Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Fox Inn

Ansty, Ansty, DT2 7PN, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 481 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a number of flies in the rooms which must happen when they leave the windows open .

    The full English was excellent and the sausages from the farm opposite were fantastic

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. Rooms not hovered. Breakfast table not wiped from night before and food still left on floor. Didn't find out until we left that it was being taken over that day so obviously nobody cared. Trip down memory lane for my parents in their 80's, and were bought up in the area. Spoilt their experience.

    Lots of potential food great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Peaceful and friendly accommodation and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was exceptional, the staff were friendly and very accommodating, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again, so peach full and serene.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    At the time of our stay the Hotel was in the middle of a change of Management,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Radiator not working. Heated towel rail not working. No room service No glasses in room for water. No glasses in bathroom for toothbrushes. Bins not emptied and no plastic bags provided so remnants in bin from previous occupants. Extensive mould on windows (see photo) Dirty corridors (insects on window sills and debris on floors). Towel not replaced. Room not cleaned. Bed not made. Not able to get into room until 4.30 (check in 3pm). Hot tap in bath room not able to turn on (despite assurances from the manager that this would be fixed). Very cold room. Tea and coffee not replaced. Only 1 teaspoon. Contacted staff with poor response, only gave tea and toilet roll, took a towel away and left us with only one, which remained damp during our stay due to the cold. Did not make the bed or empty bins. At breakfast, garden room floor and tables were filthy. Did not replenish orange juice so could not have a second glass and ran out of white sugar and liquor coffee Fruit covered in clingfilm from previous day

    The barman Harry and the Chef where very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    I can honestly say it was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing else, the hotel was dirty, shabby and tired.

    The staff, especially Harry, he tried really hard, it's a pity that he was let down by the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing, because we paid top price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was supposed to be a deluxe and this was reflected in the price. However, the decor was jaded and the taps barely turnable in the bathroom. There was also a large stain on the floor in the bathroom. The ceiling light was very dim and the tea/coffee area was very gloomy in the evening.

    Comfy bed, ok breakfast. We liked having the facility of an evening meal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Characterful building inside and out in a beautiful rural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt that overall the property would benefit from some t.l.c. Housekeeping left a bit to be desired. The young man was helpful and friendly. However our room had no hot water at the sink in the bathroom.Overall we would visit again.

    Dinner and breakfast were very good service was a little slow however.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Ok as a place to eat but don't stay here overnight, it brings basic to a new level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The route up to the rooms was shabby and in need of decoration. The bed was small and very uncomfortable with a very old mattress where you can feel all the springs. Bathroom was greatly in need of a complete makeover, you really didn't want to spend more time than necessary in there. Only one chair to sit on in bedroom to watch TV or read. TV small and stand broken. Bedroom very small and limited headroom. No bathmat provided, asked for but not provided. Extractor fan sounded like a cement mixer. Walls paper thin There is absolutely nothing nice to say about the accommodation side of this place.

    Good selection of cold buffet food at breakfast and also a very good choice of hot breakfasts to order. Car parking is good. Evening meal was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.9
    The Inn that time should forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, cobwebs everywhere including their trapped prey that looked like they'd been there as long as the 250 year old building, restaurant not cleaned during our stay, our room also not cleaned at all one day and various other problems every day; bathroom bin never emptied, towels taken and not replaced, an extractor fan/light too noisy to use for fear of waking the rest of residents, coffee/tea tray not replenished , even crockery taken and not replaced. Breakfast; you had to be there early to get coffee or orange juice as they weren't replenished. Cornflakes were stale on first day and still there 4 days later. Final day breakfast Brioche French toast with BERRY fruits, yoghurt and honey, consisted of toasted brioche, yoghurt, couple of strawberries AND pineapple, watermelon and grapes, with no honey. Crockery still wet and not always clean. One evening meal taken in same breakfast room, Sea Bass not cooked right the way through and sauted potatoes so burnt were rock hard. Venison burger so overdone almost impossible to cut with ordinary knife. Room: sloping ceilings so low that my 5ft tall wife continually bashed her head. Inn 7 or 8 miles from civilisation via often single track roads and no countryside footpaths to escape captivity.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    A hidden treasure - would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roads to Hotel very narrow. WiFi slow and only available in certain places.

    Hidden in "the middle of nowhere". Very friendly staff. Good Food! Wide range of beverages. Excellent breakfast choices! Comfortable beds. Plenty of free parking. Beautiful interior.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Needs better management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed springs sticking into me Windows filthy Bathroom not cleaned properly Patio - glasses left out over night Cigarette buts In ashtrays on tables by front Door never empty and very untidy, frontage never been swept first impression not good

    Dogs could eat on garden room with us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    The staff are hard workers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are very outdated and need a deep clean. We had a few over for a meal and they messed up and we had to eat elsewhere. The staff did their best, but it is obvious that Hall and Woodhouse do not care about using the bedrooms, or providing enough staff.

    The staff are hard workers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelmed and not good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could hear the people in the room next door talking through the walls. The bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guests stay. There was hair on the back of the bathroom door and floor. Even after requesting extra pillows and being told they would put some in the room, they never appeared. Breakfast starts at 8, not much use if you need an early start, Excessive amounts of cobwebs and dead flies about the place.

    The location was perfect for what we required. The cooked breakfast was freshly cooked and fast. The young lad working there did everything from bar tendering to reception to serving breakfast and was polite and helpful, if not a little forgetful (to be expected wearing so many hats)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to criticise. The price was excellent value. The only downside was that The Fox Inn is remote and our satnav had problems finding the inn but that's not the fault of the inn and was more than well worth the detour down country lanes.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The steak and ale pie was the best we've ever head - full of meat and the full english breakfast (included in the price for the room) was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.3
    Dog friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. The room was dirty. I complained and they cleaned it but no apology. The basin hot tap did not work. I told them but they did not fix it or explain it could not be fixed or apologise even though we were eating our meal there and they knew we were in the restaurant. We stay in a lot of Hall and Woodhouse pubs and they are clean, well decorated and have good products in the bathroom. This property is scruffy and has no homely touches and is not at all like the rest of the brand. Very disappointing.

    Dog friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing meal 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food left little to be desired unfortunately. Several people in the pub had problems with their meals...both meat... which put us off b4 we started! For this reason we decided to go for veggie. A lot of the food was off the menu. As this place is a little way from anywhere else we had to eat here as we'd both had a drink by this time..if that hadn't been the case we would have moved elsewhere for foid. My food came b4 my husband's..apparently chef didn't realise 2 orders. My veggie burger was anemic looking..husbands was overcooked. Chip's tasted like they had been put in the oil before it was hot enough so were saturated...couldn't eat them. Really disappointing meal..I went hungry. I was put off for breakfast but husband had cooked which looked and he said tasted nice so I'm assuming a different chef. Plenty of choice of fruit and cereal for me. Staff were lovely and were very apologetic about the problems. But it seemed like they were unsupported. A shame as it is a lovely place. Garden could do with a bit of a tidy up as could be a nice area.

    Staff were lovely. Room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    What a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small The walls were extremely thin, you could here the next rooms guests all the time The mattress and pillows were extremely. Not what I would expect to sleep on even in a prison! The location was nice and though it would be quiet, however was woken up by road noise at 6am as all the tractors are going past The photos that were on the website did not reflect our room at all. I presume as we booked through booking.com we got allocated a poor mans room! We were due to stay 2 nights but as the the problems listed above we only stayed 1 night and went elsewhere

    The pub itself was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location for walking and room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were young and inexperienced and the whole place had an air of being uncared for.

    The bed was large and comfortable and the room was a good size. The shower room was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Perhaps it would be better to visit another night when The Dorset Steam Fair wasnot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We waited 1 1/2 hour for our evening meal, we had pre-booked a table at 7.30pm and our very average pie arrived just before 9pm we were given a free drink as compensation. The stairs to the bedrooms could do with a good clean and I did not realise until the morning there were no cups on the tea tray

    The Staff were helpful but too stretched to give good service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Very nice and would possibly stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet part of the breakfast experience, could have been better presented and the crockery appeared to be in short supply and not overly clean. The cooked breakfast was very nice and well presented.

    The location although rural, was ideal for exploring the Dorset area. Welcoming staff on arrival. The room was clean and tidy and Wifi albeit intermittent at times a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent quiet location and service. Our dog was made welcome too so we shall book again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When trying to confirm time of arrival staff didn't seem aware of booking and just said turn up. So laid back I was a bit concerned if all was well. Once arrived, staff faultless, friendly and attentive.

    Large and spacious room with big comfortable bed. Carpet a bit worse for wear but this is a dog friendly pub. Only thing letting it down was lighting which didn't work, except for bedside lamp. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Tired, needs work all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, nothing like the website, a bit scruffy all round, dark in the bar with lights flickering. No management for the whole day we were there, it was being run by kids in the main. There was a question about our accommodation which was never answered or dealt with. Disappointing.

    Despite things listed above, the food was very good, the bedding was immaculate, and the shower in a tired bathroom was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing weekend break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was not firm enough. Could not see the television from the bed. The outside areas were neglected.

    The room was clean. The shower powerful with lot so hot water. Had dinner the two nights we stayed there. The food was tasty and it seemed to have been freshly cooked. There were several vegetarian options. Ideal for a break with your dog. Service was good staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed & great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 bulb on light fitting worked, floor boards noisy & could do with another member of staff during breakfast.

    Great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed. A fan in the room was a welcome bonus. Quality and presentation of food was excellent. Bar staff friendly & accomodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    The fox Inn reminds of a good old country pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fox Inn reminds of a good old country pub... was a welcomed break whilst driving through. Thank you for a lovely room and welcoming..my dog and I had a lovely night sleep... I would definitely use this hotel again Thank you for a lovely room and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent stay all round! All staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had our dog with us and she was allowed everywhere but the restaurant which we are used too. Dog food on the menu which is fantastic! Bed very comfy. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Superior room tired looking,scruffy garden area,dead plants on tables....!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly let down by very long wait for food ,booked for 8.00 ,table given to someone else,we were quite amicable and said we would eat in the bar...food arrived at 9.30.....special birthday evening ruined,so upset couldn’t eat meal when it arrived !!

    Very good breakfast,good quality bacon and sausages,and good choice,even boiled eggs on menu! Staff all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Friendly Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife banged her head on the sloping roof at the side of the bed and though it was an accidental misjudgment on her part there could be something to bring ones attending to it.

    Although we were very late in arriving the staff were very helpful and friendly namely Harry and Elliott the breakfast I believe was served by the owner can't remember her name but she was also very friendly. a great stayover pleased we chose it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Very useful stay on a cycle route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor staff were overstretched having been busy all day and understaffed. I felt sorry for them.

    Good rural location. Garden looked inviting but pouring with rain. We arrived wet with bikes but were immediately helped to put them in the dry. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast very good but poor lady doing everything single handedly apparently.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The food in the pub was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a bit thin. We could hear another guest snoring next door. Service was slow at breakfast.

    The food in the pub was amazing. The bed was comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.0
    Not very easy to find. In normal weather would be very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the hottest side of the house, but the desktop fan inadequate. Sloping ceilings by dormer windows a hazard for tall people.

    Lovely to be able to sit in the garden. Staff very helpful. Food was top quality, but no marmalade!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast and dog friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor to rooms is very dark with no pictures etc. Room doors shut very noisily. The toaster at breakfast is totally useless and takes ten minutes to get the toast anywhere near cooked. No alternative to butter. Sent two messages via booking.com to hotel but had no answer to either, not sure if that is booking.com or the hotel? Garden could be lovely but it needs some tlc...

    Setting, breakfast was good quality, they could do with showing off about the local produce used more though!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice sitting in the garden in the evening apart from a little noise from the kitchen extract fan

    We stayed for a couple of nights to celebrate a birthday and found the staff to be very friendly and charming The manager Elliot could not do enough for us It was also nice to find a place that was so accepting of dogs Rooms were clean and spacious and food was also very good Internet is only really available in the public areas but we went to get away from that sort of thing Would definitely visit again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Surprised to see so many dogs staying with their owners inside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find. Narrow lanes. This hamlet doesn’t even appear on a road atlas. Remote therefore mobile phone and Internet unreliable . Evening meal not as good as I expected. eg The onions in the gravy were almost raw. Perhaps I am a good cook. Husband hit his head on low ceiling on his side of bed to the extent that it bleed onto pillow case!

    Quite. Unusual experience for Visiting Australians. Staff were especially pleasant and helpful. Nice seating areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    We were looking for a transit stop and this remote inn was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking for a transit stop and this remote inn was lovely. It's old world charm and history was just what we were looking for. Dinner and breakfast were lovely. Our short stay was very relaxing. Ample car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Not very enjoyable. On the website it commented that cream teas were available. Not in this pub!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Landlord & Landlady could have been a little more friendly. He was at the bar when we left on Sunday morning and didnt even comment when we left. Not even farewell and have a nice journey! He completely lacked personality. Will not stay again as this was not value for money and the menu was poor in our estimation. The chicken kiev was poor with the skin still left on and my partner.s Thai curry was too hot to enjoy.

    the bed was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    nice friendly staff, comfortable rooms, unless you are tall, needs to be able to run a kitchen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the restaurant was very poor they said they were understaffed and the wait could be up to an hour, there was only 3 other tables with people on it, and after 50 minutes we asked how long and they said at least 45 minutes

    the staff were pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.5
    Nice but lack of Wi-fi was very frustrsting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly any phone signal and the Wi-fi onlynworked in the lounge. I would love to come here again but won’t if there is not Wi-fi in the bedrooms and other public rooms.

    A very nice country pub and restaurant with veggie options for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Food was poor and it was a bit more dog friendly than we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was poor and it was a bit more dog friendly than we liked. Dogs were allowed in the dining areas. Probably never stay at a dog friendly property again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff in a very dog-friendly cosy pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a huge deal, but the room was so, so hot when we first arrived and it took a while for it to air out. Just having the window open for a couple hours before guests arrive would really help this.

    My boyfriend and I travelled from Kent, while our friends travelled from Germany with their dog. This hotel is so dog-friendly! It was so great to see a vegan dinner option on the menu, and the staff were really helpful and friendly when talking about other items on the menu and discussing breakfast. The room was cosy but it was so, so hot and stuffy in there when we first arrived. Maybe they could open the windows (especially during heatwaves) before guests arrive to air them out a little. The shower was so nice and had great water pressure. My boyfriend and I decided to stay an extra night, and the barman gave us the discounted rate we had booked online with rather than what it would have been had we just booked directly through them which was lovely of them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated compared to the rest of the place, WiFi wasnt great. For best connection you had to stand at the bar.

    Very friendly staff, pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value in a peaceful location, ideal for visiting Dorset. Very dog-friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is a little unpredictable depending on the location of your room.

    The most pet-friendly accomodation imaginable. Our room was comfortable and quirky, with a great bed and a shower better than any other I have ever used. Accomodation is over a quiet country pub in a lovely village location. Staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and facilties, perfect for digital detox too! very relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost no mobile signal which is mentioned on booking but WIFI to compensate (as mentioned) is not up to the job.

    room very comfortable, lovely location. food and drinks excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    It was a very very dog friendly hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very very dog friendly hotel! We had a lovely stay with our dog and friends from Ashford who stayed with us. The pub room is really cozy and perfect for evening beer and chats! 😊👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    road closures nearby put us off going again because it took us longer to get anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ran out of toilet paper despite putting the near empty holder in full view of the cleaners. some parts of the hotel were not very clean, the chairs in the dining room very dusty.

    The breakfasts and evening meal were very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff. Clean accommodation. Great food. Country location. What more could I want. Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hit my head a few times when using drawer space in room. Maybe should have been drawers where the tv was.

    Very personal feel from the staff. Made to feel welcome and were very accommodating. Ie gave me a jug of cows milk for the room for free .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Peace and quiet in Lowet Ansty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address should be more precise. The Fox Inn is in Lower Ansty. Ansty is another little place about a 40-minute drive from Lower Ansty.

    Clean, cosy rooms Great breakfast Lovely food Friendly helpful staff No noise, so peaceful and relaxing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant we booked on account of the reviews we were obviously unlucky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived 20 minutes early for Sunday lunch and they sat us at our table for a two o'clock reservation at approx 2.10 they then attended us for drinks, and after asking for gluten options they took our order for starter and the lunch. The carvery was good but one small point was that we had two slices of meat like it or not, we were not asked if that was enough or offered more! In the evening we took drinks out in the garden which was quite well presented but the table to our left still had the leftovers from someones meal. It was not cleared for the 30 minutes we were there. They have a system in accordance with fire safety regulations I presume to make sure the door is closed. On the second night of staying kids or just inconsiderate guests were in out of the doors until at least 2.20 am. no point in complaining as it would be in accordance with fire safety regulations. we returned on bank holiday evening hoping to obtain some food . Not being refused food but being told that we would have to wait half an hour before we could order and then another hour before food would get to us. we dined elsewhere and still got back before they would have been able to serve us.We did not want much in the way of food a sandwich would have done but this is not offered on the menu or offered when we asked about food.

    The Sunday carvery was good with plentiful vegetables.The ambiance and location of the pub were very good. The bed comfortable.the shower unit was good and powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed a relaxing break with family and our dog. Very dog friendly !!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice of real ales.

    Situated in an idyllic setting lovely and peaceful. Staff really friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious shower amazing!! Very dog friendly our dog was allowed everywhere with us even in garden room where we had our meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Not up to even basic standards.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed for two nights and nearly left after the first. Housekeeping was the worst I've experienced. The approach stairs were dirty. The room was generally shabby and grubby. Walls were scuffed and in need of decoration. Dirty windows with years of black mould. Dusty bedstead and painted surfaces. The bed was reasonably comfortable except for terrible pillows, which were better described as hard pads - years old, I would suggest. The bathroom light pull-cord was filthy brown and, having no option but to handle it, I scrubbed it clean with towel and soap - the dirty towel was not replaced next morning. The shower cubicle did not feel clean enough to use. The nearly empty toilet roll ran out the first night and was not replaced next morning. I had to go down to the bar to request replacement TWICE, before action was taken.

    I ate in the restaurant on the first night only. The food was of reasonably quality. I did not take breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay at the Fox Inn and wish I could have stayed there longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough staff on duty at breakfast. Staff seemed under pressure and service was slow.

    The room was beautiful. The room and bathroom were very clean. The building is charming and has old world character. Dinner was lovely. There is unlimited parking outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Wanted internet ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the end of the building (No 7) and had no internet. We were told No. 6 did not get it either. Could get it in the lounge but not what we expected. Room was tired and a curtain was hanging off its hooks. But it is modestly priced. Steak and ale pie was disappointing and the veg were way overcooked.

    Nice looking pub and good ambience in public rooms. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Such a lovely place but could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are lovely but need more training. No hot water in some rooms. The young lad on reception apologised to people but you weren't left feeling that anything was going to be done about it. No late licence for residents. Rooms 'serviced' in that tea tray was replenished, but no cleaning or bins emptied in three days. Communal areas were not cleaned. Crumbs under breakfast tables from dinner the night before. The hot bank holiday was forecast so why did they run out of so many things? Lack of ice and lots of menu items not available even before the Monday.

    Staff were excellent. A lovely place with good food. Large, comfy beds. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place full of character with friendly, helpful staff, delicious food and very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old pub with fantastic food and very helpful, friendly staff. Our evening meal was delicious and the service was perfect. There is a very good choice for breakfast. I had the Eggs Royale which I have never had before, it was delicious although the portions are large. They also have plenty of fruit, yogurts and cereals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good, will stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None as it forfilled our needs, we enjoyed our stay and will return.

    Lovely relaxed location, good breakfast selection including full English, eggs benedict etc. Evening meal has a good selection, I had lamb shank which was excellent. Good place to take dogs and they are welcome to stay. Nice walks around the immediate area. We found it overall good value and bar was also reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Served our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was cold ( people were wearing coats) The radiator and towel rail in the room were cold and would not come on even when radstats were fully open.

    The staff were excellent and very hard working

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little outdated but clean.

    Comfy and clean bed. Food very good, especially breakfast which had a wide choice and plenty of it. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    We arrived late but the staff ensured we were able to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just difficult to find, especially late in the evening.

    We arrived late but the staff ensured we were able to have dinner. The Inn is so quaint, as was our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place very relaxing 😁
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit slow and i tried to get the waffles both days. But my husband had the full english which he really enjoyed.

    Very dog friendly place there is even a place to wash your dog. Big rooms with a big bed. Perfect location for walks. The dog kibble for dinner was brilliant. Had a lovely stay would highly recommend for a few nights away with ypur dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff were welcoming and friendly. The Fox at Ansty is a real treat, an ideal spot for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    We loved the link with the old Hall and Woodhouse brewery-especially as Badger is my husbands fave. The setting, location and building was ideal. The room was lovely and the bath was a bonus. The food was excellent but was disappointed to be told no salmon left at breakfast, when there was only one other couple at breakfast!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Felt like we were very much at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, worked very hard to make our stay special. The room was spacious and the bed massive! Excellent breakfast and lovely food in the restaurant. Couldn't fault anything about this old,unique,quiet building in a lovely rural setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Room was cosy and comfortable and staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked breakfast and check-out to have been a little later. Breakfast until 9.30 with a 10am check out was too early for a hungover Sunday :-)

    Room was cosy and comfortable and staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    highly recommended place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    It is a very harismatic place , we loved the atmosphere and fireplace downstairs, we trully enjoyed our stay , our dog was also very happy , we were very touched by the fact of having a special menu for pets :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Room , staff and food very good . Sure we will stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was chilly at times . However we were provided with an oil filled radiator which made all the difference🙂. There was some black on the grouting over the bath . Also the bedroom window was very black. Other than that the room was very clean .

    The room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Situation in Dorset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, lots of cobwebs and lack of vacuum cleaning. This is our third visit and was very disappointed. Needs some investment and TLC. Food was also disappointing as usually has a great menu. Very standard.

    Situation in Dorset

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    An absolute historical gem...you must visit.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was a bit slow. We had to wait quite a while and then when we asked for toast with our fry up it took another ten mins to arrive. Otherwise it was perfect and a good selection.

    We had a superb experience it was like visiting family. The pub is fascinating from a historical point of view and Beautifully presented. The landlord and staff were great and made us feel at home. The pub serves great food and wine at a great price. We even got our rooms upgraded as they were not let that night. This is a gem 💎 also they are dog lovers and I will definitely go back for some country air with my 🐶

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay in a lovel part of Dorset
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in our the room did not come on until 8pm. It was a little chilly for February. We didn't mind but some guests might have.

    Nice big room in a very quiet location. Excellent food for dinner in a nice, dog friendly environment. The whole establishment was being run be three young people on our visit and they worked very had to make us feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    3.8
    Too far out!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signal on phone at all and WiFi was non existent! They told me it should work in the bar but struggled in there. They need to put on the bookings that you get no signal at all.!! I certainly won’t book again being a lone traveller.!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at dinner. Sat down at 7pm (having phoned and told no need to book a table for twelve (12) we had arranged for other to stay with us). We waited to order drinks and then waited fo them to take our food order! Starters took a while to arrive. Main course did not arrive until just before 9:30pm. We complained and were told they had a reservation for ten (10) @ 6:30 (yet we were told not necessary!) Owner/manager apologised and said we could have a free drink. As we had already had a bottle of wine we had enough. One of our group cancelled his meal and went to bed (had been driving for just over five hours) On leaving we were offered refunds of two coffees and two teas from the day before. Will not advise a meet up there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not have ground floor bedrooms or a lift. Our friends who cannot manage stairs wood love it but cannot go

    Lots character nice bar area dogs welcome friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect 👌🏼
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect 👌🏼

    Bar area was cosy, rooms were huge and bed was very comfortable and large ☺️ Friendly staff and of course I was in my element with other fury visitors staying.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Excellent service, surroundings very comfortable and warm , cosy feel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very clean and comfortable but a little attention to some docoration to make it perfect but I’m being very picky.

    Lovely pub, warm welcome, excellent service and very dog friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Very Rural and quiet, great for walkers and pet owners.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was quite clean, but a hairdryer would have been useful and some extra pillows. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner as there were some stray hairs and dust on the skirting boards.

    The waitress staff were amazing, very polite and friendly and knew just what they were doing. The bar staff also very good. We stayed on New Years Eve and the only member of staff that was not good was the Tenant. He made us feel quite uncomfortable and he seemed creepy. In the morning when we came down to breakfast he was sitting in the lounge area of the bar watching TV and it made the whole area feel out of bounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signal is non existent but this isn’t the fault of the pub. The WiFi wasn’t good though. Room was lovely but a little tired and could have had more attention to detail. So the shower head was full of mildew and there were old spider webs coming from the lights. Other than that, everything was perfect.

    It was very cosy and the staff were lovely. Great for the dogs who were welcome in all places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Keep with the decor and christmassy feeling as that felt magical! But include brekkie in cost!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised that breakfast was an extra charge, I thought I had already paid for breakfast included in the full accommodation cost!? I generally don't like being charged for hidden extras which is how I felt?! If the cost could be fully inclusive this would feel better for me - as it was a bit of a surprise!

    I loved the location, the staff and the rooms/building! It had a Christmas feel at the time of year we went and it felt cosy and lovely when we walked in! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: