Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Globe Inn 4 stars

9 High Street, Chagford, TQ13 8AJ, United Kingdom

#5 of 9 hotels in Chagford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place stay in a beautiful village ,in the middle of the country side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    We loved the room , very nice and cosy ,from our room we had lovely view to the church and the beautiful hills.the food in the restaurant is fantastic, breakfast really good.Very friendly staff.perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stop on 2 moors way
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the two moors way. Very friendly and hospitable host. Really comfortable room. Good evening meal and breakfast at the time to suit our departure. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Great if you have to stay in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    longer breakfast times, better check out process - waited for 30mins for someone to check us out. value for money wasn't great. £65-70 would have been fair.

    The breakfast was good, Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Allow extra time for food and prepare for very steep stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to get to the room was very steep and narrow. It was a challenge to get up there with cases. It took over 1hr to get our cooked breakfast in the morning! Make sure you allow extra time for the slow service.

    The family room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Booked at the last minute & glad we did Chagford is a quaint village which the Globe inn is a warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put on the top floor which meant going up a tight staircase which maybe should of been mentioned when booking & although it did not affect us, I imagine it would be difficult for the elderly or if anyone with health issues. This is an observation for the owners to maybe put in the info on their website to save any awkwardness in the future.

    The bedroom was a great size & the bed was very comfortable also there were plenty of windows that can open to ventilate the room on an extremely hot day/evening the hospitality was welcoming to us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location and starting point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm 6ft 4 so beds never fit!

    Service and food was to a good standard. Area and location was perfect. Very clean property. We ate and drank there every night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.0
    Peaceful and pleasant stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft for me and that would tip my wish to stay there by choice for any future visits.

    The convenience of the location. The friendliness of staff. The room was pleasant The facilities in the room, although I expected a bath tub. I liked the water purification gadget in the shower head. The beds were too soft which gave me chronic back ache and I had to lay on the floor for 2 hours to rebalance my body.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel and very reasonably priced for the area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel does not have its own parking, so you need to park on the road outside, not a big issue as there are plenty of spaces

    Hotel was very comfortable, great location, really quiet and beautiful setting. room was well equipped and spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The staff were exceptional and went the extra mile for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park off site although very close and very cheap

    The staff were exceptional and went the extra mile for us.I was travelling with my parents who are 87 years old and they were made to feel very safe and special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful interiors and comfy beds with lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy downstairs when people leave late at night in the pub as we couldnt get to sleep till gone midnight.

    Beautiful interiors and comfy beds with lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    As always - a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was as expected. Could not fault anything

    Great country accommodation. Friendly owners and a beautiful location. Food and drink very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Intended as a break from 3 young children. Worse night's sleep than usual and £100 lighter :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being woken by church bells every hour throughout the night (who needs to know its 4AM ffs?) Dripping noise from toilet. No bath (Low pressure electric shower). Oily mushrooms for breakfast No enquiry from staff about the quality of our stay.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good, full English was available as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the showers was pretty lousy, but we made it work. Rooms vary in size and ours didn't have a desk, so we used our computers on the coffee table and hunched over.

    Breakfast was very good, full English was available as well as cereal, fruit and more. They have a nice pub and decent restaurant and are right in the middle of the small town. A Spar was very close by, as was the local church. Many good pubs and restaurants are in town. A good location for seeing the moors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    A hidden gem
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a complaint but the hot water tap was very hot and could prove difficult for young children.

    The Globe was well maintained, well staffed and good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, food and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold, but to be expected in an old building in Dartmoor!

    Lovely staff, food and atmosphere. Room was immaculate and attractive. Great location. Good beer. Food service prompt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    A place where you'll find some peace and quiet, a warm welcome and a damn good beef pie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely, clean and spacious room in a great location. Food from the restaurant was top notch (especially the pie, one of the best I've ever had) and the staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Full English breakfasts were excellent as were the 2 evening...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only reason I dropped a point from my review was because the pub did not have its own car park. Having said that, there was some on-street parking within a 5 minute walk and a pay and display car park one minute away.

    Full English breakfasts were excellent as were the 2 evening meals I had. My room was spacious and spotless. The staff were friendly and attentive and always efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent for a relaxing get away from it all break. We love walking and so it is an ideal base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been to The Globe Inn many times before, the owners are so welcoming and can’t do enough to make us feel welcome. Superb food, great rooms and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, homely pub with a great christmas feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could be more powerful. A little weak flow

    Very friendly staff, homely pub with a great christmas feel. Open fire in bar where we ate. Good food, reasonably priced

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    A mixture of great staff , a delicious evening meal ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My breakfast was very poor quality Thin sliced brown bread from a packet with poached eggs that looked and tasted poor.

    The staff were quirky and very helpful My evening meal was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a little more choice at breakfast, some natural yoghurt and honey rather than flavoured yoghurts, poached fruits rather than just dry fruits, gluten free options would be nice too. The cooked breakfast was lovely though.

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, but it’s the same issue for all accommodation in Chagford so all part of staying in small town

    Good location, friendly staff, evening meal was great value and home cooked !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Really nice apart from the smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was above the entrance to the bar so suffered from the chatter of smokers below and to a degree the smell of fag smoke

    Typical inn accommodation - warm and comfortable. Food was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like if you like the feeling of being back in time

    Its a lovely old inn and It's in a beautiful location and got wonderful walks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    We could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to the top for elderly people,l think that should be mentioned when booking.Having said that they did change the room for us.

    The food was excellent and hot..t

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    relaxing in a working week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely pub like hotel in beautiful location. large room. comfy bed. Meal in restaurant downstairs really great and friendly. Room overlooked churchyard. Views of hills beyond village. Bucolic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    Nice hotel, beautiful location, horrendous, unreasonable, arrogant staff. Not child friendly at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not prepared for the three of us (my wife and three year old son). They had been informed by your site that only my wife and I were staying which they implied was problematic. I provided a bed for him so we asked for very little from them. I appreciate that this was your error and not theirs. However, we were made to feel that we were an inconvenience at best and second class citizens at worst. No introduction to the room, facilities or enquiring if we required food. Just walked to our room and handed the keys. And reminded that we really should of told them that we had our son with us. For the third time I told them I had. My wife refused to eat there due to the appalling attitude of this women so we went next door. At breakfast the next morning the owner made us feel even more unwelcome. I had to remind her 4 times that I ordered coffee! But it was at checkout where we felt the worst. In front of my son the lady offered me "advice" that in future I should be more honest and say that my son is staying with us. I had withheld this to get a cheaper stay? I showed her the confirmation email from yourselves which contained 3 peolple including my son on the booking!!!!! This didn't deter her arrogant rany that we had been dishonest. I can only think that she has a problem with toddlers. No apology when I showed her the email demonstrating that the error was nothing to do with us. No class whatsoever. I have stayed in 100s of hotels with business and family and never been made to feel dishonest and inferior.

    The staff at The Three Crowns next door were the exact opposite of this hotel. Friendly and fun towards my three year old son. Great food too. I would recommend staying there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Centrally situated in beautiful Chagford within walking distance of lots of places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although there was a large window in the room it still felt a little dark. The dining room areas were also on the dark side for us.

    The location was great -right in the centre of Chagford. We had a wonderful view of the church from our bedroom. We received a very jolly welcome when we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a nice setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower needed a much faster flow rate to be effective.

    I had to leave for work before breakfast was served but the staff left a tray of fruit, milk and cereal, a muffin, some juice and some mints in my room the the night before. A very nice touch I thought.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Homely and friendly estabishment in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water flow was low, however this wouldn't put us off staying at The Globe again. Parking is limited as with most small villages. This is to be expected and a car park in the village would destroy its character. Free parking was available on the public road about 5-10 minutes walk away and there is a drop off point outside The Globe.

    Comfortable, spacious room with a view over the church yard. A great bar with genuine local patronage staffed by friendly people. We didn't dine in the restaraunt but it seemed to be well attended by locals, if the locals eat there its a good sign. Church bell ringing on the hour!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    fabulous place to stay :) fantastic staff :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I had an early morning meeting and would miss breakfast the staff made up a breakfast tray for me which was really nice and really kind of them. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    More than a B and B!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really well furnished and there was lots of nice little touches! The owners have gone the extra mile

    The room was beautiful and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Superb Dartmoor Pub With Rooms and Excellent Home Cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the decor in the shower room and some of the paintings throughout the inn! Sorry if l have offended anyone!

    Otter Bitter, superb pies, excellent range of fresh al dente vegetables, easy can-do helpfulness of staff and - above all - superb roast beef Sunday lunch, ample portion and very fair price. We have stayed some years at The Globe and have every wish to stay again and again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Quaint, and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs to the room for getting the bags up, but it is an old property.

    Loved the place, quaint and very nicely presented. We had the front room upstairs overlooking the church which really was delightful. It was incredibly hot (32c) during our stay and we could have benefited from air con, but other than that, the stay was very enjoyable, Had a meal in the hotel, food delicious, very helpful and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend. Only visited as my mum lived in Chagford in the 1950's and thought it would be nice to see what it was like as Ive never visited and she died in 2012. I don't think its probably changed much, which is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Lovely spacious well equipped and spotlessly clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious well equipped and spotlessly clean room. Welcoming, polite and friendly staff. Good evening meal and lovely breakfast with good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old,tired brown sofa in my bedroom.

    Stayed with two friends. We all liked the place. Staff very charming and friendly. We ate at The Globe in the evening. Superb!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Our second stay and it didn't disappoint!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes, parking is all of 2 minutes away in a local car park. But this does not detract from the experience in our view. Parking rates very low.

    The location and building are a lovely introduction to historic Dartmoor. The décor is quirky which adds to the charm. The staff are both friendly and attentive and both rooms we have stayed in were spacious. Can recommend Azalea room for a view across to the church and surrounding countryside - unless you find graveyards disturbing. The dining menu is varied, with large portion sizes. Can recommend the duck, faggots and roast dinner. Beers and wines good quality. A real treat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    The room was quite and comfortable, the breakfast good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little cramped. If like me you are over 6ft - mind your head in the shower. A mirror next to a power socket would be desirable. Finally it would be hel;pful to indiate which rooms are suitable for pets and which are not.

    The room was quite and comfortable, the breakfast good and the restaraunt food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    A relaxing and welcoming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that could have been better was the lack of shower as there was only a hand-held shower in the bath but no curtain. I am happy with a bath but my partner prefers a shower. However we could see that the bathroom may not be high enough for a stand up shower.

    Staff were extremely friendly and keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast and dinners we had were excellent and our room was huge with dual aspect so lovely views of the countryside and the church.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location, hospitality and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about as we had a fantastic 2 night stay.

    Hotel location was perfect with local parking nearby. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Good evening meals and a hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been done to make the stay better.

    Love that the owners have managed to create such a comfortable environment in this quaint old building. Helpful, friendly staff. Great location in the heart of Chagford.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Highly Recommended Locals Inn in beautiful Chagford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky Toffee pudding not up to scratch. Shower not powerful. Slight traffic noise- windows could do with changing to Double or triple glazing.

    Friendly locals pub. Lovely warm fires after hiking round Fernworthy Reservoir. Food was wholesome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.7
    We expected more for the price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no decent coffee for breakfast. Only one available room if you go with your dog, which is a standard room with no views.

    Good wireless. Good food. Excellent location for trekking. Good room size.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    cosy place to stay and explore dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    somewhat a little need for up dating, and my food was very burnt one night which was disappointing , , this was about all i could complain about.

    the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the bed was big and comfortable , and there was plenty of room in the wild rose room, it was also very warm . theres a lovely cosy log fire in the bar we would return, a great selection of food for breakfast also.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    A good traditional coaching inn in Chagford, great for Dartmoor and Castle Drogo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress in the family room double bed could be improved.

    Classic traditional coaching inn in the heart of the great Dartmoor town of Chagford. A good family room at the top of the building. A very warm welcome from the staff and locals. Pub with warm open fire and an ejoyable and good Open Mike evening on one of the nights we were there. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Thought it would.pub with rooms but much more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached egg yolks were hard.

    Bedroom had some quirky features and excellent view over Church. Very modern shower. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Really delicious steak & ale pie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really delicious steak & ale pie

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Found it very lovely there .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't know

    Staff were very helpful & nice .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Great place , would go back again no hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent , plenty of options

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    lovely overnight stay in a good hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    steep narrow staircase to access rooms

    wonderful comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Quaint Devon village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint Devon village. Very friendly people, countryside was very scenic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff really homily
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff really homily

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stop over in Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Traditional English Inn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Mike and Jo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and the food was exceptional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    From the welcome to the breakfast all was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food

    From the welcome to the breakfast all was excellent. Will be coming back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Delightful break far from the maddening crowd
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The headache both mornings after too many pints of otter the night previous

    Lovely people, lovely village

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location especially as we had a wedding in the church over the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't be in a better part of the town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Very friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owners

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good position for Dartmoor national park and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position for Dartmoor national park and parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    The pub serves very good food and the staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pub serves very good food and the staff is very friendly. There is a large car park close to the hotel for only 3 pounds a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, wonderful food and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom window didn’t open

    Friendly staff, wonderful food and great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly welcome in great village pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor somewhat dated! One hour slot for breakfast

    Large room. Great location. Dog friendly - though I had left mine behind on this occasion

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great atmosphere;really friendly,helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our room,Wild Rose and Jennifer and Nick were really great people.Great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Friendly comfortable pub in charming village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Fabulous and friendly hosts. Interesting and stylish rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly personnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly personnel! Good food! Really pleasant stay...should have booked longer! Good location for trips/ hikes in Dartmoor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Steak and ale pie was homemade and delicious. 3 course breakfast was great. Room was roomy and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay, great location and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice friendly staff, the room is spotless and comfortable. Good choice of real ale in the bar and food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great small place to stay in Dartmoor
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast selection

    Great location in chagford, fully stocked bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tepid small shower Weak coffee

    Location in village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    We experienced loud music right under our room until 11pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We experienced loud music right under our room until 11pm. It didn't make for a peaceful evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Good break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park

    Excellent food Excellent service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, nice friendly pub with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were a bit thin and although wet in the morning were not changed until we asked.

    Very pleasant atmosphere and staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Perfect find
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious bedroom and excellent food, friendly accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: