Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The General Tarleton 5 stars

Ferrensby, Knaresborough, HG5 0PZ, United Kingdom

#6 of 12 hotels in Knaresborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second visit as we were really impressed by our first visit. Rooms are lovely, the cocktail lounge is gorgeous and the staff are very attentive. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind.

    The comfort level of the room is excellent. The staff were right on the ball, all working hard to make the hotel run smoothly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not really anything to dislike about this place as it does what it says on the tin. If we had to be picky maybe a little update to the bedrooms.

    This is classed as ‘restaurant with rooms’ a description which sums up the General Tarleton exactly as its food including breakfast has to be its flagship. The rooms are also very comfortable and so therefore will definitely return when next in the area which we hope will not be too long.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was basic didn’t fit into cover properly bedside lights ridiculous to tall light shone in your eyes Couldn’t figure out the lighting turn one on the others went off ? Petit Chablis nearly £40 silly price

    The food was excellent Easy parking lots of space Lovely old building lots of character

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! It was all good!

    It is several years since I was last able to visit The General Tarleton so I was delighted to find that its standards are even better than now than when I was last there. In all respects it was a terrific experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to visit the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Could not fault anything. The best hotel we have stayed in for a long while. The room was great. comfortable, clean and very cosy. Breakfast was first class and we ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. The staff are friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them. A great little find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The automatic off switch for the bathroom light was on very short timer. I had a bath and had to keep waving every so often! Minor issue!

    The food was really good. We enjoyed our evening meal very much and a lovely touch at breakfast was the yoghurt and compote pots

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness. Shower had mould which could be wiped off easily. Duvet cover had a small blob of foundation on it. Floor covered in bits - needed hoovering.

    Food excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear the chap next door. I was more worried about the noises I would make to disturb him though. but, I would not say this was negative. And, I would not expect to have anything done to rectify it. magnetic door holder which releases when the fire alarm sounds would be good when trying to get your bags through the door.

    The temperature in the bedroom. sometimes with premier/holiday inns etc they are either a) too hot b) too cold. yours was spot on. the comfort of the bed. the relaxed atmosphere. my bag was taken to my room. the welcome letter. the food the log fire. My eyesight is poor though - and therefore the tv was a bit small. but, I listened to my audio book and enjoyed that. nice for a change to not watch tv. I can see why my colleagues practically live at your hotel. I will stay again. As it is one of the few hotels I felt relaxed after leaving.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The difficult-to-use shower (only a very minor issue).

    + The tasty food: we ate at the restaurant every night (not our original intention). + The helpful and friendly staff. + The smart and cosy décor. + The freshly baked biscuits every morning. + The convenience of its location: close to many wonderful places to visit (Harrogate, Ripon, York, Leeds, etc.). + The discounted rate via Booking.com.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets in the restaurant were cold but thats just a niggle my partner had

    The food was amazing thats some good chef they have, rooms were great and very clean and the staff were very polite, i would definitely recommend this hotel to others

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t say didn’t like, but we did struggle with the lamps in the bedroom? The stand lamp was either on with the main lights or off ?

    From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome, every area was relaxing and beautifully decorated. The rooms were relaxing and the little extras on the tea tray & fresh milk were very thoughtful. The food served was of very good quality & presented beautifully.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not book a table for dinner at the time of original booking, and on the night were placed in the glass-roofed atrium, which, with outside temperatures close to freezing, was chilly.

    The general atmosphere was welcoming, the staff was prompt in attending to us, the food was delicious, the portions generous, and the bedroom both comfortable and well heated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent shower and hot water, cracked handbasin, some hair in the corners of the bathroom floor. Toilet rolls should be unused. No baked beans at breakfast.

    Warm welcome, comfortable bed, big car park, quiet, drinks and homemade cookies, fresh milk and bottled water in the room. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit juices and locally sourced produce.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn’t very good - too low and could not be made higher as it was underneath a boxed in section. I could not stand underneath it. Corridor to room a bit unwelcoming and could do with an update.

    Room was tastefully decorated as was the restaurant. It was nice to enjoy drinks in the residents lounge area after our evening in Harrogate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited bus service from Knaresborough at weekend so better if you have your own transport; however staff were very helpful in arranging a taxi back to the railway station for us.

    Clean, warm, very comfortable accommodation. Friendly and helpful but unintrusive staff. Separate, relaxing residents' lounge a real bonus. Would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well renovated. Friendly reception. Excellent food if a bit pricy, as was the wine. Best croissants since I was last in France. Close to great golf club.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, particularly the bathroom could have been cleaner. The food was expensive and too fancy for those on business. The TV in the room was very small and not many options. More of a tourist hotel than suitable for business use.

    The decor and ambience of the hotel were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very impersonal, no conversation with any staff, seating inrestaurant did not allow conversation. Only two staff on duty, one Frenchman with virtually no English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask and wait for the wine list at Supper, my Guest asked for relish with his main course which arrived too late, no tissues in the box in my room, it was empty, I asked for toast at breakfast, it never arrived - lots of small items, which, collectively become an issue. I was not made to feel welcome when arriving for my table on the second evening - the Staff member was rude and off hand - I felt embarrassed so cancelled the table.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant is superb! The staff are friendly and welcoming (and remembered us from a previous stay). Quality of breakfast items, ie bacon, home made preserves is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of our room lower floor noise from above & car park deliveries etc

    Quality of food, extra touches like fresh milk & homemade biscuits available to residents.Great staff.location of our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed very stiff and formal, I appreciate that some may find this desirable On Friday night went to find the bar at 10.30. found the entire public area in near darkness

    Most facilities were good,excellent breakfast and breakfast staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of a bottle of ''house wine'' was expensive, £4,50 from Tesco to near £30 at the hotel was surprising.

    No facilities at all within walking distance, but this can be perceived as a benefit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice but a little tired looking especially the bathroom and the shower wasn't very powerful. Also at night the room was sooooooooooo warm, I couldn't get to sleep it was so warm. It was a warm day in August but still it was unbearable, could do with some AC in the rooms. Also didn't like the fact you had to use a proper key to unlock/lock the doors. I woke up in the night thinking where did I leave the key in case of a fire!

    Overrall we had an enjoyable stay, the hotel is super easy to find and in a great location for exploring Knaresborough and Harrogate. Staff friendly and the rooms had nice homemade oaty cookies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower over the bath was a bit low and not ideal for people with reduced mobility.would have been nice to have a flannel provided

    The service,the decor,food was good and imaginitive.excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a limited choice for breakfast. Small selection of cereals and poor offering of fruit.

    Evening meals in the restaurant are of a high standard. The food quality is good, nicely presented and an interesting menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or lounge area just to sit and relax, outside is an option but not in the cold weather. No draft cider and limited bottles if that's your choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location means that if you want to eat elsewhere you have to drive but Harrogate and Knaresborough are both nearby.

    Attention to detail, every detail was thought through. Food was delicious and all the staff cheerful and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more entertainment e.g a pool table.

    The staff, the cleanliness, the layout, the chef aka the dude, comfy, the rooms all good. The milk and biscuits (homemade).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except one morning my cooked breakfast came before I had finished my fruit/cereal part of breakfast so eggs went bit cold but that is being picky, all very good otherwise, I just didn't order my cooked breakfast until finished first bit next day and worked perfectly.

    Very friendly staff, very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Very comfortable room, clean, food fantastic, lovely ambience. Would stay again should I need to stay in area again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difference in sizes of meals - salad as a main was small whilst hamburger was large

    Attention to detail; helpfulness and friendliness of staff; very tasty meals

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only served until 9.30 am on a Sunday !!! As the evening meal had been fantastic we were a little disappointed with the lack of choice of fruit , yoghurts ect but cooked breakfast was tasty.

    Food in the restaurant for our evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu a little limited for me as I don't eat red meat but the salmon I chose was lovely.

    Helpful friendly staff. Lovely comfortable room and furnishings. Great food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight downfall was I would have liked to have received a full breakdown of prices i.e drinks and food etc on the bill rather than just the total.

    Beautifully presented hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Outstanding food, lovely service and good value for money! Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had noisy neighbours and the bedroom was very poorly sound-insulated resulting in a very bad night's sleep. For the money, I would have expected a better standard of construction. The receptionist admitted that they were aware of this problem - in which case potential guests should be warned or the price should be reduced. The quality was not commensurate with the price charged.

    The restaurant and nice touches like home-made biscuits in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing

    Everything was excellent. Our only criticism was that at dinner the place I sat in opposite my wife and I've no idea what number it was but I was sitting in my own shadow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome, smart décor throughout & very comfortable room. Nice touch to have the option of fresh milk with tea in the room. Excellent dinner, the rhubarb tasting plate was sublime. Breakfast every bit as good & service at both friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe soft closing bedroom doors. some guest very noisy when late night going to room.

    location, room, plenty of parking space, five star food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisey floorboards from upstairs and not very soundproof- I could hear someone snoring in the room above!

    The room was very comfortable with good facilities and lovely food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes.

    Quiet, pretty rural village location, with great proximity to the A1(M). This is more a restaurant with rooms rather than a pub. Pleasant customer service. Atmospheric bar area (which they kept open for five of us until 01.00). Large car park. Ground floor rooms have 5 foot beds and some overlook the car park. Good hospitality tray with homemade biscuits. Cooked breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. Great value too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was poor. Slow to take orders. Incorrect desert. Not given choice of eggs on first morning and no egg on breakfast on second morning!!

    Accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A longish wait for breakfast- was lovely when it arrived but there could have been more than the one breakfast waiter - he was rushed off his feet but doing everything he could with a full dining room

    The whole place is beautifully presented and very relaxing-good food and pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lounge was a little cold, despite having a log burner and the bedrooms were definitely chilly even with the radiator thermostat on full.

    Staff very attentive and food was absolutely amazing and tailored to suit my diet requirements, which was fantastic. Couldn't fault this!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from us not booking an extra night there

    1st class staff brilliant with every aspect of the stay from their knowledge of the menu to the available drinks can not fault anything will be back soon .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 8 was nicely decorated and clean, slightly on the small side with a tiny TV, the problem with this room was the noise, we could hear everything, people up and down the corridor, cars coming and going during the night and every noise from next door, where unfortunately the lady had a cough and had us awake all night. I have never slept before in such a room that has paper thin walls and for £150 we felt slightly ripped off, even though the breakfast was spot on. We left the hotel the next morning and could not wait to get home and have a few hours in bed.

    The restaurant was amazing, the staff where so accommodating and the food was fabulous, we where slightly disappointed that we where unable to sit in the lounge for pre drinks due to a private party and where told we could sit in reception, but unfortunately there was no available seats. After standing at the bar for 15 minutes we asked if it would be possible to have our table early, which was not a problem. The food was exceptional and we ordered from the specials board, the staff where very friendly and helpful with our choice in ordering. Afterwards the lounge was available and we where able to continue the evening in a beautiful cosy environment with a roaring fire and candles lit everywhere. This topped off a fantastic evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at dinner was quite slow & at breakfast the next morning it was terrible - took nearly half an hour for anyone to take our order (for breakfast - not complex!) & then another 20 minutes for our food to come!

    The food was absolutely delicious & the nice touches in the room (molten brown toiletries & biscuits were great!)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of food was excellent brilliant imaginative menu obviously a great chef. Rooms spacious and comfortable with high quality bedding .Staff helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with lovely extra touches like the homemade cookies. The food was delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. We have stayed before and will return again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the components for it being a great hotel and a great experience were there but the execution failed at every point. It was like there was no one in control at any point and it all felt a little faulty towers. We had to ask for everything service wise, eggs were not cooked, no glasses at breakfast, no milk in the milk fridge etc.. etc... The lady whom we checked out with dealt with feedback well and did give a discount but it was more just a general disspointment with the whole thing.

    The food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for little added extra Noise travelled easily between walls No Atmosphere in bar/restaurant Continental Breakfast awful

    Comfortable bed Dinner menu good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service wasn't great. Absolutely no information available on wine list so based my choice on a wine magazine I was carrying. Unfortunately.

    The best Kir Royal we've had outside of France. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was really very nice.

    The staff were very helpful nothing was to much for them. The food was really nicely cooked and the presentation was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The food was brilliant as was the accommodation staff and the special touches like hand made biscuits fresh milk etc just fab x

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure. Shower stopped completely at one point. Poached eggs at breakfast were hard and cold.

    Room comfort. Decor excellent. Food superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on bathroom floor, only needs to be vacuumed up and a little more attentive dusting in the bed room and it would of been perfect.

    Wonderful friendly staff, extremely comfy bed, superb breakfast, have to make another reservation soon and wouldn't hesitate in going back to this hotel great place to be hopefully we can stay longer next time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly uncomfortable mattress

    We made a mistake with our booking and arrived a week early but the general manager found rooms for us and was super helpful. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Friendly staff all round.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole place needs soundproofing, I was woken constantly by people in the room above , it sounded as if they had hob nail boots on. The bathroom vent fans were very noisy, and the room I was in was near machines that constantly made an annoying noise. I was also woken up by a delivery truck at approx 5.30 am I think a Wellocks truck. that parked along side the ground floor room.

    Location was fine for my work, Staff were very pleasant, menu was not too my liking, when I did eat I thought the food pricey .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not well soundproofed.

    Really nicely decorated hotel and restaurant which is obviously a popular place to eat. Breakfast was lovely. Handy location for our travels.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room didn't work and although £50 was knocked off the room, the price of the room we paid was expensive for a room without a shower. Breakfast service was poor, clearly not enough staff and tables left with dirty plates and cups on etc. better value for money in other similar establishments

    Food fabulous, service at dinner great. Lounge and restaurant very nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with modern, comfortable rooms which were spotlessly clean. Food was fabulous ... the best sticky toffee pudding ever ! Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend the General Tarleton, and hope to return soon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound from other rooms was noticeable, but this was only for a short time and from about 11pm was very quiet.

    Really nice place to stay. Food was excellent, room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals weren't great for either of us. Steak was overcooked, Diane sauce tasted very strongly of garlic . The salmon was pretty tasteless. Bill was reduced to satisfaction.

    Lovely setting. Relaxing atmosphere.Very polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd definitely recommend staying here. A very friendly welcome awaits you. Staff are very courteous. Food is excellent. Rooms nicely furnished and bed comfy. .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One suggestion if staying again would book room on upper floor

    Pleasant welcome from receptionist.All restaurant staff pleasant and helpful.Enjoyed dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one item - the TV was far too small for the room

    We were made very welcome by the owner and the two ladies working in the restaurant where we had a really good dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit remote

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the staff the food the ambience everything perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing!!

    A really lovely pub/hotel. The room was superb and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The food was exceptional!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had limited buffet and this was not restocked for later arrivals.

    Size of room. Quality of evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could heard every noise from other rooms, someone snoring next door and people walking about in the room above

    Food is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both the hotel accommodation and restaurant were excellent. Staff were friendly and very professional. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the products in the bathroom and the general decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a little 'tired'

    Food was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: