Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Glasgow B&B and inn reviews
  4. Reviews of The Georgian House

Reviews of The Georgian House

Buckingham Terrace, North West, Glasgow, G12 8ED, United Kingdom

#25 of 29 B&Bs and inns in Glasgow

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 530 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an awful hotel and a disgrace to central Glasgow.The hotel ,reception ,rooms and service were appalling. No-one has made any effort to update this hotel. The beakfast was a joke with old stale cakes ,no plates, cups,spoons, knives or forks, and no-one around to complain to. Never again!

    Very little

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2019

    4.2
    The location was alright to find places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. It was not advertised to be a 2 story walk up and we had an elderly relative part of our party. 2. The bathroom floor was warped and water damaged. 3. The shower curtain did not cover the whole area. 4. The toilet did not flush properly. 5. The bedrooms did not have proper window coverings to block the light. 6. The mattresses were old and lumpy and we did not get a good night's rest. 7. We read the reviews about the breakfast offered and did not even bother to try it. 8. The living room furniture was 2 patio wicker chairs, a wooden kitchen chair, and a fouton with a dirty cover. 9. The entire home was under renovation.

    The location was alright to find places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    4.6
    Poor - much better in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor condition- small dirty room, no sound proofing - could hear the person next door snoring! Shower room very poor - hot water tap broken sink falling off the wall and mould all over

    Reasonable location for central Glasgow Continental Breakfast was passable

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    3.8
    Utterly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything!

    Enter at your peril. This hotel is thoroughly disappointing. The decor was appalling, there was no reception area just a man who popped in and out every now and then. There was a smell of cheap air freshener everywhere... never a good sign. The room was crammed with scruffy furniture, the curtains had holes and stains, and the carpet was worn and stained. There was peeling paint, the shower leaked and there was no provision of toiletries only cheap hand wash. Breakfast was packets of bread and cereal thrown on the side, two plastic bottles of milk one of with was 3 days out of date and an urn of hot water with a box of pg tips and a jar of coffee next to it. There was a plate of cheese slices which looked like they had been left out of the fridge for a week and some rolled up slices of ham under cling film. All in all it was horrible and we would have left straight away had the hotel owner taken our payment a week before we arrived despite booking.com saying they were taking my card details just for security. To top it all, the owner then tried to take payment again the day after we arrived. Appalling hotel, booking.com you really need to stop advertising it. I will never make the mistake of booking in a hurry, and not checking reviews again ! There are pages and pages of bad reviews for this awful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    5.4
    Nothing improved here since Georgian times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dilapidated. Holes in the walls, shower held up with red plastic tape, bedside light not working, none of facilities as described on website present in room ( iron, ironing board, hairdryer etc), no teabags. No curtains, only a thin blind which failed to stop any light coming in. The bedding was clean and the place was as clean as it was possible to make such a grubby old room. Sticky carpet! Pleasant, helpful man checked me in but he left my registration details lying out for all to see.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    10
    Good uneventfull and as it should be
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a ground floor room the basement was perhaps just a little depressing but was allright

    Just very satisfactory as on previous occasions will use it again

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    5.4
    this property left a lot to be desired on checking in door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    this property left a lot to be desired on checking in door was locked and no one was around we waited 30 minutes until another guest opened door with combination they had from previous stay. on entering there was no one to welcome us check us in in the end I phoned the hotel mobile number and was given our room number key was in room room was unlocked. our room had no rubbish bin double bed mattress was completely shot needs replacing in the end we resorted in sleeping in single beds it was a joke. no toiletries in bathroom. place seemed fairly clean but no staff on duty until 4.30 pm til 7.00pm sign on door says 4 til 8 and our check in had been confirmed for 4 breakfast we requested for 7 was in formed we would be met no one turned up so along with another guest we helped ourselves very poor big thumbs down.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    5.0
    Beautiful views and rooms but they need to pay more attention to basics being ready.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They were not ready for me as there was some kind of mix up with guests. They tried to amend the problem by putting me in a bigger room which was beautiful BUT there was absolutely no wifi in my room on the 2nd floor (I had to go downstairs to lobby to download a couple shows and then come back upstairs to my room), no hot water, and the side table lamps had no light bulbs at all. The last two were eventually fixed but it is a bit frustrating to have paid what I paid and not have that kind of stuff already available by the time I got there. By the time I realized there was not hot water I just had to heat up water in the kettle and do an old-school towel bath so I wouldn't be gross for my conference early the next day. For someone who was coming there for a busily scheduled conference trip, I really didn't have time to sort out hot water and wifi issues. There is no clear reception area to receive help so if I went downstairs to sort out the problem, I just had to hope that the staff was going to walk through the lobby. They were generally very nice and tried to fix them right away when made aware of the problems I was having and everything eventually got sorted, except for the wifi (I think they just need to have a second router in the house that reaches to the 2nd floor), but I wont lie, I was fairly frustrated when I needed to be out all day early in the morning and late at night for my conference and not have basic things working in my room.

    The location is one of the best things about this place. I had a beautiful view of the botanical gardens with a room at the back of the house and the windows were gorgeous. Extras like a kettle with tea, coffee and milk were readily available and the beds were fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    6.7
    Worth the price, good bed but skip breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a random guy who checked us in, he called someone and then let us into the room. We never saw any other staff during our stay. Breakfast wasn't great, the hot water for tea was finished and there was only instant coffee. The bananas were brown and all meat/cheese was left out uncovered and unchilled.

    I enjoyed our stay. The bed was comfy and we had a ground floor room like requested. The room was a bit noisy due to a wedding across the street but nothing we did not expect with the location. The wifi worked well and the prices suited what we got

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    6.7
    The location is great for the University of Glasgow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first day, the cheese offered looked like it had been displayed for several days already. New cheese was offered the second morning. The remaining breakfast items were fine. I was particularly unhappy with the difficulty I had in obtaining a receipt. It took a lot of time and two phone calls to the manager. The staff present on site did not treat me nicely, treating me as if I was stupid and was asking for something strange. Not worth the saving.

    The location is great for the University of Glasgow. The price of course is good. I found the room basic, but looking to be clean enough, with towels provided and hot water available in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    5.4
    Ok for a central hotel and overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact I had paid what was described as a best offer through booking.com only to find on arrival £30 cheaper booking direct. Breakfast slot very limited though the cheese and ham couldn’t have been any less appealing no matter how short the service.

    Was a quiet hotel

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    5.4
    Good location, but felt more like an air B and B where staff welcomed you then were not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No staff present at breakfast. Little choice at breakfast. Things expected in room did not happen / were not there e.g. No housekeeping done overnight so no coffee/ tea replenished. Furniture old and broken. Could not move blind up at window.

    Staff welcoming when we arrived.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    3.3
    The room was filthy and I did not stay for the second night...
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was filthy and I did not stay for the second night although I had paid for it in advance. I have photos of how dirty the bedroom and bathroom were but feel it would be gratuitous to share them on here. Also, the window did not fit in its frame, which meant the room was drafty and noisy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    8.3
    Basic but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell of smoking entering building even although it is non smoking hotel. Room was really clean a bit dated. Shower was really good but the shower unit was tapped at the top and loose. You can park at the back of the hotel. You can only park outside after 10pm till 8 am

    Really good location for East end and park across the road.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    4.2
    Its a good place to stay if it is fully functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are dusty and not clean. There was no Wifi initially, No Heating, No Parking, Some of the plugs were not functional, no curtain for the window, no toilet tissues, etc

    The place is near to the attractions which we want to visit. The rooms are quite big and accommodating. the staff responded to our requests but could not do much.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.9
    Overall it was exactly what we needed in the right place at the right time and as I said a bonus bei
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was poor because for us it wasn’t the kind of breakfast we would choose ourselves. However for the price it was fair. The room itself was lovely and airy albeit cold due to being unable to close the window.

    The welcome and help was excellent. Bed was comfy. Being right next door to the Botanical Gardens was a fantastic bonus 😃

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    6.3
    Clean sheets and towels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could of been cleaner. The tv aerial didn't work, I had to rewire it. The car park at the rear was very tight.

    Clean sheets and towels. Very close to the botanical gardens

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    8.8
    A bit tired but still functional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TBH for what they charge then you pretty much get what you pay for. Clearly needs the owner to spend a few quid but will then need to put up the prices to cover this. Most of the reviews here don’t seem to have appreciated this. In the meantime then good value for the location and - if you don’t need people fanning over you 25/7 - then then the staff are excellent at their jobs.

    A bit tired but still functional

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    4.6
    The location was good.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very dirty We thought they didn't hoover. There was no bed protection so it was painful by mattress spring button. The parking was horrible and he was not so kind to help me at all.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    4.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Located on the main road so very loud Didn’t have covers on beds Windows didn’t shut properly I didn’t even took my shoes off as wasn’t pleasant at all Breakfast selection poor I will never come back

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    7.9
    The room was adequate, if a little dingy.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are not very well designed. They also could do with a bit of a clean - there is general dirt, marks on walls etc

    The room was adequate, if a little dingy. The facilities in the room were good. The staff are very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    4.6
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was really uncomfortable, I asked for a twin and was put in a double and then when we arrived there was a board outside saying the rooms where £25 each and we paid a considerable amount more than that ! Also the carpet in the room didn't fit at one side and was bunched up at the other.

    The lady that was running the place was very helpful and the place is in an excellent location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    Ellen looked after us so well with a good personal service...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is grand and in need of renovation but you get what you pay for and I couldn’t fault it. Cheap and very cheerful.

    Ellen looked after us so well with a good personal service and very hospitable!!! She was very helpful and full of information about the area!!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    4.6
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one to let me in despite being during check in hours. No one answered doorbell. Stood on doorstep outside locked door for sometime till a guest let me in. Room not clean and run down

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    5.8
    Was a last minute booking , relatively cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking area very cramped and not well enough signposted. Had to phone someone on arrival as main entrance was locked. Took quite a while and a few phone calls before the lady on duty inside came to let us in. Got through to owner using number on email from booking.com, and he was apologetic and helpful in trying to get us in , even though he was abroad. Washing facilities in en-suite in need of repair/attention (eg no plug in wash hand basin)

    Bed comfortable enough and clean. The lady on duty was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    3.8
    Travellers beware
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This venue was more hostel than hotel. The property is not looked after and was very shabby. This hotel should not be charging money until it is fit for habitation. I will be looking for compensation.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    7.9
    Great location, spacious room, very nice girl in staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast but given the price we paid for room we could not expect more.

    Good communication with contact, very spacious room in a great location. My personal favourite location in Glasgow. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    4.6
    The properties location is great though noisy due to being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so soft , no shampoo or soap provided, no large bath towels small towels only , Room very dated and the breakfast was poor

    The properties location is great though noisy due to being close to night life . Lady who checked us in was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    5.4
    Good location, but boy do they need to up their game.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I waited outside for 20 minutes before I could get in, and on the third attempt I got through to someone on a mobile who gave me the entry code to let myself in. I was then was sent to the top floor, the first floor and finally the basement before I could find my room. The TV didn't work, the kettle didn't work, and the towel rail had fallen off the wall. No soap.

    Price.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    4.2
    disappointing
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no entry till 4pm. manned till 9pm. mix up of rooms initially. windows dont seem to lock. 3 spaces at the rear car park. no obvious system in place to ensure cars are not boxed in. Parking charges apply to 10pm at the front. bedside lamp bulb blown. inadequate bathroom window screening. empty shower gell dispenser. hardly any toilet paper. asked twice before more arrived (1 roll provided for a family room). tv aerial needed re-connecting. tea of different varieties, but only 1 normal tea sachet. single bed had no pillows, but two were provided upon request. Sign outside advertised rates less than what I paid on booking.com. Gave breakfast a miss.

    location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    4.6
    Bed looked like it was about to fall apart at any minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed looked like it was about to fall apart at any minute. ‘Continental’ breakfast was a joke - Rice Crispies and a banana do not a continental breakfast make. Room was considerably cheaper at hotel than price I paid on Booking.com and this was not rectified. Can’t recommend I’m afraid.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    5.8
    Price reflected by poor standard of accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guy on reception was very pleasant and accommodating but under some pressure. Key for room was not available as it had been lost by previous guest. I called the hotel to advise I would be late arriving but my call was diverted to the owner in Israel!!!! She was rather abrupt and clearly uninterested. This is a lovely Victorian building in a fabulous location in Glasgow West End but let down by very poor and tired decor. The owner needs to inject a bit of cash in to her business.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    3.3
    not a happy man and would like some sort of compensation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness,reception,no electricity to start with,and it went off again later in the night,if we did not already have had a drink,we would have left there and then

    I did not like anything,in fact I only stayed the 1 night instead of the two we had booked,it must be the dirtiest place I have ever stayed at,and would like to have a refund for the second night

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls , basic breakfast ( no cooked ) , lack of housekeeping ( room floor hadn’t been vacuumed & cups not changed once during our stay. )

    Location, helpful staff, parking area

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    5.4
    The staff were friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms condition and decoration was very "tired", with the carpet stained and dirty and the shower room floor covering needing some attention...

    The staff were friendly..

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    7.1
    Cheap and basic facilities but full of charachter and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture badly needs updated - headboard not attached and duvet too small for a double bed. Walls in our room need painted

    We arrived to fimd the door closed but, after a couple of minutes, Gustavo appeared to let us in, even though he was not working now. There did seem to be some confusion over the check in time (which i did specify) but, though he thought we were too late guys, he checked us in without any fuss. Top guy. Alan also very polite and helpful with the housekeeping requirements

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    7.5
    The price, great location, staff friendly, bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rough around the edges. Needs a little tidying up - properly fitting lino in bathroom, shower door didn't close, hoovering under fittings etc. All details but helps.

    The price, great location, staff friendly, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent value and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's quite old fashioned. Would benefit from a bedside lamp for reading.

    Location is perfect! Top of Byres Road and it was super cheap so not expecting much. Was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are basic and ensuite. Staff very helpful. Free parking round that back. Breakfast was fine (toast/cereal). Beds were very comfortable and not noisy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.3
    Mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower drain really really stunk, the wardrobe was about to collapse, the main light fitting on the ceiling was showing exposed wires, struggling for cutlery for breakfast, wasn’t clear from the booking it was continental breakfast, so many little things that could be sorted but haven’t, could make the difference between a pleasant stay and uncomfortable one.

    Bed was comfy and was warm, good location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    4.6
    Cold
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heating or hot water, and no feedback or restitution from management when they had first knowledge of these issues.

    Location, dog friendly, free parking

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Really enjoyed this break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didn’t like about this room x

    I arrived and got to property it was a small room within 5 minutes of me being there staff realised I was a tall lad and moved me from small room to massive room with cooker microwave double bed kettle fridge the lot to make my 7 nights a lot better comfier staff were really good and pleasant sorted me out with everything to make my week better rooms were really clean and hotel was really quiet at night will be booking this again next time it ever needed and the other thing I liked was they upgraded my room without an ask and never charged anything extra xx

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.5
    Clean, warm, dog friendly, convenient.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better (no fresh coffee!), bed was solid and uncomfortable.

    Great location in the West End - close to the Botanic Gardens for walking the dog. Clean and warm.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.8
    One night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had asked to check in earlier, that didn't work. Missed an eye for detail however I think it was all a bit much for one guy..

    Staff was friendly and apologetic. It was quiet, slept well enough. Shower warm..I'm quite content as it was really close to uni and shops

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    small private car park at back of property - not easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small private car park at back of property - not easy access but avoids pay and display on the street. Bed was very firm and comfy - good night's sleep! Had booked a single room but was given a double - great result!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small but biggest issue was no lights in shower. Two battery push on push off LED lights. Again, a little more attention to detail could make the room very much better.

    Wonderful building full of architecture but needing a lot of TLC to make the most of the venue. Huge potential. No lift but space to install a small one. Breakfast included but not advertises as Continental only. Expected a cooked breakfast as one would expect in a Scottish B&B.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.9
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The central heating wasn’t on. The bed wasn’t very comfortable. However, for the price of the hotel I really can’t complain.

    The location is great. Very near to sights, restaurants, bars. The staff was very helpful and friendly. One staff member even gave me a lift to the airport in his car. Thanks Allan

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.8
    satisfactory
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV remote had no batteries, quite cold room, washbasin tap was not secure

    helpful staff and willingness to be flexible around me need to leave very early in mroning

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    4.6
    Basic, just a bed to sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The limited range of cereals. Having sachet coffee at breakfast. Same towels everyday and bed sheets not changes had to request room service.

    They went to the effort to get us a double room. The room was warm.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.3
    It was clean and very comfortable and it is in a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was pretty basic and could do with some modernization

    It was clean and very comfortable and it is in a fantastic location a few quid spent and it would be a goldmine

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Faultless customer service.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to say at all. Not even wanting to find fault anywhere.

    Amazing service. Really appreciated how much they were willing to help. As a young disabled man, it's often hard when some places judge you or don't help, but the staff here did so much more than I expected. Really can't say thanks enough.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.6
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi did not work, the bathroom was broken, as was the car park, we had a kettle and sugar but no teabags, even after asking twice. Breakfast was fine if you like cornflakes

    The location is great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Served a purpose staff were all pleasant and helpful if you want luxury you will have to pay more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in bedroom very tired, bed interesting, two large single beds making a King size base with double mattress on top!! Headboards balancing precariously but clean sheets and we slept well, comfy mattress. Very warm room.

    The position for our needs was perfect, easy access to a family residence. Biggest bonus was parking bit tricky to get in and out . Cheap for Glasgow, fair for what we paid, adequate. Staff were very pleasant and helpful , breakfast just OK met our needs for what we wanted.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    5.0
    Wish we'd booked elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a mostly unmanned door code property. We spent 10 minutes trying to open the door & ringing the buzzer, but no-one came to let us in. When we finally got the door open, we had to look about to find a piece of paper with guest names & room numbers on it, then look for the room. Unfortunately ours was right there at the front door & we heard everyone come & go all night. Twice I had to go out & open the door for people through the night. We didn't wait for croissants in the morning. Strangely, there was a bed valance drying on the heater & a double fitted sheet draped over the chair! We used the valance to cover the 8" gap under the window shutter, above the bathroom sink, where there was no curtains! We hung a towel over the window beside the toilet!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location but needs a scrub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needed a really good clean. Thankfully the beds were clean and the bathroom suite but there is a film of dust everywhere and the carpets desperately need replaced. It is a stunning characterful building that with a good scrub and a bit of TLC could be wonderful.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect, close to all the west end has to offer and excellent transport to city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    My room was very comfortable and cosy with a Good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very comfortable and cosy with a Good view. It was situated in a great area, close to the famous Oran Mor and with loads of shops near aswell as botanic gardens. Breakfast was good. I will be back soon.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great location but a bit basic. Good value though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed didn’t have space at both sides. Could be fixed with a double base. The double mattress was in 2 single bases which took up a lot of room in a narrow space.

    Location is superb. 2 minutes walk from Byres Road. All amenities in the property were adequate but could easily have been improved. In room 2 - headboards not attached, one bulb in bathroom not working, no bedside lights. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    3.3
    Poor service in a great area of Glasgow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are tiny, no space to move freely. I had to squeeze past everything. Expect the bin in the room and bed sheets to be changed once a week if you stay long enough.

    It's in a great location in the West End

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.3
    My stay was fine.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not clean in all areas of the room. The base of the bed was wider than the mattress and made it difficult for me to open/close the curtains. Then half of the headboard fell by itself, maybe because twin beds had been put together.

    It was warm.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, charming old building with great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses on the bed were old and lumpy. You could feel the springs through the double bed mattress. We slept on the single beds in the room as those mattresses were a bit better. The continental breakfast was pretty basic.

    Fantastic location, charming old building with great views over the botanic gardens. Large spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.7
    Okay to stay here when other hotels busy etc.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No double glazing to reduce traffic noise. No parking restrictions round front so harder to access guest house car park at back if neighbours haven’t parked well. Left behind items of clothing during stay but these were lost in post when posted back.

    Near to purpose of visit

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly adequate for our needs on this particular stay.
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor was somewhat jaded. Furniture very basic .Bathroom needed a little attention with the usual deterioration - but still clean.

    We needed a budget hotel (quick stop over to attend funeral). It did what it said on the tin. Rooms were warm and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.0
    It was located well in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they could have provided with basic amenities like a hair dryer. the staff was on site but dealt with check out on the phone. the breakfast should have been over at least 2 hours instead of one.

    It was located well in the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    4.2
    The room was dreadful, wouldn’t stay there again or recommend it to anyone.
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although I had said on the booking form that we were gluten and lactose intolerant, the staff were not informed. They did go and get us some bread and milk, but on the second morning the other guests had eaten all the bread so we had none. Our basement room was tiny, and smelt damp, one of the mattresses was dreadful and there was a smashed window pane, the bedside table was broken it was £80 a night it really wasn’t worth it, I would never stay there again or recommend it to any one. That’s said the guy who worked there was nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    3.8
    Would not stay here again, even if someone pays me for that.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned above; among my 3 consecutive days' stay in Scotland (different places) it was the worst. An old property, a room in the cellar-very small sized, stairs to climb up and down, shabby bath/toilet, an un-attended breakfast- fairly uncouth throughout.

    Mark, the young guy (apparently) managing the property, was a co-operative chap, within his own means. Otherwise, I (honestly) understand this property is no good to be kept on the list of booking.com. A dis-appointment to the customer is a badwill for the website either!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of The Georgian House is just perfect - right on the edge of the Botanics, just around the corner from Byers Road and close to anything to do with the university.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    We stayed there out of convenience but have decided that we will return and stay again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a ledge about two thirds of the way up the walls in the room which was covered in dust, it only takes a minute to run a feather duster over it.

    We were staying there as my husband was attending the Beatson hospital. The hotel was lovely and the young man who greeted us was really great, he couldn't do enough for us. The dining room was set up for breakfast and it was plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great base for visiting byres road for food and drink weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of staffing in hotel and Nightclub sound across the road 🤔

    Our welcome was wonderful and the lady extremely helpful , couldnt have done more

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.3
    Location excellent, we would not stay there again though. Owner needs to take responsibility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just OK. Food left uncovered on the table. Girl who was managing the place had insufficient time to do the job properly. En-suite bathroom was a menace. Very strong spring which left my wife with a pulled muscle. (room 6) Fire door? would never meet regulations. Toilet seat was broken,

    Room was large and parking available. Girl on duty all the time worked hard but had far too much to do to do it properly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    3.3
    Tiny room in dire need of renovation and deep cleaning,...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room in dire need of renovation and deep cleaning, dirty shower, very loud traffic noise due to being basement level. No one at the property to check in/out, was told to just let myself in and find the key in the room. Very little choice for breakfast, few items and poor quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.8
    Book only if nothing else in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could barely walk round the end of the bed. It was extremely noisy with a bar open until 4am opposite with shutters which didn’t close properly to block the noise. No toiletries left in the room at all and no staff to call on for soap as it is run more as an Airbnb than a hotel. Which is not ok at £119 a night. The staff member on duty who met us on Saturday then again on Sunday morning was lovely though. I have never posted a negative comment before on anything which shows how ripped off we felt.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.1
    OK place to lay your head down for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to phone up while we were inside to get an iron even though an iron should be in every room! The continental breakfast could have been better.

    We were attending a friend's wedding at Oran Mor, so the location of The Georgian House was spot on! The shower was nice yet the cabling in the room we stayed in needs to be sorted and tidied away as we were only able to get a handful of channels on the the telly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.4
    The one staff member we encountered was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not made up during our stay, leaving us to use dirty coffee cups and unmade beds. Upon arrival, there was a used towel drying on the rack and a used cotton swab on the ledge in the bathroom from previous visitor. The bed mattresses were worn out and horribly uncomfortable.

    The one staff member we encountered was very pleasant. The location was nice and close to quaint shopping street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not available and when they were their attitude was poor and not interested in customers. Breakfast was very poor and very little food to eat. I will not stay at this hotel again.

    The location for what we required was fine.I did not like anything else at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing and will not return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower door didn't close, no shampoo in shower. Grubby, could be cleaner and needs a paint job. Breakfast lacks real variety and had cheap products.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    3.3
    Not good - we left early, awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very smelly and dirty :(

    The property was very dirty, smelly. Breakfast was awful and we didn't eat it - it looked like the ham had been there for several days :(

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: