Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Five Arrows Hotel 4 stars

High Street, Waddesdon, Waddesdon, HP18 0JE, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Waddesdon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    A charming hotel but a noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main road was very noisy

    A lovely old building and traditional coaching inn at the gateway to the fabulous Waddeston Manor. Nice room and good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel for a weekend break with excellent location, staff and restaurant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly service from all staff without exception. The restaurant was excellent - both service and quality of food. They even let me select an item off the lunch menu. A nice touch is the free entry into the Manor grounds which made for a great weekend trip. Definitely going to return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Short and absolutely sweet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At a push if I had to say something, it would be the lack of air-conditioning in the room, however, there was a nice little note in the brochure in the room to say there was a fan nicely tucked away in the wardrobe! Nice touch!

    I had no expectations of how the hotel would be so it was such a pleasant surprise to arrive at this beautiful location with this lovely laid out hotel. Just beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great breakfast, staff, room and ambience
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In electric wheelchair and cannot walk at all. They gave us a beautiful accessible room and were extremely kind and helpful. We enjoyed the experience very much. It would be nice if they would put a little ramp down to the central garden so a chair could enter. The busy road is noisy, we were at the back building and it was silent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and efficient and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a bedroom facing the road. As it was a warm night I needed to have the window open and the traffic was noisy. Best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and efficient and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright fire exit light in bedroom equivalent to having a lamp on all night, which caused poor nights sleep.

    Friendly staff and good food. Very clean and lovely garden to sit and enjoy a drink in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable experience with a nice restaurant in hotel with a good menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well...it would have been nice if it was cheaper, but I wouldn't trade off the quality.

    Well decorated and staffed with a friendly and helpful crew.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dining Room was a major disappointment, same menu every night, no dress code, one night, two workmen in working clothes, jeans and work shirts , had Dinner, used mobile phones, and held a business meeting in very loud voices, completely spoiling the ambiance of the Dining Room. On another occasion, 3 workmen in road maintenance clothing had breakfast, again with phones. This is not the standard of a 4 star restaurant. The staff were very pleasant, but not trained, little evidence of management. Certainly not good value for the cost.

    Excellent situation, comfortable room, clean and good room service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful small hotel with great service and attention to detail.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very good but the beetroot tart was pasted with a sweet glaze and it didn't need it, far too sweet for a savoury dish but the pigeon breast starter was fabulous.

    Bedroom exceptionally clean and comfortable with a fabulous walk in rain shower. Staff welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beaitiful but traffic a bit loud as on a busy road through the village.

    Beautiful location with friendly staff. Idea for a weekend break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    absoutely superb!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition, hot in the room

    Perfect location, close to Waddesdon Manor. Gorgeous inside and outside. We have enjoyed drinks outside in the garden, it was absolutely beautiful. Great food and wine, not many beers to choose though. Our room havent got air condition so it was a bit hot, but its was very pleasant overall. Breakfast blew my away! Amazing choise and amounts for everyone. One of the best hotels I have stayed so far. Will be definitely coming back soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    It was my first time at the hotel and I would stay there again - the food and service is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lacks a lounge and in the morning we sat at a restaurant table to hold a business meeting - It would have been nice to sit in some comfortable armchairs around a coffee table. Although my bedroom was comfortable, when I sat at the desk, the seat of the chair was high in relation to the desk top so it was difficult to get my legs underneath the table to work on my computer.

    I booked a single room and was provided with a comfortable double bed which was a bonus. We held a business dinner and the food was excellent with a good choice of wine and whiskies as well. Service was attentive but not overbearing and the waiting staff were well trained and friendly. The English breakfast was also very good - with good quality sausage, bacon and a proper large flat mushroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a smaller room (no.2) which was a little cosy / cramped, but still lovely.

    Service was great, super flexible staff, very comfortable bed and the shower was amazing!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly hotel with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame that there was no separate lounge away from the dining areas.

    Evening meal was excellent . Service was very very good. Breakfast very good. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Very relaxing. We welcomed the free pass to the Waddesdon grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was not particularly attentive. We had to keep looking out and attracting staff for service such as for cereal spoons and fresh coffee. I resorted to getting up and looking for them. There were two ladies but they seemed to be always at the back and out of sight alot. There is not really a bar area and we kept getting cold everytime someone came in the front door.

    Comfortable bed. Nice fluffy towels. Excellent breakfast. Nice dinner - liked the fact we were not rushed. Clean rooms. Fire in bar area. Nice friendly reception guy who helped us with our bags.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to get a drink when we arrived back at the hotel, 11.30 and they refused, not even room service, which was a tad disappointing

    Staff welcoming and friendly, rooms emaculately clean with bottled water provided. We did not eat in the restaurant as we were going out to an event, however the food smelt divine. Breakfast was great with a wide variety on offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    A treasured oasis
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really ? Liked it all !

    We have stayed here several times in the past and it is always a pleasure. The hotel keeps on evolving and getting better which, in my opinion, is no easy task this day and age. It has a very good mix of history and up to date features. Excellent rooms with first class bathroom facilities. The restaurant never disappoints and for the very good food it is priced accordingly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Won’t go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area is completely inadequate We had to wait for 10mins before a staff turned up at reception- and that after I went around to kitchen to ask the chef if there was anyone at reception Waiter at the breakfast was unfriendly and grumpy There was no response when we thanked her after the poor quality breakfast

    Location is lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Apart from the above it was fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking - in, getting into the hotel late at night and checking out were a bit unorganised I still haven't received my VAT receipt, or any other receipt for my payment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel near Waddesdon Manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service during breakfast was a bit slow. It took a long time to take the orders for breakfast and the table with pastries remained a long time empty.

    Very comfortable hotel near Waddesdon Manor. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom with an excellent shower. The room was on the side of the garden and very quiet. The hotel has a very good restaurant. We booked a Friday night special including dinner, which is a good offer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.7
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff in the restaurant were not very attentive and a little rude. The cooked breakfast the following morning was also ‘a la carte!’ I prefer a proper and traditional English cooked breakfast not something that looks pretty right in the middle of the plate which in all honesty would have fitted on a saucer! The room was also a bit pokey. Although described as a double room in my opinion was more like a slightly larger single. When my wife and I were getting dressed in the morning we struggled for space to get dressed and we are not large people.

    The food we had for the evening meal was very good. The building itself is very pretty. The location was perfect for us as we were visiting the Christmas markets at Waddesdon Manor. The hotel is next to the entrance to the Manor, perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    A very comfortable overnight stay, at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was full and although we managed to park, it was tight. One more car-driving delegate at the in-hotel conference facility would have meant we had nowhere to park. The Five Arrows Hotel needs to be aware of this.

    It was everything we wanted - spotlessly clean, comfortable, and welcoming staff who went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay ,staff very attentive, the rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room facing the high street , but there was some traffic noise, even trough the secondary double or even triple glazing . This would not put us off staying there again .

    Beds extremely comfortable,position near waddesdon Manor couldn't be better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall, the hotel is nice and the parking is pretty easy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were pipes in the walls that kept clanging all night, so didn't get a good night's sleep.

    Overall, the hotel is nice and the parking is pretty easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Excellent venue with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very small issue, the sprouts with the evening meal were harder than al dente. Remainder of vegetables were well cooked.

    Rooms clean and well furnished. Staff very helpful. Food was well prepared and well presented subject to following small issue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel and rooms but spoilt by things that could easily be resolved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy kitchen fan. lack of service

    Lovely hotel stay was ruined however by putting us in a room above the kitchen which had an excessively noisy fan when we told the staff about this we were told it was switched of at 9pm which it was on the first night however on the second night we had to go down at 11.30 pm and ask for it to be switched of it was also switched on again at 7.30 am so we had no hope for a lay in as it immediately woke us . This is a known problem so feel that action should have been taken before now. We had dinner on the first night starter was lovely but those of us who had the festive dinner had no gravy so made it very dry no condiments such as cranberry sauce horseradish were offered plus we had to ask three times for a jug of water and our wine which was ordered when our menus choices were taken again never materialised until we asked where it was this lead us to eat elsewhere on the next night.Breakfast the cooked full English breakfast is very small but well cooked again we had to ask twice for toast an on the second day we were placed in a small room of the main dining area which had obviously not been cleaned from the night before tissue and food waste all over the floor . This hotel is beautiful but spoilt by a noticeable lack of staff in the restaurant at all times .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant apart from the awkwardness !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On returning to the hotel at 10 40 pm the doors to the main hotel were locked, we looked up and saw someone in the window so gestured to come in as we wanted a night cap. The man did serve us but we felt uncomfortable and drank up quickly ! Our rooms were in the annex building.

    Bed was very comfy and the room was nice and warm. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awkward being greeted on arrival by a staff member who could hardly continue speaking to us because of her cough.

    We liked the room, the sound insulation, the bed and the toiletries. We also liked the eggs Bendict at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    An excellent place to stay as long as you are not Room 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 6 above the kitchen which had a fan with an uncomfortable high pitched whine resonating in the bedroom. A senior member of the staff did agree to switch the fan off at 9.30pm. It started up again at 8.30am. A move to another room was not an option for our two night stay. Apparently other people have complained the noise in that room so it is about time they replaced the fan, probably on its last legs, with a low noise fan.

    A comfortable room, a reasonable evening meal menu, the food was of a high standard, and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    Not good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double room which overlooked the main road which was very busy and noisy and quite small. We had drinks in the garden in the afternoon which was lovely but there were cigarette butts on the patio which were still there on our departure 2days later. We came down for pre dinner drinks with friends and all the chair cushions had been taken in. There is no lounge area so we were told we could only access our room from a side entrance on our return from a wedding party as there would be nowhere to sit and no staff on site. Staff were not pleasant on interaction. Very expensive stay would not return again.

    Food was beautiful both in the restaurant and breakfast, good variety of tea but only 2 small homemade biscuits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Hope to return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable.The furnishing was extremely tasteful. The history of the Five Arrows was interesting.It was situated close th Waddesdon Manor. We were in a ground floor room at the back of the hotel. It was very quiet. The staff are very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.9
    Sad run down and dreadful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this stage everything.

    At this stage there's nothing . Rude check in guy at reception had not even looked at our booking . The dinner was ok and the lady who served us was delightful"her name was Barbara " the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in the people above were making a lot of noise "not the hotels fault "the breakfast was dull and un interesting we we asked for an omelette where told "oh we don't do that as part of your breakfast. Add this with fact that there are no safety deposit boxes availble dispite this being stated on the booking form So over all for the first day it's a minus 10 let's see how the rest of the stay pans out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.1
    Exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing except as stated above........

    We were not pressurised into anything. We thought the evening meal menu to being rather fine dining for mid week and the prices matched the quality. Therefore, it was out of our midweek budget. We were not disappointed as the inclusive daily room rate of £165 included a full English breakfast. We chose this rate as it was for a deluxe room. Right choice, Best showering facility ever, as water was piping hot......Every convenient item for a room was included Would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A treasure! Hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. In addition it had a hot pot with tea and coffee, waters and cookies. The food in the restaurant was beautiful and delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed the full English breakfast in the morning. Sat in our own little alcove to eat. I highly recommend The Five Arrows Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent place for a wedding party to stay for a wedding at the Dairy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small and a lack of drawer space. No complimentary shower cap in a shower room.

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast variety was good, pity about lack of museli, cooked breakfast was excellent. Low night light in the bathroom a very good idea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Attended sons wedding - beautiful hotel and garden- lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but very old building so probably not possible. Robert , the manager, carried my luggage, for which I was very thankful.

    Attended sons wedding - beautiful hotel and garden- lovely food -very helpful staff - comfy beds - White Company toiletries - power showers - fab time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful high quality hotel and we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs to the room, so we took up to the room what we needed and left our suitcases in the car. This is something we accept when we stay in such small beautiful bed and breakfast style hotel.

    The atmosphere and the friendly service was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Not cheap, but well worth it - a quality hotel in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some traffic noise in the front facing room that we chose, but double glazed windows helped to reduce this, and it didn't keep us awake

    Friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms, comfy beds, great breakfasts, gorgeous historic building, easy walk to Waddesdon Manor, pretty rear gardens, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    We stayed for one night after visiting Waddesdon Manor and it was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 4 and we were unable to sleep with the window open due to traffic noise. Our friend was in room 1 and was very comfortable

    The food and service were excellant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Great to stay I you wish to waddeson
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful but the head waiter was very loud and forward. Not what you would expect for this type of establishment. Also no loos on the ground floor which is where the bar and restaurant are

    Food was good at dinner and breakfast. Ok wine selection. Really lovely room with a private balcony. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside had the potential to be noisy but we were at the back .Our friends were at the front they had a good nights sleepexc

    Location,Surrounding food was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    A touch of luxury leaving me to want to stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too hot maybe as it was over the kitchen but a fan was in the room which helped. An air conditioner might be better particularly if it was quieter would have led to me giving highest scores

    Food and wine were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay, we were very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were of a high standard but thought chef was trying perhaps too hard with some flavours that competed rather than complemented the main component.

    Fried breakfasts were particularly good. Rooms were comfortable and staff very personable and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall we would return as it is a convenient location.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell of stale smoke. There were no dressing gowns or slippers. The wardrobe had old fashioned hanging system where you have to hook the hanger onto a ring. It was also awkward as the clothes rail was positioned front to back rather than left to right. The bathroom tap was stiff to operate. When you pullled the handle up the water spurted at full force unless you used two hands to gently lift. The shower is positioned at the wrong end of the bath. When you shower the water sprays. All over the toilet and it's in an awkward position to climb in and out whilst negotiating the toilet. The pillows on the bed were like bricks. Breakfast on the first morning was very salty and poached eggs over cooked.

    The hotel is convenient to where my family live. The room was spacious with a separate lounge. The furnishings were lovely. Bathroom tiled throughout and clean. We had a courtyard room which was peaceful. Breakfast offered a good selection and a mixture of Buffet and freshly cooked items. Service good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Victorian coaching hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of hotel suffers a little road noise at busy times

    Fantastic hotel in stunning village well located for visiting area staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a nice ambient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite near the main road but windows were secondary glazed so not really an issue.

    Good hearty breakfasts which were good choice and value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    I checked in at 14.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in at 14.15 and then came into the bar to order a snack after travelling 250 miles only to be told kitchen closes at 14.00. This is like something out of the seventies I was going to book an evening meal but as they couldn't make me a sandwich I went elsewhere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable. High all-round standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking I wasn't clear that the hotel had plenty of parking and no map was given of how to access parking which is not very obvious (signed from east approach only - we approached from the west) and is accessed from a side road off the busy A41.

    Style of hotel. Gardens. Restaurant. All staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Good stay at the Five Arrows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit chaotic there was a wedding on but we have stayed before and breakfast service was also unimpressive then.

    Lovely room gorgeous bathroom great shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel next to Waddesdon Manor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit hot (with the hot weather) but we left the portable fan on all night and it was OK.

    Very nice accommodation, in a beautiful traditional English hotel building, with well appointed rooms and a very good restaurant - great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The full English breakfast felt a little mean only one rasher of bacon. The toast was cold. The staff were not particularly attentive.

    We had a pleasant stay and were given a suite. The room was in the courtyard in a separate outbuilding at the back of the property away from the main road. The bed was really comfy and the room was clean. The WIFI signal was strong. The shower was really powerful and nice toiletries were provided. We also ate at the hotel one evening and found the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic Hotel and free entry to Waddesdon Manor Gardens too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a problem as roomsgave fans but it was hottest night of the year and had to open window as hadn't set up fan and front rooms have traffic noise BUT ONLY if double glazing and windows are open.

    Quaint, small hotel. Idyllic. Position and proximity to Waddesdon Manor Gardens and free grounds' entry too! We booked lunch and evening meal. Both excellent value and gorgeous. Love tgat you can buy a 500ml caraffe of wine. We dothis in France and is inexpensive and just enough for two.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Superb food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately, the main A road goes through the village of Waddeston & right past the front of the hotel. Nothing can be done by the hotel, of course, but suggest asking for a room at the rear or go when the windows can be left closed overnight!

    Superb food; friendly & helpful staff; wonderful old property, beautifully converted

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Second stay here standards still very good and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Comfortable room nice bathroom with good shower. Evening meal very good and good selection of wines. All staff attentive and helpful,nice gardens with seating area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    So impressed with The Five Arrows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about the suite of rooms in the courtyard area that we were given - super comfy bed, tasteful French provincial style furnishings, a window looking on to the woodland, and modern bathroom.The staff were welcoming and kindly made up a special breakfast tray for us as we had to leave really early in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Attractive building in and out, food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too hot, disappointed pretty balcony unusable because of traffic noise.Suggest you consider glazing in 2 sides,frosted double glazing on road side. At present it is a wasted asset.

    Attractive building in and out, food excellent.Good big shower easy parking pleasant ambiance very near Waddington Manor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay and would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic outside was fairly noisy at peak times but did not bother us at night.

    The food was superb, served in very nice surroundings. Bedroom very well equipped and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, but hindered by the traffic noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has the problem of being along side the main A road, with lots of traffic noise. Not really the place for casual drinking, but a restaurant with rooms.

    Great bathroom and shower, along with an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Croissants were really good staff were really attentive to...
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had all our dirty glasses in from the bridal party when we returned from our wedding. My aunties room was only set up for 2. They spent an hour at 1am trying to sort out bedding with the security guard for their boys.

    Croissants were really good staff were really attentive to my bridal party. The building itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    expensive for what was on offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a junior suite which only had two Extra chair's does this really make it suite so you can charge extra?

    The bed was extremely comfy & rather large ( king size)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.8
    Not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One member of staff could not read without his glasses, which he did not use and we had to inform him of our name 3 times before he found the correct booking papers, then he gave us the wrong room key (should have been 3 but he gave us no.8). He shouted a lot in the restaurant. and got orders wrong. The hotel is on a very busy, noisy road and we had a front bedroom - the traffic does not stop at night and gets busy early in the morning. Food is expensive.

    Food is well cooked and presented. Room comfortable and clean. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.5
    A Restaurant With Rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel issues are handled by waiting staff. A touch amateur but very friendly and willing.

    More a restaurant with rooms. Good standard of food for dinner. Very handy for visits to NT Waddesdon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived after dark and it was slightly confusing to know where to go to check-in. If there was a sign we missed it in the dark. Overall a minor issue.

    Very nice room. Very comfortable. Plenty of off-street parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Great place, beautifully decorated with wineries owned by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast could be better.

    Great place, beautifully decorated with wineries owned by the Rothschild family. Free trip to the manor was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable rooms, ample parking available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service was shocking. Group of 7. Main courses were good, the free pannacotta amusebouche was inedible. We found the waiter was rude to us and other tables near us.

    Very comfortable rooms, ample parking available. The 'hardware' in this hotel is perfectly fine. Breakfast service was very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel but staff don't make one feel welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are odd. They certainly don't make one feel at ease, nor welcome.

    Rooms are comfortable and clean. Renovated bathroom in my room - 11, was excellent. Expensive for what one gets.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the room fluctuated slightly and at times was a little warm.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lovely room. Very enjoyable breakfast. There were no pastries left when we arrived down for breakfast however I am sure that had we requested some the staff would have been happy to bring some out for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Live like a Rothschild
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is formal. If you want a more relaxed ambiance you may prefer the Long Dog pub near by.

    Amazing breakfast, comfortable rooms and beautiful Gadens. Cosy little bar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant county hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hardly anything other than maybe they could reduce there prices, but I say that about every hotel that I stay at! I never give 10 out of 10 for value for money in these type of reviews. It only encourages the management to put the room rates up!

    For a one night stay with 4 other friends it was absolutely fine. Very close to lovely walks in an adjacent National Trust area. Free wifi and parking always pleases me! The room (number 12) however was a 10 / 20 metre dash across a courtyard from the main hotel, so pray its not raining on the night of your stay! We had the usual tea and coffee facilities in the room with bickies (cookies if you are Americans reading this!) which is a nice first thing in the morning. Will return if in the area another time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about it. Would certainly recommend it.

    Everything! The staff were excellent and very accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. We couldn't fault it A few minutes walk to The Dairy where we were attending a function.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was extremely comfortable, large bed. Shower was very spacious and nice toiletries. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of options for everyone. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the staff were lovely we found we got left after being seated for quite a while without tea and coffee and other people were served before us who had arrived after us. However once the staff realised the over sight they were excellent. Its easy for this to happen and they more than made up for it.

    Everything was lovely. The room was better than I cold have expected, so tranquil even though just off a main road. Room was simply beautiful. Breakfast was lovely. Really tasty and you could tell high quality ingredients had been used. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    A perfect destination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we stepped on the property one was struck with the total ambience of the hotel. The Staff team were fantastic, professional, friendly & helpful. The Kitchen fare was delicious. We would make a point of staying at the Five Arrows when we are next in Waddesdon!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    A welcome relaxing w/e.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't appreciate all the noise from the stores as we didn't know our bedroom would be so close to this .

    The pleasant ambience of the dining area. Staff were attentive but not overpowering .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    An absolutely lovely hotel in a beautiful location ... please sort out fire evacuation procedures
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in the fire evacuation procedures or lack of them .... desperately needs attention

    We loved the hotel . Friendly helpful staff The bedroom was a little haven. Beautiful location .... Absolutely loved it .

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Five Arrows Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: