Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Gatehouse Hotel 3 stars

799 Old Norwich Rd, Ipswich, IP1 6LH, United Kingdom

#18 of 27 hotels in Ipswich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to reception was littered with weeds and paths uncared for- very poor first impression. Bathroom radiator paint chipped. Dank smell in bathroom .

    Original building very attractive. Room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike!

    The hotel was lovely, simple and set in beautiful surroundings. The staff were fantastic and the food was superb. Really unexpected gem, literally looked for the most cost effective room for one night and this was top of the list, have previously been using Premier Inn and a couple of other independent hotels in the area. This one blew them out of the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one staff on all the time and she had to do everything, check people in and serve customers at the bar and restaurant, need more staff , also i had steak for dinner asked for salad to go with it, the salad dressing was horrible and smelt really bad which made the whole meal a disaster so i did not eat it :(

    the staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower lacked oomph. Parking can be restrictive if people don't park with consideration

    Quiet location even though near A14. Quaint wooden panels gave an old world feel. Bedroom was huge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and a number of steps to negotiate to reach our room. The shower was inside quite a tall bath which was a challenge getting in and out safely.

    There was plentiful parking and the hotel, though easy to find, was in a quieter part of the town centre. Staff were attentive particularly in the restaurant where we had a nice meal from a reasonable choice. The room was large and lightl and we had a reasonably comfortable night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a big issue. Arrived at Hotel late but expected there to be night staff. The car park at the back had large security lights on which tended to blind one. I went round to main door at front of Hotel and everywhere was in darkness. No one answered the bell and no sign on door advising who to contact etc. (safety issue here) . Went round to back and couldnt see any entrance . tried to find Hotel number on my phone but couldnt find it on the website. Ended up sleeping in my car all night. Freezing cold and very uncomfortable. Manageress in the morning was pleasant and apologetic but I still had to pay and the reply: " Well the reception door round the side was open and there is a sign on the wall ", is not sufficient. She also said that there was a phone number for the Hotel and the night porter (who wasnt in the building) would have been able to help. 1, signs in the car park pointing to reception door would be helpful as it is round the back of the building through a narrow entrance. 2. A notice on the main door at the front giving instructions - even a contact number would help. 3. When booking a room, you have to leave a mobile phone number as well as card details. Funny how your card details can be used to pay but nobody wants to contact you to see if you are on your way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 9 near reception had paper thin walls. Could hear everything the man in the room above was saying on his phone to his partner. Bathroom incredably narrow and bed was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap bottle still very soapy on the outside possibly from the last user. Soap bottle probably not cleaned after last use.

    Everything. Feels like a traditional b&b.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Boy racers in local car park until midnight, very noisy. Oven chips and onion rings with my £13 steak and no salad.

    Place its self is cracking, staff cracking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to reception and the entrance from the car park. My sleep was disturbed through the night with talking from reception and the door banging shut. This is not an appropriate place for a hotel room!

    Breakfast is fantastic at this location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and food selection at breakfast was particularly poor. Arriving to be told “you can’t have dinner because the chef has gone home” wasn’t the most professional way of putting it and a 24hr room service menu is advertised but not provided

    Reception staff in particular were friendly and helpful- were able to move my bookings with no issues. Room was large and comfortable. Bathroom was great, especially a nice deep bath(bring your own toiletries)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My son's single room small, poorly lit and below Best Western's normal standard. Little to no public sitting area - bar only had 2 tables and 4 chairs at a push. This was the only sitting area.

    food good; staff friendly; our room sparse but acceptable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My son had a single room - small and dull. There was virtually no public sitting area - bar was small and this was the only sitting area

    Friendly staff; comfortable room; good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    The hotel and staff 10/10 could not fault them what so ever, however the hotel is not situated in a great place and nothing to do near by. The room number (2) had everything you could need, the food and service exceptional i thoroughly enjoyed my visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere to sit outside. I appreciate it was February and freezing cold, but a bench would have been welcome.

    Lovely old house with many period features. Staff are welcoming and friendly. The grounds are lovely and the setting is pretty quiet, right on the edge of Ipswich, but close to main traffic routes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little lumpy and creaky Shower head poor-more a drizzle than a proper shower.

    Very quiet V.G staff service on entry/exit and in restaurant V.G. value deal via Booking.com and hotel very helpful in changing date due to husbands illness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows were very draughty, and small crack in wash basin in bathroom

    When we arrived the receptionist was friendly and welcoming as were all the staff. Breakfast was good, room good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner; I had Chicken Mesala and my wife Pasta. The base for the sauces for both, seemed to be from tomatoe soup. The taste was very simular!

    Great period property with character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no ventilation. Smelt of paint. No windows could be opened except bathroom window which opened to kitchen staff entrance so very noisy. Light in hallway to room was a light switch so dark and hazard. Should have passive sensor for the light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite was a bit small, but fine for 1 night stay.

    Good value, welcoming and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and the location was convenient and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is rather warm in the Hotel and the window is not very easy to open en close.

    As the company visiting has this Hotel as their standard accommodation it was near the office. The front room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key didn’t work on returning to hotel in the early morning after a party staff took 20min to answer request for access to room slept in chair as the bed made so much noise creaking at every movement when staff were told in the morning indifferent response

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our twin bedded room had the tiniest shower room with the smallest sink. Really unacceptable for £69.00 without breakfast a night. Very disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with updating, but it was certainly clean and adequate for our requirements.

    We had a very comfortable night and a lovely breakfast served to us by a particularly friendly member of staff. We had a lovely stay. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Room 11, it was by the exit fire door the staff use to leave the building to the car park. All we heard and felt was the door slamming each time it was open and it kept us awake until the early hours of the morning. The shower room was in need of a complete make over and came with its own mouse trap! The pillows were rock hard. The light from the corridor shown around between the door and the frame. We believe Best Western was a cut above the other chain hotel but not in this case. The whole building felt very tired.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some time ago I stayed with Best Western quite a lot and I was travelling more I accumulated a lot of loyalty points. For a period I did not use this chain and when I asked about using the points I was told that they had expired. Loyalty only goes one way with Best Western......

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would say was, we got back to the hotel at 10.35 & went to the bar to get a drink, we thought it opened till 11pm, we felt we were a bit of a trouble for ordering a drink.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast was ridiculously overpriced, the wifi was appalling, the heater did not turn down so the room was boiling.

    It was close to Sutton Hoo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs separate lounge for guests to relax in , for the price of room bottled water and better selection of toiletries should be included and carpet needs updating in bedroom 1 and some ornaments to make room have a better feel as very stark and bigger bar area .

    Large room , comfy bed , nice bathroom . Nice bar and restaurant, great food . friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were a bit springy - could do with being updated.

    Room was basic but really clean. Staff very friendly. Food was absolutely brilliant - Fine dining dinners on two nights were truly brilliant and breakfast was freshly cooked and really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carlsberg could’ve been a little more chilled

    Nice and quiet, The staff were excellent, especially Summer and Beverley, would stay again without doubt,very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't very comfy, the bathroom was tiny and as a large person, I struggled to fit. The room was also quite dated.

    Only slept here, didn't eat as we were meeting with friends. Otherwise very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can honestly say that it would be difficult to find fault with this Hotel... we booked for one night and ended booking an extra night as so nice.

    The Hotel is fantastic, full of character and so clean, all the staff very friendly and helpful, a total pleasure staying there and the most amazing grounds to walk around, some amazing old fruit and chestnut trees. The rooms were comfortable,clean and everything worked as well as all the TV channels. The food was excellent and the cutlery nice and clean. I CANNOT FAULT THIS HOTEL..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage space for longer stay customers a double wardrobe & chest of drawers would of surfised and made the stay more comfortable + a king size bed.

    Location was good Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was above the kitchen so it was a little noisy in the morning but I didn't get up til 8.30 so I think that was bound to happen.

    Beautiful property, felt more like a bnb as was quite small but without the nosey owners wanting to know your every move.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    False and misleading hotel literature. Very uncomfortable bed. Poor plumbing and shabby bathroom. Poor food. Inaccurate menu. Shower hose too short and had to squat to get under. Mixer taps meant water would get suddenly hot when other taps were used.

    Good staff, easy parking, large room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot fault this hotel ...

    The staff were wonderful ,helpful,polite and generally nice people to speak to. I am totally happy with the clean ,comfortable bedroom and bathroom ( and i am quite picky ), the bed was a delight to sleep in, and the food was fresh and wonderfully cooked. So pleased i stayed there(even booked extra night) and will stay there whenever i am in the area.. I rate this hotel above and beyond top ratings .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens would benefit from a little attention.

    We really liked this hotel. The restaurant was superb for both breakfast and very special evening meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor boards above our room were a bit squeaky, so a bit of an alarm call in the morning. We may have arrived later than most people that day so may have had one of the last rooms available, near the kitchen.

    The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bed was comfy enabling a good nights sleep. The kitchen staff seemed happy in their work, singing while they work. The building had character and seemed homely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the pillows a bit hard, which I didn't mention as there's not much that can be done for a single night.

    Easy to get to as close to the A14 (but without much traffic noise). We stayed here in order to ensure timely attendance at the Crematorium for a funeral. The staff were attentive, catering for six for dinner including a diabetic who couldn't cope with much delay in food arriving. And there was a table set up for six for breakfast in the morning, which was thoughtful. The food was good value, and breakfast was a great start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given an unattractive standard room when delux room booked. Changed when I complained but without apology. Needs some TLC - Ugly energy saving lightbulbs and laminated signs etc. Best Western could do with sorting this one out.

    Lovely Georgian property and room - eventually. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Very nice staff, excellent quiet location and easy to find, interesting old hotel with good facilities and first-rate meals. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was fine but the room my Mum slept in was a bit smelly!and she said the mattress smelr like ir had age old tobacco smoke in impregnated in it. I booked for her and she is registered blind so she can't respond.

    The garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel dining room lacked a bit of atmosphere but the setting was lovely - they could make more of the garden.

    Room was newly done, large and very clean and had all facilities. The staff were very friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast started at 8am, which was a tad late for me as I'd have preferred to eat and leave a little earlier.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely location & grounds; clean and tidy. I would have liked the room lighting to be brighter and a more powerful shower. Other than that, breakfast was great and they even offered me use of a room to get changed after I had to return as I'd left a polo shirt behind in the room. Very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the room - Room 9 - between Reception and the road outside. The shower room was very very small. We have previously stayed in other rooms which were very very good but maybe because we booked late this was the only room available. In future we will check which room is available and judge whether we will book as we visit Family on a regular basis in Needham Market.

    The power shower, cleaning service and tea/coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sink was tiny so very difficult to fill the kettle up! Choice of tea and coffee, but would have liked hot chocolate or herb teas, too. Also, only one toilet roll provided.

    The dinner was delicious. We opted for the bar menu as the restaurant menu was a bit pricey. Good sized portions. Peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals in Restaurant would have been more enjoyable had there been more choice. Also fixed menu price resulted in paying same price for both mushroom rissotto and seabass - bizarre. Food quality was 1st Class.

    Quiet and staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With beautiful grounds and fantastic weather it was a great disappointment that there were no benches or seats of any kind to sit on and enjoy the peace.There were two pub type tables with bench attached that were about to disintegrate- that was all!!

    Every single staff member was excellent and this really helped to make for a very happy stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View would have liked view over garden.

    Breakfast lovely, fan in the room and used, clean shower single room but plenty of space. Would recommend.Garden really nice to walk around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on memory foam bed

    Positioned in a quiet road with good access to Ipswich by-pass. Traditional small hotel with very friendly staff. Restaurant food very good as was breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bathroom was very modern and had just been recently refurbished there were no toiletries (shower gel and shampoo) provided. Our room (105) was on the small side.

    Nice garden, bar. Quiet surroundings. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely garden which could attract more people if they had more tables and chairs and maybe offered BBQ's (there was only 1 picnic bench with peeling paint) . Think they are missing an opportunity as I believe the hotel is set in 3 acres. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the shower the water pressure could of been a bit stronger but this is just nit picking. The hotel was excite over all and the staff went out of there way to help you.

    We had a nice large room were we stopped, hotel was in a quite area nice grounds and the location was ideal as we were visiting family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like was the noise of the shower in an adjoining room just as we were going to bed, but it didn't last for long, otherwise everything else was very good.

    The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the shower didn't close properly and the shower floor is so slippy I slipped and hurt myself. Or that we could hear cars coming in and out off the car park and people shouting right outside our room

    That the room was big and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It as a disabled bathroom and therefore a little odd. BUT completely acceptable.

    Walk-in shower (I have a broken bone in my foot and find climbing into a bath very difficult.)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was poor. I asked steak medium rare it was well done. There was a large party for dinner who took priority I felt I was an inconvenience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cold upon arrival, however easily fixed via a small heater to warm up the room (note: I get cold very easily and this could just by my feeling of cold, but hotel quickly found a solution)

    Warm welcome and very accommodating team

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    The room was ideal, on the ground floor, as my wife was in a wheelchair. The breakfast and the evening meal were superb, and the price reasonable. The staff were friendly and helpful - especially manager Thom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really small, we were opposite the reception so was woken up early by the phone ringing and people talking. We was only given 2 pillows between 2 of us and one towel.

    The staff were so friendly and welcoming especially the young man who worked the evening of 4/3/2017. He was polite, helpful and happily served us drinks while we sat in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit hard for us as we are used to a medium mattress although we did sleep through the night. Also extra milk and biscuits for a morning cup of tea for two would have been appreciated, although I am sure if we had spoken to reception they would have provided these.

    The room was excellent - large, space for hanging clothes and drawers, bath/shower with room to place toiletries. Staff very polite. We did not have breakfast as had to leave early so cannot comment on the food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids bedmaking skills could have been better!

    Beds were comfortable, our room was very roomy and clean overlooking garden. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9 is extremely small. Too small to be classed as a double. Backed up by the fact that there was only one cup in the room and 2nd set of towels were in wardrobe. Bathroom too small to swing a cat in. Sitting on the loo somewhat precarious due to boiling hot radiator!

    Bed was comfortable if very small. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses a bit less comfortable than I expected but okay. I did sleep well however! Driving in and out of the car park was a bit dangerous as there is no clear view.

    Staff were lovely. They made a fuss of my granddaughter. Good breakfast. Very clean and a very quiet and restful location. We had a very good room on the ground floor (disabled).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could find no faults and had such a wonderful time.

    Staff were wonderful, polite and ever so helpful. Room was spacious and had everything needed. Breakfast was amazing and lots of it :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was small with two tables and a total of 4 chairs

    The staff were very good although in some areas it was obvious that they were new starters. Food was excellent, well prepared with accurate portions for each course.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was awful, hard with springs coming through the mattress. Dinner was in a cramped bar and after placing order for a burger was told they had run out! No amenities for water in the room. Very, very disappointed and uncomfortable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically asked for a quiet room but I was disturbed by the kitchen staff right outside my bathroom window and other guests on the cobbled path outside my bedroom window.

    The excellent location close to main road but further enough away not to hear traffic noise. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came downstairs at 10am just as breakfast should have finished but the staff sat us down and cooked a wonderful breakfast for us both without any hesitation. Brilliant service all morning and the young blonde girl who was your front of house was very happy and couldn't be more helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived quite late and retired soon after to watch tv. Finally went to sleep but had a very uncomfortable night . found out in the morning that the bed Base was broken and therefore struggled to sleep sound all night. WHO EVER MADE THAT BED THAT MORNING WOULD HAVE KNOW THE BASE WAS BROKEN AND THAT IS DISAPPOINTING.

    staff and location ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I really had to be critical it would just be a request for extra shelving in the bathroom to place toiletries on.

    Staff were excellent. Hotel tranquil and bedroom relaxing and spacious - lovely view from our room over the rear of the hotel. Would have preferred a bath but Sam the receptionist advised there are rooms available with baths and so we will book this next time. Did not sample breakfast as we had to leave early a.m.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being in the twin rooms downstairs some people arrived late so lots of talking and laughing mostly coming from the girl on the desk.

    Beds was very comfy we were in the downstairs twin rooms. Beverley thank you, very professional, we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable , hard and broken . Not sound proof could hear other guests and staff late at Night and in the morning . The wind rattled the windows all night so had no sleep . Not value for money for a delux room

    The hotel looked nice . Nice decor ,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty outside, greeted by a receptionist who didnt know where our room was . menus in room advertising lunch but when we tried to order it there was no one there to make it completely ridiculous for a hotel . Also apple juice at breakfast was so watered down it tasted like apple flavour water and the orange was a cheap bitter concentrate. Won't stay here again.

    Lovely room if not a bit chilly and bathroom needs updating staff very pleasant when they are around,nice breakfast apart from juice.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Gatehouse Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: