Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Glen Hotel Newtonmore 3 stars

Main Street, Newtonmore, PH20 1DD, United Kingdom

#7 of 13 hotels in Newtonmore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 510 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied with the accommodations.

    Traveled with family (3 adults + a 7 year old). Allocated 2 rooms with king-size beds. Lovely large rooms and Bathroom. Beds clean and very comfy. WiFi in room. Lovely dinner, large variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very warm with no way to ventilate our room. The window was in direct contact with the kitchen and coming and going of the staff.

    The hotel is very quaint and easily found on the main road. We were only here for one night as we were passing through to the Cairngorms. The town itself does have some accesible walking trails, good restaurants, and the heritage museum which was quite interesting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was all positive.

    Everything, the staff are polite and attentive and were always on hand to help in any way. The food was excellent and plentiful. The rooms were great. The town although quiet was within local transport of Aviemore and Fort William, ideal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was quite small, not much space for luggage.

    Cosy, clean and comfortable room. Good parking right outside and tasty food available downstairs in the pub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disappointing breakfast, cooked options ok. Would have preferred better choice of cereals and fresh fruit options. Plus, the seats in the bar are not very comfy, so apart from sitting in your room, there isn't really anywhere else to spend time comfortably. The food in the pub, wasn't the best.

    The room was large, clean and well furnished. Parking very convenient. Excellent Wifi and TV facilities. Staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were great. Food was superb. The building looks a little shabby from the outside but the rooms are modern and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice little hotel in a cute town. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Food at the pub at dinner was tasty and breakfast (included) is good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed that having requested an accessible room as my father has walking difficulties we weren’t advised in advance all rooms are up a high staircase.

    Staff were great and we especially like the breakfasts cooked to order. Lovely location with walks from hotel door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hosts, lovely location. Room was very comfortable, free off street parking. Amazing breakfast included in the price. Good selection of beers and food in the evening, e would certainly return or recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a really warm and cozy feel to it. Like home from home. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The cooked breakfast was also delicious. Plenty of parking available too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff We called for a late check in, they provided us with the door code and at the reception the keys were ready for us with a note about the breakfast and wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and it's staff provided a very warm and accommodating venue for a special birthday celebration. Food was excellent and very plentiful Staff couldn't have done more for us Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Staff were very helpful. Great location and excellent walks and attractions which were well documented. Food of a high standard and portion size sufficient to satisfy the largest appetite. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy central heating which continued throughout the night.

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable, spacious room. Good pub food and good selection of beers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and the bed comfy. The shower could have been more powerful but atleast it was hot. Location for area was good. Didn't eat dinner here. Breakfast was basic but ok. The hotel was perfect for our one night pit stop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We loved everything about our stay. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, the rooms were very comfortable and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for exploring. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant had lovely meals & excellent beer. I will definitely return to The Glen Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average.

    The pub’s food was delicious, lots of choice and all looked really tasty. Reasonably priced menu. Later check out than normal, and breakfast served until 10am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar/restaurant is a little old fashioned compared to the rest of the hotel but maybe that's part of the charm.

    Enjoyable one night stay, lovely comfy bed and modern bathroom with power shower. Food very good too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was great!

    This was by far one of the best establishments we have stayed at. We received a pleasant and warm welcome from the entire family there. Not only did they work with our arrival time they made sure we were completely comfortable. The rooms were spacious and well updated. The breakfast was homemade and delicious. It was perfect for our trip to Lochness and the Highlands! I would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant stay, I wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Over the years we have eaten many times in the hotel restaurant but never stayed so this time we did both. The room was a very good size and the bed king size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there wasn't anything to dislike.

    the bed was fab, it was an extra king size, I would like to buy one for home, the staff were so friendly, if you asked for anything, it was not a problem to them, so helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were very flat, pretty much sleeping on the sheet.

    Cozy rooms with a very modern bathroom. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, typical Scottish Breakfast. Great staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little haphazard but this was out of season with very few guests.

    Good sized room, good wi-fi, excellent shower, the room and bathroom generally very good. Excellent value for money. Quality of the cooked breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too warm. We had to turn off the radiator in our room.

    It was excellent. The food was fabulous. The portion sizes were very generous. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Had a lovely bath with overhead shower. Bed was very comfortable also. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and informative about the locality. Lovely location on the edge of the village. Lovely walk down by the village lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was the man behind the bar on the Sunday afternoon. He was a bit grumpy, compared to the rest of the staff, who were sheerful, helpful and an asset to the hotel.

    The black pudding and haggis were a bit disappointing, but everything else was spot on. Wouldn’t be enough to mark it down as it was my own personal taste.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the fish pie had some fish in it

    the room was ok but small but nice apart from the Disco every morning from around 7 am and we had cost for the hotel but on booking out that had gone up why i asked it just has

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we knew the hotel and was aware it was a social meeting place on the main road, the noise could have been a problem. The web site does warn of this so in case I had earplugs. It did not require them.

    The standard of the bedroom was higher than expected having used other 3* hotels The Glen was superior. The staff were friendly and obliging. I have often had meals in The Glen without staying and the meals continue to be very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great property - really nice room. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was very big and looked brand new. The food was excellent - both breakfast and dinner. I would definitely recommend and go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The room was comfortable, had plenty of space for our large amount of luggage and very warm and cosy. The food in the restaurant was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that would have made this hotel better would be a lounge-bar with comfortable seating but saying that, we realise this hotel caters all day for residents AND non-residents so we can understand the reason for no lounge as it is a small hotel.

    Staff were friendly, cheerful and couldn't have been more helpful. Very good breakfast with as much coffee and tea as we wanted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was great,bed very comfy and bedroom nice and warm. The staff and owner were very nice and even gave my wife and I a lift to the wedding we were attending which was a little out of town.😃

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say!

    A very well presented room with modern bathroom, massive bed, good heating and good facilities. Very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast choices. We bought dinner at the pub each night - very good menu options. A quiet location. Great proximity for exploring the Cairngorms!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was located on the road size and could hear all the traffic noise that passed. Lots of trucks etc passing by.

    Room was a good size. Bathroom was lovely. Very comfortable. Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggle to find anything we didn’t like in such a warm and friendly atmosphere where the surroundings are stunning.

    The room was fresh, clean and warm. The shower was excellent and the food in the evening was great. The breakfast was served by friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. All round excellent and will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing, staff were brilliant always cheery n happy, evening menu was great and best lamb shank ive ever had, fabulous selection of drink for a small bar / restaurant cosy n relaxing, the included breakfast was amazing and we had the full fry up (both mornings) would have preferred potato scones to hash brown tho lol, rooms were great size and bathrooms were spacious and both were spotless, would recommend this hotel to everyone, bed was clean and so comfy, not a bad word to say about this place, will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower makes a lot of noice. A dryroom for wet cloathes after a walk in typical scotisch weather would be great. Luckely the restaurant serves a wide variety of great food because other options in Newtonmore are limited.

    Nice bar with excellent food. Great breakfast especially the combination with the Continental buffet. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. Good location with easy access in all directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Loved our stays here. Stopped for 1 night going to and from NE Scotland. Both rooms were large, as were the bathrooms which had good Mira electric showers. Lovely comfy beds with warm duvets. Had evening meal in the bar on each occasion and food and service first class. Cooked breakfasts a good size and very well cooked and presented. All staff at hotel cheerful, polite and very welcoming. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about a visit to this area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some soft sofas in the small bar area apart from that could not find fault with anything.

    The king-size room was excellent with en-suite bathroom, everywhere in the hotel was absolutely spotless, meals were first class, the owners and staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was a chore for them if we needed anything, breakfast was excellent and the service in the morning was outstanding no waiting about for anything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy because of traffic, but it was light traffic and I popped in my ear plugs and slept like a baby.

    The most roomy room, with excellent cleanliness, crisp clean sheets on an enormous bed. WOW. Wish all hotels were like this. Will always use this place when I am in the area and will recommend. The food in the evening and for breakfast was wonderful. The service was friendly and quick. Wish I had stayed longer as it is in a great area to do plenty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No natural yoghurt for breakfast, but otherwise all was good.

    Large bed and bathroom, stylishly decorated. Very friendly staff. Extensive menu and delicious food. Good location - lots of local walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the central heating pump all night but it's only a minor complaint.

    Lovely food, well cooked, good choice of menu. Parking outside hotel & very easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!!

    extremly clean bedroom/en suite, very comfy bed. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Would not have any hesitation in recommending The Glen, will ce, rtainly book again, oh, the food delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appearance at entrance door made it look poor but it was far from poor Great place to stay

    Breakfast and accomadation was great, staff excellent, bar food very good Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a hotel restaurant, but a pub restaurant where you order at the bar and the tables are in the bar area. However the food is brought to your table by very helpful serving staff. Depends what you prefer. Can get very busy in the bar not allowing much room at your table.

    Rooms were good and the staff very helpful. Food was good and breakfast in a room, separate from the bar area, in keeping with a hotel. Car parking very convenient, just outside and position of the hotel could not be better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basic food menu I felt a little expensive. Also the real ale at £3.80 a pint. At home I can buy it at £2.45/£3.00. But it was a great place to stay. You can't please everybody.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the cleaners were in each day,and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely go back and would recommend to others. Very busy for meals so if you are staying and planning on eating there book your table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't fault the the hotel.

    The bed was huge and very comfortable. The hotel was spotless. The breakfasts were cooked to order, therefore fresh and very good. The food in the evenings was excellent. We chose to dine here for all but one evening of our stay. All the staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the street. Because it was July, we opened the windows and the street noise -mainly cars- was a bit busy (Saturday night) until 11 pm or after.

    Nice English breakfast -cooked to order like a B&B, and not sitting on buffet. The updated bathroom and shower was great - just like the photos. We had a queensize bed, a nice treat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere with friendly staff and enthusiastic owners. Food fantastic. We walked around neighbourhood and saw at least 30 rabbits - a great village feel about Newtonmore 😃

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was great - warm and welcoming. Room had a great bed and we rested perfectly well. Bathroom was super clean. Breakfast was amazing! Large portions and super tasty! This stay associates only with best emotions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely polite and helpful. The quality of meals was excellent and the menu had a great choice to cater for all. In all our travels the breakfast was most notable - great to get a proper poached egg!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was a little slow. Good enough for email and searching Google, but not able to stream video or video chat very well.

    The staff were really friendly and everything was super clean. There was a good selection of food at the restaurant and a great selection of beverages, including a long list of whiskies (my husband's favorite) and tasty ciders (my favorite). The bed was so comfortable, I could have stayed in bed all day, but since I didn't I enjoyed the spectacular landscapes in the area. We were only an hour from Inverness, Fort William and the start to the Cairgorms tourist road starting in Grantown on Spey. If we get an opportunity to go back to Scotland I'd definitely stay at The Glen Hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed here one night!

    Excellent hotel, with excellent staff! They really try to make your stay as good as possible. Nice rooms, good beds, modern bathroom. Great pub-dining. The barman knows a lot about whisky, he is a great entertainer. Breakfast is good, and served at the table. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pints were delicious. The barstaff (especially Scott) knew their products and were happy to have a chat. Breakfast the next day was huge! Easy to get to and the staff were so pleasant to deal with while we stayed with them. We should have stayed another night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to find that my dinner reservation wasn't in a restaurant, but in the bar. It would have been useful to have been informed of this in advance.

    The room was comfortable, the bathroom was very spacious and well maintained. The food and wine were good with a good selection of whisky.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent B&B with a very friendly staff. The food served in the restaurant was top notch. Tried haggis for the first time here and it was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact it is so good booking in the future maybe more difficult!

    Perfectly met my expectations. The bonus was the quality of the food. Staff were sincere in their warm welcome and seemed naturally focused on making everyone stay a great expereince.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were three elderly ladies travelling together. We had already advised the hotel that one had mobility problems. Nobody offered to help us with our luggage up quite a steep narrow staircase The owner or manager checked us in. Where had Scottish hospitality gone. A member of staff saw us struggling when we were leaving. If the boss doesn't offer help the staff are hardly likely to do so It is the little courtesies which mean a lot

    Rooms had been refurbished and were nice. Shower room very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were perfectly satisfied with all aspects of our stay at The Glen.

    As a CAMRA member I enjoyed a couple of locally brewed ales in th bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the Road side of the Hotel even with windows closed it was quite noisy with Traffic especially when a bigger vehicle came along. Apart from that it was all good.

    Hotel very clean bed very comfy and huge!! All staff were very friendly and helpful. Good food too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to complain about .

    Our room was excellent. Comfortable beds and great bathroom . Breakfast was delicious served by friendly waitress . We were staying overnight as a half way break to the Highlands and it was perfect for our needs. We had a great nights sleep and were fully rested to continue our journey the next day .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV picture bit poor and wardrobe door wouldn't open properly but minor things!

    Excellent customer care during evening meal, breakfast & reception. Friendly welcome. Comfy bed. Modern clean refurbished bathroom. Nice to have bath available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The acoustics were not so good. I had noisy neighbours.

    Almost everything was perfect, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At evening meal times due to it being a pub parking was sometimes a problem.

    Staff were lovely and very welcoming both at the bar and at breakfast. The room was very clean and bed comfy. Breakfast was very nice and flexible. Location was good for exploring the cairngorms. The pub food was very good and we ate there all 3 nights of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was too high on the wall.

    The room was really big with good facilities. Bed very comfortable. Very quite, not noisy at all. Staff very friendly. Food with generous portion.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the choice of draft beers. excuse was that there had been a beer festival and they 'were using up the part empty barrels before restocking and all were a little strong for a relaxing '3 or 4 pints'. Kids with electronic games blocked WiFi connections in an area where reception was rather poor

    all good except the beers in the bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean room, comfortable bed, fabulous modern ensuite bathroom and excellent breakfast. Staff were very friendly. Will definitely recommend to friends and come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Private External Shower Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better seals around main window would help. Rattled a little in the wind and the few passing cars could be heard but nothing major.

    Excellent bar area and yet quiet in the rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Private External Shower Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is so cosy (maybe a touch on the too warm side for me though).

    Wifi was fantastic! The food was great! I had scampi two nights in a row and the black pudding every day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 days wasn't long enough we would have liked to have stayed longer. Maybe next time.

    It was my partners birthday when we went away and Chris the owner left a happy birthday note and 2 beers outside the room for us. was a great touch. he also wished my partner happy birthday in person later on when we went to the bar. we have never had that anywhere we have went before. Also they made the effort to remember our orders for dinner or at the bar, even though they had hundreds of orders.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room with Private External Shower Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a fantastic hotel this stay was our second one and we will be going back next year as everything about this hotel is so right from the room to the staff and the food it's just an amazing friendly hotel with everything one could ask for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly,efficient and attentive staff. Refurbished rooms, clean and comfortable. Bar and dining very friendly and good quality especially the ale.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable! The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good and we ate an evening meal in the pub which was also delicious. Overall, a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different staff were around in the morning so it was tricky to get a small issue with our bill sorted - we should have paid in the evening rather than charging to our room.

    Huge bed, very clean, great food and good value. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise disturbance throughout the night from some type of mechanical ventilation system

    Very good accommodation and great food. Staff are all very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Glen Hotel Newtonmore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: