Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Galley Of Lorne Inn

Ardfern, Ardfern, PA31 8QN, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Ardfern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, cosy and welcoming hotel in a remote and spectacular...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, cosy and welcoming hotel in a remote and spectacular location. Stunning views. Great food, friendly service, great atmosphere. Dog and family friendly. We'd love to return for a longer stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fittings a little below expectations, some fixtures a little old and breaking. No big drama though as very reasobly priced.

    Very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Our weekend of peace
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to sit in the bar area alone with the dog... would have been nice to have a wee corner in the actual dining place.

    Everything was lovely... food was awesome, staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Beautiful location, so quiet and tranquil... just what the doctor ordered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    We will be back next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fresh fruit at breakfast and slight lack of staff at reception.

    Beautiful, peaceful location,friendly, helpful staff and the fact that it was dog friendly. We were here for one night on our way to Arran and it was great start to our holiday. Restaurant was busy but waitress immediately advised us of 15 minute wait for our starter so we relaxed with a nice bottle of wine and the meal was excellent. Breakfast was tasty but no fresh fruit or even tinned fruit which I missed.Abby was the only waitress on duty and had a lot to cope with but managed well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing get away :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds were right next to each other but that’s just a preference thing I guess .

    Beautiful old pub and lovely room . Steak was perfectly cooked . We will definitely be back . Would be lovely in the winter with the fires going . It was great it was dog friendly however a dog bowl or a dog bed in the room would have been a nice idea as it’s an extra £8 a night .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Awesome!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome friendly staff. The dinner and breakfast were exceptional.Totally value for money.Beautiful location, the locals who stopped in for a drink were lovely and added to our stay.Would we like to come back and stay again? A very big yes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Room was quite compact but everything in it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main bar was very dark and noisy - very busy.

    Room was quite compact but everything in it was perfect. Excellent value for money - best of 4 B and Bs we stayed in this week.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    We had an amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an amazing stay! The location is gorgeous, and the rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was delicious; the pub had live music and we spent a fun evening there. Thanks to the owner for going above and beyond and cancelling at the last minute a double-booking we made by mistake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    No meal being served the night we arrived due to staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we couldn’t eat there but was nice of host to make arrangements for us.

    No meal being served the night we arrived due to staff sickness so host booked us into the hotel down the road for a meal. Comfortable stay, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the chef hadn't turned up and so there was no food available that evening. It would have helped to know this in advance.

    Manager and staff were really good. Bed very comfortable. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old hotel with nicely upgraded rooms with good amenities. Young friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dated in many areas but still clean enough. Staff was a bit short on the ground and at times 1 young girl was covering serving breakfast and having to deal with people checking out during serving which caused delays in either capacity which was no fault of the member of staff. Evening was a bit slow in service for similar reasons. Running on a budget but if it keeps hotel open then this would not be a put off.

    Lovely hotel with lots of character with nice friendly staff. Restaurant served nice food in a relaxed setting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Hidden gem by the loch
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Architecture

    Nice little Lochside hotel down a single track road to Ardfern. Looks rather functional from the outside, but the bar and the hotel staff are great. Locals and their dogs all friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location for Scottish country break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 1 night

    4.00 is quite a late check in for travellers who may have driven all day to get there. Maybe offer earlier by prior agreement. Breakfast in bar would be better in dining room - missing out opportunity to maximise on one of their best selling points. A bit more slicker with service at breakfast would cut down the waiting time. We waited 45 minutes for hot breakfast.

    Beautiful location on shores of the loch. Manager was very efficient and tireless. Room with sea view was very clean and had everything you need - tea/coffee/tv/sofa/decent sized bathroom etc. Restaurant had great sea views and very sunny.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While we did not expect towels to be changed daily - we stayed 3 nights - it would have been nice if there were facilities in the room to dry them.

    We had a loch view from our room -Arran - which was lovely. The bed was comfy. The restaurant has a great view of the loch too and you can sit outside and have a drink. The hotel is well situated for visiting Kilmartin Glen, Crinan Canal or places around Oban.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The area is very beautiful and the hotel is cosy with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our twin room was very small.

    The area is very beautiful and the hotel is cosy with the pub and restaurant. There is a nice walking path near the village with a stunning view over the harbour and lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    This was a nice little b&b was clean. The views were exceptional
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was no one on reception on arrival, pressed the bell 3-4 times but no one came had to go into the bar to get the keys.

    Bedroom was nice, clean and warm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Location very scenic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages for someone to answer the bell at reception, had to go looking for someone! Small duvet for a double bed, nothing special about bedding. Metal soap rack by sink was rusty and dirty, very unpleasant. Shower door bottoms needed a good clean, as did the top of the electric shower unit. Large gap at bottom of door to room and curtains ineffective as so thin. Had to return my burger twice as was very rare both times. Didn’t have a main in the end. Breakfast was thankfully ok, except for poor girl serving alone and run off her feet. Wouldn’t stay again in current condition.

    Location very scenic. Old part of pub has character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, and good value, but bring your own quilt if you're staying in the twin bedded room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quilt on bed was far too small. I felt like I was sleeping under a cot quilt and although it seems a trivial thing, I'm afraid it would probably put me off staying another time.

    Beautiful place close to the sea inlet, Good value, Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Won't be going again, however nice the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst arrival at a hotel we've ever had. We felt as if we had interrupted a staff break time. Very loud music going on, perfunctory attention paid to us. Floor & tables of bar (only place we could go) were sticky. Creased, paper menus given & then not followed up, no-one at the bar so a member of the public (a regular?) had to serve us drinks.

    The restaurant and bedrooms were fine, with a lovely view. Some members of staff very nice and tried to make up for the poor experience we had on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous location on the loch banks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location on the loch banks. Good food, nice clean comfortable rooms, hospitable staff and some real characters on our side of the bar too. We can’t speak highly enough of this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    I would definitely come back 🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little closer to Oban but that is totally my fault for not checking lol. Wasn't a problem.

    Everything was adequate, was pleasantly surprised it was licensed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Location is lovely and room very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is lovely and room very clean. However...... there’s a reception area which we assumed was for checking in, but it wasn’t manned and we eventually realised we needed to go into the bar area. A simple sign stating this would be useful! What really lets this place down is the appalling breakfast and lack of staff at breakfast. All the rooms were occupied and breakfast is only served during a one hour window, so therefore it was busy. There was only one girl serving who was trying her best. I asked for decaf coffee and her reply was “it’s awful I’d just have regular”. Then I asked for the scrambled egg and smoked salmon without dill and cream. Her reply was they don’t usually bother to put it on anyway! When it arrived my scrambled egg was more like a chopped up omelette and there was no presentation at all! The toast was brought out a good 10 minutes before our hot food. Then when I wanted to check out, it was the same girl and she was busy serving breakfasts and I had to wait nearly 10 minutes. It isn’t this girls fault, but the management. They know how many are checked in and should staff the establishment accordingly. I wouldn’t recommend staying here unless you are prepared to accept a poor level of service and an abysmal breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Don't think I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from the bedroom at all - all the rooms faced away from the loch - and the food was pretty basic. Also the receptionist kept us waiting about 10-15 minutes when we wanted to check out, with frequent promises that she would come at once. Service at breakfast was very slow. The adjoining pub was full of drunks.

    The Inn is in a beautiful area and room was fairly clean. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Could have been brtt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crack in bathroom basin, very low toilet seat, towels frayed round the edges. Service in dining-room sadly lacking

    Sitting outside in nice surroundings, to have a pre-dinner drink. Comfortable bed, good mattress. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent, enjoyed previous visits but won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shambolic breakfast, staff arguing in the kitchen (loud choice language due to the chef not turning up !). Dirty cups, no milk,sugar & very poor service.. Owner appeared to explain situation then left a new starter to sort out . Tried to check out for 15 mins, no staff available. ( chatting & smoking at rear door of hotel )

    Excellent location,nice comfortable room. Lively bar. Evening meal was nice but limited choice on menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location but poor restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was a disaster. The young waitresses were friendly and apologetic and I felt sorry for them. The food took absolutely ages and when it arrived it was poor and cold. This was the same for other diners. We saw at least 2 full tables get up and leave. Apparently they have a new chef........he/she was clearly struggling. At least we didn't have to pay for dinner.

    Nice hotel in a beautiful location. Rooms were small but comfortable. Breakfast was fine. The public bar was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good choice but as I have coeliac disease couldnt eat most;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above Some of the staff werecharming especially the young women setving breakfast

    Good choice but as I have coeliac disease couldnt eat most; i had said this in special requirements but there was no acknowledgement of this: my dinner at night was inadequately cooked( i refrained from saying as perceived staff were very busy with a large booking . Likewise no gluten free bread/ cerals/ oatcakes were availablein the morning so i left hungry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.3
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was inedible, on complaining was advised new chefs, well they need another one. In all fairness we didn’t have to pay, however we had travelled couple hundred miles to stay there and due to setting no where else to eat. Towels although clean were sold they were threadbare.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.5
    OK but I felt they took a lot of money off me for not very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok but there was an annoying and dangerous loose floor tile at the foot of the toilet. The electric kettle was dangerous with a loose panel. My room wasn't made up on the second night. I missed out on two breakfasts as I left very early, on the third night they did leave me out some very nice and welcome sandwiches for which I'm grateful. I knew i would be keeping unsociable hours but little OKeffort was made to accommodate my needs. I felt it was expensive. The sandwich they made for me was very nice but I ate elsewhere with the people I was fishing with so cannot comment on the restaurant.

    The situation was delightful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    On the whole it's a great place to stay. Would definately recommend it. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Skye
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was quite small but it was comfortable ,I also think a larger duvet would be better.

    The location is fantastic. The hotel is lovely and warm and cosy. The food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    A spectacular location with a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spectacular location with a comfortable room. The bar is warm with a good selection of beer and spirits. The food in the restaurant was tasty and well prepared.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean although it would be great to have an option of king sized bed

    We really enjoy coming to this hotel and chilling out in the bar, great food and drinks beside the warm cold fire 🔥

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location peaceful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was really poor and not hot, plus the room was not warm enough in the afternoon. Pub not open until 5 pm most days 😕

    Breakfast was great, location staff was fab and views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, lovely one night stay.food fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating Light's in bathroom very poor

    Breakfast & evening meal was excellent, staff 1st Class.great setting looking onto the lake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, comfortable room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no sound proofing and I could hear the guests speaking next door until 1am on the first night, by the second night they had checked out so I had a good nights sleep.

    Location was fantastic, staff friendly and room comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant enough hotel that is in a lovely location. Reasonably priced but felt a bit 'tired'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel as a whole is a little tired feeling and could do with updating. Breakfast was not bad - although the sausage and bacon was not the best quality. The WiFi was minimal but understandable with the remote location

    Set in the beautiful venue of Ardfern - the rooms at the back of the hotel had breathtaking views (our room at the front unfortunately had a view of the grassy area at the side) The decor in the room was pleasant and modern and the bathroom was a great size. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Looking forward to going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is my most favourite hotel in the whole of the UK. The location, food, rooms, outlook, everything is perfect. Had both evening meal and breakfast at the hotel and could not fault either. The staff are most helpful and very obliging

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and relaxing place to stay,with plenty of places to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good mobile signal,not an issue for me ,but maybe for some holiday people.

    Very good selection for breakfast,bed very comfortable after a day walking,staff very friendly and helpful. Ardfern is a lovely area.Would definately return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Would return to Ardfern and stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and the accommodation was excellent. The rooms are spacious with a nice comfy bed after a long day walking. The views are stunning!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Last minute stay in a dog friendly location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, as it was a last minute booking there was only a twin room without window left, bathroom needs updating

    Friendly staff, we had dinner in the pub, good quality food, nice breakfast too plus biscuits for the dogs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with good food and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt that the decor was a little tired in places eg en suite bathroom

    Hotel needs a bit of TLC but made up for it with excellent food and attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and restful stay in a lovely little old pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and comfortable small room. We enjoyed our short time in Ardfern, a lovely little village. Good breakfast with great music playing! Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older buildings difficult to modernise. Rooms require to be decorated. "Specials" menu in the bar/restaurant of an evening did not change during our stay so were not special but standard.

    Breakfast was excellent and could set one up for the day. The setting is simply stunning. Cleaner worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room extra large bath to relax in after a long day traveling Great choice for evening meal in the restaurant which had fab views over the loch

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi but it's not the end of the world not to have it and I don't expect it in remote locations.

    Comfy beds. Very relaxed place and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Weekend Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the room was too small very little space and not able to move around, I thought the breakfast could have been better presented, I asked for a latte at breakfast and was told could only serve coffee as no training had been given on the coffee machine to make a latte and the window for breakfast between 8:30 and 9:30 was too tight, most places do breakfasts between 7:00am and 10:00am

    I liked the location of the property it was very central

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's heating came on twice a day even in June. On my first night after a gloriously sunny day (29 degrees) the room was very hot. The photos on booking.com flattered the rooms to a degree but in it's defence there is no indication when or how long ago they were taken.

    I was on a three day solo fly fishing trip. The big, well cooked Scottish breakfast set me up for a day in the hills and there was a good selection of other hot breakfasts to choose from. The bath and piping hot water was just the job on return each night. The bar staff were friendly when enjoying a beer at the end of the day. The bed was a good size and comfortable and there was a good choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the room. There was also an integrated clock/radio and iPod dock that offered good sound quality and a TV with freeview. I brought back a trout I had caught on Wednesday and the chef offered to prep and cook it for me. He did a great job and I wasn't charged for dinner that night. Top marks, chef.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Had a lovely two days at this little hotel despite the above comments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area is very dark and unwelcoming. The bedrooms need a refurbish. Some updating of decor. Carpets dirty looking.

    Loved the location. Staff extremely helpful. Nothing was a bother. Food was good and a fab breakfast. Toilets good. Plenty room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Super views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Islay
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very attentive and helpful. The breakfast staff came in to prepare an early breakfast for us so we could eat before leaving to catch our ferry from Oban. Having said that the normal breakfast time is 8.30- 9.30 so it's not a early start to the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Inn in idyllic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with sprucing up, not the cleanest ! A bit disappointed with the standard of our evening meal . Having stayed here a few times before we didn't feel that it still had the same atmosphere.

    Excellent location,comfortable room good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only slight disappointment was a poor wifi signal.

    The accommodation is discretely tucked behind this traditional inn, and is scrupulously clean, with a lovely reception area. I've known this inn since the late 1960's, and enjoyed many, many real ales and always great friendly company, but this was the first time I've stayed. Everything about the experience exceeded expectation (forgive the alliteration).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, lovely view, lovelyhotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    The room was lovely with an excellent view.Window opened fully so youcould enjoy the vieweven more. The bed was comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.0
    Just an overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water tap in hand basin did not work.No TV instructions to work satellite service which is tiresome for OS visitors. Other places stayed had this on display

    Free parking, nice views. Breakfast staff lovely. Weather great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Escape the hubbub of city life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early breakfast and check out time.

    The peace and quiet of the area, the amazing scenery , the friendliness of the staff, the fantastic food and the stunning views from the dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    lovely night stay, busy little pub, good atmosphere, comfy room, friendly team and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit chilly during the night both in the bar and the room but this did change when the heating came on in the morning.

    The room was comfy and clean, we loved the addition of hot chocolate to the hospitality tray. The team were cheerful and helpful and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Poor welcome. Dogs!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Skye
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the late entry to our room. When travelling we have no access to the Internet and as a result we did not know we were not able to check in until 4pm. By this time in winter it is dark and raining. The owner /Manager went on about going bankrupt if he had staff on reception unnecessarily. First impressions count and we were not impressed with his tardiness and attitude. We sat waiting for 40 minutes. The remainder of the staff made up for this person. What is it with dogs in the food areas abd the bedrooms? The thought of a dog sleeping on our bed the night before gave us the creeps. Work place health and safety in Australia would have a field day with this accommodation.

    The food was great. Room spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of response to telephone calls and slow response to calls for reception. View from UIST room is into dining room not across the loch as expected. No bedside table on one side of bed. Left after one night without breakfast (due to illness).

    Those staff encountered were helpful and friendly. No contact with owners... Very nice restaurant, food average.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Stunning scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Skye
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold when we arrived but we were early so it would be an unfair criticism.

    Comfortable room with huge bath! Nice haddock breakfast and smoked salmon and eggs. Good sized portions. Dinner in the public bar was excellent and well priced. Went down well with the Guinness on draft.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable, welcoming and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guests lounge spelt of mildew and damp. Dinner was far below average for the place.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The bar was welcoming and so were the staff. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    We enjoyed the scenery on the way to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night

    The member of staff having a meltdown for all to hear. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

    The food was excellent , the breakfast waitress was very helpful and pleasant. Most of the staff were very attentive. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The views from the restaurant were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    First class in all areas of Rooms / Food / Bars / Location /Service / Cleanliness / , etc.etc.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After 3 nights a small change in menu or some added 'specials' would be good (maybe too late in season though to justify this)

    Modern comforts in a 'traditional inn' setting . 1st class breakfast freshly cooked to order .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The place was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was amazing. Great views, spotless room and very good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were really friendly, excellent food and drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Skye
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    All the staff were really friendly, excellent food and drink with a really comfortable bed at the end of the night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value disappointing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked Breakfast was cold

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were lovely and really happy to help with anything and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small and WiFi wasn’t the best

    Staff were lovely and really happy to help with anything and nothing was a hassle

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    very friendly staff good food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly staff good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Not a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Arran
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mice ran across the dining room and food wasnt good. Reception area and hallways very dated.

    View of the bay was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    the location, the view, the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location, the view, the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Uist
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The atmosphere in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Lovely location, perfect stop on our whirlwind driving tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, perfect stop on our whirlwind driving tour of Scotland!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed narrowed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location on the edge of the pinitula, with a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Skye
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the food and drink a little expensive for pub, but it was nice .

    Great location on the edge of the pinitula, with a fantastic view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    will certainly return, fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Gigha
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only double beds available would have liked a larger one

    Food wad brilliant and adventurous, atmosphere, staff and location lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Very Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit on the small side and had no chairs in it

    Fabulous location and attentive staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Very nice location peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Tiree
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy good food good beer

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: