Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Georgian House

Buckingham Terrace, North West, Glasgow, G12 8ED, United Kingdom

#27 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the bed was filthy when we arrived with a toe nail clipping in the bed. The pictures online didn’t depict the room in the slightest. And when we asked for new sheets the lady working there argued with us before changing them.

    Nothing besides location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a problem, but there was room on the road outside the Guess House. bathroom could have done with being updated.

    the staff were very pleasant and helpful, and could do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything. The rooms, and I was in 2, were very small. The smaller one meant climbing over luggage to get anywhere. The rooms were not clean, carpets were very dirty, mould in the bathroom, flaking paint in the bath, toilet paper used to block holes in the skirting board, in one room no windows could be opened.

    Not much. The facilities offered (or to put it in perspective NOT offered) by Georgian House clouded the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked on a particularly busy weekend and all other hotels including this one were nearly double the price so had I paid the usual price I would have been extremely pleased . For a basic room it has everything you need.

    big room with free WiFi ,large tv , tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was advertised as continental but it was basically cereal and toast. There was no hot water available to make tea or coffee. The water urn was on a timer which wasn’t working properly. No member of staff was on duty to advise of this or clear tables.

    Whilst the woman who greeted us on our arrival was very helpful and friendly, we did not meet her husband who should have been on duty at breakfast. The location was very good for access to restaurants and the subway. It was a short walk to the SSEC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Orginally Breakfast was inclusive - but no mention upon arrival - I needed to leave early anyway - so never chased up

    Perfect for what I needed for the evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy slamming of doors. Horribly uncomfortable bed. Tatty old furniture. Bit smelly. Filthy windows. Cheapest breakfast foods & drinks. Didn't feel clean. Couldn't sleep properly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a single bed room which was small but ok. The bathroom was clean but in desperate need of renovating, toilet seat loose... Breakfast wasn't really worth mentioning.

    Andrea, who met me for the check-in, was very nice, friendly and recommended how to get to SSE Hydro where I went for a concert. Excellent recommendation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice welcome on arrival but all downhill from there! We were 2 couples and had booked a family room as nothing else available. On arrival we were pleased to 'upgrade' to the 2 bedroom apartment at no additional cost. BIG MISTAKE! Very dissappointing! The flat was dirty, had all sort of tools and random junk lying about, & is in need of major improvements. I would compare to a very cheap hostel. In the morning we couldn't find the dining room and there was nobody about to ask!

    Only the location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel needs renovating the plaster on the ceiling was cracked the shower cubicle wasn't very nice They did however replace the leaking hose The breakfast was continental but the water for tea and coffee hadn't been switched on

    the bed was clean and comfy the one member of staff we saw was helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel was very difficult. The parking lot behind the building needs some maintenance as the pothole was so large, our car bottomed out.

    The room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was frigid and the bathroom needs a major reno. The breakfast was very basic and there was no one around to look after the dining room.

    The location and the lovely warm welcome from Andrea!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self-Catering Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were falling apart breakfast was aweful very little choice. Didn't get the room we paid for plus they were trying to charge more after quote for the dog (who I didn't take in the end). We booked studio for 3 but they gave it away and put us in seperate rooms and still charged the same even though it should of been at least £25 less.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not refreshed ran out of toilet roll tea milk no soap or shampoo no hair dryer mains electric cable loose beneath bed bathroom tired sealant dirty (room2) value bread serial yogurt only breakfast

    having paid in full (non refundable) payment was again requested by the host immediately on arrival also guests arriving late (evening) had problems booking in as host was not readably available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not able to stay longer.

    Very helpful with any questions I had,supportive of my situation / reason for visit. Made accomdations for my food allergies, treated me like family. Had same passion - FOOTBALL!!!/

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't meet any members of staff at all which seemed strange however Andrea was very good at giving details by text prior to going there

    We had not time for breakfast as we had to leave early for work

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on ground floor and there was quite a bit of noise from the main road. Also the hot water urn was on a timer but it didn't turn on until after breakfast started.

    Very close to the concert we were going to and bars on Byers Road. Rooms, although a bit dated were perfectly clean and comfortable and although smallish not cramped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of visible staff, no reception, just unusual. Hand written signs, didn't look professional. Breakfast nice but was cold buffet style not traditional Scottish as advertised.

    Great location. Lovely building, nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and filthy. Taps had a layer of dirt and sink plughole was black and has not been cleaned in years. Soft bed and got trapped nerve because bed was so soft. No daily cleanings. Poor value for money.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture very poor state. Beds squashed in one end of room. Draughty window. Not double glazed. Black damp in shower.

    The staff when we saw them were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, although was included in the price of the room, was a little disappointing as it was just a small room with some cereal, a toaster and a few other things which was a little underwhelming.

    I spoke to the staff at the hotel on the morning before i travelled and received an upgrade into the apartment for no extra charge. you could tell it was due a refurb but was more than comfortable still.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    large room basic but all that is needed comfortable bed .. great location for sight seeing etc easy routes for subway bus walking or car would stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could benefit from some modernisation, but considering the price, this wasn't a necessity.

    My room was cosy and clean- it had a large bathroom and a good view of the Botanics. It wasn't incredibly fancy, but it was clean, well equipped and the staff were lovely and very accommodating. Good value for money and excellent location for the west end

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is need of a light, if you are returning after dark, to see the keypad

    The bed was so comfortable providing the best night’s sleep ever. The continental breakfast was plentiful with classic FM background. The price was beyond reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this stay because I was attending a function at Oran Mor which is directly across the road. It was ideal for that purpose. I was given a twin room for single use. It would have been cramped for two people but was fine for one. It is more a guest house than a hotel and has little in the way of facilities but their system works ok. There is no reception but when you ring the doorbell or text them someone comes to let you in and there is a code to open the door at night. Breakfast is "help yourself" with various items left in the breakfast room for you. It was a little basic but perfectly adequate. Shutters on windows in bedroom were good at reducing the noise form the busy road outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place where the apartment is located (next door to the main hotel) is shabby. We arrived with a code to open the front door. The corridor was being used as a storage place for old sheets of plaster board, an old cooker, an old armchair, a huge trestle, etc. Not a good first impression. The apartment could be absolutely lovely, but is in dire need of renovation. The carpet in the main room was clean but stained with black marks and cigarette burns. There were three sofas, two ominously covered with throws, and on inspection they proved to be dirty and stained. The third, which appeared clean and was very comfortable, also revealed a nasty stain under one of the cushions. The plaster on the ceiling is coming away, with great cracks and pieces that look as if they might fall off any time soon. Opposite the bed, there was a large nail sticking out of the wall where a picture could have hung, and from behind a chest of drawers a poster of Jimmy Dean peered over at us. The entire sitting end of the main room was unlit, as the single standard lamp had no bulb in it, and because the staff had no master key, they were unable to replace it because we were out. Some of the furniture seemed to be there just for storage purposes rather than being of any use to the occupants, so it felt rather cluttered. There was a mezzanine but it was just used for storing another bed, mattress, etc., so it felt untidy.

    The size of the apartment is generous. The bed-sitting room is vast, full of natural light, and lovely and warm. There is loads of storage and hanging space. The kitchen and bathroom were OK, but very cold. The location is superb, right by the Botanic Gardens. The staff, whom we scarcely saw, were polite and helpful, and did the best they could with a difficult situation. The flat had been very well cleaned, and the bed was comfortable and the linen clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All together the stay was awful...never had any similar experience in the past

    Hi Team, I've raised a complaint about my stay already to booking.com. Just to add on to the complaint - no proper wifi signal and the breakfast included just corn flakes...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d skip breakfast but it’s worth at least having a cup of tea at a table by the window to soak up the West End buzz.

    Excellent value for money in a top location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping very poor, room not touched during stay and we stayed for three nights, nothing was replaced eg toilet roll, milk, coffee, tea .

    Good location, near subway

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not expect much as I did nit pay a lot but for what I got I was very happy with it all

    It was very good staff were great food was good all in all a good place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were fantasic. I arrived on my own with the intension of meeting my partner. Unfortunately she could not come. Elizabeth the owner made me feel so welcome and John her new manager were telling me how they were going to be investing money into the premises. John was also a wealth of knowledge told me how to get my way around Glasgow. Evonne the cleaner was also very good and she could not do enough to make my stay very enjoyable. A big thank you and I wish you every success for the future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped, it was great to have an enquiry suite but not the easiest to get round the room.

    Ideal for a one night stay post wedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is really narrow with only just enough room for a double bed, so to get from one end of the room to the other, you need to jump over the bed. The shower only had lukewarm water and stopped half way through the shower. It would be nice to have at least hand soap and a bit of shower gel in the bathroom, many travellers don't bring these items with them, especially if they are flying, and it really wouldn't be a huge expense for the hotel.

    The hotel is excellent value for money. The bed and bedding was comfortable and the staff /owner lovely. Although my room was next to the breakfast room, the rooms are well insulated so I was not bothered by noise from other rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cupboard door didn't shut and cupboard propped up by paper, carpet needed replaced( massive iron mark), bulbs missing. Bathroom door didn't shut and shower didn't get hot enough, kept alternating between warm and cooler. Window sashes were broken so couldn't open window.

    The bed was ok. Staff nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms require updating, beds very uncomfortable. Room very noisy from traffic outside on main road until early hours of morning,due to gaps in windows. WiFi did not work during our entire stay. Classed as hotel -more b&b with self service breakfast.

    Phil was extremely friendly and helpful, great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step from ensuite to bedroom was very uneven and a real trip hazard. Double window had 2 blinds - one Window blind broken and the other was a different blind. Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful and friendly. Couldn’t ask for more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as breakfast included when in fact breakfast was just toast or very limited choice of cereal and all poorly presented, other guests had to be disturbed to get to the milk which was still in cartons kept in the fridge.

    The location was perfect for our plans

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further out from what I expected (we were going to the Hydro), but a nice walk into the city all the same.

    We had a warm welcome, help with parking and we felt very much at home. The room was comfortable with tv and tea and coffee making facilities and breakfast was quick and easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are looking for the Vicorian guest house with perfect location - this is the one. The heart of West End, closeto the Botanic Gardens or Oran Morr! Staff is very friendly and helpful!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no real staff presence. Even for the very simple "help yourself" continental breakfast, there was no staff member to be seen. Apart from being strictly utilitarian, the room had several minor faults - broken toilet seat, towel rail etc

    It was fine - probably not more than you could expect for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was in an excellent location in the heart of the west end. Lovely hotel and a brilliant nights stay that didn’t break the bank!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor management. Double booked me and another couple who arrived before me. Some tosh about the owner messing up. No real solution offered. I found an alternative for the couple down the road and I booked myself into somewhere else too. Do not recommend this place.

    Good location. Shame they were double booked so I couldn’t stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shutters on the window didn't quite fit so the outside lights filled the room. Street noises till early in the morning were very loud.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second review of the same visit as most of the first one was cut out. I don't know how they gave it 7.5 as I would rate it 2. One for the location and one for the staff. As another reviewer said the ensuite was mouldy and there were tiles falling off the shower. My main reason for this addition is that I want to warn others. I was stuck in the shower for over 20minutes as the sliding door jammed. After crawling around the shower tray trying to yank it open from the inside unsuccessfully I eventually managed to get out squeezing my wet body through half the space as one side was stuck fast. This was a horrible and painful experience scraping my boobs and body through the space. I was terrified that I would need to call for help to get out. I called the owner afterwards to tell her she did not even return my call. No apology except for the two guys who "run " the place. I had paid in advance for two nights, the second night I did not use the shower too scared. I asked for another room but was told there were none available and that all the showers were needing replaced. Such a shame this place could be so nice with just a little investment. Even the bedside light a lamp with a tall central stand wobbled dangerously when you touched it. I would not recommend this place to anyone on their own. Room 3 next to the outside door very vulnerable.

    It's location and the WiFi was good. The two guys who ran the place were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty en suite

    You get what you pay for, I suppose - however, regardless of how much or little I pay, I'd like to find a clean bathroom / en suite, which I didn't. After leaving a note with the owner, the en suite was cleaned 2 days into my stay. The owner was very nice but never around, when I was (not necessarily his problem!) My window was facing Great Western Road, so quite noisy. Bed was ok. Didn't go for breakfast as it looked pretty dull with only cereals and bread on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the shower room, which had badly laid flooring.. Mattresses extremely poor with springs poking through- not fit for purpose. Dirty carpet and draughty window.

    The sheets were clean. The location is handy for the Westend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather. But I assume the team of Georgian House didn't have much to do with it.

    Extra smooth check in, helpful and friendly staff. On arrival, when they saw I came with children under five I had my room upgraded for a bigger one on the ground floor. When ever we asked for help, we got fast and professional response.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room; bathroom facilities are on the verge of breaking down; breakfast is more on of 'fast' side.

    Great, super-friendly stuff, but that's about it; rooms are cozy, but small, and I never saw my bed made in three nights I stayed there. There's a small parking lot by the hotel (literally 3-4 cars). Breakfast is self-served and isn't much - some tea, milk and cereal. On the plus side, there's a great place to eat just across the street (Bread and Meat - best burgers in town).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance door locked on my arrival, and no sign of anyone. It took several phone calls to gain entry. The bathroom, although clean, was scruffy - cracked tiles and discoloured woodwork Bedroom cramped Breakfast choice very limited and budget quality - poor value for money

    Clean and comfortable room and bed Convenient location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you need to call the mobile number to check in. He comes from another location which can take long. In my case I stood atleast half an hour in cold until staff came to let me in.

    cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Comfortable accommodation in a great location for Botanical Gardens, Kelvin Grove Art Gallery and interesting shops, restaurants and pubs. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that if it's icy outside (which it was) you have to slip and slide about to get to the hotel- no fault of theirs though!

    Staff were simply the loveliest. Great sized room, I was made to feel very welcome. Really good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Self-Catering Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much needed renovation ongoing, main street noisy

    Very lively part of the west end, next to the University and Botanical gardens. Plenty of shops and very friendly helpfull staff. Parking in the backyard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got what I paid for.

    Friendly staff, good location and local amenities. Close to the subway - so access to the whole of Glasgow. Nothing flash, just comfortable, affordable accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In 4 days, I didn't see any staff, though I did get to speak with the manager via telephone (a truly nice man). The internet was down for 3 days. The breakfast room was barely serviced. No soap in shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the front door was locked and there was a scrappy piece of paper on the door with a number to call because the owner had gone out to buy a pen! No towel or shower gel in the bathroom. No signage to indicate where the dining room was. So I didn't get any breakfast. I just left the key in the bedroom and left.

    Good location for West End.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked in for Hogmanay, didn't expect much at the time of booking....the room was basic and a base for where we were going. Cleanliness wise, it was okay; room was very outdated but as I said, was just using as base. Met one staff member who was really friendly. Didn't go for breakfast as we were told it was really just toast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room could look more attractive with colourful plastic table cloths,new cereal storage containers & fresh bread baskets for each type of bread. Beside the urn, a teapot would be useful and new beverage storage containers.

    The clean comfortable room. A friendly welcome by Alec who made sure we had everything. the location beside Botanic gardens The traditional style of the house with a homely feel Having a parking space and being dog friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hospitality at this cosy hotel. Very homely and unpretentious, superb value for money. We were upgraded to a lovely suite and the manager Alex couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly. Very comfortable beds, stunning views of the Botanical Gardens located just behind. Overall fantastic service and facilities, would definitely recommend. Great location, lots of boutique shops, restaurants and bars on your doorstep. We’d been to a reunion of sorts and ended up bar hopping until the early hours. We crept in quietly but then overslept and missed checkout! The manager was really kind about it and didn’t make a fuss. Brilliant weekend, looking forward to my next trip to Glasgow, I’ll be staying at the Georgian House without a doubt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as close to city centre as expected. However it is directly across from a bus stop making it easy to get in and out.

    Staff were friendly, Accomadation was as expected from pictures

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window i the room needs some attention!

    I was greeted well and given very good service. The bed was comfy, and the shower hot. The location was great and i could park my car. Good all round value for what I paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with a refresh, it was a little tired. The manager only took over a month ago though so I imagine will look into things like that at some point.

    The manager was very friendly and around a lot more than the previous owner. The room had everything I needed and breakfast was included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room was dirty and mouldy, the room was too small as we had to squeeze past the botom of the bed to reach the wardrobe. there was no towel rail in the shower room and a half used shower gel, in the cubicle.

    The room was warm, and shower had hot water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Self-Catering Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast room still had not been cleared from the morning breakfasts. The bed was nearly the width of the room making it impossible for a normal person to get through without crossing the actual bed. One p[illow had no pillowcase. Only half a toilet roll available. Half used cake of soap left in the washbasin. Shower could not be lowered. No-one there to meet us. The Hospitality tray was void of coffee, sugar and a teaspoon. We had to get our own breakfast. Bread left from day before and cereal packets open. For £144 .99 it was not worth that considering the following night we stayed in The Pond Hotel for Bed and Breakfast at £84 and there was no comparison.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start... No housekeeping done the whole time I stayed (3nights) Carpet in room absolutely filthy, decor really tired, ensuite dirty around the edges. Room really needs refurbished. The kettle falling to pieces but did work however no cups or milk in room, informed staff on first night but nothing done at all, had to looking for a cup and milk each evening to have a cup of tea! Breakfast was the worst I’ve had in a BnB so much so I didn’t bother, self service with poor choice of low value products. Unfortunately would not recommend!

    Warm room on arrival, clean towels and sheets! Great location, clean tidy entrance and lobby with impressive stairway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is used for homeless people from local councils. You've been warned. It's old, and stinky. Needs a good clean, utterly GRUBBY. Like faulty towers, no clean cups/plates cutlery and no coffee in room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was a little loose.

    The new owners were extremely nice and went out of their way to help as I have a broken leg. They have just taken over and I'm sure will only improve the facilities. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready due to staffing problems. Decor tired and shabby.

    Fantastic location for visiting Oran Mor. Alex, one of the new owners, was very helpful and friendly. Wonderful old building with many original architectural features. Free parking in the rear yard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stuff running the hotel. Just one young girl who easily diasppears and leaves you without someone to ask anything. Then You should call the owner of the hotel. No breakfast well prepared, no eating stuff enough for the guests. Poor internet connection. No daily room- cleaning. Actually, how just one girl can cover all of this. It is a management problem there.

    The building and the room were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very minimal. No cooked food or fruit/ yogurt on offer. Only cereals and bread/bagels We believe property was under recent new ownership but found it an expensive stay given what was on offfer.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing which bothered me, considering how cheap it is.

    Alex was great, friendly and helpful. It's value for money and handy for the west end for a wee night out. He took our luggage to the car and although teething problems as he's not long taken it over, he's trying his best so I can't complain. Good luck with your venture Alex,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information on the difficulties of finding any quality parking in that area - be honest so future visitors could make alternative travel plans before arrival.

    The host was exceptionally helpful - he needed to recover for a very miserable room, attentive and very polite and apologetic he was first class and a shining example to good hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically not enough staff - common areas were untidy, room not ready when we arrived at 16:00. Breakfast was a 'buffet' - not enough cups, bowls, knifes - we didn't bother and went to a cafe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house was lovely and decorated immaculately like nowhere I have ever stayed. The staff, George, Ann, and their son were very welcoming and helpful. If we needed anything at all they were accessible and responsive. The wifi worked well, the beds were cozy and our favorite part of our stay was the breakfast. George is a 5-star cook, I have never had a breakfast like it before. Fresh eggs, bacon, roasted tomatoes and toast with delicious coffee. We only regret not having dinner in the restaurant while staying the two nights, but it is a great excuse to go back next time we are visiting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I received an electric shock from the overhead light switch in my room (the electrics were dodgy - extension blocks and cables draped around the room). The cold water tap wouldn't turn off. The hotel was dirty. There were no staff around; a pleasant 'on site manager' tried to keep things together and field complaints as best he could. The owner lives overseas, apparently, and was not interested in resolving problems. The 'breakfast' was a joke - packaged goods from a supermarket left out on a table. I tried to find an alternative hotel after my first night (I had booked a three night stay) but there was nothing available in the area. After the electric shock/stuck tap I was given an alternative room but both twin mattresses were broken, there was no natural light, and the room was dusty. There are no facilities at the hotel for looking after luggage after check-out (there is no reception desk and the hotel is only intermittently staffed). Facilities in the rooms are very poor. Really, this 'hotel' should not be used by anyone. As I was leaving I overheard another guest complaining that the room she had been allocated had not been cleaned and that the bed had dirty, bloody sheets from a previous guest...

    Nothing. The hotel was shocking.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: