Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gables Hotel 3 stars

1 Annan Road, Gretna Green, DG16 5DQ, United Kingdom

#14 of 18 hotels in Gretna Green

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 887 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Staff & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed two nights - 2nd night was my wife’s birthday on 2nd day ...went to book table for a meal on our return and informed st 1730 hrs no tables available for that evening ....offered the bar ...no chance ...had to walk 25 yards to an alternative venue ...we spent £130 for our meal ....Gables loss and our disappointment on having to go to another venue

    Staff & breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Many simple improvements could be made
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room with a 4 poster bed was in need of a revamp. No towels in room on arrival and when we did receive them, they were a bit shabby round the edges. The bathroom flooring needs to be replaced (Room 29 ) Bar area was a bit shabby, settees need replacing, litter on floor. Breakfast a bit disappointing, quality not great

    Excellent evening meal in the restaurant with good choice and nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    very pleasant stop over on our way south
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had our dog with us so we ate in the bar, the food was average presume it would be better in restaurant

    The bed was very comfortable! the staff were all very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, food was good,, given a family room lots of space for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Wine & Dine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was soft, I prefer a firm mattress for my back - this is just my preference. Bed still comfortable.

    Evening meai was very tasty, and a good size portion. Breakfast was self service for cereal, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice and toast, then hot food was served to you i.e. full Scottish breakfast. Good size family room given only two of us in it, great size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't enjoy the resteraunt meal

    the bed and pillows were uncomfortable the room was sufficient for its purpose breakfast was ok all in all a pretty good hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts are tired and need updating. Also our room was incredibly hot. The staff were aware of the temperature issue when we raised it.

    Location was perfect. We stopped off travelling southwards and it ticked all our boxes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Good for what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we was given there was no hot water and a hole in the floor in the bathroom covered with black duct tape and couldn’t be stood on. Complained was moved within 15 mins room was ok but smelt of fried food as was across from the kitchen

    Staff lovely and willing to help and chat. Breakfast was good very efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Good value, comfortable stay in a warm friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Clean, comfortable facilities. Well maintained. Friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was cooked to perfection. We ate in the bar at night. Portions were very generous. It would 've good to have the choice of a smaller portion on the menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Good stop over hotel for further journey to Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Post code was a little out on sat nav

    Hotel was a good stop over for our one wards journey to Scotland. Friendly staff excellent breakfast would use again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some updating Bed uncomfortable headboard flaking looks tatty hot tap was unusable as you got no water and then blasted out wetting everything our duvet had a stain on it had a clean cover on but it should have been replaced disappointed overall

    Location and breakfast were good staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean room and large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow corridors to the room, especially the double door on the bend outside the dining room.

    Clean room and large bathroom. Nice bar area for eating. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, but expensive on the pocket when the wife went shopping!! LOL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast said full Scottish, but no haggis, square sausage or black pudding. Had to travel to Carlisle ENGLAND to get a full Scottish breakfast.

    Quiet location, good local amenities, including designer outlet. Worth a visit to the Annan distillery if you like whiskey, good stop off point if you want to travel to or from Glasgow and Edinburgh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal stop off en route from Hampshire to Fife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff especially the receptionist who booked us in at 8.30 pm on our arrival and was back on duty when we checked out at 10.00 am the next morning and good clean bedroom. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel in Gretna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was in the older part of the building and was a bit dated. It needed a good tidy up and decoration and door to room needed cleaned and painted. The bed was and older divan style which was not very comfortable. There is a newer part of the hotel which was probably nicer but I didn't see any of the rooms there so can't comment.

    Reasonable 3 star hotel in Gretna. Good location if working in the town. The room was a good size but a bit dated. Nice breakfast with a reasonable choice of hot food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Really pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head drooped when in use so the water was directed at the wall (Room 8) so we told the staff who apologised and said it would be fixed.

    Staff and comfort of the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Average but not worth the money I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I paid £87 for one nights stay ina Double room which was 2 single beds pushed together. We waited around 7 minutes for the water to warm up the next morning

    The staff were lovely and really helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel and gardens but a bit disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On booking asked if could have a shower and not a bath as mobility problems. When got there told only bridal suites had shower. Wish I'd been told when I booked! Asked 3 days running to sort out non-working extractor fan in bathroom and not sorted during our stay.

    Nice location. Good sized room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was good with plenty of free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not up to scratch. The toilet seat would not stay up and was poor quality, the shaver light did not work. The bath was very light and sagged when you stood on it.

    The bedroom was very comfortable and fresh. The bed was good tea and coffee making handy. The shower itself was good. The breakfast room was very well dressed and the served breakfast good, There were plenty of starters and juice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Shocked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in with two dogs only to be told we had to pay £15 per dog per night. Absolutely shocked at this. Also hotel had power cut. We were not told anything about what was happening and not offered any cold drinks. Considering this happened at tea time you had no access to food or a hot drink.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we did have a mix up about rooms being cleaned the second day and we did not have robes/slippers as advertised. But it was all sorted out satisfactorily.

    We had a great stay, meals were excellent. Staff great and friendly. Great spa bath!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Gables hotel
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, there were black bits coming out of the tap when the bath was being run and the shower wasn't that great food wasn't as good as last time, we got married here this time last year and was so much better food and all

    I like the location of this hotel and there are some lovely walks and the setting outside is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed but hotel staff were lovely
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor far too dark and gloomy - reception area awful and filthy carpet - arrived very late due to bad accident on motorway which was was closed - phoned ahead and notified reception and was assured the night porter would be there to let us in - not so - followed instructions to no avail, however after waiting nearly half and hour, cold, very very tired and hungry we spotted the night porter who eventually let us in. Everything closed so no food or drink available - terrible !!!!

    Jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable enough for a short stay. A bit dated and faded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a warm night and the room was uncomfortably hot and stuffy. Window only opened a crack and there was little fresh air as a result. Hotel is getting a bit tatty, with fading, worn carpets and dated decor. No-one in reception when we arrived and reception area could definitely do with a makeover. Poor shower, weak and hard to control temperature.

    Dog friendly. Lovely dog bed provided with food and water bowls. Comfortable bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money, on our re-visit list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband would have like a little more choice of beer but he was happy with his McClachans!

    Tasty breakfasts. Quiet rear room were we could sleep with the window open and not hear anything. Powerful shower. Friendly staff. Ample parking area. Within walking distance of the Outlet Village. Local shops and eateries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel on the outskirts of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely big clean rooms, we had our dog so there was a dog bed and bowls in the room ready, a nice touch we thought. Good food both for evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I phoned the hotel out of courtesy to let the staff know we were going to be late because of M 6 traffic . We had been on the road constantly, by this time, 6hrs. I anticipated we would arrive at 9pm. I asked if they would still be serving food. Answer was last orders were 9pm. I asked if we could get a bar meal after this time. The answer was... last orders were 9pm. I therefore asked if there was anything locally. Albeit I appreciate it’s not in the hotels financial interests to direct us elsewhere, but the lady who answered the phone was very unhelpful with advising us where we may be able to get a snack. That was the only disappointing part of our stay.

    Room was good. Staff were very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok but had better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was lumpy, someone nearby playing loud music till the early hours (couldn't tell where so couldn't call reception), no WiFi connection at all, and breakfast only started at half seven so didn't have time for more than a bowl of cereal before I had to leave.

    Staff were very pleasant, and the location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    The peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining was closed on the Monday but food was still available in the bar. We had to go through 7 fire doors to get to the room, a little difficult with luggage.

    The peaceful location. The room was clean and spacious. A comfortable one night stay whilst travelling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasat and would book again..
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Headboard in bedroom very worn and flaking.Room very warm, an air conditioning unit would be very useful.

    Warm and welcoming atmosphere. Hotel felt very homely and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.Ate in bar, meal nicely cooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and extremely enjoyable. A lovely birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the room was really hot ie no air con we got a fan from reception but it didnt really cool thr room down so we struggled to sleep

    The hot tub bath and the four poster bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay and we will stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was too hot for a shower in the morning and even though we turned it down to the lowest setting it was still to hot to stand under.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    relaxing stay would stay again and recommend,lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet edges could do with hoover,under neath bath head rests a little mouldy but overall a good standard

    had a lovely stay,room large suite, madam and i over the moon,great deal great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Lovely welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another room left their extractor fan on which was incredibly noisy. Continental breakfast was limited - thought they could have included pastries.

    Lovely welcoming staff. We were upgraded to a 4 poster room which was very comfortable. Room was spacious with an excellent jacuzzi bath. Great value for money overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest, there was nothing not to like.

    I was worried as we booked on internet but no need to worry everything was perfect. Room, staff. (We dealt with Laura at reception and Kelsey in the restaurant) both were helpful and always with a smile) I love this hotel and would definitely recommend the Gables. I will stay again when we are back in Scotland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!! Hotel was beautiful. Room 28 4 poster bed was very comfy and bathroom was lovely with the spa bath. Staff was very friendly Thankgod for the fan in the room. Was extremely hot with the weather

    Everything. Would come again. The breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel. And the fruit cocktail was to die for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Gables Hotel Gretna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some narrow corridors and fire doors that may not suit less able visitors.

    Nice well kept building and gardens, slightly quirky layout inside, lots of little corridors. Modern extension to rear sympatheticly designed. Room was spacious with four poster bed and spa bath and additional shower cubicle. Room and bathroom very clean and tidy although the bath panels had seen better days. Breakfast room nicely laid out with good selection of breakfast items. Nice lounge bar and outside patio. Didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but seemed to have a good menu. All in all a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.0
    comfy relaxed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food wasnt as good as it usually is we had to send back one meal because it wasnt cooked thoroughly but they didnt charge us for that meal

    the rooms are large and the beds are comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our stay ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with a little attention to decoration and carpet needs replaced especially in reception ..first impressions count .there was tea making facilities our room but no plug socket near to use to boil the kettle.

    Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Ideal location for our visit .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was too short :(

    Great garden and view, near the motorway. Jacuzzi in the room was the best! Comfortable bed, very clean and the room was quite big. We loved here and definitely will come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was good

    The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and welcoming and the bed was very comfy. Nice outside area to sit and relax. Nice menu, food was good. Lovely shower and great breakfast in a very well presented dining room. Would certainly recommend and return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stop off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there was anything we didn't like

    We had a lovely rooom, very clean and tidy, the staff were most helpful There was a nice choice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The website does not do this hotel any justice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very slow. The head waitress wasnt very friendly, but the younger girls were lovely and couldnt do enough for you.

    I liked the room and it was clean and spacious. The people were friendly and it was a really lovely/ pretty place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Good price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls very thin so lots of noise from adjoining rooms/corridor, including a VERY squeaky fire door in the corridor directly outside our room.

    Good price and location. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel close to M74 and a satisfying experience. I will use it again on my next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real complaints. Only irritation was the vocalised pop music pumped into the dining room when we were having our evening meal. The last thing a diner wants is rap musak when tucking into a nice meal.

    We used the hotel as a break to our long drive from southern England. It was a good choice. Good bedroom with better than average sized bathroom. Evening meal was enjoyable and reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast. Car parking was close to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for all of Gretna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable.

    Great location for all of Gretna. Hotel is clean. Staff very helpful & friendly. Food excellent (especially the Nachos and handmade burger)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Not for couples or those wanting a quiet stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of updating, especially the bathroom where the mould around the bath and the old shower curtain were off putting. The plumbing was extremely noisy and you could hear the toilet flushing in other rooms. There seemed to be no sound proofing whatsoever between rooms which would be bad enough if people were just going about their normal activities, but there was a very noisy wedding party in who were talking/laughing/singing/playing music loud until late on, then were up early conducting loud conversations about their plans for the day on the corridors outside the bedrooms. Of course the hotel isn't responsible for their guests behaviour, but as the hotel is geared up to holdng events and on reading other reviews of similar experiences I think this may be typical of what you may expect. For us, it wasn't a good stay.

    The staff were lovely and really went the extra mile to be both welcoming and accomodating. I really couldn't fault any of them and everyone we met was a credit to the hotel. We had our dog with us and there was a bed placed in the room along with feeding bowls. The breakfast was lovely and a waitress even brought it to our room as we were unable to take the dog into the restaurant and didn't want to leave him alone in the room or the car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Four Poster Special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was such good value for money and a beautiful indulgence with a Four Poster room .complete with spa bath , and bottle of Prosecco and chocolates awaiting our arrival .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Went away from the hotel feeling relaxed and refreshed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet and comfortable and in a convenient location just off the A75 near the junction with the M6/A74(M). Good "Full Scottish" breakfast served by friendly staff. Just a short, 10 minute walk to the Gretna Gateway retail park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great value accomodation and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked out onto the kitchen roof and was adjacent to the large extractor vent which was very noisy all evening and through most of the night.

    Excellent Value for money. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.5
    This overnight stay was on our journey to the West of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room, but the Breakfast was outstanding. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Advise would be customers to check out rates on web sites....we paid £53 but some sites wanted £110 for same deal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Some things held The Gables back from being top notch,but in saying that didn't stop me having fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in bedroom needs cleaning,hard to turn cold tap off and shower cud hav been more powerful.

    Bed really comfy,bar welcoming,cider spot on,breakfast fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value, nice setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular, just would like to see some energy in sprucing place and gardens up.

    Certainly tired looking but given its history of weddings which are still happening, it needs a bit of a spruce up. Even a wedding the day we were there. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is very dated and the room was not clean.
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated and the room was not clean. There was no pressure in the shower. Check-in staff was fine. The breakfast was not cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    excellent value for money for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extract duct outlet from kitchen was directly outside our window therefore we kept window closed. No real problem for a 1 night stay - but would have become an issue if staying longer.

    Good breakfast with reasonably wide choice. Staff all friendly & helpful. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground windows , could use may be blinds,for a bit more privacy, as you can see right in, an if u shut the curtains it’s to dark, through the day especially.

    It was all good, had a very comfortable enjoyable stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointed in room and did not have an enjoyable stay. Nice looking hotel from outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel door kept rattling during night keeping us awake (room 6) as well as the air conditioning unit below hotel window. Floorboards in room were noisy and the shower wasn’t very powerful. The kettle had to be moved as no socket to plug into

    The location of hotel was not too far away from anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay as per usual!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only little niggle was the bacon was a little fatty, and i do like mine cooked well, but we did turn up for breakfast at the last knockings.

    Excellant location to the wedding bereau, room was comfy with a whirlpool bath, cant wait to visit again, as this is our go to hotel in gretna!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    All in All, a lovely hotel with an excellent restaurant. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub in our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard. It was not very comfortable.

    The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommend this hotel. Attractive building, brilliant location and very friendly & staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a long trek to and from the room with or without bags. If had been staying more than one night would have asked to move rooms. Check out was very slow especially when needing to be away in time for an appointment (having got up early to allow for this). Plus breakfast times weren’t early enough. This was included in the price but we didn’t get offered any discount or alternative.

    Lovely hotel, great location and very friendly. Room very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable and appreciated having a bath at the end of a long day. Food was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful spot to stay if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit of a warren to walk from the front door through all the fire doors to the last of the rooms (we were in 33 of 39), but they can't really change the building shape.

    Great value for the price we paid. Super friendly reception when we checked in, even reset their modem when I showed her the wifi on my phone just kept saying "no internet connection". Breakfast was huge, lots of options in both buffet and hot. Beds were comfy and the water in the bathroom nice and hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly lovely hotel - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and cheerful. The room was immaculate and the facilities were excellent. Breakfast was amazing. Lovely little local hotel. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Really loved the four poster room and the jacuzzi bath . The prosecco and chocolates were a lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service could have been better when serving the breakfast .

    Everything except the lady who may have been the manager. Unfriendly made us feel uncomfortable .Jane the receptionist was very welcoming friendly helpful and funny .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Lovely breakfast, comfy bed, clean and modern bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work, room looked nothing like the pictures. The lighting outside stayed on late and was shining through the room. Very old fashioned. We were also locked outside for a while when arriving back at the hotel at midnight as we could not get back inside.

    Lovely breakfast, comfy bed, clean and modern bathroom. Good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Mini 2 night break with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation dated inside and needs updating. Breakfast could be better for vegetarians and only one vegetarian option on restaurant menu in evening! Wifi connection rubbish.

    Family room good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful picturesque but bring ear plugs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in my room was insane. I could hear all the commentary from the tv in the next room which was on until 11.00pm and then back on at 6.00am! Inconsiderate guests are are not the hotels fault however the plumbing is. The fan in my bathroom was loud and the toilet was excessively noisy; the worst was the bathroom upstairs sound like a flood of water heading towards me. Looking at previous reviews it would appear the hotel are aware.

    Beautiful hotel , lovey building excellent decoration and the food I ate was good. Looks like a perfect hotel until you try to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Will return to Gretna and to the Gables
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought shower could needed upgrading. Loved the size of the bathroom. Room was nice and it was quiet. Staff very welcoming especially the young lady who served us with our evening meals.

    Lovely room. This was our 3rd visit to the Gables so we knew what to expect. We enjoyed going to Gateway and also walking down to the Solway Firth . loved the area. Went into Annan a bit disappointing. it was a wet day and there did not seem to be much to see. Will try Longtown on our next visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, but some errors let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvet cover was stained and also torn in a couple of places. Radiators did not come on in the room or bathroom - did mention this and were told heating had just been turned on but our room did not warm up. Saw staff next morning who said they would investigate this.

    Spa bath in the 4 poster room was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Rather disappointed but I would still go back...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very dissatisfied with the bacon they gave me for my breakfast, there was more fat than bacon on it, undercooked and slightly grey in colour.....cheap cuts of meat!!!! It pays to spend that bit extra on good quality bacon etc Breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day.

    The little waitress who served us was very pleasant and polite, always smiling, we remembered her from last year when we were there on honeymoon, it was her first day and she was really nervous but to see her again, she looked a natural😄

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Alright for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy bedroom, walls are very thin. Hardly any water pressure for the shower. Not a very comfortable mattress. Plumbing noises in the bathroom but did report this to reception on checking out.

    Location and easy parking. Nice breakfast room. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant surprise better than we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi let it down in our opinion or should we say the lack of it

    Just all in all a great hotel we even felt that it was worth a 4 star. Staff. location and every thing all much better than we had hoped. The breakfast was very nice with the Scottish feel to it with potato cake and haggis

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Shower facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Wine & Dine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower facility. Pressure was like a tap, which was disappointing after a 5 hour trip to arrive. Otherwise can't fault the stay. Was perfect in every other way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other people smoking in their rooms, I could smell it on the landing near my room. Children running around the bar area. Breakfast....I should have stuck with cereal and toast.

    Area, hotel, bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed out on breakfast as told was in until 10 am Arrived at 9 :32 and chef refused to make cooked breakfast as closed at 9 :30 !!!

    Good location for sights and shopping centre Staff couldn’t do enough for you and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent value for money, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room - Wine & Dine
    • Stayed 1 night

    As stated, pillows were a bit too hard.

    Good location, friendly staff, excellent food. Need to invest in some new pillows. Found them to be too hard. Otherwise, everything was really good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    There was a warmth to the place and we will certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was intended as a stopover driving south and we were very pleasantly surprised - the food excellent, the service superb, and the room very acceptable.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: