Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Swanage 3 stars

Burlington Road, Swanage, BH19 1LU, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Swanage

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We couldent fault our stay, it was perfect, the staff, food, gobsmacking views,even the cranky lift, the only thing we would say shower a bit small and water a bit slow ,but we were on the 3rd floor,which explains the water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely needs a refurb but that didn't stop us enjoying the hotel, and it was clean.

    Excellent location, views amazing, food great, lovely gardens, friendly staff, beach at the bottom of the garden steps beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea bags left in the room. Only 3 had to keep asking for more. We enjoy a cup of tea before retiring and one when we awake. We did not book an evening meal and wanted to go into town to eat. No where was serving food after 8.30

    Extremely attentive and respectful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in room 303 really need replacing the most uncomfortable sleep ever so glad to get home to my nice bed

    The location is great the facilities downstairs are all fantastic and the outside space is lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated and could with a fresh coat of paint in areas and the mattress in my room felt like it could do with being replaced. Hotel was quite hot and stuffy

    Staff were fantastic and very helpful. Asked to have a bit of birthday cake brought up with breakfast for my girlfriend and they were more than happy to do it for me. We both enjoyed our breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking.

    Great views of Swanage and the sea from the conservatory. Very good breakfasts, with the hot food being freshly cooked. Good beach bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of supplements supplied in hotel room especially of tea, coffee, milk and sugar. On the 2nd day of my stay no toilet rolls were supplied, phoned up reception to request some to be told they would be brought up to us but they were not so we didn't end up getting any till the following day. Lack of elecrical plug sockets - to plug the kettle in the only sockets they had in the hotel room were by our bedsides.

    Beautiful views, great staff, comfy room and great food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom drawer unit and the wardrobe were a little worn but minor stuff!

    Fantastic sea views - worth spend a little extra for the seaview. Really comfy beds and lovely bed linen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons! The anti pigeon wires did not deter pigeons - they sat on them! Result, we could hardly open the window, making the room too hot in sunny warm weather. Different anti pigeon measures would be a good investment! It would also help if there was a temperature (or at least an on/off) control on the bathroom towel rail - it was pumping out far too much heat on a hot day - with the window shut against pigeons!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that beds are an individual preference, some like soft, some hard. For us the bed was uncomfortable. The floor in our room cracked with every step, I feel for the guests below us.

    The location was absolutely superb, the weather didn't match. The staff were enthusiastic and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. Meats and cheese were placed on the same plate, as a veggie, this means I am unable to eat the cheese. Sorted in moments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is generally clean but is very dated. For the money we paid for the two nights I did not expect to be walking on threadbare carpets which also looked like they needed a good clean. The toilet was leaking in the bedroom which we reported but didn't seem to register with the lady on reception. I suspect she has heard it before? The furniture in our room was very dated and you were left with the feeling the whole place needs modernising. The rooms were very stuffy but you are unable to open the windows very far due to problems with the pigeons.

    The rooms were a good size, bed was comfortable. Staff were generally very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lovely tasty meal in the conservatory which was very reasonably priced. The meal was further enhanced by being able to enjoy the great view out over the sea. Lovely calm relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of some updating, decorating and general TLC in places.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, lovely location, nice garden over looking the sea with stepped access down to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room allocated (310) was small with ceiling beams in bathroom so low that at night it would be unsafe. The toilet small was bad. Could not have slept in this room. Room 309 was then given to us, but it was not clean. Dirt and dust in many places and bathroom dirt and grime unbelievable. Toilet brush brown and shower protective screen filthy dirty along the bottom. The breakfast was nothing wonderful, and indeed poached eggs were like bullets. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Very poor standards.

    The view from the hotel over Swanage Bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the shower around tempture control shower door had marks on mirrors tv mirror had not been cleaned breakfast had tin mushrooms

    Bed comfy lovely views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t enough on site parking, have to park a few streets away, the bedroom was far too hot and the pigeons (I know the hotel can do nothing about them) but they woke us up at 5am! The massage was great but we were not told we needed to pay cash and the hotel did not do cash back so had to go into town which was just a bit annoying.

    Views were amazing, location is great, food was very good and the staff were lovely! Had an on-site massage as well which was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant find a fault with this property!

    Everything! It was quiet, comfortable, amazing views, lovely garden, right on the beach and veru clean with lovely staff! Decor abit dated but i quite liked that, adds abit of character :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been room service but although advertised it wasnt possible in the afternoon. We arrived just after 2 and had hoped for a sandwich. We were told there was a beach cafe at the bottom of steep steps that was open but one of our party had a damaged knee and couldnt get down there. Probably not too good for people with mobility issues although there is a small lift in the hotel.

    The hotel is rather old fashioned but we expected this. The food was good and the staff were friendly. The furniture in our rooms was quite old but the rooms themselves were clean and comfortable. There was a tv and tea/coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a bit tired in places.

    Great location, professional staff, good service - and a big screen was installed so I was able to watch the FA Cup Final!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The double bed was not really wide enough, but that's about all.

    The staff mainly, and the view from our room was lovely. The food was cooked beautifully and there was plenty to eat. The location of hotel was great for access to the town and sea front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tired building in need of renovation and redecorating - shabby in parts and in need of a face lift and modernisation.

    Staff welcoming and accommodating - a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower took ages to warm up. We were scared of hitting our heads on the very low ceiling in the bathroom.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast and loved the view of the bay whilst eating it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does need renovation but the price is reasonable for the service, location and facilities in general.

    Excellent quiet but walkable location in Swanage with gorgeous sea views. Very traditional property and staff with charm, excellent service and good breakfast. Hotel bar and seaside lawn were lovely perks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - on balance it is the best in which we've stayed, ever@

    Fantastic young management with hands on and encouraging approach to young staff. A real Team approach. Love the balance between relative informality and the effective care of guests. Decor is well considered and being tackled on rolling programme. Then there is the spectacular sea view - eat your heart out The Haven at Sandbanks. Recuperation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor needed bringing up to date. We arrived just after 2pm after a long journey we were told that the sandwiches were not available in the bar . However room service was available 24 hours for food! The shower in the bathroom was a trickle and was an old mixer type.

    Breakfast and breakfast waiting staff were very good. The location of the hotel , looking over the bay. I had a lovely facial in the spa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the shower was too small and I could hardly turn around in it and the water was hardly warm enough for a shower. Also the fact that as soon as you entered the hotel you were hit with a heavy smell of chlorine and there was no steam room

    I liked the big room, comfortable bed and the hotel's location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were given was on the top floor in the attic!. The hot water took at least 3-5 mins to wind its way up to us. The water was lovely and hot but you could not have a shower as it was either boiling hot or cold no medium could be found, so a bath was the only option. No heating in the bathroom, a towel rail that was not on. The ceiling was low over the bed and my husband and myself kept hitting our heads on the ceiling. When we arrived and told where our room was we opened the door to find the room very very cold as the radiator had been turned off. The lift is as old as the hotel and quite frightening, so we used the stairs. The hairdryer was broken with a tiny sticker on the top telling you so. There was one in the draw. The on site parking takes about ten cars so you have to find a spot on the road. There is no hotel guest favour if you wanted the spa so if you want to try it book early. Very small and only a plunge pool.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff we met were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing Tired rooms old furniture but comfortable bedand warm

    Has a charm all of its own but plumbing poor especially over bath shower. Will be good when all modernised Staff are brilliant. Breakfast offered usual choices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to send one meal back in restaurant in the evening as undercooked. Confusion from the staff over the meal but all recompensed by free desserts

    Great view across Swanage bay. Short walk to the beach and about half mile walk to centre of town. Good freshly cooked breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large birthday party meant the restaurant couldn’t accept extra bookings on the Friday night.

    The poached haddock with poached eggs was excellent for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially looked as if the dining was full and we might not be able to eat in (a lost minute booking) - but they did fit us in.

    all the staff were friendly and helpful - noticeably so - added to the general atmosphere in a very positive way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool closed 7pm 9pm as Friday much better for Saturdays. No heating bathroom towel rail not working.

    Good location nice room lovely views over town and hillsides.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most provincial seaside hotels this once grand house is looking tired, the decor is very dated and shabby, the rooms with a sea view show Swanage bay with views towards Peveril point

    Breakfast was ok, not too much choices for continental breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot of Parking available but we reserved as a blue badge holder.

    We had a Family room, nice large double bed. Plenty of space in room. Good size bathroom. The room faced road /car park, we expected it to be noisy but it was very quiet. Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice. Staff all very friendly. Great location & nice walk along side beach to town, app 10 mins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The remote control didn't work on TV properly -had to switch on and off at wall. The window was left open and blew wide open , thus tearing the net curtain I meant to get staff to note that down.

    The view from breakfast bar and conservatory in evening. Use of swimming pool and I joined in the yoga class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like anything about the hotel. Our room was over the lobby ...it was noisy...our car had to be parked on the road... the bed was terrible and bathroom smelled. We paid the same price at the pines and it was clean food was great and staff amazingly attentive and helpful. Would never go to the Grand again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited. The overbath shower badly needed replacing, probably whole bathroom in need of an update. Background music at breakfast irritating.

    Location was superb, we really enjoyed sitting in the conservatory lounge. Hotel had a great atmosphere, reminiscent of a bygone era! Staff were lovely. Food delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food in the restaurant was overpriced for what we had, we felt. Disappointed no wheelchair access to gardens,

    Beautiful room overlooking sea, very clean and comfortable. Staff outstanding - incredibly kind, helpful and caring. Good location. Couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room (111), one of the radiators wasn't working and it was cold weather during our stay. A hook behind the bathroom door would be handy to hang dressing gowns on.

    The beds were very comfortable and dinner and breakfast over the 3 days were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many children in the pool... Also don’t leave dinner late... the restaurants in the area close early.

    Setting was beautiful... listened to the sea all night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    could do with a bit of an update, but again I must stress that it was not unpleasant in any way.

    This was as expected for a 3*. No frills but nice enough and value for what you book.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom needing updating - slow toilet fill. Lounge would benefit from easy chairs - more relaxing.

    Comfy bed . Amazing sea views from bedroom windows. Great conservatory with great views for a meal, to just relax and for drinks. All the staff were courteous and helpful. Spa facilities a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking very limited- had to park on narrow road Tired building Heating not working in conservatory area where we are (February) In fixing this the plumber had to enter my room above, waking me from a relaxing nap Staff got booking and price wrong- but did correct it on challenging Picture of swimming pool highly misleading. I could probably touch each end width wise at the same time! Didn’t bother trying to prove this as there was no space!

    Lovely views and great location for Swanage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its great, the staff are very friendly and its so relaxing. We go at least twice a year. My 11 year old daughter loves the pool, table tennis and quick access to the beach. We spent Sunday morning doing her homework looking out to sea. It doesn't get better that that for a dad and daughter weekend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple but effective hotel. Loved the old Victorian feel. Most amazing views. Twin room with a sea view was an excellent room. Food was lovely and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had mould round the windows curtains stained wallpaper peeling away from walls bathroom was dirty with visible stains in toilet whole building smelled of Chlorine from swimming pool in basement and we were staying on 3rd floor

    Receptionist who checked us in was lovely and really helpful - two young men serving in bar in later evening provided a good level of service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were bright and very comfortable. The beds were so comfortable. The foyer was warm and inviting. The views of the bay from the conservatory were amazing and beautiful. The staff were kind and courteous. All in all.....a fantastic weekend!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was inadequate causing guests to have to park quite a distance from the hotel Room was substandard Food was poor quality for what they are charging

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hit head on eve of roof that was above bed

    All staff friendly and helpful. Room available and allocated on early arrival Unprompted offers of additions and top ups at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our top floor room's shower was useless. Water dripped out and the shower itself obviously hadn't been serviced/modernised for years. I defy anyone to get a proper shower. Suggest anyone requests a room with a decent shower.

    Warm, comfortable bed and excellent staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is fine for toddlers and parents. Not large enough for adults.

    Position of the hotel was excellent for views. Lovely dining room and conservatory aspects.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was aweful car park was far too small for a hotel that size.The bedroom was so old and tired and freezing cold it should have at least been warm on arrival.The bathroom remained freezing for the stay.

    The breakfast and evening meal were good.Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was fine

    Lovely hotel service very good, my grandson loved the swimming pool and the table tennis, we enjoyed our stay we definitely will return soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom for our room was a let-down, water pressure on the shower wasn't good, and needs an update or a re-arrange...

    Service in the restaurant was brilliant, very conscientious and attentive, were really there for you. Food too was very nice indeed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacey, but some of furniture a bit dated, door to bathroom just cheap looking door ( not matching with entrance door nor clothes cupboard . What I missed was some clothes hooks to hang up my wet coat as coming into room. Shower head was not holding up any more, bathroom was a bit tight. Plastic cups for toothbrushes a bit “cheap” and unpractical, as soon I stood my toothbrush in it fell over, hence didn’t use it. Would suggest proper glasses, also would mean less plastic and would fit more for Grand Hotel. To sum up: great room, could be done up a bit to make it a bit livelier .

    Room was great with a view over sea. Comfortable. Two armchairs! Bed comfy. Breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in room 206 was looking a little tired but it didn't detract from our pleasure.

    The staff were very courteous and helpful. The sea views, both out to sea and across the bay towards Swanage itself were spectacular; who could get bored of those views especially as you can watch the sun come up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed many times before. Now they seem to be penny pinching. Heating wasn't on in room when we arrived and room was freezing. Had to turn radiator on ourselves. Bathroom towel rail had to be turned on, needs bleeding as only warm at the bottom. Breakfast room on Monday morning unacceptably cold. Breakfast not as good as it used to be. Drinks very expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was too small, toilet cramped with loo roll situated above and behind right shoulder, shower was not easy to control or turn off. Menu was limited, with not a lot of choice, and portions seemed small for the price. Car park had few spaces, and was restricted by the need to leave vehicle access to attached flats.

    The view over Swanage and the sea, friendliness of staff (even though understaffed and under pressure). Enjoyable walk into town. Easy to find using satnav. Good breakfast, Wine was reasonably priced and dinner well cooked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was slightly lacking 5 stars. The heater in the bathroom didn’t work therefore it was freezing. When we woke up in the morning there seemed to be some kind of damp problem. There was water running down the walls. Multiple damp patches on the ceiling.

    We loved there were leisure facilities. The hotel was clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not your fault but young children running about making a noise in the bar area while trying to have a quiet drink after a busy day. Rooms very tired looking,in need of updating. Small thing but annoying ....no teaspoon on tray in room. Some doors need oiling,again a small thing but a squeaky door outside your room is annoying. A personal thing but mattress too hard for more than one night.

    Very nice evening bar meal....good value for money. Very impressive breakfast and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the bedroom carpet might have been cleaner- the room was otherwise spotless I hasten to add- a very clean bathroom for example.

    Swimming in the pool was so relaxing. The garden and beach was fantastic as were the views. The staff get it right; they balance helpfulness with giving you privacy so you can truly relax. We would have liked to stay longer than three days and I think we'll return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was perfect - no changes necessary!

    Fabulous stay - room clean and comfortable - fell asleep to the sound of the waves, staff friendly and helpful, stunning view of beach, great food, short walk along beach to town. Perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room with sea view wonderful and comfortable. Staff very helpful & friendly. Breakfast & Evening meal excellent. Would stay again. Carole

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was rubbish , took 20 minutes for hot water , no power at all . Toilet flush didn't work . Tv to small for the size of the room .

    Lovely breakfast lots of chose

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to mention that they were having work done on the outside and scaffolding blocked the windows ! So don’t pay extra for a view room till you check with them ! They claim it’s already discounted but I dispute that . See photo

    The location is stunning right in the coast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a little love but to be honest part of its charm was its old and unique and sort of vintage.

    The staff at breakfast were very attentive and the breakfast itself was yum! Bed was comfy. Lovely location as you could walk into town of an evening. Near enough to Corfe and Lulworth also. It was warm and comfy and I liked sitting by the fire downstairs having a drink in the eve. Would return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of parking meant we had to park in the street a few minutes walk away, a problem for my husband who is disabled. The room was small, with a cramped layout. Also it was very warm with no way to make it cooler, even having the window open all night in November did not seem to make much difference! The bed was very hard, so we did but sleep well.

    Friendly staff and the great view of Swanage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room next to the lift quite noisy. There is scaffolding at the rear, so your sea view is not very good. Did not stay in the sea view room because of that.

    The location is excellent right overlooking the beach. Short walk into Swanage. Can’t comment on the food because we missed breakfast both days we were there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old shabby,run down,scruffy, outdated decor,carpets, furniture. Our room was a mixture of old tatty furniture. It was dirty, dusty, dull. Light bulb was broken, radiator broken. Tv too small. Bathroom/toiler was tiny, dirty around the floor, tap broken, damp patches on ceiling.Shower very scruffy.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workmen started work outside our room extremely early and one morning started taking the scaffolding down first thing.decor a bit dated but extremey clean and comfy

    Staff very friendly and helpful, lovely views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough parking space I didn't like the bathroom, decoration (floor and wall) made me think more of my grandmother bathroom than a 3 star hotel.

    Breakfast with view on the sea Spa pool Nice staff Well decorated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Inadequate car parking. Poor breakfast. Meals not hot. Scaffolding in front of windows. Cramped room with sea view. Dreadful showers. Misrepresentation on website.

    Good sea views and beach access albeit via steep and long stairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking spaces.

    very comfortable bed, room perfect. Staff at breakfast were lovely and so polite. As I was on my own I felt comfortable and well looked after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking was a nightmare despite ringing to check beforehand there is very limited parking available and none when we arrived. Had I been on my own this would have made my stay impossible. The facilities and decor badly need updating the shower in the bathroom was poor. The lift in the building interesting!

    The views were really good but obscured by scaffolding erected to repair exterior of building. The carvery on Sunday was a delight, and the staff on the whole were very helpful. Nice big lounge area but some seating needs improvement.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is tired and could do with updating. The pool/jacuzzi/shower area definitely needs updating. The staff did not seem happy; not one smiled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding. We chose this hotel as it offered a room with a sea view, which we paid extra for. I spoke to the hotel a couple of weeks before our arrival, I said that having a room with a sea view was my main reason for making the booking. They didn’t mention scaffolding. I got am email the week before our trip to say there would be scaffolding up. Too late for me to find any alternative accommodation. This hotel has been seriously neglected, everything is tired and dirty. The “leisure suite” is particularly unpleasant, showers were horrible, area around the jacuzzi filthy. In our bathroom, (110) the door (cheap preprimed but not even painted) had no lock. On the window cill outside room 205 there were 4 pidgeons nesting, obviously been there for a very long time. The huge piles of guano prevented the windows opening, really disgusting and I’m sure a health hazard. The receptionist was most unhelpful when we asked for advice regarding parking and somewhere to lock up bikes, just a shrug of the shoulders to say there is nowhere. Unripe fruit green bananas, melons and watermelon on offer at the breakfast buffet. Springs in the mattress that ping at you in the night. I could go one but I won’t.

    Some of the waiting staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: