Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George Townhouse 3 stars

High Street, Shipston on Stour, CV36 4AJ, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Shipston on Stour

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 453 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Paid for a classic double but it was very small, paid 120 inc breakfast not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks, asked for a sweet wine which wasn’t to our taste, asked to change it but still had to pay for the one we didn’t drink, maybe they could have offered a taste. Bar shut to early, room very small with a view over roof tops and a constant humming all night, bed too soft

    Breakfast good, nice decor, relaxing bar, lovely bathroom and shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of road noise could not have windows open when we slept.

    All the staff were very friendly. The food was to a good standard , the waitress was pleasant and personable. The decor was contemporary and the surroundings very attractive. Noise from the bar was not heard in the bedroom. The bedroom was roomy and the shower large good quality complimentary bathroom goodies. On site parking, and hotel in a lovely market town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Excellent value Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen extractor very noisy on first night but it was switched off each night after I commented on the noise.

    Pleasant room,comfortable bed. Good food and very pleasant and helpful Staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Good location in the centre of Shipston, with private car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extra at £10 which seemed expensive. Lots of local cafes offering better value breakfast options.

    Good location in the centre of Shipston, with private car park at the rear. Walking distance to a good range of restaurants, albeit quite a few were closed on a Monday night.Excellent modern bathroom with powerful shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Looed forward to our visit and it certainly came up to expectations. Will certainly stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps changing the restaurant menu regularly would be helpful.

    Excellent choices for breakfast. Staff all extremely friendly and did everything they could to makestay enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Would not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar should have closed at 11.00pm. However both nights we were there they were closed earlier, First night we got back at 10-15pm and bar was closed although the barman did allow us to have a drink being as we were residents. Second night we came back at 10.50pm and the bar maid on duty that night was quite rude and did not allow us a drink! even though there were three locals drinking. The other thing I didn't like is that if you are back when the bar is shut you have to climb the fire escape even though I am an OAP. Don't think I'd stay there again.

    Rooms were freshly decorated and very clean with good tea and coffee facilities and water. Some of the staff were really nice'

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    On the whole, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor in room was a little tired. Shower area looked in need of attention. Breakfast room wasn't cleaned from night before - food and debris on floor.

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend staying at this hotel 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems arose the 1st day with allocated room and H/K overlooked, but staff immediately remedied the situation which included upgrading us that evening for the remainder of our stay.

    Beds were king size and extremely comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our menu choices were very tasty and well presented. Convenient for local shops in pretty village. Great location for visiting the Cotswolds / Stratford-upon-Avon areas. On site car park good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Room clean but loo handle needed to be repaired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel/pub closed at 10pm Sunday’s , stopped serving food from 8pm, even at 8.08 they wouldn’t serve a bowl of chips to residents. Dirty tables waiting to be cleaned at breakfast, and buffet not replenished .

    Room clean but loo handle needed to be repaired.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was soft but that’s my personal preference and I slept great regardless. The full English breakfast was huge! But good. Maybe a half portion for the wimpy ladies like myself who couldn’t finish it.

    The room was lovely. Clean and modern. The bathroom was huge! The shower was amazing. Tea and coffe facilities in the room were great. The staff were all so friendly and lovely. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in central location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in central location with parking. Comfortable bed (I normally struggle in hotels). Excellent cooked breakfast and variations allowed, not so in some hotels. Overall a very pleasant 2 night stay. Would return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    a very restful , relaxing stay in a well equiped hotel with attentive helpful professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints about our stay and would recommend the hotel to others

    All the staff , were very friendly and professional . a real credit to the hotel . The breakfast and the meal we had in the restaurant were both very good, the carrot cake we had in the afternoon was fantastic .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Outstandingly modernised older building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outstandingly modernised older building. We were fortunate enough to get the suite which was beautifully appointed with the most comfortable bed in the world. Only drawback is you need to carry your bags up three flights - and no porters although I am sure the friendly staff would have found assistance if needed. Excellent restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. Shipston is ideally placed to explore the northern Cotswolds. All in all a wonderful experience. Highly recommend for the "English" experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing time in the Cotswolds. Love the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given (second floor)was noise due to some extractor fun’s

    we like most everything. The little shops, the coffee rooms, the old pubs etc. The food in this hotel a bit price but very nice. We have been few times in this place. Relaxing area. Love it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value breakfast, good menu great to have choices other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value breakfast, good menu great to have choices other than eggs/ bacon. Great coffee machine in room. Quiet area no road traffic great value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    The sea trout I chose for my evening meal was cooked to perfection. Service was very efficient and friendly. Reception desk guy was very informative. Loved the room and huge very comfortable bed. Free standing bath was a bonus. Great location for looking round Shipston-on-Stour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows in our room were nailed shut so unable to open. A small niggle really but didn’t distract from the wonderful stay. We had a drink in the bar upon arrival and for a pint of draught cider and a small wine it came to £12 ! A little excessive I think.

    Very welcoming. Exceptionally clean and modern. Nice touches like a decanter of Brandy on a small table between two chairs in the big bay window of the room we stayed in. Room 3. The coffee machine another nice touch and all the specialty teas. The deep roll top bath was wonderful to soak in after a long day exploring the surrounding areas. The room was large and had a full length mirror and a desk to sit at. The fan was very welcome as sadly the windows were nailed shut so no air to circulate. The bed was big although a little too soft for us. The bathroom was huge too and as well as the bath it had a very large separate shower with a rain shower head. And spotlessly clean. Staff were incredibly friendly and nothing too much trouble. Check in was easy and we were shown to our room. Left a note for housekeeping for some extra breakfast tea as I’m an avid tea drinker. And for some toiletries as none were in the bathroom upon arrival so think they were forgotten when the room was cleaned prior to our arrival. And when we returned there was a lovely little reply on my note telling me there were plenty left for me and there was. And a full range of little toiletries were lined up in the bathroom which were lovely to use. Everything about The George Townhouse was top notch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay and my few criticisms did not detract from our time there, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was limited by the location of the hotel, restaurant staff although very pleasant need some basic training and the breakfast bar was not replenished in a timely manner.

    The room was superb and the atmosphere very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included this year. Price last year for the same date was 85 pounds with breakfast. This year 90 pounds - no breakfast. They wanted an extra tenner each ! I was told that this was because I had used Booking.com and not booked direct. I used Booking.com last year !! and brekkie was included

    room/location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay very much. Very good value for money. With very minor changes could be superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tops of headboards in the two rooms that we experienced were very dusty. Very limited range of fruit at breakfast.

    Croissants excellent. Cooked breakfast excellent. Bed very comfortable. Room nicely appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Really lovely location and great decor and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    whilst the lady who checked us in was brilliant, she'd clearly forgotten who we were by the next morning - no point in asking people what they are doing if you aren't going to remember (we were going hot air ballooning so quite an unusual thing)

    great food and good decor. very accommodating staff who made the effort to find us a table in the restaurant even though we hadn't booked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a table for 6.30pm online through booking.com, however the hotel didn't receive the booking. They were quiet so it wasn't a problem. Also, I requested an upgrade through booking.com for £10.00. They didn't receive that either !. So, something is wrong with IT/communication somewhere along the lines ........!

    Room was as described, Cosy but the bathroom was a lovely surprise as it was quite spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing and enjoyable 2 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant food was excellent and the room (11) was so comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only - point was, that the room didn’t have a cupboard to pack clothes away, which was strange as everything else was first class ( like the Nespresso machine with lots of the original capsules!)

    The George Townhouse is a beautiful, tastefully decorated hotel, with excellent staff, very comfortable and clean rooms ( big bathroom !), lovely food, great facilities and ideally located to visit The Cotwolds. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and clean boutique hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it hard to use the room key.

    Great bathroom clean, and very comfortable room . Nice extras like Nespresso machine and lotions. Parked car in the hotel car park. Centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice overnight stay after a trip to Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and window could not be fully opened but at the end of the day we are having a superb summer so not the fault of the hotel, maybe a fan would have been welcome.

    Really friendly at check in and at the bar/breakfast. Parking right outside hotel with easy access.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, good food, lovely serving staff, poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room!!, the very large front window to the room didn't open and it was ridiculously hot and stuffy in there, I asked reception if they'd got a fan I could have and the chap hunted in another room and found a small tower fan that wouldn't stand up as one of the legs was missing! when I asked why the window wouldn't open I was told it was because it was a listed building and it wasn't allowed, but I did notice the the ones above and below were open, so I'd say it was more than likely that the sash was broken so we had to prop in on a chair!! The chap didn't seem overly concerned anyway. The bathroom window opened a little bit, but it opend onto a small roof area which was covered in birds mess, and in that heat you could smell it too!!! we were also woken in the morning by a pidgen that had got through the broken net covering the roof and was making an awful racket. The room hadn't been serviced properly after our first night either, the tea and coffee etc had been replenished, but the waster hadn't and the bed hadn't been made up, it was exactly how we'd left it, neither did it look like the bathroom had been cleaned, the towels had been replaced though. All in all, it was the room that spoilt the experience, including a nasty stain where the coat hooks were on the wall and a bedside lamp hanging off the wll by its wires, we had paid top price for it and expected more. Very dissapointed I'm afraid, perhaps we just got a bad room :-( I would use the hotel again, I would just be more careful with which room I was allocated.

    The serving staff were lovely and helpfull (even though they seem to have to work very long hours) and the food was very good indeed, apart from the extremely warm bottle of wine, but that doesn't seem to be unique to this place unfortunately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff made us very welcome and throughout the stay. Very nice rooms. Good value. Good food and lovely atmosphere in bar / restaurant / lounge rooms. Only negative was that the bedrooms were very warm and windows didn't open much - weather was exceptionally, but fans were provided on request.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roman blind fell down when I opened it because brackets weren’t correct size. Reported it to reception but wasn’t fixed while we were there

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding, very comfortable room (we were in Room 3, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding, very comfortable room (we were in Room 3, just above the restaurant dining area, but never heard any noise from below). We had both dinner and breakfast at the George and enjoyed both.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent ,will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks especially the wine ,not particully good and rather overpriced could do with a good house wine

    Lovely overnight stay ,staff friendly and helpful ,bar food and breakfast excellent ,will go back and recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in that area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size bedroom with comfy bed and good bedding. Large bathroom, large walk-in shower and lovely spa toiletries. Everything very clean. Bar and restaurant really nice. Bar menu and restaurant menu available. We had food from the bar menu and breakfast, both very good. There is also a good outside seating area at the back plus car park. Staff friendly. All good.would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    We opted for the cosy room so wasn’t expecting anything large but it was well equipped and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft. Probably needs replacing as firmer at foot end of bed.

    Clean modern and tasteful decoration. Pub/restaurant downstairs had good atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in centre of a delightful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Well presented and decorated, clean bedroom and bathroom both of good size. Helpful, friendly staff. Located in centre of delightful town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great room and good food combined with excellent service, just needed sound proofing in room 15.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 15 overlooks the courtyard garden and the sound proofing of the window is poor. Due to long warm summer evenings late night drinkers are easily heard from the room, making sleep a challenge. However, the staff were very understanding and we were well compensated for the inconvenience.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was well equipped with nice extras. The food in the restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay - really comfortable room and a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would personally preferred that the cost of breakfast was included - but I suspect that this might allow guests some flexibility.

    Although the breakfast incurred an extra cost (£10 per head for a full cooked breakfast ) - this was still an excellent meal with a very good range of buffet and cooked breakfast items so would highly recommend it if you have the appetite and/or the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room, good evening meal, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy from the fans as we seemed to be above the bar/kitchens. Not really suitable for people with restricted mobility - no lift, and only a banister on one side of the staircase to the rooms, plus a few other steps to get to room, and shower was over a roll top bath, so a bit tricky to climb over the side!

    Lovely room, centrally located for Shipston. Very clean. we had evening meal in the bar which was great - pie special for £12.50 which was full of chicken and ham, and lovely veg with it. Great selection on tea/coffee tray with nice biscuits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Extremely soft mattresses, the food isn't as good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely soft mattresses, the food isn't as good quality as last year, lazy and slow staff (recent hires) whilst the staff who've been there longer are still friendly and helpful. The service is overall exceptionally slow (be it dinner or breakfast), no fresh fruit served at breakfast despite being separately chargeable to room prices which now start at £120 a night for their smallest room. What most irritated our group however is that after the first night of uncomfortable sleeping, we asked them to make the beds harder even if it was just to add some of the available cushions under the mattress... they made no attempt whatsoever to accommodate this request where other hotels /B&Bs would have (even after we explained that one of our party had a bad back)!!! They also checked us into the wrong rooms - after we said that my husband and I were to be in the larger room. Very disappointing considering what this place was like only a year ago!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location (not touristic) and renewed. Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was pretty lousy.

    Bathroom was beautiful. The bed very comfy. It had Nespresso machine that I love. The bar was really lively and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A very jolly stay that suited us well. There was a good choice in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A light over the bathroom mirror in room 14 would have been appreciated for shaving/make up but there was a light in my sister’s room.

    The staff were super friendly and the beds were comfortable. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Trip to Shipston-on-stour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was perhaps a little small. Though there was a free one a short walk away.

    Overall the stay was excellent, clean, well equipped rooms and something very different from a standard chain hotel. The staff were also great and helped us with an early check-in which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall ambience and decor made it a welcoming and relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corner of bed frame stuck out beyond the mattress at shin height .....very painful !

    Overall ambience and decor made it a welcoming and relaxing location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant / bar onsite was fantastic and busy. Staff friendly. Situated for easy driving access to numerous sights in and around The Cotswolds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a totally relaxing stay in a well positioned town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit smaller than I had imagined from the pictures online, having said that it was super cosy and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfy which is good as we had to sit ion it to watch tv.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A relaxing stay in a stunning venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bell at the reception desk to call the staff but that didn't hinder us... just a suggestion!

    A beautiful pub with stunning rooms. We loved the bath and the shower! The decor was vintage in style with a modern twist. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was just perfect! We loved it and will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice enough the room not quite as nice as expected tho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The staff great the food lovely the bar area really nice social area. There needs to be a mirror by the dressing table to do hair and makeup. The bathroom lighting was poor and couldn’t see to get lenses in. There was no shelving in the shower cubicle to put shower gel etc on while using the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, but lacks a bit of care
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely large shower in my room, but the plumbing needed sorting/clearing so the water drained so slowly that the shower tray filled alarmingly with water. Judging by the damaged woodwork around the shower this has been a problem for some time. No dedicated staff on Reception so you always had to go looking for them. Being in the town, and an old building, the bedroom windows looked out onto roof space which looked terribly messy - worth someone looking through the windows from the viewpoint of a guest, because it could be improved with ease. Breakfast was a severe disappointment. It looked good, but I would suggest that management need to sit in the breakfast room and have breakfast. All laid out on a small table which made it difficult when quite a few guests in together because everyone was in everyone else's way. Things like jams in one jar, so we took the jar to our table of 4 but you had to keep jumping up to return it for other guests - small dishes of jam for each table would be so easy.

    Nice old place with recently renovated attractive rooms. The restaurant was good, we enjoyed our food. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful rooms. Overcharged on drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel we was overcharged for our drinks. 1 beer and 1 single gin and tonic 20 pound? Never right. We decided to drink in the other pubs locally instead who were much cheaper and the drinks just as good. We wont be drinking with you again unfortunately.

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent. Very nicely finished with good facilities and good off road parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    If there are different times / rules / procedures on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there are different times / rules / procedures on a Bank holiday . I.e kitchen closing early , bar closing early this should be communicated to all guests and all staff to avoid confusion and confrontation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Perfect - Would highly recommend and will definitely be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited number of parking spaces but did manage to get a spot.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely room (12) with very comfy bed. The Nespresso machine, box of teas to suit all tastes, handmade biscuits and fresh milk on request were great. Food very nice, and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel room was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant let the hotel down. Dead flowers on the tables (which we removed but were placed back on tables for breakfast). Food poor quality. Returned both starter and main course. Wine on menu wasn’t available. Waitress wasn’t very accommodating, although this was saved by the manager who appeased.

    Hotel room was perfect. Little touches made a big difference. It was clean and well decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Bed very comfy,loved the roll top bath, facilities excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Suite(2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs up to the suite not very safe as my partner slipped down them due to them been so narrow

    Bed very comfy,loved the roll top bath, facilities excellent, great atmosphere, breakfast amazing and fab location, but could do with offering a discounted rate for repeat bookings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Superb and friendly hotel with highly enthusiastic and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely fantastic they couldn’t do enough for you and everything was done with a smile. The room was lovely with a great shower and bath accompanied with very nice teas, coffee (coffee machine ) and biscuits as well as excellent shower gels etc. We ate at the restaurant and we had a very good meal with friendly and attentive service. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and we will go back in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    If booking the suite check the vomit smell on bed has been eradicated!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Suite(2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival all the windows in our room were open despite it being freezing and the heating on full blast....we only realised after getting into bed it was obviously to try and dry out the bed which had been vomited in/on quite recently and the smell was overwhelming. Given how late it was and the hotel is unmanned at night we had no choice but to top & tail in one side of the bed (which was so soft it became painful!!). Quite literally the worst night's sleep ever in what should have been a dream location. And on check out the guy didn't even ask how our stay was, just asked for the payment!! We spent over £300 there overnight (room, food etc) and I would expect WAY better than this

    Fab property, beautiful location. We stayed in the suite- oak beams, a huge bathroom, rolltop bath and a generous bedroom & sitting area, with views across the surrounding town and hills. The bar and restaurant downstairs have recently been refurbished and are lively, cosy and full of atmosphere on a Saturday and well into the evening. We had a great night there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, hotel extremely comfortable, very central with plenty of amenities to hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very off hand manager, not customer service led.

    Super building, room and bathroom were lovely, nice touches with tea and decent coffee (pods), also toiletries were very pleasant. One of the best breakfasts in this price range and staff, all bar one who (was one of the managers), very obliging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had a lot of stains on the carpet and for the price we paid it was a lovely room but this was very off putting. Also although there was a blind in the bathroom it would have been better having a frosted window.

    The room was very nice and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The update of the building itself seemed to have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was fine, but not outstanding. Also, I should have liked a stronger, darker real ale among the three on tap. But these are very minor observations....it is clear from our overall scores that we enjoyed the stay and appreciate the hotel.

    The update of the building itself seemed to have been carried out to a very high standard. Our shower was splendid and in general the ‘bits and pieces’ around the room were all good quality. Nice touch....a Nespresso machine plus pods in the room. We had nice weather so we could take breakfast outside.....excellent. We had read online that the breakfast was the weak spot of the hotel; in fact, we enjoyed ours BUT it’s not 100% clear what is included in room rate and what isn’t.....worth double checking, although to be honest I think the hotel could just develop a simpler system and save everybody, staff included, time and effort. In passing, it’s worth mentioning the girl serving breakfast who was cheery, helpful and patient with all enquiries. Thanks to her.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    We had a relaxing break staying in a tastefully decorated and very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was quite slow!

    Tastefully decorated and good quality coffee, tea etc in our room. We had a lovely breakfast, delicious produce and relaxing atmosphere in the parlour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the situation and the luxury of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room exceeded all expectations. The room was very clean and the added extras gave a luxury feel. The bed was really comfortable. The staff were on the whole very helpful. Breakfast was good value for money, as you had a choice from the buffet selection as well as from the hot food menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic facilities, great food, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain blocked. Gorgeous huge shower but didn’t drain properly and smelled of eggs, like it needed bleach/drain unblocker poured down it. Unpleasant bits would come up through the plug as opposed to drain.

    Facilities and restaurant food Breakfast thrown in on arrival due to it being my other half’s birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Really impressed with the George. It exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park isn’t very big & parking out the front is restricted. We initially blocked someone in when we arrived & then had to keep checking the car park to see if there was a space to move into. There was after an hour, so it was fine.

    Our room was really comfy, the staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    wonderful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM Would benifit by having a larger tv.

    The room was lovely very clean and beautifully decorated the shower was amazing we dined in the resturant and the food was brilliant All the staff were helpful and friendly would defently go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Really pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included in price

    The bedroom was lovely, it was quiet at night, the bath made my husband's day and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in (& I stay in a lot!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice clean up to date pub inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs to climb with your luggage so something to keep in mind for senior guests or people with mobility issues.

    Room was nice and warm on the top floor. Up to date decor and bathroom relatively new and nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    The bar area was good, had a lovely feel to the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes hard to get a parking space in the car park.

    The bar area was good, had a lovely feel to the place. Our dinner was good too, staff very professional. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great staff, great location, very comfortable room and bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Great staff, great location, very comfortable room and bed (Room 9), great pub and food! Fantastic value for money. Loved the free toast and marmalade when you buy a coffee in the morning! Love the design and layout of the pub/restaurant!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Wow, stunning features, comfort, luxury bathroom... perfect for a relaxing night!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A take-away breakfast for early departures (breakfast opens at 0800)

    Luxurious furnishings and comfort in a period style to complement this fantastic old Inn at the heart of the town...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    ideal place to enjoy a special weeked break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room overlooked the high street and unfortunately we were woken up by a lorry delivering to the co op shop its reverse warning sounded like an alarm clock ...which wasn't great at 8am on a Sunday morning!!

    breakfast was superb, good selection of lovely crusty breads, pastries, fruit, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was really tasty

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Visiting family so location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge stains all over the carpet in our room and weren’t mentioned at all when shown to our room. So really not worth what we paid.

    Comfy bed and nice sized room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Suite(2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, we found that ‘the suite ‘ that I had booked two months in advance as a Christmas present for my fiancée, had been given away to another couple.I was not happy, but we were told the hotel was fully booked. The price of the inferior room was discounted and we were given a free breakfast, but I didn’t want that. I wanted to stay in the room that I had booked. The Manager was unavailable so I couldn’t speak to him/her. The bathroom view was a roof, covered in bird poop, not great. .

    The room was large and clean. Shower and bath were brilliant. Breakfast was lovely. Dinner was great. Staff were lovely. Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Hotel brilliant, restaurant awful !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was Very disappointing.!!! I had the fish and chips dinner, was told the fish was not frozen, but it was absolutely terrible.. Frozen fish that was wet and watery inside and virtually unedible, and believe it or not served with mushy peas that were made from "frozen peas", which were very sweet and also unedible. Recommend hotel but not the awful restaurant.. Didn't dare try breakfast.

    the room was extremely comfortable and the in room faciltiies very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I stayed in Room 11 for a night. The room was simply amazing and was quiet despite the beautiful bay window being over the town square. We travel a lot and found it easy to get additional pillows despite not having someone on permanent reception duty. What we enjoyed most though was the exceptional dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Clearly we loved this hotel and plan to return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great room, excellent food and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I would improve would be that the bar staff receive some basic training on what drinks they sell and what times the kitchen open and close.

    Great room, loved the roll top bath in the bedroom. Great decor throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, cosy and comfy rooms, staff were super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad odour from bathroom sink and the bar ran out of ingredients for certain cocktails, not a big deal however we could have been swade if presented with an alternative..

    Bedroom decor chic and cool, to a high spec

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Could be amazing with a few improveme td
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were poorly trained and not great sleep - room 1 is very bad - all guests pass it going to/ from their rooms and right over reception phone. Plus no staff on site after closing - alarm went off and called emergency number - no response.

    Location, decor and food

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75