Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ferry Inn 3 stars

Scrabster, Thurso, KW14 7UJ, United Kingdom

#8 of 16 hotels in Thurso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    just fine for what we required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    Room was good and there was nothing wanting. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location was fine and we would go back again no problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The Ferry inn is located right at the dock of the NorthLink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ferry inn is located right at the dock of the NorthLink Ferry. It made it very convenient to stay here and board the ferry for Orkney Island the next morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Unique place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast with a view of the amazing little harbour specially when the liners dock. Comfortable roomy bedroom. Staff are friendly and very helpful great hospitality easy drive to John O’Groats for Maxi Tour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent overnight stop for anyone taking the ferry from Thurso to Stromness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very well appointed, comfortable and clean, with a great view over the harbour. Breakfast was served early so that people leaving on the early ferry could have a good breakfast before they set off.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    No frills, good value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location, good plain food in the residents lounge, nice beer. Clean, large room. Great staff. There is a nice short walk up to the lighthouse if you walk on the left through the port gates.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay if going across to the Orkney Islands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Great location overlooking the small port so you can see all the loading and unloading of the ships. Northlink Ferry terminal just up the road within walking distance. Plenty of parking across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grumpy lady on breakfast.

    Good location under the Forth bridge. Can be a bit noisy with the trains going over the bridge, but that is part of the experience and not a complaint. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hideous carpets in the hall and on the stairs.

    It was most convenient for the ferry, and the bed was very comfortable. We did not have dinner - there was an excellent tapas place next door - but the breakfast was good and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Orkney ferry stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night when ships were arriving and departing the port

    Very convenient for morning ferry. Delicious fresh fish meals in the evening and for breakfast in the adjacent restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly, the bed comfortable, we choose to eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uninteresting, uninspiring vegetarian food - mushrooms or mushrooms.

    Perfect location for the ferry, very comfortable beds, fantastic tapas restaurant next door (nothing to do with the Ferry Inn)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good comfortable Pub/B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property is ideally located if taking the ferry across to the Orkneys. The room was a good size, nicely decorated, very comfortable and clean. We ate in the Pub, excellent pub meals. Breakfast in the restaurant next door was excellent too. Can highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Lovely location for the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing -photos didn't do it justice

    Lovely large room with view, extra comfortable beds, quiet, good sized shower room, lovely breakfast and fish and chip supper, friendly staff. Nice chatting to other guests. Popular bar with locals, all very jolly, but did not disturb us, well done. Plenty of parking across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The closeness to the ferry port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not tell us that the key to your room opens the outside door when closed as there is no staff on premesis at night.

    The closeness to the ferry port. Breakfast fantastic,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Would go back again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the place.

    It was in overnight stay to catch the early morning ferry to the Orkney. It was just perfect. The bedroom was huge. The bar was good. The restaurant foid was excellent. The staffs were welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Good spot to stay for Orkney ferry but would recommend another choice for North Coast 500
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - nowhere else to go within walking distance for a pre dinner stroll.

    Good size room, good view out onto harbour. Place looks a little scruffy from outside but well appointed inside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny and the bed was terrible. There was no view except of the wall of the building at the rear, about 3 meters away. I paid £70 for a one-night stay. I think 340 or less would have been a fairer price. Poor value for money.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The location is only of any interest to those that are taking the ferry to Orkney, but for that it's ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Of the hotels in the area, this one is my favourite.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of breakfast area meant leaving the building to access from outside. May be an issue in bad weather.

    Nice pub downstairs. Food is really good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Extremely warm welcome by Sarah.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clients smoking just outside doorways.

    Extremely warm welcome by Sarah. Room was outstanding. Lovely atmosphere in Bar. Dinner was a high standard. All service received was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfort in the far north of Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think eating out generally is expensive in Caithness.

    Comfort in the far north of Scotland. Location and parking is good, right next to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommended as a stopover for a trip to Orkney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff,good food. The breakfast was very good and huge! The room was clean and of a generous size with plenty of tea & coffee & biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Ferry Inn Scrabster
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was full, we couldn't park beside the hotel, but there was a carpark across the road that we used.

    Spacious clean room with a comfy bed & plenty tea coffee biscuits & toiletries. Ideal location for the boat to Orkney. Very friendly staff. Delicious fresh fish n chips for tea & a lovely breakfast in the morning. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice people on staff. Basic convenient accommodation for catching the ferry to the Orkney islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was basic. The staff were very accommodating especially when we had to cancel the second night because the return ferry from Stromness was cancelled and we had to stay on the island. The staff went out of their way to ring the island for us to organise our tour and accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok for one night small rooms in attic of house , stairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking had to use public parking which was outside the inn. Too many stairs to get to room and for breakfast.

    Ok for one night small rooms in attic of house , stairs everywhere not suitable fos someone who is disabled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Great view over the harbour, walking distance to the ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and a little musty but quiet and adequate. It smelt like people smoked in there in years gone by, or it may just have been second hand smoke from the bar downstairs.

    Great view over the harbour, walking distance to the ferry and free parking while we were over on the Orkney Islands.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for Orkney Ferry, comfortable, efficient and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower room small but functional and access to restaurant/breakfast room outside which in Caithness weather conditions can be problematic

    Comfy bed, generous breakfast served early to reflect Orkney Ferry check-in time, good on-site restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing evening after an 11 hour drive. Bar staff wee lovely and food was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was so slow, had we ordered a full breakfast we would have missed the ferry!! And we were there an hour before check in.

    Easy access to the ferry for the morning, great people watching in Popeyes bar!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    A good convenient stay for the ferry with good food and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go outside for the bar and restaurant, but it wasn’t a hardship

    We stayed because it was so close to the Orkney ferry. It was comfortable, a bit quirky and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Old historic looking building with comfortable accomidations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. so pack light.

    Walking distance to ferry terminal. Restaurant and pub attached, Public parking directly across the street but no charge to park if you are a guest of the Inn. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay for the night before or after your trip on the ferry from or to the Orkneys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments to make here.

    Friendly staff. The bed was comfy. Facilities good. Evening meal and breakfast were good. Whilst it was not a problem for us others may not like the fact that our wash basin was in our bedroom and the shower and toilet were separate..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't mind but Scrabster near Thurso is just a ferry port. No other attractions there. However, our trip to Dunnet Head the next day was excellent. Recommend calling at Dunnet Bay distillery

    Very comfortable room. Friendly and accommodating staff. Good meal in bar( as we had our dog with us) and friendly locals

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value in a venue very good for the Stromness Ferry and for visiting John O'Grosts etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift

    I had r oom 4 which is a single so a bit small but clean and well appointed..all staff,including the cleaners were. Friendly and good quality ty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy, good value Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    It was a very comfy, clean inn. Recently refurbished and the room was lovely, overlooking the river. Food was good, simple fair. Parking was easy, right next to the inn. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay here again. There are stairs though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice welcome by Sarah. Location was interesting and although right on the harbour my front facing room was very quiet. Hearty Breakfast and nicely served.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient,comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area and bar pretty sketchy

    The reception area was a bit sketchy. Rooms were big and very comfortable. Location to catch the morning ferry to Orkney was unbeatable. They serve breakfast early - in plenty of time to make the ferry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, staff and clean. Great stay if using the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are ready for replacement.

    Perfect location for taking the Northlink Ferry. Staff very friendly. Rooms and hotel are old but very clean. Free full breakfast in the morning before the ferry was very nice. Restaraunt for dinner was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay for a few nights, you are very close to Thurso if you wanted to eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar in the hotel also serves as local pub - bit dated in décor. Not that inviting to sit and have a drink really. If weather is kind you can sit out on a decking area though.

    Room was clean and modern overlooking the port. Upper Deck restaurant next door served breakfast (good selection of cooked options and continental). Staff there were all very accommodating with any requests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    I would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I'd definitely stay again, my bedroom and shower room nice, and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast huge and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great size room, friendly staff, very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The size of bedroom overlooking the harbour was a lovely surprise it was massive, (room 1) the fact it had a bar and restaurant, the bar had a great dukebox with a great extensive selection of music.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Stop over on NC500
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're a light sleeper you may hear some noise from ferry/port terminals.

    Welcoming staff and decent sized rooms. Clean and comfortable but could do with some tlc on fittings in bathroom, ideal stop over and right next to ferry port for Orkney islands. Upper deck restaurant serves fantastic food! If you're looking for night life probably not for you as only hotel bar for evening drinks. We were happy with this and knew before booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Extremely well located for the port..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise from the port but worth this for convenience of the location.

    Great location for the port. Good facilities and friendly staff. Very good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    A modest but interesting place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken twice in the early morning by the fire alarms going off. Fortunately it turned out to be a false alarm but it was disconcerting to find no staff on site or able to be found. However, to compensate for this the management cancelled all guest payments for that night which we appreciated.

    The staff were very helpful, making sure we could still get a meal in the restaurant after our late arrival. The meal was excellent and our room was big and overlooked the marina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    watch the ferry come in at the ferry Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattress was a little soft which was a problem for my wife who was suffering with a neck problem. Everything else was fine.

    The room looked out on the harbour. The location was superb. The restaurant was excellent and breakfast was as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location for ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location for ferry to Orkney, and for long term car park. Good walks to lighthouse and headland beyond. Interesting to watch port activity.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Cycling to Scrabter for a ferry to the Orkneys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a family room that was very large and spacious. It was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a nice breakfast at 7:00 am as we were catching an early morning ferry. The staff were all friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location and comfort of Westrow Lodge were perfect.The property was most beautifully appointed---far better than most 5 star hotels! Kathy and Keith were the perfect hosts, and very helpful. Rita and Mike

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised by this great little hotel on the way to our Orkney ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large amount of stairs up to the restaurant, and the fact that you had to go outside to get to the stairs. We were lucky to have fair weather which meant that this was only a minor issue for us.

    We stayed here one night while waiting for our ferry to Orkney. This inn exceeded our expectations in every way. Our check-in was easy and friendly. We parked just across the street in front, which couldn't have been easier. After breakfast, we drove to the ferry terminal which was 5 minutes down the road - again, couldn't have been easier. Our room was very comfortable (one of the best beds on our trip) and well-appointed. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the inn and both were very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Ideal overnight stop for Orkney ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very conveniently situated inn overlooking the ferry terminal for the Scrabster to Stromness ferry to the Orkneys. The bar is used by fishermen and serves filling breakfasts. For overnight guests, breakfast is served in the upstairs restaurant, which also serves evening meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    friendly clean comfortable accomadation ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything ideal for an overnight stay for the ferry

    the staff were friendly and welcoming, the food in the bar was cooked to order and was fresh and hot The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with friendly quick service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    NORTH COAST 500 TOUR
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Excellent location for stopover on North Coast 500 tour, which I was doing. Stayed 4 nights, which gave me the opportunity to visit the area(i.e. Wick, Thurso, Castle of Mey, John O Groats, Orkney.) First class cuisine at the Upper Deck. Lovely view of the harbour from my room, which was very spacious. Very friendly staff. Excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value accommodation and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and bits of the hotel a little tired but nothing that should seriously detract.

    Loved the attached restaurant- breakfast and the dinners were superb - great Wagu beef steak, Cullin Skink and scallops. Very helpful staff. Lively atmosphere in the small bar with the locals - good banter and games of pool... Great for the night before and after a day trip to orkney. Overall great value accommodation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    4.6
    No great shakes but convenient for Orkney ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was at the back and looked straight out on a wall less than 2 metres from my window.

    Location good for catching morning ferry to Orkney. Adjoining restaurant provided me with a reasonable meal at the end of a long journey.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay- will repeat the visit sometime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't understand why one has to go next door for your breakfast as one could have it in the bar but probable as the kitchen is next door. Not a hardship in good weather

    The hotel is next to the ferry terminal and close to where we were going to. Staff were welcoming and helpful. said I could stay longer as I was on my own by then and waiting to return home on the ferry which didn't leave till 1.15. Breakfast was lovely and hearing other people asking for refills proved no problem

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in Scrabster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wash-hand basin was outside the bathroom on a carpeted floor.

    Large room with very comfortable bed. Very quiet at night despite the adjacent working harbour. The evening meal and the breakfast in the restaurant were both very good. Very cheerful and attentive staff. The basic outside appearance belied the welcoming, comfortable atmosphere inside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed- had expected so much more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed. Mattress so bad (soft on one edge hard in other) that when I moved close to soft edge during night I fell out of the bed and hit my head on side table. Restaurant closes 8.30pm (though website closes 9.30) & any late arrivals stuck for food options. Barmaid did get chef to makeup plate of sandwiches & soup. Breakfast self service options bit basic though hot good although service bit slow

    Location & ease of getting to ferry

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly welcoming stop right next to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like

    Friendly relaxed atmosphere of staff and regulars who all make you feel welcome, and the best rump steak I've had since the last time I was here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Great little stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing but a wall to be seen from the window. Maybe a mural could be considered.

    Excellent restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast. Very convenient for Stromness ferry.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Service Hit or Miss Lorries moving containers from quay to quay at Scrabster accelerating past the property at 10pm at night making noise.

    Traditional Inn. Rooms were well appointed and bed comfortable. Shower Good. Great Veiw from window. The restaurant has an extensive menu and the food was well cooked and the portions huge (some might say too large).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.8
    Expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower/toilet room poor- no ventilation working. No power point near main mirror. Power points for laptop etc behind bed heads. 1 double socket hanging out of wall. Kettle does not easily fit in hand basin to fill it. Floor in our room creaks as it does in the rooms above very noisy when trying to sleep. Suggest you do not open the curtains as the view is awful - for the best experience arrive and depart in the dark!

    The bed was excellent. Internet is first class.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Convenient Hotel Before Or After A Visit To Orkney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Ferry Inn is, as you would expect, in close proximity to the Scrabster/Stromness ferry terminal. We stayed overnight after catching the last ferry back from Orkney. I would think most people are using the hotel before or after a visit to Orkney. For pub rooms they are actually very good. The bed was large, if a little soft and the bathroom was clean. We stayed in Room 5 which overlooks the harbour, so we had a nice view. Breakfast was good. The wifi worked perfectly. The main selling points of the hotel are its convenient setting and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Freindly staff, excellent breakfast in ideal location for Orkney ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    Friendly staff, excellent traditional breakfast, ideal location for Orkney ferry, comfortable room. What more could anyone ask?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    ANOTHER GREAT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here once again, prior to our ferry trip to Orkney. An ideal location right by the harbour, which our room overlooked. A nice big, warm, room with a lovely comfy bed and spotlessly clean as usual. We hade a lovely meal in the bar and attended to by Sarah, with the infectious laugh! Many thanks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    north coast 500.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing zip nada cannot fault this hotel.

    i liked every thing about this hotel staff very friendly, helpful room large warm clean good pub connected to hotel again friendly chatty staff.hotel restaurant very good spotless all the staff at this hotel were superb i will be back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Convenient for ferry and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for ferry to Orkney as adjacent to the ferry terminal. Restaurant excelled itself the night of my stay. Room 3 very comfortable. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Excellent for an overnight stay before ferry crossing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, comfortable and well stocked with tea, coffee etc. Excellent location for ferry to Stromness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to Upper Deck restaurant from the hotel. Probably wouldn't matter to most but there were a lot of outside steps for a disabled/less mobile person.

    Very comfortable room. Couldn't have been better placed for the ferry. None resident breakfast when I returned from Orkney

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but if was pushed to answer the area was quiet although this could be because it was low season.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. Would definitely go back again. Good size modernised room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay on the way to the Orkney's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed, very clean, much nicer than we'd anticipated. Great reception and restaurant staff, great view overlooking the working harbour, good breakfast (included) and dinner (not included) at the Upper Deck restaurant. Parking is on the street or in the lot just below the street (see view from our room photos). We'd stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a beautiful view of the harbor, which made our night. The food in the hotel was pretty good. Staff were outstanding. Great breakfast options. Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Handy place to stay for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area and room that it was in, like a 70s transport café. Not at all inviting and very off putting.

    The location by the ferry as great, the food in the bar was tasty and cheap. The reception area was dire and I can't imagine wanting to eat in that aea with formica tables and poor lighting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Top of Scotland and a fine resting place and watering hole ~ just next to the Orkney ferry !!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the serving staff could do with a weeks course in charm school :-)

    Looked a bit disappointing as we pulled up outside. Scrabster is The Ferry Boat Inn and the harbour !! Booked in GREAT ROOM GREAT MEAL GREAT BREAKFAST Really impressed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    great staff especially Sarah good food dinners and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor wifi and got a twin bed instead of double

    great staff especially Sarah good food dinners and breakfasts busy harbour and great location for ferry to Orkneys dog was welcome in bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    A friendly place with good food and good hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shower handle was not working but staff provided me with a shower in another room.

    Breakfast was very good, staff was so helpful and friendly. Location was just as advertised and as I needed. My room was comfortable with a nice view of the harbor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.6
    Go but check any bookings you make!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity the staff don't communicate well! We were leaving early for train. Had asked for taxi to be booked and had also ordered breakfast for the morning but neither had been done. Just as well I checked regarding the taxi later in the evening and then we didn't have time to savour our delicious poached eggs and smaked haddock for breakfast! The taxi was nearly sent away, I overheard staff saying there was a taxi and they didn't know it was booked for someone.

    Lovely friendly staff, superb restaurant a must

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Strategically placed!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with double glazing because of the hen party going on in the street outside our window but the noise and mess weren't the fault of the hotel.

    Friendly staff, even the lads who gave us breakfast at 7am! Great room for us and our disabled dog. So close to the ferry terminal you felt you could touch it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    I liked this hotel a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the friendliness and feel of the hotel. It reminds me of the better small hotels I've stayed in over the years in rural and northern communities across Canada. The restaurant was excellent and the restaurant service warm and top class. And how often do any of us get to laugh and celebrate a birthday with a family across the room. Bonus. I'd happily stay here again. The complete antithesis to chain hotels that are a regular part of my work travels. Everything that is important, the cleanliness, the appointments in the room and the service were done well. If it was a 300 bed hotel the trimmings would likely get a refresh more regularly but it isn't. It's a small hotel with a limited cash flow and it has wisely reinvested in excellent beds, bedding and bathrooms and in good housekeeping.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: