Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The George Hotel & Brasserie, Cranbrook This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Stone St, Cranbrook, TN17 3HE, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Cranbrook

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Value for money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The room was very clean and extremely comfortable. The room at the end of a corridor and overlooking courtyard/small carpark was very very quiet which meant we slept very well. Staff so pleasant and cheerful, helpful. We felt very at ease and so relaxed. Breakfast was delicious and so was the evening meal we had.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Great return to our favourite bolt hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Returning for what must be , at least, our 7th stay over five years, we were not disappointed. The George Hotel and Cranbrook always provide us with all we need for a quick escape from the day-to-day pressures of life. We stayed in the lovely, peaceful Azure room, with great views out the the front and across to the church. The room had everything we needed and both mornings lovely breakfast were available. The staff were friendly and attentive and we had a nice dinner in the bar on our last night. We will definitely be back before the year is out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    A friendly comfortable well appointed historic hotel. Lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expect noise in the front bedrooms if windows open

    This hotel is in a beautiful historic old building yet the bedroom was a good size, lovely bathroom and good breakfast room and bar. It is convenient in the centre of this small town - on the main street so front rooms are noisy when windows open. It has a super car park at the rear which is very convenient. Young staff are helpful & enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.7
    Great stay, place needed a bit more TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The upgrade to avoid noise but certain things not working, extractor fan, broken electric sockets, shower curtain not on rail properly and the curtains. Road noise but this can’t be helped.

    Clean bedding good towels breakfast was very good. Most staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, really helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel & rooms looking a little tired, could probably do with a freshen up. We were in room 1, noisy extractor from kitchen meant that we had to keep the bedroom window closed.

    Fantastic location, really helpful staff. Great old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a lovely town. Real character. Pity about the fan noise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pewter room in which we stayed is located on the first floor to the rear adjacent to kitchen exhaust fan which runs all day - from 7 in the morning to after 11:00 at night. It's noisy and we struggled to sleep. It didn't help that we needed the window open for fresh air.

    Room was well equipped - with ample tea, coffee, hot chocolate, mineral water and biscuits. Even an nspresso machine! Liked the atmosphere and the location. Breakfast was excellent and service was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    We did enjoy our stay and would visit again if in the area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside courtyard could have been kept a bit cleaner . Bedroom was smaller than expected and noise from air con extractor not so good , but was turned off between 23 .OO hrs & 7 .OO hrs next morning .

    Breakfast choice excellent . We had evening meals which we were very satisfied with . The staff were all very helpful . Nice comfortable bar area and always clean .outside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.8
    Historic atmospheric hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps down out of the bathroom could be a problem for older people.

    Very atmospheric hotel in a charming town. Restaurant served excellent food and staff were very friendly. Historic room was large and comfortable with a lot of atmosphere including sloping floors. Hotel is well positioned in the center of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing four day stay in charming area,in a friendly hotel, good food ..Perfect for couples ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel very historic so quaint in places, but really does need bit of redecoration in places ..

    Staff excellent,friendly and very attentive,nothing was too much trouble. .Excellent breakfasts with plenty of choices . Evening meals available without booking, varied menu and reasonablibly priced .. Housekeeping each day to rooms was very good, toiletries,bottled water,coffee machine and tea etc ..Perfect location for visiting surrounding areas,Sissinghurst and Great Dixter, but many more great places of interest too.. Cranbrook itself lovely, with little shops and several cafes, also famous windmill and church to explore ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.9
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were suprise'd that each evening they ran out of items on the menu Monday you would expect this but not Tuesday & Wednesday But the food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.3
    A great hotel at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old staircase had uneven step height so was a bit tricky as I have some mobility problems

    The room was charming with a huge bathroom and corner jacuzzi bath which was a huge treat, although it was accessed by three steps down from the bedroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Full of character and history that we hadn't expected meant we enjoyed our stay and will probably go again. The village is also very pretty and full of charm and history. Off street parking was also a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    8.8
    Charming old building with a smart modern makeover to the bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our breakfast was disappointing ... took a long time to come and was fairly cold on arrival. Fresh orange juice would be better than 'made from concentrate'.

    The quality, style and decor of the rooms - very smart. We also enjoyed eating outside under the wisteria roof on the terrace. Very good wines and drinks. Food was nicely cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    lovely breakfast and young guy who served us evening meal...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are over a bar so expect some nightime noise also room faced on to main rd so traffic noise and early morning deliveries

    lovely breakfast and young guy who served us evening meal and breakfast very polite and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant hotel in the centre of Cranbrook. I enjoyed staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room in the car park, which only has 11 places, so I had to park up the road in a free car park.

    Friendly staff. Pleasant modern room with good bathroom. Central location in Cranbrook. Nice evening meal and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.7
    Room 10 is very poor value for £130/night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room small, over noisy, smelly ventilator. Room too hot on arrival and throughout night despite fan in room. Dirty towel in bathroom, couldn’t work bedside lights.Drawer handle dangling off. No instant coffee, although there was a Nespresso machine. Breakfast - minimal cereal choice, no fruit or yogurt seen. Excellent choice of cooked breakfasts, but took 25 minutes to arrive after we’d finished cereal.

    Interesting old building. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely traditional friendly pub with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit disappointed the table lamp and reading lights in our room didn't work, should have mentioned but forgot. And that virtually no loo paper! But it was the sort of place that, if we had mentioned it, I'm sure would have been sorted quickly. But might be worth reminding housekeeping staff to check daily. The bed we had was a double rather than larger and the room pretty small. If we went again I'd certainly ask if they had a bigger room.

    Lovely country pub. Hard working cheerful helpful staff. Quirky staircases, atmospheric. Limited Sunday night menu, but suited us well and food was good. Enjoyed our beers, the glass of wine one of us ordered was huge. Breakfast excellent. Convenient car park at the back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean but facing out over the kitchen vents - not ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awkward parking at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast coffee not good! Side salad eaten the night before didn't seem to be washed; gritty and chemical-tasting. Became nauseous in the night.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Characterful building, very spacious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance to parking not easy to see, but plenty of free parking in the village. Not all choices on the menu were available.

    Characterful building, very spacious bedroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel rich in history and oozing character .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was a little patchy in our particular room.

    Gorgeous hotel rich in history and oozing character . Friendly staff. Delicious food. Spacious and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.1
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The non-view from our room and the tremendous noise from the kitchen ventilator (is what I think it is).

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was very nice. After reading earlier comments I have to say: our oom (9) has been renovated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park entrance is not easy to find. Standard room was small but well equipped. Only stayed a night, so no problem really.

    Great location for exploring nearby National Trust sites. Evening menu and breakfast were really good. Staff friendly with pleasant atmosphere. Only stayed one night, but would not hesitate in staying again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t access WiFi early without having to register Rooms face road which can be a little noisy

    Rooms are beautifully furnished and unique to the character of listed building Staff are welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel in a pleasant town - excellent for a quick business trip!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HAd to leave before breakfast and no provision for a take out or quick bowl of cereal etc

    Room and restaurant were excellent, very comfortable and with good facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    4.2
    Not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cups in the room for tea etc had lipstick stains and one had a continous crack right around the rim! Bathroom sink had crack running from one side to the other. Extractor fan in bathroom not working (bearing in mind there were no windows for airing the room) damaged electrical socket by bed and to top it all no hot water for our morning shower!!

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.1
    Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed two nights in April. My room, no. 5, overlooked the main street in Cranbrook. Hence there was an increasing amount of noise from traffic from approximately 6 am making it very difficult to sleep. The bathroom was nice, but was cold and I didn’t manage to get the shower to work so I had to use the bath tub. It took a long time just to fill a few inches of water and subsequently the upper half the body was cold and the lower part was warm. I ate lunch on Sunday afternoon with two others and the service was extremely poor, even though there were only a few other guests. We had to remind the staff of our forgotten orders more than once. Check-out time is 10 am which is an hour earlier than most places and came as a surprise to me on my departure.

    Good food. Comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.1
    We will definitely book again if we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room was a little tired (decore) but hey, at this price, it was absolutely fine.

    A nice character hotel in a great location, - good breakfast and evening meal was reasonably priced, well presented and well cooked. no complaints except for long wait to check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.5
    Ok for a couple of nights.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience was tired and badly needs an updating..particularly the seating..flooring...decoration in common areas...and some of the bathroom facilities. The Standard double room was just ok.

    MENU was very good..choice for breakfast was good.....Cleanliness in the room was very good. Staff informal but very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.5
    Nice feature pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very hot, the bed was uncomfortable and there was lots of noise from from landing door throughout the night and morning

    Lovely pub and food nice to have a few glasses of wine and head up for the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.2
    lovely - amazing staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not alot of parking a little noisy due to old building, but bearable

    Amazing staff, very helpful when arriving late and close to kitchen closing time!! really good breakfast and dinner beautiful room good shower nice bar downstairs in old characterful building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    Always a pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Have stayed here three times for work. Rooms are large and comfortable with everything required. There is a lot of character and history which gives the place a great feeling. The food is excellent really good quality and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were originally allocated to a room that overlooked the kitchen fan and it was noisy enough to be disturbing. They allowed us to change room without any fuss and the new room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The main entrance is right on the main street but there is a parking area behind the hotel. Breakfast was good with a large choice of options. The staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were cold - it is slightly noisy - you can hear neighbors and the pub below but only slightly and after all it is a pub.

    Nice location. Nice rooms. Very helpful staff who really tried to help us - it was very cold in the hotel. But there werent enough space heaters . Nevertheless thstaff went above and beyond.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.2
    Will be back if I am down this way again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed could have been a lot more comfy but that is probably because I am spoilt at home with a memory foam mattress

    Beer, evening meal and breakfast were all great. Loved the building and the ambiance in the bar. Would have preferred more leisurely breakfast but that was because I had to be on site elsewhere for 8am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay there again
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking only for maybe 8 cars taken up by staff. Pewter room9 is noisy from kitchen fan below and a strange banging door below. Only one person looking after pub bar and restaurant on night we stayed. Rear entrance from car park to building needs a good tidy up.

    hotel location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived at 6pm on a very cold day all of the windows in our room were open so it was freezing! We closed them, but at bedtime it was still cold. Staff provided us with a fan heater and that solved the problem.

    Great atmosphere, fabulous restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    9.6
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was comfortable. Having tea and coffee making facility was a real bonus as we had to leave the next morning at 6.30 am for a hospital appointment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable, characterful and charming place to rest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at the front of the property can be a little noisy for some, but not excessively. The car park is small but I have always managed to get a space.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast offered plenty of choice and always freshly cooked. Evenings can be spent in the cozy bar and the Restaurant has a good and varied selection of freshly cooked meals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    6.3
    It was ok, but not relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy as the windows are old and our room faced the main road where loud music was playing in the pub opposite.

    Lots of character to the building and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay with a nice evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radio alarm clock not being set to go off at 05.30.

    Dinner very enjoyable and good value for money. Sat next to a very hot radiator which became quite uncomfortable towards the end of our meal. Guest room comfortable although again too warm. Had to open the window to cool the room but due to noise from a nearby pub with customers out in the street, it was too noisey to leave window open. Good night's sleep with the temperature better until the radio alarm clock on the bedside began blaring music at 05.30! Excellent shower. Overall would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.9
    A well priced pub hotel in a pleasant town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 12 was classed as a superior room but had a very dated feel about it. The floor creaked badly, the plumbing was naff, with the toilet pan itself not secured to the floor. Plus on the Saturday evening there was pounding music till late coming from across the road.

    The Pub itself has a very nice atmosphere, is welcoming and well priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    Olde World traditional inn style hotel with excellent food, a warm welcome and extraordinary value.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our room was directly over the bar and the hum of voices kept my partner awake.

    I loved the fact that we were not restricted to certain rooms because we were travelling with our dog. This meant we could choose a superior room. The manager John together with all the staff made us feel very welcome. John also allowed us to check in early which was fantastic. The bar kept cosy by a log burner provided excellent food at a very reasonable price. The bar menu was the same menu offered in the restaurant which meant we could dine with our dog without having to miss out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.0
    Attentive and polite staff, very good restaurant and would recommend this hotel as very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was excellent value for money and we were generally impressed with the hotel overall. All the staff were very attentive to our needs and also very polite at all times. We had a really enjoyable evening meal and the choice of breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room, attentive staff, rooms serviced every day, nice central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 22 nights

    Bed could of been a bit softer, too many steep stairs for older customers, breakfast not all ways very good, morning coffee not to my liking.

    warm room, attentive staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    6.3
    Lovely building, loads of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very good and our shower was cold. Also there was an extractor fan for the kitchen outside of our room,(10), which was due to go off about 9.30pm but was not switched off until 10.25pm, it also came on earlier, 7.15am than we were advised. Parking was also a problem and we had to park in car park in town, which luckily was free.

    Lovely building, loads of character.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay for a friends wedding. The staff were helpful and it was a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasn't very powerful but it was such a minor thing. The water was hot so I can't really say it's a complaint

    Staff were really friendly. The room was a great size and really comfortable. Food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    A very good comfortable hotel. Well worth considering especially if using the nearby Benenden hospi.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately using the cloud for WiFi. Let it down considerably. A decent WiFi and I would struggle to find fault.

    Room and food excellent. Service friendly and quick. Overall would highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel but don’t feel it’s worth the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Base of bath had chunks missing out of it. Shower gel half full when we arrived. Rubbish behind bed side table when we arrived. No coffee machine. WiFi did not work.

    Room was a good size

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    8.3
    quaint place for a nice geataway. Very
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    car park not very well advertised, bar shut earlier than described. There were pigeons outside that made a lot of noise. No fridge in the room.

    bathroom was great, although some of the space could have been used a bit better. The room was very comfortable and the whole place was well presented. Has retained a lot of the original features.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    10
    Execellent find, beautiful rooms
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park is small but adequate, you wouldn't get a 4x4 in without a squeeze

    Lovely friendly and helpful staff, looked after me and my doggies very well. Rooms lovely, very clean and breakfast was perfect. Nice park nearby to walk in, Cranbrook high street is out the window with lots of lovely local shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    6.7
    Fair but not exceptional
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely view of scaffolding from our window which also meant it could not be opened more than an inch. The staff were quite friendly but could have felt more welcomed on arrival.

    The bar area was nice and comfortable, and the room was spacious and clean. Nice breakfast. The small town was quaint.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    5.4
    Don’t book through booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having booked a standard double room, we got allocated the room 9 which from previous reviews we knew was smaller and noisy due to a big ventilation fan outside, which started quite early in the morning and stopped late at night. Having asked to be allocated somewhere else we were told that if we had booked directly by phone we could have avoided that room. I would then advise booking a higher standard room or book outside of this site if not you don’t have any guarantee to avoid that room.

    Nice breakfast, good atmosphere in the bar in the evening

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    6.3
    Nice but wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room was clean, the bar, stairs and reception wasn't. Dinner and breakfast was good however no one asked if the meal was ok? Any other drinks etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    November stay in Cranbrook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only let down was the food. We ate on Sunday evening, the portion of ham egg and chips although hot and fresh was very small, exspensive for what it was. The supposedly fresh beer battered cod was disappointing, I think it was more like a frozen couple of battered pieces of fish. Unlike most pubs fresh fish and chips, not value for money. Breakfast was over cooked bar the eggs. We ate at 9.15am and it was as if it had all been cooked earlier and left warming... the bacon hash brown and mushrooms were very dry and only just warm, we think the toast had been buttered but been nicer if the butter came separately. We would stay again but eat in a local pub.

    Clean, friendly, spacious room. Dogs welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    brief but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed a few times previously, the coked breakfast which previously was very nice I am afraid on this occasion was disappointing, ordered a poached egg which was hard and tasted of vinegar.

    Staff are always friendly and welcoming and rooms are always 5 star

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.9
    Really good stay hotel rooms surprisingly good as was food. Staff need to up their game a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from pub at 12.30am, group of lads spilled out of pub onto street, very noisey. Traffic noise early in morning. Waiting staff, although helpful, were a little inconsistent serving tea/coffee without milk, had to ask a few times, yoghurt appeared after main breakfast, lame excuse offered.

    Food excellent, breakfast and evening meal, room well appointed and very comfortable. Ginger lad (evening) very good couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.3
    The local countryside is beautiful and the staff do their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our booking was mishandled, so we ended up having to change rooms mid-stay, and were downgraded to a lower class of room in the process. There was also a very unpleasant musty smell in the bathroom (poor ventilation!).

    The local countryside is beautiful and the staff do their best to be helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    6.3
    Reasonably priced but there were a nunber of flaws which reflected that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy extractor fan from kitchen stopped at 10pm then started again from 7.30am. Tap in sink so low, hard to get kettle underneath and remove without pouring water out again! Handles hanging off two drawers. Pillows very uncomfortable.

    Original features

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly stay with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In our room No 11 it was noisy at times from what appeared to be a fan or heating system early morning 7 ish but it was no real problem.

    Lovely character property, great staff and wonderful food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Well modernised old inn with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room (no 2), good bathroom, outstanding young staff, good breakfast, perfect position right in the middle of Cranbrook with car park.well modernised

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.8
    A warm welcome and comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed a smidge too hard, but that is a personal thing.

    For my second stay I can report that the Building is interesting and characterful, the surroundings interesting and the hospitality top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor quibble. Alarm call was nearly an hour late but did not cause any problems. Will definitely stay again soon.

    The helpful attitude of the staff. The excellent evening meal. The character of room 4.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a great feature room with good grub on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too hot.. staff could be a bit more on their game... arrival at reception particular less than as welcoming as expected

    Comfort and history of the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Well worth staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Have stayed before,so know the hotel, great place to stay, good rooms,clean, quiet,and a proper size bath,and a great roast dinner,so tender beef,please do not miss the breakfast, outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.8
    Really charming old hotel in the centre of a very pretty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really charming old hotel in the centre of a very pretty town; some of the parts of the hotel apparently date back to the 1300's! Nice room, lovely bar downstairs, and very friendly staff, made for a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    6.7
    A mixed Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room overlooked the road and was noisy. Paint work and some of furniture could do with update. I found the bed very hard. Breakfast was ok but would not rave. There was fresh fruit but a fruit salad would be nice as well. We had pancakes, bananas and bacon with maple syrup .

    Well situated in town. Large bedroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Extremely comfortable and restful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is small and quite tight. In fact someone backed into my car without informing anyone. That said, there is a free car park about 500metres away. Next time I may use this

    The food was extremely tasty and well cooked. The staff were very friendly and attentive. They even turned down the 'piped' music when I asked, not many will do this.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    8.3
    A good break, and a good location for visiting national trust places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room number 1, and it seemed hot and stuffy, even opening the window did not seem to make much difference. Apart from that everything was good.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was good with a good choice of food. the hotel building was old and interesting and it was well located in the centre of cranbrook.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    5.8
    General very good (excellent, if we did not have the car parking worries on our return )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we booked for three nights and paid on arrival, a parking space in the cramped rear yard could not be guaranteed. We found this most inconvenient, as we had to park the car in a local free park with little or no security. However, later in the evenings on two occasions I was able to return the car to the hotel park. (If necessary a charge could be made to guarantee a space, I am sure this would be acceptable to most guests). The room was in the main acceptable, however the velvet curtains are now threadbare and need replacing, plus the old sash window was very difficult to operate. Room 5

    Fraser, the Manager I think, was always helpful and cheerful. The staff also helpful at all times. Location for our needs was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.2
    Good accommodation with great friendly and professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is only available for 12 (from memory) cars so when the hotel is full there is no on site parking - not a major problem and nothing which the hotel can really do about this.

    Excellent staff where nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.1
    Nice place for an overnight stay with excellent staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first impression was of a very dirty, well used entrance door (from the car park to the lounge bar) - it really needs replacing as this does not reflect the rest of the place. Unfortunately access to the WiFi via the Cloud did not work (although the Manager did say he would look further into it if I wanted him to) There was quite a bit of noise (music and people being loud) from outside in the evening up to about midnight - we think it may have been coming from another pub nearby.

    The staff were lovely and attentive. Room décor was nicely done. Food, both at dinner and breakfast, was excellent. Check-in and communication prior to our visit was easy and the request to swap 1 of the 3 rooms we had booked (due to the stairs to this room) was no problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    7.9
    Nice small hotel in centre of Cranbrook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast was slow.

    We stayed here for a visit to Sissinghurst. Had a nice room overlooking the street but there was not much noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and comfortable overnight stop on way to France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con extractor from kitchens was noisy outside the bedroom window. Had to ask them to switch it off at 10pm so we could sleep. We had been told it goes off at 9.30pm but I think they forgot.

    Comfortable bed. Big room. Excellent service from waiterwho was very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.3
    All round good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the whole the staff are very professional & helpful and any issues are resolved efficiently. The rooms are nicely decorated and provide comfort, amenities & fresh water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Charming Elizabethan hotel and restaurant in lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were excellent and friendly, the location was perfect for a nice visit to the southeast countryside and the breakfasts were delicious.The eggs & salmon were perefect. Dinner was great, too, from pub fare to gourmet. We enjoyed it all. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Outstanding value for money, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Outstanding place to stay,staff excellent,nice chilled out atmosphere,one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in, comfortable bed,large tv,and the biggest bath ever,food excellent, recommend the chicken burger,cooked with Indian spices, great choice of buffet breakfast items in the morning,and a beautiful cooked breakfast,the breakfast menu,is very varied, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: