Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The View 3 stars

Old Herns Lane, Welwyn Garden City, AL7 2ED, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Welwyn Garden City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chap on the bar when I arrived had a terrible attitude - he was also alone which meant he had no time to see to me properly, he had a very Mate mate attitude - and didn’t seem to want to be very helpful- had to ask repeatedly for a receipt ..

    Stunning views - decent rooms - little bit small but no complaints

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although super clean, the tables in the bar/restaurant were super sticky - cleaning products need to be changed. Beds were way too soft. Also the amenities in the room such as blinds, TV remote and bathroom could do with a bit of a sprucing up/fixing. But for the price, what you would expect.

    The location is beautiful, food is fantastic. The price of the room included a full cooked breakfast, which was awesome. Tea and coffee lovely. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in need of some TLC but were clean. The welcome from the staff was great in the evening. The morning wasn’t impressive with hoovering going on while having breakfast. Lacks healthy breakfast options.

    The location and the view from the rooms is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet with everything I needed. Breakfast was excellent, well cooked, hot and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu was very limited for Coeliacs. It was very exciting to see the lovely breakfast menu for non residents then a total let down to get a bog standard choice considering we’d alreafy paid £75 to stay the night. The philosophy seems upside down. The ordering of thebreakfast took ages and I was late for my next social engagement. There was nowhere in the room for us both to relax as there was only one chair.

    I liked plenty of hot water for showers. Liked the view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bigger. Damp removed and room well vented . Perhaps a bigger TV

    The room was under the main bar area of a Golf Club, this was not in the description. The bathroom was damp and smelly the room cramped to say the least. Access to the rooms was either through the main bar area or round the side of the building and over some grass even then there were no,instructions as to how to get there by not going through the bar!! It was clean I will give it that. Oh and demanding a £50 damages deposit was most certainly a shock. I have never been asked for that on any previous occasion on a booking with Booking.com. I was promised the money back in 3 days but somehow I think,that was just a stockmanswer. I shall wait and see

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was old shabby and not entirely clean. It was not made entirely clear about how the 50 pounds security deposit would be implimented when we checked in. We were oblivious to any request for one when we booked. We were told when checking in that it was required and when we questioned why and how would it work the receptionist couldn't explain it adequately. She did say it would be returned on checking out. However on checking out we were told it had to clear first before it was refunded. Two days later the money is not back on our account.

    Lovely setting with beautiful views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing Views looking over the golf course and beyond. Great room and really friendly, professional and attentive staff. Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take a £50 deposit on arrival from r any damages which is not stated before you book , it’s returned 3 days later ... which in my opinion it should be given straight back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating. Food is excellent, particularly the English Breakfast. View from our bedroom across the fairways was wonderful. Twin room was really comfortable and walk in shower is excellent. Would recommend without any reservation!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled of old smoke and not thoroughly cleaned, shower tap near impossible to move, room very sad. Breakfast took 25 minutes to arrive, staff seemed distracted.

    Food is good, staff are friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No obvious signage directing you to reception, I had to phone them to check I was in the right place, it wasn't evident that there was any accomodation at the site. Your room is in a converted redundant space under a bar terrance. The room was very small and basic, flys in the light fittings, worn lamps shades, cobwebs on the ceiling, mould in the bathroom and there was no heating in the room. Unable to sleep due to customers talking on the bar terrace above until gone 23:00! Golf course mowers start cutting the fairways at 05:00 not far from your room, so you get a early wake up call!

    Staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of modernisation. Also it was very cold and very noisy from the bar above.

    The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a little slow for Dinner but delicious when it came. Normaly not an issie but had a meeting with friends.

    The staff, accommodation and food were excellent View wonderfu, enhanced by lovely weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (No:3) could you with a bit of a tidy up, re-paint and new carpet. These rooms get used by golfers and I can imagine that they are often very wet.

    The location works well for me when visiting my Head Office in WGC

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the other guests ... walls paper thin and they were very selfish

    The view from my room was lovely, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the breakfast was great (excellent choices)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit clearer as to where to go to checkin, as the sign just says bar/restaurant with no mention of hotel

    The bed was great, the view was great and it was very handy to get to the bar/restaurant. The breakfast was awesome and was free!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clear on where to go to check in, I then realised it was at the bar and so I had to stand in my work clothes waiting at the bar for half an hour for someone to see to me while everyone was there for a big wedding party looking at what I was doing stood there in my work clothes, to be told the accommodation was underneath the bar so I had to walk past everyone with all my bags to get to my room. I also didn't receive any breakfast as it didn't start until 9 on weekends and I had to leave earlier than this for work. However online is states breakfast starts at 8 and so I was expecting to be able to get some.

    The view was lovely and the room was surprisingly quiet considering it was positioned underneath the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Groundsman decided to mow the fairway outside my room at 5:30am until 6:15am which was annoying and woke me up!

    Location surroundings, staff and bar/restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level was quite high once we got back to the room after midnight. This was due to the rooms being underneath the bar and a there was a party happening in the function room. Once finished was very peaceful.

    Good location for a wedding we had near by. The bar was lovely and served nice food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled a bit with stopping the water from the shower from splashing over the edge of the bath! Not too much of an issue as it was great to have a powerful shower, but felt bad that we got lots of water on the floor.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Incredibly impressed with the value for money. Breakfast was delicious and room was absolutely fine for what we needed it for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in sister hotel not great fish and chips oily and burnt. Checking out food not get an invoice had to ring up several times the next at to get it by email after I was assured it would be sent but of a pain to do.

    View from the room straight onto the golf course went for walks had a great time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window blind was broken, bright light from some kind of emergency exit sign lit up the whole room at night. Mattresses in the room were very soft, so much so that you could roll off the bed.

    Bar and restaurant area were great, very modern, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators were on full and would not switch off making the room to hot to sleep in. The bedroom had no windows!!! and the so called flat screen TV was the size of an I Pad. No hot water in the morning so we had to wash in cold water. Decor and room furniture was very cheaply done.

    The staff were very helpful, polite and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and was overdue a good scrub. The surfaces were clean enough but things like the TV remote and telephone were caked in crumbs and clearly haven’t had a decent wipe in a long time. I can’t imagine this would take very long as there’s only a few rooms on site. The room just needs a deep clean.

    Staff were very helpful. Very personal service and fantastic food from the bar and grill (if not lacking some more variety)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel rail okin the bathroom was not able to be turned down and the towel rail made the entire bathroom and bedroom way too hot

    The coffee at the reataurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one small window, not enough daylight in the room. bedroom is a bit small, it felt like a comfy beach hut.

    clean room, bath tub, location, the view of the golf course

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way booking.com taking payments very confusing as I did not know who to pay as I thought you took payments straight away when booking confirmed and then where one stayed they were charging me again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a building site which we were not informed of earlier. We stayed because of a funeral otherwise we would have left. There was no running water and we’d had a long drive. The room had dirty carpets and the bathroom was in a dreadful state.

    The staff did their best and were pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Major development of the upper floor of the hotel was in progress which resulted in reduced facilities on site. However, a chauffeur driven car was provided to take me to and from an associated restaurant close by for dinner which served excellent food.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    T V did not work, and as my husband was left in on his own he was not happy. could do with more light along the outside path way, especially with the building work going on. I think a small door mat inside the door to save the carpet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were on the small side.

    The property has a fantastic location in the middle of a golf course. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and accommodate our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic but was only there for the bed for the night so didnt matter

    The comfiest bed i have ever slept in in a hotel. Also nice view out my window of the course.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms really could do with a lick of paint, Television a little small with wires hanging alll over the place, emergency lighting in the room had small led bulb in it which didnt turn off. had a problem with the Toilet not flushing very well, but did report it and staff only to happy to help resolve problem.

    Good loctaion, beds were comfortable, coffee and tea facilities, hair dryer in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain rail was tied up with a plastic tie but collapsed when I tried to close the curtain

    It was handy location and the bar was good. Room was simple but good enough for my needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in service was very delayed

    Staff were friendly , the breakfast was very nice . We only stayed overnight as we had a Christmas party somewhere else but the golf course looked very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toilet-roll holder in the bathroom!

    The bed was comfortable and the view very pleasant. We didn't have breakfast or make use of the other facilities but it did look good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dinner, no breakfast, wifi useless. I was not convinced about the cleanliness of the bathroom.

    Not much. Probably the nice and casual welcome and the no-fuss check-in and out. Bed was ok, room was very cold initially but warmed up after I called reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy wake up call - lawn mowers started cutting grass outside accomodation at 5.30... Accomodation needs updating to come into the 21st Cenrury -

    Easy parking - thats about all what was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything lovely

    Beds was lovely an comfy we slept vary well it was so lovely an quiet no traffic noise we were visiting family so we would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SCARY PLACE DARK OUTSIDE NO LIFE AROUND NO STAFF AT NIGHT ROOMS ARE OUTSIDE THE MAIN BUILDING GOING OUTSIDE AT NIGHT IS NOT SAFE WALKWAY TO THE ROOMS FROM CARPARK IS DARK very Few rooms around

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. No extra blankets in room. First room given had a lock that was difficult to unlock. Main shower in room didn't work. Luckily there was a second shower. We checked out before check out time, and we're not offered any breakfast.

    It was quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't know how to adjust the temperature on the shower, my room was very small, the blind did not reach the bottom of the window and like a previous comment about early morning noise, I was okay with that because I was going early to work and most hotel accommodation these days has contractors staying there and they usually go early to work.

    The location was great, easy to find and a lovely golf course, the young lady who showed me to the room was very friendly and helpful, very nice attitude. The size of the bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not secure. I had an outside room with a loose-fitting door lock. When I complained, I was told the room was due for "refurbishment" and given no other explanation! In the bathroom the shower pressure was appalling. Just a dribble.

    Views and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised food in the pub between 6h30pm to 9pm but no staff to cook food.Nobody in reception to accept key.Room basic with a tv the size of a Labtop monitor.Shower constantly dripping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    It was convenient for where I was visiting,apart from that was I very disappointed with the overall cleanliness of the room,it was very basic and doe,s not compare with other Hotels and bed and breakfasts I have stayed in the area for room rate charged

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in speed, at check out we had to wait 10 min for someone to come despite shouting hello and knocking on doors. There was no obvious/ clear way out of into the premises. The noise from upstairs, and from arguing guests in the next room kept us awake. There is no wifi, despite the website advertising this. TV reception was very poor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a faint smell of damp in the room, but really very faint. The bed was comfy but soft, so it depends how you like your bed!

    The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The setting is lovely, looking out to the golf course, and therefore quiet too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the rooms were ok , very small . I didn't like the emergency lighting in the ceiling , far too bright. Generally , the whole place needs an update. Was much more expensive than the Premier Inn.

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial reception in the Bar. Efficient but not welcoming.

    Wonderful setting. Amazing view of golf course. room comfortable, but dependant on other residents for noise level. No staff available at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was tiny and scruffy. Room was small. we were given the wrong information regarding evening meal, consequently had to drive to the nearest pub for dinner when in fact dinner was being served at the Inn

    The breakfast was fine and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clubhouse/bar was awful. Music very very loud. TV was playing too in competition with the music. The whole bar area was uncomfortable. We retired to our room to get out of the way at 8.30pm. Drinks too were very expensive. Needed food but felt the room was not conducive to dining.

    Comfy bed and beautiful aspect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor lighting at night.....returning back to rooms after midnight was very tricky. One of the rooms bathroom door handle was broken and literally dangling and a LED light was hanging from the ceiling.

    Friendly staff. Location good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in need of some care and attention. Decoration was tired. Bedside lamp did not work, toilet flush was poor and toilet door did not shut and had a damaged handle.

    Decent beds, large towels and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an "emergency light" in our room that was so bright at night it kept us awake, also the public function room was directly above us so we were kept awake with loud music both nights we were there.

    The friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hadn't been dusted in a while. Check behind room 1 the head board. There was hair on the toilet. The floor in the bathroom was filthy. Wiped it with tissue and it was black. Mugs were dusty as they were left the wrong way up. We were told about the monthly disvo. Reception said we shouldn't be able to hear it where we were but we did. I would like a reply to the review as for £70 it definitely wasn't worth that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV could have been a little bigger.

    Lovely little hotel, very quiet with lovely views over the golf course. Very friendly and as a solo female traveller I felt very welcome. The bed was comfortable and access was very good, ample parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not serve evening meals despite their advert. Room was small and spartan. I was in a disabled accommodation so the bathroom was big - bigger than the bedroom. had empty cigarette packets outside my room. They were no removed for the whole 5 days that I was there. However the cleaning woman was pleasant.

    The view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISE. Golf course 1st tee is outside. The grass cutter was being used directly outside the rooms from 5:50 in the morning for continuous half hour period. Completely ridiculous as it is perfectly clear there are bedrooms facing the fairway. Staff said it was nothing to do with the pub/accommodation but agreed to pass on message. I suspect that will make no difference. I will try not to stay here unless winter or raining when grass cutting may be off the agenda very early in the morning.

    Convenient for Welwyn. Easy parking and good wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was tiny and the décor tired. literally sits directly on a golf course with golfers passing directly by the window and door, the worst was the 'groundsman' driving a lawnmower around on the tee right outside our bedroom window at 6am!!!!! when asked to stop he just shrugged his shoulders and carried on...given that the course was large I'm sure he could have moved to another location away from the rooms and returned at a more reasonable hour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone reception and could not connect to the free wifi either. Was not happy with the mower which woke us up at 8am.

    The water in the room was a pleasant surprise. Welcomed considering such a hot couple of days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, staff absent for too long at breakfast, took too long to serve coffee/tea, no cloth on table just bare, attitude from staff at breakfast fell below standard, would not be returning there again

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is essentially a golf course pub with a few rooms. Maintenance is lacking, the pub was extremely noisy and the price of breakfast was exorbitant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very isolated for someone (female) staying on their own. I didn't sleep properly either night. The rooms are on the green so I was woken up at 6.15am by the grass cutter on my first morning. When I came back late on the second night the garden gate was shut. I walked back to the carpark, walked around the Tavern and down the steps to the rooms in the pitch black as there are no lights until you get to the rooms. I was shaking so much by the time I got to my room I couldn't get the key into the door and dropped it which panicked me even more! Basically if you are a solo traveller and are happy to stay alone somewhere quite quiet and isolated I would recommend staying here, but if you are a bit of a scardy-cat like me definitely explore other options. I think if I had stayed there with a partner/friend or even someone I knew in a neighbouring room it would have been a lovely escape. I didn't have Wi-Fi but as I was going out early and coming back after opening hours I didn't have a chance to ask. There was no mention on the welcome note in the room.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful, they even waited late for me to arrive. The room was clean, the shower was powerful and one of the best I've seen at a hotel. The bed was very comfy too. Bottled water in the room was a nice touch aswell.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered a well done steak ,first was raw second not much better third was more medium than well done ,was bloody hungry so eat it

    very clean and nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had to wait for staff once served us disappear then had to wait again for staff to appear, happened more then once, was not very happy about that

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed springs too soft and bouncy. The ends raise up when sitting on it and not that comfy in the night. All other things were very good though.

    Nice bathroom and clean. Nice views of golf course.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were rather large cupboards - bed area rather dark - guests should be made aware that only soap/towels are provided. There IS a hairdryer. Only one chair

    Bed comfortable. Towels good. tea/coffee making facility As it was only £70 we were not expecting too much!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It all felt a bit bleak with a longish walk outside from reception /bar area to my room which in the dark or cold was a bit discomforting. All very quiet. I think I was only person who had breakfast there

    It provided what I was after a a good nights sleep in simple accommodation at a good price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints

    My stay was very good and the staff were very helpful.The view from my room was spectacular and I had to take pics of the sunrise with magical colours

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult this, everything was perfectly adequate, it's just that I'm used to Premier Inn beds and this one was smaller.

    For me it was the lovely views and countryside around here. I guess for most it would be the golf! Perfect for my needs as we were attending a function here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed some much TLC, specifically to the carpets, fix furnishings and shower. Also, being woken up by the Greensman at 6.30am on a Sunday morning with the lawn mower and then again by the nearby shooting range!

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly throughout. The breakfast was very good too, although this was an additional cost and not included in the room tariff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra bedding as the heating went off and only came on 4pm to around 10pm so cold in the mornings. Traffic noise from nearby road early morning.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a Christmas party each night we stayed meaning there was music until the early hours in the bar and function room immediately above and adjacent to us. No restaurant on site for an evening meal and the price per night doesn't include breakfast. The hotel "does what it says on the tin" but is very overpriced, the same amount paid would have been similar to a reputable hotel chain that includes breakfast and has rooms away from the main function room!

    Location was excellent, near to the wedding we visited and easy to access from main roads. Bathroom was large. Lovely views over the golf course and peaceful after midnight!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the bathroom was literally hanging off from the ceiling and the bathroom needed some maintenance: the ceiling in the left hand side corner was in a terrible state with flaky paint and looked as though there had been a leak. The heated towel rail was dirty. The whole bathroom needed replastering and repainting.

    The shower was powerful and super hot

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: