly.

    The location is situated very close to the beach and you have a very nice view over the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful and friendly the hotel was lovely and clean. Enjoyed my stay. Would highly recommend to anyone

    The view from the hotel was stunning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one/two nights. Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were very noisy in the corridors while trying to have a bit of shut eye early afternoon. Breakfast was overpriced and not particularly good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel with easy access and good customer service, location was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu in the restaurant could have been better, no complimentary breakfast

    Good location, easy access, reception was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant booking was good and ordering in the restaurant was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    We were given a smaller room on the frst night due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a smaller room on the frst night due to unavailability despite having paid in advance. Howecer we were compensated by free breakfast for 2 and moved to a bigger room the next day. The other roon we got was an ocean view room and was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Would have been lovely if not ruined by other guests and a rude member of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 3 in the morning by guests fighting and not being taken seriously when informing staff. Waiting for the hot food at breakfast.

    The view in reception area was breath taking, just beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    A pleasent aura, friendly staff, fab facilities and a comfy bed.. what else could you want?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath in our bathroom (135 I believe) had jets in it which we were very excited to try to then find that they didn't actually work once we were in the bath was quite a disappointment.

    Gorgeous room, En suite, lovely pool, super duper friendly staff, bar staff were absolutely fab (a young Aussie gentleman) Uber comfy beds, amazing location, great night's sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Awesome place to stay! Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the roxy suite, however ended up in the quicksilver suite, plot twist, it was decorated in roxy attire... confusing but nice! Bathroom was filthy and could do with a revamp!

    Staff completed my special request and made one very happy partner upon arrival!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great stay, great location and amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more comfortable

    Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating to our 4 month old daughter. Food was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant, nice, clean hotel, good location, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the Parking at the hotel is very limited and is on a 'first come first serve' basis. However there was a good amount of parking on the road at front of the hotel. However I am sure there will be plenty of guests who will not like the idea of parking on 'the road' - I certainly didn't!

    Simply put, the Hotel is good value for money. The staff were friendly, hotel room was clean, tidy and modern with lots of biscuits and refreshments in the room. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were simple, but pleasant with a nice quite atmosphere. The Hotels' location was excellent, as you were only a 20 minute walk away from the very centre of Newquay, so this meant the hotel can be as quiet or action packed as you desired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location , but not overall impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room , and the staff moved our belongings into another room without notifying ourselves. I think this is not right. Also while I was out Sunday morning the cleaning ladies repeatedly entered the room before 11am while my wife was in the room.

    Decent enough room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely hotel and fantastic views, some staff still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really lovely hotel and fantastic views, some staff still training, so service was a little slow but all very polite. The standard of food was average. Our room was excellent, however the bathroom did need some attention, broken tap and slow shower and a little dusty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Esplanade April weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside is the parking unless you pay a day rate to reserve a space it is on a first come first serve basis or parking along the street however in high season I think you would struggle to park along the street as it's where most of the surfers aim to park there cars and vans when they go surfing.

    The property overlooks onto fistral beach and is in walking distance to the beach and town centre. The hotel is large and has a pool, sauna and jacuzzi and a pool table and a children's play indoor area, outside there is a tennis court. There is a well stocked bar and a beautiful breakfast selection. The rooms themselves are a decent size very nicely decorated and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very limited. Also our room was surrounded by noisy families with children which resulted in us being woken very early.

    Fantastic location with views of Fistral Beach. I requested a complimentary upgrade at point of booking due to celebrating an engagement. Even though this wasn’t fulfilled they provided us with a lovely card and rose petals on our bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    A relaxing stay with stunning views wish we could of stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully modern with a great size. The hotel itself smelt lovely throughout. We loved the pool and the great view from the lobby. Would definitley stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Views to die for, very family full, be great n summer if you can get in. Good for a bunch of surfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The short guy at the desk was really rude & obnoxious. We meet another couple whilst there and asked if he could help us locate them and he was outright brash / needed a slap. I suspect the Hotel is all this little man knows... There was no fridge in the room & the pool area was really chemically induced with chlorine it had to be dangerous for people. No help for parks when the small car park out front was full. (Park round back on small dusty road) Lovely cleaners ;-)

    The place couldn't be in a better spot! Loved it. The views form the lobby on a windy wet day were incredible. Loved the pool in the evenings even though it was full of naughty kids. Location location 10/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Food was nice but very pricey, room and full hotel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was nice but very pricey, room and full hotel was very warm, sometimes too warm, the room was nice but not amazing value for money in our opinion, service was good. Out door play area was dirty and I feel like we had a pet room but didn’t book a pet one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Would go back anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot fault it. Staff are great, rooms are clean and if you don't like the location there is even a Specsavers in the town. Just bare in mind it's a family hotel so you can't be a snob and have to put up with the occasional child..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyable. We had a great family holiday and the children really enjoyed the hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the seating areas were a little Sandy but this is down to location and not really a massive problem. Some of the additional toys in the playroom were broken and could do with being replaced

    The location is great and the hotel has brilliant facilities for small children, Our 4yr old was desperate to return after last year. The soft play area is such a great idea and was well utilised by the kids. The hotel also puts on a brilliant entertainment package which was enjoyed by all and as before the bedtime story under the door each night was a really lovely touch. I have not before encountered such a family friendly hotel......happy children = happy parents!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other residents pets. There was a dog in the next room that barked throughout night and day

    Staff were so courteous and pleasant. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and would probably return if we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking spaces are limited. No space for adults to sit quietly without children running around. Not even in the bar!!

    We liked that the hotel was a little out of town, so quieter.. Great view of Fistral Beach. Restaurant meals and breakfast were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Will definitely be staying again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight improvement would be a fridge in the room. But we only wanted it for the children's milk and reception were happy to give us some when asked.

    Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. Staff were excellent. Loved the fact it was very family friendly, children's activities to do and a play room. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi were also nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    I loved the location of the hotel and the views from the lounge and dining room were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, 301, was very noisy from the people above. We could hear their TV very late at night and they were very heavy on their feet stamping around. We had to ring reception at midnight one evening to complain. Also our room was dog friendly which would have been great if we had a dog. I think these rooms should be kept exclusively for pet owners only.

    The breakfast was plentiful and offered very good variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to the beach and friendly staff make my day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers to walk down to the pool plus no bathrobes. Plenty of kids, so no place to relax for couple of minutes without them. You can hear screamed behind the wall. So no late mornings.

    Beautiful beach just in the front of you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have hot water on some occasions and the shower wasn't as powerful as I would like. Very creaky floor boards outside room and could hear everyone outside in corridor.

    Staff were really nice. Good choice at breakfast. Good location to beach. Beds very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, worth a visit, right next to Fistral beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One family rather spoiled our rest after breakfast two days running by allowing their small children to run amok in the reception / lounge area. We were surprised that the staff didn't ask the parents to control them, especially after one small girl started writing on the walls.

    Fabulous location, breakfast choice and quality were great, rooms clean and comfortable. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise it was pet friendly when booking and my husband is allergic, so he spent the whole trip taking tablets :(

    This hotel has a fab sea front location. The indoor pool was great for the kids when the weather wasn’t beach friendly and the kids activities were great too. I would also recommend booking for the breakfast, great choice and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel ran exceptionally well. Great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of excellent little touches throughout our stay. A build-a-bear for the kids, nice tea, hot choc and biscuits in the room, great quality food, after dinner chocolates etc. Pool was small but really nice (lovely temperature too) and view from hotel lounge is stunning. Excellent value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this place it was a get away for my partners birthday all staff were lovely was amazed to find the table decorated for our evening meal ... all around they stay was perfect amazing room with amazing views can’t fault the place ... have already made a request to book for my birthday in November, I’m hoping it’s all accepted

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Over priced and shabby. In need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute and had a "family room". Very very small double bed with flat, uncomfortable pillows. Room extremely shabby - patio door falling apart. Tv at very awkward height - not possible to watch from sofa. Back of remote control broken - batteries kept falling out. Kettle was melting from the inside although this was swiftly replaced when we contacted reception. Bathroom door was clearly made for the room; thin with poor lock. Main door looks like it's been broken in half at some point. Lock felt like it was going to fall off. Room overlooked back garden - we were woken at 6am on Saturday morning by a trolley of some kind being dragged along the path. Swimming area / flooring was flooded as was sauna weirdly. Didn't feel very hygienic. We've stayed here previously in a much nicer room including a good breakfast. On this occasion the shabby decor and uncomfortable furniture let it down. All comments were provided to staff on checkout. Someone said they would be in contact but never were.

    Fabulous location on Pentire overlooking Fistral Beach Great open seating area with panoramic views Good ESPA toiletries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    great break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner times should run a little later. as we got to the hotel late and couldn't order as it was past 8.30. Parking is very limited you need a permit to park outside the hotel.

    It had a nice swimming pool and Jacuzzi for the family and a pool table which my son loved .A little indoor play area for the babies . The bar served some nice food . You could also order some cheeky room service if you didnt fancy leaving your room . Staff seemed friendly and attentive throughout our stay and location was fab as you can see the sea as you step out of the hotel . Would definitely stay hear again 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids pasta was cold 2 nights in a row and no discount or free desserts etc was offered not one to cause a big fuss so left it at that.

    Swimming pool, clean and friendly service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    The receptionists and activities staff were great and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was a bit too cold! The parking situation made no sense! 8 spaces which were 'reserved' if you wanted to pay an extra £10 per night parking. With a fully booked hotel (as it was when we stayed) all of these spaces remained empty and guests had to park some way up the road. Good customer services would have allowed the spaces to be used, particularly as the majority of guests appeared to have children and many bags.

    The receptionists and activities staff were great and the stories at bedtime were a lovely touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Great customer service, very helpful staff with a smile on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iots of prams and wind breakers, fishing net left next to the entry door makes it a bit busy and messy. U can hear upstairs when people walking, using toilet and shower, also when people walking by your door as well. Teen jumps into the pool and some other teens just walks in with outside shoes standing inside and having a chat with other teens in the pool. Loud music had been played in the pool which I don’t think it’s a good idea, a quieter one would be better.

    Great customer service, very helpful staff with a smile on the face. Room is very clean, great location next to the sea. The lady with a close hair wearing grey suit in charge of the dinning during breakfast is so lovely! Great service. The heating is very strong which I like but some ppl might not like it., could turn it down a bit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Happy, relaxed and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thoughtful touches as was a birthday weekend for our family. Very child friendly and lots of little extras for the children. Very friendly accommodating staff, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Perfect, everything about our stay couldn't have been better. By far the best hotel I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    On arrival my 6 year old son was greeted with a gift a build a bear which instantly gave us a good feel of the hotel. The staff are very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel with extremely friendly staff who always go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an extremely annoying and fairly loud noise which was constantly passing through the room ( unsure as to how ) so sleeping was a struggle at times, other than this, everything was perfect!

    Staff were extremely friendly at all times! Previous to our arrival I emailed stating it was my boyfriends birthday and asked if they could arrange room decorations etc. Upon arrival we were greeted with chocolates and balloons and a birthday message on the mirror at no cost. We are extremely thankful for this, it was such a kind gesture. Also, the Hotel provided amazing views!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little noisy from the evening entertainment, but it didn't go on too late and wouldn't have been an issue at all other than having a 2 year old child. There were a couple of dogs next door that I think the owner left and they were barking quite a lot, but obviously this was not the hotels fault.

    Great family room,very clean with good facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As it was a school holiday the hotel provided free activities for the children, this was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. There was also a great pool and soft play area for the children.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    A very pleasant one night stay, with lots to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost of breakfast too much.

    The on site entertainment and the indoor pool were fantastic for my son and I. The staff were very informative and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel for families - far exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing needed improving.

    Great hotel for families. Lovely view of the beach from the hotel reception area and they have a nice bar. Very happy to see that they had a charging point for our plug-in electric car. Great place to stay - lovely and helpful staff too. Wished we had stayed an extra night - will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Very nice location, balcony room was very average, wouldn't pay again for that same room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was too high for quality of room, the king size bed was two singles pushed together and shower was not powerful enough to be of any use.

    Good views from the balcony and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing off-season weekend by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool area was dirty and no private showers.

    We had a room with a balcony and a fantastic view of Fistral Beach. Nice biscuits in the room. Nice big bath. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay really enjoyed .. thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment, they catered more for ederly

    The overall hotel was brilliant and all staff were fabulous, well enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking wasn't very good had to park across the road. Also if you don't like filter coffee you have to pay extra to have a latte or cappuccino

    The bed was very comfy didn't have dinner but we had a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Made my boyfriends birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i didnt like.

    I loved absolutely everything but most of all the best customer service ive ever recieved. The staff were incredible. The food was absolutely beautiful and the hotel made so much effort to make my boyfriends birthday amazing. The room was decorated with balloons, rose petals, chocolates and a card and its just made his birthday. Even the nightstaff were so lovely going the extra mile to make sure we were happy. Amazing place to stay. Will definately be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    The stay was for a 40th birthday surprise & was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that we didnt like was the mattress for the travel cot. The mattress was so old that they put a duvet inside which was very bad. When we asked for another mattress from another cot the reply was that they were all the same. The cot itself was new but it was disgraceful putting a baby on a duvet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Room was comfortable and very large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room door kept banging each time the wind blew. The bathroom window blind was filthy dirty. Not enough parking, had to park on the road. The swimming pool was too small for the hotel size plus no lockers actually worked to place your items in to go swimming.

    Room was comfortable and very large. Great choice for location and breakfast was really good value. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Dreadful for Wheelchair users!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No-0ne answered the door at the side of the property to let our wheelchair in. I had to leave my Mum in a very windy dark alleyway at the side of the property to go into the hotel and push the door open next to the surf shop and let her in. This happened throughout our stay. Despite staff apologizing, nothing was done to fix the problem. The evening reception man saw us coming along the front of the hotel, and yet, still didn't use his common sense and realise we were trying to get in. Awful experience!! Even the fire doors are a challenge to get through especially if you were in a wheelchair on your own. I don't recommend this hotel for wheelchair users at all. Don't book a balcony room if you have a wheelchair either, as there are six steps and more fire doors to navigate. The restaurant was closed on the Sunday, so we had to go and find a meal elsewhere???

    The daytime staff are very friendly and the hotel has spectacular views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    Not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was so strong it made our eyes and skin sore! The bed room door kept knocking due to not closing properly! Kept me awake all night! Beds are hard!! Ceiling down stair near reception allowed the rain to pour in and soak my daughter chair!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Good short stay which we all enjoyed. Weather helped !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms because there was a leak from upstairs, which resulted in water in the ceiling light in the bathroom. We asked to change rooms and were moved immediately to a lovely room with no problems

    The pool and juccusi were great. Food was excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    hotel helped in the making of a perfect weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift seemed a bit dated. the late check in and early check out times.

    amazing sea view. excellent leisure facilities. cleanliness of room and hotel in general

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Child friendly hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too hot and uncomfortable.

    Everyone enjoyed the swimming pool/Jacuzzi and the fact it was open until late. Very friendly staff. Close to beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge was a bit annoying!but understandable given location.

    Great room with amazing views over Fistral beach! Staff were great with the kids and so helpful! We will be back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall fab weekend very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat in the rooms way too hot. Having to pay for the parking and breakfast on top of accommodation include one in the price

    Location of hotel is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Good and a great location but the sleep and food was not up to scratch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs was to watery The fried eggs where to small with hardly any white Had to pay extra for a latte at breakfast Bacon tasted very cheap Bed was uncomfortable unless you slept in the middle when the other half got fed up with rolling out of it

    Good location Staff very polite and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Is a nice hotel with very nice staff lovely views of you have a sea view room ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the spa you have a jacuzzi and small pool .. a jacuzzi is a pool for relaxing and in some case helping people with medical conditions .. however the jacuzzi was taken over by children unattended diving in and out leaving many adults alittle annoyed and no parents to be seen ... considering my partner has a severe madical condition where a jacuzzi really helps her I was pretty annoyed at this taking away that special part of the break ... I believ that should be for over 18s only ..have stayed here many times before and is a lovely hotel .. has it put me off staying again and recommending it to others .. possibly which is a real shame ..

    Staff and the view from the hotel room was lovely ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect one night break, great sea view from room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are okay but could do with new carpets as all stained and old, carpark quite hard to park in when hotel is busy.

    Close to beach, beautiful window view from our sea view room. Boys loved the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with sofa bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get a sea view from our room. Parking very limited.

    The night time story for the children we found pushed under our door was a lovely touch which the kids enjoyed. Staff VERY friendly!! 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money view from room awful and there was a loudhu.ming noise that kept going off the whole time we stayed and check out was too early.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Lovely building nice and clean
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was nothing more than a dribble which makes washing your hair impossible! Not close to any amenities and the restaurant shuts at 8:30

    Lovely building nice and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location for an exhilarating beach walk with the thundering of the Atlantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors to the hotel rooms looked surprisingly jaded, given that the rest of the hotel was quite modern

    The views are spectacular and it was good to find the swimming pool did not incur any extra charge. We walked from Towan Head to Pentire headland along Fistral Beach one afternoon, then had a promptly-served evening meal at the hotel. Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay I a marvellous hotel and surroundings!,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like!

    This was our first stay in a hotel in cornwall, The hotel was beyond par, all staff were helpful and very polite, would recommend to anyone ! The views were wonderful! Hope to go there sometime next year!,!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    very enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed in 101 a bit hard and could do with new pillows

    lovely breakfast and evening meals.Lovely view from bedroom window. staff very friendly and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Great facilities, great location, just tidy the small things and this would make this perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressure in shower, like just barely running. Dead bugs on windowsills, yuk. Ha a jacuzzi bath but the smell when you turn on the bath was disgusting.

    Great location and hotel left a birthday card and chocolates as was my misses birthday! We stayed in the Roxy room which was very nice and had some amazing views + was very cool with the surf styling decor. Staff very nice and pool was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Esplanade Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: