Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Forest Country House B&B 5 stars

Gilfach Lane, Kerry, Newtown, SY16 4DW, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Newtown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could be improved would be to strengthen wifi reception.

    Magnificent place to stay. We only stayed for one night but we could have stayed for much longer. Michelle and Paul are delightful. The room was magnificent, the location charming, the facilities excellent and breakfast was first rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful manor house in the Welsh country side that has had no expense spared in bringing all of its facilities into the 21st century whilst keeping its Grand outward appearance. Everything about this property feels of high class quality, with the host being very accommodating in a relaxed but professional way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    The whole atmosphere of the house and location was one of peace and tranquility. Paul and Michelle were extreemly friendly. The room was very comfortable with an excellent view. The bathroom was spacious as was the shower cubicle. The breakfast was excellent. Both my wife and myself had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of the beaten track.

    Room beautifully decorated, comfortable bed, bathroom and shower facilities excellent. Breakfast freshly cooked and piping hot. Very quiet and great place to relax after returning from a busy day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed here while we had a wine tasting experience at nearby Kerry Hill Vineyard. Excellent room and facilities, great location for Vineyard and also Newtown. Not too many rooms so was cosy. Owner and his wife were very pleasant and informative about the area. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. Room was spacious and clean would love to of stayed longer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Bed extremely comfy, room lovely, house traditional country and impressive. Renovations and improvements very sympathetic to the age and setting. Nice atmosphere. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Wanted a quiet stay in the contryside, glad I found this place. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The bedroom is nice and size of the bathroom is very good. They have a nice drawing room downstairs where you can find pianos and xylophone to play with. The whole property is a nice big house with its unique characters. The location of the house is only a short drive away from the town, if you need to eat outside or to buy something from the supermarkets. The breakfast is also nice. The playground outside is lovely with views of green hills and flowers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location in the countryside. Peaceful and the grounds were stunning. Old building that has had extensive renovations. felt very cosy and the rooms were comfortable and beautifully set up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out the way. But that's also one of its selling points

    Wonderful decoration, like a rich aunt's house. Cleanliness is 100% and the cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with bacon eggs, Welsh cakes and a pot of tea. Ace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The roads to the B&B are quite small, dark and windy but it's at least well sign posted.

    Staff we're friendly. There were pleny of options at breakfast, e.g. vegetarian and gluten free as well as your standard breakfast. The rooms were comfortable and of a good size.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a very good place to stay for exploring Mid-Wales and the Welsh Border. It is a very quiet location and the only thing I heard was the local owls! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jam pot had mould on top of jam. Pet dog allowed in dining room with guests present. Ok welcome but not over friendly.

    The setting and tranquility plus views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful house set in a peaceful location. The owners were most welcoming. Good variety on the breakfast menu and all freshly cooked. The bedroom was cosy and the bed very comfy. So nice to find a B&B with such high standards.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Comfort of bed, quiet location, excellent sleep. Cleanliness. Helpful hosts, friendly and unobtrusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful, pretty gardens

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good quiet safe place to park motorcycle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More toast for breakfast!

    Lovely old period building with tennis courts. I was on a flying visit so little time to enjoy the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation, friendly owner and wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property is spectacular and Paul was an excellent host

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like!

    Very comfy bed and super quiet location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the location as it took us on single lane roads outside of town. The owner gave us great suggestions on where to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    difficult to get the right water temperature in the showers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A friendly welcome. Very good breakfast. Beds comfy. Very quiet, peaceful setting in the beautiful Vale of Kerry. Perfect place for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very clean with great facilities. owners very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful location, very accommodating hosts. Very comfortable bed and a lovely shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything😆

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place to stay, loved the traditional decor and location stunning. Breakfast was delicious! Would certainly stay again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    How clean & quiete the place was & the owners very nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was all good

    Lovely family run B&B

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all not to like !

    Lovely room , comfortable bed , great breakfast and the wifi really worked

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building with style, smart bedroom with on suite. Good service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, nice bedding and towels. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delicious breakfast. Room & bathroom spacious with beautiful view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an amazing room. The four poster bed was a lovely surprise. The breakfast was a treat and the grounds to the hotel spectacular

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    unfortunately, some updates to other rooms meant lack of water at inconvenient times.

    Friendly welcome and attendance by all the family throughout our stay. Always available for advice on local information. Beautiful music / relaxation room.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The host was a little condescending and needed an attitude change. The lady host was lovely. Over priced for what/where it is.

    The house is beautiful as is the setting. Lovely room and very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house is 3.5 miles out of Newtown and is a mile along a single track road. The description does not reflect this. However the property is in a scenic location

    Warm friendly host and very clean, character property

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot fault this establishment at all.

    The owners Paul & Michelle were extremely welcoming and helpful. I needed to drop a vehicle off in the morning well before check in time in order to proceed to drop my daughter off at Uni. Nothing was too much touble; as my room was ready I was able to drop my bags and wait in comfort for my wife to arrive. As the O2 reception in the area is v poor Michelle was quick to offer the landline for me to call my wife who was travelling independantly.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful house and gardens in lovely location. Very clean and comfortable room with an array of CNEs. the kennels were great for our two dogs. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Historic building with big rooms and gardens. Comfortable super-king sized four poster bed, everything spotlessly clean and sparkling, fresh smell of bedsheets, ground coffee with real milk in the room. Guest lounge with baby-grand piano.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don`t normally write any kind of praise, yet i can genuinely state that my experience was by far and away the best to date. Everything was excellent!!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.1
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Setting and welcome were great, dirctions we excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very comfortable guest house and very restful.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave so soon.

    Friendly owners and a very tasty breakfast, made with good quality locally sourced ingredients.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Room was amazing. Loved everything and will be back.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rather isolated considering the weather

    very efficient with everything I needed for my stay.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: