Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Golden Pheasant Hotel 4 stars

91 High Street, Burford, OX18 4QA, United Kingdom

#11 of 17 hotels in Burford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1116 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Spacious rooms, staff were very helpful and extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggle to get taxis in and around the area

    Spacious rooms, staff were very helpful and extremely accommodating when we needed an early check in as we were attending a wedding in the local area! Food is amazing!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff very accommodating, breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms at the front of the hotel have no double glazing (age of building I wouldn't expect them too) which means that every bit of road noise from the constantly busy main road below can be heard - this goes on all night (until gone 4am at least). We therefore asked to be moved to the rear of the property for our second night which was much quieter, with a cosier room and we both had a good nights sleep.

    Staff very accommodating, breakfast good .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    I would definitely dine here again but not re visit for an over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, along with the double bed which was more of a 3/4 bed. The shower room had all you needed however small. The room was dusty, dodgy TV ariel and the noise from the road and bar below our room was almost too much. No double glazing so you could hear everything from outside. The room was over priced and insufficient.

    The restaurant and food was wonderful. Lovely comfy, cosy dining area and the food was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel parking is now controlled by Just Park at £15 per night. Fortunately there is lots of free on street parking.

    The reviews I read after booking made wonder if I had made a big mistake. No, this is a good place to stay in the centre of Burford. The restaurant food was excellent and the staff very pleasant. The room was clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    2.5
    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ABSOLUTE EVERYTHING. MOST DISGUSTING DIRTY PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED IN. COULDNT GET MYSELF TO GO AND HAVE BREAKFAST THAT IVE PAID FOR. THE RECEPTIONIST WAS RUDE. THE PLACE WAS DIRTY. THE BEDDING WAS DISGUSTING. NO PLUG IN BATHROOM FOR BATH. NO ANTI SLIP RUBBER IN BATH FOR SHOWER. IT WAS FILTHY FROM THE MOMENT WE OPENED THE FRONT DOOR. THERE WAS A TERRIBLE SMELL INSIDE. I WILL DEFENITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. COULDNT WAIT TO GET OUT THERE!!!!

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, NOTHING, NOTHING. IT WAS DISGUSTING!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were in Lark room at the end of the corridor upstairs through the pub, which was also the area the laundry and housekeeping facilities were, so there was a fair amount of noise at times. However, overall the staff and everything else was of a good standard, the room was a good size and comfortable.

    Room was nice and big and modern.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    The Golden Pheasant Sept 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom furniture and landing carpets were a bit “tired”. Although we reported our broken tv several times,it was never fixed. Neither was the light. WiFi also practically non existent.

    The staff were excellent and the location was perfect. The evening meal was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    Give it a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't aknowledged when we arrived at checkin receptionist was on phone but still could of smiled or spoke. Same when we went down to breakfast.staff only spoke when spoken to. Going to breakfast was awful staff rude not asked if we wanted toast or more tea.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Great pub stay in lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the Teal room with a beautiful bath tub. Located behind the pub with a little patio outside. Bed was amazing. Very good full English breakfast, but you could also choose between some other alternative cooked breakfasts, even vegetarian ones.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    Not a good experience and wouldn’t return at any cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. Had to pull out bedside table —- disgusting what was behind it. Staff all over the place. Had a private bathroom only issue was I had to leave the room to use it. Room doesn’t have en suite facilities. No remote in the room for television but no matter didn’t work in any case.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Reception smelt unclean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception smelt unclean. The owner wasn't friendly. He was out of breath as he said they had a staff shortage. The bedroom hadn't been upgraded for year's. It was dimly lit. The fan above our bedroom for the kitchen was so so noisy. It only stopped when the kitchen stopped cooking. The lino was ill fitting in the bathroom. All rucked up. Material curtain's in there too. There was only one dirty cup in the room so we had to go down and get 2 new ones. The carpets on our journey to the the room looked old and grubby. There was an unfresh Smell about the place. We knew immediately that we wouldn't be having our anniversary meal in the restaurant. There were too many clues already. To be fair the bed was clean and comfortable and the room quiet once the fan had subsided. Breakfast was very disappointing. We both sent for the veggie option. The only thing on the plate I ate was the poached egg and toast. The tomatoes were rock hard, mushroom chewy, cheap version of baked beans and so was the orange juice. The veggie sausages tasted of burnt fat. The floor in the restaurant was sticky so it hadn't been washed for some time. Such a terrible Shame as it has the potential to be excellent as it's a lovely building in a perfect location. The

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Would not recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cell or WiFi signal. Not sufficient parking. We had to park a few blocks away. Very inconvenient. Property is very shabby. Food was not very good. Front desk was unattended most of the time. We left the key on desk as we didn’t see anybody to check out.

    Location. Room was spacious. Staff was very nice, although short staffed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    Over all it was OK and enjoyed the stay in the beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking at the hotel had to park public car park a couple of streets away. old mattress on the bed (lumpy), staff civil but not very friendly, cheep wine sold at a deer price, frozen fish in the fish and chips

    The beer was good, location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Avoid the bath!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big room with comfortable four poster bed....but only flimsy curtains on window directly over bed and beautiful big deep bath (only hand shower) that was virtually impossible for us in our 70s to get in and out of.

    Location. Amazing breakfast. Car parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    The staff were friendly but location of room meant noise levels were high so we had a poor night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel with busy traffic which was noisy. But the main problem was a live band playing in hotel across the road until 11.50pm. Then revellers singing and laughing for another couple of hours. Therefore we hardly slept.

    The food was good and service in restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the kitchen , so quite noisey at the end of the day. Nothing else. More parking would be good.

    Very nice hotel. Very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant every evening, food was excellent. All staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good every morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable despite one or two disappointing aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet not working on arrival. Discussed three times with staff and were Tod 'plumber was on his way' but he never turned up. Furniture in room could benefit from an upgrade.

    Great location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    Old and past it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Avocet. Toilet didn't flush and when told reception they replied we know we have a plumber coming (had to lift off cistern top to flush). Had to ask for additional toilet paper. No water pressure in bathroom (2 sinks 1 plug). In shower if water went on woodwork all kinds of black gunk ended up in bath with you. 4 poster bed was appalling, you rolled to middle and emergency light for stairs was like sleeping with the light on. Booked table for 7.30pm when checked in but when we ordered, they had no steak or fish.

    Location and beef stroganoff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they seemed to be a little understaffed,

    friendliness of the staff. breakfasts were excellent also dinner. loved the traditional feeling of an old hotel, and they have kept the character of a hotel built in the l870s.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Character features, friendly staff, great breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced onto the high street which was extremely noisy!! A little over priced.

    Character features, friendly staff, great breakfast, location - literally on Burford’s doorstep!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Housekeeping could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed four days and during that time, the bathroom was not cleaned apart from a splash of blue liquid into the toilet. Coffee cups were not replaced if used. Bed was never made nor the floor vacuumed

    Location is great and the pub is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Beware front rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shown to front bedroom, no sleep due to noisy road and window stuck open, mentioned it in morning and were moved to back, rest of stay perfect.

    the staff were so helpful and the pub comfortable. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay in character hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was quite small so arrive early, although on street parking seemed ok .

    Location in centre, with car parking . Food was good and staff very pleasant and welcoming .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Expensive for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know the summer is short in Europe but it does not cost too much to invest in a small fan that costs less than £ 30. It is impossible to have a good experience if you die of heat. The room I stayed faced the street and had a lot of noise to sleep.

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Very nice breakfast, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up two mornings in a row first morning with van collecting empty beer kegs. The second morning a little more annoying member of staff locked out of a garden shed hammering a padlock off at 7.30am at least wait until 8 -8.30am for you paying guests.

    Very nice breakfast, staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    We had the room at the top was supposed to be a four poster...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bottle of sparkling water but not everyone likes sparkling and as it was hot two bottles would have been nice.

    We had the room at the top was supposed to be a four poster bed but two of the posts were half size, although very comfortable and a lovely room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Feel terrible making negative comments as the staff are lovely and location great. main
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was excellent in size, but felt shabby, and every where didn't feel clean.(But I'm sure it was)It could really do with an up lift. The toilet bin looked like it was from the 70's (yellow in discolour).the room furniture was old and tatty nothing that a shabby chic uplift couldn't have put right, which is such a shame. The mattress was terrible. It was extremely hot and there was no air conditioning, which is fine but fans really should be offered as an alternative .

    The location is great, and the hotel staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was great &The building is lovely .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a good central location with restaurants and shops close by was very noisy from heavy traffic and people outside. Rooms are shabby and need updating, attention to detail and cleanliness lacking. If booking request a room at the back of the hotel.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    Beautiful location, wonderful breakfast, awful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the room, with the wonderful weather we are currently experiencing the room became stuffy during the night very quickly, it was not a very comfortable night at all for me or my husband. Also there was a room above us and I think soundproofing would be beneficial.

    The breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.6
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv did not work for the entire stay, was told it would be fixed however they did not get round to it. We had to move room as the first room was no acceptable for the booking I made. The cleaners had been in put cleans towels on the bed but didn’t clean the room, bathroom or make the bed. I have stayed in various hotels in Buford and this one truly disappointed me

    Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of course is amazing - but the staff make the stay so good - always friendly & knowledgeable especially with the building having so much history- the room was great - clean & comfortable and the food was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a great place to meet and share a weekend with old friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection- ease of .

    The room was well appointed and comfortable. Shower area very good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food good. I would go back to the Golden Pheasant again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    It was ok and in the center of Burford, ideal for my visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of parking, broken shower-unable to divert water to secondary outlet, small room, asking for tea twice at breakfast on both days.

    Location was good, initial impressions were good. Bed comfy and room cool in the heat wave. Shower good size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Would not hesitate to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed extra lighting in dressing area with only one spotlight

    Excellent location and garden area with wonderful array of hanging baskets was a real attraction. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel is in a good spot in the village,has a nice courtyard to socialise and the breakfast great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff members could be more welcoming with customers. Housekeeping in the Bedroom was poor ,only "top cleaned". Tea making facility in room was not fully refreshed on second day-no milk left and also cutlery not cleaned .Hotel parking a nightmare, it would be safer to have the one space adjacent entrance removed to allow easier access/egress.

    Breakfast was of a very good quality, and dining room had a pleasant atmosphere. Position of the Hotel is excellent .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Just acceptable, but nothing to shout about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast, weak coffee and warm orange juice did not help. carpet on stairs very dirty. No air conditioning.

    It was a place to stay, a pub with bedrooms, but the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Hot hot hot but lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the rooms were very warm as there were no fans. Also,have the room we were in was at the front of the property overlooking the main road so it was quite noisy.

    Staff were great. Breakfast lovely. Rooms quaint. Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Quirky Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in communal areas could do with cleaning

    Old fashioned inn right in the centre of beautiful Burford. Full of charm and character The hard working landlord has well a run establishment which we would stay in again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    comfortable with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a tasty and English, the staff where friendly and the room as clean and comfortable. Would definatly stay there again . Good menu and drink selection. plenty of tea in the room and sky tv.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    An excellent stopover for a one / two night stay. Friendly staff and an exceptional breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of on site parking, although there was plenty of on street parking adjacent to the hotel.

    The Full Pheasant (English) breakfast was exceptional, with scrambelled eggs cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Slightly disappointing as it looks great but the cheaper rooms are uncomfortable & noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double rooms are in the main inn, ours was at the front where the main road is surprisingly noisy & above where people from the bar stand outside to talk/ smoke etc. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as you could feel all the uneven, individual springs.

    Lovely inn with lots of character. Food was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable ... In fact one twin mattress was slanting to one side, base a appeared broken. The male 'manager' grumpy and rude to be frank. Breakfast scrambled eggs awful - sorry but I have to be honest. Extremely noisy ....I would have thought a fan would be needed especially considering the heatwave and keeping the windows open meant no sleep due to the noise and you could smell the pollution.

    Sorry, but twin room at the front of the property was not good. The traffic noise prevented any sleep until well into the early hours. Beds were not comfortable at all and toiletries were sparce......no hand soap , no face flannels, 1 almost empty toilet roll. Breakfast was not nice, scrambled eggs were runny and full of pepper ! Not everyone likes spicy scrambled eggs and these were like a runny one-egg omelette. Lunch was lovely though, and staff lovely however the male receptionist/manager was grumpy and off-ish. All in all, lovely lunch great location but if I were to stay again I would ask for a room at the very back of the hotel! We will not be returning to this Inn unfortunately.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay - great food and will book again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a criticism more an unfortunate by-product of the hot weather - and it was particularly hot with no air con available opening the window meant higher level of road noise

    Food splendid and choice was impressive Accommodation was very good and very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    The food and the breakfast was absolutely delicious with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are not made for warm summer conditions and it was very hard to sleep at night when it was so hot in the room. The window onto the courtyard was noisy as the sound travelled straight up into the room.

    The food and the breakfast was absolutely delicious with huge portion sizes. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good

    Lovely old pub in a gorgeous town. My room was up in the eaves and was huge. Food in the pub was lovely and breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a couple of 4 post bed rooms, they were great! Very large with original wooden beams. Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was included and good. Some parking out the back. Overall very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A spur of the moment decision to spend the night away, that was a very pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site is very limited, but it didn’t detract from it being a very pleasant stay.

    The full English breakfast was delicious and was cooked exactly the way I like it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    Where to avoid in Burford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was so grumpy , the welcome was poor. The room is entered through a glass door but there was no window. The room was stuffy beyond belief and had not been aired. The quality of the breakfast was poor. I never sleep without an open window. Take care when booking this property as it’s not cheap.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room right by garden, hot day with windows opened made it noisy. Not enough plug sockets. Breakfast not available until after 8am is not good for business people who need to get to work early. No reception assistance between 11pm and 7:30 am.

    Nice size room, comfortable bed, lovely friendly helpful staff, food lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely bed and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shower, eaved ceilings, and lack of proper cleaning and extremely hot room as in eaves which was not said on Booking.com

    The bed was very comfy, room very small but adequate, cleanliness could have been a lot better, breakfast huge!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the centre of Burford

    Lovely rooms. Some have little outdoor courtyards with tables and chairs. Friendly staff and beautiful food. Would definitely be looking to do a return visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    On leaving an hotel/restaurant etc I ask myself : would I return? on this occasion its a NO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much space to manoeuvre in the car park, had to reverse onto the public road. No hand soap in room, only 2 hangers, rusty toilet brush. shower controls a bit wobbly and handles on drawers need securing and bed not made up on Tuesday.

    Good selection of beers. The cleaning lady was very friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately,the room (Hawk) was next to a door in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately,the room (Hawk) was next to a door in the corridor. This meant that , as people moved along the corridor, there was some extra noise from that door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Break in the Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the hard pillows. Might seem trivial but it let down the lovely comfy bed!

    Everything else. Lovely bedroom very spacious and modern. Hotel was in the centre of Burford and ideally placed. Good breakfast. Helpful hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Bad value for money, rooms not as advertised, management not willing to resolve issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room which was advertised here as having a king sized hypnos bed and I paid extra for this as we aren’t great sleepers. The bed in the room we were given (Robin) was actually a small double and very uncomfortable, however as we were racing off to a wedding we didn’t have time to raise this with management at the time. Needless to say we had a terrible night’s sleep in a tiny bed not fit for a couple. I raised this at reception upon check out and was told that the manager wasn’t there that day and they would call me back to resolve it. Several emails to management later and I’m still waiting to hear back from them. Very unhappy. Tiny room, old furniture and very bad value for the price we paid, plus I feel a little cheated that the room was misrepresented to me and I paid extra for something I didn’t receive. Also terrible customer service these days for management not to follow up and to basically ignore me. That results in a bad review I’m afraid!

    Breakfast was pretty good, as was the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Lovely and great value place to stay for the Eastern Cotswolds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Huge room, great food, character of the building. We stayed in the 'Bunting' room and it was stunning - the size of a suite, complete with four poster bed. Very good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    A once good experience changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here many times over past 15 years. Felt it was conveyor style stay as opposed to local inn. Think room may be usually a single room, very small, one bedside table for 2 adults. Few electric sockets. Overpriced for what it was. Stay in cotswolds every year and loved here in the past. No warm welcome, no thank you and goodbye. Overpriced and underwhelming. It's sad when good thinkgs sour.

    The location and the staff at morning breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A member of staff (possibly the manager) is a little on the grumpy side. I asked about the possibility of late checkout and I got a very abrupt and flat no, which was the end of the conversation as he then continued to do his paper work. It was very odd

    Great location on the centre of the high street and friendly staff in general. Breakfast was delicious. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely area but probably wouldn’t stay at The Golden Pheasant again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff at breakfast - only one waitress who tried her best but was rushed off her feet - so table we were placed at was not set and we got our own crockery, butter etc from adjoining tables, slow to take order and bring water, and when cooked breakfast arrived, it didn’t have a sausage which was part of the breakfast. Also shower fixture totally loose in bathroom.

    Nice room, perfect location for exploring Burford

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Delightful English pub experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 4-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in main centre of lovely village. Owner friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about area. We booked large suite in loft which is extremely spacious and a treat to be able to spread out luggage etc. parking at rear is possible or if not you can park on street nearby Sit in the sun at front of pub and watch the action or in great little back beer garden not to mention typical English pub bar area inside is friendly and charming. Food also varied and reasonable in restaurant. Breakfast is plentiful Great place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful Cotswold area and its villages. Intend to return in the future. Many thanks for your hospitality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Old did not equate to charming and quaint. It was just dowdy and run down. Furniture was abysmal; IKEA would have been a great upgrade. Room was not serviced after first night. Someone had entered room to leave one bottle of water but bed not tidied, towels not changed. There was a musty, foul smell in bathroom. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. This was the worst hotel experience in having travelled in 50 countries. I absolutely recommend that you avoid this property. I could hardly believe that we were staying at the same property described by some of the glowing reviews.

    Location was good. The woman working morning until night was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Stay ruined by very rude manager - lacking in soap in the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in we had to find someone It was a big surprise the bathroom was down the corridor

    The breakfast was really nice Other than that everything else had a bad point

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was fab and service from all staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fab and service from all staff was great. Our room was fine but would benefit from new carpet and the shower needs updating. lovely stay for a reasonable price in a beautiful village with lots of friendly pubs on your doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small and mattress was very hard and lumpy, and the room was tiny. Staff were not communicative and were slow to cater to needs. They did not respond to a request to supply cleaning equipment for 24 hours, let alone try to assess the situation our request implied.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Not for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed for 2 nights. Room wasn't made up after first night (bed not made, bathroom not cleaned, used glasses not replaced). Empty water bottle was replaced, so someone did enter the room. No hot water on 2nd morning, nobody around to speak to when leaving/checking out in the morning. Matress not comfortable at all.

    Excellent location and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location but at £130 per night expensive for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only critism was the location of the bath in a very small room it was under the eaves of the roof so although a shower was fitted it was only possible if you held the shower and went on your knees :-) !! One other thing we noted was that the toilet had not been cleaned thoroughly from the previous guest.

    The location of the property is perfect and even had some parking which is generally hard to find in Burford.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was nicely furnished, clean and quiet , we both had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could of been more attentive at breakfast, we had to ask for cutlery , toast and more tea .

    The room was nicely furnished, clean and quiet , we both had a very good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft and bumpy (obviously a personal thing) the room was very hot probably as immediately above the bar

    Good location very friendly staff Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great short break location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really difficult to park nearby and the heated towel rail in the room was on when it was already baking hot

    Great location, great food, lovely atmosphere and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, thick dust in corners of the shelve with the tea and coffee, very small room and bed. Toilet dirty, rusty bin and toilet brush. Bed too hard. Faced car park on ground floor, no privacy, unless curtains were drawn ..

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Oh dear !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little, if any communication from the staff, never once were we asked if we were happy with our stay and if there was anything they could do for us. Rooms were only a basic tidy and the towels were not change at all for the 3 nights of our stay. The bed was suppose to have been king size but was only a standard. So felt we over paid for our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location and friendly staff but a bit noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very good for anyone who doesn’t eat eggs, no options besides cereal or toast. The room was also quite noisey, we were woken up by staff activities below and outside the room on both days.

    The location was very good and the room a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Dwarf room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small my partner and I couldn’t stand up straight . Bath tube next to bed and we had to sit down to shower . No parking. Even if they advertise parking they have very limited spaces . Very poor experience .

    Breakfast alright . Staff helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for our requirements. Very efficient staff throughout. Superb location. Very peaceful although central. Would recommend to everyone. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    delicious breakfast and evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast caffetier coffee could have been better. If space allowed it would have been nice to have a chair in the room.

    delicious breakfast and evening meal quaint room with character helpful staff quiet although central location in Burford nice coffee making facilities glad there was a hairdryer in room

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: