Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George & Dragon Inn

Hall Street, Long Melford, Sudbury, CO10 9JA, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 hotels in Sudbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, carpet was dirty, I was a lone woman and the room was on the ground floor on the high street. The WiFi did not work, the breakfast room was dirty and grubby, the lady who served me was pleasant but the cutlery was dirty, the plates were filthy and I left without eating a thing. Shame, it’s a beautiful village but this pub is not in keeping with its surroundings.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm during the night so will be taking a fan to use next time.

    A Brilliant place to stay all staff where friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfect and the room was lovely. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit loud outside or downstairs on Saturday evening.

    I like cleanliness in the room and bathroom, rustic feel in the room, full English breakfast, attitude of owners of the hotel especially welcome attitude of Greek lady (manager) Anastasia, beauty of the surroundings, kettle with tea and free water in the room, and finally good quality of the bed itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music until 2am not very pleasant

    Beautiful little town with a few bars and restaurants plus Antique Shops. Have stayed before in long Melford and always very enjoyable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the room not being in the actual building because it made me feel a little unsafe..

    The beds were super comfy! The bathroom was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable but very overheated, weather was also very warm. Next time would book room at rear of building, due to traffic noise

    Good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, near to shops and eateries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The greeting we received was poor. The rooms which we had were extremely old and dated and in dire need of refurbishment. Myself and my partner had paid for a superior double as I am 6 months pregnant and thought this would give us a better quality room. This wasn’t the case. The room was above a garage at the back of the property, it was dirty, old fashioned and was very disappointing. The shower and bath was terrible, nothing new/ modern about it, and my friends double room was of the same quality. There was no full length mirror, the hair dryer was terrible, no where near a mirror and you couldn’t get any WiFi. We were told by the man who showed us our room it was due for a complete refurbishment soon...not really what you want to hear when your staying somewhere for 2 nights and you have travelled 4.5 hours to get somewhere. The noise from the pub was also very frustrating in the rooms, with live music/ karaoke on until midnight/ 12.30 on Friday and Saturday nights which doesn’t give you a restful / relaxing stay at all. We were also advised that this pub was the only place in the town who did fresh home made food and that everywhere did microwave meals, but upon seeing our room we decided to wander in to the town and found numerous venues to eat at which were not microwaveable meals and of a superior quality. Generally very unhappy and would not recommend this venue to anyone. The only good thing was the location.

    The breakfast was the best part of the whole stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the person who checked myself in forgot that I was at reception (he actually said this and didn't apologies) also the lights didn't work when i returned to my room but I mentioned it to another member of staff they were apologetic and it was quickly sorted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *** In our room the Central Heating unit was broken and awaiting repair - the small electric wall mounted heater did not heat the room - they supplied a small floor heater that was very noisy - Bathroom so cold. *** The bed mattress was a standard double and you can feel the springs - needs replacing. *** The curtains and carpet are tired *** Being a Hotel we were woken at midnight by the drunks returning from the bar to their rooms with no regard for other guests. *** Entryway to room and room smelt of stale cigarette smoke

    Staff were friendly and understanding WiFi was great Good car parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy room. Door in pub below our room banging every minute till after midnight. Cobwebs like you've never seen before on the bedroom ceiling.

    Not much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    seemed unable to turn the thermostatic radiator down at night hence it was very warm. it would be an improvement to have a little more shelf room in the bathroom for toiletries etc. shower screen over bath was not very efficient as anti splash thus bathroom floor got very wet.

    a great breakfast, very frindly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we booked in a very pleasant girl said that she would find out when breakfast was served: despite the advertisement in the brochure that it was available from 8-10 she took advice and informed us that it would be served at 8.30am. We accepted this as the rider was given that the management reserve the right to change the time. We found that our room was directly over extremely loud karaoke music continuing until after 12 – so loud that the TV was drowned out despite being turned to the highest volume. We could not sleep even after the music stopped, as there was a commotion outside – someone being arrested; the room was stiflingly hot and there was no way to regulate the heat: we looked at opening the window but there was no catch on the sash and when we lifted the lower section the frame pulled away from the glass – clearly it would break if forced any further. Also there was an emergency light above the door which came on and off, and flickered, all through the night. In addition, as minor problems, the internet did not work (had been turned off?) and two lights did not work. The next morning we came down at 8.30 to find everywhere in darkness. We walked the whole way round the building and looked in all windows on the ground floor, finding no sign of life. The door to the bedrooms was on a latch – we were advised on booking in that we should ensure we had our key if we came out to the yard as this door was always locked and should not be left on the latch for security reasons. This door leads to a small lobby where the door to the pub/reception was locked. There is also a mortice locked exterior door which was wide open. The hotel Guest Information states that there is always a member of staff available from 7am – 11pm and that a member of staff is always on the premises overnight ‘for your security’. Clearly, this is not the case. We phoned the hotel number several times with no response. Finally, at 8.

    Pleasant girl at reception on entry.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head too big to support shower so had to hold it to stand under it. Road was a bit noisy , but not enough to keep us awake.

    Cosy and old fashioned. Old pub with character. Easy to find. Free parking. Made us a reasonable breakfast even though kitchen closed for maintenance. Was opposite a brilliant Indian restaurant. The Melford Tandoori. Close to a couple of brilliant antique shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and not cleaned properly. The shower did not work properly and needs redecorating as very poor standard. Beds were very uncomfortable and basic. The room was not cleaned properly. The breakfast room was not cleaned from the night before and had plastic table cloths. Basic breakfast. Rude management.

    Nothing apart from the location of the town and parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors to rooms could have handles lower down to help young children open them

    Very friendly staff. Had 2 interconnected rooms which was ideal for kids.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head reported not working properly apologies excepted.

    The proprietor staff entertainment food nothing is too much trouble would stay again thankyou

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom light switch needs to be a pull cord inside the bathroom. Otherwise the light disturbs the sleeper in the left-hand bed.

    Lovely food, lovely staff, brilliant location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television reception and the radio on the tele. and the beds and pillows could do with a look at.

    the beds were not comfortable neither were the pillows. Television reception non existant and the radio was nil.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. I felt like I needed to be in traction for a week. The room was dirty, the wallpaper was hanging off the walls, I was very disappointed with the whole experience and would never stay there again and would tell anyone NOT to stay there, there was no parking for residence and had to leave my car on the main road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above but the main issue was the standard of cleanliness and the condition of the room.

    This place was awful. Whilst the location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful, the standard of the room was horrendous. The room was noisy; the front door opened straight onto a busy high street and there was no sound proofing. On top of that the noise from the kareoke went on until 1am. The state of the room was bad. Damp, with no way of getting fresh air into the room. The room was filthy. Mould in the bathroom where the shower had broken and been badly repaired. A leaking radiator had ruined the carpet in the bedroom. The room was filthy with thick dust everywhere. The bed was very uncomfortable and my bed had a dip in the middle. The staff were friendly though and it was in a good location. The room was a letdown and a total disappointment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No music in the music pub

    Bedroom was adjacent to pub therefore was lovely and quiet. Bedroom was large and beautifully clean and well presented. Friendly staff and excellent vegetarian breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Great English breakfast. Very comfy rooms. Very lively pub with live music. We had not expected the music, which was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snug chairs in the bar would have been nice. They had a few in the pool table room, so we sat in there. We did mention this to the owner, which they fully understood. They are apparently going to have a complete refurbishment.

    The breakfast was delicious and very filling, kept us going till the evening. The beds were very comfy. Most of all the staff were so lovely. It was hard to say goodbye.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stray cat outside which wasn't aloud in so we felt sorry for it but it was fed by the staff. The restaurant menu could have had more variation. There was a false alarm fire alarm, which we responded to but were not given much instruction about whether we could go back in or not.

    The staff were very friendly and the service was good. Their was live music 2 nights per week which was really good. It had a nice atmosphere and the staff were helpful.. we would definitely come again. It was in a very nice interesting area with antique shops on the same street which was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told the room was due for refurbishment, but that shouldn't prevent the place from being clean. One bed had no bedside cabinet or light, difficult to read or have a cup of tea. At £89 it was much too expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like having to sign an A4 sheet of penalty clauses which included a financial penalty before being given my room key, I didn't expect to be in an out building, the room was cold and I had to request that the heating be put on. The room, its ground floor entrance way and the stairs to the room had not been vacuumed in some time, nor had the floor to the bathroom been cleaned. I found in the morning that the hand basin hot tap worked intermittently.

    The bed was comfortable, the room large and quirky, the bathroom was large. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had music until 4am, extremely noisy. Breakfast was booked for 7am no staff were there and no breakfast arrived. We left at 8am still no staff anywhere , will not be staying there again!

    The rooms were adequate for a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I booked a room for 2 Adults and a child. Only to be told there was a £20 supplement to make up a sofa bed. The Ryanair of the hotel industry.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was tired and TV didn't work but they are about to refurbish so this should change. The traffic was quite heavy and noisy some nights.

    Friendly chatty owner. Pretty village and lots to see in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked two rooms for a business trip. Rooms were not up to scratch and one room was far from clean and my colleague was woken up at 4am by a constant stream of lorries up and down the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty - bathroom floor not clean and carpet not hovered. Powercut all night and shower not working in morning

    Location close to the place I wanted to be. Charming pub in pretty village. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work, decor tired, had to pay upfront ( some 4 months before stay) Pricey for what it was, but cashing in on the area.

    Nice staff, good service friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, tea stains on wall, dirty towels, broken shower cubical, broken sink unit, wall paper peeling off wall, mound. And worse ... no hot water , cold shower in the morning . No comments from management . Also, found a guy in our room, who was 'testing the water'. Presumed staff, but did not introduce themselves.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hadn't be cleaned properly. ..It had a smell of smoke and dirty cups ...The toilet bath and basin was clean however bath taps didn't work properly..... dirty walls, cob weds in the lamp shades and dirty marks and mould on the walls....would have complained if the staff had asked how are stay was....We just won't return.....doesn't deserve the 4.5 out 5 from trip adviser

    The property was in a good location for what we needed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were disgusting,looked as if they hadnt been cleaned for quite some time.The beds were very tired and uncomfortable(though i do believe they were clean sheets on the beds)the Room smelt of stale cigarette smoke.stains on the carpets.Not worth £139

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money we paid, you can't really complain about anything. But if i'm being picky, breakfast wasn't the greatest, but certainly do not let that put you off, I've had worst in many more expensive places.

    Room was in a separate building next door, loads of room and away from any noise from the pub. Great location for exploring the surrounding historic towns and villages. Very good price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The George and Dragon is very reasonably priced and the facilities reflect that. It is a bit tired in terms of decor and facilities but it does the job. It appears to be a pub with rooms rather than a hotel/restaurant so visitors should build that into their expectations. There was a fair bit of noise from adjacent rooms - the walls are a bit thin. The TV in my room was very small and the remote control was chained to the bedside table - surely a telltale sign! I could not get the water to run hot in the morning but that was probably just me being thick. I was booked in for two nights but only stayed for one - not their fault but I was most unwell as so went home early.

    I had one evening meal in the pub during my stay which was very nice. The bed was very firm which I like. Breakfast was very good. It was clean but tired.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road, the room was right next to the pub and they had a rock band on which you could hear through the walls. There was a draft through the door as this was not fitted properly. TV was extremely small. We arrived for breakfast half hour prior to it closing and we was forgotten, and had to say something before we got served.

    The room was clean and it was reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful accommodation: noise from the road, passers by, and live music on a Friday and Saturday night next door. No double glazing and the door to bedroom opened directly onto the street. Scruffy, old fashioned bedroom, uncomfortable lumpy beds and when we complained the manager was rude, unhelpful and refused to either move us to a quieter room or give us a refund. I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs and hotels in this area and this was definitely the worst. In the end we packed up and booked into a nice hotel in the next village. We lost our money but it was worth it to get a good nights sleep and to get away from it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was worst i have stayed in. Very dusty, especially under bed,toilet dirty & ran all night.curtains all torn. Bed uncomfortable &pillows seen better days. Owner not very helpful.very tired room. Shouldn't be on your website. Totally waste of money. Came back more tired than when i went away.

    There is nothing i like about this venue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not the picture we saw on the internet and it was odd the have a fireplace next to the bed.

    The room was separate from the pub. Bathroom was clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel the room could do with a bit more attention to comfort.

    Felt the room was a bit dated. Hard pillows. Breakfast and staff lovely. Great entertainment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the child hadn't filtered through. So we were given a bigger room than planned at first as the air bed wouldn't of fitted as room was small. It was 3rd time lucky with the air bed as previous 2 went flat. They were lovely about the whole thing but wasn't ideal my daughter being on an air bed. That took the edge off it all being excellent 😬

    The staff member called Sia was amazing and was really lovely. Great location and yummy breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stewed tea at breakfast. In a flask already made. Cheap sauce. Disgusting I went to the coop and brought my own. Dirty plastic table cloths. Bottled water in room seal had been broken on one bottle-refilled? Very poor. No bath mat for tiled bathroom floor.

    Large towels and comfy clean bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two of the three mornings when we arrived in the dining room for breakfast, the staff seemed surprised to see us. However, breakfast was quickly organised.

    Very helpful staff. The room was warm and comfortable. Although on the main road, during the night it was very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location of room was right on top of abusy road and very noisy outside at nightwith people shouting and talkingright outside thewindow very late at night.Also the heating was turned off too early and room very cold during the night and in the morning when changing for a weddingwe had come to attend

    Staff very friendly breakfast very good bed very comfortable, room pleasant but very cold when heating turned off,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very cold and when I booked through booking.com I wasn't aware that there was entertainment both nights till very late luckily my child is a heavy sleeper and slept through it all

    The staff the friendliness of everyone the space in the rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were two families meeting up for a day out and overnighter. The staff were very friendly. Food d came out promptly. They were happy to mix and match a few items from different menus and gave my Son extra Christmas crackers. The owners are Greek therefore very welcoming of children. They even gave him a Christmas gift of a soft toy and chocolates.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in our room in the morning, so we had to sit from 6am-8.30 in our coats, able to see our breath, until we could go for breakfast. There was a thin wooden door separating the room from outside so it was incredibly cold. There was a staircase leading into the room with a sheer drop on three sides, so we had to guard our toddler from falling at all times. The manager claimed that they didn't know we were bringing children. When I pointed out that they did know, because they had put children's beds out for them, he hung up on me and has hung up when I tried to call again today.

    The breakfast was nice and staff apart from manager were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were fantastic - very helpful, and very nice people. The rooms were comfortable and large. The free WiFi was reliable and fast, without the attempt to get your email address that many hotels have: plug in the password and there it is. The food was good pub standard.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from Friday and Saturday music sessions v intrusive .

    Wonderful food ,fab full English with local v tasty sausages.good selection of beers .situated in centre of the long Main Street. Comfy beds en suite with good shower .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other reviews mention friendly staff. We must have been there on an off day because we detected no friendliness at all. (This was contrasted by the staff in the excellent Indian restaurant opposite.) I had the full English breakfast minus baked beans and tomatoes. It came with big spaces on the plate between the one egg, one sausage, two overcooked rashers of bacon and spoonful of mushrooms. This felt very mean, particularly as my wife just had cornflakes because there was no fruit on offer. Coffee was just warm. So glad we didn't have dinner there. We could feel the springs in the mattress; the Wi-Fi was virtually non existent and the TV didn't work in the morning (no signal). Long Melford is lovely but the road is very busy, although we can't blame the establishment for that.

    The heating and hot water worked. The room was big. Plenty of parking.The cat was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say needs a little attention, was in the bathroom in our room, there was quite a bit damp and a little mould that could do with sorting,

    The staff were so friendly, happy and helpful, their hospitality was amazing, you couldn't have asked for a better team of people, the locals were also a friendly bunch of people. The effort made for Halloween was fantastic, they really went to town, an amazing atmosphere. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was very nice too. Will defiantly visit again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy bar directly below dreadful karaoki Friday night and music gig Saturday night speakers stacked directly below wife's bed within 2 metres.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the outside building. The hall had a musky uninviting smell. The room was very dusty with thick dust under the bed and side cabinets. There were cobwebs at the side of bed and back of cabinets. The room had a very musty smell and lightening dull. The top sheet had a stain. The carpet needed cleaning. The Television did not have a signal therefore unable to use.

    We liked the location. The greeting member of staff and member of staff who served breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had not been cleaned around the skirting boards. The curtains were rotting and the wash basin was cracked.

    The breakfasts were good esp. the bacon. The linen was clean and the bed comfortable. The outside patio area was well kept. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was a little dim and some of the TV channels had very poor reception

    Very comfortable bed. Room was in a separate building which was appreciated as there was a live band playing and rooms in the main building could have been noisy. Very nice cooked breakfast with hot toast (a bonus)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT STAY HERE Live music every Friday night which was not mentioned on Booking.com , this went on until 1am, and the doors stopped banging at 2am, when I went down at midnight and mentioned we were staying right above the bar so what time does the music stop, the reply from the older male manager was we have music every Friday night it's on the website as that was a get out clause ! Wasn't a great start, especially as we had driven for 3 hours to get there for a family wedding. Breakfast was ok, but the woman serving didn't seem too happy as if we were a bother to her. Other residents at breakfast were also complaining about the noise, one man had also come down not much after I had, was also told its on the website, he actually went online and found it after 20 mins of looking. We left fairly sharpish for this wedding, and arrived back about 1130pm, with other family that were staying there, the older male manager that i had dealt with the previous night was there, and was happy to continue taking our money for drinks, he asked if our rooms had been cleaned, and our 2 rooms hadn't been so he offered some plastic bottles of water as an apology and said to mention it on check out. Breakfast was a shambles on the Sunday, clearly had a full hotel that night as was busy, and the same harassed lady for the day before, even less unhappy if possible, barking at people, don't sit there it's dirty oh just do what you want, snapped at me when I asked for the coffee she hadn't remembered. We finished quickly to pack, the previous day the whole bar was laid for breakfast with half empty hotel, yet Sunday with a full hotel only 6 tables available for use and no extra help ? On check out, when I mentioned the noise on the Friday night and the lack of a room clean, the response was , it's on the website and the cleaner told me she had cleaned our rooms, not really bothered in the slightest at the lack of service or apology.

    The location was perfect to be near a family wedding

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Net curtain missing on window which was directly on to the pavement. Neither the bathroom or bedroom window opened. No hooks or shelving in the bathroom. Mould in shower. Toilet seat loose. Poor lighting and only one bedside light which was not bright enough to read by.

    Location Breakfast Friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although acceptable, the decor and furnishings are a bit tatty - could do with redecoration and updating

    Very friendly staff, lovely old building and pub

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy dirty carpet couldn't have any more stains in it, decor flaking and water stained in the bathroom and bedroom, shower head hanging off plus went hot and cold when using it.£90 + room for one night very uncomfortable due to lack of cleanliness.

    Staff and breakfast great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in room next door to hotel on main road. traffic noise from 6.00 am. TV reception no good, sink would not drain.- Reported issues, but nothing resolved.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room dirty dated small the bathroom was disgusting and the toilet was hanging off the wall

    the manageress made us feel welcome made a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. On entering the room it was like walking into a sauna. Tried to open window, but sealed. Sun had been on window for all afternoon. Went to reception to ask the to open it. The receptionist called who I assume was the owner over who said it would not open. Offered me another room...... if I wanted to pay more. No.... I wanted a room that was fit for purpose.

    Staff were fine at booking in , service at bar and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Standard Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV reception poor ... privacy could be improved if nets were also fitted to front window (window looked directly out onto public footpath / street ) . Lack of storage space ; lack of hooks / hangers in bathroom.

    Convenient central location .... cheap and cheerful . It's a popular, lively public house so it would not suit everyone ; staff very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable two night stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby in places. Road noise. Booked a room for 3 but there was a blow up bed provided for the 3rd person. No towels provided for the 3rd person.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not cleaned at all during the stay. When we arrived the mugs and spoon in the bedroom needed cleaning. The breakfast service was good on the Monday morning, very slow and rather haphazard on the Sunday morning. On Saturday the breakfast service was quite good but we weren't shown a breakfast menu. The fresh milk on Monday morning had gone off, so we ended up with small sachets of milk.

    The food at breakfast was quite good, although we were not given a choice for the type of toast on Sunday. We would have preferred brown bread, but were served white.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The loo seat was broken and needed replacing. The bathroom mirror light ditto. No non-slip mat in the bath and no shelf, tray etc.on the wall The TV remote had to be replaced. The window sill/frames in the bedroom were dirty. The dining room carpet ditto. The "home made" pie served at dinner was virtually inedible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room noisy at front this is not the fault of the hotel, but would ask for back room next time. Had to stretch awkwardly to dry hair in front of a mirror. TV didn't receive signal very well, although we hardly had use for it.

    Breakfast was good, service cheerful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standerd EnSuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very tired. Wall next to bed looked like someone had spilt something down it and skirting could do with a dust.

    Lovely staff - lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy out the front and downstairs. Karaoke on a Friday night til about 1am. Then live band on sat nights until the early hours.

    Plenty of room for a family of 5.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steep stairs just outside the bed room door , potential to fall down, as very close to the door. Room looking a bit dated

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start! Family room was above the bar (wasn't the room we were supposed to be in) karaoke,loud talking and door slamming til 3am (should be told when booking they have karaoke and live music on weekends) lights flickered and bed moved every time the bass kicked in. No apologies when complained, refused a refund. Blow up beds for the children (£198 paid for that) breakfast says served til 10am, went down at half 9 and it was finished.... Update your room books. Absolutely dreadful stay will never return. Have video proof which i can't upload

    Breakfast to Order and the location was close to where we needed to be

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not enough time

    breakfast good choice excellent friendly pleasant staff wish i could spend more time,only there for a wedding so not much time to relax very nice peaceful interesting area...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had rising damp and smelt as such, one of my colleagues room was the same and the other one had noise problems in his room. For the money paid this was unacceptable, the owners must have known about the rooms as the smell and damp patches were so obvious, if I had been traveling alone and not arrived so late, I would have looked to find another hotel. The breakfast in the morning was something close to a very poor transport caff from 20 years ago. Will not be staying here again.

    The location, as a pub it is OK for a drink.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: