Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Famous Star Hotel Moffat 3 stars

44 Hight Street, Moffat, DG10 9EF, United Kingdom

#15 of 25 hotels in Moffat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 320 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get informed of WiFi password when I arrived, but wasn't on for long at that time of night.

    Staff went the extra mile due my (planned) late arrival. Nice historic hotel with the quirk of being narrow. Bedroom was spacious and well furnished, with modern light and bathroom fittings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Perfect stay, no issues. Nice room with good WiFi and a comfortable bed. Excellent staff in Kirsty and David. Plenty of parking opposite the hotel. Real ale available in the bar. Good breakfast selection, although one or two of the items were only just lukewarm. Excellent place would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a tad hard and sound proofing not 100% but nether of these were an issue.

    Very friendly place, obviously a local favourite to eat and drink. Room was very clean and comfortable. Value was excellent. Food was on the value side of pub grub but that suited our purposes of a rest stop after a long trip and long day biking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The King size bed was rather hard though I’m told the single beds were very comfortable. This is not a complaint, just a reality .......... this is a town with traffic starting early in the morning, the hotel is central and you will need the windows open during the summer months. If traffic noise bothers you pack your ear plugs.

    Very nicely renovated front room (#6) was spacious and comfortable for the 4 travellers in our group. All rooms have been renovated in the last year ..... bathroom spacious with good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Cosy hotel ( really is the narrowest detached hotel!! ) good modern bedroom with comfortable bed & pillows, good choice of evening meals, 40+ gins to try, helpful staff - shame I couldn't stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel.Reasonable price £45 B and B.Very attentive staff I had a meal in there resteraunt good choice on menu.Great portion.Breakfast was all you could ask for. My room was a double room nice big and roomy and bed was very comfortable.room was immatically clean. I had a wonderful stay and definitely will be back again. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe as with proberbly a lot of people was I found the mattress very hard. But that’s down to me liking a soft mattress

    The staff were fantastic, couldn’t do enough for you, The bedroom had been recently decorated and was very nice, the shower was to die for, fantastic to have that kind of powerful shower after a day riding a lambretta, and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slight downside unfortunately was the mattress was very hard and not much movement at all, so found it difficult to sleep. The room was very small, there was not much room to move around and get ready. As there was a dressing table in there with a chair, a sink plus a arm chair also.

    Location was fab made to feel really welcome. The breakfast was lovely and staff very attentive and friendly. Plenty of tea and coffee and fresh towels in room. Also plenty of lights,mirrors and plug sockets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to wait to check in in a queue at the bar

    The bed was super comfortable and the room was clean and modern. The breakfast was freshly made with a good selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside for us was noise from bar staying in room 2 but it stopped at 11 so nothing too drastic to stop us staying again

    The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and informative, choice of food and drinks were excellent, we will definitely return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. all was very good. Free parking across the road. Just acnnot find any fault with anything.

    This is an amazing hotel. The food is fantastic.......breakfast, lunch and dinner. A very lively bar. Lots of locals eating there. The staff are superb. Very helpful and friendly. We will stay there again. The room was very comfortable and very clean. New towels every day. Very quiet at night so a good nights sleep. Great place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, weather extremely cold, when we opened the bathroom door it was like the arctic because the fan and light were on the same switch. Had the weather not been so bitter this would not have been a problem. The young man who seemed to do everything was very pleasant and helpful.

    Food was great, plus a friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long climb up steep stairs - but staff kind carried luggage

    Huge room with bed each. Front view on to lovely street. Quiet. Immediate access to high street in lovely market town with interesting shops. Helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    All staff were friendly and welcoming. Check in and out was fast and easy. The included breakfast was lovely and with cereals, cooked breakfast and then offered waffles, we were fed for the day. The room was large and bright with fresh white bed linen and towels. The dog was welcomed too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We heard the toilet flush, the water running and even someone sneezing in the next room. Also there was one or two drafts in places in the hotel, it was quite cold when we had breakfast.

    Really comfy bed, got a good nights sleep. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our evening meal at the hotel and the food was lovely. There is free parking on the High Street which is great if you manage to find a space as it was very busy. The WiFi was ok, I managed to connect to it the first day but was unable to the following morning. My husband and my friend were unable to connect at all but as we were only there one night this wasn’t too much of a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms felt small and enclosed. Very small bathroom with shower and toilet only. Washbasin was in the main room so added to feeling of being too small as well as being a wee bit inconvenient for washing hands. Breakfast pretty average. Only has onstreet parking so relies on being able to park close by if you have heavy bags to move.

    Stayed for one night only travelling both up to and back from NE Scotland. Quaint setting. Comfy bed and nice tasty meal in the bar on the first occasion and ate elsewhere the 2nd time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The cleanliness is exceptional but retains the original atmosphere, we loved the food and the Steak Pie is the best in the land, staff are so friendly with always a smiling welcome, we return time and time again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was all good

    The young gentleman who greeted us and checked us out was excellent. He served us breakfast too and was really friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a twin room and one of the beds was not very comfortable, it could have been the bed most used, or that we are used to softer mattresses. The other bed was fine.

    Very well placed hotel, with the staff being very friendly and helpful. Clean and had good facilities. Service was very good and food excellent. Good local knowledge. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can say (and it's not strictly the hotel's fault) is that we could hear the gentleman in the next room snoring, loudly, all night for 2 nights. Perhaps the walls between rooms are a wee bit thin, or maybe we were just unlucky with our neighbour but it wouldn't put us off coming back.

    Brilliant location with free parking available. Lovely, friendly staff. Breakfast was great, the full Scottish sets you up for the day. The room was clean and comfortable, especially liked the tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was spotless as well. We were in the area for a wedding and it was the perfect base for us. We are thinking of coming back for a weekend to spend some more time in beautiful Moffat and will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water during our stay had to wash in cold water and was unable to shower and as we traveled up on motorbikes we needed a hot shower on arrival but told we were the end of the line and none left the same excuse was used the next morning

    Staff are very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £10 charge per dog rather expensive. Spent a second night in Stay Hotel with no dog charges.

    Central location. Lovely bar area for meals. Dog-friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This a great little hotel - only 20 foot wide but lots of character. Our room was a good size despite this. Shower was excellent. Staff could not have been more helpful when we arrived by bicycle rather wet in the rain. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water for a shower in the morning. I was told lots of people had had a shower that morning so we would need to wait for the water tank to refill - this took over 30 minutes and even then it was lukewarm and only enough for my son. My shower was completely cold.

    Very friendly staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Enjoyed our stay at the weekend, Staff very friendly , Rooms very clean . Food was lovely very reasonable prices. We will be back . Thanks for having us

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe serve breakfast until 10.30 on a Sunday, service finished at 9 a.m.

    Great wee hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable and clean. The food in the lounge was good too, venison pie was fab, very good sized portions too. Missed breakfast because we stayed up later than anticipated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous in every way. Ally and her staff are all lovely, nothing is too much bother. Food is very good and reasonably priced. We will be visiting again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small probably to be expected in the narrowest hotel in Scotland however the dark decor made it feel even smaller.

    Good location. Very nice staff. Good breakfast. The complimentary water and biscuits are a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with breakfast..wasnt up to evening meal standard which was a shame..realise rooms are small but maybe a brighter decor or better lighting..otherwise enjoyed our stay..

    Staff very friendly and helpful and evening meals really good..considering how compact shower was it had plenty power and hot water..bed really comfy..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a lot of noise at closing time from departing customers but hey, this is a pub so is to be expected!

    Staff were very helpful, allowing us to park our (pedal) bikes in the reception area. Food good and portions OK for long-distance cyclists. Good traditional hotel/B&B Liked Moffat, would be a good base for further cycling or walking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a mistake with our booking, for some reason the hotel only had us booked as 1 adult and a pet. My booking form did not say this. They had only given me a single room, though it had 2 beds but it was two cramped for my husband, dog and self. They were fully booked and couldn't give us another room. We, therefore, only stayed 1 night instead of 2.

    The unusual shape and quirkiness of the Famous Star Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room cramped, and only one stool,so one of us had to sit on the bed.

    Lovely staff,very helpful.As I didn't want to tackle the stairs to the dining room-up to the bedroom was enough!-we were served dinner and breakfast in the bar. Good basic food,huge portions.Local beer and short ,well-priced wine list.Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked less steps, but when one books "the narrowest hotel ....................." one should be prepared!

    Just fine for a stopover, and the evening meal was lovely, good value too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very small and the ensuite was minuscule . The wash basin was in the bedroom making it quite unhygienic.

    The curry we had for our evening was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was lacking in room four but is probably repaired now.

    Pleasant and efficient staff. Simple food seemed to be best choice in restaurant and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower, some of the technology such as phone etc, wouldnt cost much to replace and would add massive appeal to room.

    The hotel was pleasant to stay in for just under a week, i was not in the hotel much, apart from the evenings. The staff are friendly. Some of the facilities in the room where old and out of date, such as the phone, kettle, and the shower was cold or weak all day, any time. Just old plumbing i guess. Apart from that it was an excellent hotel, with a very high standard of room cleaning every morning, a real credit to whoever does this. They are just working around old stuff, is the only problem. A little quaint and old fashioned but feels like going to visit granny. looked the best outside of all the hotels around. There was ample free parking outside, shops nearby. Bed was very clean and very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was ideal for visiting Moffat. It didn't feel as though we were staying in the narrowest hotel as it felt very spacious. The staff were very polite and helpful and the choices of whiskey made our evening at the bar a delight

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was basic and low quality. No secure parking for motorbikes, left on the street.

    Quaint hotel, narrow indeed! Bit dated and in need of a freshen up. The room was small but not uncomfortable, wash hand basin in it with separate shower and toilet. Bed was comfy, the TV was fun :-). We ate diner and it was not a meal to remember, basic and wholesome, don't expect finesse! Prices for the room and food were on a par with Edinburgh, don't expect a bargain. Breakfast was the norm with full English on offer however, the quality of meat was not the best I've ever had. Clear the hotel was watching the pennies. Overall it was ok, would I go back, no there is better accommodation in the town for the money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cute hotel with comfortable rooms and nice service. Lots of delicious choices of cooked breakfast. Nice, friendly lounge to hang out in and have drink or some food. Great location, and an interesting history to the building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast included. The restaurant had a good choice and the food we had was very good. Others also looked to be being well served. Speciality whisky was a Loch Lomond and the measure was very good as was the price. This is a new whisky to me and was good. We were on m2 motor cycles and we met and chatted to a number of other guests and staff and all were nice. We had a problem with check in which was sorted by the family owners very quickly and amicably. the problem was possibly mine, certainly NOT the hotels. Yes, I would recommend this hotel, its quaint, its quirky, its lovely. I will go again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay, attended a wedding & the hotel let us have an early check which was great! Clean adequate room, breakfast yummy perfect location to the castle! Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heater not working,glad it wasn't a frosty nite,wee bit chilly 1st thing,unable to locate fone socket to connect hotel fone,very small telly did give u eye strain.

    good warm shower,staff lovely n friendly,nice dinner,great breakfast,except no tattie scones,maybe nxt time.very dog friendly as stated which is a bonus as not all places are even tho they advertise so.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    central ,novel hotel.. very thin . small room although offered free upgradein a double as soon as we arrived .ate across the road for no particular reason .bfast good . staff friendly . found out how to pronounce Buccleuch .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have some issues with steak ordered re it being tough. But they were excellent in trying to resolve the issue

    Excellent value for money, great friendly service, hotel is dated but very homely & clean. Great Breakfast and the hitel is situated in a lovely village

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed in our family room could do with a mattress upgrade as it had a ridge in the middle and I found myself rolling on the very edge of the bed and nearly fell out!

    Location is super for a one night stop over or for an extended stay to explore the area. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. Doggy friendly! The family room was spacious and perfect for a family of 4. Wifi very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs, and so not suitable for some people. Draughts in bedroom and bathroom around the windows cooled the room down, and only a wall bar heater in the bathroom. Reception was a bit slow on arrival, as reception is in the bar area, and if the bar is busy, service can be slow. No face flannels provided.

    Generally good clean accommodation with helpful staff. Bedroom was plain and simple with all the items you would expect, apart from drinking glasses (plastic ones were available). Restaurant offered mainly straightforward pub style food, and the quality and service were fine, and reasonably priced. Good selection of beers, malts and gins, but mediocre selection of wines. Breakfast was very adequate and of a good quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Wonderful hotel.

    Beautiful, clean, spacious, wonderful staff, couldnt do more for you. Very accommodating to dogs, when we brought our dog down to breakfast they set us up a table downstairs so the dog could stay with us. Central to the town too!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good. Was a stopover breaking up a long drive. Good comfy bed. Top floor room so had to negotiate lots of stairs with a heavy bag. Would be happy to return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was cold as into - C weather. Short stopover as always in late and leave early so not much time to not like anything.

    Always friendly folks and make you feel like you are living in their home. Superb breakfast and value for money. Suits my stopover after a long week in Aberdeen :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were on the small side, but in keeping with the historic nature of the hotel.

    A family-run hotel right in the middle of town and handy for all the local facilities. Parking right by front of hotel. Staff were very obliging and food was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very small suggestion and not really a fault but a couple of sachets of de-caff coffee in our room would have been nice but not a criticism.

    Very comfy bed and very clean facilities. The meals are well cooked and tasty. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like,!!!

    Very comfortable ,bed great power shower ,good food, friendly attentive staff, delicious cooked breakfast ,great drink selection behind bar ,looking forward to next visit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They write you have sky sports channels in the room while you don't (thankfully you still can watch even two games at the same time in hotel's pub), the TV is too true to hotel's theme: it's world's smallest.

    Surprisingly spacious room, tea/coffee maker, free bottle of water and some cookies, individual heating, superb full scottish breakfast (selectable and with dietary requests honoured), great location in beautiful town with easy access to southern Scotland's attractions, very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been better, the sink was in the bedroom.

    The room was big, the beds very comfortable and having control of the temperature in the room was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit tired, our "en suite" was a toilet and a tiny shower whose door you banged into when trying to get in the door. The sink was in the room. The duvets were in lumps all over the bed, almost as if someone was already in the bed. The dinner menu was a bit uninspiring so we ate elsewhere.

    The staff were lovely, friendly, attentive and helpful. The breakfast was freshly cooked but we were last down. Other breakfasts looked good though as they were served. It is a quirky little hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would criticise is that the TVs in the room is very small.

    The staff are very friendly efficient and helpful. The hotel itself is right in the middle of the high st and is very popular with locals for good bar meals. Rooms are spacious and well appointed which is a surprise because the building is very narrow itself. Very unusual.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The BEDS........too hard, I know they have to withstand a lot of traffic but felt there was a solid mound in the middle and you rolled towards the edge of the bed constantly

    That staff remembered us from previous visit. Nothing was too much trouble, lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are functional but clean. The beds are not very comfortable. This is definitely not the place for anyone physically disabled.

    Very Quirky but nice. The staff very helpful and the food very good. A very substantial breakfast with lots of choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great hotel ideally located within the main street. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning for another overnight stay within the very near future !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Well run privately owned hotel located on the main street of Moffat. A popular dining room which serves really good food. Quirky layout due to the 20 foot width of the building.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being slightly less than mobile I asked for a room on the lowest floor.On checking in found that there are no rooms on the ground floor and there are numerous stairs up to the dining/breakfast room

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could have been better, but that's true of most places in Britain

    Wonderful service; excellent food; friendly, personable staff; great atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room carpet could have been a bit cleaner, bathroom is tiny (but pub is the narrowest in the UK after all!)

    Good location, rooms above interesting pub/restaurant, excellent value for money also in pub

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was excellent and the day of our stay was very enjoyable as the annual gala was in full swing. The room was immaculate The staff very friendly Food Exquisite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are very tired (décor), when our room had the maids in, they only made the bed & gave the bathroom a wee tidy up. No dusting etc. no replacement of toiletries nor bottled water.

    The location & the food was better than ok but nothing to write home about.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were really comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Would not hesitate to book again and let friends and family know what they were like

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, good food and clean comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and satff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower... apparently on a shared circuit, first come first served.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water for the shower ran out quickly.

    Excellent property very clean with friendly staff would definitely stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaint

    First class no complaints

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed parking for motorbikes but outside parking proved to be ok.

    Refurbished rooms were very nice. Best shower ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a small drinks fridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: