Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Norfolk hotel reviews
  4. Norwich hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Georgian Townhouse

Reviews of The Georgian Townhouse

30-34 Unthank Road, Norwich, NR2 2RB, United Kingdom

#6 of 23 hotels in Norwich

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1301 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in convenient location for city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in room needed a spruce. Dusty appliances and upside down picture shows that detail isn't always monitored.

    Friendly staff and ample parking. Great location and pleasant room.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    7.9
    Very welcoming and comfortable however could be more clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dust on the radiator, tiles in the bathroom coming off, rusty shower head, bath nearly fell off the legs, stain on floor, stain on headboard of bed.

    The bed was comfy and the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    10
    Superb. Looking forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music a little loud in restaurant area for me but know that's just me!!

    The whole experience was lovely. Very atmospheric building, great decor complimenting the character of the place. Food was excellent. Best Eggs Royal I've had. Great breakfast choice. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    9.6
    I enjoyed The Georgian Townhouse and would stay again. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived on a Saturday evening the bar was bustling with life, very popular with non- staying guests. Despite the bar and restaurant being busy, I couldn't hear this from my room. Huge comfortable bed. Big bathroom, great toiletries, shower and bath were both fab. Vast choice for breakfast from cereal to fruit, pastries to yoghurt. Cooked breakfast was lovely and set me up for the day. The staff were happy and attentive. Easy stroll into the city which took about 10 mins.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    6.3
    Not as nice as the pictures show, hotel is rated far higher than it should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From outside the hotel looks very nice, inviting and welcoming. We entered the hotel to no welcome at all, reception was unmanned, but a waitress did get help for us. We liked the decor, though half the bulbs in the ceiling light had blown. Room lacked the level of detail we would expect for the high price concidering other hotels in the area are more reasonably priced for a weekday stay. We found that the decorating wasn’t done to a good standard, cracks and unpainted areas in the join between the ceiling and wall spoilt the plushness. Laying in bed staring at the bizarre line as though the wall had moved. Walls had scuff marks and gauges in them. Shower was really awkward to use as it required getting in before turning the shower on so it was a cold start to the day. This was due to the way the door opened. Bathroom looked like it had been tiled by a diy enthusiast and the wonky radiator was amusing. We had no back to the tv remote control so decided maybe a book would be good, to find that the bulb had blown in the reading lamp, shades were also loose on all the lamps. We had asked for a double bed specifically as it was our anniversary, I had confirmation this was not a problem but instead we got two zipped together singles, though these werent exactly zipped properly. We had a fairly comfortable sleep all be it apart and unable to cuddle in the middle, rudely awaken by the people across the hall at 1am was a real hassle, no concideration for others though this is not the hotels fault. We woke up to discover that the bottom sheets had come off the bed and the mattress was grossly stained yellow! Completely yellow all over not a square inch was white! We raised all these issues via email but had no response from the hotel. We even gave them a chance to reply before we rated on here. Also a thing to bear in mind is that the hotel looks as though its in a really nice area but the high rise block of flats behind was a real suprise to us.

    Quirky styled rooms, spacious and comfortable. Nice little touches in the room. Breakfast was lovely, food cooked really well, waiting staff pretty friendly. Nice atmosphere to eat in the conservatory.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent for Snetterton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent and Way Beyond Expectations. Really good restaurant serving wholesome stylish ‘open’ food with nice ‘live’ kitchen on show. All staff very friendly and rooms very good especially given the price point. It’s on the south edge of Norwich so easy to get on A11 and then just 20 minutes to Snett (allow 25 minutes max) . A really good choice for the racer who enjoys good food and a comfortable place to stay. Reasonably large car park too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    9.2
    Feel like a visiting Colonel here to inspect the Prince of Wales's Own Regiment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff are very friendly but not always present at the desk, have to wait a while before they arrive to answer your queries - though no issues with service.

    Excellent location, with adequate parking in a hard-to-park area, lovely, tasetfully decorated room with a separate couch and full height windows. Very friendly restaurant staff. Very pleasant downstairs communal area to read books and do work on laptop.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Absolute ideal hotel to stay at for a theatre trip. Beautiful quirky bedroom and laid out breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit cold in the afternoon bar area and a roaring fire and sofa would have been perfect.

    Lovely service in this beautiful hotel and very close to the theatre. Excellent!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.9
    A lovely hotel, beautifully done out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only criticism was the bed was two singles hooked together, but not very successfully as there was a clear divide which wasn't very comfortable.

    A lovely hotel, beautifully done out. The restaurant is very good - we had dinner and breakfast. Both were to drawer. The staff are brilliant too - friendly and highly customer focused. The room was lovely and had a terrace which would be nice in the Summer. Blackout blinds always a plus!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    7.9
    A very pleasant experiance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was noisy. Woke me up every time I moved in it!!

    Like the feel of the bar and restaurant area. The real ale is always very good and the food was also very good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    7.5
    Very comfortable and good location for exploring Norwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the rooms were too warm

    Excellent Breafast and catering in general. Good stocked bar with lots of drink option and great service. Plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    6.7
    A Quirky Little Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room (7) could benefit from some re-decoration. The walls and skirting boards are quite scuffed. The silicone around the shower is black with mould and i absolutely detest having a shower curtain, it ruins the shower experience.

    The huge room and gorgeous free standing bath and the little snacks and drinks that were not over priced.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Delightful staff, lovely quirky decorating touches (old suitcases, blankets, vintage touches)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very minor troubles! Armchair in room 12 was about to fall apart and two cold taps had their porcelain covers missing - but it was so lovely otherwise we didn't care!

    Most delicious supper - thank you

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a great location, only a few minutes walk to the city centre and the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed and a lovely ensuite. The breakfasts were great with a very good selection to choose from and the other meals I had there were very delicious too. I would definitely recommend staying at the Georgian Town House.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    8.3
    Fine, except for parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no dedicated parking for guests. Go out and you will return to nowhere to park - especially when the pub is busy. When you are parked beware of being blocked in by over-entitled hooray Henrys in 4x4s who don’t care who they offend because they are ‘at lunch’. Staff seemed powerless to stop them or find them.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    A beautiful place, very atmospheric and tastefully done. Would love to stay again. Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was the noise of the kitchen fan that travelled up to our bedroom but it went off after the kitchen closed. Quite intrusive in the restaurant too.

    We had a delicious sharing meze in the evening washed down with a gorgeous glass of white wine. Only wished we'd checked out the menu before going into town. Furnished beautifully with lovely retro touches. Also pleased to see refillable soap / shampoo / conditioner which were lovely. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    7.5
    Good location and overall a pleasant stayk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the colour scene very dark and oppressive but that is just personal taste.There was a problem with the shower. Tepid at best and not able to adjust the temperature of the water. I did report this to the receptionist and they said they would look into it,also the sealing arond the base of the shower was black/ mouldy in places and should be replaced and a wall tile was loose and should be repaired before it falls off.these are all minor things and if attended to would give a better overall impression

    Reasonable size bedroom and bathroom and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    9.2
    Great little gem!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit dusty and could have done with more than a quick vacuum round...ie clean skirting boards .. Stair carpet in communal area looks a bit tired

    Hotel had a great vibe. Staff unfailingly cheerful and polite. Food was delicious tasty and menu inventive . A good selection of local ales.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Vibrant atmosphere and first class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Going home!

    The staff are extremely well mannered and engaging. It’s clear they enjoy working with this business. The food is extremely fresh and menu interesting and variable. Rooms are excellent. Not spacious but classy decor. Breakfast first class.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    A well located hotel for visiting the city with most friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower wasn't very hot and I think the shower head could do with replacing (Room 16).

    Substantial breakfast was cooked to perfection. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the fresh milk for tea was most welcome.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    9.2
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smaller than I expected and the heat of the shower didn’t go as high as I would have liked but these are extremely minor details.

    Nice details in the room eg Smeg fridge, old school metal fan, hair dryer and a Nespresso machine. Very well styled and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    5.8
    the bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower leaked out of the door, the hand basin was very small and uncomfortably low no sitting room for guests, just one small table and two chairs in the dining area mediocre breakfast

    the bed was comfortable the bedroom was cosily decorated

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    6.7
    From the photos and video and 4 star rating, plus the £124...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the photos and video and 4 star rating, plus the £124 per night B&B charge I had great expectations of this hotel. However, there were an awful lot of (mainly) small faults, far too many for a hotel of 4 star standard. I have given my detailed feedback direct to the hotel in the hopes they will act upon it.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    6.3
    location good , food ok , suggest you don't stay in room 20 , unless you want to be woken at 5.30am
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i suggest you don't go in room 20 ! to be woken at 5.30am by the staff walking up and down the corridor outside my room banging doors with high heels was totally unacceptable and inconsiderate . show some respect to the guests please !!

    food it good pub food , is expensive for what you receive

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.3
    Enjoyed it and perfect for dropping a student off in her room at UEA (came from London)
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets! The ones on stairs going up to rooms are frankly grubby and the bedroom carpet not the cleanest I have seen. Everything else so good - don't spoil it for the sake of a carpet!

    Lovely room with everything you need. Proper milk and jug of water in fridge nice touch. Great bathroom. My meal was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.3
    Very nice hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Make up on the wall opposite desk. Shower grubby, door didn’t close properly. Also booked a double bed and had two single beds pushed together.

    The rooms decor

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I can't fault our stay here, the bedrooms were thoughtfully furnished and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were lovely, they came up with a very good breakfast for my vegan daughter even though we forgot to ask in advance. They also very generously gave us two double rooms when the twin room we had booked wasn't ready when we arrived. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as we were meeting friends but the menu looked good and it was very popular.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    Lovely stay in perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor things as stay was excellent. Wifi a bit ropey - would also be good to see a change of menu. Food is great but menu has remained static for quite some time....

    So great to come to a hotel that understands the terrible impact that single use plastic has and who have taken measure to reduce their environmental impact. Great hotel, staff and trendy vibe.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.6
    Happy customers will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast we had no explanation on what we should do before we sat down and the cooked food was average in our opinion

    The comfort and Decor of the room plus we were able to leave car parked for 2 hours after we checked out at no additional cost.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.3
    stayed here when it first opened and I really like the way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed Christmas Eve and the place is not as classy as when I first came to say the least. Dinner was fine but the banquettes were covered in stains. The lights were way too bright and the Christmas music on a loop was driving me mad. Phallic images had been scrawled in the fake snow in every window and the stair carpet up to the rooms was tatty and covered in mud. From 11pm until 1am when staff had left the site the fire exit had been left wide open at which point I closed it myself. Breakfast, unlike when I first came was terrible-sloppily cooked and presented. At 7am I was awoken by banging and crashing below and very loud music. Horrible start to Christmas Day.

    stayed here when it first opened and I really like the way the rooms are decorated. Room was lovely but a bit cold. Nice little extras - good tea, mince pies, hot water bottle

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay for a Norwich city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could hear some minor noise in our room from downstairs. It didn’t bother us at all, it was very low level, but for those who need silence it’s something to bear in mind. We would happily return here.

    Great funky decor, excellent breakfast included. Clean room & bathroom and a great location for walking into the city centre. Reception staff very helpful on arrival and moved their car to make space for us in the car park!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    Style over substance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More style over substance. Minimal storage in the room - wanted to unpack for a three night stay. Tiles falling away from bathroom wall. Taps (sink and bath) missing parts. Strong smell of cooked fish from the restaurant. Breakfast staff seemed stressed at times.

    Great location and feel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The townhouse was lovely, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the breakfast was cooked to order, and you had a choice of fruit cearel. Our room was spotless and very large.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Enjoyable from start to finish. Will definitely be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few tiles were hanging off in the bathroom which was a shame and one of the basin tap fittings was broken

    The whole feel of The Georgian Townhouse is great. Staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and stylishly decorated. Really nice touch with the mini mince pies. Location absolutely superb and we were allowed to leave our car parked there the following day whilst we shopped in the city, a real bonus!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.5
    Super fresh breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room needed bedside lights as well as the main light. Also, the room was stiflingly hot - even with windows open. Disappointed with one dinner at the restaurant; it was obviously re-heated and left-over from lunch-time. Had to be sent back.

    Super fresh breakfast. Excellent bar.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with easy connections to both the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only down side to my stay was being in a room where the hallway with wooden flooring echoed all the sound of people going to and from the staff room next door, and being able to hear them through the wall somewhat. Otherwise, I had a lovely stay.

    Excellent location with easy connections to both the city and university. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and loved the breakfast options. The room was spacious and comfortable with a good selection of amenities, especially the nespresso coffee machine. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.3
    The carpet on the stairs and hallway was dirty.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet on the stairs and hallway was dirty. Shower wasnt warm and shower soap went everywhere. No instant coffee in room a coffee machine with no instructions.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant contemporary hotel a short walk from the centre of Norwich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains in the bedroom did not meet up in the middle and were sagging in places. I spoke to the staff and they sorted it whilst we were out.

    The bedroom was very quiet and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was nice, but there needs to be another ceiling light in the shower/bath area. Delicious cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable and would consider staying again if visiting the area in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff in the restaurant were not as attenative as they could have been or friendly. Luckily I'm not a tall person because the shelf in the bathroom above the sink made it difficult for me to have a wash in as it sticks out too much and I ended up banging my head.

    The bed was comfy and I liked the mince pies as an extra in the room. It was quiet considering we were above the restaurant. The food was amazing in the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    The room was like home from home, very tastefully done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Missing a lounge, somewhere to sit away from the bar.

    The room was like home from home, very tastefully done. The staff were great. Very reasonable rates. Christmas dinner excellent, well presented, and served.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    5.4
    Think it would have been good at a less busy time of year.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overstretched because of Christmas parties, no room to sit with our guests, had to move furniture into our room for them, had to go to another pub for a drink. Shabby room. No hot water in bathroom.

    Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    8.3
    A night away with grown up daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This time the room was very hot, the bed was incredibly squeaky and the noise from the bar and smokers out the back was quite intrusive as our room was directly over it.

    We’ve stayed before and like the style, decor and location. The breakfast is lovely too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    8.3
    A eelax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double glazed window was difficult to open and shut. Difficult to get shower head positioned right for a standing shower - which then caused a big puddle on the floor.

    Bed comfy, room nice and quiet. Bacon and sausages very good. Room coffee machine a nice touch. Ample parking. Good location for exploring Norwich.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park space

    Everything was great, except the car park. Unable to park so staff ask me to get in a space near the hotel and I scrapped all the side of my mini

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.2
    I chose for location near to relatives I was visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music a bit loud in dining room.

    I chose for location near to relatives I was visiting. Unfortunately one of them died early hours of 20th, I spent overnight in hospital with him so not in hotel at all that night. But night porter and staff were very helpful about all of that.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and exceptional value, would definitely stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in Room 2 and the headboard was just standing behind the bed not fixed so bashed the wall when you move in the bed. (Probably annoyed the neighbours also), being Christmas time they do have function rooms so some of the guest bedrooms where above these areas but i was informed at checkin that these would end at 1130pm which is nice, and i did have headphones with me :)

    The room was very clean and tidy and in good repair, some nice touches were the fridge with a jug of ice cold water, real milk jug in the fridge and a free mince pie. Towels were enormous, bed was very comfortable. Shower was a drench shower which was nice. Breakfast was plentiful and one of the best cook to order full English breakfasts i've had in a while and the coffee was proper coffee.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.1
    Fun time
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in room and seating

    The room was cute - it was really convenient for where we were going and extra convenient that there was restaurant on site

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    great location for shopping in Norwich, with amazing breakfast to start
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have prefer more comfy areas to sit, as all the tables were set up for meals, and we wanted to chat and have a drink before we went to our room. There were only two soft large chairs.

    everywhere was clean, breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a few nights as a base in & around Norwich town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not good for parking. The pub is well used & by the time we got there at 11:30 it was full. We did wait for about 15 mins & was able to get a space, but a lot of people just drove in & out again.

    Excellent location for the theatre & town. Everything you needed in the room including fan & hot water bottle. Was nice to have proper milk in the fridge to make tea & coffee. Good choice of bits for breakfast, both hot & cold.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, very friendly staff. Room was great and we loved the decor! Bar area was very very busy and quite loud in the evening but didn’t spoil our enjoyment. Food great and speedy service. Breakfast was superb. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    Staff very helpful and friendly, food was very good rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carp ark was very tight to park and busy times , not really enough spaces showers could do with hand rails as I felt I could have easily slipped but they were only observations not complaints

    Staff very helpful and friendly, food was very good rooms were well equipped, close to city centre

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    7.9
    Generally good, we would consider staying again. The staff worked hard and were attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grubby hallway and stair carpet detracted from the general state of the property. We found the breakfast a little disappointing.

    We liked the general ambience. The room was comfortable everything worked well in the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.8
    Croissants and breakfast really good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were some quite large old stains on the carpet in the room and marks on the walls which detract a little from the otherwise excellent presentation of the room.

    Croissants and breakfast really good. Facilities in room excellent, everything one needs for either a business or leisure trip. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.3
    3rd and last stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room(8), not enough space to walk around bed without catching leg in bed frame. Very uncomfortable pillows. Poached eggs were hard, smoked haddock no longer on breakfast menu.

    Proximity to city centre

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    We absolutely loved the room, the old style furniture and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved the room, the old style furniture and the shower was amazing! Only thing we would be concerned about- if it was the Summer there doesnt seem to be Air Con? Lovely location - waking distance to Norwich City Center

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.1
    Had a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Queen bed was actually two single beds together. Bathroom is clean but smelt a big funny

    Beautiful restaurant with lovely food Room has nice and vintagyb decor Great location and beautiful estate overall

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    We did enjoy our stay overall, the ambience, and friendliness of staff being our highlight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, we were told that there was a separate key for the front and internal doors that was separate to our card key for the bedroom door. We only got this separate key after asking about it the following day. This was not a problem as these doors were only locked after 11:30pm and we were always back before then but we might have been caught short on the first night if we had been any later! We also should have been reminded that breakfast was included as I did not have breakfast the following morning and of course, the price for this can not be refunded if missed. In the bathroom, the shower head was very low and it was really stiff to move up so you were able to actually stand up and shower properly. I think people had been caught out in the past with this as both the shower head and bath are made from enamel so the bath was chipped where the head had previously fallen. We did manage to work it out in the end though! Also in the bathroom, by the mirror and next to the bottled wall shampoo and conditioners etc, the remains of previous fixtures were still visible. I think this was pretty lazy and should be removed and filled properly. Sat night my dad and I had a few starters in the restaurant. The crispy squid wasn't crispy and the I really did not like the flavour of a couple of meats on the meat platter. I appreciate the taste of meat patter was subjective but I LOVE meat and salami etc so rarely have a problem with this! I also appreciate that it was past 9pm and they has been extremely busy all day so when asked if we had enjoyed our food, we said we did. Breakfast was great, as mentioned above but my dad did spot a large cobweb behind my head while eating! This was pretty off putting and attention to maintaining areas like this should be kept an eye on.

    This hotel was a bit of a mixed bag but I will start with the many positives. My dad and I arrived in the evening and the front of the hotel was homely, warm and welcoming. We did not bring any children under 18 but this was not an option above! There are two entrances, the reception entrance and bar / restaurant entrance but it was not clear which was which so we entered through the restaurant one. It was very busy inside but we were quickly led to the reception. Check in was warm, swift and friendly and we were personally taken to our room which I always think is a nice touch. Initially the room was great. We were on the ground floor but we were told our window was stiff to shut so immediately the manager grabbed an assistant who pushed and shoved it until it closed again. The room was really cute and tastefully decorated, the bed really comfy and I loved the mini Smegg fridge with fresh milk in a little jar in the fridge. My dad enjoyed the Nespresso machine and the complimentary macaroons. We stayed over the weekend and the bar and restaurant were lively and full both nights. There were (on both nights) large groups for both lunch and dinner so I think eating and drinking here was a bit of a "go too" place. We had a drink in the bar on the first night and breakfast on the second morning. We both had eggs royal on toast which was delicious. I has spotted a couple ordering this before me so I just asked for one instead of two which was no problem. There was a large section of cereals, fruit, juice and pastries with views over the large gardens at the back. There was no key to the safe so they happily kept my Samsung tablet in their office for me which was nice but I know would not suit everyone.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Christmas shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The friendly staff and service. Excellent choice of food, including vegetarian choices. The selection of beers, wines and spirits are also very good. The Georgian Town House is a short walk to the centre of Norwich and all the main shopping areas.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Pub With Rooms at the top end for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything including fresh milk in the fridge in the room. Basically a pub with rooms done really well. Free parking and just 5 minutes to the town centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.5
    Overall generally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiles coming away in bathroom. Bath tap parts missing. Two beds pushed together as a double. Carpet on stairs and corridors badly stained. If these were addressed would be excellent as hotel has great character.

    Excellent location with free parking. Good size accommodation. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great spot to explore/shop in Norwich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spiderwebs in a corner of our room, dead spiders in the bathroom, bathroom floor was not thoroughly vacuumed every day. Toiletries bottle holder in bathroom was rusty and not very clean. Rather lumpy pillows.

    Great location, less than 10 minutes' walk to Chapelfield shopping centre and the centre of town. Attached pub was cosy, delicious food, great selection of gin. Cooked breakfasts (especially Eggs Benedict) and pastries every morning at breakfast were yummy. Comfortable beds. Having a heated towel rail in the bathroom was lovely. Radiator in room worked well, kept us warm and cosy (weather was chilly at night)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Room and bathroom very nice and comfortably decorated but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet looks lovely but the last two times I have stayed here, unfortunately there have been lots of flies on the food which is very off-putting!

    Room and bathroom very nice and comfortably decorated but window didn't stay open and bathroom smelled of smoke.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised, good location, great staff and delicious meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious shower cubicle needed a bigger shower head.

    Very quiet room even though it faced the main road. The room had luxuries such as the SMEG fridge in the room and the Nespresso coffee maker. The white wine in the SMEG and the red wine at room temperature. Fresh milk not UHT. The superb breakfast with so much to choose from. Yes we liked this place !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.1
    good except for the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately the bed was so hard that i has trouble sleeping and this would prevent me coming again which is a shame as the rest of the stay was really good.

    The whole place was friendly and cosy and food and service was really good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed in room no.1 and i could here all the noise from the hall way (witch connects to the pub and the restaurant) except for that everything was perfect

    The location was perfect. The room was clean and cozy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    An interesting and enjoyable choice and we would come again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the dark coloured ceiling in the bedroom which came down the wall to the door level rather oppressive and made the room darker than we would have liked. Not very welcoming. In contrast the bathroom was much lighter and we thought this worked better.

    Overall it was very good, we thought the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, our room was clean and well appointed. We weren't too sure at first about the children area which is the first thing you see as you move from reception into the bar but it had been carefully thought through and was kept separate from the main bar and restaurant areas. The dining area for residents was very pleasant and we thought the food we had was first class. The fish dish with the cockles and cream sauce was lovely. Service by the young staff was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.1
    Decent but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally it was not an impressive looking room for the price. And an 11am weekend checkout!! A bit of a cheek when you can only check in from 3pm. Freezing windows (no double glazing) looked onto a busy road outside, so we had to close the curtains to keep the heat in. It's right next to a busy and unappealing roundabout, meaning the short walk into town isn't much fun, especially at night. Paint was peeling under the window, and carpets were a bit grubby. I thought £130 was too expensive for the quality and size, should have been around £100.

    Nice decor style, with vintage lamps and comfortable metal framed beds. Coffee pod machine provided, as well as cute biscuits and a mini-fridge. Lovely bathroom and good radiator heating. A breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was included, which was decent. The hotel is close to town and a few nice cafes & shops like Bread on Upper St Giles St. We enjoyed Soyokaze Japanese restaurant, not far away. We didn't drive, but there's lots of parking outside.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.3
    Would stay there again if they got a new bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our only complaint was the very squeaky bed so every time we turned over we were woken !the breakfast was fabulous so that made up for the lack of sleep

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfy room value for money and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Please see above.

    Comfy beds,lovely ensuite with good towels,toiletries and room had lots of extras-coffee machine etc. Breakfast was excellent and very good value. 2 issues though. Firstly the stair/hall carpet was very dirty and did initially put us off thinking our room would be dirty too but this wasn't the case as room was very clean. Entrance to rooms should be kept clean please. Also window in.our room 17.had crack selotaped over!! Needs fixing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location for shopping. Good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed extremely lumpy. Needs new topper and pillows. Duvet none existent. Bathroom needs more shelving, and shelf over sink is good for head butting. Food needs more range other than al a carte.

    Breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.3
    A good location but a poor breakfast and too expensive evening meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor breakfast but the management are ready to listen to complaints and I believe will act on them

    Staff where friendly and helpful Cleaning of roo m was very good and we'll above other places we have stayed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    Really nice and with just a bit more polish would have been fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in places a bit rough round the edges. My radiator didn't really work the `1st night, had to manually adjust it which meant moving my wardrobe and nearly burnt myself when they trying to turn it down

    Great location - easy walk into the city centre, breakfast was fantastic, place was original and had the right 'querkness' to it. The room was a good size and had everything you needed. Was a good room to work from during the day which i did a couple of times

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Location meant we could walk into the town, rooms were interesting style, breakfast excellent,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some repairs needed to our room but nothing major (toilet roll holder was broken?)

    Very good staff. Always pleasant and helpful and positive. Excellent breakfast and evening meal

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Excellant city centre hotel with good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small but had all amenities required.

    The location within easy walking distance of all city amenities. The character of the property, Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Very good gastro pub style restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    High quality ie coffee machine, fridge, towels etc. Lovely fresh food served for dinner and breakfast. Wide selection of drinks. Very friendly staff. Welcoming atmosphere. Ideal location. Definitely recommend and looking forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Georgian Townhouse Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: