Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Morgans @ The Exchange Hotel

1 Bellstone, Shrewsbury, SY1 1 HU, United Kingdom

#13 of 16 B&Bs and inns in Shrewsbury

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice pub / hotel shame about the noise. Will stay there again though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was noisy from revellers for most of the night and early morning traffic. Too hot to have the windws closed and didn't spot the fan till the last day.

    Good central location. Good breakfast friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Shrewsbury was a lovely place and would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issues is that the room we had was on the street side and was very noisy in the night,and we had to park the car quite a way from the hotel as the nearest car park was for short stay only.

    The hotel was in a prime position for shops and just a short walk to the river. Breakfast was lovely and really pleased that they had gluten free bread.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.4
    Quite forgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty room. Faulty shower. Staff attitude.

    The location of this place for visiting Shrewsbury is excellent as it’s located within the main town. I paid £126 for two nights for the room, no breakfast. This is cheap for the area of course, but two things niggled me. Firstly, our room was extremely dusty. Not fresh dust, but dust that had been there a long time. I should have taken more photos of course but at the time I was thinking I just won’t leave any review rather than a bad one. I’ve now changed my mind as I think the things that bothered me might bother other people. There was ingrained dust & dirt caught in the radiator in the room. The town rail in the bathroom was filthy with dust & general splashes but there was nowhere else to hang towels. The shower mechanism was falling apart but we eventually managed to work it. There were plenty of towels & basic toiletries. The windows in both bathroom & the room were filthy..the cills, The handles were in bad repair but as our room was in the top of the building during the current heatwave, we had to have the windows open. Luckily they supplied a fan which we used. I think the thing that annoyed me the most was that upon checkout we asked if our bags could be stored for a while while we went out to have breakfast & the girl behind the bar (there is no reception..this is a pub with rooms) said we could just leave them beside the bar, in full view of the entire bar & opposite the main door into the bar. When we said we weren’t happy with that she said she would have them ‘taken up to a function room if we liked’. Her attitude told me that probably wouldn’t happen so we took our bags & left. I absolutely loved Shrewsbury, & I can’t wait to go back, but next time I’ll find a decent hotel. I don’t like leaving negative reviews, but regardless of price, I wouldn’t stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent city centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking at the hotel. Had to use public car parks which were close to the hotel. Found one quite close that only charged £7 per day and another that was free overnight.

    This modern pub/hotel has a very central location close to shops, attractions, river and parkland. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast menu was varied and our choices were well cooked. All food was reasonably priced. We did not eat at Morgans for lunch or dinner but the menu provided plenty of choice. Our bedroom and bathroom were modern attractive and well equipped. Nice little touches like complimentary small bottles of wine each day in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    5.8
    Facilities on the whole fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a skylight in the ceiling directly above the bed. The curtain over it was flimsy so that when the sun came up at 5 it lit up the whole room. Its was also very hot and the room had only two small windows. Despite a fan the temperature was awful. This room (6) needs air conditioning if it is to be let in summer.

    Facilities on the whole fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay and a good base to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking which we didn't realise until arrival. We hard to park on the other side of town and walk over (which only took about 10 mins). WE like walking so it wasn't too much of an issue for us.

    Really good location and nice and quiet for bed time :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    Wedding stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little smaller than we thought it would be, but made do for 1 night

    There was nothing not to like from the friendly and curtious staff, quick check in and help with luggage to room. Plentiful choice at bar, and yet again really friendly and helpful staff. Food was excellent, sirloin steak baguette and home made chips was really tasty. Location is excellent with car parking very close. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. All in all a lovely stay at Morgans, and thanks to you all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The re is no parking available and even stoppling might be a little problem. Also, the rooms are a little noisy in the morning owing to the location - but you cannot have it both ways, quiet and in the very centre

    The hotel is in a very good location just in the centre of the town, in an easy walking distance to all interesting places we wanted to see. The rooms have an independent entrance, so you feel private

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, clean facilities, good service, reasonable breakfast choice, excellent location within walking distance of all amenities, pubs shops and the river. Only downfall is their is no parking at the hotel, the long stay carparks are free at night but open air and you have to be back early in the morning to buy your ticket, we found the multi storey where you could leave your car securely overnight for free and only pay for daytime parking and very cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.4
    It was ok but to near the town and quite noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and the bed was too near the window. Not a lot of room to move around.

    Didn’t like anything about the room. Room was very small and quite cramped staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    A great time at the hotel with excellent members of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the breakfast was rather small, considering I paid an extra £3

    An excellent hotel in a great position with very good facilities and good bedrooms with large ensuite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom ceiling was peeling over the shower, the basin had cracks in it and the sink leaked. I mentioned thia to reception when we left and they knew about the basin, saying they’d fixed it a couple of times. She agreed they needed to do something more permanent!

    Great location. It’s in town but we arrived back at 10 past midnight the bar was closed and the street was v quiet so no noise problems at all. V friendly staff. Excellent value for money. Our room had a hairdryer but no iron, not that we needed one. Our friends room had an iron and no hairdryer so if either or both are important to you check with reception. There was complimentary tea, coffee, nice biscuits, bottle of water, a small bottle of white wine and a bag of crisps! Both rooms had fans and we also had a heater but the central heating was on and it was nice and warm. Large powerful shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.5
    The room was good and clean only met staff when I booked in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window was above the bed and the curtain was difficult to pull across and it didn't block the light so was woken early also when I booked description stated small double room I thought that meant smaller room disappointed as I realized it meant small double bed you need to make the description clearer

    The room was good and clean only met staff when I booked in didn't see anyone else but lady was very polite and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    6.0
    Worked OK for a overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and small bed. Central heating was not working and the shower rose holder needed fitting to the wall.

    Location suited as we needed to be in central Shrewsbury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and management were extremely helpful when asking about places to go to and visit. The hotel was lovely and clean, and they were accommodating when we asked about extending the checking in and out times. Couldn't fault this hotel. Its perfectly located to visit and explore all of Shrewsbury without the need of transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very plesant experience from start to finish. The staff were very welcoming and helpful with great rapport. The hotel was lovley and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation in Shrewsbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the shower flew off the wall when switched on but I am sure this will soon be fixed.

    Very comfortable room with the added luxury of a small kitchen. Would definitely stay again. I did not try the food so cannot comment on it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.1
    Could have been better as hotel is nicely furnished
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is in a short stay carpark down the road, so had to remember to feed the meter. Dog was £10 extra. But worst of all shower water was scalding hot after a few mins making it impossible to be used comfortably. Due to carparking charges from 0800 we wanted a prompt breakfast but had to take a wander till chef arrived. However breakfast was worth waiting for

    Big bathroom, large towels and nice toiletries. Plenty of tea and coffee, biscuits, bottled water. Excellent location. Good breakfast when finally available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Superb Hotel and facilities. We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit of a pain but wont stop us going again.

    Great location and a really nice feel to the whole place. Rooms surprisingly large and comfortable. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.7
    Quite good for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it was a bit noisy, traffic and loud shouting early hours, but understandable from its location, no noise at all from the hotel itself.

    Good location for the town. Friendly staff, comfortable room, although quite small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, right in the centre of town, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No onsite parking, although there was public parking nearby. Breakfast could be better, portions are small.

    Location is great, right in the centre of town, room was quiet even though the window faced the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.5
    Served it’s purpose and was what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No on site parking ( quite common in Shrewsbury). Car Park closest is short stay, if you’re staying overnight you have to park in the multi story a mile away

    Good location and facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.9
    As it was a short stay it was easy to put up with the niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking. Public parking location. Small double bed. Small TV. TV position in relation to the bed.

    Location for shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Non corporate feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.5
    Stay at shrewsbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A small room

    Had a large bathroom with great heating , good location and close to public transport and food places.The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    8.3
    Short stay but loved Shrewsbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi is not great very frustrationg trying to use it. The bed is to narrow for a couple The room is small but it has self catering facilities and a microwave.

    The location was perfect in the centre of town There is no parking but we parked around the corner in a council parking lot for £6 for the afternoon and overnight the hotel gave us lots of information about this. The personal could not be more helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were only given one set of towels between us. On check in enquiring about parking the young lady who served us was a little unhelpful.

    Room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    5.0
    No free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking. Bar closed at 6 o'clock, no food available. This was because it was boxing day, but nothing mentioned when booking. Nobody answering phone, as we had a problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    5.0
    We felt isolated and slightly insecure with no available staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had no overnight staff with only an emergency number if needed. Also there was no reception area so everything was dealt with over the pub bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main issue was that the shower and bathroom radiator were very hot and we couldn't turn it down. Perhaps include some instructions or just lowering the water temperature in general might be a good idea.

    Beautiful room! Booked a night away for me and my Boyfriend the place was beautiful. It felt so warm and homely and had every little thing you could want, plus it was only a ten minute walk from the train station and easy to find in the centre of town (didn't even hear any traffic). Would definitely recommend this place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    8.3
    Great central location in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little small but fine.

    The room was pleasantly decorated with a large on suite bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities were available. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay. Lovely food in the bar area-would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, nice warm room, good shower facitilies, poor parking, breakfast opened too late
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast - too late for me to have any - I needed feeding at 7am but breakfast was at 8am, so I didn't get any! Second day the snow started so I left well before breakfast was served again. This could be better.

    The room was warm and cosy and the shower torrential.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    Clean friendly great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet in our room 5 half flushing every 5 minutes I was only there for one night so didn’t get fixed the staff organise repair work No onsite parking bit of a walk experience

    All the Staff in fact every thing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location, great bar, nice staff and good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred not to walk into a busy bar and have to book in at the bar but it was ok. No arrangements for parking which proved to be a little stressful but we were lucky and a local short stay private car park did us a deal. We booked in at about 5 pm on a cold November day and the room was freezing. Apparently the heating is on timer for 6 pm. There was an electric heater thankfully but not welcoming walking into a fridge. The bathroom never got warm. It was freezing. Heated only by a towel rail. Beds very, very low about half the height of a normal bed. Electric plug socket for kettle and fire was actually hanging of wall. You unplug a plug and the socket comes out of the wall. I would however say this was still nice accommodation and if the price was good, I would stay again without hesitation and I have stayed previously in summer and enjoyed it for all the same reasons as this visit. Plus it was warmer! :0)

    Love the location, It couldn't have been better situated for shops and restaurants etc. Staff were nice, bar downstairs very inviting, very nice. Room clean. Basic but all you need. Pleasant. I would definitely stay again for location and so long as the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    6.7
    Slightly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seems location was all we paid for - location. £70 for a Friday night in Shrewsbury is not bad at all, but there were some disappointing elements. That included a lack of parking - only saved by my girlfriend’s knowledge of Shrewsbury - without it the only suggestion we got from hotel staff was to park in the car park by Wetherspoons (only after 6pm) and then having to get up at 8am the next day to put a ticket in the car, which would then have to be moved somewhere else a few hours later.. hardly ideal. The rooms were also a bit pokey and smaller than expected, except for the bathroom, where the ventilation seemed to just be a hole in the wall, meaning it was absolutely freezing with not much means of warming it up. So we kept the bathroom door firmly closed! Probably the worst aspect of the visit was that the toilet in the room we stayed had a fault and so re-flushed itself every five minutes or so, which was really loud and meant quite a bad night’s sleep. It was too late to report it by the time we got back after going out and I’d noticed it was happening (and didn’t seem like an emergency). I told the attendant in the bar at check out, who noted it but didn’t seem to take any action.

    Had a one night stay here at the weekend to see a show at the Severn Theatre and go to some pubs and bars, and in terms of location, it couldn’t really have been better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.0
    Will look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced for very small room. Toilet constantly flushing itself every 10 minutes throughout the night resulting in dreadful nights sleep.

    Nice and clean good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    5.0
    Nice town disappointed with hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room, broken toilet ( flushed itself every five minutes ) . Also bathroom door handle broken , couldn’t shut door so heard the the flush all night

    The bar area was nice . Shower nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    3.8
    Very poor value. Very small room. Too many stairs. No reception. No parking on site. Would not stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no reception at the hotel. You have TRY to book in at the bar (with the bar staff) who are at the same time serving people with drinks and meals. So booking in took about twenty minutes, while my car was parked in a loading bay outside the hotel. The staff were no help when asked about over night parking. We asked to change rooms as the room given to us was very small with no chairs. We moved to another room just as small with one chair. Our room was an attic room up several flights of stairs.The bed was VERY LOW about 12 inches off the floor. Very poor value for money. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

    The room was clean enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay in Shrewsbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could not set the right time on the alarm clock but the appliance itself had 2 USB ports which were really handy for charging our mobiles. Although beds were very comfy they were low and a wooden frame which we kept banging our shins on.

    Modern and clean inside. Nice cozy log burner in the bar. Staff we're really friendly. Easy to gain access after the bar closed with a pin access on the door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of the room was very small and bed was too low to the floor.

    The locality was great. Lovely hot shower with good pressure. Staff helpful and friendly. Good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    5.0
    The fact that I could have a better deal two doors down as my friends did (with dressing gowns, slip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I could have a better deal two doors down as my friends did (with dressing gowns, slippers, ear plugs, king size bed) but picked this because it had the symbol parking! So no parking!!!!

    The staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    2.5
    You only need one word - disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfriendly staff and not helpful. Parking was 7 minute walk away. Check in was 2.00 and we arrived at 1.30 to be told to leave our bags behind the bar and go and park and then go back and check in. Our room was ready - they could have let us use it instead of going back and forth. Room was small and the window was frosted glass. Mound on ceiling. Just not a nice room at all. We went for our wedding anniversary - just not what we expected at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.0
    First impressions not lived up to by average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only parking near the hotel is short stay, so absolutely useless! Ended up at train station, brisk 10 mins walk. It's not quiet, that's for sure. The disco nearby finished at 6.20 Sunday morning, just as the street cleaners, deliveries and random motorcycle started their day!

    It was central and bar/restaurant very nice. Breakfast was great but it's at a cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    4.6
    Think the pictures of the rooms you see are deceiving, not enough positives for return stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and manoeuvring around the bed very dfficult as there was less than a foot of space before the wall. The bed was very very low but was comfortable once you got in, not great when you need to get up in the night especially because of the lack of space at the end of the bed. Room seemed like it needed a really good clean the one bedside lamp was extremely dusty. It was difficult to watch the very small tv on the wall if you got the left hand side of the bed. The noise from outside started around 6am and was very loud, after a late night this wasn't great. The long stay car park was a good ten/fifteen minute walk away which we did not realise until arrival. This wouldn't of been a problem but when you spend time getting ready to go out and its raining/cold then its not ideal. Lighting in the bedroom quite dull.

    The food we ate was really good. Good supply of coffee and tea in your room. Bathroom was very spacious but could have done with a good clean. Additional heater was good because the radiators were not on and it was quite cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    6.3
    just satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room with skylight which was not fully closed and letting in cold air and external noise with an extremely unusual piece of material attached to two horizontal rails fixed to ceiling. This really did not suffice as a proper curtain and let in too much light. Far too high for us to seal the window closed and should have had proper blind or curtains. Requested an alternative room but could not provide this.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was good value for money, and is in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were rather creaky, and too low. It was also quite noisy in the morning, as our room faced the entrance to the market opposite, and they were unloading vehicles noisily from early, no chance of a lie in!!

    The hotel was ideally situated for our purposes. It was convenient for the theatre, and the shopping centre. The evening meal was lovely and good value for money. The live music entertainment was a pleasant surprise, and rounded our night off wonderfully.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    3.3
    The hotel was dreadful and overpriced we had to pay for parking which was a 15 minute walk away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows were broken ,we moved to a different room as the first was dreadful.the second one was not good at all.Overall very disappointing

    Didn't eat there .the bed was not good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much room to walk around the bed

    Greeted by friendly and informative staff . The overnight parking is a five minute walk and the hotel is in a great location the places of interest and bars and restaurants are all close by . The hotel bar is good serving good food .the room we booked was a small double with a large shower room but for the price we payed it was good value for a overnight stay .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.3
    Definitely not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad lighting in room, also really small (bruises from banging my legs on the bed to go to the toilet) mold problem from shower in bathroom, quite dusty and dated even though told we could go to the room through the bar before 12 around 10pm he would not let us in the front as my partner had a hat on and rudely sent us around the side door even though we explained we had a room.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay which contributed to our trip to the theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been more disability friendly, I.e. Entrance and number of stairs to rooms (no lift).

    Everything we required for a one night stay was there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    6.3
    Functional and Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited parking facility. Room was clean and well presented but bed not comfortable due to style of bedframe. A better fitting mattress would help. Breakfast earlier than hours stated on Booking.com (which we needed) not available despite information to contrary on website. Not suitable for disabled!!

    Central location. Decent room and excellent restaurant. When it was discovered we were not allocated the room we had booked to meet our family needs they did their best to help and compensated us more than I would have expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car park. Parking required payment in business hours. If you need parking bring coins.

    Nice place to stay very close to shopping district. Kitchenette, excellent shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    Fanatstic location for everyone, and a great place for a doggy break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on site parking, but several nearby municipal car parks

    Fantastic location in the heart of Shrewsbury, Dog Friendly with access to the bedrooms without walking through the bar area. Rooms furnished to an excellent standard, TV and Tea and Coffee making facilities available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.5
    Good value & location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find, even with a GPS - didn't recognise the address. Bed quite low to floor & corners of bed bottom sharp.

    Good shower, comfortable bed (even though quite low to get out of!). Good heating, double glazed windows, pay & display parking across the street, food & drinks - both dinner & breakfast available in the hotel. Many eateries close by. Easy walk to centre of city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.5
    Usually good place, but not this time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I book the room because there is small kitchen but fridge was hot and very smelly. Impossible to store food in it. So I ended up in the restaurant ...

    Nice staff as usual.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing, not worth a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small, the bed very low and the room was noisy, both from the street and the bar downstairs. The sliding door on the shower came off its rails far too easily which made having a shower rather precarious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.0
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too low down and uncomfortable. Room was tiny and poor value for money, £89 was very poor value especially without breakfast being included.

    Location was good with a private entrance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.4
    A bit basic but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were too low and mine had some slats missing from the base Room was bit dated and could do with redecorating

    the location of the hotel as it was in the town centre and within easy reach of all attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nowhere nearby to park except short stay car parks. Nearest long stay is a good 10mins walk from the hotel.

    Really nice clean room with a very smart bathroom. Very central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.9
    good value mid-range accommodation in well converted traditional building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although recently stripped out and new interiors and layout , with good quality materials , the on-going maintenance had fallen behind. Smart bathroom was starting to suffer. Fresh eyes can immediately see the problems. The low bed (due to low windows) was a bit of a squeeze in the room. I'll say it was too soft and super squeaky.

    Rooms are above a smart trendy pub restaurant. Great view of the town from the huge low windows . Good mid-range value . Sympathetic stylish interior designs in an old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    4.6
    See above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was crammy and uncomfortable - one had to squeeze sideways to negotiate the foot of the bed. Had we been staying more than one night, it really would have been seriously uncomfortable.

    Can't say that I liked anything! It was adequate for one night and central.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable room in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking. The check in staff were inattentive and gave us poor direction to our room, so we ended up carrying our bags up twice.

    The room was spacious and well appointed. Some of the rooms adjacent are not so large but luckily, we got a larger room due to problem with the TV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    8.3
    A warm welcome and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our rooms windows opened towards the back and the kitchen extractor fans, so smelled of fried breakfast all the time. Beds were a bit firm. TV very small and didn't work on the second night at all.

    Staff were all amazingly helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    We liked the location as it was near to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door kept sticking and could do with a rubber shower mat, also it could do with a tiny shelf to put the soap and shampoo.

    Mainly the location and although its not a luxury hotel it had everything we needed. It had a jolly bar. EXcellant breakfast for just £6.00

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    5.8
    Needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom, though clean was scruffy and needed updating. I thought the price expensive for the quality of the room.

    The breakfast was good and the room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    A lovely old building with character and quirks with friendly staff who are very informative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 2 is close to the door entrance for the 2nd floor so you do hear people coming and going Shrewsbury has more than it's fair share of boy racers they are driving round till all hours but the extra glazing in the room does cut out most of the noise

    Clean room which was cleaned daily we had 2 days there tea and coffee milk sugar sweetener and some complimentary biscuits a kettle Iron an ironing board a heater if needed Excellent shower clean towels radio alarm clock with USB ports ,an electric fan digital flat screen tv with DVD complimentary toiletries staff were very helpful courteous separate entrance to your room if you don't want to go through the pub door code and wifi code given when checking in on a slip All rules menues and required information is in the room also local information supplied for local attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside is having no on-site parking. Plenty of paying car parks near but this adds more expense to your trip. Managed to find on road parking not too far away. There is an unloading bay outside hotel.

    Staff were friendly, hairdryer,iron and toiletries in room. Nice bar downstairs. In centre of town. Room was clean with large bathroom and a good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    Good location but poor for parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    parking is not convenient, you need to get back to car park to get another ticket at 8am or pay by text from the hotel if you get the car park details the day before

    in town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced really just for an overnight stay and no breakfast !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They finished serving food at 6pm. We maybe would have eaten there if they served a little later.

    Very clean. It was very quiet for being right in the heart of town. Adequate for the reason we needed an overnight stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    5.8
    Hotel feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No sound proofing therefore could hear everything and I mean everything in the room above!! Curtains not heavy enough therefore room bright and you could hear traffic and people all night long.We were in a room to the front of the building No mirror in bedroom therefore could not use my hairdryer or view what you were wearing. We had booked a small room and it was definitely small with a low to ground bed which you had to be aware of and not to knock your ankles on while trying to get to bathroom The shower in the bathroom had a non stop drip with a difficult door to open and close. Perhaps rooms in a different part of the building may be better but unfortunately would not stay again.

    Location although you have to make sure when you park in the nearby car park to go and put a ticket on your car by 8 in the morning as parking is free from 6 pm to 8am

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Great location,but may not be for everybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was really low, could be a problem for those with long legs. Over the bed was a skylight, there was a curtain of sorts but it didn't block all the light. They gave you a mobile number for any problems as there were no staff on premises after closing time, may put off lone travellers

    Great location, right in center, walking distance of station and buses. Rooms are over very pleasant bar, which was quiet on q Sunday when I stayed. Staff were pleasant. Room okay, kinchenette as well as ensuite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Good place to spend a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was my first time driving in Shrewsbury...it was a nightmare. Would recommend taking the train. No parking at the hotel but a pay and display across the street, which I found by accident. If driving check directions before setting off.

    Very good location in center of town. Rooms are above the pub/restaurant but quiet. Updated facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Amazing. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did email before our trip with a query about our room but no response. No big deal though

    Loved this place. Going back next year. Staff were so accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Parking was not great as had to park on the road but wasn't a massive issue. Food was fab. Alcohol was awesome. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    5.8
    Lovely staff, loveky apartment but it much sleep. Parking very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy town centre through the night and early morning. The tiles on the floor in the kitchen were all cracked and sharp bits off grout kept coming out.

    We stayed in an apartment over the road from The Morgan. It's was just right for a weekend stay 2 adults 1 teenager. Very well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    lovely hotel and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with the flush on the toilet kept running all night then filling back up,didn't get much sleep because of it

    Very pleasant with a lovely bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    5.0
    Great location but some real issues with the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We contacted reception to ask how we could connect to the WiFi and were told they are having problems with the WiFi in the apartment, which I should note that the apartment is in a different building across the road. Having WiFi is very important to us, and was not available for our stay. NOT ACCEPTABLE as the hotel and premises is advertised as WiFi available throughout. White curtains in bedroom which meant street light and sun come into the room, so woken 5am each morning, not good!! Food left in kitchen sink plug hole. Kitchen floor tiles cracked, wobbly and grout pieces coming out ... needs attention. We paid £270.00 and believe we are due some money back, as NOT as advertised.

    Great location, space of living room for baby to crawl around, nice shower and handy having a lift due to having a pushchair.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: