Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grand at Grasmere 3 stars

Red Bank Road, Grasmere, LA22 9PU, United Kingdom

#9 of 22 hotels in Grasmere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location! Our room in the separate annex was better than we could have imagined! Staff where very helpful with all of our requests and the food served in the hotel was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and relaxing one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our lake view room was a bit on the small side, although the manager did respond well to this complaint

    Friendly staff, great location, nice lounge and restaurant area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a great time. Lovely hotel, nice, relaxed feel about it. Good location. The breakfasts were great and the staff were exceptional (especially Stefan) and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    .The staff were excellent, and most helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in an attic bedroom which had a sloping roof both in the bedroom and bathroom, and when having a shower I repeatedly banged my head on the sloping roof. The same applied in the bedroom both where the bed was situated, and the opposite wall where the tea making facilities were situated, and I am only five feet nine inches tall. My wife and I could have done without the bumped heads!!! I Ithink that the layout of the room should have been pointed out to us when booking the room. For the price paid we thought that the room was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in.

    .The staff were excellent, and most helpful. The food was exceptionally good though a little expensive as were the drinks, but overall a wonderfully situated location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Good but not Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 38 small and dark, it felt like an attic room crammed into the eaves. Shower cubicle was tiny and shoved in a small corner. Stairs to room were very steep. Had to walk through dining area to get to room. Price paid for this room was too high and not good value for money.

    All areas beautifully refurbished, modern and clean. Very good location. Staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great Hotel in a fantastic location. The room was lovely, great food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel in a fantastic location overlooking fields and a 2 min walk to the centre of Grasmere. The room was lovely with stunning views and the bed was so comfortable. The food was escellent could not fault it and the staff were lovely. The Manager was very welcoming and very information. Greay place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed , potential is there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniness Bathroom in room Lack of management present

    Hotel is beautiful just lacks attention to detail. No personal touch’s wasn’t greeted at reception. Downstairs the hotel is lovely however was disappointed by room particularly the bathrooms. Very dirty grout lots cobwebs. Old shower fittings left in place and new shower lukewarm and beyond useless. Our bedroom was generally clean apart from big cobwebs everywhere. Given price of hotel I felt it lacked attention to detail Restraunt food was lovely but service lacked the detail to match the prices. Wine spilt on table by Walter and left. Waiter kept checking his watch , it was only 8.45 when he wanted us to live to reception chairs Location is fantastic and the hotel has the potential but just lacks a strong manager checking standard are met. Felt it was currently very overpriced

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful country howl in Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TheHotel was beautifully fitted out, rooms very big and comfortable with lovely views, the staff where all very helpful And attended to you every need. Restaurant lovely and great food, I would recommend this hotel to anyone .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Could be a great homelette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service dining option. Air conditioning not working. Lake view room a long distance from the lake yet you pay extra for it.

    Great bed and shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked it all.

    The location was truly outstanding. The hotel gardens are beautifully landscaped with tasteful seating areas to enjoy the spectacular view of the lake and surrounding hills. The food was excellent. Every meal proved to be a delight of quality and flavour . And the staff... well they are outstanding. Friendly, full of energy, and prompt with their level of care and attentiveness. I think you might guess, we really enjoyed our stay and we will be returning in the very near future to enjoy even more of the excellent hospitality which we received. Thank you to all in Grand Hotel, Grasmere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    A special birthday weekend enhanced by choosing this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like (except the weather the weekend we were there which is something no one could anything about!)

    Everything about the hotel was special, from its location, to the staff, room and service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding stay that exceeded all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Where to start? The Grand is a beautiful hotel set in an excellent position in Grasmere. The staff are amazing, they are friendly, courteous and polite and nothing is too much trouble. The interior is clean, modern and comfortable as are the bedrooms. We had a Lake view room with its own sitting area and Nespresso machine which was a lovely addition. We ate at the hotel restaurant every night and the food is delicious and similar prices to if we had eaten out, though lots of the restaurants and cafes closed at 5pm in Grasmere anyway. Can’t recommend the hotel enough and would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    it was the ideal venue and brought back happy memories for an old lady on possibly her last holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my step mother is in reasonable health but frail; although we booked a room with a walk in shower we had to ask for a seat for her to use and the were no handrails or bars for support - i am used to these in hotels of lesser quaity, and our bath/shower had one! only for this reason did we mark faciities below top marks - in all other respects absolutely fine. And it was galling to find the hotel's own mid week rate was far cheaper than i had booked via Booking.com.

    my wife and i took my 91-yr-old step mother; she used to have a holiday home nearby and remembered the hotel before it was bought and refashioned. Rooms, views, food and service all excellent - a good young crew of willing and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely long weekend at Lake Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed strange to us that there was never anyone at reception. Although when we arrived there was , this was through a weekend. However we could have asked the restaurant staff as they always seemed to be around. There was no information on the area and I did mention this when checking out, and the woman I was checking out with said they had lots under the counter at reception, but there was never anyone there. Feel they could have this in a Hall area if not at reception. We had never been to the area and wanted information on walks etc. She did say the hotel was cashless and paperless with regard to information.

    The hotel is in the most beautiful location looking over Lake Grasmere. Our rooms looked directly at the lake . There is a garden to sit in and the hotel has been renovated downstairs in the living and restaurant areas. Good breakfasts and you can order any coffee you like , staff very attentive in restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall stay was a pleasant experience, the staff were very helpful and efficient (Professional)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 was a little cramped with a faulty coffee machine, very wobbly bathroom tap and toilet holder came off the wall. Not good value for money

    Service with a smile, staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous, relaxing break celebrating our anniversary, great food and good wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things that should have been in our room and was missing, had to ask next day, not ideal. Also, marked down slightly on cleanliness because glass partition in shower could do with proper clean, particularly nearer to the floor it’s as though they only see what is at eye level. I also rinsed the shower out as still had previous guests hair. Sounds bad but I see things others don’t because of my job role which makes me very particular. Did I complain no, I dealt with it, my choice. The room overall and the rest of the bathroom were clean and to a high standard.

    Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast freshly cooked. Restaurant overall I would recommend. Had dinner on our first night and was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly, the lounge and dinning area...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and uncomfortably warm, there were a few cob webs in the room too.

    The staff were very friendly, the lounge and dinning area were decorated to a high standard, though the dining area was a little hot, not sure how good the air conditioning was.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Decent B&B, great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being renovated the hotel lacks any character - bland, anonymous decor. It's, of course, a personal opinion and I'm sure some people like it.

    Location, views, food, the staff was very friendly and helpful. A big plus - very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The staff were amazing very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we had a lovely room the bar and restaurant was very good. Breakfast was very good and the evening meals well presented.

    The staff were amazing very friendly. Pictures on booking site very accurate. Will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel in a wonderful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great hotel in a wonderful town. Grasmere is charming and an ideal spot to use as a base while visiting the Lake District. The hotel has a lovely garden with wonderful views. It is quiet and peaceful. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location on edge of Grasmere,with mountain views from room and bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little pricey for the size of the room Having to walk through dining area each time

    Beautiful location on edge of Grasmere,mountain views from room and bathroom! Delicious breakfasts,nice bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The ideal place to stay in the heart of Grasmere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the grounds was amazing; very central location - right in the heart of Grasmere; very modern bar and lounge area; very friendly and amenable staff; very comfy bed; very nice to have a coffee machine in our room too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight criticism would be the staff in the restaurant. Could have been a little more professional but only minor thing and we would most definitely recommend and return.

    Great location on edge of village. Peaceful with gorgeous views of the mountains and lake. Great restaurant. Spacious comfortable room. Comfy bed. Big bathroom. Slippers and robes and quality bathroom toiletries. Loved the terrace and the unusually comfy chairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Altogether a very enjoyable overnight stay.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a short stay - not enough time to enjoy the facilities

    bed very comfy; excellent breakfast, especially the birchermuesli. nice atmosphere ;lovely gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    We had a really nice stay, great food, service and a lovely comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned - which for a two night stay wasn't too bad, but it would have been nice to have tea/milk replenished etc.

    Friendly staff, really great food, ideal location. Really liked the idea of the boot room, felt safe to leave our boots in there, with easy access outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room number 1 and the noise was awful! Doors slamming, people shouting and in hindsight we should have asked to be moved...we could not wait to have a good sleep on arriving home. We were at a wedding and on arriving back at the hotel the key card didn’t work and spent 3 quarters of an hour trying to find somebody to let us in, then no staff to ask for water.

    Food was delicious. Extremely clean. Staff lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived. We arrived very early but were told our room was ready for us in the lodge. The room was lovely and modern with everything you needed, coffee machine, water, robes, slippers,iron, even mouthwash! The hotel itself is of a similar high standard in a perfect location 2 minutes from Grasmere centre. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious with lovely service. We even managed to sit and have a drink in the beautiful gardens. All in all a fabulous weekend and we shall definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unmanned reception on arribval was a surprise but nothing a small sign couldnt make right!

    Bedroom was everything you would wish for and the view out of the window to the lake was breath taking. The staff are very good too!! we only had breakfast but that was to a high standard. It was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was the only thing that I thought was below expectations.

    The staff were excellent, the bathroom was below the standards of everything else. The bed was great - huge! The view from the room was lovely. The restaurant in the hotel was good a little bit pricey but worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff were excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst our room had been refurbished to a high standard , the quality of the bathroom was VERY poor . An ancient shower , yellowed woodwork , black mould in the grout of the tiles and cheap lino on the floor. The toilet brush was disgusting and needed replacing . The bathroom really let the room down and I feel that the price for the room was expensive with such poor facilities.

    The staff were excellent . Highly trained, very helpful and friendly , they are a credit to the hotel . The food is also excellent .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lunch and dinner menus are set for the season and limited. The Bar was limited there was no draft ale only draft larger was Spanish. all other drinks where very obscure would do better to use local distributes.

    the staff made the holiday their hospitality was second to none. The hotel was extremely clean and tidy The location first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not as clean as it could have been and the shower did not work properly. It stated on the website that it had Molton Brown toiletries. This amounted to hand wash, shampoo and body wash. No conditioner or body lotion and for £200 per night this should have been standard. Very overpriced for what it was.

    Situation and views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit unusual not to have a door between the bedroom and bathroom.

    Everything else. Brilliant staff too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location stunning. Staff lovely .... hotel very clean .... food delish..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach to the room. Very small and steep steps.

    Beautiful ambiience. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing break, beautiful hotel and location surround by friendly people .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    Lovely staff , modern hotel, fabulous bed and bedding

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Restaurant first class very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant first class very friendly staff. Location of hotel to Grasmere village ideal. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel to relax and in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! This property was modern and clean and had the most comfortable bed ever. A bit pricey but definitely worth it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Booked on basis of booking.com and more than matched expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful location looking over hills yet in the centre of Grasmere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Booked a garden view and got a car park view . Complained and ended up with the most expensive room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PayPal make things simple

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    BEDS WERE VERY LARGE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    MORE BREAKFAST CHOICE

    BEDS WERE VERY LARGE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small size

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    room and location is ok but the food was awaful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no ascian food and other foods were below standards.

    the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Luxury on tap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was the very best

    Wonderful hotel. Staff excellent. Nothing is too much. Would go back tomorrow. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    World class location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    World class location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    excellent from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A more varied menu.

    the whole experience was excellent. The room was great, the view fantastic and the bed comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service from the moment we arrived until we left
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the room instead of coffee machine.

    Staff couldn't do enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The boot room was good, i liked the dining room for views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The boot room was good, i liked the dining room for views and set up. The attic room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very opinionated Felt judged for my age staying here

    Great location Beautiful views Middle of everything in the lakes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located and very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located and very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent peaceful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Excellent peaceful setting.Staff was really friendly and helpful.Food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Yes I will visit there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling in our room kept banging head [ room 52 ]

    Fresh cooked breakfast not from hot server under heaters

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    DINING NOT TO THE SAME HIGH STANDARD AS HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    FOOD

    LOCATION

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the views was spectacular

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The broken kettle meant we couldn't have coffee :(

    Everything :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    perfect
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we couldnt fault anything . The service from the moment we arrivied until we left was amazing .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for a short texting break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That over all experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    24 hours of wonderful relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good including the weather!

    Fantastic attitude of all the staff. Brilliant location. Very relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Great place to celebrate a special occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, bedroom with panoramic view of the lake and fabulous dining area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Very clean, + helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, + helpfull staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice to see how Gold Rill had been changed and we still like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to see how Gold Rill had been changed and we still like it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff superb and a brilliant location, ideal for several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in the annex this was not made clear during the booking process. Resulted in 50 meter walk in heavy rain to breakfast on our first morning.

    Staff superb and a brilliant location, ideal for several wonderful walks. Decor a little dated but a refurbishment is on the way.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice hotel with good food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room at the Gold Rill Hotel was booked in January. In February the hotel changed its name to the Grand yet it took 5 months for the hotel to let me know via an e:mail, the content of which started 'Dear (Family Name)' with the name spelt incorrectly and omitting a Mr or 1st name. This e:mail was sent only 2 days before my arrival at the hotel, after I'd left home to start a walking holiday. Consequently upon my arrival in Grasmere after a long day of walking and searching the length of Red Bank Road I was unable to find the Gold Rill. Eventually a phone call to the hotel revealed the hotel secret change of name. Not impressed.

    Nice hotel with good food and service. Clean comfortable room. Fast turn around on some laundry.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    The size, layout and facilities of the double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The size of the single room (Rm 5). It was small and all the more cramped due to its containing a double rather than a single bed. No chair and no space to use the suitcase stand easily.

    The size, layout and facilities of the double room. (Rm 7) Very comfortable and pleasant. Spacious and spotlessly clean. Lovely view. Meals superb.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.5
    Proximity to the lakes and Grassmere beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to find when you have reached the village. It is a bit like a high quality old peoples' home! but then that reflects the general age of guests at the time we visited.

    Proximity to the lakes and Grassmere beautiful. Staff very helpful and pleasant

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.9
    The friendliness and helpfulness of staff to provide water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficulty in falling asleep at night, due to banging doors.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of staff to provide water for tea, when electricity in room was disconnected by electrician working in adjacent room.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    10
    A small but very well kept hotel to spend time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small but very well kept hotel to spend time having a meal, a drink or reading a book with large glass windows everywhere looking into the gardens, the fields with sheep or the small lake from the dining room wall size windows.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.8
    Fabulous views from my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast poor. Layout poor and room sub standard, and bath so short you need to be under 5 foot - this should be stated on the booking page. But, the new owners and refurbishment can remedy all this. The location is great so there is potential but right now it is dated, poorly laid out and drifting.

    Fabulous views from my room

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    6.7
    The setting and views from the hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from ill-fitting floorboards in and around the bedrooms; bedroom walls not sufficiently soundproofed; no bar meals offered; no draught beer; restricted choice of breakfast menu

    The setting and views from the hotel; the quality of the food

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    Tranquil and delightful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After several stays we were slightly disappointed at the quality of the evening meal. Not quite up to previous standard we thought. It is rather expensive..Has there been a change of management (the hotel name has changed to 'The Grand') and are there consequences ?

    Tranquil and delightful stay. Staff excellent as always.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    Overall very pleasant and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some rooms are nicer than others (inevitably). Mine was over the kitchen and was a bit noisy from very early in the morning and not a particularly pleasant outlook. Although it had many nice features I wouldn't choose this room again. There was free wifi but I couldn't access it in the bedroom

    Overall very pleasant and lovely location. Very nice staff.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75