Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ethorpe Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

85 Packhorse Road, Gerrards Cross, SL9 8HX, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Gerrards Cross

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 644 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Relax at the Ethorpe Hotel, Gerrards Cross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A throbbing machine outside in the car park ( temporary freezer) disturbed our sleep. Told it was being removed this week.

    Easy access, good parking. Nice shower, comfortable bed. Nice breakfast and choice of menu for the evening meal. Very pleasant reception. Handy for N London rugby and football matches.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Our room 😐 others?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limit parking on a Saturday evening, ok at other times. Bed too soft for us. Bedroom directly off the lobby so very noisy on the weekend (could do with a interior lobby being constructed in the room to reduce the noisy from the reception/lobby). Bathroom although large is not designed as well as it could be for a disabled person, additional grabrails would help

    Helpful staff, nice breakfast. Late checkout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Only one bedside table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bedside table. Just 2 coffee sachets and 2 milk cartons was very parsimonious.We had a coffee on returning to the hotel Sat evening which meant we had no drink first thing Sunday morning. The extra cost of a few extra coffee satchets is negligible but it leaves a bad impression.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and overcharged our cards without permission to even charge them!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From checking in to checking out we didn’t have the best experience. The rooms were cold damp and smelt of air freshener. The single bed against the wall didn’t make for a very comfortable night, and the windows were so old almost completely rotten in one room. No help with baggage debt an 80 year old lady to the first floor where the cold aircon was on it smelt of burning the room was freezing. By far the most disturbing thing was I said no to pre authorisation of my credit. Ard which was ignored. I was not only double charged but charged four times for breakfast! Had to go through my bank to resolve it! Never again will I forget to check the receipt and my statement!

    Was probably one of the worst places Iv ever stayed - watch out for double charging and random charging to your card. Also check they do not pre authorise your card! Both me and my aunt got ripped off for additional charges

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    very comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just that the shower temp and pressure could do with looking at

    it would of been nice to have more coffee sachets the shower was unpredictable and kept losing pressure and temperature

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    It had a lovely feel to the place very comfortable welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work even after complaining ,room really needed repainting marks on walls , bathroom sink had a lot of shavings all over plus used tooth picks on sink like it wasn’t even looked at let alone cleaned that ruined my stay £84 expected room to be clean

    It had a lovely feel to the place very comfortable welcome and quite Modern style inside . Nice pillows

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Very good Easy accces to London and Rugby League Cup Final at Wembley
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Location near town centre railway station Very pleasant and helpful staff Rooms adequate and comfortable. 10th stay will be back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything really, but my husband would have liked his 'bacon' to have been slightly more well done. But that was just a minor criticism.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious - the only thing which might have been an improvement would be the addition of a room safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    The hotel looks a bit tired and needs some investment in both facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at breakfast on two of the three mornings we stayed was extremely poor. There were not enough staff on duty to cope with a busy Bank Holiday weekend. There were free tables but plates from previous guests were left there and we were asked to wait along with other guests. Only after a complaint to the front desk were we seated. Even then, the buffet table was not well stocked. The shower / bath area was not cleaned satisfactorily.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff were pleasant despite being under obvious pressure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    The bed was very very comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom, while clean, wasn't too good... water was hot regardless of which tap you used and the loo roll holder was out of reach!!

    The bed was very very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    miss elizabeth legg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would recomend this hotel two any one the staff are fantastic always polite and the food including the breakfast is excelent could not fault any of it cant wait two stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location for Gerrards Cross and the a/c was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath tub was very slippery and there was no grab bar.

    Great location for Gerrards Cross and the a/c was very welcome in August! It was lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy a drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location and good value but could be better for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Typically British shower. Leaky shower head. Disappointing. A good shower shouldn't be too difficult to achieve should it? Spongy bed.

    The disabled access room was good. Conveniently located just inside front door. Quiet too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money,but could have been so much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was no more than moderate; I would very rarely leave a sirloin steak uneaten, but on this occasion the meat was so tough that there was no alternative - it was a disgrace. Very disappointing. On a very warm night, I slept very little, being boiled under a heavy duvet.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The atmosphere of the hotel is pleasant and the bedroom was a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    A disappointment, and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was tiny, 6ft in one direction and not much more in the other. My en suite at home is bigger. Basically furnished and not very comfortable. Nothing like the pictures. I had the continental breakfast and my croissant was stale and inedible.

    Restaurant meal was good standard pub grub. Service was OK except for completely forgetting my second drink. Public rooms spacious and welcoming. Location is great if you come by train, just a short walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Old and basic. Not really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had quite an overpowering room spray odour. WiFi didn’t work. Black hairs on duvet. Bedside light broke at the end of my stay (wouldn’t switch off). No one available on reception when I wanted to check out.

    The air con in the room was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rims need some tlc! First Room I was given was boiling despite the fact that I only booked it for the ac with big damp patches on the wall, and tv was smeared as though it had been cleaned with a greasy cloth! I was moved to room 17 which was better but still big crack in the ceiling ! Although bed v comfy and staff nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable in the room but could only recommend in cool conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should have been included at their prices. It was second night away but wished we had stayed at the Travelodge where we were previously. Very noisy air conditioner unit in room. Hard to sleep soundly.

    Powerful and refreshing shower and easy to control temperature. Clean bath with that as an option.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Visitor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner ,windows are awful ,i know they are old but they could be made a lot better. Also there was an awful smell of smoking in the room which i know they cannot police all of the time but it stinks . The corridor up to the rooms is very smelly with awful carpets that have holes in them and a strong smell .

    Very oldy worldy in one of the nicest places in gererds cross

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Won't be going back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning not working in original room - had to swap as was like an oven. Décor very dated and wall-paper peeling.

    Bed was comfortable and room clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great value, great facilities, great location - highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing value for money - a much better appointed room than you might expect for the price. Twin room was spacious, bathroom was huge, 'rainforest shower' very impressive. We arrived very late and had to leave very early so didn't experience breakfast or other facilities but the outdoor terraces, very pleasant staff and overall experience would suggest that these are probably great too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    not impressed at all will not be booking again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    no staff to man the reception there was wet towels in room which we asked to be changed no bins had been emptied half curtain hooks had broke so curtains was hanging down no staff at breakfast one person doing everything coffee ran out no plates cleared everything dated needs modernising would not recommend. I will say in the hotels favour they gave a fifty pound discount when we complained

    location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Have stayed here a number of times and will happily go back again. Well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be noisy at night because it's a popular haunt for the younger locals but the hotel part is separate so you can escape from this. Drinks pricey, food notso.

    Comfortable accommodation, staff attentive, food excellent with a chef and brewer attached. Central location but quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Tired hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put us in a room with adjoing door (family room !) Next to the noisiest family ever. They eventually changed us to a quieter one.. Also the water at breakfast was rude . Went in at 10.00 , was ignored for 10 minutes and he then told us they closed at 10.00 !!! . Useless t t

    Leaving to go home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Value especially compared to the hotels near the stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mattress was a little uncomfortable and the pillows were simply too large, could have done with flatter options but that was simply my opinion

    Location to the train station is just a 2 minute walk, definitely great for wembley staduim. Restaurant and bar were of a good standard and not overly priced. Excellent value for a 1 night stay especially if you are going to a concert. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel pleasant staff but hotel premises now tired and require refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Summer duvet rather than a winter one would have been appreciated. I wonder how one is expected to wash one's face in room 16 when the toiletries shelf extends so far over the basin !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Needs an upgrade throughout. Not great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs refurbishing - everything looks old fashioned. My curtain rail was partly broken and I had to get the duvet changed as there was something sticky on it. The breakfast was bland.

    Staff were helpful. The bar area is lively and the restaurant food was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was looking a little tired. The shower in the bath was spraying more water from the poor connection than from the shower head, however not too drastic that we couldn't cope with.

    Comfortable bed and really close to the Railway Station. Staff are amazingly friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Good people and environment Vs Terrible WiFi and dirty rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE WIFI WAS AWFUL! IT NEVER WORKED PROPERLY and since this was a business trip internet was crucial at the end and start of my every day routine. Every time i logged in it suddenly stopped working and 3/5 days i didn't have any internet at all. Also, please note that one on the first day that i logged into the WiFi of the hotel through my laptop, someone hacked my laptop and for 10 seconds i had no access to mouse or keyboard. UNACCEPTABLE! The duvet on my bed was DIRTY with mosquitoes that someone else killed prior to my stay. This situation remained from Day 1 that I checked in till Day 5 that i checked out!

    Although i did not have the chance to try the breakfast cos we had to get up early everyday for business meetings etc, the dinner in the bar was very nice. Also the beers and the several chairs and tables they have outside the hotel were a nice company at the end of a long day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    No complaints - room clean and tidy and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a very mild night, I couldn't get the air con to work. I opened a window which helped but as I have air con at home and am used to it, it was a little annoying.

    The breakfast buffet was good, and value for money given it was an all-you-can-eat affair. Room nice and clean and at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Why has it not been updated disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and dated accommodation which needs immediate refurbishment

    The only reason to stay was the easy access to Marlybone to attend the Test Match at Lords

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Minor hiccups but overall would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor tired looking. Toilet bowl dirty no toilet brush to clean. Shower gel empty, removed, not replaced. Cups and spoons removed, not replaced

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    We stayed here to visit Windsor for the royal wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here to visit Windsor for the royal wedding. Breakfast didn’t start until 8am which was too late for people who needed to set off early. A packed lunch could have been provided

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was VERY comfy but the wallpaper was peeling in our room quite badly and the net curtains were ripped but they had already ordered new curtains when we told them.

    Situated in a great pub and has lovely food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel stairs & landing were in need of a hoover ran over them when we arrived which left us feeling ominous but the rest of the hotel & rooms were meticulous so they are forgiven.

    The location was great - convenient to shops and public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a locked door to an adjoining room. This meant that we could hear everything that was said or done by the other guests. Also, our bathroom and room could have been cleaner.

    Great location and very friendly staff. Beds were very comfortable with minimal noise considering being in a central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Very comfy bed, and very spacious family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at reception was very rude. We had already paid for the room in March but she claimed we hadn’t and wanted us to pay again. Told us it was our problem with booking.com as they were independent and didn’t work through booking, while we booked them on the booking site. I have never had anyone at a hotel be so rude, and she was the one in the wrong! Other staff was very nice and helpful, fixing the tv and getting the children crumpets for breakfast

    Very comfy bed, and very spacious family room. Simple, good priced breakfast with crumpets for the children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Olde worlde character - but very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Door in corridor next to our room squeaked. A drop of oil would fix it - but we kept forgetting to mention it.

    Excellent service from the staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Travelled alone, everything was fine on the whole but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travelled alone, everything was fine on the whole but breakfast was only served from 8am on Saturday which meant I had to leave without eating for work. Ultimately it is my fault for not ringing and asking beforehand, but non of this is advertised upon booking or on the website. Asked for something to take away but wasn't given an option. On the whole I'd stay again knowing these facts, but hopefully this warns others of the timings and the hotel may put this up on their website or upon booking for others to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Cosy room, good shower pressure, nice evening meal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit dated now, incredibly squeaky floorboards, bathroom needs some refurbishment (tap has come loose)

    Cosy room, good shower pressure, nice evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the bathroom maybe need looking at. Felt as though people could see when we doing our business

    Location was perfect. Bed was comfy. Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    The Family Room/suite we booked was the best price we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Family Room/suite we booked was the best price we could find in this location, for a family of 5 (2 Adults/ 3 Children) traveling to Watford the next day for the Warner Studio Tour. The room itself was basic but clean and comfortable, staff were super friendly and very helpful, on site parking was free and the Hotel Restaurant was very good, family friendly and well priced. Overall it was an excellent trip away, we'd definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in room could improve, to include more than one tea and one coffee, no hot chocolate or choice of teas My sister never had a choice she only had two tea bags,

    Lovely customer service, lovely hotel, Car ample, close to shops cinema etc. Tea and coffee in room sparce. When you ask for me it was given by the staff happily. Breakfast was good continental didn't really meet that, but all good, Staff were excellent. The waiter was very good and friendly, all needs met. My sister left her room key in her room and mentioned it to the breakfast staff, before she had returned with her fruit, a replacement was on the table, Don't know these peoples names as we never noticed, but well done, Ideal place for a weekend or overnight staff, Good child hotel too,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had a great stay Was only meant to be there 2 days but booked another night Staff were excellent so helpful Breakfast was good It's in a very good location Will definitely be going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, relaxed and slept very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room we were offered was unacceptable. There was mould growing all on the window frame, the netted curtains all ripped and bottle tops on the floor so room not cleaned. Also the fan in the bathroom sounded horrendous like a car fan belt about to pack up. We did complain and moved rooms. However that room should never even been offered on the first place.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean and shower was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was pleasant and convenient for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have had a larger bed. My choice to have a single but for just a few pounds extra I would prefer a bigger room. Comfortable bed nice en suite

    Nice building , shops on the doorstep. Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    site well chosen,quiet,convenient for trains,and shops,a nice area.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in general,my impression was of drabness,in room 9,a moving hot tap,a toilet uncomfortably close to the radiator,reception area not inviting,no comfortable chair in room.somebody else had charged their lunch to our room.

    breakfast ok,serving male staff excellent,good carpark.beds ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Located in the fantastic little town of Gerrards Cross which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get a little loud in the pub downstairs but this entirely depends on the clientele and isn’t really a bad reflection on the hotel itself.

    Located in the fantastic little town of Gerrards Cross which has plenty of places to eat and plenty of things to do within a short drive. The room was comfortable and warm with a decent shower. Noise from other guests was noticeable but nothing too bad (our room was positioned close to the top of the stairs). Decor is more traditional than modern but it was all in a good state of repair. The restaruant serves very nice food (not gourmet but a high standard of gastro cuisine). The staff are all friendly and eager to please. I was pleasantly surprised at the cost - I remember the Ethorpe being a much more expensive hotel. Overall, I was happy with the stay and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall it’s a very comfortable place to stay, good price and staff are friendly,
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There Scale on the bath tub that could be treated and would look more presentable, and also in the toilet, the parking at night was a bit manic but that’s only because it’s a pub also.

    Beds we’re very comfortable and the room was very warm and sound proof.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    It was ok - but the hotel needs to improve its rooms to modernise them and make the bed more comy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t comfortable and was a bit small and the pillows too puffy. Also the way the room was laid out meant the head of the bed was onto the wall of the corridor. We were woken many times by people being quite noisy on their trips to their rooms from midnight to 3am. The bathroom was also very basic - considering the cost of the stay

    Location was good as was attending a party and a nearby house and many people from the party were coming to the pub after anyway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good except for the inadequate heating in bedroom. Good location and would certainly stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central heating in the bedroom was really not adequate for the space. The only heating in the bathroom was a heated towel rail, which was not working at all.

    Helpful staff. Excellent dinner in pleasant restaurant. Breakfast was also good. Bedroom was good size and comfortable, but not very warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with lovely food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old building so décor could do with updating in the accommodation part of the building but this is just a minor point

    Comfy bed with heavenly soft & cosy duvet & pillows Large comfortable room Lovely large pub downstairs, food was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.2
    Good location for travelling to wembley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ripped curtains, dirty tatty windows, bathroom not very clean, noisy floorboards, air con and other people’s showers sounded like a monsoon.

    Good location for travelling to wembley.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Location and pub food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in didn’t have central heating but electric plugin heaters which were not the best and the bathroom was cold

    Location and pub food. The family room was a great size and very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Bed comfortable but please sort out your bathrooms issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms always a issue No soap in the dispenser by the sink. The shower dispenser by the shower was broken. And not on the wall was laying down on the bath. And the bath seemed to be blocked as the water took ages to run away in the bath .after having a shower. In room 30 . Last time I stayed in room 6. The blind was broken. And grubby.Lots of mildew on the window and there was a problem with the shower. Although the bedrooms are fine. It always seems to be the bathrooms. I wouldn’t stay in room 6 anymore the bathroom standards have fallen. Although the towels are lovely and clean and the bedrooms are fine . Please sort out the issues in the bathrooms. I do like to have cleaniness in the bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the breakfast thought the stay was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast , had a lovely meal on the Saturday night , but the breakfast poor , poached eggs not fully cooked and 2 eggs but 1 piece of toast !!! thought that was skimpy to say the least , also tea / coffee not very hot should check on this more often.

    Lovely bed quite room ( 22 ) nice big bathroom,thought it was great that in the bar at lunch time it was nice that you could help yourself to the papers and enjoy a pint with lunch and a quite read,just get the breakfast sorted please !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty dirty. Bathroom was very dirty and old bins had been left in our room from someone else staying there prior to us.

    Quiet rooms. Basic needs met. Receptionist was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    In need of attention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes this is an old building and therefore rooms vary in style/size but overall they are very tired, not as clean as they could be, poorly equipped - When paying over £100 a night I don't expect the heating to be a cheap plug in convector heater, I don't expect towels that would be below standard in a Travelodge and I don't expect a bathroom which has nowhere to hang towels, and no glasses or cups provided in bathroom

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    Needed a more comfortable environment to have the happy factor but it served its purpose!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bedroom was small. I wouldn't have liked to share it with another person as there was little space around the bed and a small wardrobe for hanging space. The bedroom looked rather tired and gloomy. The bathroom, although clean, really needs updating! Being a hotel, I would expect to have somewhere to sit and relax but there is only the bar which doesn't offer comfy seats. When the bar shuts, guests have nowhere to go and sit (with friends in my case).

    The bed was very comfortable with lovely, dreamy feeling pillows and light but fluffed up duvet. Breakfast was tasty and comprehensive in its range on offer. Being in Gerrards Cross, the location of the hotel is central to and within walking distance to many amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night, good food and bar.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit tired, Heating aircon unit did not work, and could hear the noise of other rooms aircon running, rang room service but no answer as it was late and assume they were in the bar area working. We were out most the night and left first thing in the morning so it was Ok for one night but would not like to stay much longer.

    Food in the restaurant was good and location close to our meeting in Gerrards Cross

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    A lovely night away from home,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't use the breakfast facilities so have only given an "average" grade for that. The wifi code was not readily available in the room, you had to go ask a member of staff which I didn't do as they were busy the evening I stayed, so I relied upon my phones data to get on line

    The room was lovely and cosy and the bed was fabulously comfortable. Love the extra touch of having "black out" curtains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.6
    Very poor standard of hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a large rip in the next curtain at the window; mould around the windowsill; stains on the wallpaper; only one bedside table in a double room; lampshades all askew; total lack of attention to detail

    The staff were mainly pleasant and the bar area was decent but food was not good value for money - very small portions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    An old favourite was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We returned to an old favourite but it did not live up to our expectatations this time, largely because the reception staff ranged from disinterested to downright rude. When we checked in we had to ask at the bar as there was no-one on the desk, and the man who checked us in obviously found us a nuisance. Although we had booked for 3 nights our keys stopped working every day and when we asked for them to be reprogrammed the girl behaved as though it was our fault they did not work. The girl who checked us out did not ask whether we had enjoyed our stay or wish us a pleasant onward journey. A great disappointment, and when we next visit my brother who lives in Gerrards Cross I would be tempted to go to The Bull instead of The Ethorpe.

    The beds are very comfortable, the hot water is plentiful, and our room was very quiet. It is particularly nice that you can regulate the temperature yourself, by opening windows and turning the heater on or off.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.0
    Poorly managed and run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds having not already been slept in !!, cleanliness of room, curtain rail broken, stale bread and luke warm coffee at breakfast.....on and on..

    Location.. and the old style

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    2.5
    Very Disappointing. Not the standard expected in Gerrards Cross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bitterly disappointed. Bedroom no 9. Pillow case dirty and toilet would not flush. These were reported to reception just after we arrived at hotel. Only the pillow case was replaced. Complained the following morning that the toilet still not flushing and requested that it be sorted asap. Telephoned the hotel later in the day to see if the toilet had been sorted. Sally on reception stated it had not been possible to get it repaired. Under these circumstances i requested a full refund which was given and returned to the hotel to pick up belongings. Sally came to reception, in a very curt manner, stated that i would not be charged and gave no apology whatsoever for the inconvenience my wife and i had been put to. Sorry but this was not customer service under any description other than discussing. I would not recommend staying at this Hotel.

    not much read below

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    We love Gerrards Cross and the area, so staying at the Ethorpe was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We tried to check in a little early...no staff at reception. We rang the buzzer and waited 10 minutes. No one came. We left, went and had a coffee and came back. Still no one there. We finally went into the bar to find someone who was very friendly. Finally, a reception staff member was found. We were then told it would take another 15-30 minutes for the room to be ready.

    The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The room was also spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was simple, yet very large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend to others considering we paid over £90 for the night (not including breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the room was absolutely awful. The bed very uncomfortable. We arrived to a freezing cold room because the staff had turned the AC on instead of the heater. Not very appreciated when its almost zero degrees outside!

    The shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.2
    Clearly out all the money in the pub/restaurant but nothing in the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited 15 minutes (pressed the buzzer 3 times) before being checked in. The man didn’t even apologise! The room was so dated and had clearly only just been cleaned as the bath was still wet and it stank of bleach. The bed was terrible. Clearly broken springs and the pillows too hard. Bed sheets had marks on too. There was an old heater in the room and was meant to warm us up and the cumbersome AC unit was unsightly! The blind in the bathroom was disgusting and showed every time someone has brushed their teeth! The noise was terrbiible too. Considering the bar shut at 11 (on a Friday night!!) we couldn’t work out where it was coming from. Would not stay here again!!

    The parking is free if you’re staying and the food was very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable, cosy room & friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing they could’ve improved on

    The room was very spacious, the bed was lovely & comfortable. The bathroom was huge & everything was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    4.2
    location, nice bar, friendly bar staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very tired with matching bathrooms! Bar closes at 11pm even for residents with no alternative, could not even get a coffee without causing a fuss! Indifferent reception staff that talk to you without looking up! Breakfast finishes at 9am? I guess At £110 (room only) you get what you pay for and certainly no more!

    location, nice bar, friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing. Room cold. Needed refurbishment. Noise d
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. Cheap heater supplied didn’t work. Windows old and need replacement. Adjoining door had large hole - someone could look through. Hotel not up to standard all round.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    Stayed only for the location. Would not stay there again due to the lack of comfort and amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed was really uncomfortable (you could feel the springs!) and if you wanted to warm up the room - you had to put on the very noisy heater. The bathroom was very basic and the drains blocked so the shower water didn't go down. Breakfast was very basic - I tried the fruit salad - it tasted like it had been standing there for a long time - almost fermented. Swapped to eggs on toast instead.

    The lady at check in / check out was friendly and efficient. Location to meeting venue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great base for Theme parks and trip into London
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit chilly so probably wouldn't stay over during winter as could do with upgrading heating system.

    Return customer only stayed 1 night this time and only used room for somewhere to stop over. Great sized family room for 5 Left our little ones cuddly toy behind and they kindly posted it back to us and it came the very next day. Great service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    Sad, dirty so so expensive . Stay at home .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff offered a free breakfast as we were so unhappy . But the room was so unexceptable we did not stay . Very inconvenient as we were visiting family for the weekend . We strongly recommend you remove ( or cut the rate by half) on this hotel .

    The double room was so dirty . The carpet had not been hoovered for weeks ! Only one towel in a double room. Smelt very musty . Enbelivabily expensive @ £85 without breakfast !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    A Perfect One Night Stop Over for my Local Journey to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location near main line station and handy for Heathrow & Motorway links. Staff are friendy and helpful. The room was just right with comfortable bed, and En suite Shower room, TV etc. A Good Full Breakfast included in the price I selected. Popular with locals for Meals & Bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: