Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Botany Bay Hotel 3 stars

Marine Drive, Kingsgate, Broadstairs, Broadstairs, CT10 3LG, United Kingdom

#11 of 21 hotels in Broadstairs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1419 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    A very comfortable pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked somewhere to sit outside in the sun comfortable not at a pub table .

    The room was very clean and contemporary which we like and the beds were very comfortable..The pub had a good buzz to it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    The location was nice , and the staff where polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over priced for what it was, and the sea view was blocked by the conservatory roof !

    The location was nice , and the staff where polite and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    We didn’t stay in the end because we were told that there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t stay in the end because we were told that there was no tv in the lounge area which there was the purpose of the visit was to have s night away and watch the semi final. We were told that they wasn’t showing it because of the old people. Which was a bit unfair because the hotel wasn’t catering for every one it’s every day that England are in the World Cup most disappointed and we wasted £104.00 also the decking area in the photo wasn’t there a complete waste of money and time . We were really looking forward to it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went on a Sunday and the bar was extremely busy with non residents as well as residents. One of the staff was rude when my partner said can you serve me and she said go to the back of the queue, you have to queue for everything here. Shouldn’t there be a separate queue for residents when they are paying to stay there? Not enough staff for the volume of people waiting.

    It was very clean and tidy. The pillows were very hard and people in next room had tv on til 3.30am. Not the fault of the hotel I know but we didn’t sleep until then.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got there at 2.15 could not get a parking space until 5.30 which is not acceptable when you are disabled we got there early so I could have a rest and take my medication it completely ruined our weekend and to add insult to injury the staff was so over stretched we waited a really long time for our meal I even had to ask to have the glasses cleared on the table I would not mind but we pre ordered our meals

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable small hotel with sea views with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few stairs to manage, no lift, but elderly guests should be able to navigate these.

    Booked for my elderly mother who stayed solo. The staff looked after her brilliantly, she could not fault the hotel in any way. Enjoyed the breakfast choice and the fact that hot food was cooked to order. Comfortable quiet room on the side of the hotel, but rooms on the front have beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small and the air con unit didn’t work. However they did provide a fan for the hot weather.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    I absolutely adored the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff serving breakfast were badly organised and miserable as sin.

    I absolutely adored the hotel. The rooms with a view were brilliant and the majority of the staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Food view and hotel all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to complain about

    The overall experience was wonderful, fantastic setting, meters from the sea, the hotel room was very comfortable and clean and a fantastic sea view. The staff were all excellent and could not do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful sea views from the room, dressing gowns, wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the pub/restaurant doesn’t have enough fresh, healthy items on menu

    Beautiful sea views from the room, dressing gowns, wide breakfast variety, very relaxing and easygoing place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    A pleasant stay but not value for money. Not recommended as a honeymoon venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place needs refurbishing urgently, especially the bathrooms. The honeymoon suite is not worth the money. Staff try their best with what is there to make it a lovely stay.

    The location with a sea view room is very nice. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere, beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think outside terrace needs roof or umbrellas so birds won’t fly over people’s heads nicking food.

    I liked welcoming from reception staff, especially lady from lithuania which helped me with smile if had any questions. Food was lovely and customer service was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect weekend for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a more powerful shower than we had, but that is probably personal choice.

    Staff are very friendly, good range of drinks and wide choice for breakfast. Rooms are clean and good range of toiletries available. Hotel is very near beach and amazing Turner style skies in the evening whilst also being close to Broadstairs and also Margate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice location and decent food marred by noise and slow service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathrooms, the need to turn on corridor lights to reach your room and breakfast not starting till 8am on weekends. Also was noisy due to wedding.

    Dinner was excellent if you don’t mind waiting over an hour for the food. Albeit this was probably due to lack of staff due to a wedding going on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is in our home town, recently taken over by a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in our home town, recently taken over by a new company and refurbished. Rooms lovely although gate in car park slams all night. The problem is the restaurant. Filthy, dirty sticky tables,, dirty cutlery, dirty trays, glasses, everything had sticky dirty feel and the food rubbish !!! We had toyed at 4 hotel in 10 days travelling the UK and this had worst breakfast, silly little packets of cornflakes from the 80s, very bad for environment, fruit on display mouldy, cooked break fast yuk! No pastries, no yogurt, no granola, no coffee except instant etc etc just rubbish! We also ordered food the night we arrived as were late and it was not worth eating! Such shame as the location and room are excellent but bar, and F&B really let it down.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Very very friendly staff and superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and extremely small bathroom.... only with shower (very tight and small shower cubicle), the bathroom is so small that you cannot dry yourself in there so have to dry in bedroom however the windows have no blinds so you have to close the curtains in order to get changed. Expensive for the size of room and very small bathroo. I didn’t get the wake up call I requested so I overslept.

    Very very friendly staff and superb location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived at check in to departure everything was superb. The staff were all so friendly. The location is 2nd to none. Absoloutly fabulous! We had a see view room which exceeded our expectations. The bed was sooo comfy and huge. The view was fantastic. The bathroom was beautiful. Everything so clean. We had an evening meal at the hotel which was perfect. The breakfast was beutiful too. My partner and i was not only impressed but we enjoyed every part of our stay here and will definatley be returning soon. Thank you botany bay for giving us a memorable stay and finding this gem of a place. See you soon, chris & dan x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    A GEM.... don't miss this one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely perfect. Beds incredibly comfortable, and excellent breakfast. Unfortunately our installers didn't arrive till around 10 pm so didn't have much time to fully appreciate the site, but they are 'coming back with their wives' !! Spot on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location Food poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast,would have liked sausages and bacon to be locally sourced but they were were from Brake Brothers and not very nice. Also my avocado was overripe and black in places

    Location.easy parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    I would return to this place again with my family! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (3 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our window looked on the backyard... where some flowers or greens could be nice for eyes.

    Very delicious breakfast with a fantastic view to the sea. At the reception, we had a very warm welcome. The location of the hotel is just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Location of property is excellent with sea views with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you need a goodnight sleep I would avoid this place due to risk of having live band disturbing your sleep. I was on business & went to bed at 10pm just to be woken up by the base & drum kit rocking my room for over 1 hr ended just after 11pm midweek.I did complain & was told they will sort it out. Just for the music to get louder

    Location of property is excellent with sea views with Viking walk trail just outside. Staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Nice quality room. Helpful staff. Beautiful location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked family room for 3 adults. This was fine for the purpose of staying for my son’s graduation at RAF Manston. Room advertised as double bed (was king) and 2 singles. Perfect for me, my Mum and brother. When we arrived the single beds were bunk beds which were slightly short for my brother (5ft 9). Mirror at dressing table at a stupid height! When you sit on the stool you can’t see in the mirror! You have to stand ! Totally misses the purpose. Road outside the property to the right of the car park (if you’re facing hotel) full of major pot holes! Grid raised well above road level! High chance of damaging your car!! Go into hotel from the opposite side it’s perfectly fine that way. Fantastic beach, brilliant views.

    Food standard and choices for breakfast and restaurant were very good. One vegetarian well catered for. Handle on shower was broken, we were in a hurry to go out and had yet to mention it. Brand new one was replaced by the time we got in!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive worse nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately room 402 is on a slant so naturally is the bed. I did not sleep as 2 fire alarms went off at 3am and 5am. No one knew what to do. My fan was broken and no replacement because there was a wedding on and the hotel was full. They have given us a £50 food and drink voucher but I spent over £250!

    The food was very nice in the restaurant the staff were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    ALARMING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up twice by the night porter and then the fire alarm. Breakfast was lukewarm

    Great room... Clean and well stocked with tea coffee water and bath gels etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    5th visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is getting poor breakfast is still good but evening as it's now our 5th stay I find that the evening food is slipping compared to first couple visits shame really as we love it there

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Stayed in a superior, family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. Based on our recent experience, will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in a superior, family room. Large, very well-equipped room with comfy beds. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay in a very friendly, clean hotel with lovely views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm. Some comfier seating in the bar area would be nice!

    The room was lovely, loads of room and very clean! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel right on the clifftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no blackout curtains which were badly needed to block light from the restaurant conservatory immediately in front of and below our room.

    Spacious room with a great view, one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in. Well pointed bathroom with excellent water pressure. Bathrobes and well provisioned tea and coffee tray.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    " WE WILL RETURN "
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only dislike was that maybe there could be an area that did not allow dogs, as some owners are not as respectful as they ought to be allowing them to wander around in the bar & restaurant. This was picked up by the Manageress who was extremely good with all aspects of the hotel guests.

    We thought as a family this catered for all our needs & wants. The food menu & how it was cooked & presented was lovely. Staff were very helpful, kind & friendly as well as a professional approach at all times. This is a really lovely venue, modern tasteful & very clean. Only a five minute walk to a lovely sandy beach but...... dogs are allowed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic spot for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at reception desk was sometimes slow but this didn’t spoil our stay.

    Decor was lovely. Bed was very comfortable. Was easy to book a table when we wanted one. Room was spotless. Lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice hotel, in superb location, just needs a bit more of a personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a corporate feel about it, being owned by Shepherd Neame we felt we were treated more like customers than hotel residents. For the price this was a bit disappointing. There's not much competition nearby. Otherwise it's a lovely place.

    Great location for beaches and clifftop walks. Some staff were superb particularly in the restaurant and conservatory. Great outdoor areas with lovely views. Plenty of free parking. Very nice and good sized bedrooms, proper TV, good ensuites, comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy with doors slamming under room 401

    The staff were so warm & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble it was excellent value for money & the breakfast was above average, we came to go to a funeral & the function was actually in the Hotel very hospitable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Weather stopped play
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was cold wind and mist. Dinner in the pub. The staff kindly changed my table on requext so that I could avail of the magnificant views. Unfortunately they then promptly forgot me and my order. I reminded them and it came out having obviously been sitting on the pass for some time.

    The scenary The reception staff were genuinely kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very tolerant of our mad puppy Albi, great staff, fab...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early cleaning, we were room 101 next to the function room.

    Very tolerant of our mad puppy Albi, great staff, fab clientele, beautiful location, lovely food and a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice cozy room, sea view; friendly staff;buffet breakfast with fresh fruits,main breakfast from menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent only a night at the Botany Bay Hotel and had a really enjoyable time. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and able to check in immediately. Great room with Sea view out over the bay and the beach. From the hotel, you can walk along cliff tops or sandy beach, or just sit and stare out to sea. Plenty of parking. Worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was very nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being kept awKe by selfish people above us who had their tv on really loud until 2am. At 6.30 they turned it on again really loud and consequently we had a very poor nights sleep.

    The room was very nicely decorated. Breakfast was good too.,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    The position of the hotel was excellent but staff, although generally obliging,were underperforming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff appeared to be untrained or maybe they were understaffed as they had to be repeatedly reminded of requests.

    The position of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable but we had alot of noise from surrounding rooms. First night got noise from 5.30 in morning!

    The food was delicious and the hotel had lovely views of the coastline.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    In a lovely area with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an uneven floor meaning that the bed was very uneven. The shower was very small. No where to plug in a hairdryer at dressing table. Only one bedside lamp. Poor lighting over dressing table making it impossible to do make up

    In a lovely area with great views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed 5 times now & we really like the hotel . Just dida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise above and around in room 202

    Rooms were good . But there was a lot of noise on the 2nd floor !!we normally have a sea view room which is much quieter . We weren’t able to get one ! Would only stay in sea view in the future . But will definitely coming back .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The location of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound proofing of the walls was not adequate, could hear the TV and talking from the room next to us. The wait for dinner was longer than we would have liked probably 45 to 50 mins before the starter was served.

    The location of the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the odd issues We really enjoyed our stay and we would come again and would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conservatory lights were on til very late and as it was below our room even with the curtains shut it filled the room with too much light for me and disturbed my sleep It was also quite noisy in the car park Guests not considering other guests who are sleeping as it was quite late and it woke my baby Also Tv signal rubbish We could hardly see which this was difficult when you have a toddler who only really had this as entertainment while in the room as only could pack a few toys

    The room was very spacious bright nicely decorated and comfortable The food in the restaraunt was fantastic I would travel just to eat the delicious meals (though service was abit slow between courses)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was superb. We had gorgeous weather as well we were very lucky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little hard for my liking. But nothing to moan about. Next time I’ll just bring my own.

    We liked the hotel, the staff, the food, the beach. Just a lovely gem on the coast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel. Friendly staff and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the noise as above.

    Always beautifully clean. Wonderful breakfasts. Only disappointment this time was that we were kept awake by snoring from another room and the occupants above 204 were like a herd of elephants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    - The hotel is in nice and quiet location, the views are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The hotel is in nice and quiet location, the views are amazing, totally loved it :) - Staff welcoming and very helpful. - Breakfast was very good, a lot of variety. - Nice and comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff was lovely as was the food and location let down by the slanted room that cost £160 a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room 402 was on a slant which made the bed run down hill shower was only lukewarm and not very big no good if your tall no plug near dressing table and mirror for hairdryer

    Breakfast was fab great choices and very fresh

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice hotel but a bit of a ‘chain’ feel to it which is a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had run out of all fish dishes on the menu. Also it was rather understaffed in the evening. If I came back here (which I definitely would), I wouldn’t eat in the restaurant and would make the effort to go to Broadstairs or Margate.

    Very nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    My wife suddenly became very ill after eating in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife suddenly became very ill after eating in the hotel. She was up from 3am with continual vomiting and diarrhea. We had to phone 111 emergency who advised us on treatment. Travelling home was very stressful and my wife has been off work since so also had loss of income. She showed symptoms of food poisoning and we believe it to be caused from the meal. The service at the meal was very slow also. The receptionist the following morning was very sympathetic which was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an issue with the seagulls doing monkey and cat impressions at 5am. The staff really need to have a stern word with the offenders to gently explain that a certain 'squark' is required and to not imitate other mammals. Us humans know we not in the jungle and so you may need to cut some of your seagull staff until they have been on a SWPSC (Seagull awareness proper squawking course).

    Would have helped to have a jug of ice water at breakfast. There was orange and apple juice and the breakfast setup was really great :-) but a jug of ice water would have been convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    lovely stay. thank you!! We will definately be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked an air conditioner - as it got pretty hot. A fridge in a room would be very well received as well :)

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Super comfortable beds; lovely clean and spacious room. We also loved the tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was most delicious. Lovely drinks selection at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, will definitely be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much seating when having a drink at the bar of an evening however there was plenty of seating just outside.

    The customer service was lovely on arrival. The staff seemed very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    All in all we had. A lovely stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t open the windows as bars in the way of them

    The food was great nice veiws but not much around if you like it nice and quite then you will love it here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was beyond friendly.. the food was amazing .. the rooms were clean and the sea view was amazing. the beaches were beautiful.. we had a fabulous time.. we WILL be back! Thank you so much for your kind hospitality!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great place I highly recommend it.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be a little more environmentally friendly. No separate bin for recycling for example.

    The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, bright had everything one could need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big car park but the surrounding roads are a nightmare with massive potholes! And part of the approach road is an unmade up road which caught us unawares and could do your car serious damage in the dark. Very surprised the hotel haven’t had it surfaced properly. The area in general is quite run down we struggled to find enough things to do (admittedly it didn’t help that the weather was bad). The walls in the room were quite thin too and we had a noisy family with a very loud young child next to us on our last night.

    We were very pleased with our room and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was OK - it pays to tell the waitress at Breakfast exactly how you want things cooked as we had undercooked eggs on our first morning but fine after that as we asked for them well cooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    It’s a lovely hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the poor breakfast on day two but it would stop me returning

    Breakfast first day excellent second day not great wrong type of sausages served they looked disgusting and it was cold turned our Grandchildren off eating made a complaint and it was dealt with staff could not be more apologetic and refunded us £10 the staff at this hotel are all friendly and polite and any problems were dealt with quickly I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. The rooms are well decorated we had a family room 507 no view, but as you only sleep in it, it didn’t matter. Plenty of toiletries in the bathroom, spotlessly clean. If the weather was better we would have gone on the beautiful beach just down the hill.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Expensive for what you get but offset by good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food has gone downhill over years. Seemed prepared then reheated which made for poor quality, eg hard sausages and bacon. Ale pie at dinner also quite solid pastry.

    Location near the golf course is only reason to stay here. Restaurant staff competent and friendly although let down by the poor food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    We would thoroughly recommend this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all honestly we could not say there was anything we disliked. We have stayed before and thought it was even better this visit . As it was midweek and poor weather it was not too busy . When we stayed last time it was not pleasant watching the staff struggle with serving everyone under pressure . This had vastly improved this time. Perhaps a continental breakfast option would be popular. The dog friendly room at the back could be better used for breakfast with cereals , juices etc . Our seating area was a bit congested with so many ( well behaved ) dogs . It was awkward getting through the door of the restaurant carrying items to our table.

    We had an easy access room on the ground floor ,at the back of the property . This was ideal for us as they accommodated our request to bring our dog at short notice . The beds were very comfortable and the decor of the room was fresh and modern . In fact , the room was spotlessly clean and we liked the fact that there were some bottled water with the tea/coffee facilities . Having a phone charger in the room was a bonus as I had forgot mine . The cooked breakfast was delicious with toast and coffee brought to our table before we ordered .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff were exceptional, warm, friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were exceptional, warm, friendly and efficient. Location is absolutely stunning, with a fantastic sandy beach right in front of the hotel. Great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited when the restraunt is busy. Admittedly we arrived on a Sunday. Had to park away from the property and moved later in the evening into car park.

    Clean room and lovely view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable room/bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Lovely comfortable room/bed. Sea view, nice walks. Very friendly staff and good food. If we were to visit this area again we would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Well worth staying here as it's quiet and out of the way with nice walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was breakfast which had no fresh fruits other than a whole apple, orange or banana.

    We paid extra for a seaview which was well worth it. Nice and quiet too. Dinner was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    A very restful break with everything at hand and some lovely walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position on beach good. Staff very good especially Laura on Reception who was very helpful and informative. One morning waitress was a little abrupt but all others very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Lovely family get away a great hotel with fab facilities and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (3 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside security light coming in from the bedroom window. The noise of other guests.

    The location of the hotel, the varied breakfast, comfortable bed and lovely linen. Size of family room bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice ambience and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room but the view spoilt it. A tall brown fence 1 metre from the window blocked any sky. They've tried to improve it with hanging baskets but they were empty. Should warn about this in the listing as I'd have reconsidered. Noise from functions carried into our room.

    Good selection at the bar, good location, good breakfast. Very friendly staff and well equipped room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    The best. Don’t tell every body
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard family room (4 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing . Loved it.special

    Bedroom and the food and staff made are days great. Even the cleaners were had great manners. Overall service with a smile. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Modern hotel, friendly staff in great location for wandering along the beaches and coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to rush off as our youngest was poorly and wanted to get home so missed breakfast!!

    Stayed in the Family room for 4. Excellent size with lounge area, huge comfy double bed and plenty of storage. It was at the top of the hotel however the wifi was surprisingly good too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to look at the sound proofing as we were disturbed by the people in the room above .

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very professional and friendly .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a small double room very narrow space and no bath just shower but I think that's due to size of room. Large pot holes if approach from left side road. Breakfast is small

    Great location and service. Nice views and food in restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit slow but we were not there for that anyway :)

    Went for a girls weekend and enjoyed the stay greatly. Lovely location with amazing view, very friendly staff. Very good food, we ordered three course meals in room, very easy process and delicious courses. Good breakfast. Very comfy stay altogether. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    We had a little error with our dinners, one of our party of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little error with our dinners, one of our party of six didn’t get her meal at the same time as the rest of us, which did mean our meals were getting cold while waiting for her meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be better, the bacon at breakfast was inedible -rock hard, I expect it had been sat on hot plate or similar for a few hours.

    Beautiful views from the room . Nice spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    If you have pet friendly rooms we will definitely come and stay overnight- otherwise for lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time we have been and the wait at the bar is too long- saw queues last May bank holiday and again this weekend as the weeking party was large as well as the weather probably increasing patronage-

    Amazing room and view, love your location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend a stay here when visiting this area
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms were a little hot, ours was but we were able to switch off the radiator others had problems

    The whole stay was excellent, room comfortable, staff great, breakfast offered a good selection of choices, we were there for a wedding the overall care and attention for the wedding was excellent, the setting was amazing. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt quite disjointed as I had to walk through the function room to get to it. Very thin walls. Would have been nice if they'd joined the twin beds. Sadly they'd run out of yoghurt for breakfast as this is what I like have. Friendly staff.

    Lovely vegan dinner, dogs welcome, brilliant location over the best bay in the area

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Botany Bay Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: