Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George Hotel 4 stars

St Johns Street, Keswick, Keswick, CA12 5AZ, United Kingdom

#63 of 66 B&Bs and Inns in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Wonderful bar area, but hotel needs major improvements to decor throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive evening street noise from opposite bar. Lack of parking spaces. No safe in room. Faulty shower holder. Non functioning bathroom mirror light. Poor condition of decor in room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place in the heart of Keswick, wonderful restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic English Inn. Staff was great and tried to help us in every way. Parking was tight. Ask for a different stall if placed in front of kitchen exhaust or your car will be covered with oil.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There seemed to be a lot of flies ,

    The breakfast menu was good, with a large selection to choose from. The evening menu was good, with good, quality served food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice place shame about parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of an issue although they did give us a parking permit for another car park but we were walking so had to keep going back to the car to fetch stuff which was a pain.

    The breakfast is amazing!!! The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming old hotel, in a great location for the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just a bit narrow. We were there in hot weather so the noisy bar across the street was easily heard. Parking is remote.

    This hotel is right in the middle of town. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Staff was helpful and friendly. They have parking, but mostly remote. Breakfast was great. Nice pub and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Second visit look forward to going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The old world style of the building . the location close to the center of the town , friendly staff. excellent food and beer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    No idea what 'Genius perks' are?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small and dimly lit, unable to read comfortably. Television was too small even in such a small room! Door frames are low so watch your head!

    No idea what 'Genius perks' are? Brilliant location,friendly staff and nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Lucky with parking so an enjoyable stay at a well placed and well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited parking at the hotel (4 spaces). Reserved parking at public car parks difficult to find and inconvenient for carrying luggage.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    The George is centrally located, it’s ideally placed a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noises as it was so close to the centre, but what do you expect?

    The George is centrally located, it’s ideally placed a very short walk away from the centre. We stayed here as we were doing the Lakesman Triathlon and it was an absolutely perfect base for us. The wife said breakfast was nice, but to be honest expected a little more choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed.Didnt meet our perception of internet information about the establishment.Very noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor cooked breakfast was fatty stringy.bacon and mushrooms tough to eat.poor choices ie no porridge or fresh fruit and only a couple of cereal choices.No low fat spread.

    Nothing in particularbrea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark was too small and oversubscribed. One of the staff did move his car to allow us to park which was very helpful.

    The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Keswick. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Service and Staff very professional and friendly made the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only staying one nightVery relaxing in a good environment with friendly staff and good food

    Service and Staff very professional and friendly made the stay much more relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Set right in the heart of Keswick, the car parking is up a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Set right in the heart of Keswick, the car parking is up a tiny cobbled street opposite the Costa, and there isn’t a lot of it. Very friendly reception. Bedroom up a couple of fairly easy flights of stairs, but no lift. Big room at the front (room 4) with all the hoped for stuff, tea/coffee/biscuits, large bed, comfy pillows, large tv with Freeview, plenty of space to spread. Large airy bathroom with shower overhead, toiletries and the best large towels. The free Wi-fi was really good. Very strong. And despite being a pub, by 11.20pm each night, it was silent Breakfast was a little disappointing the first morning. Plenty of cereal, yoghurt, tinned fruit and conserves and a make your own toast machine! The cooked breakfast, although extensive, wasn’t great. The poached egg was cold and hard and the bacon had been cooked and kept warm a while. The second morning I opted for the ‘Continental ‘ breakfast. Several slices of really tasty local ham and four large chunks of cheese. However, the service was very friendly and cheerful Would definitely go again 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay overall. Food was plentiful and excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 4 parking spots available on site otherwise you get a parking permit for a couple of car parks close by. Finding a spot can be a problem lunch time until about 4. Some mould in the shower stall which can be off putting.

    The bar area and dining room was very popular with locals and visitors alike making it difficult to find a seat in the early evening at weekends, make sure you book. Our room was very smart and comfortable and although it was above a busy pub it was never noisy. Very much in the middle of things with lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. Keswick is often busy but very small making most things easy to reach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    A great few days would certainly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was just great from the moment of arrival till the moment of departure, the staff were great, my wife is not well and they went out of the way to accommodate her needs, food was fantastic, bed was comfy will certainly stay there again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Great for a weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floor boards creaking in the corridors.

    The hotel, although small & part of a pub, was exactly how it is advertised. Our room was a good size, the bed comfortable and the shower powerful & hot.... The food from the restaurant was exceptional and the staff very friendly and always smiling. No noise heard in the room from the pub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Twixmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area gets very busy in the afternoon and night not much room for residents if you want a quite drink or snack, but it is a public house, if you want to get a seat at night time book restaurant reservation you will get a table and good food.

    In a good location, friendly staff, good breakfast, room clean and warm, tea coffee facilities in bedroom with extra available if needed just ask.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    2.5
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel was having issues with their internet so no wi-fi whilst we were there, but clearly out of their hands

    our room was a good size and really warm- so important for winter mountain trips with all our gear!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely chilled out weekend in Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park in carpark down Road as only 4 spaces on site (permit was supplied). Breakfast was 8.30-9.30, would have been better if it had finished at 10

    Friendly staff. Clean and comfy room. View of the square. Breakfast, scrambled eggs were lovely. Nice olde worlde pub downstairs. Close to shops, eateries, pubs, tourist attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel friendly staff,spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heating was not on there was an electric fan heater but that was not adequate to warm the Bathroom when showering

    Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were too busy to deal with us when we arrived, basically threw our keys to us and said he had to get back to the bar, room was frozen so went to ask what was wrong had to find someone as everyone behind the bar, when I finally found someone I was told it was on a timer then carried on serving ,two hours later went back down again and was told they would look into it. Later when we returned to the room an electric heater had been plugged in, not acceptable for the price we paid for the room. Single beds had big dips in them so obvious, room was old fashioned and scruffy. Breakfast was served by yet another miserable member of staff, no tongs to lift bread into toaster so everyone using fingers. The rate I was charged I expected a lot more instead I felt I was in a scruffy B&B in Blackpool will not return.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    I like the George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was a 3 bedded room but with 1 heater .Don't know what it would be like in the middle of winter.I did not know and had no indication that the full amount had been taken untll I received a bank statement( I thought that I had just paid a deposit like before - I wanted to pay with my other card.

    comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking facilities. We were under impression that there would be plenty of car parking on site. One of our party is disabled and parking in a car park 10 min walk away is not easy

    The quality of food &a service in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely little hotel , really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first i thought it was very dark inside but that comes with the age of the building . In the evening it became very cosy and comfortable with all the lights on.

    The hotel room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel was very interesting with its history and the building its self.Early evening the bar came to life with lots of atmosphere, we didn't eat there but it was very popular and somewhere we would try again for a meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    As said above rooms very clean and tdy, friendly staff. Only downfalls were parking and crammed pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Not enough space outside property, had to park nearby. Pub area very small, gets very busy.

    Location is excellent. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location , great food and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resurfacing of bar tAbles is required and general decor a bit sad.

    Very accommodating and friendly staff . If the rest of the country had the same attitude we would have nothing to worry about

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable (but too brief) stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the premises is a little hit and miss, although the staff were quick to help arrange free parking in nearby public car-parks.

    Lovely traditional pub with rooms (not quite a hotel), helpful staff and a good breakfast. The room was very nicely decorated and well presented. I didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, but the menu looked to be good wholesome homemade style stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    A welcoming home for a Lakeland visitor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in the dining room have seen better days and probably need more than deep cleaning. We always bring our own pillows, which is just as well as I could not have slept on your 'bouncy' ones.

    Our room was a comfortable size and the bathroom worked well. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with good choice and freshly prepared. Unfortunately we were travelling around in the car and so could not do justice to two excellent and VERY large evening meals!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in Keswick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough car spaces in car park,although we got a disc for free parking in nearby car park.

    Nice hotel in centre of Keswick.Great food and staff.Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Ideally located in the centre of town. Easy walking to the lake . Lots of choice for eating out and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all positive.

    Popular hotel and restaraunt . Breakfast excellent and staff very helpful. Parking difficult as they only have a few spaces so we didn't move the car during our visit. The hotel gave us a permit so that was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing. The twin room did not look like the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sagging beds. Under-heated rooms until the second night. Extra bedding provided on request. Extensive mould on the walls of the shower and under the movable glass partition.

    Location. Very hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Breakfasts were great, we also had dinner in the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were great, we also had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, and great value for money. The staff were great and friendly, this was the second time we stayed and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Ideally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit too soft and we kept rolling into the middle of the bed. Really small detail in comparison as everything was excellent otherwise

    The customer service was second to none

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location but ............
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room overlooked the external kitchen door and entrance from car park that attracted some smokers and friends of the staff, so windows remained closed. The room was quite small but comfortable, had issues with housekeeping but those were sorted. We only ate once in the evening and the food was OK. At GBP120.00/night incl full breakfast, I thought it was over-priced, but seeing the popularity of the bar and restaurant, maybe it's what the locals enjoy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.4
    Very central - quirky management - location will keep Hotel in the black nothing else.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1/ Strange attitude of duty manager, a very large man he insisted people booked into the restaurant could not come in any earlier than booking. This despite seats sitting idle. He would argue the toss that you had to go to bar to order drinks first. A group of 7 elderly ladies did not like this advising a/ The bar was full b/ They were not people who would normally stand at bars c/ Their laid table was ready in front of them waiting to be occupied. 2/ Hotel brings environmental friendliness of towel washing to new level by requiring additional money for towels to be changed. 3/ Old building with lots of sounds that add to ambience, loud HVAC fans and compressors requiring maintenance do not add to this ambience. 4/ Expensive

    눇1/ Good breakfast - though additional charge if you wanted scrambled eggs and salmon. (Though no extra charge if you are a walk-in) 2/ Staff mainly friendly and efficient (for caveat see above). 3) Window sticker provided free parking at nearby car park. (Though had to find the George first, then drop off bags). Very good evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Keswick's George hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were lucky to get a parking space at the hotel, some guests will not be able to park so close.

    Great to stay in such a historic building with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Did not want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a bit softer but that is just my personal preference.

    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. So good in fact we stayed an extra night. Would definately stay here again. Thankyou everyone for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing few days with magnificent views walks, great local beer to test. Not much wrong in Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Naturally the parking is at a premium, not just at the George but generally within Keswick. But to off set this your provided with a free parking permit for all the car parks.

    The relaxed atmosphere, friendliness of the staff. Mega breakfast will set you up for the day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    A great base for the north west of Lakeland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking at the rear - a bit of a struggle sometimes.

    Excellent catering all round. Three epic dinners - steak twice, really good - and epic breakfast each day. Nice big room. Too hot on arrival but easily ajusted.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    The George Hotel, Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big and spacious with a comfy bed plus a TV. We were close to all amenities and best of all there was private parking. The English breakfast was really big. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as a single traveller I was discriminated against, despite paying the same as couples I had to sit in the corner at the only single setting for breakfast.

    location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and surprisingly peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi connection so poor I had to leave the hotel to use a BT Hotspot on the pavement further up the street. Only two electric plugs in the room.

    Staff friendly and very helpful. The room was a good size and had plenty of storage. Bed was comfortable, bathroom surprisingly spacious. Breakfast was included and was ample and tasty. Restaurant food wasn't fancy and I had dinner in one night. Again, portions were large and I couldn't finish. I was concerned in case noise from the bar disturbed me, but my room was quiet and I slept well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    3.8
    Astronomical prices at the George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poorly decorated and very small. There were no bathroom essentials such as shampoo and conditioner or body lotion. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and mould around the bath. Also in the evening before going out the water was only tepid! Really not good for £120 per night! The breakfast was big but fried sausages and bread!!!!!

    The location was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Super hotel&pub, traditional, and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower in need of a little TLC- but still clean when hotel carpark full, its a bit of a walk with your bags to public carpark- however you do get free parking permit for your full stay. Pub is very busy at weekends- difficult to get a seat and you cant reserve a table in the pub area to eat only the restaurant.

    Location great ,everything within walking distance just off the main square.Once in Keswick you'd have no need to use your car again if you wanted to walk & explore the immediate surrounding area. Tourist Information just 2 mins from Hotel. Small Cinema, restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre on the lake.Rooms well equip, clean & warm. Traditional Hotel & Pub, quiet & cosy. Food in evenings ok & the Breakfast was fab !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Central old pub with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of Done with a few more stools in the bar

    Lovely quiet clean comfortable room. Clean shower. Lovely comfortable bed. Breakfast was lovely and trying the cow pie was an experience . The pies in this pub are a must. All staff were excellent. Lovely wine too. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed, spacious room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An iron available would have been good but not the end of the world. Hard to get to sleep on Friday night due to noise in pub but we had attended a funeral so we were not up to celebrating.

    Very comfortable bed Wonderful spacious room Free parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Cosy, comfortable and very friendly obliging staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a problem with the room I booked we were given another room and it didn't look as nice bedcover a bit drab .

    The room was spacious can't fault the food and service. Been quite a few times to eat but never stayed loved it very quiet for a pub hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    Quirky traditional hotel in Keswick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the last room available as it was a last minute decision to visit the Lakes. It was comfortable enough but quite noisy as the bar was below, but quite after 12 on Saturday and quieter on Sunday.

    We had a very nice meal in the restaurant on a busy Saturday night with friends. The standard of the food over all was very good. The helpings were plentiful and very tasty. The hotel is very central so easy access to all of the town and lake. It has a busy bar and restaurant which adds to the ambiance. The bar meals looked as good as those served in the restaurant. There was a good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    3.3
    We Love Keswick had a lovely meal Christmas Eve in a Bistro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cold only did smoked bacon. Asked for some fries on Christmas Day for our room the landlord was very rude. Sorry can't provide chips. We ended up with two Baquettes which cost £12.00. The waiter couldn't speak good English. Plus our room was over the kitchen. Plus kitchen staff pleeing veg and smoking.... Nice £240 for two nights was rubbish. Plastic tumblers in the bathroom. Tv at a angle on the wall had to twist our necks to watch tv...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    Great food great staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was excellent. Room was warm and comfortable.Large bathroom with excellent shower. It is a pub so quite a bit of noise from below, however we knew that, we were there at a very busy time and it was all quiet by 11.30 as we were there mid week. Even though staff very busy they were always polite and took time out to talk to you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous pub in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our bedrooms had a view over the rear of the building-fire escape and wall. Wasn't aware of this from description on booking site.

    Excellent breakfast, set you up well for a good walk. Bedrooms were super clean and beds were comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Whilst we couldn't park next to the hotel we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was only available in the bar, no signal anywhere else.

    Whilst we couldn't park next to the hotel we were offered a parking permit for a nearby car park

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Great centre town location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only four parking places at the hotel or parking vouchers available for public car parks but these were a bit of a trek away However If disabled there is a little parking on street if you have a blue badge

    Great room / restaurant / bar / excellent breakfast! Excellent staff - friendly, effecient and helpful Centre town location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    An excellent weekend spent at the George.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Possibility of having Sunday lunch in the evening as well as at lunchtime.

    Excellent breakfasts. Cow pie is still a winner ! Excellent staff. Excellent welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything although was slightly out of season, may get too busy in high season

    Breakfast fab although very big. Location for a short break is ideal, no time wasted getting to and from anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Clean, warm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper sized towels in the bathroom and a power socket next to the dressing table mirror so you can actually see what you're doing when drying your hair!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.9
    Room was quiet as requested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Flat tyre on arrival from running over base of hotel's security bar when parking. Staff unwilling to take message from Green Flag people re tyre repair. No phone in room, no night porter on duty after 11.30 pm.

    Room was quiet as requested.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a four star hotel I was surprised there was only one toiletry provided - shampoo/body wash! When they cleaned our room they didn't clean the toilet.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were too firm and a very large bathroom no bath but with a tiny shower cubicle I'm only 5"3 and struggled to get showered could do with a larger shower

    The staff were all very nice breakfast was lovely very good choice location was great and free parking on site a bonus room very large and lovely only a couple of issues

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    3.8
    Would not return and grossly overcharged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in bedroom appeared to be coming from people outside bar area smoking directly under our bedroom window we were in room number 13 unlucky for some

    Breakfast was excellent but too much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    The oldest hotel in Keswick and definitely the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved everything about the hotel. The food was excellent but the best thing about it was the staff. They were absolutely fantastic and very friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Great Location, Great Staff, Great Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location in the centre of Keswick is perfect. The pub is popular for food and drink. Cow pie was superb and I was glad I only ordered the half portion. All staff were friendly and attentive

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Great short break and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendliness of the staff and the excellent location. Awkward to return the parking voucher at the end of our visit but the staff were very helpful in sorting it out so no problem in the end.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    The George
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the rear of the property to access parking was difficult.Weather was warm so needed to have the window open, lots of noise from very early in the morning.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Keswick town centre. Arrived before check in and was allowed to park the car early to head off walking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was fabulous and staff lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt room, although comfortable, was basic and therefore overpriced. We paid the same price for a central London hotel.

    Breakfast was fabulous and staff lovely. Evening meal was delicious. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location although Hotel can do with some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Drunk/On something Hotel Guest walking into our Room at 4am thinking its his room and having to deal with the situation. -No night porter or emergency number to report the matter immediately. -Noice of that Hotel Guest and his friend at 6am. - Leak in Roof meant water dripping on the floor in the room. -Wifi is only at the Bar. -Door safety locks

    -VFM -Location -Staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Well placed, but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sure value for money - Keswick always seems expensive for what you get compared to elsewhere Accomodation OK at best, looking a bit tired Power cut, so no lights to use bathroom in the night.

    Well located for town and surrounding area Staff friendly and helpful Car Permit to Park included Hearty breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small compared to the size of the bathroom

    Food was great ,only intended to have one evening meal ,we had all meals here .the George is very central,enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    4.6
    Short stay in Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of decorating in room was poor. Bathroom door difficult to close. Furniture very old and worn.

    Central location. Food nice and service was prompt. However plenty of equally good alternative places to eat in town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    Great staff and food ... the rooms were a bit dated for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a little high for what you get (the room was clean but dated). But it was summer ... The hotel correctly says that the WIFI is only available in public areas not in the room but it was a little bit inconvenient, especially if you weren't eating a meal.

    The staff and the food were excellent. Everyone was cheery, helpful and all round great service. Location was great to explore the town and parking was close at the central car park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent , you must try the cow pie. The staff are first class and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay there again location town centre parking limited but plenty near by.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Great short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows rattle in wind plus the floors and stairs are very uneven, but only to be expected in a property of it's age. On sight parking is very limited but we were lucky to get one of the spaces.

    Good central location. Excellent full English breakfast with many alternatives as well. Restaurant meals are well presented with excellent service and good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel don't accept room 2 unless you like noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like staying in room 2 it looked onto the Carpark/ back door. The kitchen was very noisy, clattering/ banging pots/ pans. people stood there on phones/ talking very loud smoking. The handy man hosed down the metal stairs very early morning for at least an hour and half. Not very restful.

    The food was delicious very big portions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of WiFi in rooms. WiFi was available in the bar area but not in the bedrooms.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ensuite bathroom bright and roomy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.1
    Hotel in a brilliant spot right in the centre of Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tired and the location of the room was not good

    The food was excellent (breakfast and evening meals) and restaurant and staff were very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: