Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The George Hotel 3 stars

Piercebridge, Darlington, DL2 3SW, United Kingdom

#19 of 28 hotels in Darlington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound from the pub into the bedroom and could do with a wider variety on the menu as the food when it came was well cooked and tasty

    Pub food quality was good and the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the plumbing in the room

    The history of the Hotel was explained by one of the staff and we were shown the actual "priest's hole" through which Dick Turpin escaped in the 1700's. The breakfast room has a great outlook over the river and the lounges by the fireplaces need to be brought to guest's attention - great history.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All ok for me.

    The house burger was awesome, great staff, lovely setting, ideal for anyone looking for an overnight stay for the Darlington area, approx 10 mins from jct 58. Already looking at dates to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint or two and some general diy to tidy things up - but it has character, history and it’s good value for money.

    Lovely welcome, very good food and gorgeous setting on the river bank. Very dog friendly and nice walks available from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has a great appearance, but doesn't meet expectations internally. Could be really great with a full refurbishment and redesign of facilities, eg bar/restaurant. Wallpaper coming off wall in room in a small area.

    Great value, food and service very good. Hotel has a great location, next to Roman archaeological remains and easy access to most routes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the bed was a bit more comfortable. Sadly it was to firm for me to have a restful sleep.

    Room was very clean & shower was excellent. Food as always was also excellent. Very friendly & helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sat in the resteraunt rather then the bar for our evening meal and although the views out were beautiful it lacked atmosphere. We noticed in the bar there were flowers on the tables and music playing this would have been a nice touch in the resteraunt area as well which overall felt very sterile. Our table was propped up with a beer mat to keep it stable and the room was big with wooden flooring but not many tables so it echoed when people talked and not very intimate.

    Location was beautiful by the river, staff were friendly and helpful! Food was delicious,would definately recommend the afternoon tea. Evening menu had a loveky choice and the breakfast was beautful and a brilliant selection. we will definitely be back for a visit!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old coaching Inn so the walls were thinner and you could hear some noise from adjoining room but this didn't adverlsy affect my stay

    Wonderful location, friendly attentive staff, big room, clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On departure went down for breakfast just sat at a table a guest let us know where breakfast for continental was. After a good 20 mins a waitress took our hot food order . Breakfast was not great . The staff seemed friendly just busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated and when I tried to open the window the handle came off in my hand,! They definitely need a handyman too keep up to the lack of upkeep and general tiredness about the hotel. The room was tired and lack the overall wow factor that could have been made with just a little more attention to detail. Like individual soap etc in the bathroom which was so small at one end you either had to stand to one side or sit on the toilet to wash your hands The staff are friendly but you get the impression that they inexperienced and just doing the best they can. And dirty cutlery and sticky dining tables in the breakfast room just make it worse.

    The location of this hotel is super, the riverside dining and the outlook in the gardens fantastic. the local area and village is fascinating and I would recommend anyone who stay here to look around this charming and lovely Roman village. The breakfast was good and fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming coaching inn with lots of character. Beautiful garden overlooking the river. Very friendly staff and tasty food. There’s some Roman ruins of an old bridge by the side of hotel, for those interested in such. Pet friendly too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable staff. Must go to the riverside seating area and enjoy the view and calmness. Nice and quiet area away from the city noises. Rooms very spacious and bathroom excellent size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of 5 couples and none of us had a good nights rest due to the mattresses they had had it I could feel the wire/springs in mine, another couple couldn't sleep so left at 5am another at 6am very dissapointed as the place could be stunning, the latch to hold the window open fell off and it was generally very tired decoration wise, stunning garden by river but not weeded or taken care of such a shame we ahve stayed before in the main building and the rooms were better, staff are lovely very accommodating at check out we mentioned our problems so fingers crossed new mattresses are on the shopping list, the food is very good also The Fox pub down the road is really good food and The George is positioned close to the motorway could be a fantastic hotel with a bit of updating, ally we won't be staying again until things have been improved and we've stayed twice a year for the last 3 but need to get a good nights rest while travelling.

    The hotel is a lovely old building but very tired it's in a beautiful location by the river and only a couple of miles from the motorway, we've stayed a couple of times before and we're in the main building and our rooms and beds were good this time we're we're in the accommodation across the courtyard it wasn't as good unfortunately. Staff were lovely and helpful evening meal was fantastic and breakfast was good also, just needs a touch up in a lot of places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly room was located right at the back of the whole complex which is understandable. But it also had cracked windows, rotten skirting boards, no table, smelly carpet.. And the view was of a high wooden fence and handyman's shed, quite the opposite to what was stated on the booking.com website - 'room with a view'. Breakfast room has the most stunning views but it also is crying for some love and attention as it's bare and lifeless..

    Hotel location, nice and clean bathroom, iron/board and hairdryer supplied, plenty of coat hangers, great breakfast. Charming old building with plenty of history in and around, Roman Fort and bridge ruins nearby..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer was extremely old!

    We had a nice big room with a modern bathroom which was perfect for a 2 nights stay. There were 24hr staff, therefore we could come and go as we pleased.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We had just trecked 65 miles across the Yorkshire 3 Peaks and Pennine Way in 3 days and I can't think a of a better place to finish the weekend. The staff were brilliant making it easy for us to have celebratory drinks on the River in the sun and timing our meal for 12 so we could make the most of being outdoors. The food was delicious, great value with DBB and a wonderful setting on the River Tees. The rooms were spacious and well kept with great facilities. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the end of a long corridor with fire doors and different floor levels involving several steps down and up again. We managed alright but you need to be fit.

    The convenient and picturesque location together with the huge bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fire door seemed to be banging often between 4am and 5am. Does it have to make so much noise when it shuts (room 221) ?

    Pet friendly, located near Roman remains and short dog-walk Nice large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only barmeals provided. No restaurant. Generally the place looks run down. Needs a lot of money spent on it

    location. Breakfast served in what used to be the restaurant a beautiful room overlooking the bridge and river. Bedroom in the annex good, comfotable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They appear to have a problem with the dishwasher because both beer glasses and breakfast glasses were not clean .This is however being addressed by the manager

    The service was good ,very attentive and helpful even though they were doing three jobs. Answering the phone, serving behind the bar and at the tables.The smoked haddock and poached eggs at breakfast was excellent and overall the quality of the food very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole hotel tired and in need of redecoration and refurbishment

    Staff friendly and location beautiful Bathroom excellent and fairly recently upgraded Bedroom clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Sky Sports in bar, Decor and furniture could be updated along with TVs in room

    Food in the restaurant was excellent and also the staff were friendly and service was excellent too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very warm and there were no windows open and there were lots of wasps and flies in the both the dining room and bedroom.

    The towel swan on the bed was a lovely detail. The breakfast and Tiptree preserves was really good. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was dated in the room - it felt dark and old fashioned.

    The location is lovely. The breakfast was outstanding value for money. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The bathroom had been refurbished and was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access for my wife, who has mobility problems, was difficult due to uneven surfaces and steps.

    The atmosphere and location were excellent. The décor was a little tired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in The Mews, disappointed with cleanliness, could really do with being cleaned properly before guests arrive, such a shame. First time back in 22 years when we had our wedding reception there, disappointed.

    Bar area clean and friendly, evening meal and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed very dowdy in the bar area during the day and got no better when it got dark when the lights were on. The staff were very friendly and the evening meal was ok.

    It’s location by the river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guest rooms are scuffed and some of the areas near the rooms were tired and in poor condition. The water was not hot in the morning. Breakfast was tasty, coffee was fresh and the staff friendly, but I think greater attention could have been paid to cleanliness. The tables appeared not to be wiped down regularly and when I looked at the breakfast room in the Evening there were grapes left out, that were still there in the morning ! The Hotel has HUGE potential .

    Wonderful setting overlooking the River Tees. Piercebridge is a lovely village and access to surrounding areas is easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was hot , taken in a room overlooking the river. Checkout was easy. Despite my reservations, I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard and it was difficult getting to sleep with the noise of customers moving around a lot on creaky floors upstairs

    Loved the beer garden next to the river!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a bit of money spent on upgrading the windows, the star rating of the hotel would improve

    Exceptional value for the price, quiet, clean, comfortable, staff helpful and friendly. Added bonus we were able to have our dinner outside overlooking the river, food also good value for the price. Ample parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really could not fault it.

    The best way to describe this property is charming. It's in a beautiful place and the staff could not do enough for their guests. It's a beautiful place very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being allocated a room which had a faulty radiator leading to a dangerously hot surface and a sauna like temperature.

    No hassle related to requesting another room. Issue was dealt with in a friendly professional manner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of communal areas could have been a lot better and could do with refurbishment. Staff could have been better trained though generally friendly

    Location and grounds next to the river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is quite dated and in need of an upgrade, some of the carpets were old and worn and need replacing, the bathrooms have been improved however the shower in our room had very little pressure so trying to have a shower wasn't easy.

    The hotel itself is in a picturesque location with great views of the river, it was easy to find and there is ample parking, the food was very good both the evening meal and breakfast and the morning coffee came with a miniature bottle of milk which was quite quaint.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an old hotel you expect a few creaks and groans however the noise from the creaky floorboards above us on Sunday morning were horrendous! Shower was a dribble and a bit of a let down, only option was to take a longer bath.

    Good location for what we needed, staff were very friendly (one offered to drive us to our restaurant booking when our taxi was running late) and lovely old fashioned fires in the bar and waiting areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining room struggled with number of guests, especially on Saturday morning. I don't think the floor had been swept and the tables needed wiping down properly between guests...rather than just re-laid.

    Bed was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no issues at all!!

    Everything was lovely, from the staff to the pub to the room! Modern, clean room with such nice decor. So much space in the room. Ate one night in the pub and it was one of the best burgers i have ever had!! Staff were so helpful, booked us taxis, gave us recommendations, always someone at the reception desk to help you! Breakfast for £6 per person was amazing also, full English plus all your extra bits available!! Overexceeded our expectations, would definitely stay again!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their last orders for dinner is 9 pm. We failed to order desert before we ate so when we came to that we were too late! Perhaps they should have warned us. They are missing out too!

    Friendly, relax, generous sized rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water pressure was very poor, breakfast had been sat under a heat lamp too long and was overdone and dry.

    Great location, very clean, comfortable bed, very good size room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower only a bath and we were a bit tight on time to get ready and hadn’t anticipated this.

    Good location for Raby Hunt. Nice bar/ restaurant Great size room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Good comfortable hotel, very nice meal in pub, lovely view from dining room for breakfast, staff were really nice & helpful. I plan to stay here again next time I have to travel to Darlington.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot!

    It is a high standard relaxing stop off between North of Scotland and the South.Happy to take dogs, great beer and quality food.Staff top rate.professional and friendly.Parking excellent next to room in the annex(which is not a grotty modern box) The setting of this traditional coaching inn alongside the river and only 5 miles off the A1M is ideal.for our journey though sometime we willl make it a destination!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We returned to the hotel at around 1130pm to find we were locked out and there was no night bell to ring. Having banged on the door for a while I eventually phoned the hotel and someone answered and finally let us in! Hotel is tired and the breakfast room wasn’t very clean.

    Location and friendliness and helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 15cm of snow lying outside. I was offered an extension of my stay, but due to weather forecasts of snow conditions getting worse, I decided to make a run for it.

    On a freezing cold night the Hotel was warm and comfortable. In addition, they had a large log fire going in the bar to add to the warmth. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a plentiful supply of Tea, Coffee, biscuits and toiletries. The Hotel in located only a 10 minute drive from Darlington, so access to the city and business areas are easy to reach. The food is good, well cooked and presented, with an excellent choice from their menu + a daily specials board. There is also a good choice of Beers and Lagers on draught, plus many popular beers and cider in bottles, so you won't go thirsty. The best part of the Hotel is the staff; they are the most genuine, pleasant and helpful people you could meet anywhere. I will definitely stay here next time I am in the Darlington area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that I asked them to take breakfast off my room charge and they weren’t able to do it. I accidentally selected it when booking and straight away went through booking.com to try and change it. They emailed back (when I was at work) and said to go through booking.com. I called booking the next day and the hotel wouldn’t accept the change. They could have easily taken the breakfast off but their attitude is endemic of 21st century money grabbing culture.

    Room was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poor. Shower very difficult to turn on. Bedside table and lamp on one side of the bed only, so nowhere for me to put my phone, glasses, drink of water etc. A little shelf would have done. Paper thin party wall so could hear the people in the adjacent room talking for hours. Wallpaper starting to peel. Two of the windows had cracked glazing. No information pack in room so didn't know what time checkout was.

    The staff were great. The location is lovely. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with hotel as such but rowdy couples in next room playing music and shouting at 2am on he Sunday morning. Had to go and get the night manager. On a positive day staff were aware what had happened and were apologetic.

    Lovely hotel and staff were brilliant as we had our 10 month old grand daughter. Food really nice and reasonably priced . The George beer is worth the trip alone 😃

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the communal areas were a bit tired and in need of updating but they were still clean and this was reflected in the price.

    Staff were really friendly but in a nice way (not the false American way!). Bedroom was warm, comfortable and very clean. Food was superb with generous portion sizes. Location was great being just on the outskirts of the village. Nice walk to see Roman ruins from the hotel. Also lovely open fires in bar area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest everything was good but at a push the only thing we could possibly moan about is that the tv was very small. However this didn't impact on our stay whatsoever.

    We stayed in a nice big room that was clean and warm. The bathroom was lovely and the shower perfect with really snazzy doors that actually closed properly so the floor didn't get soaked. Complimentary shortbread cookies were a perfect finishing touch. Oh and did i mention the towels arranged as a swan on the bed? Now there's something you don't see every day ;-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good for me, a higher standard for a budget price.

    All aspects except the location in relation to my work, however not an issue for the premises, my problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was lacking in my room. Worked slightly but very weakly and some pages didn't load... Shame

    Wow..everything from staff, food to the lovely bedroom and high-end bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We didn't eat as we were staying there to meet friends but the room facilities were lovely: clean and modern. The staff were also really helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi didn't work but the manager logged me immediately into the staff wifi

    Location was lovely right next to an old Roman Fort, I ran up to the next village which was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of decor is in need of a bit of attention and the hot water supply was a little erratic. Could do without the radio playing in the breakfast room, but that's a pet dislike.

    Extremely warm and friendly welcome and the excellent, helpful and cheerful attitude of all the staff was maintained throughout our stay. The room was comfortable, the bar cosy and relaxing. A good breakfast in a spacious room with a terrific view of the river. Great setting and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to write here really. little hick up with my bill, in the fact that they overlooked my evening meal and drinks, but I spotted it and we got it sorted.

    Stayed here many times, food is always good and always lovely and warm, even on the coldest nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV signal but that isn't a fault of the hotel. Cooked breakfast was ordered not buffet style.

    Bar was welcoming with an open coal fire. Found parking opposite hotel literally outside front door. Bar/restaurant meals very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable. Not enough staff. Breakfast a little over cooked.

    The staff were very helpful. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large and very clean. The room was quiet. The evening meal was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor boards up stairs are old and noisy when people stay above you, can hear every movement. Tv in the room is tiny for the size of the room. There only 1 staff on to deal with everything so waiting times at the bar or reception can be long.

    I like that it has a garden to let my dog out to go to toilet although a dog waste bin could be provided. Home made soup is lovely. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were at a family party which went well

    the property is supposed to be updated I think this is ongoing rooms are clean and comfortable but dated it is a period property outside lighting leaves a lot to be desired main front and courtyard floodlights not working

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of the hotel were in need of an upgrade

    The food and drink were excellent, plenty of car parking spaces, the room was quite spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the shower room was clean and tidy. The Hotel is situated in a very picturesque location by the river with impressive views from some of the rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote missing so unable to watch TV. Mentioned it to reception but she was unable to replace

    Staff member who appeared to be on her own was delightful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs better pillows and some areas (rooms and communal) are in need of general updating. The building is ancient, it should be rustic but some areas are a bit tatty rather than rustic.

    Good breakfast, plentiful tea in the rooms, friendly staff, beautiful views of the river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was looking forward to sitting near one of the open fires in the bar, but none were lit in the evening, but was at check in. Nothing much else

    Bedroom and bed nice, lovely and clean,bar food generous in amount, and tasty, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The George is in a remote location, I'm sure it's really nice in summer, but there's nothing else around it, so you are stuck unless you want to go somewhere else to eat in the car.

    Large room overlooking the river but the balcony doors were locked (the balcony looked like it wasn't safe to stand on). I had the best nights sleep I've had in ages, due to the quite room and comfortable (but firm) bed. Bar food was OK and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle was too small to be really comfortable, and I'm only little myself! I'd like more tea and coffee available in the room but that's a moan I have about anywhere I've stayed!

    It's a gorgeous setting, beautiful scenery. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was warm and inviting. I was warned that there was a party on in the bar area but because of the layout of the place, my room was nowhere near so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at breakfast time was very slow, and inefficient The Hotel was lacking in a warm Christmas atmosphere. (example} The Real fires were not on, and the residents lounge was quiet uninviting, and lacked a warm friendly comfortable area.

    Food was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy with paper thin walls between bedrooms and unfortunately there were functions all weekend that we were not told about! Breakfast was appalling and had to ask several times for items. Bar was not staffed well and had to keep finding people to serve us. The hotel was run down and quite dated and could be lovely with some TLC.

    Some of the rooms were spacious and all were clean. Handy location for nearby wedding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper in room was a bit tired. Curtains could do with linings as other guests parking /locking car in the yard flashed into the bedroom.

    Lovely warm pastries at the breakfast buffet. Good lunch. Nice friendly country inn in a great location. It was chilly by the river in November but imagine it would be delightful in warm weather.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise is terrible despite the quiet village location. Large lorries roar by. Bedside lights have very dim old-fashioned bulbs and aren't bright enough to read by. An upgrade to modern LEDs would make a lot of difference.

    Very nice staff and attractive location on the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower dripped a bit in the night

    New general manager is really great, very friendly. We ate in the restaurant this time which we haven't before and the pie was lovely. Staff very responsive. The WiFi is easy to get onto and strong enough to stream video! We keep coming back again for The George's classic rooms - they're delightful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing....

    I booked this hotel for my colleagues as they were working in the area, everyone commented on how nice this hotel was. I will definitely be booking this place for them again. Food was beautiful, Rooms were spacious, Staff were superb..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    The hospitality was brilliant a real home from home experience, the staff are really friendly & nothing is to much trouble, relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings. Thank you we will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flaking paint on the bedroom and bathroom walls, the window didn’t close properly and had huge condensation on its single glazed panes, a room door that creaked horribly every time it was opened and looked like it had been broken into at some point with the damage to wood framing, guests in other rooms downstairs were very loud, especially with family rooms nearby, a overflow pipe leaking from the roof onto the entrance way to the accommodation building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor : lack of evident marmalade at breakfast...... Ability to stay longer, alas !

    Splendid rambling hotel in a superb waterside setting. Friendly relaxed bar; tasty food and superbly comfortable room. Would happily return if future routes passed that way. APB

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The potential is tremendous And I know it is under new ownership, but it has a way to go yet. It can't work out whether it is a pub, a meeting venue or a hotel.

    This hotel is in an idyllic spot, although maybe not a well known location. The dining room has a magnificent view over the river and there a Roman remains nearby. The staff are friendly and helpful. Food in the evening was OK. .

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: