Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Glendeveor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

25 Mount Wise, Newquay, TR7 2 BQ, United Kingdom

#39 of 52 B&Bs and inns in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 826 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Was nice and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy to the front of hotel where my room was. Unfortunately didn't get good night sleep.

    Extremely comfy bed and room very spacious and clean. Nice en suite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful owner, clean hotel but needs a lot of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel definitely needs a make over and bringing up to date. It was also very hot and lacked any air conditioning.

    The owner of the hotel was wonderful. He couldn’t have made us feel any more welcome if he tried. He was so friendly and kind. The location of the hotel was great, just a short walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    The Glend"forever"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a few very small issues like the pool ques were very worn.no mushrooms at breakfast...you couldnt open a window for a breeze nearest the bed and also the shower glass kept moving every time you showered.

    The beds were very very very comfortable..john the host was the best hotel manager ive spoke to for a while..very in detail about safety and the ammenities available..the seperate kitchen and laundry room for guests was a dream to use...home away from home..also the other guests were great to talk to...the sea view was amazing and a stones throw away..the fact that you can come and go when you please and there was an 24hour newsagents open down the road..for beer near weatherspoons..not a 5min walkaway..so you could grab a beer and play darts and a game of pool after a night out..awesome bnb...i will be going again..worth every penny...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Making new memo, extra special time in all round brilliance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing not to like, maybe except seagull poo on my car but that is not the fault of anyone 😉

    This B&B is excellent in our opinion. We were given a warm and friendly welcome, John was the font of all knowledge locally. If he couldn’t answer then he googled it til he could. Our room was on ground floor as requested as one of our party is disabled. The room itself was bright and airy , with huge windows and a sea view. The chambermaids also did a wonderful job with keeping our bathroom facilities spick and span, making our beds and cleaning the room. All the staff greeted us with a smile and a good morning. Breakfast was excellent, buffet style so we got a wide range of breakfast fodder. The communal rooms were always clean and tidy. I cannot give fault to this place so it’s a big huge 10/10 from Becky and Honor 😊😎

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    CENTRAL LOCATION
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY TIED, NEEDS A FACE LIFT. LOOKS LIKE IT HASN'T SEEN A DECORATOR IN 25 YR. THE PLACE WAS CHEAP, SO YOU GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR. GOOD JOB I DIDN'T TAKE THE WIFE OR SHE WOULD OF KICKED OFF. VERY NOISEY, HARDLY SLEPT

    CENTRAL LOCATION

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable rooms conveniently close to restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and comfortable rooms with onsite parking. Close to restaurants and bars. Excellent breakfast - good value. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    4.2
    Pizza express rest of the restaurants was nasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area was not nice and the price for the room was way to much for what it was and the place was falling apart never again

    Pizza express rest of the restaurants was nasty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Lovely little b&b .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit more choice with hot food at breakfast.

    Staff very helpful. Close to town centre. Room was clean and very comfy. Buffet beakfast lovely. Would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely, friendly, excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were superb and made me feel really welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. Short walk into the town and the beaches. The breakfast was excellent and there was a wide variety of options. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Everything from the breakfast to the parking and wifi and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No AC in the room, it was very hot but thankfully we could at least open the windows.

    Everything from the breakfast to the parking and wifi and the extremely nice check-in process. Location is at walking distance from the beaches

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    We enjoyed every minute of our holiday
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, good parking, breakfast ok, extremely helpful and accomodating manager, common space with facilities for guests (kitchen for guests, barbecue space etc) It might be useful to provide simple electric fans for guests staying in the attic rooms during the spells of hot weather

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly well appointed rooms.
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Former full-board hotel now run as B&B with the bar closed and boarded up though lounge and games area remain available. Limited choice of just three hot breakfast items could perhaps be expanded slightly - only scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans.

    Cheaper than some places but central to town and including recently renovated bathrooms. Spotless throughout. Friendly welcome and comprehensive introduction to facilities. Good range of continental breakfast items.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.0
    weekend break with granddaughter to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    very friendly staff, room clean, bright and airy. Buffet breakfast had good selection of cereals, fruit plus hot selection. 4 minutes walk to town and beach, although a bit hilly but good exercise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Room was very clean and tidy n good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very clean and tidy n good size. we travelled with our 17 months old so they did provide us travel cot which was add on. Breakfast was yummy and top of that they had guest kitchen which was really handy for people like us travelling with baby.Overall experience was very excellent , spot on 👌, thanks to john for being so helpful,you really made us feel like home....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic area to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a souvenir glass from the cider factory and I couldn't find it when I was leaving. I think maybe the cleaning staff thought it belonged in the hotel kitchen.

    The welcoming staff were excellent . The young lad, Cordel (?) gave us the best information talk about the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    The host was very friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was very friendly and nice. Breakfast was great, lots of different foods and for every taste. Location is perfect - close to the high street and to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Fantastic overnight stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great overnight stay. The welcome was lovely and the owner could not of been more helpful. Very clean and great options for breakfast. Fantastic location. Will look forward to returning. Thank you so much, is really rare to come across such fantastic customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Extremely clean, very friendly staff, facilities such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no shampoo or body wash, also no hair dryers. The room was very hot so perhaps keeping blinds closed during the heat of the day and opening windows before guests check in would be helpful.

    Extremely clean, very friendly staff, facilities such as kitchen space and washer/dryer were very useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay in Newquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mentioning the parking on premises is of limited availability I think it may prevent disappointment if you should run out of space. Additional parking is a short walk away and in the end we didn't need to use it, but I think I would have appreciated to be aware of the limited availability before hand.

    We stayed in a small room for one night, bed very comfy and very nice and clean toilet facilities. The place is a short walk away from the town centre and three of Newquay's beautiful beaches. John was really helpful and really nice, instructions on how the reception etc worked were really clear on arrival. Nice breakfast in the morning. The place has got plenty of communal spaces although we didn't use them as spent the time outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked e everything. John the owner was superb. So helpful and friendly and went out of his way to make us welcome. A little gem of a place we will be back very soon Mandy. Eddie. Drew. Margaret and Patricia

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere, have no hesitation in recommending this b&b to family and friends travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs with heavy bags though staff were most helpful and offered to carry our bags up to the rooms and back down again.

    Great breakfast selections, even catered for gluten free food requirements. Twin room Good size. Plent of hot water for showers. Shared kitchen for use by residents staying this included a fridge, microwave and plates, utensils etc. washing machine and dryer if needed. Communal room to use in the evening for card games and drinks. Great time, stayed for three nights. Good parking. Central to beaches and eating places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked small room with view. Room smaller than I thought it would be. couldn't open wardrobe doors fully. Shower unit tiny. No lift. Stairs a problem with a broken arm

    Staff very friendly and helpful. A little kitchen available to you for heating and storing food etc location perfect and had parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent - would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful proprietor, good facilities and breakfast (hot option offered although not advertised in advance). Easy to find. Car park would not be able to accommodate one car per room, but there were no problems whilst I was there (there is a public car park very near by).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    John, our host and the owner of the property, is a Great guy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    John, our host and the owner of the property, is a Great guy, very friendly and helpful with all we needed. The property, which is in Amazing Location near the beach and town centre, is very clean and the breakfast is Fabulous. If you are going to Newquay, definitely you have to stay to The Glendeveor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location. A relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some noisy guests next to our room in the early hours of the morning. But you can get them anywhere.

    The location was perfect, clean and comfy rooms and the self service breakfast was brilliant. Lots of food options. Also you could bring back your own food and prepare it which is unusual for a b&b and great facility to have.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel which was clean, friendly service, and reasonable value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of a climb back up to the hotel from the town centre, but not too expensive to take a taxi. Breakfast is a little disappointing if you like a full cooked breakfast, as only beans, scrambled egg and sausages are available.

    Staff are friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean. We were allowed access to our room before the 3pm check-in time which was great. Overall a nice relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.2
    Last checkin should have been at 10pm, we were unfortunately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite pricey and the hot breakfast could have been more substantial for the money paid.

    Last checkin should have been at 10pm, we were unfortunately caught in a horrific accident build up in Northamptonshire, which delayed us by nearly 4 hours. We telephoned the hotel and the gentleman was really kind and stayed up to wait for us as an exception as were were travelling with small children. We really appreciate his empathy of our situation as we would have had to have slept in the car otherwise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Short walk to centre of town, The host John very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing for myself could have been better

    Short walk to centre of town, The host John very pleasant and informative, nice layout for breakfast parking was good as was the wifi. The room was clean and the hotel was also easy to find. Although I didn't use also had guests washing machine and dryer also guest kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing.

    Everywhere was extremely clean. There was a large area at the front where you could relax and enjoy the view. Guests were provided with ice and glasses for their own drinks. There was a laundry room and small kitchen available to all guests - that's a first! The breakfast was good with cold and hot options. Cardell went out of his way to help us and make suggestions for dining options. A very pleasant experience overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and sea view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped and basic, but can't really argue for the price.

    In a great location for the shops and restaurants. While somewhat dated, the B&B has all the facilities you need, including a kitchen and laundry. The manager was also extremely welcoming. Self-service breakfast is a great idea, meaning you can be as quick or slow as you need. The sea view is lovely from the second floor, so it's well worth walking up those stairs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    Very well located gem of a stay. Really friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains in our room had seen better days and didn't pull properly. Other than that we had no issues

    Great reception. Bedroom was great. I was there with my Husband and 2 grown up children and we had plenty of space. Lovely and clean and plenty of towels. Beds very comfy. The guest kitchen was great and the breakfast really good and dining area spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of stairs. The property is at the top of a hill so after walking up from the beach I was a little short of breath as my room was on the too floor. Older couples should request rooms on the lower floors.

    Staff and location. Although at the top of a hill, it is far enough from the town to avoid the noise at night but close enough that you can walk everywhere. All the staff are friendly and will do anything to help. There is adequate parking, a kitchen with fridges and freezers for the guests use and pleasant areas with sea views to eat and drink. Also the wifi is accesible in all areas with a laptop available for guests to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very clean self service buffet breakfast. Facilities to cook own food or bring take away back. Also allowed to bring own alcohol. Facilities also for washing own clothes. Would highly recommend and will definitely use again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    John the owner was very welcoming and helpful on our arrival. The reception area looked a little tired but when we reached our room we were very pleasantly surprised. It was a lovely bright room with very clean en suite and pristine white towels. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in the room and large television with free view. Breakfast was excellent too, we were just expecting continental but there was so much choice including sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. All in all a really great experience and very central to the heart of Newquay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for price, welcome and catering to guests' needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could do with some comfortable armchairs in the conservatory area. That's not to say the seating is uncomfortable, but it's not somewhere I could sit and relax with a book for the whole evening.

    Excellent 2nd stay at this hotel for me. Breakfast continues to do them proud. Bar is now closed but has been replaced with a guests fridge, a freezer full of ice and plenty of glasses - even ice buckets for taking to your room. Guests kitchen and laundry facilities very much appreciated. The warm welcome you get here, whether first time visitor or returning is second to none.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from our top floor room was brilliant and the location is spot on, right in the middle of town. Our host was so friendly and showed us absolutely everything. The breakfast was excellent. The downstairs area and shared facilities are also a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    Clean and tidy. Good choice at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was through a maze of corridors to the very rear of the property and we could not get any heating through when the temperature dropped overnight. The radiators were all cold. The friends we travelled with had a room too hot and couldn’t cool it down.

    Good position in the town. Laundry facilities and kitchen good if needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    I liked everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything about the hotel. The staff greeted you by name and always asked to how you was and asked was everything ok. This is the second time I've stayed here and will stay again. The room was cleaned every day and the breakfast was always good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Super value for money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are no negatives to report

    Ok we arrived to be greeted by Cordell, who was absolutely charming,warm and welcoming. John who cooked for us was very obliging friendly and food was good, no great, I recommend this place to stay, we had an extra large room with sea view,I noticed in particular how vey clean it was,and will return at some point. The overall experience was just what you need - and we were sorry it had come to an end. If you have not visited the Glendeveor, I suggest you do for a pleasant welcoming by Cordell and lovely food by John and team, yea all good...totally recommended. Special thanks to Cordell who really made our holiday! Regards Carol

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    3.5
    The manager explained their set up works for them. I Hope it continues for them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expected a hotel experience not bed and breakfast Place was old fashion, souless especially the dining room and lounge larea.. the stair bannister was broken I caught my hand on it. Valie for money we expected more. One night was more than enough

    Room was clean and suitable with bath and shower Manager friendly and took time to explain how their service operates. Had clothes washing facilities if needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great property for a stay in Newquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryer in room, could ask for one from reception not a problem, but not convenient when dripping wet! Upon enquiry found out that quite a few hairdryers had been stolen, hence keeping at reception. Maybe make note in the compendium?

    The property and photos was as described in booking.com. The property even had guest kitchen area where you could store some food in a fridge, and do some microwave cooking, good to have this option, also guest washing machine and dryer for use for a fee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.7
    For young and carefree public, without expectation and need for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor standard in room, bathroom. Running water in wc was more like dripping water. Thin room walls, so you could overhear your room neghbours.

    Very friendly and service minded staff (i e John)! He really made upp for lack of modern standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    extremely friendly welcome, got lots of information from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather.....room a bit small, even for one person, but efficient, shower was really difficult to handle, between burns and colds, at last I managed somehow.

    extremely friendly welcome, got lots of information from John! Easy check-in, easy check-out, free parking on premises, comfy bed, good place for stay-over! Thanks!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Welcoming, clean and breakfast was just right - Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really 😄

    Thought booking a single room would mean very little space - pleasantly surprised at the size. Great en-suite. So clean probably the cleanest b&b I’ve stayed in. Meet and greet was fabulous made it more personal and more welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great place, go for it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit expensive, but worth it!

    Excellent place! They only provide breakfast in the morning, but there's a kitchen you are welcome to use. They also have bar "stuff" (such as ice buckets, ice, bottle openers) you can bring up to your room, or just use in the lounge area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed everything about our stay. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress in our room was a little uncomfortable for me as it had a dip in it and I am susceptible to a ‘bad back’ from time to time.

    I liked everything, the warm welcome, the cleanliness the relaxed atmosphere. Everything was very nicely done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    It is one of the best B&B in the Newquay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was hotel before with small restaurant and bar, would need some Redecoration, you can hear through the walls.

    It is one of the best B&B in the Newquay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    good clean basic hotel with helpful and friendly staff in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front entrance could be spruced up. Few pot plants would look good.

    Quirky old fashioned low budget hotel. Great owner and staff. Fabulous location for a great price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Amazing already booked for next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negative comments to write

    Perfect location,staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner makes you very welcome.very clean and comfortable, breakfast is buffet style which is more relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    8.3
    Good value b+b..very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As mentioned before..the stairs!..no lift!..

    Croissants were good..no lift up to my room at the top which was a bit of a struggle but overall good value for the price I paid!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable but would not go to the Glendeover again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was rather small and very near the shower room which was also very small. In fact it would have been better and cheaper going to a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn! However, the other facilities at the hotel were good ie lounge, dining room and guest kitchen.

    The choice at breakfast was very good. The croissants were fresh, the cooked items hot and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    7.9
    If there were an award for the most friendly, most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If there were an award for the most friendly, most professional and most helpful concierge the concierge of the Gledeveor Hotel has to earn it ;-)!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.5
    last minute booking it was ok but I could not recomendit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    scrambled egg was very dry and the coffee was awful. and the coffee sachets in the room were even worse had to buy a jar of nescafe

    croissants very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    6.3
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family room a bit of a walk along the corridor, room has ceiling a bit low so ended up really hot even though the weather was cool and rainy; had to open the window which right next to car park so got a bit noisy, would have prefer to have a more airy room for family. I booked 2 rooms, 1 for my friend's family and their room was too hot and small while my partner and I had the room upstair which only a few stairs away from the main entrance was really airy and cold at night.

    Really close to high street, rail station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in an ideal location for walking to all parts of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking spaces in the hotel car park are limited and can be very difficult to get in and out of when there are a lot of vehicles present.

    Our room was clean and comfortable and had a great sea view. The self service breakfasts were very good and set you up for the day. We were made to feel very welcome and it was the first hotel we have stayed in where we have been given a guided tour of the facilities on arrival!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely pleasant staff in a clean and tidy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. A little out dated but clean and tidy, breakfast was great and lots of choice. Only downside was the parking you wasn't guaranteed a space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.8
    Gledeveor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room's we're small

    Very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms VERY comfortable bed great location will be back but will get the large double next time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the mattress was made of memory foam-type material. Great if you like that sort of thing, but I unfortunately have a bad back and this didn't help it one bit :(

    Very friendly staff! Great position.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.1
    Satisfield
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wheel chair unfriendly outside due to steep slope and angle of foot path if you go right on the main road by foot and not car. Narrow passage in hotel to your rooms.

    Greeded by an sociable manager John giving you all the facts about the hotel on arrival. Nice and quite at night, same breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    8.3
    okay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom was too small.difficult to carry luggage up 2 flights of stairs.

    comfortable bed, staff very friendly and helpful, great location good facilities -kitchenette bar.tea and coffee in room.sightseeing trips.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent highly recommnded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the property was excellent close to all of the shops, bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful will all the facilities you would need available. Parking was available on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent property highly recommended will be back next year for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although there was a very large selection of breakfast options all of which were satisfactory, i feel a full cooked english breakfast would have been more suitable for our group for this stay. This is in no way a complaint, more a personal preference.

    The locality of the property was excellent for our visit, with the golf course less than 1 mile away and bars, clubs, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff were available at a moments notice and very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.1
    It was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire alarm going off in the middle of the night for no reason

    The man that's runs the place that lives in the up stirs flat was amazing at his job really friendly welcoming and great help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.5
    Another enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very easy walk down a hill to the town. The staff are really friendly which makes a difference to your holiday. Breakfast is good with plenty of choices. They advertise a hot choice and to be honest sausage,beans and scrambled egg is ample. John and Cordel were excellent hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.6
    Loved our first little family holiday here. We made some great memories!! The staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just because my youngest daughter has food allergies I think accommodation with a kitchen is better for us, so I can cook the meals she can have. But that's nothing against this property, Just what I realise will work better for us on future.

    John and staff are very welcoming and friendly. My children and I felt very safe here. The location is great. The kids loved the board games and pool as the weather wasn't great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    6.3
    It was adequate. Wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bacon for breakfast, only served sausages. Room was too hot. Shower cubicle was too small as I am a larger figured man. The bar was never open. Too many stairs as I use a stick to walk.

    The location and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, close to the town centre and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Inconsistent bar opening hours, returned to the hotel hoping for a drink but the bar was closed.

    Continental breakfast also had a small selection of warm food, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    A lovely ending to my first trip to Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe provide shampoo and shower gel

    Such friendly staff- evev printed our boarding passes My room was quiet at the side of the hotel Room spotless as was bathroom Breakfast was very good If Im back in Newquay I will book here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.1
    Ok ...ISH
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise coming from flat next door sounded like they where in the bathroom and not next door walls very thin u could hear them belching and screaming ..floor creeked badly..bed creeked everyone you moved

    Breakfast lovely staff great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Great stay in an easy going hotel right in town and by the beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Newquay was blazing hot outside during our stay which made for warm nights indoors, a simple electric fan or some simple AC could of done wonders.

    Hotel was a nice easy gpoing relaxing place and only a 30 second walk into town and 5mins near a beach. Staff were very friendly, providing us with extra teas and milk when asked (my wife loves her tea). Or 15 year old had his own key so he could come and go as he pleased, huge bonus for us. He also enjoyed the downstairs bar /games room which gave us more quiet time! :-) Breakfast buffet had a good selection which the kids couldnt get enough of.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    It was perfectly situated for what we did, Surfing, eating and one night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our family room was comfortable, but it can do with some TLC

    I liked the atmosphere of the hotel, it was efficient friendly and very welcoming. I was very impressed by the bar area, with its pool table and darts board. It was a nice addition that you could relax there before going to your room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and would happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is good but tight but this is the same everywhere in Newquay.

    The breakfast was excellent and the location is good, near the city centre. Staff were great and let us have a small birthday party in the bar area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    The gentleman that greeted us was so friendly and helpful as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman that greeted us was so friendly and helpful as soon as we walked through the door. He was very knowledgable about the local area and helped us on where to go during our stay. The breakfast was great, a large selection of pretty much every breakfast item I could think of. Rooms a good size, own en-suite. The overall place was slightly dated but very clean. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Even though we only had one night away, it was great at the Gleneveor, we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find the mattress on our double bed in room very comfortable, a bit springy, and so was my sons single mattress, but my older son's bed was completely different, it was great, it could have been a memory foam, making my husband wish he had that bed instead as it was so comfy!! Apart from that everything was great.

    I found the owner really approachable and helpful. I needed to borrow a hair drier and that was just fine, just asked at reception and that was that. Also each of us (me, my husband and 2 older boys) were each given a key and fob to our room making things alot easier especially as we only had 1 room between us, excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.1
    Not good
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very pokey. Like a cupboard and the one window opened out into a pokey enclosed empty space where the sky was not seen easily. There was no chair to sit on so the takeaway I had in the evening was eaten sitting on the bed and turning at right angles to see the tv. The shower the first morning was cold then the following morning I realised that the hot part of the controls was opposite to what it should have been. I would not go there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: