Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fernside 4 stars

Station Avenue, Sandown, PO36 9BW, United Kingdom

#8 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Sandown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 42 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Best place ever home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having to come home and leave Winston behind lol

    everything Stuart and Angela went thhe extra mile as always so myself and my disabled partner could have a ground floor room,nothing is too much trouble for the lovely owners of the fernside see you soon x

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have started a bit earlier, perhaps (hours were 8.30-9.00), but that's a personal preference because I'm an early riser.

    Run by a friendly couple, and located in a quiet part of the town about 5-10 minutes walk from the High Street and beach. I had one of the smaller rooms, but it was well laid out, with a comfortable bed. Good selection of items amongst the "tea/coffee" stuff, including bottled water - which they replenished daily (only a small thing, I know, but it's the little things like this that make all the difference...).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners were so friendly, especially Winston their dog. They welcomed us and Daisy our miniature schnauzer. The food was excellent, We like the nice touch of biscuits and fresh bottled water everyday in our room. The location for town and beach was about 5-10 min walk. There was premier store 2min walk away. Plus The Fernside was a 5min walk from Sandown train station. Recommend to anyone who likes to take their dog on holiday with them as this is a dog friendly B&B. Lovely friendly place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    one of sandowns best b and b. s
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was only the walk from the town upto the room that was a problem for me cant fault anything about the fernside itself

    the staff the owners the closeness to the train station and local corner shop and the chocolate lab Winston that i nicked name chocolate puddle

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    exceeds present 9.1 rating shown on booking .com with ease,best guest house i have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there`s nothing that I dislike. implement a stainless steel jug for water as to fill kettle in rooms, implement / or have at hand electric rail radiators as to offset changes in weather, aid drying, but be efficient on energy use , hence be financially efficient, and still obtain a interior living temperature that's not stifling hot, or chilling cool.

    owners are perfectionists-hence foresee what they expect from a guest house and provide it to their guests. additional security of ones vehicle. very comfortable, well balanced fresh breakfast,good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant, convenient and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a minor issue with the room but the manager sorted it out straight away. No pool (well it is a b&b)

    Convenient for the station, good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Excellant B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent the room clean & large as was the en-suite & the cheapest bar in Sandown only 250 yds from the Station & half a mile to the seafront we would deffinately go back there again if we are on the Island & because we were leaving early they cooked a breakfast for us Thank you Stewart & Angela

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    island trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 4 rooms, over all they are every nice. only one room is relatively cold in the first night. Nothing to complain.

    Staff/ owner is very friendly and helpful. We have a good trip on the island, but unfortunately we meet one day with big rain. There is a public living room/ bar, where you can take a rest, watching TV, and paly electronic piano. Very good English full breakfast, with coffee and fruit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed. Unfortunately my grandbaby (7) and myself both found it uncomfortable. Also the double room allocated to us was very small in size.

    Facilities provided as expected for a 4*. Breakfast choice and individually catered. Staff friendliness. Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in the ground floor single bedroom. Stuart and Angela only moved in early this year so, although they have prioritised the work, havent been able to fix yet.

    Full English breakfast cooked to perfection. Fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt available with a pot of tea or coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The faucet/sink is outside the bathroom/toilet. Mainly the rugs and some parts of the room is dusty.

    Friendly welcome. Easy checkin and checkout. Everything was prepared upon arrival. Felt like home. Not far from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Good customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Denise and Laurie are kind and welcoming. They take care of guests and look after them like if they were their own children. The building is clean and well maintaned. My room was quiet, even if it was on the ground floor by the main entrance, clean and offered a lot of services like kettle, tea/coffee, even biscuits and a bottle of water! 2 pillows , extra blankets and Denise even offered to put on the heating on a cold rainy day. The breakfast is fresh and offers different options, like cereals, toasts and wonderful pancakes if you don't have the typical English breakfast like me. A special thank also to Wendy that welcomed me so warmly on my arrival and kept my room well serviced during my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent, friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean, excellent value for money and great as a solo traveller to feel comfortable and welcome in the dining room chatting with other guests

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent People/Location/Service/Price - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror is the only criticism...

    5 min walk from station, has a shop around the corner, 10 minutes walk from beachfront/buses & many churches around. All rooms are en-suite with freeview tv/radio/alarm+shower gel+towels+kettle+tea/coffee/hot chocolate+cookies+free hot breakfast (Full English/American pancakes/cereals & yogurt/mix&match) provided. The info guide in the room was detailed & included info on the property & trivia about IOW. Free Extras provided included a bottled water daily+dressing table+mirrorstool+bath floor mat+extra pillows/blanket+earbuds/shower cap+reading light+hair dryer+own keys to come & go as you please. They also had a free music/lounge with information board/tours, few books, games, tv, a Casio keyboard. Iron, change of towels available on request. There was a bar / snacks facility in the evenings (paid). Denise, Lawrie & Mandy were always warm, welcoming & always jovial - they never made a fuss when a few people came late for breakfast & gave each resident a free chocolate egg on Easter Sunday which was a nice touch. I had an afternoon train/ferry back to the mainland on the last day & they allowed me to keep my bags after check out so I could spend the day at the beach & collect in time for my train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Excellent value and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quicker hot water delivery. This is highlighted in the room's information handbook

    The location is excellent for public transport. It was very good value and the breakfast was superb. Very welcoming and attentive service. Will definitely use it again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel was needing a facelift and the en-suite very small. We were very disappointed with the irregular supply of hot water having to wait a considerable time before the heated water reached our en-suite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Was all that I wished for my short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having to leave

    The overall experience was above my expectation which helped me to really enjoy my break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Location, breakfast and people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small, too dated and decor. Musty smelling

    Location, breakfast and people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Location even put an fridge in the room without asking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was on the small side

    Great Location even put an fridge in the room without asking which was great. Nothing was too much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    A very pleasant relaxing stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very fresh and good ingredients. My dog was made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very clean room, good location to the train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean room, good location to the train station and the beach, wonderful breakfast and kind and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Really well situated near the station and the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really well situated near the station and the seafront. Lovely hosts and super breakfast. Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm environment. Great place will surely visit again

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.Close for trains and sea.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Well cooked full breakfast. Plenty of choice.Clean room.New bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Welcoming staff in dated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property very dated and fading carpets. Early breakfast 830 to 9am..we like a lie in and missed breakfast.

    Welcoming staff and eager to assist.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Quite pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor is outdated

    Very helpful owner, accomodated guests needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice tasty breakfast varied menu

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Unfortunately the weather wasn't too good, and as it was the end of season everything closed at 4pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The guest house was good, but the town of Sandown is quite run down

    The proprietor lent me a book about the house during the Victorian period.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorations 1970

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    If you're going to Sandown stay at The Fernside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Very friendly people and a superb breakfast. Plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    good all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No one made use of the bar facilities during our stay.

    good all round. Breakfast cooked to order - good quality. family run.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Ideal stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.8
    The owners willing and helpful attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The useless shower and the lack of hot water.

    The owners willing and helpful attitude. The breakfast was what you would expect of a good b&b.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    The room was clean and comfortable and looked like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable and looked like the pictures on the site the owners were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    The breakfast was good and the beds were very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower cubicle could have been bigger

    The breakfast was good and the beds were very comfy. Free dedicated parking was a plus. The beach isn't very far from there either

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The room was clean the staff were friendly and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there is a pipe that runs on top of the window we could hear the water keep running and my phone internet wasn't working but other than that it was good, would stay there again.

    The room was clean the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good .the

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    The proprietor was attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The proprietor was attentive and helpful. The breakfast exactly as I wanted. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Host were very good ,food ,room were good had a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints at all

    Host were very good ,food ,room were good had a very relaxing stay

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    frendley welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    frendley welcome

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming and helpful. Fantastic location short walk to main strip and beach. Amazing breakfast and customer service would highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dark fawn wallpaper paint in bedroom was horrid.Otherwise excellent and tgoruoughly enjoyed our stay

    very welcoming

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    Very-friendly staff, good-sized room, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very-friendly staff, good-sized room, clean

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.9
    Location was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was awesome

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Excellent stay from arrival to departure, room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent stay from arrival to departure, room was clean and comfortable, very well located, recommended!

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: