Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Goodwood Hotel 4 stars

Goodwood, Chichester, PO18 0QB, United Kingdom

#3 of 10 hotels in Chichester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 746 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom had a leak from the bath and the toilet was broken. After bringing this up with the reception staff a discount on the room should have been offered. Food in the bar was not up to par. The burgers were dry and the buns were like crackers.

    Staff were great, facilities were great, bed was comfortable. Great location. Despite my complaints this is a fantastic hotel but you could get better for your money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in the staff could tell us abit more information about the estate and whether you can actually access the house etc or what events are held at the estate.

    Very friendly staff, lovely rooms. The spa great for having some time out 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a tray to put kettle and cups on when making tea. Also a few drinks mats to protect surfaces.

    Comfortable. Lots of activities Friendly helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Restaurants served great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit soft for us but we had lots which made the bed comfy.

    Good clean facilities. Very relaxed attitude to children without loosing their standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss, the food was wonderful but the organisation in the restaurant could do with a bit of sorting out. Plenty of staff but little attention to detail, slow with service, toast not coming with breakfast and tea and coffee bit thin on the ground.

    We had a lovely 5 days and felt really relaxed after our stay. We took our dogs and it is so nice to be able to take them pretty much anywhere at Goodwood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and grill needs reviewing as this lets down the rest of the hotel. The poached eggs and advocado were poor. Eggs were cold and the advocado was mush with no flavour or texture. The staff did offer an alternative.

    The restaurant was excellent along with the rooms and general feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is awful, does not work properly and tricky to get temperature and power right. Hot breakfast was fine but continental breakfast was tacky. Empty bowls of canned fruits, yogurt, dried up cheese and total lack of quality and imagination.

    Location is wonderful and this is a comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the cafe was mediocre. I couldn’t eat what I ordered. It was bird food. My friends ordered burgers and were asked for the cooking of the meat. When the food came the meat were cooked the same as there wasn’t really any choice. So why did they ask in the first place. It was very slow ! The staff who showed me the room did not know where the kettle was. She also did not pick up the dirty glass outside the room. It shows the property relies on students as staff?

    Excellent breakfast. Pool and golf.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information in the room could have been better in terms of facilities eyc

    Very clean rooms, comfortable king bed and excellent leisure facilities and easy parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin, one can hear a pin drop in the corridor outside the room so every time a late-night reveller, early riser or housekeeping goes past the noise is so loud that it feels as if they are inside your room. The rooms are so poorly sound insulated that I had the worst night’s sleep (only 3.5 hours of broken sleep having gone to bed at 10.30pm) I’ve ever had at a hotel and was completely shattered the following day. It was a struggle.

    Lovely setting and good food. Rooms are simply but well furnished and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are comfortable but pretty nondescript considering how stylish the rest of the hotel is. The staff in the breakfast restaurant need to improve their service as we stood waiting for 5 minutes waiting to be seated despite several members of staff seeing us then went and sat down ourselves. Had to then wait a long time to be given a menu. Appeared to be only one young lady on the ball there. This wouldn't stop us going back again though and the food when it arrived was excellent!

    Beautiful hotel. Excellent reception, and bar staff. The Farmer Butcher Chef restaurant was superb both in terms of food and decor. Very convenient for access to Chichester, only 10 minutes away by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome quick and little information about the hotel and facilities or the region. Only person to say hello to us during the 3 nights was the young ladies at the golf desk... food nothing special.. breakfast nothing special either.. the hotel and location is beautiful it’s a shame the staff do not live up to the standards. Staff simply correct nothing extra.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a a really disappointing breakfast experience, the food was very good but the organisation and service fell short of our expectations from such a great hotel. We were seated and left for 15 minutes without an offer of tea or coffee and no order taken. I went to discuss with the Maitre d, a mature gentleman who was seating people who was off hand, defensive and just said we are busy and walked off.

    Elegant and soothing decor, very comfortable bed and soft high thread bed linen. Great facilities and ideal for Chichester festival theatre. Great reception experience and most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the bar diner largely young and inexperienced and failed to bring requested items eg condiments, extra items and also very hard to catch their eyes. In all rather slow and unenthusiastic but pleasant. Reception staff very smart and helpful.

    Atmosphere good, excellent parking, nicely decorated tho some areas a bit tired. Wonderful grounds and leisure facilities. Relaxed and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not like the Bar and Grill restaurant. When we have been to the Goodwood Hotel before, the Dining Room Restaurant was used for breakfast. Now they use the Bar and Grill room which is like a cafeteria with 4 star prices. Its noisy and 'clattery'. The other restaurant is much nicer. We had dinner in Chichester, as the Goodwood dinner prices are very expensive and the Bar And Grill 'cafeteria', again, is noisy, very burger & chips, but with 4 star prices. Too expensive for what it is.

    The twin beds were very comfortable and the room was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait 30 minutes for our breakfast. There was very limited space to lie out in the sun so all sun beds were taken.

    Amazing location and great dinner at their restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and staff We’re overwhelmed at breakfast. There seemed to be issues that day

    The grounds were amazing. We didn’t actually leave the hotel that evening. Olga who worked at the restaurant was super nice and fun! Credit to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    surly members staff at breakfast some excellent but no organisation and long waits when hotel is full good dinner in the Butchers. but very small portions for the price insufficient sunbeams on hot sunny day. I would avoid a weekend next time most staff charming gave feedback to restaurant - terrace breakfast manager. excellent service in the Butchers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are Tired, the place needs a lick of paint. Not enough sun loungers on the very small terrace by the pool. This is a dog friendly hotel so don’t be alarmed if you see them in the food areas,check your room has not been used by dog owners. Despite signs people were smoking on the food terrace area, fag butts under tables, staff did nothing to stop it.

    Location , pool, golf course

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative was the sports bar. It was busy and the staff were a bit disorganised but they were polite.

    Food and staff at the Farmer, Butcher, chef were outstanding. Reception staff were very welcoming .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was just far too overcrowded. You couldn’t sit down, you fought for a space in the pool. Usually would spend an afternoon in the spa but unfortunately we did not this time l.

    The hotel room was modern, well decorated. I loved the bathroom and light up wardrobe. The breakfast was lovely - the choc aux pains were delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you to the Goodwood Hotel once again , staff go above and beyond especially Ashley at the Kennels restaurant and the gentleman at front desk breakfast time thank you for my lovely take away coffee ! your all very welcoming and efficient , one of my favourite hotels and spa to escape for a relax and unwind . See you soon :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows were not up to normal standard. Crows roosting in nearby trees did disturb us initially, but we soon got used to it. we were given a very small signature king room-153-, unlike our previous trips when we had nice large rooms for the same money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt breakfast could have been a little better. Offered brown or white toast but they forgot to bring toast out. They forgot to put outdoor cushions away so got soaking wet & were left sitting on hard chairs In the garden. The food was good

    Rooms were good along with the staff who were very accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very knowledgable in the Bar and Grill Restaurant about food and drink on offer and slow service at times. Breakfast was very busy and not enough staff. The hotel tried to charge me twice for treatments in the spa and forgot to apply 10% discount that was promised for booking treatments in advance. Room quite small but good value for two people sharing.

    Wonderful location, great facilities including pool and health spa and excellent food and service in Farmer, Butcher, Chef Restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on our bed was poor, too soft, it collapsed at the side when I sat on it. Our room (number 263) over looked the car park and an entrance to the hotel (where wedding guests were chatting and smoking late into the night) so on a very hot night we couldn’t have the window open. Arriving back at the hotel after an evening out we found the lounge bar to be very unwelcoming, the only comfortable sofa being occupied. The service also very poor as another guest had to go back around to the restaurant to get a barman to serve my partner. The restaurant on Sunday morning was manic, very crowded and loud, we had to wait to be seated. And they allowed someone to walk their dog across the restaurant! Generally I thought the hotel very poor value for money in comparison to other hotels in the Chichester area.

    Actually not much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the ‘welcome’ was lacking. Staff didn’t go out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable...despite having two restaurants, all excluding the bar were booked. Had we not enquired we would have been really limited for dining given it’s so remote. Bar staff really tried their best but it was rather chaotic despite not being busy. (Needed a manager)

    The grounds and property are sprawling and lovely. There’s lots to explore on a sunny day and the spa and pool are a real bonus. Imagine it has quite a buzz during events.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation wasn't great value for money. Lack of sockets in room. Low water pressure in shower.

    Great staff. Lovely location. Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was for a lack of a better description, an expensive travel lodge, as we had been hopeful of finding a rustic hotel with nice rooms, when in fact this was little more than a bog standard travel lodge at a high price.

    Nice and clean and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in this time wasn’t as nice as all of the others we have stayed in before. Bit of a shame really.

    Love the goodwood hotel. We have stayed here a few times now for a bit of rest and relaxation. Staff are always polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very gloomy, could have had a larger window to get more natural light, it was also very warm, but I realised later that we could have just turned the thermostat down - duh!

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Grounds are nice to walk around, you can even walk to the motor racing circuit/airfield. The bistro was great, as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight whiff of corporate. Really bad, weak shower.

    Good facilities. Good staff. Farmer, Butcher, Chef (Restaurant) could well be a really good restaurant - after so long with very average food from Goodwood - both in the hotel and in The Kennels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little noisy at night from the plumbing?

    Everything. Really enjoyed the congenial atmosphere and comfort. Massage at Waterbeach was superb and very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an interconnecting door between ours and the room next door and their voices could be heard very easily. Disappointed in that part which is why I only gave an average score for comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were breaking our journey on the way home after visiting family and just wanted some special comfort after travelling. This fitted the bill perfectly: an immaculate room and courteous and friendly staff both on reception and in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much to complain about!

    Room was very well-equipped, nice decor, very comfortable. Good facilities in hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location of hotel is great, with access to health club, gym, swimming pool and Goodwood estate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room had very little water pressure, making our showers much longer than they should have been. My wife had pancakes for breakfast and they were both almost burnt.

    The gym and spa facilities were good and well maintained. The room service menu was good and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout was a little out of the ordinary but shouldn't put you off by any means.

    The staff were attentive and the restaurant was very good. Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was a little tired (tiles in the pool missing) and not as luxurious as similar spa breaks. Too many kids in the pool at one time- apparently kid zone or something, not very relaxing!

    Good facilities, excellent restaurant (Farmer, Butcher, Chef), friendly staff, nice and clean spa, nice rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids Swimming lessons in pool when wanted to use it Water in room not in a sealed bottle Woken up at night a lot by drunken people in corridors

    Location Excellent food especially cooked breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing i noticed during our 1 night stay

    Great service and an ideal location for our purpose. Its ideal if you are driving into Chichester but without a car its not ideal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, nothing.

    The staff were the most professional, friendly obliging staff ever. They anticipated and provided promptly everything a guest could want. I love the fact that the hotel has high end values and provision combined with a welcoming homely feel. We ate in the bar bistro and the quality of the food is way beyond bistro/gastro pub quality using produce from the Goodwood estate as does the excellent restaurant. Good gym and pool included in price and excellent spa facilities again with superb staff .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel itself just ok...feeling a bit tired and dated. The Goodwood Estate normally do most thing very well and this just feels like its lagging a bit...

    Staff were excellent from reception to restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At check in, the staff were pleasant but we weren't told what time breakfast was or where it was held, we had to go back and ask. This information wasn't available in the information pack in the room either. We were also not given any information about the gym and pool.

    The food and service in the Bar and Grill was excellent. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool, spa and gym were excellent. Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small criticism of the room - locate the safe on one of the shelves it interferes with hanging clothes. A few clothes hooks would have been helpful. That's all the I can find to say on the negative side.

    The one outstanding feature was the staff all very helpful, cheerful, and attentive. Altogether a very comfortable stay. The pool facilities were especially good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower above bath is probably near the end of its working life. Wasn't easy to operate and the facility to switch from bath to top shower needed replacing - lime scale made it difficult to turn.

    Beautiful room on the ground floor, close to the reception and bar. Very friendly, professional staff who were helpful when needed. Excellent quality breakfast, well worth booking as part of the room deal. Expensive to have otherwise. We have tried both restaurants now, this is a second visit and both were of high quality. There are also two excellent pubs a short drive away in a beautiful valley - Charlton and East Dean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was leaking. Doors not locked to another bedroom. It was very strainge and I felt unsecured.

    I love size of the bed. And chocolates in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at breakfast was not equal to the high standards the hotel has set everywhere else. We had the pancake (which were not cooked through in the middle) and the full English breakfast which was true mass production with soggy mushrooms, dry black pudding. A real shame as everything else was great.

    The stay overall was very good. The staff were very friendly and the room was very comfortable (Garden View Room), the gym well equipped and the Farmer Butcher Chef restaurant is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The health spa and beauty salon were exceptional. The facilities were perfect - relaxing and everything to a high standard. Our rooms were very comfortable and we slept very well on the large beds. I liked the square shaped pillows. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and served efficiently.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hoping for a quieter retreat , pool area @ times very noisy Lots of children & people having loud conversations on their mobiles - needs to be discouraged Breakfast a little disappointing - would have loved more fresh fruits , little selection. Extra snug areas for drinks

    Excellent location , staff exceptionally helpful , friendly & polite , food in Farmer , butcher ,chef very good value for money & comfortable ambiance . Great leisure facilities & well maintained

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not the most comfortable we have slept in recently and we could not switch off the night sensor light - those issues aside we only have positive comments

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all. Other people could have had more respect for the food they were served and the staff by not being continually on phones and laptops!

    Pancakes with maple syrup and bacon were absolutely delicious. Full English breakfast was very tasty, especially the sausages and black pudding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast was a disappointment - no smiles and no common sense to clear plates when they had been used or to remove excess crockery and make more space (eg mugs for the children who don’t drink tea). We had to ask for toast 3 times too. If only breakfast were served too in the Farmer Butcher Chef for hotel guests, it would have been so much nicer too.

    Really great welcome from the reception team, especially Miles who went out of his way to help. The full English breakfast was divine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff appeared to be under-trained with catering and bar staff unable to answer questions. Maintenance of the room was not very high, the window didn’t close properly and allowed a draft into the room. The air con was noisy. The Snug Bar was too small and a quiet conversation impossible. The decor is reminiscent of battleship grey, completely uniform and without inspiration. Signage to find yr room, reception, etc poor. Blurred tree photos appears to have been purchased by the dozen and contribute to the feeling of blandness. Whole facility needs a massive investment to make it value for money in keeping with the ‘Goodwood’ brand.

    Reception staff were excellent. The quality of food in the bar/grill was very good. Sculpture park interesting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SOLD as dog friendly but Dogs not allowed in any dining areas expect a tiny part of the bar, which was similar to a canteen in the evening. Dog pack was poor value at £25 for dog bed, bowl and biscuits. Corridors noisy with children running around. Spa disorganised with having to get passes from different areas etc. People in robes at breakfast! Hot in room unable to change it, reception had to change it from their end as cool option not avail in room, only heat!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is open to the public and is unusable during peak times.

    The hotel was in a lovely setting. The staff were great and the room was clean and comfortable. I could even take the dog.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a flaf to get into the leisure facilities. You have to go back and forth swapping your room key for a leisure pass to get into the pool and gym. To be honest the girls on the leisure / spa receptions were more interested in chatting to each other than helping guests. Not a patch on the other hotel staff!!

    The location is fantastic nestled a stones throw from Goodwood House and the famous festival of speed hill climb track. The hotel staff all go beyond their duty to make your stay that extra special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to fault our stay! Our room was situated on a main corridor, and we did hear some noise during the night as other guests walked past talking loudly.

    Meal at farmer, butcher, chef was excellent -really faultless. Breakfast, which was included in room rate, was the best hotel breakfast I have eaten-wonderful fresh fruit, cereal yoghurt and pastries as a buffet and nice menu of hot food to order. Good, hot coffee served promptly and lovely fruit juice. Yum!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too cold, could not warm it up, dining room fairly cold also as were the corridors joining the various parts of the hotel - too many glass walls everywhere. Probably great in summer, not in winter!

    Good beds, nice room, well-furnished.Enjoyed the meals in the the grill room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having stayed here previously we returned based on earlier experience but found the menu provided in the Farmer Butcher restaurant and the Brasserie in the evening whilst impressive in reading were limited in choice and the F&B menu seems to be too up-market and a little too delicate. would have preferred more tradition fare. Lunchtime brasserie menu much better.

    Stayed for a golf based 3 day break. Hotel accommodation very good and clean. All staff very friendly and professional. Brasserie and lounge areas excellent to relax in. Golf reception and facilities very well run.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They worked a scam on taxis! Organised a minibus and car to get our party to and from The Kennels restaurant on the Goodwood estate, at £36 for each ride there and back (restaurant was about a mile away). Then Kennels told us that the hotel operates a free shuttle for guests between hotel and restaurant. Left behind my electric toothbrush in room - by next day it had gone.

    Nice room, comfy beds, good facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only slight gripe was the lighting in the room. In the main room, it was all by low illumination lamps which made reading in the evening somewhat difficult for our ageing eyes!

    Very comfortable room (especially the bed!). Excellent facilities throughout the hotel and the food at the restaurants was of a particularly high standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit small for the price

    Delicious breakfast, great swimming pool with sauna and hammam, excellent on-site restaurant (Farmer Butcher) that is a destination in itself, and irreproachable staff. Overall, superb experience in a gorgeous setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar and Grill is little more than a Premier Inn style of decor and atmosphere. With the exception of the maitre d' at breakfast the staff seemed somewhat disconnected ! Also, in the Farmer, Butcher etc, the atmosphere was dull, and staff (again with one exception) seemed under-trained and un-interested. Pity that two of the main red wines were "sold out"!!!! Food was average ..., too much emphasis on "pulled" stringy meat! The bar area was uninspiring and "cold". We saw previous comments about breakfast and happily we can report excellent breakfasts! Good effort.

    This hotel promises more than it delivers. The grey cold decor (sorry, Lord March if the black and white photos of the leafless trees are your work!) . The "brand" of Goodwood does not extend through this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the hotel, dining and spa facilities are a little qwirky; but they are still very good.

    Fabulous location and very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Great food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was awful Very bad for reading there was a security light a floor level which could not be turned of and was disturbing. Generally controlling any eg heating Or the Shower seemed over complicated and difficult . Some the staff seem both casual and arrogant a few were very good.

    Great location,very characterful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak Tea ! The spa wasn't manned so was not given a towel Did not enjoy the bar and grill for dinner, it wasn't comfortable!

    Breakfast cooked well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillow on bed had practically no filling so no support, shower head needed cleaning as squirting out in all directions, very slow service in onsite restaurant, Kennels restaurant very limited menu and very overpriced for what was available and one of items had already sold out at Saturday dinner.

    lovely location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant called the bar and grill- vegetarian option not nice and not value for money wouldn’t recommend having that!

    All good except our dinner in the bar and grill!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have more variety for breakfast. Choice a bit limited

    An excellent hotel with helpful and courteous staff Comfortable room and bed Pleasant communal areas. excellent swimming pool and leisure facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming staff. Bed's wonderfully comfortable. Room pleasantly decorated. Great location, seemingly deep in the country but within less than 10 minutes drive of Chichester.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and noisy as all rooms line either side of common walkway/corridor. Menu choice in one of the restaurants a bit basic and service slow.

    Lovely staff, helpful and very polite Organic produce Pet friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very noisy, virtually no sound proofing between rooms, our room was next to family slamming doors etc and we could hear everything being said in their room. Very slow service at breakfast, and non- attentive staff i.e. not reflling coffee quickly etc. Patio door was left open after clean took place, which meant anyone could have walked into our room, not good ! Corridors and hallways look tired. The whole place lacked atmosphere and cosiness, felt too corporate and more of a business persons hotel.

    good room size and comfortable bed. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked to of been shown where everything was around the hotel as everything is quite spread out , we didn’t find the bar and grill untill we had to go for breakfast and we could of gone there for a drink maybe before dinner if we new where it was , There was also no information given to us when we checked in about what time breakfast was or where to go so I thought there must be information about all of this is the room but there is nothing , we also was surprised that when we booked a room we could not book a table in the restaurant as they was full booked , we did luckily get a cancellation just before we left to go to the hotel but thought ithis was quite bad that you can book a room but you may not be able to eat in the restaurant

    Friendly staff , big spacious clean rooms , lovely food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt a little corporate for my liking and the service was fine but not warm. Although it was all fine, it felt a bit overpriced

    Spa treatments were good and the location was great

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: