Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George

79 High Street, Desborough, NN14 2NB, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Desborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room in a pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't serve food in the evening so it was a case of going to one of the few nearby restaurants to eat. The wifi information in the room was almost correct but the connection was poor. I found an alternative router with a similar name and used the same password to access a better signal.

    The George is a pub with good beer and friendly staff. I arrived very early due to a cancelled meeting and I was still able to check-in. Lunchtime menu was varied and reasonable value for money. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. You could also choose a smaller breakfast if you wished.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    A one off trip so unlikely to return within a short time but would recomend as a place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available over the weekend period THR ROOM A little tired but serviceable TV at end of it's useful life (colour blotching) No desk or table to sit at to read write or eat

    friendly staff well cooked & presented English breakfast fast service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Good, but shame we couldn't get anything to eat without going out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't order food or breakfast because landlady had gone away for bank holiday!! Very noisy outside, as although this was detailed on booking info.

    Lady who met us was brilliant, helped organise taxi and gave useful advice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable clean accommodation in a well placed spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can be quite noisy because of the location but the value of accommodation out weighs the negatives.

    Comfortable clean accommodation in a well placed spot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable if you have a limited budget and equally limited expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room overlooked outdoor smoking area, which on a bank holiday weekend Friday was very busy and noisy until 2am closing. There was no breakfast option as the owner was apparently absent and the UHT milk in the room was gone off. At 10.10am we was asked by the cleaner who knocked the door what time we were leaving as she was looking at her watch, not really encouraging any repeat business!

    Room clean, spacious and bed reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Delighted
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night

    Fab little overnight stop, en route to Exeter. Easy to find, parking close by, lovely big room, great home cooking. The staff were very attentive, which is much appreciated when a sole traveller. Expectations exceeded on everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money - what you pay is what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy outside which we were warned about on the website. We stayed on a Wednesday so it wasn’t really too bad. Bed rocked every time my husband turned over but I slept ok.

    Having read previous reviews I wasn’t sure what to expect, however the room was clean, well stocked with tea and coffee and was fine for a one night stay. It was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unfortunate that the website does not tell you on Sundays the pub has Open Mike. This means loud music until 11pm. Luckily I put the tv on and fell asleep with that covering the music from below.

    Very clean, lovely village, separate entrance and code from the pub customers. Felt safe and secure. Comfy bed and clean ensuite. Large window and fan provided in hot weather.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    Stay at Desborough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That room overlooked beer garden, where regulars drank until early hours of the morning. As U P V C windows were warped and didn't shut properly, our sleep was disturbed because of their loud behaviour and road traffic noise.

    Staff were friendly and the lady cooked a great value for money breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great fish n chip shop up the road... Very friendly stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reflecting on the amount we payed for a week at the George it was fairly good value but would pay more if it was renovated as the room is really in need of a good makeover. We must have picked the hottest week in July to visit and although with the window wide open and a small fan blowing it was a very hot room.

    We were visiting family and friends around Northants so we wanted somewhere central. We had a good size room with a double bed which was comfortable and clean, a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee.The room got very hot but did have a fan to cool us down, no hairdryer. The bathroom was old with carpet on the floor , and there was nowhere to put your towels or clothes . We had a good breakfast with plenty of beverage. The George / b' b we thought was very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    the location in the heart of Desborough, the room was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location in the heart of Desborough, the room was comfortable and very clean. quick check-in/check out,friendly owner, off-street parking. The pub had excellent cask ales.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The George is a great place to stay if you are visiting the area. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Having stayed before I knew what to expect. Main points, I was able to keep my bicycle in my room. The shower was great. The provision of coffee/biscuits was good. It is located in a small town/village and has a variety of eating places. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Take a fan if it's hot but great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fans in the room would have been great as with the heat you had to have the window open which meant you got the noise and the smell from the smoking area outside. Even with the window open the rooms were far too hot which meant sleep was elusive. Even with the heat I will stay here again.

    Staff were amazing so friendly . Room was a good size for a single. Separate access to the rooms was a big bonus. Breakfast was great for the price .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    The room, and public areas were clean, staff were friendly,...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from pub garden, and road. Wouldn’t be a problem if bedroom window was shut, but we had very hot weather. Luckily had taken earplugs.

    The room, and public areas were clean, staff were friendly, and the cooked breakfast is huge and excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for a local wedding and it was ideal. Can’t complain really. We didn’t stay for breakfast so I cannot comment on the food on this occasion. If you have an event in the area this is the ideal place to stay for the night.

    Great place to stay. Lovely village pub. Accommodation above the pub but far enough away not to be noisy with the pub staying open late into the early hours. Cheap and cheerful I would describe it. Comfy bed. Good size room with bathroom of adequate size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.5
    A complete nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment I walked in, i wanted to leave. It was an absolutely disgusting pub full of drunks and people smoking like chimneys. Imagine your worst nightmare of pub environment and a bedroom above it well that was this. I paid for two nights and I left after one. I left some of my clothes there but I couldn’t bare to go and get them. Once more they advertise free Wi-fi and it didn’t even work. Room was disgusting and the floor was filthy!

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff good vfm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff good vfm. I was on a cycling tour and it met my needs perfectly. It’s basic pub accommodation and doesn’t pretend to be something it’s not. Good breakfast to start your day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay - will use again when in the area.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I forgot my hairdryer and there was not one in the room - though I'm sure if I'd asked they would have found me one.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. My husband had a problem with the wifi in the room but the landlady went the extra mile to help sort it out - it was due to thunderstorms. The room was large and comfortable, and the water was good and hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Very basic pub accommodation at a good price, definitely no frills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room. Pub is a typical small town drinkers pub which would not suit those looking for a quiet nook.

    Friendly landlady. Good value. Some good eateries nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    a very pleasant overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv in the room is very high up had a job to see it.

    The room was neat and tidy the evening meal was excellent couldnt eat it all the staff couldnt be more helpful . i usually book the travelodge when i go down south but this is better i will book again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient, well priced place to stay attached to a pub with...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient, well priced place to stay attached to a pub with good ale so suited me very well. Scores based on limited interactions other than check in and leaving the key in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Like being back in 1984!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My mattress was completely shot, if you got within a foot of the edge of the bed it collapsed and tipped you out! The pub is licenced until 2am and the smokers stand below your bedroom and are very loud until around 1.30am, this was a Friday night. Breakfast didn't start early enough for us to use.

    Price and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Great, being a native Desborian, I always enjoy coming home to Desborough,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access to the rooms up a steep stairway with just concrete steps was a bit troublesome for my wife who has problems with her feet.

    The English breakfast was very good, however, we did notice that there was no cereal offered, maybe this was because we had not booked for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was noisy, well into the small hours, and starting again about 05.00hrs. The shower head is covered in black mould. There is no breakfast menu. So it's "full English" or a lengthy discussion as to what you may be able to have. At £6.75 it's a scandalous overcharge. Talking of overcharges, I was short changed at breakfast until I pointed out the shortfall. Also overcharged for two pints of beer on the first evening. Didn't bother with breakfast the next morning, left early.

    Leaving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a good size with nice ensuite shower, toilet and washing facilities. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Everyone very helpful and friendly. Room well heated on what was a very cold night outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The rooms are basic but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are basic but clean. Could do with modernisation. Mattress in room 3 is very soft, I prefer a firm mattress and the quilts are barely wider than the bed. Windows are not double glazed so traffic noise and pub patron noise could be an issue. However it is in the middle of town so I suppose I had to expect it to be noisy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom didn't get very warm because the radiators needed bleeding. We did say the room was not very warm. I didn't think they made televisions so small any more.

    Bed was comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful. Breakfast ,although it is purchased separately was very good, well cooked and hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Dodgy and not confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is up a dodgy pub, very noisy, and terribly 80's looking. No food in the evening and around the pub crapy take aways only.

    Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night time and unable to get out in morning due to locked & alarmed? Awoke staff to find out another door to leave. This would be fine if I had been informed of this?

    Wifi, tea & coffee in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a one night stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a nit pick, but there was a step outside the bedroom door which we stumbled over.

    The friendly family atmosphere and generous hospitality tray -- plenty of milk !! Also, for my wife - the proximity to the Lingerie outlet shop in Desborough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    cheap and cheerful,, slept well
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    double booking had to leave early but the owner was apologetic kitchen closed due to renovation but walking distance from other restaurants and close to a greasy spoon with had great breakfasts.

    nice and quite easy commute to market Harborough comfy room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    thoroughly enjoyable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if there was a down side at all it was only there were no rooms on ground level

    the Landlady and staff were extremely kind and helpful, i had a single room which was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Noisy and unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked the street and was above the bar area with a loud TV (football match) and equally loud customers, plus rowdy groups in the street until 3am waiting for taxis. The thin stud walls between the guest rooms also meant that I was subjected to hearing the neighbouring guests unpleasant toilet visits several times throughout the night. Very little sleep and definitely will not be staying there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    3.8
    Not returning there again would never recommend anyone to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No disabled parking, tiny car park already full with patrons of the pub, told on arrival to use staff parking space only to be moaned at in the morning. Tiny showers poor cleanliness in the rooms. Not enough towels or even a towel rail

    Beds were comfy, check out process was easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    for what i paid it did all i wanted, its a pub so expect a little noise friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    possible larger duvet that hangs over bed, may be double glazing if you are a light sleeper,

    family friendly pub, pool table, sky sports, private a cases, if pub closed on your return late, good little town, lots of places to eat, good beer, and clean. what else do you need. and very friendly locals . and very good price. plenty of parking in car park up the street if pub car park full. and free. only get small fish and chips, at desbrough fish shop you will never eat large, i have never seen a larger haddock served in a take away fish shop in my life, it out faced my 15 year old son and he can eat. if you are going to rocking ham race way ideal place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    A very nice value for money hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I only had breakfast during my stay which was excellent and plentiful, prepared and served with a smile by friendly staff, a very nice start to my day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The George is a good value for money Bed and Breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited to a first come basis, so need to be in a good position if you want to leave early as you might get blocked in. I chose this B&B because it was lively in the evening but some might not like it so be prepared for late music.

    The George is a good value for money bed and Breakfast. The rooms are very nice. The bar downstairs has a good friendly atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Good pub with cheap basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet only covered the top of the single bed, no overhang, wasn't an issue as it was a hot night but would be a problem if cold. Breakfast is extra.

    Comfortable room with a good atmosphere in the bar, great location with free but limited for space parking, good wi-fi connection. Didn't eat there as the kitchen closed early but kebeb shop and chippy next door with a co-op over the road that has a cash machine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.0
    It was convienient to stay at this pub for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A good makeover would go down well

    We did not eat at the George did not look good. The bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was not that clean dust on tiles the shower did not work properly must be 20 years old and cold be de scaled, door handle missing on sink unit. Wardrobe falling apart. The bed was not made all week and not changed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    The George review
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly bar staff and and landlady plenty of places to go and get something to eat fish and chip shops kebabs shops Chinese Indian was a very good location co-op just up the road

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Quite noisy in the morning internal doors banging. Nice comfy bed, I had a good nights sleep.

    Friendly welcome, clean room fit for purpose

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Cheap, cheerful but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy due to it being a pub and tables outside under our window with people talking and laughing until past midnight.

    Cheap accommodation, clean bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    No airs and graces good value for money you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its only a very small thing if I had to be petty is that I would of liked a better matress but as I have stated it was only for one night.

    I liked it all as the noise was expected as it was informed to us on booking. It is good value for money and was what was required a bed, washing facilities and a good breakfast what more could one want for a one night stop over. The owner was very nice and friendly as were the rest of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Overall, it was exactly what I needed and expected.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website warned about the noise late into the night, but it is a pub after all and the price reflected the circumstances very well. If you don't want noise, pay more!

    The place was clean and that is always an indication of the overall standard. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Generous room size (for a single) with en-suite, great for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Park needed bay lines to stop one car taking space of two No soap was provided TV was "secured" with zip-ties, and hadn't been cleaned in months Inconsistent Wi-Fi connection

    Generous room size (for a single) with en-suite, great for the price Shower gel was provided Never heard much noise from the pub downstairs (on a Saturday night)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.2
    The rooms were freezing cold so was the shower needs...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were freezing cold so was the shower needs updating or turning on the central heating more often never on at night or in the mornings it was absolutely freezing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff really friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got very little sleep due to noisy inconsiderate guests. Then was awakened at 4am by guest in next bedroom vomiting. Walls very thin and could hear EVERYTHING. Not the hotel if you want a quiet and relaxing time.

    Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Good location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in bathroom or sink, towel heater was rusty & needs repainting & made to bathroom look a bit grubby, There were stains on the bottom of the divan near the floorwhich a valance would have covered.

    Nice room, comfy beds, quiet for a pub on a saturday night - had no trouble sleeping, good provision of tea & coffee, pleasant landlady, towels & bedding clean, shower nice & warm & bathroom was well ventilated. Close to public transport,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find. Big room. Good night's sleep, comfy bed and pillows. No problem with noise even though Saturday night stay. Option of small vs large breakfast. Opted for small which was plenty and tasty. Friendly landlord and landlady. Plentiful supplies for hot drinks in room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Good B&B for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the windows in the bathroom were in need of a good squirt of mould and mildew! The actual town is very poorly serviced, the other pub is closed and for sale. There are several eateries but all but one were takeaways. People were eating Chinese food in the bar from local takeaway.

    The room was spacious enough but only had hangers for clothes, no wardrobe. We were only staying one night as we were going onward next day. The shower was ok and hot water spray was reasonable. The bed was very comfortable and bedding was nice. TV had a good selection of stations. The room could be accessed from the beer garden as you were given a key for the entry door together with your bedroom key, so it was easier to enter if you did not wish to go through the bar. There was no noise on the night we stayed except for workmen leaving after breakfast via side door next morning which needed slamming without the key. I think there were several workmen staying. The pub was very friendly and locals were pleasant and chatty. There was plenty of parking. We did not have breakfast, this was extra. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Facilities wee basic but well maintained, clean and adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were very steep. There is a late licence on weekends when things can get quite noisy downstairs in the pub until 2.30 am but you could sleep through that.

    Facilities wee basic but well maintained, clean and adequate. The bed was very comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was prepared individually for you and of good standard quality. The general impression was of a very well run establishment which had not been corporatized.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.8
    A bit more effort and it could be a first class establishment.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not work. A bit tricky apparently, it would have been good to know that when I arrived, not when I was leaving. There was a piece of old kebab on the floor at the side of the bed.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location - large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was quite limited. The mattress wasn't particularly comfy. A member of staff was very rude to us in the morning, this ruined our experience. The member of staff apologised to us and explained her reasons for her attitude/ manner, however this was completely uncalled for and should have been handled differently!

    We arrived in the early evening and the bar staff took us to our room, very friendly and helpful. Great value for money and ideal for a stop over on our way to an event locally. The location was great, close to lovely restaurants and a local supermarket. The room was very large, the bath was deep. Clean, warm and secure room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    3.3
    Appalling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I stayed 2 nights, first night woken at 1am to 2am with next door TV blaring. 2nd night, got no sleep whatsoever, next door partying. I got up 3 times to ask them to be quiet, then called the police because there was no one around or answering phones in the hotel. After raising a complaint I got a call from the hotel 'cleaner' who told me the landlady would call the next day - she didn't, I called her, she didn't believe what I was saying and was very rude when I asked for a refund! I eventually got one night refunded. Will never go back and would not recommend, just terrible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    I checked in about 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in about 1.30pm. Said that I was there to rest and would probably be asleep the whole time. I was tired, stressed and unwell so just wanted to get away for a night to rest. I went straight to bed. At about 5pm I heard my door handle rattle and a woman say 'this is you room'! No one on landing when I got up to look. At 1.30am after a horrendous night of loud music, my room obviously directly above the pub, someone tried to get into my room so I shouted that it was occupied and they went away. At 2am the pub shut and I spent 45 more minutes listening to a crowd of drunken people shouting under my window until they finally left. I was woken then at 6.15am by voices in the next room discussing that the man had tried to get in my room by mistake. I left more exhausted than I was so didn't get a break at all. The room basic, but at the price I paid I got what I expected. I didn't consider that the rooms would be right above the pub or that it would be open until 2am. Never again though.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    Cheap, and cheerful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap, and cheerful. Does what it says on the tin. Would I stay again-yes, for business. It's not a weekend away place. I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, a friendly pub. A small town so limited other places to eat.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Good Location, good value for money, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like drains, the price included breakfast when I went down for it at 7am I got told by staff the machines weren't on so I couldn't have any.

    Good Location, good value for money, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.4
    Clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom Shower had dark markings on ceeling stopped serving food at 6pm not much car parking had to park on street window did not lock shut

    Clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit lumpy

    Great breakfast,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Good cheap band b
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good cheap band b

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pub with a great atmosphere, beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great breakfast, good location for my work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is very small.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, good location for my work.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    This is a friendly pub with friendly staff and customers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    This is a friendly pub with friendly staff and customers. The accomodation is basic, but comfortable and excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Football on TV😀

    The room was large with comfy bed. Nice pint in the bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Nice and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean! Friendly staff Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay, good clean rooms but more than 5 hours sleep on Friday and Saturday is doubtful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy, particularly at the weekend

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too noicy

    not much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Good little pub friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room directly above pubs smoking area so bit noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Overnight in Desborough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff nice clean rooms great value B&b with an excellent breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC, no refrigerator, no glass in room.

    Th building aspect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    All the rest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was a bit smelly but clean

    All the rest. Very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit loud early on

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    This is the best value accommodation in the Kettering/Corby area in the £40/night range.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at this price. Excellent value for money.

    Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    good location, very cheap and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con but I didn't expect that in an English pub at the price I paid

    very very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    DISSAPOINTED OVERALL BUT DUE TO NOISE WOLD NOT STAY AGAIN
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE NOISE LEVEL FROM 6PM TO 2 AM VERY BAD SCREAMING SHOUTING COULD NOT SLEEP

    STAFF FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: