Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The White Cliffs Hotel 3 stars

The High Street, Dover, CT15 6AT, United Kingdom

#16 of 31 hotels in Dover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great in everyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy rooms, comfy beds, helpful staff, delicious breakfast. Stayed here for a wedding, was perfect. Only regret was we couldn't stay longer to take advantage of the glorious pub garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location for Dover if you don't want to stay in one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room we had was a bit on the small side but otherwise very comfortable.

    Good location for Dover if you don't want to stay in one of the chains. Excellent food. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A part of proper English hospitality 😊
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like about it

    The staff were amazing and they loveed my dog , that says it all and nothing was any problem for them place was not new but homely welcoming and grounds were beautiful Best place I’ve stayed at if your on vacation Clean and refreshing place to stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely old room, great food and the staff was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fairly overpriced, and the shower head was far too low. I’m 5’3” and it only came to my chest... I can only imagine the difficulties of a tall fella trying to shower.

    Lovely old room, great food and the staff was so accommodating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Friendly people, warm, welcoming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly people, warm, welcoming atmosphere. Good bed. The room was a bit loud, we heard everything from down the pub, but they gave us free earplugs. The pub food was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location & pet friendly hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is great, about 5 minutes to the ferry. Staff very friendly & the hotel also welcomes dogs (also in the restaurant). Altogether a good experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    It was in a great location, close to St Margaret’s Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls to the rooms were paper thin. You could hear everything in the adjacent rooms, including all the snoring from multiple rooms. Ear plugs were thoughtfully provided, but really who wants to plug their ears to get to sleep?

    It was in a great location, close to St Margaret’s Bay. The pub had character.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Tired, average double rooms, not great value. Dog friendly😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double rooms very tired and one very small, such that it was necessary to turn sideways between table and bed. Bathroom tiny with dripping taps. Shower over bath - basic. Restaurant food not great (lobster over cooked, dry) and very poor value. Better dog friendly restaurants locally. Overall I think value poor. This location is fabulous, just give the hotel a spruce and it could be amazing.

    Fabulous village location. Dog friendly which is excellent. Handy beer garden. Great walks from the door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Tired, average rooms, not great value. Dog friendly😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms very tired. Cistern issues overnight. Shower over bath - basic. Restaurant food not great (lobster over cooked, dry) and very poor value. Better dog friendly restaurants locally. Overall I think value poor. This location is fabulous, just give the hotel a spruce and it could be amazing.

    Fabulous village location. Dog friendly which is excellent. Family room had unexpected kitchenette facility which was good. Handy beer garden. Great walks from the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had dirty carpets. Black mould on grout in bathroom, shower was just an in bath type and shower head kept falling out of wall bracket , bed too soft for me but some may like it, only one chair in room and bed was tucked in a crevice so had to take turns in sitting down. for the price of 1 night ( in a superior room) would expect higher quality, Have stayed in better b+ b' s,

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Zimmer sauber.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badezimmer an vielen Stellen von Schimmel befallen. Restaurant zu teuer für die Qualität

    Zimmer sauber. Wir hatten ein kleines Häuschen wo wir viel Platz hatten. Gute private Parkingsmöglichkeiten. Frühstück gut und große Auswahl

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, convenient for Dover. Food good but that and wine was pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is a bit over-priced and wine is relatively expensive. Bed was a little small, room is in a separate building - ok because not raining but would be a pain if it was.

    Very welcoming and staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Restaurant serves a good range of food which is nicely cooked. Rooms are neat and clean. Ambience is good. Parking out front and in a separate small car park at the rear - you have to walk down the lane at the side of the hotel for access to this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Very happy with hotel,and the fabulous staff. Will recommend,and may come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very sqeaky,and made a lot of noise when we turned over,but clean,and lovely room.

    The staff are extremely helpful,and nice. Unique, pretty hotel,very clean,and will recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall pleasant overnight stop before the Dover ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double room was small - double bed against the wall- not ideal if you want to go to the bathroom in the night

    Tasty dinner , plenty of outside seating in the garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great little place to stay on our way to Dover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    Great little apartments with all mod cons!We had a really pleasant stay here.The beer garden was lovely to sit in and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    2.9
    Don't stay in room 15 Driftwood. You feel exposed due to laundry room attached to the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was in an annex connected to a laundrette and staff room with unlockable door, bathroom was downstairs next to the laundrette and bedroom was up steep stair case. Teaspoons had a thick film of dust on them as did the mugs, tray, tv remote and kettle like the room had not been unused for some time.

    Location was good for surrounding attractions. At the end of the stay the receptionist gave a £40 deduction after we hadn't been told about our pre paid breakfast and then hearing what had happened when we first arrived (staff in the laundrette chatting and then locking the door from their side when they heard my husband and I). The initial complaint/concerns made to a different member of staff were met with 'its locked so what is the problem.'

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel!! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little spare especially at night with the restaurant but it was particularly busy.

    Everything, food was great, location was lovely, room was amazing, bed very very comfy! Wish I could have stayed longer! And they are dog friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very hospitable staff, very kind and helpful. They gave us a free upgrade, dinner, breakfast and room were excellent. This is really value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful white cliffs hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some other guests children were playing very noisily in the garden during the evening and running up stairs near our room and running up against our windows.

    The staff were exceedingly friendly and professional. The hotel had a relaxed atmosphere. The food was outstanding. The chef catered for a gluten free vegetarian and food was adapted accordingly. The bar and restaurant were very well presented and comfortable. The food was served in an original way. There were many local draft beers and ciders available, Peroni and Aspalls being a favourite of ours. Lovely garden. The location was wonderful with a bus nearby and walk along the coast in each direction easy to access. Car parking was available st the hotel. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too high. The shower was poor for the price of the room. There was only one chair and not even a stool to sit on. The parking was inadequate and we had to use the public car park on the 2 nights we were there. The service at breakfast was poor on the first morning and non-existent until we were ready to leave on the second. I have stayed in this hotel many times in the past and have really enjoyed it, sadly not this time.

    As requested the room was on the ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, convenient for Dover port, top marks for staff and a good meal too.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing only - couldn't find remotes for TVs!

    We just had a one night stay. There was a slight mix up with our room and extra beds but this was immediately resolved by excellent staff. The rooms were very good and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Top marks for staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely staff but more like a 2*
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room. Tiny and boiling with none of luxuries states on website! Definitely not worth 150 per night. Would not come again.

    Staff are lovely and garden is nice. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel old and creaky with very steep stairs - no lift. Spacious but odd shaped room decorated in very dark colours - generally oppressive. Breakfast very limited - a cut fruit salad and toast.

    Staff helpful and welcoming. Bed comfy enough I was only staying overnight before taking channel tunnel - longer stay may have revealed more about the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    We stayed for one night in the four poster bedroom on 1st...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - it was everything we expected.

    We stayed for one night in the four poster bedroom on 1st July 2018, and we loved the fact there was a large bathtub in the bedroom - I must have missed this in the photos on Booking.com. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was great (even though the pressure wasn't the best, but this was clearly stated with a good reason given - it didn't bother us anyway), and the staff noticed that we were vegans just by what we ordered for breakfast and were accommodating. The (cheese-less) pizzas for dinner were some of the best we've had for a long time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Near to White Cliffs Country Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the ground floor opposite the dining room window so for privacy the curtains needed to be drawn. A noisy group of children were playing football directly in front of this window. Parking was tight.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room. We had a lovely walk along the cliffs to Dover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely family accomodation in a quaint and quiet English village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was advertised as near Dover Castle, our destination, and we believed this indicated walking distance. Not close, in a small village nearby, 8 pounds taxi ride from the port. However, beautiful village, quiet and quaint so all was well.

    The best breakfast of our trip through Switzerland, France and England. Full breakfasts, good variety, beautifully served in a 12th century dining room by lovely staff. Compliments to the chef!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little uncomfortable and warm since there were no fans.

    The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Walking distance to the beach and restaurants was a plus. The room included breakfast for the whole family which was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant and comfortable stay within easy reach of the ferry terminal. Would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues

    It was a comfortable overnight stay. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom fine. The evening meal and breakfast were to a very good standard. The car park was a little small but I was able to get a place. The staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    It was an apartment type place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from touristy attractions...

    It was an apartment type place. Two stories. Nice place if you were going to stay a while. We just spent the night, but it was great. It’s not by the castle or Dover center, so make sure you are brave and have a car or you’ll be paying for a taxi...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we found the water systern noisy at night.

    the breakfast was very good, the staff were very helpful in all area's, and very pleasant. We liked the area as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a bladt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and owner full of knowledge about how to get around. Off the beaten path we had a great time and Iwe would do it all over again. Thanks for a greate experience! Cheers!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.5
    Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too basic for the price. Location above the back door of the kitchen meant loud noises from staff dumping bottles and morning radio while the kitchen staff chatted about their previous night's activities. No comfortable chairs in the room. Bathroom with no space for toiletries and cistern dripped during the night.

    Staff friendliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The greatest place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked EVERYTHING!!

    The greatest place! Our own nice cottage and a fantastic garden. The food was the best we had on our trip both breakfast and dinner. The staff really did everything to make us feel at home. The village was really cute and the hike to the white cliffs was great! We could have stayed forever!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice little hotel for a night stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A nice little hotel for a night stay over. Breakfast was good. We had a nice dinner at the hotel after a long and tiring day visiting the White Cliffs and the Lighthouse. Hotel was a short drive away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    I'd happily recommend The White Cliffs to anyone interested in a warm and welcoming stay near Dover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel from the moment we arrived. Jess went out of her way to make us feel welcome and made many helpful suggestions about sightseeing in the local area. Our rooms were delightful and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient for Dover.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point but no shaver socket in bathroom.

    We stayed for one night before an early ferry from Dover. Very convenient for this. We received a very friendly welcome and there was no charge for our dog which was a nice surprise. This wasn’t the largest room we have stayed in but perfectly ok for one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    A Friendly Village Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I foud the stairs to the room very steep and would cause problems for people with walking difficulties.

    Staff were very friendly and willing to assist. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Over near Dover there is St. Margaret's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The could have been just a tad better, wasn't quite level but the building is very old so not unexpected.

    Beautiful little place. You could hang out in the garden all afternoon with a good book or take a nice walk to see some of the historic cottages nearby. Close to Dover. Food was great, staff treated us like locals, very sweet and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It has been a real surprise and pleasure to stay here

    The service was absolutely lovely, we had the chance to eat twice in the restaurant. The food was not too expensive and very tasty ! I would highly recommend to stay in this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely 2 nights in a family apartment. Very comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My two were probably a little too big for bunk beds, but wasn’t an issue.

    The family apartment was ideal for the 4 of us. The extra space was a bonus as we had to all get ready for a wedding. Lovely location too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issues...The shower was problematic as the hand held shower didn’t stay in the holder, I would have expected a better shower in a hotel of this caliber. Also I think fresh milk would have been preferred for tea and coffee, perhaps a small fridge could be put in the room

    The hotel was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed. The pub was amazing the food was delicious. we liked the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They only serve pizza in Sunday evenings, and the whole village has no many other choices to go for either. but if you like pizza they actually do a very good one, with sourdough and amazing tomato sauce.

    The fish dishes were amazing in the restaurant. The room was cosy and clean, very spacious. A very nice garden to chill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    It was very clean and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was on the small side and we felt it was overpriced. I think they charge these prices are there are no other hotels in the area.

    It was very clean and the bed comfortable. The main reason for our stay was to do the saxon shore walk to walmer castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this place to anyone
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think there was anything we didn't like.

    The hotel was very nice indeed and the area was beautiful, I hadn't expected that part of Kent to be so picturesque and the beaches so accessible. Dover Castle was an added bonus, a brilliant day out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, Friendly and Well Located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have had a lounge that is not part of the bar/restaurant in a hotel of that price. It is effectively a pub with rooms.

    Charming staff, warm welcome, clean room, good food, comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    friendly staff who made me a sandwhich having arrived after...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would put a multi plug by bed so can charge phone, rather than socket hidden behind bed

    friendly staff who made me a sandwhich having arrived after the kitchen closed. nice rooms and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel on a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. This is my third stay here with friends.

    Friendly efficient staff, lovely breakfast and comfortable room. I particularly would like to mention Ella who was very pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    We went to walk on the White cliffs and this was the perfect base to walk from and arrive home to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would love hotels to put a top-sheet between us and the doona cover for better temperature control. Sometimes its too warm for doona but you need some covering. I also don't understand the bath in the bedroom thing. Baths are for bathrooms. But we appreciated the upgrade.

    We loved the family atmosphere. They couldn't have done enough for us. The pub was the centre of the village life that saturday night, it was nice to be part of it. The food was delicious. The dinner outstanding. I had the most scrumptious potato dumpling dish. And breakfast generous and home-cooked. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if some of the staff did not wear heavy healed shoes which make a very irritating noise as the clomp around the wooden floor of the restaurant!

    We have stayed there before and enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant, which is very good. It is close to the beach and Dover for onward travel to France

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as website, very small, bed against wall, room too hot, could not turn radiator off, window didn’t open properly, shower curtain too short n flooded bathroom, shower head blocked, tiles peeling off, cracked tile, cold tap on basin loose, toilet cistern loose n clanked when flushing, pipes rattled when another rooms ran their taps, bad soundproofing, thin doors.

    Food was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location but noisy and a bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Creaky floorboards and ceiling above very noisy when occupants walking around. There were complimentary earplugs in the bathroom. U forunately the toilet cystern kept driping after flushing.

    Very clean, big fluffy white towels, fab location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique pub hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't suit someone with restricted mobility since its an old building without elevator.

    Lovely pub with great food. Rooms comfortable and nicely decorated. Nice toiletries and linen. Would stay again and can definitely recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff was excellent and the food Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom faucets were broken so couldn't have a hot shower. Musty smell in the room were a bit off putting. Room was lacking the clean feeling.

    Staff was excellent and the food Amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for relaxing and eating delicious food away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One window didn't close properly, so we had to put a pillow to stop the cold coming in.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, they use high-quality brand for tea, toiletries, bedding was awesome, the staff was very friendly, restaurant was tasty and uses ethically sourced ingredientes (therefore it is a bit pricey)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    The food was like amazing, not even kidding and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t the best..feeling like rolling of it any minute, and the walls are super thin.

    The food was like amazing, not even kidding and they restaurant was plesent, quite romantic can say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Traditional style hotel in great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was terrible. Difficult to get a signal in our room or in the restaurant.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great to see the White Cliffs. Beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.0
    We have stayed several times before, this was the first time not staying in the main hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was extremely noisy, with plumbing issues and adjoining rooms. Now realise why there were ear plugs left in the bathroom.

    The staff were very attentive, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Characterful and quality village hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sleep too well as there was a woman with a piercing laugh somewhere in the building, someone walking around on the floor above our room at 3am and a boiler or tumble dryer or something outside which ran intermittently for periods of 15 minutes through the night.

    Lovely village setting. Historic property. Beautiful fixtures and furnishings. Comfortable bar with board games and reasonable prices. Nice bed linen and toiletries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay, there to explore the area on foot so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed made noise with every move Thin walls, noise from neighbouring rooms Would have liked a couple of coat hooks + shelves/drawers for smaller items Bathroom ok, but ....... a little dated Bouillabaise served on cold plate therefore lukewarm more or less on arrival Coffee not good Bread (for toast) dry and white sliced (brown not real brown bread) Access to room in annex somewhat dodgy at night owing to parked vehicles blocking path

    It was nice and clean and the staff were friendly Nice and warm in room (not restaurant) Attractive building(s) and site Good location Good parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    quility stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the weather :-)

    For a traveling sales rep great location for southern Kent, good Wi-Fi staff very friendly and helpful excellent menu very reasonable and wow what a breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a more powerful shower, without variable temperature.

    Very comfortable, a warm welcome and excellent dinner and breakfast. I share the concern to be environmentally sustainable, but other guests may want to be aware that this means no power shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Friendly welcome, great location, lovely food .... Five star!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Parking was easy, location was lovely. Staff were welcoming and really made us feel at home. After a long walk we returned dripping wet with a soggy dog wrapped in a towel and toasted in front of the log burner in the bar until all dry and warmed through. Dinner was EXCELLENT, possibly the best Steak I have ever had!!! Bedroom was a little noisy as we were over the bar BUT we drifted off to sleep soon enough. We were really sorry to miss breakfast based on the excellent dinner BUT our daughter caught an earlier ferry...maybe next time :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    I highly recommend this place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I highly recommend this place. It was recommended to me and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are comfortable and individually decorated to a very high standard. The bar and dining area is great and the menu is interesting and cooked beautifully. Breakfast cooked to order which is always a bonus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    The very attentive staff, the excellent bar which is a free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very attentive staff, the excellent bar which is a free house, the restaurant design and effort put into local Ingredients. In the winter it's very snug with fireplaces

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    A perfect night for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our rooms were lovely spacious beautifully decorated. Comfortable beds crisp sheets. Loved the ambience. Staff were so helpful and friendly. Want to go back one day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather!

    Love the coastal decor, the atmosphere, the village location. Friendly family owners. Efficient and well run. Excellent breakfast - locally-sourced produce. Stayed or eaten here several times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was very good and we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better access for wheelchairs would be helpful.

    The staff went out of their way to help with our disabled daughter. The food in the restaurant was top quality. We hope to return and have recommended the hotel to friends

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Won’t stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to get an evening meal at the hotel as they had a Christmas party booked! No mention of this When booked and for the price this shouldn’t have happened

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely lovely lovely... great impression of the little village and surrounding area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly, casual warm atmosphere and welcoming after long trip... Food was great (and of course the kid menu was appreciated). Service was fast at first but then the dining area filled up and was difficult to get waitress to return... but understandable given the timing of the other guests arrival.. Overall we would recommend for certain to other families.. nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Good cosy hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath did not have a switch to turn from shower to bath and the shower was over the bath and not great. The walls are thin and you could hear people talking in the next room. The food was expensive and portions small.

    Attractive room with a comfortable bed and courtesy tray. There was a warm welcome and a cosy atmosphere in restaurant area.The village is a gem and there is a 2 mile walk to the beach where you can see the White Cliffs and the house which Noel Coward and later Ian Fleming lived in. The climb back up the hill is very steep but you can park near the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Great quiet location close to the white cliffs with top bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a more modern / effective shower head in the bathroom as the one fitted was dated and the towel hooks on the back of the door were broken but small details that can be easily fixed and no big deal.

    Nice quiet location good ambience and great bar and restaurant. Plenty of parking too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    A great short stopover location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lack of warm from the staff and not enough attention to customer service. It's nice to be asked on check out whether we had a good stay. Restaurant also rather overpriced. Lacks the personal touch here.

    Clean and beautifully presented rooms and pub. The food here is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    It was comfortable enough
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name: we were expecting to see white cliffs, if only a glimpse No choices for gluten- or dairy free for evening meal, and the only thing I could ear for breakfast was fruit. We had to re position the TV as we could not see it from the bed

    The full English was good, I also liked the plate it was served on. The breakfast room was very tastefully done and I liked the general decor of the hotel. The waitress was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely old hotel in a perfect location for see the White Cliffs of Dover and St. Margaret's Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't remember really remember anything. The hotel wasn't blow-your-mind-amazing or anything, but it was charming and perfect for a quiet spot to hike around the white cliffs of Dover.

    The hotel was extremely nice, with ample parking (in the back, FYI). The room was very large, much bigger than I'd expected, with great privacy (for our room). The hotel staff were very helpful and laid back - the whole stay was relaxing. The best, of course, was the location - it's an easy walk down to the St. Margaret's Cliffs beach, which has stunning Dover cliffs. The walk back was not as easy. (-; We walked from the hotel to Dover Castle along the national park, literally at the very edge of the Dover Cliffs, which took about an hour or so, and was simply spectacular, period. If you want to see the White Cliffs and/or Dover Castle (you definitely should see it), stay here rather than in Dover, which isn't within a light year as nice or relaxing. Oh, and the beer selection in the bar at the hotel was fantastic. (:

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    A delightful and really charming place. Wonder whether it's loud in summer and till when as the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist not offering a senior a helping hand or at least an umbrella.

    The bed was heavenly as was the down spread which I thought I would not need. It was cosiness to the last 's'. It poured with rain almost all the way down to Dover and on arrival the heaven emptied. A helping hand to get to my room would have been great and then I'd have been in the mood for supper. Being drenched I merely wanted a cup of tea and shower. Shall definitely revisit to get that walk down to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: