Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grand at Trafalgar Square 4 stars

8 Northumberland Avenue, Westminster Borough, London, WC2N 5BY, United Kingdom

#360 of 1,031 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1842 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    4.0
    Big Mistake
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Business centre lounge was noisy Invaded by persons who were running a call centre and others who run their office literally I could not work in a quiet environment Some used it as a lunch place

    Nothing to write home about

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    The Grand experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things - no water bottles available in the room (something every hotel I've stayed in has offered) Flushing button in the bathroom was not in good conditions (kept getting stuck) Absolutely no view from the window

    Location was just perfect! Cleanliness was top notch Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double room was warm and tucked away which was great, but the window led out to a brick wall which was dark and a bit stifling. Nothing major though I loved my stay here!

    Location was ideal for a theatre stay and made it very easy to do all the major sight seeing. The staff were lovely and the room was very comfortable and clean. Small details were great too like lots of plugs, hairdryer, lots of towels, TV was brill- you could cast apps from your phone like Netflix and iPlayer. Check out being at 12 was useful too as with many other places it's usually much earlier. Boyds restaurant was a great treat also, the pre theatre menu was perfect and the staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful week-long business stay at the Grand
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Perfect location for business and pleasure. Front desk staff and cleaning staff are kind, courteous and seem happy in their work. Rooms are large (for London) and we’ll-appointed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.5
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the third time I stayed in that hotel (The Grand and Club Quarters really are the same hotel) in one year, and almost in the same rooms. The noise in the inner court the rooms looked to became much higher, it is almost impossible to sleep with open windows.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Easy and a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I liked it all from the welcome you get from the staff, the room, the hotel chain app it was all hassle free and pleasant definitely worthy hotel to recommend and return too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    We were there for a business award presentation at the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for a business award presentation at the venue. The staff on hand were prompt with service, food excellent. The room was fabulous and the hotel too. Very classy decor and ideal location for theatre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok. Bar at night had zero charisma or attraction. Stodgy, uninviting feel with bored bartenders. Missed opportunity to make this a great hotel.

    Fantastic location. Comfortable large clean room. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.1
    Very nice place to stay great location to get around London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming out of the hotel there were about 10 people standing on the front steps smoking!! Really not nice to have to walk through.

    The complementary water station in the corridor is very good. Comfy bed and room was very nicely decorated. We had a room on the back of the hotel although nice and quiet (no traffic) not a great view!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A. It on the high side in terms of value. If you need to check out late you have to pay for it even if it’s an hour!

    Location is amazing. Rooms are very comfy. And they have Sky sports!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location but service and information about rooms could be more consistent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Original room was very small and along a rabbit warren of corridors - we then paid for upgrade. Sexist staff who made accounts out to my male partner even though I had booked the room, and left my credit card - and continued to do so even after I twice complained. Minimal toiletries provided (not enough for two people) and not automatically restocked. Some staff helpful, but a number of times issues were not followed up. Telephone was out of order for part of the stay.

    Brilliant position. Room overlooking Northumberland Ave is good. Guest laundry and refillable water bottles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    Very dissappointing. It definitely reduced our enjoyment of a long planned break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I and my 18 year old daughter were "upgraded" to "newly refurbished rooms with great ceiling height". This turned out to be rooms with in the basement with highish celings that were required to allow some daylight in from the street level outside. We could clearly hear the underground trains passing every 5 minutes or so. Aside from the rooms being dissappointing is the way they were presented as an upgrade. I would rate this form of communication as dishonest but the meaning dishonesty seems to have been changed in recent years. In addition, there was no concierge. The receptionist said they were all effectively concierges as she recommended the adjoining pizzaria which was part of the same business and an unpopular looking restaurant over a pub across the road. That was the worst concierge service I ever received.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked some comforts, no minibar, no dressing gowns and the vending machines were poorly stocked. The mattress was new but the bed base was older and wobbly so when one person in the bed moved, the whole bed moved.

    Great location. Good size and newly redecorated room. Very clean and tidy and the marble lobby and bar/restaurant is very impressive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given didn’t have any daylight but we were moved without a problem to a slightly smaller room but it did have natural light.

    Perfect location, staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downside - mirrors - had to have the bathroom door open to use the only mirror in the bedroom which was on the back of the door - no vanity mirror on the dresser which was geared more to a desk.

    excellent location. stayed for 1 night to go to Her Majesty's theatre (5 mins walk) so didn't use any of the facilities but the bed was very large and comfy - all the staff we encountered were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were really flat. I asked for more of them, but they were equally flat. Also, depending on the exact location of your room there could be some noise related to machinery and late night service and restaurant workers dumping the trash (intermittent loud thumping noise when the bin lid shut). But a minor issue, really.

    The location is an absolute bonus. Literally by Trafalgar Square with easy access to Tube, buses, and major sites. There is free launderette on 3rd floor, access to microwave and free filtered water dispenser on each floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous. Will definitely return and recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We could not fault the hotel at all. Just wish we had spent more than one night there to appreciate the facilities.

    Fabulous location. Small double room but perfectly adequate for us. The bed was very comfortable and enabled me to have the best nights sleep I've had for ages! Staff were great...very efficient and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location for the west end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard. We had only 2 milks (one of which was use by that day) and 2 teabags plus some coffee sachets, no biscuits but there was a yoga mat in the wardrobe! You would have to stand on something to reach the safe at the top of the wardrobe. We didn’t use the restaurant as breakfast was £19.95 each. However, Garfunkels (3 doors down) does a fab full breakfast for half that, or superb eggs on toast for @ £5.

    The location is very good, just off Trafalgar Square. The room was a good size and clean. The foyer is very sumptuous and the hotel smelled lovely throughout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar closed at 23:00. No tea bags in the room. We asked for them and the staff said will bring some in a few minutes but didn't. No water at meals time, we had to asked for it, few times. No tea or coffee available for the guess.

    Poor breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall condition of the hotel needs to be addressed. It needs an infusion of money to paint peeling walls in the rooms. It was not a very clean hotel as well. Also, our TV didn't work and after three calls someone came up, but could'nt fix the problem, and for all three days no one came to repair it or even called about the problem.

    The location was excellent. They offer purified chilled water on each floor which was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Not a great experience got first trip to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was squeaky and the air confitioning was noisy all night I got no sleep, I wasn’t asked if I wanted breakfast or a meal, I am not the most confident person and found that I just sat in my room as I wasn’t given any details I went for breakfast at a next door restaurant as I hadn’t been offered anything from hotel

    It was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great! We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Resident bar closed at 11pm which was a bit early as we wanted a drink after the theatre

    Room was very spacious, well maintained, also very very clean. Air con or heating was provided. Bathroom was a good size. Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    We asked for a late check-out at 3pm, and there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a late check-out at 3pm, and there was availibility and they said they can do this with a charge!!! For only 3 hours!!! I don’t understand what they would lose if they let us do this? This is really very bad attitude for a hotel like this. People should not be after money so much, it is more important to give people some peace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Minor issues, but the radio signal was poor when listening to BBC Radio 4 and could you consider supplying adequate quantities of shower gel as the usual little bottles one receives are insufficient.

    Great location, lovely friendly staff, elegant hotel for business or pleasure! I have stayed on many occasions and will do so again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bottled water in the room (so be sure to take your own)! The bedding was a little shabby/worn out and could do with being changed.

    Staff were super friendly and extremely attentive; housekeeping and reception especially! The location is perfect for exploring London. We walked everywhere and it was so easy. Leicester square and Covent garden were 10mins away and so many more attractions within a 20-30minute walk!! Room was a good size by London standards and we enjoyed the air conditioning provided, as well as the quiet surroundings. The hotel was lovely all in all and we really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    I would defitinely stay at this hotel if returning to London for a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just wish the shower had been a different shape as I kept hitting my elbows on the angled wall when washing my hair.

    For the price, I wasn't expecting all that much, but upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Your room key card gives you access to your floor, which keeps things secure, as well as access to other amenities. The location was fantastic...literally a 2 second walk to Trafalgar Square and other notable landmarks, great restaurants and the tube. Added bonus...tons of outlets and USB ports in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing. Loved the littler area where you could fill up water by night on the corridor or get extra pillows too out in the hallway. Staff were so friendly and when I asked them for a safety pin for my dress they gave me one no problem. So clean, neat and tidy. Would defo visit again and highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    With our knowledge now, we would book again, considering our likes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room standard is below expectations, windows you can’t open, room facilities rather poor ... Breakfast is a one time only experience at an excessive rate

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The only place to stay in Central London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely NOTHING

    IIt is almost impossible to fault this hotel, they have thought of everything, even the most simplistic of things, like showers you can operate without needing a Ph.D in Water Engineering! The Grand Hotel, like it’s name suggests, was a very grand hotel in the past and this is reflected in the timber and marble facade used in the reception and communal areas. Very elegant, although the marble is a bit over-patterned for our taste. The rooms and corridor areas have been stylishly modernised. The rooms are very spacious with ultra-high 13 ft ceilings, nicely appointed with a comfortable bed, large TV and plenty of storage space. Our room did not have a fridge but one can be requested and ours was delivered in minutes. Small but adequately provisioned bathroom. Chilled water and ice available in the corridor. The Piece de Resistance is the 5.00 - 6.00 pm Happy Hour in the Club Quarter lounge where local wines and savouries are freely available. The wine choice is limited to a couple of white and red wines from a local Gloucestershire vineyard but they are very palatable and improve with increased tasting. Amir, the concierge, is multi-skilled, serving as waiter, tourist guide with directions and advice on where to get cheap theatre tickets. We did suggest that if he worked up a song and dance routine, theatre visits would be redundant, and we believe he is now in rehearsal! Location - hard to better. 50M to Trafalgar Square and the Art Galleries, 50M to a supermarket for the budget conscious, walking distance to endless theatres and restaurants and most of the London tourist icons can be visited by foot. Price - well according to the Tour Director (my wife), very competitive with anything else London has to offer for a 5 night stay. As we said hard to fault although we were not very impressed with the wall hangings ( although to be positive, having visited the Tate Gallery, they could have done much worse! VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous location in Trafalgar Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in Trafalgar Square. Great restaurants and Sherlock Holmes pub. Hotel is beautiful and has air con which was great as temperatures reached 30plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    We love the complementary water.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the complementary water. Its why we come back. Like Boyds too for an unwind drink at theend of the day and great coffee at the start of the day. Would be nice if we could have got a drink later ... bar closed at 2345 so just missed a night cap after dinner. Great hotel though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Lack of sleep and birthday spoilt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept up until gone 1 am by staff banging doors on the floor below us, it was my birthday and completely ruined our trip. The night manager was great and said he could arrange for us to move rooms, but at 1am with everything unpacked in the room it was the last thing we wanted! Very disappointed as we had been looking forward to this break for weeks.

    It was a lovely looking hotel and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location and spacious rooms. Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air-conditioning wasn't cold enough It was quite noisy The housekeeper didn't dust the room very well

    Liked the location close to the underground and Trafalgar Square Loved the free guest laundry Liked the kitchenette Liked the free chilled filtered water Matthew at the front desk was very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Would definitely not recomment this hotel. Bad value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 4 rooms for a hen party - £250 per room. Asked for a twin or queen got a small double. Bar no atmosphere and expensive. Hotel reception staff said one thing and did another. Not extra tea bags & milk supplied.....

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, one of the few central London hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, one of the few central London hotels that has rooms for 3 people. We also had a small kitchen area where we could cook simple things. It's a bit pricey but the convenience of the location made it worthwhile for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay and will visit again.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have done with a little refurbishment but was quite big and comfortable. There was a small kitchen area with a microwave, tea and coffee but no biscuits. Also the option of food being ordered via deliveroo, which is ideal for tourist with families who may not want to eat out every night and a food shop being done and left in your room. The restaurant does have set opening hours and food is not provided by the hotel out of these hours. Maybe the hotel could provide this information on booking. These are only small points to consider when staying in this hotel and are not meant as a criticism.

    This hotel is in a fabulous location. Lovely entrance. Very nice friendly staff. Food was of a good quality, restaurant and bar area very nice. We really enjoyed our stay and would have liked to stay a little longer. Will definitely stay here when we next visit London the location is brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, had an amazing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included £20 extra , be we know a great cafe on the embankment for half the price. Bar area the seats weren’t very comfy, very high stools or plastic seats. View from our room was a brick wall, but you have to expect that in London, unless you pay extra for a view.

    Clean rooms, good location near to tube stations etc..air conditioning lovely as it was so hot. Water and ice stations on each floor. Shower only in room but roomy and powerful. Massive telly, not that we actually switched it on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The property is in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a perfect location! The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was lovely! I would definitely book to stay at the property in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. Room 221 was like a cell. What should have been a square room was basically chopped in half to obviously accommodate next doors ensuite. I dont mind a small room but the shape of this room, with the door opening up onto the bed was awful and certainly not 4 star. Location is great. Nice bar. But for 200 GBP for room-only it was a very dissapointing room for a special occassion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, comfortable and spacious rooms plus very helpful staff. Couldn't have asked for more and I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in London.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    a bit short of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk didn’t quite measure up to expectation.

    Central location and in a heritage building. Close to many attractions. Plenty of restaurants are just walking distance and national gallery just on the doorstep. Hotel amenities were convenient and particularly free laundry for guests undertaking longer journey. Wifi is excellent and complimentary business or guests center to print out documents.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    Lobby looks impressive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very humid and the windows were impossible to open. Bed was huge but very uncomfortable. A lot of time spent waiting for the elevator. Overall impression from the room, that it is not what one usually gets in 4 star hotel.

    Lobby looks impressive. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A Capitol Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location, Staff and Overall Ambience was perfect. A lot of attention is paid to small details of guest comfort and isn't unnoticed. This was our first stay and will now be our destination of choice in future London trips.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel and particularly the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BOYDS restaurant....... Whatever you do, don't eat at Boyds. Food was not fresh, but we were charged for it even though it was not edible. Bad Move !!!

    The hotel and particularly the staff. All extremely friendly, helpful and obliging, specially a young man by the name of Jake (front office). Jake was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic place in the heart of London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can really think of, but then again I’m easily pleased

    The location was superb, smack bang on Trafalgar Square but without the noisiness of the nightlife, the hotel is a centralised location and Leicester Square, soho, Piccadilly and Chinatown are all within walking distance, the staff are very courteous and professional and the hotel rooms were very clean, my wife and I will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, friendly staff but room is a bit old, unrenovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interior and bathroom especially is old, unrenovated. The bathroom is small, shower curtain is too short and water floods the bathroom floor. No full amenities in the bathroom (facial cotton, cotton buds). There’s no dimmer for the bedroom lights on both ceiling and bedside tables, it’s either very bright lights and glaring or too dim.

    The hotel facade and lobby look grand, staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food at the hotel bar/café is very good - a must try is the Spicy Hot Duck Wings and the Lamp Chop! Location of hotel is excellent, just a 2 min walk from Embankment Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old and tired. Every piece of furniture was chipped or damaged somehow. The internet didn’t work well (the room was at the end of the hall) which also impacted the tv reception. Just very old and tired.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Ideal location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress who unfortunately only smiled at us when we departed, did seem to think to offer any condiments for our very good freshly cooked breakfast. When l asked she directed me to the other side of the restaurant to pick some up for myself. Whilst l realise Boyd's is not strictly part of CQ, it was where we were directed to for our breakfast. I do feel this waitress let the side down.

    Well run hotel, very clean, slept well. Particularly liked the new additions of yoga mats in the room and yoga video on the TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location if you do not have a car which I wouldn't recommend in central London anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really.

    Location says it all. Step outside into the beating heart of London and all its history. We walked everywhere to just about everything you want to see in glorious June weather. There is a plethora of eating options within a few minutes walk and easy access to public transport. On logging on to the internet late the first night I was asked what else could be done and I suggested a small bar fridge. I just turned in for the night and a knock on the door revealed a staffer with a fridge in his arms minutes later.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location and lovely restaurant and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in our room didn't work and no view whatsoever from our window - just a wall.

    great pre-theatre menu with very prompt service and delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Despite two requests they took 10 hours to refill stock of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite two requests they took 10 hours to refill stock of tea bags etc. They sent me twice up two floors to an empty cupboard. When they eventually brought tea & milk to my room, they still didn’t restock the floor guest store cupboard despite walking past open route: staggeringly poor customer service & dim thinking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    I will definitely stay there again. Room was very confortable and excellent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertise about vending machine and ice machine on the third floor but vending machine was empty and there were no ice buckets or bags in either the room or by the machine so had to bring down a glass to fill with ice.

    Great London location. Staff was very accomidating and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Location was excellent. Close to lots of food, shopping and transport. Walking distance to Trafalgar Square, West end theatres, Westminster Abbey, and the River Thames. The hotel provided chilled drinking water from a dispenser in the corridor of my floor. You can fill your own bottle or the plastic bottles they provided. Very convenient and green. Large flat screen TV with lots of channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    The Location is perfect for central London, sights and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was expensive for a room with no window (no natural daylight) which we weren't aware of at the point of booking. Also the room (320) was situated by the lifts which we could hear droning on and off all night. I would go again but only by booking the hotel directly and negotiating the room facilities. They aren't all equal! Our room should have been discounted. Our loo was also not flushing properly. We were offered a free breakfast as compensation.

    The Location is perfect for central London, sights and theatres and restaurants. The staff were helpful. The entrance is impressive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too hot (I had air conditioning at lowest setting and did not cool the room off). And the room was very small (table top ironing board, tiny closet jammed in the corner). But was comfortable.The hotel bar closes too soon.

    The room was clean. Good location at Trafalgar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel-wonderful location
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault but a bit noisy traffic because of it's central location as busy at 2 am as 5 pm.

    The staff's policy is to help as much as they can and they did. Takes security seriously

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Our room was full of dust on the windowsill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were not very friendly especially in the bar area and we had to wait some time before we got served and there was no staff willing to come to our table to get our drinks order. The wine list was extremely misleading and was over complicated to say the least. (Very expensive if you just wanted a medium cost bottle of an afternoon) The hook on the bathroom door kept falling off and the room was full of dust. We also stayed two nights and didn't get clean towels on our second night so had to reuse the towels from the night before.. Not good considering how much the hotel cost....

    Location of the hotel was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for all the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely loved the espresso martinis at Boyd's. Our bartender, Sebastian, was very friendly and outgoing.The front desk staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a wonderful stay in London which was helped by the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there is no concierge or anywhere much to sit while waiting for people we were meeting.

    The convenience and centrality of this property to everywhere we wanted to go is the main reason we would not stay anywhere else in London. Plus the availability of a free washing machine and dryer - a huge bonus for travelers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convient to London and charing cross tube! We are visiting for our daughter wedding in Westminster! Marylebone Town Hall! Just glad we had points and availabilty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in the heart of Trafalgar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed pillows were a bit firm for my taste. Breakfast in the hotel was convenient and service was excellent but it was a bit pricey for what you got.

    First, the location is excellent: just half a block from Trafalgar Square in one direction and a block from two Tube stations in the other. Easy walking to many great restaurants and attractions. The hotel is in a lovely old building but fully modernized. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and kind. The room was clean, spacious and well-equipped. Loved that they provided free chilled, filtered water and free self-service laundry on the floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were first put in a basement room that had an awful smell. However staff were helpful and changed it on request. Expensive at £200 per night

    Location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    We had the most amazing stay and would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...we couldnt fault anything

    The location was excellent...so close to the tube and local amenities....As a bonus, the bed was amazingly comfy! The facility to fill your own cold water bottle...what a great idea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at a well maintained and well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could have been better planned. Didn't notice that the shower head wasn't turned sufficiently towards the wall and therefore experienced a small flood in the bathroom, easily mopped up with towels, which were promptly replaced. Perhaps the cleaning staff could be alerted to ensure the shower head is correctly positioned after they have cleaned the room. Would have appreciated a few more tea/coffee sachets and there was no spoon, but we knew we could request whatever we needed and so it's only a suggestion, not a complaint.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grand at Trafalgar Square. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and professional. They ensured that our room requirements were met and offered help and advice when asked. We had a standard room on the back of the hotel, which was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size with a lovely big, comfortable bed.. Especially liked that there were cold water dispensers on all floors, with refillable bottles on offer. The hotel is perfectly situated for most of the top spots in London and about 5 minutes walk from Covent Garden or Embankment Station and Charing Cross mainline station. There were many options to eat nearby and a brilliant little place for breakfast called Cafeé Concerto as well as the usual chain offerings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    All the staff we encountered were really helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost for food was expensive so we ate out - but maybe it's a case of you get what you pay for or we don't get out enough?!

    All the staff we encountered were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Bedroom quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprised to find that the restaurant and bar facilities were closed for a private event and not available to paying guests

    Bedroom quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    I liked - comfortable bed, teakettle in the room, free...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like - no safe and minibar in the room (standard Queen room); at the check-in 80 pounds were blocked on my account - never experienced this before in other hotels; late check-out - only 1 hour later than check-out time - I was charged 12 pounds.

    I liked - comfortable bed, teakettle in the room, free drinking water, excellent location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, room was spacious with high ceiling, bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great.

    Location was great, room was spacious with high ceiling, bed and pillows comfortable, it was very quiet during night and I could get a good rest after a busy day, the staff was extremely friendly, breakfast room was nice, breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Central location within easy walking distance of Waterloo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location within easy walking distance of Waterloo Train Station, the Underground, and the various Theatres. Soho,China Town,West End,Liecester Square all nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location that was within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t particularly friendly during check in. Otherwise a very nice visit.

    Wonderful location that was within walking distance to everything we needed (restaurants, theaters, and tube stations). Fresh water stations with ice and clean bottles were readily available on every floor. Clean room with an extensive cable network. Good storage and amenities provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a superlative location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar should stock digestifs like Fernet Branca, Ramazotti, Jägermeister, etc. Pillows were a bit stiff for my liking.

    Superlative location. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Looking forward to completion of new restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and it was impossible to open the curtains because of the large desk filling the alcove in front of the window.

    Great location, great facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of room for value for Canadians is terrible. Very overpriced. This property is desperate in need of room renovations.

    Giuseppe at the front desk and the other staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice well maintained property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have some bottled water in the room. And they’re very strict on the check out time, I was 15 mins over time and I was called and told if I don’t get down in 5 mins I would be charged for a late checkout... struck me as a bit unnecessary, most places offer a 30 min grace time at least. But not a big deal.

    Nice well maintained property. Relatively contemporary decor. Big room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was noisy outside. Did not get any sleep. The blanket was too thin.The Wi-Fi was terrible, was unable to cast anything on the tv. Room was really Dusty which was not good at all for my allergies. Not worth the money at all.

    Lovel roccoco style ornaments on the wall. Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: