Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Glan Yr Afon Inn 3 stars

Dolphin, Milwr, Holywell, CH8 7SJ, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Holywell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    been kept awake when it looked a nice and quiet place

    it was ok but the beds was hard,and we was kept awake in the early hours of the morning with some people drinking and probably drunk and one running around in a dinosaur outfit,didn't go do well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little warm but crack a window and your all good

    The staff were very very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were comfortable and spacey .. breakfast was tasty Overall a really enjoyable stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room

    The warmth of the welcome, the charm of the accommodation and traditional cozy nature of the pub were all highlights. The dinner and breakfast stood out too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind!!

    The owner and staff were really welcoming and friendly, the lady who cooked our breakfast was particularly good, not only at cooking but also at customer relations. My Gluten Free needs were dealt with extremely well and without any fuss. Everyone took time and interest to chat to us and we really enjoyed our experience and would return/recommend. Although we didn't get the best of weather the outside areas looked safe and welcoming too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    plenty of signs to say pick up your dog poo,but no bins to dispose of it.

    food and drink good prices, nice four poster bed. quiet location.dog friendly. evening meal was good,breakfast was average.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we were charged I don't think there is anything to complain about represented good value for money. If you want the Ritz pay more!

    Food good value service efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found fault with.

    Dog friendly in all areas except the restaurant but plenty of room in the bar area to eat. Very friendly staff and locals, very good food. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hard to find. We had to ask at a local garage. I think £100 for mid November was overpriced considering it’s out of season. £70 would have felt more reasonable.

    Super comfy beds, small radiators in each room which took the November chill off and there were free miniature toiletries too. The pub served great gin and really lovely food! Staff were really friendly too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit creaky and no towels put in room but stuff quickly sorted couldn't find any other faults would recommend staying here to friends and family no problem

    Very cosy and clean,nice staff,good food and well priced - located just off the main road and close to Chester about 20 mins drive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues

    Location overlooking the North Wales Coast was fantastic. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Dinner was excellent and the food fresh. Breakfast was excellent and good value. I would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Van could do with a little maintenance but it suited our needs.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wasn’t expecting as many facilities in the caravan and the shower was good. Nice food and a drink that everyone will like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available on a Monday night. Mattress had soft edges which made it easy to fall out of. No room for a chair between bed and desk/dressing table.

    Friendly staff. Nice bar area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fish goujons in sandwich instead of cheap fish fingers. Would be much better ! It won’t put us off staying again

    Beautiful modern clean rooms Lovely staff and very pet friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and cosy room, although the bed could benefit from a new mattress, we had lunch in the bar which was fabulous, stake and ale pie!! breakfast was also very good, staff very friendly! we had room number 1 which was away from the main bar and very quiet, which was very good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a bit of updating.

    Lovely old inn good food and beer,staff and locals super friendly and helpful good location would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too noisy, room stank of smoke, couldn't sleep because doors slamming all night, small room, woken at 7am by smell of bleach, drinking atmosphere, extra charge, wouldn't recommend, not family friendly.

    both staff I saw seemed nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt the toilet seat was broken there was no plug in the sink and I burnt my arm on the heated towel rail which was absolutely scortching and far to close to the sink area making it impossible to avoid.

    Friendly staff, the bar and outside area was pleasant. The breakfast was lovely .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great!

    The caravan was exactly what we needed as a group. The staff were excellent! They sorted us with a lift to the wedding we were attending. The location is beautiful, it's just a shame we were not staying longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of a chair in room

    Small but comfortable room,good bed,tea and coffee facilities,and the absence of any kind of pressure from staff,as if you belonged

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water at night No hot water in the morning-twice I asked Very slow service breakfast-ran out of a lot of breakfast food, had to keep on getting up & finding the staff to get something else Small breakfast-had better & cheaper Disappointed over the bath which I asked for but didn't get, I think I preferred a bath to the view

    The room Tv Bed Big chair Lovely view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    like most not that fussey

    price for overnight stay. small old converted farm super clean top food nise pub atmospher if you want comphey place .whithout paying at least double this is for you.well happey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The caravan that we stayed in was behind the inn it was up a steep set of steps to access the caravan. You could only use one door to access it which wouldn't open and close properly and to be honest I was terrified that if a fire broke out we wouldn't be able to get out. The views from the caravan consisted of overlooking the walls of the inn building which was only about 6 feet away and the gas tank which was about the same distance which added to my fears of a fire breaking out !!! Our poor Bassett hounds little legs struggled with the long climb up and down the steps.

    Staff excellent and very helpful. Location of the inn itself was good. Caravan was nice and clean and well prepared for our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No spare bedding , hanging space in the wardrobe was too short even for a polo shirt , shelf in bathroom was missing , mirror was behind me when at the sink , people outside making a lot of noise well after closing time sitting on top of a plastic rhino £70.00 for a room of this standard with no breakfast included was well over priced

    The biscuits were nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't in pub itself, but in extension up an (external) metal staircase more suited to factory/building site than an hotel. No pub meals served on Monday evening.

    Comfy bed, reasonable selection of ales. Good location (for onward travel) Good sized car park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the car park is located at the side of the hotel, up hill and is quite a distance from the entrance. I was advised to park on the road outside the entrance. Although it is a very quiet country road I would have preferred to park off road. My bedroom, I had reserved a single room, was very small. It had all I required except a chair to sit on.

    Lovely breakfast. Hot and fresh. Although bedroom was above bar it was really quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Had a one night stop here recently, we had early ferry to catch the next day so didn't have much time for anything else but sleep, we did have time for evening meal at the pub and it was excellent, steak and guinness ale pie, Lovely!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above, particularly smoking area.

    The external staircase to rooms could be unsafe for young children. Smoking areas are directly outside of entrance. When the door is open, you are exposed to the cigarette smoke.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the country so if you want walks and to be out the way it's perfect

    Stayed in the on site caravan. Not modern but clean and suited our requirements

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The green safety light above the door was far too bright and made it difficult to fall asleep. The towels in the bathroom were very thick and heavy and not easy to handle.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good British pub food (in the pub), with serious fish and chips and cider. Heaven. Room very clean, good water pressure. Beautiful part of Wales. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Friday night one of the locals kicked off at my partner then kicked off at another local so I didn't feel comfy that night made me not go into the bar on the sat night

    The view from the room was really nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the caravan and according to reviews there was a lovely view,which is why we paid over the odds of a £100 for 1 night. We did in fact have a view of the back wall of the pub,as the caravan is at the back of the pub itself,it is not very nice to sit outside on a nice summer's day. And no breakfast included.

    The pub itself was fine and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were travelling with our dog - all made to feel very welcome. Room was comfy & clean. Good food served in the bar/restaurant & a great choice of real ales available too :-) Have stayed before & hope to be back next time we're visiting NE Wales.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view x

    Family stay in static caravan absolutely lovely but there is stairs to go up not pram friendly OK for older kids who can walk i have 2 teenagers they loved it xx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote location and sat nav sent us to wrong place, found it by accident in the end. Drive to car park very uneven and slippery. Breakfast was mediocre and the sausage was almost certainly reheated , cups were dirty and breakfast was generally tasteless.

    Staff were very friendly, room clean, full facilities including tea and coffee and hair dryer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mistress in rm 3 either needs a topper or replacing. Every time we moved the springs let us know that they were there!

    Really good real ale, Flintshire; good portions of well-cooked food and beautiful views. Great bathroom facilities, especially the disabled-friendly shower. The ramp from street level to the first floor was especially useful as my wife uses sticks or a walker to help her get around. Good tea and coffee facilities in the room and extra tea bags and coffee were supplied upon request. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were always willing to go the extra mile to make one feel comfortable and welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom small and toilet badly placed with little room, extractor fan had been removed. Drinking customers in the bar too loud and too close to the table we eat at.

    Comfortable and basic room. Very friendly staff. Lovely evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could have been cleaner, light in bathroom mirror did not work, room door did not lock properly. Luckly both of the rooms I booked were together and had a vestibule door, which we were able to lock. Would have liked some fruit and yoghurt with breakfast.

    This as a last minute find and was good value, Staff friendly, bed comfy, not too difficult to find and plenty of parking. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us the location was idyllic, an inn in the countryside. The welcome was warm and attentive. The room was cosy and well equipped. The food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i was to be really picky the towels could be softer.... but again that's being really really picky

    The staff were brilliant really friendly and helpful. The regulars were really friendly and the landlord and landlady introduced me to drinking port.... what more could you ask for?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly pub, our room was perfect, staff extremely friendly and really helpful in arranging taxi's etc. We were staying here because we were going to a function nearby but would make a special trip to stay there again for a break. Breakfast was delicious and once again couldnt fault the friendliness of the staff thank you for a lovely stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much .

    All around great location to relax but only 15 mins away from the seaside and towyn which is more busy.Second time we stayed already looking forward to 3rd.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful mattress, no hot water in the morning, dusty (more than just a couple of days) cobwebs on ceiling and walls. Food not available after 8.30 pm.

    The room looked nice. That was about it. As for comfort, really lacked it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no chef on Monday night therefore we had to go out for evening meal which was a little inconvenient as we had not planned for this due to work commitment. The room was quite cramped and I was not able to sit at the desk to work due to the position of the bed. We were in a back room close to the fans so had a loud humming sound for most of the evening. Spoke to the staff and they were very apologetic and said next time to ask for another room and if available they would be more than happy to swop over.

    Very friendly helpful staff and the history of the venue is appealing. Great location only a short car journey into Holywell.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All Good....

    Stayed here for 1 week, the room was spotless big tv, comfy double bed, The staff are so friendly, the locals are very welcoming, had a great time, food was amazing to. Booked in again for another 3 weeks. Highly recommend to all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought rooms somewhat overpriced as didn't include breakfast. Only eggs and mushrooms available as vegetarian options on the breakfast menu

    Friendliness of staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could of been more comfortable, felt very hard and me and my partner both had bad backs for the day after. The breakfast for the price you paid was not really value for money. You got 1 slice of toast each and 1 rasher of bacon and 1 sausage which for £6.50 seemed like a kids portion. Half the lights in the room didn't work the bulbs were gone. And in the corridor there was only 1 bulb in the Chandelier's which made it very dark. There was also a heavy smell of drains running up the stairs. The dog next door to our room was crying all night and we only got about 2 hours sleep. Which was no fault of the hotel. We should of really said something at the time but didn't want to spoil somebody's new year

    The bed was clean and fresh And staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one real ale on tap which wasn't the best.

    Characterful property and good value. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Flexible on check out time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived to find our rooms were wrong - were put on hold for the longest 20 mins (more like an hour) while they moved someone out! I would have rather them cancel and we could have moved on elsewhere or slept in the car... Granted they gave us a drink on the house but small recompense - I think I was overcharged for the rooms they mixed up and was certainly charged more for a poor quality breakfast than advertised... Drunken guests (pensioners) staying in the room next door shouting their 'good nights' to others at 1:10 am so much so that I had to open our door and tell them to be quiet. They then went on to argue for most of the next 2-3 hours... A younger man knocked on our door at 2:00 am - drunk - wrong room!! Morning time - a man told us which way to go for breakfast. not sure who he was. No one asked us if we slept well (or at all!) and no one said good bye - too busy having a cigarette around the back. Cleanliness - try cleaning behind the cupboards because the dust is an inch thick on the cobwebs bathrooms - try giving a set of towels for each guest-fixing the light above the sink and perhaps get a shelf for the missing one. Oh, and get rid of the mould in the bath/shower. And what is that smell? There is a lot to be learned on hospitality here -avoid. It's a shame because it could be good. It used to be great for food 10 years or so ago but not now. I'll give them a plus for the pie - the meat was gristle free but the laminated menu is hardly inspired.

    the young waitress at dinner was very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We and our dog were made very welcome and comfortable, although we were only staying for one night. Food, at dinner and at breakfast, was very good. The Inn was easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The exterior and car park needs freshening up, and belies the excellence of the interior....but do not be put off, this is an observation, not a criticism. This pub is a hidden gem, and a memorable experience.

    Apparently newly refurbished to a very high standard, the food was excellent except for one night when the chef went off sick (nobody's fault), but the staff had takeaway menus behind the bar and arranged for delivery to the pub. Nothing was too much trouble, and the whole establishment was immaculately clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park area could do with a bit of a tidy up before it becomes too shabby.

    The whole lot really, staff really friendly, location great, food good and breakfast excellent. Room well furnished and bed comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lamp in room. There was a lot of banging from the rubbish bins until really late, plus a light outside was on until the pub closed so room was light.

    Food was nice at dinner, room was large. Staff nice, room clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit shabby, if someone walked down corridor the dressing table mirrors wobbled but it is a very old building.

    Staff very friendly. Real pub atmosphere and very popular.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lying in bed listening to the showers in adjoining bathrooms. The old caravan and bags full of used cans on the car park. The massive pot hole on the way onto the car park. The big pink rhino as a welcome outside the door. Wouldn't ever stay here again. Expensive and very average.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi would not connect

    the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and polite and the room was very comfortable and clean overall a very nice hotel and would definately stay there again and recommend it to friends and family

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been included in the price. We booked on-line thru bookings.com which means we paid extra for breakfast £6.50 pp per day. Total extra cost of £52..

    Great new rooms in annexe. Good dinner menu. Superb taxi service provided by hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely comfortable room and very spacious, clean and tidy. The staff were all very courteous, helpful and polite; breakfast was delicious. Excellent value for money. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come here again. Thanks very much for having us!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position of the toilet was too compact for anyone tall or heavy. Not enough room around it. A shower handle that lacked instructions or a top. Good shower though. I got a room change for a noisy room.

    The pillows were excellent as the quality of the bedding and bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room we were in could do with a different sink in the shower toilet area it was nearly impossible to use because of the shelf and the tap handles.

    Good price for acommodation, staff very friendly,rooms comfortable,location fair,good choice of food and drink.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ordinary pub grub--not even any specials for the cooks to show what they can do. Nice breakfast, though.

    Size of the room was great, and the view was amazing. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub shut early booked online for £60 but was still charged £65 wasn't told if breakfast was included and left at 7 am but wasn't told were to leave room key so I posted it in the pub

    Liked all parts of room everything that was needed was there

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Caravan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location. We stopped in the caravan which was perfect for our stay .friendly welcome nice accommodation. We were taking my mother in law to do her bucket list to Chester Zoo and visit Ruthin, she mentioned that she had never had Banofi pie and on our second night the inn staff made her one. Good food when we ate in the pub and a staff that will go the extra mile. A friendly goodbye we will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely welcoming staff, and a very comfy bed. The food was home-cooked and very generous portions, just what I wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the countryside setting. The property was perfect inside and out,with a warm and friendly welcome. I had a perfectly relaxing stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very hot and no full length mirror - other than that, perfect

    lovely clean room, comfy bed, easy check in and out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved it here travelling on my own they made me feel welcome and safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double/Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable rooms and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    really clean lovely staff and good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food and service with a smile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remember to turn off at the 'Dolphin' sign.

    Excellent car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    A very comfortable, well-heated room. Excellent staff (especially Jan!). Excellent breakfasts. Well-stocked bar. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2cups for 3 of us staying. An oversight I m sure.

    Cosiness and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: