Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gower Golf Club 4 stars

Cefn Goleu, Gowerton, SA4 3HS , United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Gowerton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    A very good value accommodation with the added bonus of an excellent chef.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a golf club but if they want to increase the number of Hotel only clients there needs to be better signposting when arriving in the village of Three Crosses.

    Good value for money. Excellent evening meal prepared by an excellent chef.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room walls were damp. Cockroach in the room No bedside tables Front door very loose sounded like a poltergeist was trying to get into the room in the wind. Staff at breakfast overworked - not enough staff, one lady trying to do too much

    Views from outside were OK Room was spacious Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    The food at breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told whilst booking in that breakfast would be served between 7.15 - 10am. The next morning at breakfast a couple came in at 9.50am and were told breakfast finished at 9.30am! Although, staff 'agreed' to make some breakfast for them, the couple were treated appallingly. I queried the breakfast times based on the information we had been told, and how this couple had been treated, the staff serving breakfast then went to check with reception! Also, on the Monday, we ordered our breakfast, and a while later a welsh couple came in, sat down, ordered the same as us, so our breakfast was given to them so they didn't have to wait. We were also offered extra toast and although we said yes, please this never came. It was clear that staff were far too busy chatting in the kitchen. We were moved to room 7, as although we had booked a double room this wasn't ready for us. Although, the room was clean the door lock was broken, as was the lid on the kettle. Felt at times we were an inconvenient, however, it is clear that a drastic amount of money needs to be spent on this place. I wouldn't stay here again, which is a shame as with friends only living up the road, this could have been a regular stop for us.

    The food at breakfast was very nice. Staff at breakfast on Tuesday and wednesday we very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.2
    Low Standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, toilet was ok. The floor was dirty with mould on the tile joints. Shower had pink mould and dirt spots on the tray, with black mould in the tile grout. Bedroom furniture was chipped and damaged. Tv didn't respond to the remote and the manual control to turn down the volume was also broken rendering the tv unusable.

    Food was ok. Bed was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Waste of money and filthy shower
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan not working in bathroom reported and wasn’t sorted. Soap scum on grouting in shower easy remedied and easy to clean!! But obviously not cleaned. Lightbulb out really don’t think this room had been checked before it was let. Won’t be staying again!

    The veiw.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Great quiet location but rooms could do with some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blinds in room rusting and poor operation, shower gel in bathroom empty and hot water took a time to come through - min or so …. but nothing major wrong and would happily go back.

    Breakfast was plentiful and great quality … and very tasty … the staff couldn't do enough at breakfast. As location is golf course its very quiet and very scenic views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    A good hotel and stay but a tad pricey for what it is. Out in the sticks location to getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't all that great, would have expected better for the price. We weren't asked what we wanted just given a full English. The room wasn't worth the cost I don't think. It was lovely just not worth £80 a night. Staff seemed lovely and even booked us a taxi for our return journey which was nice.

    Late check in was easy and no fuss at all. Very helpful staff organising it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Short stay but we would, and hopefully will, return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as we would have wanted!

    The staff were friendly, accomodation comfortable with pleasant surroundings (it is obviously on a golf course) and very peaceful. Breakfast very nice with pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    Spoiled by the lack off cleanliness and having to complain every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room when we arrived was not cleaned and tera and coffee not replenished. Having been moved to another room the pillow cases had not been changed, there was no remote for the TV and one could not be found. The chair in the room was very stained and the venetian blind was broken and filthy. Throughout our stay the room servicing was not carried out (no clean towels, bed not made tea and coffee not replenished. We spoke to the owner on the first morning and he assured us this would not happen again and for one night all was well. The rest of the stay was as stated above. I emailed the owner with these issues, did not hear from him, phoned him and still no reply. I did not want to write this but in view of his apparent lack of concern I feel I have no choice.

    The staff in the evening were helpful and tried to make up for the deficiencies in the rooms. The breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The situation of the property was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Good food, very friendly staff, good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic and because of this the access road is very narrow and difficult to drive.

    Good food, very friendly staff, good value for money. Room was comfortable and adequate for my needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.0
    Disappointing. Location lovely but whole place tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were allocated the 'bridal suite'. Would have been very let down if we had been there for our wedding night! Tiles, grouting etc in bathroom tired and shabby. Shower had no hot water so had to shower and wash hair to go to a wedding in stone cold water. Mentioned it at reception but was no better the following morning. Cannot have just happened that morning- cleaners would have noticed it and yet room still let out! Very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good overall, we'd be happy to stop here again and would recommend it to our friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wine list and only table wines were available. Such a good dinner needed good wine to complement it. The beds had soft mattresses which I think need replacing.

    The 3 course dinner was excellent and exceptional value for £25. The location was very good. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The room rate of £65 was also exceptional value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.6
    Unclean on arrival and cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, found that the toilet in the room had been used and not flushed. Took several attempts to clean the toilet ourselves. Therefore, doubts about whether the room had been cleaned since previous occupant. Light fittings were faulty, hand wash and shower gel both empty and requests for new bottles ignored. Also, loud vibrations every time a toilet was flushed in accommodation block. The most inconvenient thing was that there was no hot water from the shower. All of the above was raised with staff on checkout and we were advised to email the management. Disappointingly, we have received no response in two weeks.

    Location with great view from the car park, staff were welcoming on arrival

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Happy short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit quiet. We were missing milk, tissues and pillowcases. Replaced when asked for. Rooms need a lick of paint.

    Very comfortable large bed, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was comfortable if a little tired, and there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many potholes on the driveway approaching complex. Bathroom door needs adjusting - couldn't close easily which caused disturbance in the night. Light bulbs were missing - 2 in the bedroom which were replaced promptly, and the one over the wash basin in the bathroom which was not replaced during our stay. More variety on the continental breakfast would have been appreciated.

    The room was comfortable if a little tired, and there was plenty of space in the main part of the room. However we booked a double room and did not need the extra bed in the room and bedside tables would have been appreciated. It was fine for the couple of nights we were there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful Gower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult finding reception,Towels missing twice, toilet base dirty, shower waste pipe slow to drain, dusty window blinds, squealing toilet cistern, old kettle smelt of burnt plastic when used. - could have done with more benches to enjoy views A little more attention to detail with checking rooms would have prevented our little problems.

    Lovely views, comfortable bed, pleasant owner helpful, very quiet location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Highlight was our family meal for 7 at the Golf Club...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faster service i.e. more staff.

    Highlight was our family meal for 7 at the Golf Club restaurant - outstanding menu choices, beautifully cooked. breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money, an absolutely beautiful room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money, an absolutely beautiful room and phenomenal surroundings. The staff were friendly and very helpful, even advising us where to sit to see the sunset, and breakfast was delicious. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Od
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food offering in the evening

    The staff were welcoming friendly whilst offering excellent service. Brilliant English breakfast home from home cooking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay & enjoyed the quietness and general location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed rather soft. The room had the potential for a nice view but unfortunately it was spoilt by the car park right outside the window - cars driving in & out and also obscuring the view. The hotel was not that easy to find by road.

    Nice location & quiet. Meals good - especially breakfast where we had excellent service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay it was only for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was plenty of hot water but for some reason the shower didn’t work properly and the toilet made a horrible sound every time you flushed.

    Good location Very picturesque Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic! When we are next in South Wales we know we will book in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest - nothing!! Everything was more than we expected from reading the reviews.

    Loved our chalet - most unexpected - so much comfort and smashing views. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food was great as was the breakfast. Bar friendly with the visitors - walk into local village. My husband wished we could have stayed more than the one night - it was a last minute booking for one night only - he would have loved a round of golf!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    It's a lovely location and we greatly enjoyed our stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV lacked a remote, so no radio 4 in the morning. The hairdryer box was present but the hairdryer was not. The plumbing had excessively noisy pipes and the shower tray drained away far too slowly when the shower was fully turned on. Staff listened attentively and sympathetically but the faults were still unresolved in the four nights we stayed there. We were unaware there was a time limit on the evening restaurant, so when we arrived at 8:45, after a fraught day of hospital visiting, we were told that food was not served after 8:30. I found this casual attitude a little disappointing and expected more consideration. I wouldn't expect a full 3-course meal if the kitchens were closing but surely a plate of cheese and biscuits could have been rustled up without too much inconvenience? The only thing available was one packet of peanuts! Had we known their timings in advance, we would have made other arrangements! As it was, we went hungry!

    This was our second stay here but in a different room with a better view. Our room was spotlessly clean and our bed extremely comfortable. The picturesque location overlooking the golf links and the bay beyond was peaceful. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of bird song. All the staff were friendly and mainly helpful. Breakfast was served in the main building and was well presented and tasty. The dinner menu looked interesting but we did not get chance to try it out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Lovely settjng for our overnight stay.
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that our friends in flat 2 were woken up by the man mowing the grass at 6.20am.

    Convenient location for the wedding we were attending at Oldwalls. Good accomodation and breakfast for the price we paid. I booked 2 rooms. Clean and tidy, comfortable beds, excellent shower. Scrumptious lunch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.2
    Basic accommodation with adequate food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, a good clean up. Tiny TV on wall so high up you couldn't see it. Very dated basic furniture. Realise it's a golf club and therefore the needs of the golfers came first but it 's also supposed to cater for over nighters and there were few facilities for them. Pre-cooked breakfast except for the eggs although the dinners served were very good. Nice staff who tried to do their best. Location poor, hard to find, back narrow roads only wide enough for 1car at a time.

    Friendly staff. Nice views over estuary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Just what we wanted but there is the potential here to charge a lot more !
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not realise we would be charged for breakfast No remote for TV Plumbing noisy

    Super views 15mins drive to Swansea or Gower beaches Our room was comfortable Staff genuine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall this golf club/hotel is very good. We stayed on the 30/31st June. The hotel is situated within the golf club near the village of Cross Keys on the Gower Peninsula. Being situated on higher ground to accommodate the Championship golf course, the surrounding views are superb. The accommodation consists of 11 rooms located in what probably used to be stables or farm buildings and located next to the main building in a semi courtyard. We were in room 3 which was well furnished and had 2 single beds together to make a very large double. I can truthfully say that the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The shower was powerful and there was an abundance of hot water. Little things to improve the standing of the hotel would be to increase the supply of tea and coffee in the rooms, to have more than one water beaker and to provide individual soaps and small bottles of hair shampoo/conditioner rather than the wall soap dispensers which are currently there. We had dinner on our first night and the food was exemplary. They have a new chef and my lamb cutlets and my wife's steak were cooked as requested and the food was hot (so many places these days serve Luke warm food and think it is acceptable). There were linen table cloths with table displays and the room was lovely. A tip to improve an excellent room ... Linen napkins maybe? The service by everyone was friendly and helpful. What a shame that we were the only ones eating. The word needs to get out that the evening food is good. The only thing that let the hotel down slightly was breakfast. The food itself was fine but the toast was very very lightly toasted being almost warm bread. Despite asking for the Orange juice to be topped up this never occurred and the coffee was not refreshed either. A little more choice on the non cooked items would be welcomed as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location. We picked here because of the Killers playing at Liberty stadium, we didn’t want to be in town and this location is bang in the countryside - with good links to everywhere - as long as you have a car of course.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    With friendly, helpful staff & comfortable accommodation, this is definitely a place to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The majority of the rooms had lovely views out over the golf course and bay. Sadly, ours wasn't one of those as it backed onto another building and the golf carts on charge over-night. Of course, none of this could be seen once the curtains were closed! Ours was a late decision to travel, with only that room available, so It definitely pays to book early!

    The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming, so check-in was quickly accomplished. The accommodation was clean, roomy and well-appointed. It is a quiet site and the beds very comfortable, so we had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Gower Golf Club is a good base from which to explore Gower. Ours was only a flying visit, but we enjoyed looking round the Botanical Gardens. Their tropical greenhouses are amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Value for money and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast menu on the table the first day

    Room was good size with view over to the estuary, Welcome was good with all the info we needed. Breakfast was a good choice but only saw the menu on the last day of our stay. Beds were extra comfortable and no noise at all through the night. Didn't get to try the in house evening meal. All in all an enjoyable stay and would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic wrapped croissants left something to be desired.

    At £60 a room including breakfast this hotel offers excellent value for money. Beautiful views over the Gower and tasty food. Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Good overnight stay with full breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to courtyard and surrounding entrance needs tidying up, upgrading of rooms.

    very comfortable clean room although needing upgrading and some attention good full English breakfast and very welcoming helpful staff, would return for a stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed here before and will do so again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a little criticism, we always had to ask for tea bags and coffee for the room. They were never replenished,

    Very friendly people and superb breakfasts. Good location for the wonderful Gower coast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.0
    Lovely place for s stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One track bumpy road to get there, scary when we came back early hours of the morning in darkness !

    Beautiful well equipped little room, breakfast lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms aren’t that soundproof. We were woken up quite a few times during the night because of the baby fussing in the room upstairs. We could hear regular conversation, so the noise level wasn’t even that high. Otherwise, a lovely place.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is showing signs of wear and tear and could use some T.L.C.

    There was a good choice of food available for breakfast and evening meals . It was nice and quite .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    perfectly reasonable well priced and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfectly reasonable well priced and very friendly staff. The club has a good bar. Be prepared for a short drive up single track road if using a GPS to get there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.2
    Bed comfy and big ... quiet coz it’s in the middle of nowhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot just £60 a night was ok and I’m glad I didn’t pay anymore

    The room was very basic no extra toilet roll , no shower gel , no bulb in lamp in bedroom , no tissues in box , no information booklet for times of breakfast or facilities . And a used condom in shower drain !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Good facilities. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday morning breakfast server perhaps needed to smile!

    Excellent evening meal. Breakfast was cooked to order and so was served hot, rather luke warm having languished under hot lights in a breakfast buffet as in other establishments.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Welsh countryside dwelling place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a room with a the stunning view it offers on the Gower . It was because of late booking

    big room , a bit outdated. huge shower room needs updating but good. good value place Staff friendly and stunning views even though our room did not have a view as we booked in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    It was fine, but could have been so much better with a little thought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds to soft, shower tray chipped, furniture needs repainting. They forgot service our room after the first night. Dining no room so cold, that the food, although served on very hot plates, soon went cold. Better outdoor lighting at nighttime needed.

    The breakfast was good, the lady that served/ cooked foods as very pleasant. Location excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much rain but what do you expect in Wales in February :)

    From the moment I arrived I was made to feel at home, nothing was too much trouble for Adrian and his team. I will be back later in the year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.5
    It served it's purpose for what we needed for an overnight stay to visit relatives in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had early evening food which was of very poor quality, the bathroom, whilst clean, was in need of a refurbishment & the very small TV in the bedroom did not work which was to do with the poor aerial signal?

    Beds were comfortable & room was clean and warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Golfers take priority !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potholes all up the main drive. Could never find a member of when needed one . Was told to inform hotel about evening meal did so but got told on arrival that the chef had gone home sick . So had to go out again to find somewhere for a meal , which wasn't our plan .

    Quiet and peaceful lovely views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    We would stay again and respect the fact that it was very much out of their main season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more variety for breakfast would have been better. The seating in the bar / lounge area very tired and not particularly comfortable.

    The staff made up for any shortfall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Good value.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building in need of some TLC, paint, plumbing. Overall, very pleasant and good value.

    Tea/coffe making facilities in room. Very comfortable beds. Large rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can honestly say I have no complaints about the Gower Golf Club. We had a meal there on the evening and it was very good, I had Bangers and Mash which was delicious.

    I personally could not sa as I did not have any breakfast, I was too busy getting my daughter ready for her getting married that day. My husband went and he said the breakfast was good all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Basic base for exploring the Gower but with tired rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while to find a staff member to check in. The rooms are quite tired, they are hygienically clean but not as clean as you'd like (dust over all the blinds, pipe work in bathroom, mold on grouting etc) TV in room only picks up decent signal for 2 channels. Sadly there is zero soundproofing in the rooms so you can hear every single other guest & what they are doing. There was also a wedding event on one of the evenings (which we were not told about) which had very loud music till midnight, due to lack of soundproofing that's why this was another issue adding to a very noisy stay. Compared to other hotels we have stayed in, in the Gower it just wasn't equivalent value for money, unless the prices dropped to reflect this, or they refurbished rooms (including soundproofing) sadly I wouldn't stay again.

    A base for a 2 night stay to do an ultra running event in the Gower. Nice cooked breakfast & coffee. Basic evening meals available. Big bath with plenty of hot water. Comfortable double bed. Majority of the staff were friendly. Free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    A restful night but some attention to detail would make it a much better stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt of damp; shower tray kept filling up; breakfast average. Place looks rather tired and in need of refurbishment.

    Quiet room; comfy and spacious bed. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    The location as perfect for me, as an overnight stay during...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been a little bit cleaner. TV was damaged a little, stain on the bathroom ceiling etc,

    The location as perfect for me, as an overnight stay during business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay overall, very nice staff, good food, an ideal quiet base to tour from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was slow on occasion. Furnishings in public areas was in need of complete refurbishment.

    Food was excellent. Lovely location on a golf course and especially for touring the Gower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.9
    Gordon Ramsey would have a field day ! Reminds me of John Cleese in Fawlty Towers !
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road on the Golf Club and the car park were full of pot holes. Broken door frame on the outside of our room - the owner had to break into the room when a previous customer left their key inside! Why had this not been fixed prior to using the room again for future customers? On entry to the room it smelt of damp and there was mould in the window recess. Broken blinds. It looked like the room had not been serviced for some time - carpet not hoovered; wardrobe shelves, beside cabinets, dressing table and base of beside lights had not been dusted; limited tea/coffee etc; big water stain on ceiling in bathroom; no toiletries as per advertisement on your site - I had to go over to Reception and ask for them! Extractor fan not working. On turning back my bed I found black short hairs! Cobwebs on the coving in the bedroom. No maid service during our stay! The Housekeeper should be sacked because she/he is definitely doing their job to an acceptable standard but unlike to happen as I believe is related in some way to the Owner! Damaged TV screen which made all of the characters on Emmerdale look like they had port wine marks on their faces! No in room telephone even though there was a socket in the wall - other rooms were the same but not all. The bar area was very tired and dirty and the carpet near the bar had been taped together. Lights in the communal WCs were not working so it was quite a challenge to go to toilet in the dark. Drinks were extremely expensive and some were possibly not served from clean pipes. The food is ok if they haven't actually run out of what you ordered! As happened to me - I had to make 2 choices and in the end asked for double egg and chips! Breakfast was not bad but the carpet and chairs in the Restaurant are filthy which is quite off putting. I also noticed a cracked pain of glass in one of the windows on my last morning! Five light bulbs needed replacing in the light fittings to!

    The views from the property were breathtaking. The member of staff called Zoe was very helpful, polite and cheery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and a hotel with some of the best views on the Gower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were fantastically helpful and friendly, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the food was plentiful and tasty. We were even offered a Welsh taste of laverbread and cockles alongside the sizeable full Welsh breakfast. Beautiful views from the golf course itself, and a stunning location. When I told them that it was both mine and my husband's birthdays we found a bottle of Prosecco in our room on arrival! Thank you Adrian and Alison!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs more maintenance (chair missing, television remote control missing, toilet seat would not stay up). Television too high up.

    Good location for leisure walking and customer's offices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    worth a visit,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was included in the price, but no one attended in the morning, so no cooked food had, Coffee, Yogurt, and Juice only. I waited round for some time, but no one was on hand to serve, or take orders. difficult place to get to. very narrow lanes

    Nicely run place, Evening Food was nice and a good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    wont be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room wasn't ready on arrival so had to change rooms , not very clean , lots of noise from upstairs and noisy golfers , only one staff on most of the time

    good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Great place, good value for money and lovely staff (apart fom the one)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blonde lady "working from 7am" on 13 October 2017 made it clear she did not want to help us with our check in process. She had been "left alone" with "no one to help" her and so she let it all out on us. Rude remarks and all, even trying to tell us we had no booking despite our confirmations and the fact that only 2 days prior we had spoken to the accommodation to confirm the entire booking and extra requirements (a cot for an infant)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Fine, we enjoyed being away for a couple of days/nights, an event that is rare in our life.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The en suite was okay but in need of a lot of tlc to bring it up to standard. The bedroom only had 1 chair when 2 were required. The immediate outlook from the bedroom window was scrub land along with a silver grey car that had been dumped there. The engagement party we attended was seriously understaffed. The buffet was very poor, just like a back street pub's standard.

    The room was lovely, comfortable and attractive. The position overlooking the sea and beautiful countryside was lovely. Breakfast was great with a wide choice of hot and cold and was very leisurely. All the staff we came in touch with were friendly, helpful and well informed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar theprevious night was a little slow. More lighting would be good from function building to rooms.

    We slept well. The breakfast was freshly cook. All our family enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.5
    T is for TERRIBLE.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More disorganised that Fawlty Towers. Stood around waiting for 20mins and even had to call the place to get somebody to come out and sort my room out. I was then told I needed to eat 'NOW' because the chef wanted to go home... he obviously did because he cooked a terrible meal. Under cooked steak, over cooked chips and brown salad anybody? The room was unclean. And there was somebody else's poop still in the toilet. The shower barely works and there was no soap in the dispensers. If you hate cleanliness, love bad food and want to feel like your a chore to every member of staff then this place is for you! Oh, breakfast.... took less than 1 minute for them to cook it. Cold eggs and stale bacon.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What would make it better would be internet in the rooms. The location is so remote the phone signal was really poor. And some strange noises from the plumbing !

    Lovely place, with friendly staff and good food. Will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.5
    A gem of a place! Worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out the rooms for items such as working light bublbs - and when the customer notifies the staff that there is a need for a lightbulb, to do something about it

    Very comfortable beds. An excellent location - peaceful - friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    The shower area was quite basic but surprised me with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ironing board/iron would need replacing. Also, more options on the breakfast menu would be welcome.

    The shower area was quite basic but surprised me with a fantastic power shower that was most welcome after long days of driving! The beds were incredibly comfortable. I hope to return soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    This was a last minute arrangement for the Bank holiday weekend which was very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower facility over bath did not have a shower curtain or splash guard. Our physical joint limitations made it difficult to use the bath as a bath. Tv wasn't recieving the standard channels and was not able to be resolved by the onsite staff. After a long time trying, I managed to retune the programmes myself but by that time I was too tired to watch any of them. Really loud noises coming fom the room above when they used the water system. This was reported and the building maintenance people were going to investigate and eliminate the fault for any future customers.

    Clean room, nice bed, lovely views, excellent breakfast. Any faults were overcome without any major concern as it was just an overnight stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Visally amazing but actually disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top pillows was lumpy, the plumbing needs major updates. You cannot pull the toilet chain at night or you will awake everyone in the block. Bathroom smelt mouldy. Shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold so I ended up having a bath but the plug wouldn't work and the water wouldn't drain properly. Definitely wont be staying again which is a shame because I need to come back down in two weeks. Ended up booking elsewhere instead. When we booked out, we was not even asked how are stay was because I'm positive they knew what the issues would be.

    Bed was comfortable and views amazing. The room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Good little place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice quiet hotel on a golf course with nice surrounded view. Room was clean and the staffs were friendly. Hotel met my expectation. This is just a simple but nice little hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice spot for stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to know where to park/go when I arrived in the car park. No menu for cooked breakfast. OK for me as like everything, but there was a large family in and they were not clear on what options were available.

    I made this booking as I was going to a funeral in Swansea/Mumbles. Location was great for the purpose. View from the golf club was nice (weather not so good to appreciate this sadly). Room was in a mews - nice and clean and spacious. Cooked Breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    We booked a couple of nights and then read the reviews and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a couple of nights and then read the reviews and were seriously concerned about what we were going to find. There were a couple of things that we did mention to the staff - a blocked shower outlet and a noisy flush on the loo - however the positives FAR outweigh these minor irritations. We were left wondering how our experience could be so positive after such negative reviews. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful - from the people behind the bar, the chef, the breakfast staff and the young guy standing in in the pro shop - all were really welcoming, interesting and interested. Brilliant! The food was fantastic. Breakfasts were appetising and plentiful and the variety of food was great. Suppers again were very well prepared and presented. The beds were super comfortable and the linen was of a high quality and seemed almost new. The rooms was clean and well prepared. A bonus is that golfers can have a free round on the challenging and well maintained par 71 course after 6pm on each night of their stay. We would definitely recommend the Gower Golf Club and really hope to go back one day for another visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    A good base on the Gower Peninsula although narrow roads leading to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower control was broken although it did work. (In fact powerful shower).

    Lovely warm central heating. Comfortable king size bed. Good quality towels. Friendly staff.a good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely accommodation. Would definatly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for a wedding. Lovely welcome. We arrived earlier than check in but this was not a problem with hotel staff. Our rooms were ready very quickly. Excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.0
    Lacked care and attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not controllable, picture light and light over wash basin did not have bulbs in. We had to get someone to sort the t.v. out.

    We were not very impressed overall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    2.9
    Not as described. Wouldnt recommened nor return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of service Not as advertised on Booking.com No wifi not many TV channels worked Said it had been re-furbished, but still very old fashioned and smelled of mildew Restaurant area closed-so had to eat in the bar-full of workers-had a working men clubs vibe in the middle of nowhere Doors didn't lock on the inside in the morning the golfers could see directly into our room questionable stains on the armchair

    The view in the morning from the carpark-as we were leaving,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Started out as a search for a short stay between business meetings, turned into a mini golf break!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What started out as a search for a single night stay between business meetings, turned into a mini golf break - I didn't realise on booking but found out soon after that its OK to play the course after 6pm for no extra charge (as a staying guest). As the sun was shining, this was too good to miss - 14 holes later and enjoying a drink in the bar, I was planning another visit! The rooms are nice, spacious and clean, the staff very helpful and friendly and the full cooked breakfast next day a great way to round off your stay. I would definitely recommend this and as others have said, even if you are not a golf fan, the views are spectacular and the location very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    This is not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lounge, just a clubhouse, no proper restaurant, food is not as expected in a hotel, bought in catering packs. The shower enclosures is the old fashion 30 inch square tray, it didn't work very well land the whole. Bathroom was not very clean and the ceiling leaked when it rained! The premises is fairly isolated up a single track road of one mile or so, there is no shops, restaurants or pubs within walking distance. This is not a hotel it is a clubhouse with rooms!

    Comfy bed, good views, good breakfast, friendly staff"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Free Golf In A Beautiful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The approach lane was narrow and winding, careful motoring essential.

    Breakfast very generous, great choices. Evening meals were perfect - whether steak, sea bass or simple french stick. Golf lovers could play for free after 6pm.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: