Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Falls Of Dochart Inn 3 stars

Gray Street, Killin, FK21 8SL, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Killin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was a bit restrictive if you did'nt want beef burgers , haggis or some of the sauces. Ice cream was a bit expensive at £7.

    The room was comfy and the stand alone bath was a good size. The view from the window over the water was great. The fish we had was a good size and the batter was nice and crispy. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom perhaps a bit small; no wifi in the cottage, but we were mostly out, so it was not such a big problem.

    Good location, near the Falls. We stayded in the cottage wich was nice and quiet! Everything you need is there. Food in the Inn was very good , lovely Trout ! Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room with The Falls View was amazing I could have sat at the window all day with the view. I would recommend booking a room to the front you won’t be disappointed. Breakfast In The morning was brilliant plenty of choice. Compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what i had expected (later to find out this is a standard not a room with a view for which you are expected to pay a premium) and was small with no room, hot (above the kitchen) with the smell of the kitchen and noise of the refrigeration , there was no view as it overlooked the rear car park, the breakfast was of very poor quality items whilst it did consist of the expected items ....... have stayed in far far better for less money

    The location .......

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room required a proper shower, staff could be more attentive. Porridge was very watery not wholesome scottish porridge as stated on menu.

    Stunning view, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More options for a vegetarian breakfast. Food prices fairly high. Room good do with a bit tlc.

    Loved the quirkiness of the room. Beautiful location. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Def stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the byre was extremely cramped, too much was squeezed into it, would have been better as an ensuite room as oppose a 1 bed apartment

    very dog friendly. good food. friendly bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write about

    I travelled from the trump turnberry for a totally different expirence. I arrived to beautiful scenery and a cozy hotel with great staff !! I was so surprised with the quality of the food I would go as far as saying it was every bit as good as the trump if not better ! Fish and chips incredible and the haggis neeps and tatties were excellent !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Inn is located at Dochart falls that gives it an excellent location. Staff was very welcoming and ready to help. Room was very clean and kids enjoyed bunk beds. Bathroom was big and clean. Room had nice view of the fall but no outdoor sound was coming in so was very quiet. Had dinner and portions were big and steak cooked to perfection. Breakfast was also good. Overall wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional 'travellers' inn perfectly situated in a stunning, quiet setting. Warm friendly reception from the staff, food was excellent for breakfast and dinner. Rooms are very comfortable (our room overlooked the falls, and surprisingly we couldn't hear them at all with the windows closed), equipped with everything needed for a chilled weekend away. We didn't take any pets but they do advertise as being pet friendly, plenty of walks in the surrounding area to tire out even the most energetic of dogs. All in all a great place to go and we will be visiting again soon.

    Quiet property in a beautiful location with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Are room was lovely.We had the four poster bed found it very comfortable.Room was small but cosy and clean.Bathroom was spacious with a roll top bath. Beautiful view of the Dochart falls. We had are evening meal there.More expensive than most pubs,but we really enjoyed the Haddock and homemade chunky chips.Well presented on a grey slate slab. The breakfast was excellent good quality sausages and black pudding. Found the staff friendly.I would highly recommend and we would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It took a bit long before the hot water came through in the room.

    It is a very old house, so nobody should expect large bedrooms or a lift instead of steep stairs. I always enjoy a stay in historic buildings. The food was excellent and tasty, e few more choices on the menue would be fine. The scenary beside the falls is really lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    our room was ready earlier than expected and we were allowed to check in early. phenomenal room, restaurant portions huge and food beautifully cooked. loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to add here as the inn met our expectations! The new coffee area was being reconstructed and will be ready soon. This will be a great upgrade for the business.

    The room was perfect and with a tremendous view of the Falls. The restaurant in the bar was very comfortable with a lovely open fire so we forgot the cold, snowy day outside. The evening dinner was really excellent as was the breakfast. We loved the friendly staff who were willing to help us in any way they could. The locals were also very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Monaka the manager/everything was sooo very accommodating and friendly to us, she really made our visit special and treated the kids like family. She's there from morning to late in the evening`cooking breakfast, pouring drinks in the pub and I'm pretty sure she services the rooms. She is stellar! The pub is adorable, truly cozy with inglenook fireplace and tartan covered settees. The rooms have fantastic views and are very romantic with four poster bed and some a claw-foot tub. There's also a cute cottage for rent that we will consider for another trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really can't think of something...

    First of all, the Inn is as charming as it is possible to be... The staff is not only helpful, but also funny, witty, and so very scottish. It was the best place we stayed at during our trip to Scotland's Highlands, and their name isn't a joke: both rooms we booked were literally in front of Dochart Falls, which made for one of the best "wake-up curtain openings of our lives". The rooms are cozy and clean, the sheets smell delicious, and the decor is so charming. The reception and bar/restaurant, with its fireplace, is certainly the best spot in Killin. We arrived at 6pm, and, although we were planning to drop off our bags and go explore, the setting of the Inn was so comfie, we decided to stay in, with a few drinks and a delicious dinner by the fire. The breakfast was divine, everything fresh, served upon order, by such nice scots. Great scottish breakfast! The Inn is also at walking distance (10 minutes) from one of the most magical places we've seen in Scotland, the Killin Stone Circle: a few oldie stones, arranged in a circle, in the middle of a field. Seeming basic, but if you go in the morning, when the sun is starting to peak behind the mountains that encircle the area, with hundreds of sheep around you, you fell out of time. I truly recommend the Falls of Dochart Inn, it is an absolute must go for touring Scotlands' Highlands, if you're looking for an authentic yet surprising place to stay and visit. Note we've gone in November, when its calmer. But I hear in the summer the bar can sometimes serve you literally on the rocks of the Falls of Dochart... Amazing...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is ideally located for viewing Dochart Falls - from some bedroom windows and the restaurant. There was a fire blazing in the huge hearth in the pub when we arrived which was wonderful. We immediately took a walk along the banks of the river, fascinated by the tumbling rush of water over the slick black rocks which are the Falls. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom lack of storage/ shelving. Uncomfortable mattresses.

    Warm, friendly atmosphere in pub & restaurant. Restored, rustic old fireplace. Excellent food. Very relaxing and homely. Enthusiastic staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in our room was dangerously hot. I just about burnt my hand testing bath water so beware

    We loved this hotel, so much character and the staff so friendly. Food was excellent and we enjoyed cosy nights in the bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. No where else to sit apart from the bed Would have liked a shower as well as/instead of a bath No early breakfast before 8:30

    Very helpful staff. Comfortable bed Great breakfast on 2nd day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren’t firm enough, also rooms were a little too small.

    Staff were lovely and the scenery was beautiful very nice and quaint and breakfast was amazing! Lovely to sit down at breakfast or a drink with the fire on!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under the bunk bed was really dusty and there was something that looked like food. Minor fault really. Everything else was fine.

    The food was excellent. The staff were really friendly. Loved the bar with the big open fire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 2 was over the kitchen and got all the frying smells which lingered all night. A fan was on all night somewhere near which went off at 7am. There was a bright blue neon on the TV which I could not turn off and which kept waking me up, apart from the buzzing fan. The chef didn't warm the plate so my breakfast was luke warm when it got to me.

    Lovely setting, great food in the restaurant, attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    The location was great as was the dining hall and the restaurant. However, the bed was very uncomfortable and the room could have been heated on the first evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint was the bathroom in the cottage, just a little too small, the sink was oversized for the area in the bathroom, the bed was great and comfy, but not much room to maneuver around, saying that we managed, the main living area was perfect for us, nice comfy sofa and everything you needed for the stay. We were given fresh towel on the second day and offered housekeeping, but as we were only there for 2 days felt we didn't need it. overall great stay!!

    We stayed in the Byre Cottage at the back of the Falls of Dockart Inn, it was very small but lovely and quaint , bathroom a little too small, could do with replacing the large sink, which was too large for the area, but apart from that, shower etc all worked fine! Bed was extra comfy, pillows nice and soft too. Living area was small but adequate, had everything you need, also tea and coffee provided too. We took out small dog and he loved the garden area. He was also welcome in all the pubs round about, and made very welcome in the Falls of Dockart Inn. Breakfast was included in the price and was exceptional, great staff ,very friendly and helpful, would definately go back to the Falls of Dockart Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff the only contact - not experienced enough to do a good job. Restaurant food overpriced for standard of cooking and amateur waitering. Boutique inn is overstating it rather. It's a good old pub which has used local businesses to upgrade the rooms to a good standard. Gave us the wrong people's bill. Only one staff member with any sense to put it right.

    rooms nicely decorated and clean Breakfast tasty and organised

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist charged first wrong price. Not a nice storry with some pressure needed to correct. I arrived short of closure of kitchen, no flexibility. Happy enough threr was an excellent indian rest. nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit over priced.

    The family room was very comfortable for our families one night stay with an outstanding view of the Dochart waterfall out of the window and a nice breakfast included in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just loved the atmosphere.

    This is an old inn but beautifully restored with a great big fireplace in the bar. Rooms are small but clean and food is very good. Views of the Falls are magic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay at the Falls of Dochart inn. Staff very friendly and accommodating, offered to book a table for dinner for us. Had a wonderful meal at the inn, have honestly not had such a tasty, good quality meal in a long time. As a vegetarian I was also impressed with the options available on the menu. Such a beautiful location and lovely walks around the area. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely old coaching inn on the banks of the Falls of Dochart. A very warm and friendly welcome and though our room was small it was extremely comfortable with a modern on suite. Very well placed to explore the beautiful area of Loch Tay. We ate here each evening as food was so good and thoroughly enjoyed our Scottish breakfast each morning. A gem of a place would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit small but who cares

    Lovely nights stopover in the quaint the brier lovely cosey bolt hole. Lovely old pub in fab location. Evening meal was great, staff real friendly and good breakfast. All in all a great Scottish welcoming pub and Inn. ☺️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Scottish breakfast, went down a treat. The view to the river is magnificent and the hotel is very well located just in front of the waterfall. The bar staff was very friendly and funny, we definitely had a good time there, thank you again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the room - too dull - I always feel when it's so dim what are they trying to hide! But I feel like this about all hotel rooms - more lights please!

    The bed and duvet were super comfy, and there was tons of hot water. Loved the view! Staff were pleasant and friendly and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menus changed , more expensive , no healthy options Very tight during breakfast . Have t keep on asking for more butter ,jam etc. Also very little bacon or salmon served !

    General ambience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small. The ensuite bathrooms are also small! The two gentlemen in our group (myself included) had to be a little inventive whilst bathing/showering! But everything was clean, so for a one night stay it wasn't really a big problem.

    The location couldn't really be any better, right across from the falls which are spectacular. Also just a short stroll into the village (shops, cafes, restaurants, places of historical interest). The bar area is very welcoming and comfortable with a magnificent fireplace. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the little cottage we stayed in. It was great to be able to bring our dog with us too! We were also very impressed with the pub's food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable but no bedside tables at all, and although the room was booked for 2 there was only 1 chair in the room, meaning someone had to sit on the bed and couldn't admire the views

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    on fairly busy road back-country with many tour buses driving through.

    Comfortable bed. Very friendly waiter/bartender. The restaurant/bar was very comfortable--with good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a water leak in a room adjacent to us which meant the hot water had to be shut off. This was only a minor inconvenience though.

    Very comfortable room. very hospitable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke early as we needed to leave sharpe went down for breakfast at 8am to find from another guest that breakfast was at 8.30am!!!!!' And everywhere was locked, we waited outside (thankfully it was dry) Was very surprised that breakfast was so late. We didn't wait and left hungry 😕

    I booked the hotel for myself, husband and son. But on arrival was informed it was only a double room I'd booked, (I definitely booked a double room with spare bed for son) after seeing the room it was very very small even for 2 people it was a squeeze. The memeber of staff suggested we could maybe swap rooms with the couple in the family, very kindly they agreed. Super grateful to them. Thank you very much if you read this and the To staff who cleaned and prepared the room for us. We had a meal down in the bad. And it was really good and very fast service even tho they were very busy!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started way too late at 8.30 . My self and many other guests were attending an event . I had to skip breakfast or would have been late . I needed to fuel up for the day ...

    Great location . Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit lumpy, but we slept fine every night.

    We loved our time there and being able to walk across the street to the Falls. It is a place out of history -- a homey, friendly hotel with very capable personnel who went the extra mile for us. They were helpful in every way and contributed to our finding friends we had known when we lived in Killin 47 years earlier. The meals were delicious -- breakfast and dinner -- first rate! After the first dinner, we went nowhere else. (Lunches we ate on the trail when we were hiking the area -- we had no car, and there are fabulous places to walk nearby.) They found transportation for us to Crainlarich where we caught a train north. I'm not sure how they arranged the perfect weather, but the sun shone every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately blind did not work properly in our room, didn't matter at this time of year but could be a problem in the winter.

    Lovely room overlooking the river, staff friendly and attentive, breakfast and dinner good. Weather was excellent which helped to make everything just that bit better!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small but in an old property it was as big as it could be.

    Bed was very comfortable. Bar was lovely with a big welcoming open fire. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps a good idea would be to provide a list of instructions for the cooker/dishwasher/heating etc. But managed by trial and error.

    Lovely cottage, fitted out with everything you possibly need. Very clean and tidy, great location and very private.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a bit over-priced and some of the facilities (minor) not up to scratch - light didn't work. It can also be a bit noisy because it's a pub

    The views are wonderful and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (no 6) had a beautifull 4-poster bed. Great to look at, but squeeking whenever one of us turned 😉

    Traditional cozy rooms upstairs a pub. Ours (rooms 5 and 6) had modern bathrooms en suite. The pub is really nice with a big open fireplace and the food is excellent, as is the staff. Our rooms had direct view of The Falls of Dochart. Amazing view to wake up to. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is in need of updating and renovation. The wi-fi was very weak and only available in certain spots in the restaurant and in the corridor.

    The staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. The manageress made an extra effort to celebrate my husband's birthday; She even baked a cake for us!!! The best part about this place is the view of the waterfall, which was breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was broken due to BT error.

    Staff excellent. Beer good. Very dog friendly. Good live act at night. Very comfortable beds. Thank you, will be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in room Damp on ceiling in room and bathroom Very noisy beside a fire door that seemed to be open all time out into back of hotel. People going out and in during night. Room was very small

    Food was very good albeit not huge choice in menu.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was badly in need of maintenance and tlc. The shower fell apart on my friend whilst she was in the shower, the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall, the extractor fan that came on everytime you turned the light on sounded like a jet engine taking off! The TV was too small, fixed against the wall and badly positioned, only one of us could view the TV from the comfort of our bed. The room itself was too cold, we used the duvets off of the bunk beds to keep warm, the wooden and stone floors were freezing under your bare feet. The lock on the door was hanging off and difficult to turn the key. There was no breakfast available as we needed to leave at 7am in the morning as there was a major running event held in the village that the owners knew nothing about. Won't be back!

    The decor was nice just not well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The atmosphere was relaxed and so welcoming. Room was very comfortable overlooking the Falls which was spectacular. Hospitality was great . Food was first class ..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi none existent in bar and room. Heating went off after 10pm and room was freezing during the night (October). Breakfasts didn't start until 8.30, bit late to hang about for this.

    Nice bar with open fire. Staff were great. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. I slept better in the bed there than my own! Great little, quirky, traditional inn in a fantastic place with lovely staff and great food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Byre cottage we stayed in was horrible, small is not the word. The toilet and shower where in a little cupboard in the bedroom it was damp and had no hot water in the bathroom sink. The front door stuck half way and struggled to get my bags in. It is ok for a night stay but no longer.

    The location was good and the food and staff were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely inn by the spectacular dochart falls. Beautiful location and pretty village. The inn is gorgeous fantastic rooms and amazing food and drink in the most brilliant of settings with a roaring open fire. Staff so friendly and helpful. And breakfast was delicious best we've had.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything significant

    Very comfortable and clean river view room (upgrade). Excellent food and drink including local real ales, very helpful and friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe some of the menu items were a bit pricey but the food and service was excellent.

    Great location, good facilities and friendly staff. Saturday night was live entertainment as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After i left they took another payment from my account (without my knowledge) for an amount they had agreed to deduct from my bill. I also left my jacket which they promised to return which they have never done. Very worrying a hotel would do this

    The area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The polish lady at the bar when we arrived at night was very friendly and helpful. Very nice start... But what a surprise with the guy in charge in the morning who was not feeling concerned at all : - Long story short (but it would deserved to be developed...) : Unable to tell us about the WiFi connection info. - Has opened the door in the dining room without asking us and it cas cold and close to our table. And the breakfast (long to served... for such a disaster) : we both orderer smoked salmon (which was supposed to be served "HOT") with scrambled eggs. Was served on a really big white plate with the breakfast consisting of a little circle in the middle (no larger than the circumference of a glass of water) made with COLD salmon (probably just unfrozen) on top of scrambled eggs. AWFUL. We don't like to give bad reviews and you won't find many from me/us but this one is fair During our 3 weeks travel, it was the poorer accommodation experience and by far (equal with another one but at least... it was very cheap). Special bad circonstances or not, this is what we have experienced unfortunately.

    - Nice location. - Slept well. - Great pub atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been cleaner . Rooms pricey considering their size.

    Bed very comfy, but room a little on small side. Staff very friendly . Wonderful location . We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi is terrible. If you need wifi, this isn't for you. There was none until the morning in the breakfast room.

    Location is perfect and the room was great - overlooked the falls and really presented well. Bed was comfortable and everything that you imagine a little inn would be like - old fashioned in a good way. Food was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a shambles! I was there in early afternoon - it was so dark a little window - no air it was stifling, the quilt might have been handy if you were in the Arctic no shower & there's no way I could sleep in that room! T

    Only thing I liked was the beer - very good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that we had booked was in need of refurbishment as there had been leaks through the ceiling and as a result holes in places,ceiling light cover missing and potential of electrics in the fitting being accessible and bathroom lights fitted with very dim led bulbs,difficult to see what you were doing.Room appeared to be clean but having dropped an item and having to retrieve it from under the bed was astounded at the build up of dust hair and the like,not good.As this was the last room available and we had booked online we made do.

    Beautiful location,friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few minor decor issues. Poor lighting in family twin en-suite.

    The staff were exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and the ambience in the bar made for a very pleasant stay. Very comfortable beds too!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door stuck, falling off hinges, shower was hot/weak or cold/powerful. Wifi was broken, v important in a mobile blackspot. Desserts were extortionate after well priced meal.

    Pets welcome & he enjoyed his sausage for breakfast. Location was idylic. Bedroom appeared luxurious. Staff were friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in urgent need of maintenance or investment. Door handles falling off and general evidence of decay.

    The service was excellent and the food good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    The breakfast is really good, freshly cooked and hot, served by a lovely smiling member of staff. We booked the self catering cottage, it was great, just like a little But and Ben!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cottage basin tended to obstruct shower access, and could be resolved by fitting a small hand basin.

    The Cullen skink soup was fantastic! Plus the proximity to the Falls of Dochart is unbeatable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath looks gorgeous but is a bit challenging in practice for showering

    Lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff. Couldn't get a better location as a base for trips into the highlands or just a wee nature walk.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome we got was poor, not even shown to our room. the door lock did not work. the room was too small for a four poster bed and was dark and not maintained cracks in walls mucky marks and knocks on walls. the food was terrible. Scrambled egg on toast??? noisy threw night.

    the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While booking the friendly staff was accommodating and helpful with arrangements for an additional person in the room as well for late check-in. Upon arrival we found a charming old style inn, with a vibrant pub, in a beautiful setting. The accommodation in the spacious, tastefully decorated family room was warm and inviting, with comfortable beds conducive to a good night's rest. Complimentary coffee and biscuits in the room, and ample hot water in the en suite bathroom, provided for a fresh clean start for the entire family the next morning. The full Scottish breakfast was one of the best I had in a long time, and the freshly brewed coffee was served with a friendly smile. Daylight afforded us the time to appreciate the location, immediately across the road from the raging rapids of a tree lined river. and a short distance from the old mill hidden among the trees on the river bank. We were initially looking for overnight accommodation close to Fort William, after enjoying the afternoon Jacobite Train journey. The accommodation at Falls of Dochart Inn made the 1 hour 30 min detour to Killin worth while. We will have to return for a weekend break soon to explore this little gem further.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Falls View Double Room With Shower
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very poor Wi-Fi connectivity and transmission of bass sounds from bar music into the room

    Convenient location to access a range of hill walks and low-level hikes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Falls View Double Room With Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could not fault the Falls of Dochart Inn for any reason. it's great!!

    The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day, bathroom had black slate tiling, with under floor heating,"fantastic", food is very good, all in a great place to stay. we will book up again!!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75