Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Grand Hotel 3 stars

Swainson Street, Hartlepool, TS24 8AA, United Kingdom

#11 of 14 hotels in Hartlepool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 637 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Only if you must
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV didn't work; limited opening of windows made room airless; residents lounge closed and only a tacky sports bar to drink in; parking limited;

    Large room, central location, good wi-fi and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very hot, then middle of night very cold, very noisy with the sports bar downstairs, room tatty and aged not very well maintained at all. Only food option in hotel is Indian restaurant. think the site photos were taken 30 years ago as looks nothing like it does in the pictures!! Not worth £76.50 a night! Breakfast very poor

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory, limited by the room tremperature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room itself was good, the room was on the top floor and the ambient temperature was high, and the weather humid. The windows were restricted in opening and thus it was very hot in the room itself. Not a major issue for 1 night but I would not have stayed on the same floor for more thya one night in those conditions unless the windows were released to open further.

    Room was fine, parking straightforward and adjacent hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Not for a relaxing, quiet stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed room was old and dirty, very dusty smell, the bed was old and hard, and very hot even at 10pm. The area was very run down, had to park my car opposite using the Jobcentre car park for free and carry luggage across.

    The bathroom and shower clean, large, bright and airy and the water pressure was great. The bed linen was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    A disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for suite but disappointed - tired and dated with none of the extras (or attention to detail) you would expect for a premium room. This was the hotel we had our wedding reception in over 30 years ago and sad to see it rather run down

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Check in needs to be improved car parking unclear and unmanned reception
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds didn't fully fit windows and a lot of light still crept in. Room was too hot although fan provided too noisy to use to goto sleep

    Nice large room ( executive)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    this was a average hotel, if you are going to place pictures, please make them accurate to the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had up graded to a Executive Room, from seeing the pictures of the room, but when we arrived the room was nothing like the picture, The bathroom also was nothing like the picture either, the slower was very poor, the bath had a big chip out of it, this was a average hotel, if you are going to place pictures, please make them accurate to the rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely room would have probably returned until we realised we had no running water absoulte joke in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water throughout our stay. Meaning we couldn't use the jaccuzzi bath or shower. One of the main reasons we booked the hotel.

    The room was lovely, very big and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Awful. Don't go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful experience. Upon check in met with cigarette smoke and filth from a wedding. No staffs on Reception. Poor facilities. Room had no air conditioning & window opened an inch. Radiator was on and no control to turn off. Smelt damp. Won't recommend and would never return.

    Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the Sports Bar, too noisy and lacked atmosphere.

    Breakfast was excellent. Hot buffet even had really tasty sausages. The Indian restaurant downstairs was very good indeed, a very tasty meal freshly cooked and hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disliked most of our stay. Made this known to hotel staff and nothing was done about it. Shower was shocking, no tv remote. Dirty towels and carpet

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was a good choice for our needs
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside area for sitting

    Staff were very friendly and helpful Bedroom was spacious and beds were comfy Last minute booking as previous property let us down

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    very disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Web site shows some refurbished rooms but mine was far different. The whole hotel was obviously once a magnificent building but is now greatly in need of major refurbishment. There were parts in need of basic repair. On the outside there were weed growing out from the paths and the entrance was strewn with cigarette ends

    The croissants had just come out of the oven.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfasts but everything else was shoddy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, poor lighting in it. Having to walk through crowds of smokers to get to the main entrance. No heating in the room. Hubby couldn't use shower or bath as there were no handrails to help him. Shower not working properly. Parking isn't free. In-room tv is tiny. We stayed for three nights but only received toiletries for one night so had to ask for more. Same towels throughout stay. Lift took us to the wrong floor three times. A beautiful building sadly in need of urgent repair in places. The view from our window was of a filthy, litter strewn kitchen yard containing old mattresses and an open kitchen bin.

    Great breakfast and room size. Lady on reception on our last night was superb and found us an electric heater and some toiletries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed the night after a wedding .... the room was really nice but..not much sleep as the noise down below in the street was really bad ... ... so no sleep ... other than that ..food was fab...

    the building is fantastic ...with character..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to pay for early check in. Booking. Com price more expensive than booking direct. Mouldy bread in the breakfast basket. Unpleasant smell in the hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    It was disgusting and Shame on Best Western for having their name on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was shoddy, incredibly noisy all throuh the night. In a very rough area and parking was available but only between 6pm to 8 am!

    We received a discount on our bill after the plumbing didnt flush and the water was cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very comfy , central and laid back hotel , would certainly return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an Indian restaurant in the basement, which meant the hotel constantly smells of curry !

    Bed was very comfy . Staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help ! Thank you !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and tatty. Didn’t enjoy breakfast in the sports bar, tables sticky from last nights beer, put me off eating anything. Best Western need to invest some money into this property. Definitely need to drop the word Grand from the name 🙁

    Ideal situation and Reasonably clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Social visit
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walk in shower in bathroom with no fan extraction or window to open. No residents bar sports bar only open. Beds añd pillows uncomfortable.

    Staff pleasant. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    WORST WESTERN GRAND HOTEL. Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a single bed. No information on what numbers on the telephone dial-ed reception or security etc. The hotel does not have its own car part and uses a council building car park that is not secure. The heating in the room did not work and my bathroom got flooded. Very early in the morning i was woken up by noise coming from the bathroom and to my absolute shock I was met with water pouring from the ceiling above from several spots in the ceiling and the light fixture down on the floor of my bathroom. I quickly ran downstairs to reception and they came back up five minutes later with a lot of towels to lay on the floor and they told me they had asked the guest in the room above mine to stop showering. I wasn't offered a change of room or a discount for my discomfort. I will not be staying there AGAIN!

    The location was good, close to the Middleton Mall and not far from supermarkets like Morrisons and ASDA

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.3
    Poor nights sleep too hot/dripping tap and noisy in the street outside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot - all radiators on full heat on a warm day - No aircon and the standalone fan did not work - could not open the windows as the wind kept blowing them closed - tap in bathroom would not turn off properly - very noisy in the street outside shouting and swearing and this was on Monday night!

    Large room - good check in and out at reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slamming doors early in the morning while still in bed this time roughly about 7.30 - 8.30, which woke us up.

    Staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you, thank you so much for a lovely and enjoyable stay, this hasn't been my first time staying here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was directly above the venue downstairs where there was a wedding, extremely loud...just assumed that the hotel wouldn’t place non-wedding guests that close to the function room

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    I was not expecting a nice view as we where in the centre of town but It was dreadful
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the property was discussing very dirty full of rubbish including old mattresses supermarket trolley over full bins and kitchen staff sitting on dirty steps smoking needless to say we did not eat at the hotel.

    The room was ok but a very strong smell of curry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    I have stay at this hotel a number of times. I also find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choose.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was chipped, shower wasn’t very powerful and was rips in the carpet in the executive room. It’s nowhere near as good as the executive suite, If I’d of known I’d of definitely paid the extra for the suite as I’ve stayed in the suite before.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    The Grand is no longer GRAND.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is inadequate, not secure and not within hotel's grounds. The bed was just a solid base without any "give" and the pillows were lumpy and appallingly uncomfortable. The gulls scream all night long. I had NO sleep

    Helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Good breakfast. Good coffee. Great facility in basement, Mombai Indian restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    not pleasent.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean. someone else's chewing gum in bin. Carpet threadbare. Sports bar was not very nice. Hotel noisy. Shower did not work properly only a trickle of luke warm water. remote control covered in food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Total sham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get to stay there. 5 mins before we were due to check-in I received a call informing me our room was no longer available due to weather damage to the property and we were booked into the local Travelodge. This was a major disappointment as we were booked for an executive room with breakfast and ended up in a very basic, small budget room. Our booking had been placed well in advance and to be informed 5 minutes before checking in is to me far too short notice. We had chosen the Grand as we have stayed there previously and was an ideal location. The hole experience spoilt our weekend, that had been planned for weeks previously.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 time I have stayed and Iv been put in the same room every time. It’s very noisy room as it’s surua at the front of the building so I got about 2 hours sleep

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Wedding was beautiful, but wouldnt recommend staying at the hotel.
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rude staff and the fact that 20mins before arriving to the wedding, the staff called us and asked if we still wanted our room... on arrival we were then told they had moved us to a travel lodge due to maintenance. They had known about this problem from the previous days, but waited until the ceremony to inform us.

    The wedding itself was beautiful and the food was delicious - it was a great day and night!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Me and my partner were visiting relatives in the Hartlepool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner were visiting relatives in the Hartlepool area and came across the best western hotel..the pictures on your website looked good and thought with the well known name of the best western we would stay here. As soon as we entered the room we could feel the cold in the room,there’ was no heating on and phoned reception who came and provided a little heater,this heater had no affect what’s so ever.A polite chap came to the room and offered us another room which was next door,we had to pack our bags and moved into the littler room .We were promised a double bed by the time we got back from our night out as it had two single beds,we thought by the time we came back from our night out with relatives the room would be warm and a double bed would be in there.When we arrived back the two beds were pushed together and the cold was unbearable,we managed two hours sleep and woke up nearly falling in between the gap in the middle of beds,tI think with a well known hotel to be performing like this is very poor and we will be waiting for a reply to our complaint also the bathroom was so cold unable to shower with no heating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    It was a massive and beautiful hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't happy with the bath room we stayed in room 317 it was abit on the small side and the bath tub wasn't very nice it had chips out of it at first I thought it was hair it was that bad

    It was a massive and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.8
    Terrible! Hotel from hell. The whole place was like a sauna,.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating stuck on full in several rooms wit no windows to open. It was like sleeping in a sauna. Asked for another room and the only on available was having the bathroom refurbished, so no shower or bath. Everyhting was a bit tired and substandard - finishings around the bath, heating systems, carpets and lift. Conference rooms too hot and unable to turn the heating down. Not enough car-parking, even though I had reserved it. Bar in the hotel very rough and ready. No hot water in the morning, lift door slammed on my arm and there was a fire alarm to boot. Reception and bar under-staffed. Manager did nothing about my complaints on the first day and didn't even complete an accident report after the lift door cut a bruised my fore-arm. I really cannot reccommend this hotel.

    The only saving grace were the Reception staff who were really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Cold, dated. No hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised that we were not offered breakfast at all. The sports theme bar and Indian restaurant seemed to clash with the theme of The Grand Hotel. Whole place was dated, tired, cold and had an untidy or shabby feel to it. Any sound from inside every room was audible in the corridor. No hot water for a shower.

    The room was large and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and room wasnt all bad

    I liked the room but bed was uncomfy bathroom was a bit small but was ok and the people in room beside us could here there tele and was a bit loud

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    Not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite we had booked was terrible room 101. Settee was ripped in several places. Bathroom floor had silver fish running around. Generally a very poor accommodation experience for over £100 a night. Fighting and police on arrival. Complained at the time to reception regarding the room. No where else that was nicer to put us as we had a suite. The standard was not acceptable.

    Restaurants down the marina we’re lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Bedrooms and staff are great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and evening choice of meal was awful. Nothing except paninis or sandwiches that too an hour to make? Let’s the hotel down .

    Bedrooms and staff are great. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    Will not be returning again. On business travel ability to have a shower is the key!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not hot water, like warm day and night. Rang reception who told me that’s never happened before and she will check their boiler. In the morning still no hot water

    Room was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel fab. The Mumbai restaurant is vile
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried the Mumbai restaurant, the food was tasteless and a waste of money. The staff in the restaurant was not helpful one bit. There was 8 of us that ordered and the staff took 8 full plates of curry and the managers reply was that he had tasted the food and it was fine to him!! No apology or anything so people avoid at all costs!! There's a lovely Chinese called Jumbos in the town go try that if you are staying in Hartlepool.

    This was our 2nd time staying here. The rooms was lovely as usual. And friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    was ok but could be better
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was cold as heater didnt work and within 3 ngts stay radiators were never on. also kept getting locked out off room as key wouldnt turn

    staff were always there when required

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    heartly staff in hartlepool
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    surprised after asking for a long term rate (up to 6 weeks) I was given a rate twice that I could find on line. ended up staying in neighbouring towns and cities for same price and with breakfast

    staff were nice and the room I was in was nice and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfy but not a nice place for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi offered. Dated room. Massively overpriced. Ive stayed in loads nicer in better places in the country for less. 110 pound a night????

    Staff spot on. Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Value for money - however you get what you pay for!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty run down. I had a horrible smelling room. Musky ceiling and water damage to a ceiling and a wall in my room. Couldn't move as hotel was full. However for the second night I was given another room, but received very little in the way of an apology.

    Location and Staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately shabby and run down. Not grand at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fairly run down. Wifi in room didn't work. Neither did the TV remote. Shower didn't drain so I had to stand in a bath of cold water. Parts were quite dirty. Blinds were falling down. Horrible smell throughout hotel.

    Bed was comfty and clean as were bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    It's a good business trip type of hotel. It would probably be god for a city visit too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd like a blind on the bathroom window - I felt sort of exposed! The heating went off and the room was a little cold - I didn't bother to complain - I'm sure they'd have done something about it if I had.

    The rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Great location... Be prepared for the hotel to take full payment without your knowledge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it took the full payment when I had chosen to pay at the hotel.. This meant it took money from a card I was not prepared for, which incurred Extra fees. Am very jnimpo;know

    It's perfect location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath was in the description of the room I booked an we didn’t have a bath, I went down to reception to ask for a change of room, we got a room change and still no bath but over than that it was a good stay.

    The room was lovely and very large. The bed was comfy and everything was in immaculate condition.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable without being anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Televisions in this hotel are too small for the size of room. The table in the room was very small and cluttered, considering how much space there was.

    Good nights sleep. Good attentativeness from breakfast staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, friendly staff, clean and pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi in the bathroom did not work at all, when asked the question the staff were not very apologetic and just said they would look into it. There was also only lukewarm water. Since then we ve heard nothing.

    Nice location, friendly staff, clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    Bathroom terrible
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 10 pound to check in early however I spent the full Hour swapping rooms as the bathroom was terrible I had a shower and the water would drain away and a load of muck filtered up through the plug this was room 204 I complained and moved to room 205 same problem so eventually moved to room 307 this room was fine I’m annoyed at the fact all the carry on at the start wasn’t offered a refund for early check in I was meeting friends at 2 by then I was hot flustered and sweating definitely etly not a relaxing start to my day!

    Help full staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Excellent overnight stay, we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    King size bed, excellent shower. Ordered a coffee in the bar which tasted of coffee and not hot water, which came with a free packet of biscuits.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.3
    The staff was rude and the stay was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the pictures The bathroom flooded from other peoples stool and we had to move rooms but waited an hour just to move was awful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Below standard for a Best Western!!! And give the restaurant 'Mumbai' a miss.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was luke warm, décor tired, on-site restaurant left a lot to be desired, bland food! Bar shut at 11.10 p.m . Breakfast swimming in grease.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Room was at the front of the hotel so a bit noisy even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could do with a fridge, safe, extra sockets and the bathroom needed a shower assembly/screen.

    Room was at the front of the hotel so a bit noisy even though i had requested a quiet room which was disappointing. However the breakfast was superb and very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Value for money in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi poor/non existent, so check before you unpack if this is important to you, some rooms better than others I'm told.

    For £36 a night difficult to fault, room was clean, quite spacious and recently refurbed with ensuite bathroom. Parking across the road for an additional £3.00 a day. Sports Bar, looked bright and welcoming and Indian Restaurant on site although didn't use either. Town centre location but surprisingly peaceful (I stayed on a Monday night). Taxi rank outside for ease of travelling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sports bar is really good and the Indian restaurant downstairs is wonderful food. Breakfast is served to order and all the staff are so friendly and welcoming

    The location is really good near to some location pubs, restaurants and and an excellent location for walking to Victoria Park

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Good, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a central location, close to shops. We had a spacious room on the top floor. The staff were friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel with excellent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a great hotel. Reception staff were excellent and I really appreciated their suggestion to take advantage of a free upgrade to an executive room away from the conference hall where a Christmas party was taking place. Room facilities were really good with a well stocked coffee/tea/biscuit tray and a full sized kettle. I would definitely stay here again. The location is good - right in the centre of the town within walking distance of the main shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, a little tired in places but being 100 plus years old it is no big deal.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No overhead shower in room 317, stood in bath with hand held shower is awkward at best!

    Large, comfortable, warm rooms. Good supply of tea, coffee etc in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Not great, I wouldn't recommend and won't be returning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedroom I booked was a suite and although there was plenty of space, the room itself was quite grubby, wallpaper coming away from the walls, broken tiles on the bathroom floor, stained and messy carpet (which wasn't hoovered all week - I stayed 5 days). Toilet flush didn't work properly, shower was poor. The room smelled of cooking, which I think was attributable to the fact my room was above and fairly near the indian restaurant they have on site. Also noisy due to the sports bar below (again on site)

    Friendly staff, good location, easy to find, nice selection of fruit for breakfast and the option of having cooked breakfast too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value/ opposite to my meeting in the morning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating not working small heater provided never the same Windows facing inside the building litter and materials seen from the bathroom No curtains or blinds in the bathroom

    Indian restaurant in the basement very good Amstil larger in the sports bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Couldn't afford to stay there when I lived in Hartlepool but would stay there again when I return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apart from the easy chair in the room, there was nowhere quiet where one could sit in the evening and relax. There is a bar but there are sports showing on the TVs and most of the furniture is pub furniture and not so comfortable for long periods.

    The location is central to the town, with the Marina a short drive or 10 minute walk away. A large shopping centre is opposite the hotel and, if you don't fancy walking, or driving, there are bus stops outside

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was directly above function room music so loud the room was shaking went on until 1am staff not helpful or sympathetic at all. Complete waste of money as had travelled for work purposes very very disappointed

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Hotel was in a good location, breakfast was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking, we had to park opposite the Hotel and resulted in our car being damaged quite badly.

    Hotel was traditional but clean and comfortable. Nice spacious rooms with high ceilings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    Nevet again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room. Freezing cold room on arrival. No one told me to press the down arrow button for the lift to go up... stood for ages waiting until I asked if lift in operation. A simple sign would help as I saw many other guests press the up button and wait until I told them! Taxis took around an hour when you said from the hotel but not elsewhere so must be a problem at hotel. Disgusted with the manager telling me he could get on wifi in the room making me feel it was my fault yet his colleague told me the hub does not reach my room 10 min before! I was then asked to wait a further 20 minutes in the cold reception. In total about 2 hours wasted and I had a lot of work to do including Skype calls I missed dialling into through delays. I therefore checked out and booked into the Travelodge which had great staff and all facilities they advertised such as working wifi and the standard expectation of a heated room.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Below par
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was enormous and the bed felt tiny. The hotel is old and tired. My main issue was that it looked nothing like the images online. Our ‘superior room’ wasn’t very superior at all. The deluxe king bed was 2 singles pushed together.

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value. Great staff. Great location for what we needed. Needs better choice of spirits and cask ales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the hotel wasn't well stocked. Very busy too. But was ok.

    Great location. Big ceilings. Rooms ok. Very warm! Stayed in 219. Was away from the lift and there was some noise from the main road but just put ear plugs in and slept like a baby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    My stay was very restful and as I had imagined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I had control over the temperature in the room. I wanted it to be a lot warmer than it was.

    The bed was very comfy, and the temperature in the room was well managed even though I thought it was too low for me most of the time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Perfect staff !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect staff !!! Nice comfortable beds good size rooms very clean Breakfast perfect good variety Nice large bar with a variety of games and big screen tv for football etc Again the staff are so polite and helpful always got a smile on their face Couldn’t ask for much more Thanks again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Good central location in the town. Decent rooms very clean and value got money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a sewage problem when we 1st checked in but we're offered another room straight away.

    Great size of room and comfy bed. Staff very helpful especially night porter Frank I think his name is.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable staybut disappointed in customer service regardingmy phone charger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there were insufficient towels. However, this was solved in 5 minutes. I left my phone charger in the room and was promised a call back. This did not happen. I have rung back today.

    The bed was really comfortable. We had a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    It's comfortably and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in general was a bit tired, could do with an update. We didn't sleep well because our room was in the main road, the traffic and constant noise of people shouting was on all the time. Probably because it's Friday night, people are out drinking and partying.

    Big room, bed was comfy and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    A historic railway built hotel (1899) which has been brought up to modern standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar had no cask beers but the railway station did.

    I could open my bedroom window for a good night's sleep. The chef got in some kippers for one of my breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: