Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure George Hotel, Reading 4 stars

10 - 12 Kings Street, Reading, RG1 2HE, United Kingdom

#19 of 38 hotels in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1491 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    I was on the 5th floor and the heat was so much couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the 5th floor and the heat was so much couldn’t open the Window’s because of the noise even at 3am no air on just noisy fans small tv sounds like bean cans an no lifts or fire escapes if needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Once we had parked up and walked back to the hotel we had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because of its town centre position and car park. The car park is a multi story some way from the hotel and although the very helpful receptionist provided a town map it was still difficult to find while driving in a busy, unfamiliar place.

    Friendly staff. Excellent poition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a furnace, no air conditioning, this was the worst night sleep I have had in a long time and I had a full day of work and driving ahead. I commented this to the evening check-in staff and the morning check out staff but nothing done by either.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    I didn't sleep at all well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly warm and stuffy (it was in the eves), the floor boards were creaky all around the property meaning it was noisy at all hours, the security device on the window meant I couldn't get more air into the room. The staff seemed unconcerned about this. The room was also really small and didn't smell too pleasant.

    Town centre location. Do not take the single room on the top floor! Maybe the rest of the hotel is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Due to the heat and having to have the window open we could not sleep due to the noise outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very good on either morning. We had the full English breakfast on the first day and omelettes on the 2nd day and neither were tasty. The room we had was very hot so we had to have the window open but it was so noisy we could not sleep and on the Sunday morning we were disturbed by the window cleaners cleaning our window at 6.30am.

    The location was very good as close to some nice restaurants and was very accessible for the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff but not suitable for a summer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows hardly open and with no aircon, temperatures got up to above 35C in the room. Although to be fair, they did remove the strange window opening restrictors when asked; however, room temperature still stayed around 30C for our stay. The weather was hot but these rooms would be too hot even on a normal summer's day. The bathroom in the non upgraded room was also very small.

    Friendly staff, we had two rooms and one was upgraded to a good sized room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    £140 for 1 night is expensive and I would have expected a bigger room and air con for the money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on top floor- no lift. You needed a map to find it, thought various passages. Room was very small and very hot. with heat and noises fan, found it difficult to sleep, I felt that it was very poor for price paid.

    Good location, friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Very central and original
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or air conditioning which is very uncomfortable on a warm summers day. Even though a fan is provided the room feels incredibly warm.

    Very central and original

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Central location, close to the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really hot and it was hard to sleep. It was over-viewing the yard where guests from the pub where sitting and enjoying the drink till half past midnight - good for them but not so great if you have to get up at 7am for work

    Central location, close to the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    It was absolutely fine for me, and i would recommend it to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very ordinary.

    The Staff were really friendly and helpful, over and above the call of duty, and for where I was working it was very close so great location for me. Also it was right in the middle of the Shopping Area which was also convenient for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The reception is very supportive and helpful (especially...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast starts rather late and is sometimes even than not finished

    The reception is very supportive and helpful (especially "Anna" - who arranged an earlier checkin!!!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel with atmosphere
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for city break, but noisy as well, actually so noisy that hotel provides ear's plugs.

    I stayed in property first time and for one night only. I found it clean and comfortable, in city centre, with atmosphere of past but modern facilities and nicely smiling stuff. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.8
    Hot, sweaty, small room, unreasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, like a sweat box. No air con. Toiletries slid off room table as it was on a big angle. Tiny bed that kept moving around. Very Poor

    Very Little

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    So convenient to the town, I will be staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. It didn't bother me, and there might be a lift (not sure), but the stairs were fairly steep.

    Bed was very comfortable.. Location is excellent! The security of the way the gates to the building are secured at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    For us as a base we found the hotel worked out fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately due to the high temperatures & warmth in the hotel we had to have the windows open which made for a disturbed nights sleep due to street noise especially when the services started up early hours of the morning. The courtyard sitting area was very basic by adding a few large planters it could have been such a pretty asset to the front entrance of the hotel

    We had more than one room booked I found the staff attentive and helpful. We had a comfortable large room but the obscured windows (strange as not overlooked at all) made it very dark. The decor was very nice, the bed was comfortable and having fully read description etc on-line expected some inconvenience due to age of building & central location. The higher than usual temperatures made it sticky once all radiators turned off & Windows open it was better and the efficient fan was a great help! The fridge also very useful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    The room was uncomfortably warm the first night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was uncomfortably warm the first night. We couldn't open the window very much due to a short security cable attached to the window. The staff was unable to unlock the cable. All they could do was offer an extra fan in the room. On our last night we ate a small dinner in the hotel pub. We ordered 2 pints of Guiness, nachos, and spicy chicken wings. The Guiness was sour. Fortunately the bartender checked the keg, saw it was almost empty, and replaced our drinks. The nachos had a very thin layer of cheese on top and the cheese was cold, hardened, and sticky; it was very obviously not fresh at all. I will never go there again as they don't seem to know how to run a restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Never again, Accorhotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in slow. Walk up no elevator, no air-con and box fan in room turn on and off not working well. The room is stuffy despite weather is only 16° We kept windows open and got insect/mosquito bites on our legs and arms. Accors group is always very disappointing in anywhere. We stopped booking this group of hotels for years and give it last try UK still cannot make it.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Bad luck with our room, but the hotel is OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The new room that we obtained it hadn't been used for a time. When I flashed the first time the toilet a strong smell of bad water flooded the room! When I wanted to open the window came another smell from the kitchens located near, so we were forced to close the window!

    The staff was very professional! They changed our room with one that it had a matrimonial room instead of 2 single beads!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A conference overnight stay at a good price with a very comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (215) was above the kitchen extractor fan so the room was noisy even with double glazed window. Thankfully while sleeping at hotels I use ear plugs.

    A very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Central location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too narrow. Room noisy late at night from people outside hotel. Still it's in central Reading so this is understandable.

    Room and bathroom adequate. Location in centre of town. A bit noisy at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it was Could feel springs in mattress and it was very soft Courtyard is loud late into the evening and there is the constant smell of cigarettes Someone from reception tried to walk in my room at 1.30am - luckily I had the chain on Tired decor and facilities in room Don’t know why overall rating is 8 - most recent reviews are below this

    Proximity to town centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The front of the building dating back from 16th century
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in took long time (the booking through the booing.com didn't come through to the hotel's system even though I had a confirmation email) and as it was after midnight it was tiring to wait to be allowed to go to the room. Also I had to pay double of what it says on the site and what the receptionist told me-it was in fact £14 not £7.

    The front of the building dating back from 16th century

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Good price, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of slim staircases, and the hotel corridors were like a maze. The room faced the town centre, but this was only noisy in the morning.

    The bed was big and comfortable. The rooms weren't dated, and had good facilities. The hotel is also in the centre of Reading. Ear plugs were provided for any town centre noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    No air con and it will get worse over summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has no air con and if window open to cool, no nets for privacy and staring straight into other windows. Only heavy curtains, so had to try to angle to compromise. An uncomfortable night and I am not fussy - first time I have had to say something so detrimental about a hotel, sadly.

    Staff welcoming. Didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment. Decor is charming but doesn’t compensate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Good for a one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are travelling for business the breakfast is quite late, it doesn't start until 8am. The bathroom is so small one of my colleague's ended up climbing over the toilet to get into the bath! The rooms are hot but a fan was provided, and some rooms were quite noisy. There isn't a lift. The hotel was clean and tidy, and most of the staff were helpful.

    The juice in the morning was very watery. The bathroom incredibly small. The restaurant is indian, with a few English dishes. No lift! No information available regarding the parking, it's a fair walk from the carpark to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    waste of money, avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel, difficult acess for people with less mobility, lack of trust in hosts, they asked me 50 pounds deposit for minibar possible consumption (something I never seen anywhere else in the world), avoid this place, awful

    Location is the only good thing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Great staff but hotel old and breaking down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on my door broke and i had to spend an hour waiting for locksmith to arrive. Parking was expensive and not within hotel property

    The staff were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    First and last time to this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The website is misleading - there is no on-site parking, although the booking.com entry suggested there was. The postcode is useless, since the hotel lies on a bus lane, so it is not possible to park immediately outside. Then, having telephoned the staff, I was given another postcode which took my across Reading to a residential street. (I understand this has happened to other guests.) The room was uncomfortably warm, which the fan struggled to change. The window could only open a few inches, and frequently closed itself. No bottled water was provided in the room - surely, given the uncomfortable temperature, this was an obvious thought!

    The hotel was conveniently close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plug socket near the bed for phone alarm.

    Excellent value for the price. Room/en suite was extremely spacious and the beds were comfortable. Highly recommended. Quiet and relaxing despite staying in the heart of the city on a Saturday night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Very cheap - for a reason. Room OK for price, but insulation from the community inadequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location. Reading has become the epitome of broken Britain. This situation last occurred in the early 19th century, saved by Queen Victoria with the support of her German husband. Such a recovery will probably not happen again. It's the Hogarthian salt of the earth who put this place off civilised limits.

    Old building of character - with possibilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value, nice decor but noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the street and was incredibly noisy. I barely got a wink of sleep throughout the night. The hotel must be aware of the noise factor as they left complimentary ear plugs behind beside the bed and in the morning I wasn’t asked how my stay was as I suspected they knew the answer already.

    The place was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.2
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This is an outdated property that is in desperate need for renovation.. and I'm not talking about changing the carpet.. I'm taking about changing the furniture, the bathrooms, adding ac etc

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and comfortable stay, staff friendly and helpful, Great central locatio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only found the kettle etc as I was about to check out. It wasnt obvious and as the hotel seemed a bit qwerky i just assumed there wasn’t one only an expresso machine , so I didn’t ask

    Didnt use the restaurant . Info unclear about availability of breakfast. Different information sites said different things. When I arrived I was told no breakfast , I took this to mean there was none provided even at a cost but leaflets in the room said there was breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too soft for me. The furniture is quite old. Not enough light in the room. The iron provided barely worked. The bathroom had a weird layout.

    The staff was really great all around. The breakfast was good. Room was quite big, with a desk. Very close to shops and restaurants. Bathroom was clean with free toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    The location is central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't great. You had to climb over the WC to get in the shower. Old furniture, cramped room, weird endless staircases and corridors. I wouldn't slate it completely, but I would definitely pick another hotel if I had to stay in the area again. It was not what you expect from Mercure.

    The location is central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Have stayed before and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft but others may like it

    great location, right in the centre of Reading town centre and surprisingly quiet for that type of location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Location in the heart of the city, close to bars and...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant smell of Indian food, noise in adjacent rooms. To be honest being woken up at 2.00am by people I assume were in the next room wasn’t something I expected but it felt like they were at the end of the bed. Walls paper thin, bed uncomfortable, spongy mattress on two single divans. I used to like the Mercury George for its character but seems that’s been sucked right out of the place and replaced by the constant smell of the Indian restaurant below. Breakfast was poor, deep fried food, rubbery eggs. Cornflakes were ok, but I suppose you can’t really mess that up if it comes in a box. Overall disappointing and will prefer to stay at the Penta Hotel up the road. Room 118 not for anyone who has issues with climbing stairs or carrying travel bags.

    Location in the heart of the city, close to bars and restaurants and right next door to the Oracle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Lots of stairs but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some extra info about the surrounding area in the rooms would be nice. Reception staff didn't mention breakfast or that the front gate get closed at night but not really an issue.

    Pleasant stay, would recommend. Quiet rooms. Was about to get breakfast for 3 people at neighboring cafe for less than it would have cost to get 1.5 breakfasts at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok, cheap place to stay in Reading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a late checkout & agreed with the concierge, who explained the extra charges. We agreed that I would leave when I leave, and would pay the charge. The morning concierge then called me and woke me up to re-explain the charges. Bad service.

    Good location for staying in central Reading. Cheap price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for great location in Reading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower leaked a lot and the earplugs on the bedside table were off putting, and not at all required even though we were at the front of the hotel

    Nice room, quiet, decent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Not good at all!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed to iron my shirt for a meeting in the morning, the iron didn't work, I went to reception to be told yes it did work, a member staff came back to the room with me, she then confirmed that it didn't work, as I had already said! no apology! She brought me another iron, that too didn't work! They then found an empty room for me to iron the shirt, she turned the iron on and said good to go, I proceeded and immediately I had a black iron shape burn mark on my shirt, so the shirt was ruined, the member of staff had set at full heat. I proceeded back to my room and had to wear a shirt I wore the previous day, not good for an important meeting. By this point in time I had no time left to have the paid for breakfast. I went to check out and informed the staff about my ruined shirt, the response was oh dear! No apology and no discount offered. The shirt cost me £50.00, I had no time to stand and complain!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Brief but very pleasant. Am looking forward to my next visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the fact that the breakfast was cooked to order. Everything was fresh from the grill. The service was fast and friendly. Check in and Checkout was simple and easy. The location in the centre of Reading was ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, although customer service could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were professional but slightly surly - could be more friendly. Also, when my partner returned after a work do when the gates was shut on the first night. He both rang the bell and called the suggested phone number to no avail. He eventually got in after 15 minutes, but not at all ideal on a cold night.

    Location was great for our needs, bed was comfy and good for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4* hotel, the general feeling was very tired and run down. The room we were in felt very dated and could do with a refurbishment.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    If I needed to stay in Reading itself I would use the hotel again, but the experience has put me off
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t helpful when asking for directions to and from hotel, given wrong floor for room, a lot of stairs with no lift. Room had no heating control, operated by hotel so room was cold during the day. Parking was off site causing an issue with having to carry multiple bags.

    It was clean and modern decor, It was convienient for town centre and places of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfy beds, security was excellent and very little noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main room light wasn't anywhere near the main living space making it fairly dark in the room. Also the fact there was no plug socket by my bed for my phone alarm.

    Comfy beds, security was excellent and very little noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as having parking which isn't correct. Uneven floorboards through out which were so loud it sounded as though people were about to walk into our room. I wouldn't recommend and I wouldn't stay again as very disturbed sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    NOICE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating pipes were a bit noisy and kept me awake - but I'm a light sleeper so wouldn't imagine it's problem for all

    Good location, charming property. Good room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    It's good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were nothing like the pictures. There is a option of upgrading your room for £20 and we think these are the rooms shown when booking

    It's good central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't aware parking was only at NCP. Discounted parking is good but would have preferred as a hotel guest to have this over entirety of stay and not to pay every time I took car out.

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location and lovely hotel and room interior , shame about the quality of the sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was atrocious, it was like sleeping on a bag of feathers with a few springs in it . My husband and I spent all night tossing and turning and rolling in to each other . Room 201. Would have liked larger breakfast mug/cup in the room

    The quirky effect and the decoration , on hand access to an ironing board and the space . Loved the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Broken heating, unpleasant stay while knackering the planet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a radiator you could fry an egg on that wouldn't switch of. The windows opened onto the main street: endless busses, a pelican crossing and street cleaning at 6am. On arriving all three windows were wide open, the owners clearly knew there was an issue. The provision of earplugs and a fan were also a hint!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    I would recomment this for the business traveler looking for a stay close to the center of Reading
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost no view from my room. Wifi was not that OK in my room: continuously disconnecting for several seconds. Though it was excellent for my colleague (next room) so cannot judge fairly.

    The staff. The location. Breakfast (better than expected).Settlement with nearby car park. Building style (interior /outside) and yard (would have been marvelous in warmer season). Room isolation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in an historic building with twenty-first-century comforts.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs could be difficult for disabled visitors or those with limited mobility - or are there ground floor rooms or other provision for these?.

    The hotel's Dickensian atmosphere, with its cobbled courtyard and all the intriguing nooks and crannies inside. The clean, comfortable, warm and well-appointed room and bathroom. The tea and coffee-making facilities and free Wi-Fi. The friendly reception and housekeeping staff. The options to check in early and to store luggage after check-out. The location in Reading's main shopping street with cultural venues such as the Museum and the Hexagon within easy reach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was only just warm despite leaving it run on full. Didn’t like parking 5 minutes away in a multi-storey and paying £7, I know it mentions this online but it is not that visible and I didn’t spot it or expect it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.5
    Best value, central town hotel in Reading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The bed was very comfortable. Room was warm and well laid out. Receptionist extremely helpful and welcoming. The best value hotel by some way in central Reading. The hotel is ideally located for all the central town amenities and rail links. I cannot find fault with any aspect of my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Great sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I arrived to the property late after a long drive and parking outside the property wasn't too bad. Bath/shower was really warm and powerful. My room was on a corner near (301) the staircase and as this hotel is traditional I could hear a lot of creaking from people walking about and as it was Saturday night I was worried it would be too loud but it didn't bother my sleep. I didn't eat at the restaurant or have breakfast as I left early. Room and hotel clean. Staff, polite and helpful when asked about local places to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    It's a beautiful old building right in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it's right in the centre, it can be a little noisy.

    It's a beautiful old building right in the centre of town. The staff are helpful and friendly (Hello Bianca).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel, clean, comfortable and ideally located. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast had a huge variety from continental to cooked and was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.4
    Good central location box standard budget rooms with paper thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The place is a mess of corridors and stairs. -The staff rarely even acknowledges you when you arrive or leave. -The walls are paper thin, and you can even hear soft conversations from adjacent rooms.

    The building looks beautiful from outside and its location is very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    An OK hotel in the heart of Reading!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite clean, rooms are a little run down. It was a mission trying to flush the toilet. Also the sink had a big visible crack. Rooms are also small. So if you plan to spend much time inside you may wanna try and upgrade. Although location is the hotels best feature, it also got its downside. The rooms by king street are exposed to all the noise coming from party people, busses and garbage collectors . They leave you a pair of ear plugs to though, use which was a good gesture

    As many have mentioned before, George hotel is all about location. You are simply in the heart of Reading. So shops , restaurants, bars are all a few yards away. The train station is close too which makes it convenient if u travel by train. The really added bonus is the partnership with NCP queens road car park where u get a 50% discount On the daily rate. Although it is not free but still very convenient and better than leaving the car on the street not knowing what could happen to it. Staff are really friendly too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unresponsive when I tried to call to confirm booking (over 10 mins with no answer) Parking is not on site or free it's in a local multi-storey The hotel bar closed by 11:00 Single room tiny and not the standard of a 4* hotel. The bed was tiny, and cold since it was right next to the window. The wall was dirty. It is not possible to see all the small television as it is blocked by the curtains, which are too short for the window so perversely do let let in light first thing in the morning. Not worth the £95 I paid.

    The courtyard is attractive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    As above, not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single room via Booking.com, at the above George Hotel, Reading. On arrival I was told I had been given a double room, which was good. Unfortunately it was right next to the stairs and being an old building heard people going up and down until the early hours of the morning, and again early next morning, hence my quiet break was non existent. Noise early of bottles outside. The bathroom had no blind or anyway of privacy and was overlooked by other rooms across the courtyard and was unable to put the light on once it as dark as obviously could be seen even going to the toilet. The room number was 321,I did complain to reception, ear plugs were provided but have ear problems.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Disappointed by the cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed before as it’s convenient for work nights out and had a good stay. However this time my bins hadn’t been emptied in either the bathroom or bedroom. Also it didn’t look like the cleaner had vacuumed as there were biscuit crumbs by the bins which I didn’t have.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel shame about the issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drains were blocked in the morning, reception tried their best but made the morning unpleasant It would have been nice to have more of an apology, the only member of staff who addressed the issue was the receptionist who did her best

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    For one night between two exhausting days of travelling, it was a first class place consider
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room lighting could have been better. Tea/coffee making facilities could be provided. Proper glasses in bathroom instead of flimsy plastic beakers. Otherwise OK

    The room was very clean and spacious. Could have been better with ceiling light as well. I was somewhat disappointed to see no tea/coffee making facility in the room considering the significant distance and four staircases to reach reception and whatever catering facilities lay beyond.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    A luxury hotel with a caring touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that came to mind was a little noise from people going home after pub. But the George even provided ear plugs if needed.

    The staff just seemed extra friendly & helpful. From the lady on Reception to the bar staff. Really made a difference! Room was warm, very clean & large for a single room & so affordable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think there's a lift, which may be an issue when carrying larger suitcases.

    Overall an excellent stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent location. Room very comfortable, spacious and clean - some furniture a bit dated but that did not affect cleanliness or comfort. I didn't have the breakfast so I cannot comment on this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Small single room, with location appeal to the Reading Mercure Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like I said the room was fairly small, and due to the old architecture of the building, my room had a slanted floor, as everything sloped to a central point. So the bed, the table and cupboard all slanted to this point. I was tempted to go buy a tennis ball and test out the physics of gravity. But I was well aware before booking that the building was old, and would have expected some quirks in the building layout. Just reading the description on the hotel states its possible the oldest building in Reading. The top of the door was cut at a slope, as you can see from the photos I took. Apart from that niggling fact, I was overall please with room, You cant grumble at booking a room for £39 for 1x night, and so central to everything. Another issue was parking, as the hotel is so central to the town, there is no car park, and you're at the mercy of using the normal shopping centre / nearby car parks. Another reason I decided to take a train in, rather than drive. I heard from friends staying on the same night who decided to drive in, had to pay about £16 - 19+ for overnight parking in the immediate area.

    Location wise, was excellent as very central to the town, as right next door to the shopping mall (Oracle). Shops and restaurants all within walking distance. I happen to get the train into Reading on this occasion, and was only a 7 - 9 minute walk from the station. Hotel Building fabric was that of the old Tudor period, so expected quirky building layout, odd level floors and small winding staircase leading to the upper floors. The Hotel Staff were extremely polite and happy to answer any question, so had no issues for asking for anything. The Free late checkout was until 12pm, so was able to get a lay in before checking out. I opted for a single room, and although somewhat small still had all the standard stuff expected in a hotel room. Iron board with trouser press, kettle, hairdryer, additional pillow and heating. My room was facing the the road above the traffic lights, and found it amusing to be provided with earplugs, but wasn't too loud to disturb my sleep. But the option is there if you need the added sound damping measure. Toilet was well cleaned, and provided with the triple layer toilet roll, way better than the sandpaper stuff you get in some lower quality hotels. Thought its worth mentioning this fact, if that may be somewhat a concern for the toilet-phobes out there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    10 our of 10 ... but ask for a “ quiet” room if you want some sleep .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first night was in a room on the front of the building and it was extremely noisy throughout the entire night.

    It was just lovely rooms and staff. I felt welcomed and cared for after a long journey. A personal service I’d say . After mentioning the noisy front room, on my first night. That accommodated me with a quiet room on the back of the building, and we’re very nice about it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Great value. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice , comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get a chance to sample the evening meal which smelt gorgeous as I ventured in to town for a works night out for Xmas.

    Highly welcoming and friendly staff at reception. Very comfortable single room with great en-suite bathroom fitted out to a very high standard. Despite the very central location any disturbance was kept to a minimum by ample sound and light insulation - slept like a log!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    nice staff at reception.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fortunately i got a room at ground level which is value for money. stairs very small and some corridors very narrow.

    The staff at reception 10/10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good for the price. Location is great bang in middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for breakfast were not made clear to me from check in. I should have asked but some info in the room would have been useful.

    Fairly good hotel for the price. A little dated, squeaky floor boards but generally okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to pay cash apparently had to give 50pound deposit even though it said on web site I could pay with cash

    The hotel was clean and staff where extremely helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Room was small and extremely hot, and radiator would not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and extremely hot, and radiator would not turn down. I did find a fan but at 6am. Windows only opened a few inches. At breakfast I was informed I had only paid for Continental - however I had paid for Full English. I was alone in Restaurant, - no salt & pepper to be found. Cooked breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: