Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Greyhound Coaching Inn 3 stars

9 - 11 Market Street, Lutterworth, LE17 4EJ, United Kingdom

#7 of 7 hotels in Lutterworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On bookings says they have parking They don't its a public pay and display Carpark So a little false and untrue you have to be up before 7.00 am to put money in

    Nice place Friendly Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Value for Money Great Friendly Staff accomodation was very comfortable & clean with good b/fast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that could have made the stay any better.

    Friendly staff a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings, room was very clean and tidy and comfortable. Breakfast was really very good, No negative comments all was good and would book again without any hesitation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    A nice place, nice room, good staff and an OK meal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice place, nice room, good staff and an OK meal. Located right in the middle of Lutterworth. They also laid on a packed lunch for me because I was leaving early and would miss breakfast, which was a really nice touch and it was quite a nice, simple packed lunch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great location, super friendly staff and great food!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is a public pay and display and we thought ticketing didn’t start until 9am on Monday so ended up with a ticket. You just need to remember to feed the meter at night if you want a lie in.

    We were in Lutterworth for a festival at Stanford Hall and stayed at the hotel for a long weekend. It’s a very convenient location about 10 mins from the motorway, only around 15 mins from Rugby station and a great base to explore the area. The rooms were comfortable and clean but what really sets this hotel apart is the friendliness of everyone who works there from receptionists to the bar staff and restaurant team to the housekeepers. We have to give a special mention to the lovely Scottish chef (The Original Will Smith) who stayed late after his shift had finished on Sunday night to cook dinner for us because he couldn’t bear to turn us away to eat elsewhere. Good for us that he did because the food is delicious! We chose to eat from the pub menu although we sat in the restaurant and this was no problem. The menu offered a good range of classic British favourites, which were perfectly cooked and excellent value for money. I haven’t eaten pub food this proper since I left left Yorkshire for London 20 years ago! We ate dinner twice and the cooked breakfast and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. There was a nice buzz in both the restaurant and the bar and it seemed very popular with both guests and locals. The wine list is also extensive and again, very good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    A great find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were exceptional I have never stayed anywhere where the staff were anywhere nearly as helpful as the staff at the greyhound was, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great value for money, hot clean and tasty. I would 100% recommend it and will defiantly stay there if I am in the area again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    On this visit - poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the adjoining room is an internal one with an extractor fan (we know because we've stayed in it) - everytime one of the occupants in the other room turned the light on to use the bathroom the fan went off until and it was so noisy that it was impossible to get to sleep until they did. As a direct consequence of this we overslept and woke up at 9.02am - I immediately called reception to ask/beg them to allow us to have breakfast but I was told in no uncertain terms that breakfast finished at 9 and everything had been put away. The only redeeming factor was that the manageress gave us a discount and assured us that we should have been offered at least a slice of toast Just such a pity as here was a sign outside offering breakfast until 10am and then 'elevensies' from 10-12.. we left with a really bad taste in our mouths and this certainly wasn't the full english that we'd hoped of.

    We booked the four poster room as a treat for my husband's birthday as we have stayed here many times before and loved it. We have previously stayed in the blue four poster room and this time got the other one (red as I don't remember the actual room number - either 2 or 3). The room was really lovely with a comfortable bed (only double rather than king I believe). All was great until we tried to get to sleep. Continued below....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, we were in family room number 16, great space, only down side was very creaky floor boards, but would recommend and stay there again, great selection at breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    We really wanted to like it but just couldn't and will not return to this hotel/inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very disappointing for the money really (two nights for £210 B&B). Small room, NO wardrobe (just a few hangers on a wooden base mounted on the wall), one bedside table only, bedside lamp on the single bedside table old with a flickering light, double bed not really suitable for a tall person as it had a wooden board at the bottom. The room decor tired and shabby with paintwork knocked in many places. The paint in the bathroom is not just on the walls but has also been applied on some of the steel fittings. Some lights on the ceiling have been replaced by a different style but no effort has been made to hide the shape of the previous fittings. The shower screen is badly fitted, water leaks everywhere and the floor gets soaked. Unfortunately there were some plumbing issues during the weekend with no hot water in a few rooms - some guests were moved to different rooms. Leaks of water and brown liquid developed from upstairs through the bathroom ceiling soaking our bathroom towels on the towel rail and creating a puddle on the floor. We did get a very small discount for our troubles but still were left disappointed by our stay overall. The garden is lovely with plenty of plants and flowers but it is noisy because the Inn is located off the high street with a lot of traffic going past. The Indian Lounge (a restaurant located a few minutes away) served lovely food but it took two hours to get served and we started eating at 9.15pm - past hunger by then. We won't be going back there again.

    The food served at dinner was really good. The breakfast was good quality but the staff was not exactly smiling or happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    This was a holiday weekend treat we shall remember for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public car parks are very close, but their charging arrangements are a little complicated.

    The staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food was of an excellent standard and the service first class. The hotel has unusual period furniture and features combined with modern and tasteful decor. The garden was charming. I would recommend it without hesitation. If you stay here you will be comfortable and well looked after.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was wonderful but the bed was a bit firm for me.

    The breakfast was delicious especially having fresh fruit like blueberries and strawberries instead of tinned. Makes a huge difference!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Charming old hotel sympathetically modernised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downside of the charming old building was that the stairs were narrow and awkward to carry luggage up and down, and the downside of the convenient location was noise from the street. The food was quite adequate and nothing to complain about, but by no means outstanding. It does not have its own car park, but there is a public car park just behind it.

    Charming old building with lots of character, conveniently located. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The room we had was large and well equipped, our friends had a room that was rather smaller, but not at all bad.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent the first time and the second visit did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a hotel that speaks for itself ... there is nothing I could think that I I dislike

    We love this hotel ... it’s quirky and real and the people reflect that .. nothing is too much trouble ... If you want and expect a modern soul less hotel full of people who don’t care ... don’t visit this one ... it’s our second time there and both me and my partner love it the staff make it clear that if there is anything you want or need just to ask ... breakfast was lovely not over the top decent quality bacon and sausage and perfect poached eggs ... we will be going back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast portions could have been more generous & used fresh, not tinned/frozen, mushrooms.

    Friendly welcome & helpful staff throughout. The bedroom was attractively decorated & the bed comfy. Very dog friendly. Courtyard garden was beautiful & used space well to provide outside seating places.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. We stayed here on our way down the Southampton travelling from East Yorkshire, we only booked roughly 4 hrs before we set off. When we arrived there was a slight problem with the booking but the beautiful Lara on the front desk sorted everything out. We were shown to our rooms which were lovely, in fact the whole place was lovely. Had a drink in the bar, a lovely chat with a couple at the bar and the lovely Lara, went to bed which was a lovely sleep then went for our gorgeous breakfast. Just can't fault this place...if you read this Lara, have a fab holiday in Cornwall. 🤓

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Excellent character hotel nicely refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent character hotel nicely refurbished Family run Special mention to Betty and Oscar who were both fantastic and need a pay rise for excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent experience, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After returning from a late pm event there were limited parking lots.

    Overall experience was great from check in to check out. Welcoming staff, great room and the courtyard is stunningly in bloom. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area was dominated by three gentleman sat at the bar who I assume are locals. It didn't make the area very welcoming when you first arrived. The choice of conversation wasn't great, i'm well travelled & fully expect to hear things in a bar, but I would imagine some women would have been uncomfortable.

    Location was excellent & a very reasonable rate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    What a little gem of a hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get a taxi

    What a little gem of a hotel! Rooms are lovely and comfortable, staff are friendly and the breakfast was yummy. Value for money, this is a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling for business or pleasure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    The only reason I might go back is because it is closer to where I work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't great I had the vegetarian one which had extremely dry vegetable sausages, uncooked mushrooms, scrambled eggs and a spoon full of baked beans

    Nice property but I was expecting more for instance the size of the bed was small. Room size was ok not great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Place to stay for Bruntingthorpe Proving Ground 👍🏻👍🏻
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was rather poor not working very well (room 8) still able to was but not very well.

    All staff were helpful and nice gentleman on reception showed me way to room, and ladies upstairs helped me find my way out 👍🏻👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Upgrade surprise to a four poster and a peaceful read in a lovely courtyard garden. A lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to grumble about.

    We enjoyed an upgrade to a large room with a four poster bed! Parking is at the back of the property in a pay and display car park. There is a beautiful courtyard garden with outside seating that was a lovely suntrap late afternoon! Breakfast was a lovely selection with normal cereal, yoghurts to help yourself to- we enjoyed the fresh strawberries! Then a lovely full english cooked breakfast served by a very helpful lad! Room was comfortable with bathrobes hanging behind the door and big fluffy towels. Lady on reception was really nice and gave us some good recommendations of places to visit and also to eat- we went to Foxton Locks for a nice wander (20 mins by car), and the Himilayan Zest- Indian/Nepalese restaurant opposite for dinner. Our main reason for being in this area was the Armourgeddon tank driving experience I had got booked! Lutterworth quite a small town but a few important historical things to see- map available at reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    The Greyhound is the dogs.... :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the car park was well signposted, it is a pay and display so maybe should be flagged on booking.com?

    The Greyhound ticks all the boxes for someone like me. Very clean throughout, especially my room / bathroom. Decent towels. Nice atmosphere in the bar area. Very comfortable bed. The hotel has a really charming 'olde worlde' feel - you know, all exposed beams and creaky floorboards A thoroughly pleasant experience all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, excellent staff, comfy beds and good breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound proofing in our room. We could hear the couple in the room next door talking and having a shower. It felt like they were sharing the room with us. Maybe we were just unlucky this may not apply to other rooms.

    Lots of character. Owners had made a real effort with the courtyard. Dog friendly area didn't make you feel isolated. Very comfy mattress on the bed. I suffer from a bad back so this was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The quality of the room, breakfast and service did not appropriately match the £130 overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I sent my breakfast back as the scrambled egg was cold and the smoked salmon was tough and brown around the edges.Early in the morning there was a lot of noise in the corridor outside our room, possibly staff?!

    Location central to Lutterworth

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful courtyard in the middle of this old coaching inn made for an idyllic stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff all went above and beyond re our welcome, particularly our dog, Dylan, who was made a proper fuss of! We were told where would be a good place to walk him that evening (on the cricket ground up the road) and about the parking over the Bank Holiday weekend. The food we ordered for our evening meal was excellent, as was the breakfast - fresh fruit and scrambled eggs with salmon - and we both felt that the staff really couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely recommend this place and, if we are in the vicinity, would stay again without hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Will be coming back and recommending.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi connection was a bit slow for my business needs.

    The bed and duvet were really comfortable. The outlook to the middle with all the greenery is spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful comfortable stay. Will becoming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautifully presented. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very accomadating. Made me feel at ease. I think breakfast could be more of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly, convenient place to stay- thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold the first night -it was snowing- and extra heater was missing from the room. However one was promptly supplied the next day when we commented on it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel well presented with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flexible hose on shower would have been nice. I am just personally not too keen in fixed shower heads.

    Lovely quiet room with 4 poster bed and separate entrance in courtyard. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stop, will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plumbing reflects the age and character of the building - but not an issue.

    Great location, helpful staff, rooms were comfortable and full of character. Good breakfast with different choices from the standard full English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay, would happily recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm a tall man and felt that the bed could've been bigger in length. I understand that the hotel has to try and cram a lot of furniture and amenities into small spaces, to be sympathetic to the building.

    Very central location and a well kept, clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and happily help with any requests you may have.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely olde-world charm with good food and drink and a genuine welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Looking forward to my next stay at the Greyhound.

    Friendly and welcoming staff, good selection of real ales, superb food and an excellent "local" atmosphere. Clean and comfortable room with all the facilities one would expect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Wanting to get work all wrapped up early early so as to get back to the Greyhound
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's a toughie, can't think of anything. The place delivers exactly what it says on the can!

    Originality of the whole place is just perfect. Lovely relaxed atmosphere without any bother and quaint oldie worldie feel. Can't beat the location either to be able to experience the delights of Lutterworth . Can't wait for the imminent next visit

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value accommodation in central Lutterworth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public parking was immediately adjacent to the hotel and reasonably priced, but it was difficult to find a space during the day on a busy Saturday.

    Room was full of character, while being comfortable with all expected facilities; shower was hot and powerful. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was comprehensive, with the hot options being beautifully cooked and of satisfying, but sensible, proportions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was lovely- vegetarian option was really tasty and home cooked Staff were happy to put some cereal out for me as I had to breakfast early

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant old Coaching Inn with plenty of character and has most comforts required for today
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like a grab handle on the bath /shower ,as being quite elderly I my balance is not too good. I think that I made the same comment when I stayed at the hotel several years ago

    We only had breakfast and that was a full English breakfast which we certainly needed as we were about to move a boat during these icy conditions!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, great accommodation and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small but well furnished and comfortable.

    Comfortable accommodation in a great location in the centre of Lutterworth. Great staff and food very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value and you won’t be disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little bland... could do with sourcing a new sausage supplier.. positive note.. had to be the ‘healthiest’ full English I’ve ever had.

    Evening was great... the room had wow factor for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and convenient but quite expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very rubbery and hot. No ventilation other than window behind secondary glazing. Throb of music from somewhere nearby until 22h30. Shower head loose so water only poured onto tap end of bath. Loo seat wonky. (These last two mentioned to Reception on departure).

    All staff very friendly and efficient. Room well equipped. Excellent quick dinner (salmon pasta and glass of wine) in the bar. Healthy options in breakfast buffet. Attractive courtyard, would be lovely in summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    the most dog friendly hotel we have ever stayed in!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was a bit cramped with furniture and was a bit dark

    this is probably the most dog friendly hotel we have ever stayed in - the staff were so lovely and couldn't have made us and our dog any more welcome! the food was great and the pub had live music on the Friday which was great - very friendly locals!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Central Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hanging space in the room (shelf with pole underneath that had hangers on it) could have been better and more in keeping with the other furniture in the room. Also the desk in the room had lamps, kettle and tray on so no room for laptop to work on unless you cleared it.

    Central location and easy parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    Room was cold and had no real radiator
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cold, shower door hanging off, no iron or ironing board, no wardrobe De-humidifier in the room which was not a good sign

    Room was cold and had no real radiator I was on the ground floor and could hear everything from the room upstairs Shame as gardens are lovely and bar is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    Average, apart for the lady in reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very poor in the room

    The lady on reception was very helpful when we arrived and I enjoyed the breakfast which had a good selection of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel just in the perfect position for attending the wedding at the local URC..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for car park

    The food was excellent and the waitress (called Beth) did an amazing job considering our party of 20 all arrived for breakfast at the same time and over whelmed the restaurant. She smiled and was helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    was fine for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were checking in, a man (who it transpires was the chef) came over to the receptionist and leaned over whispering to her. Found this odd behaviour and quite rude and the receptionist appeared to as well as she looked rather uncomfortable.....this has affected my rating of the staff which is a shame as the ladies on reception were both lovely and helpful and extremely polite. You have to pay for parking on a pay and display car park so had to get up early to ensure we were covered.

    Very pretty courtyard garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay in a delightful historic and comfortable coaching inn.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like. It was all good.

    The hotel is so lovely, we plan to stay again. The food was good and the staff so friendly and helpful. One the of the most enjoyable hotel stays we've had for quite some time. Definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Very welcoming and a really happy, Sunday enjoyable family reunion.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I was only there for three nights and most of my days were spent with family away from the hotel I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

    The staff were very helpful particularly as I have a food intolerance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, perfect for a short getaway if a little pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the room wasn't great and the breakfast wasn't the best. I'd say the hotel was on the expensive side but we did enjoy our stay.

    Lovely old fashioned room, with a very comfortable bed and everything you would need for a short stay. We asked for the beds pushed together and they were happy to fulfill our request.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Staff did the best with the place they're working
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actually room was really small and the place just seemed really run down. The cushions smelt horrible and it seemed really old.

    Staff were really nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room facilities could be improved. Toilet cistern faulty Door to bathroom did not close Tele channels limited

    Staff were very efficient ,attentive and friendly Food was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel but room cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and when we asked it seems that they had not switched the heating on, even though it was September and not very warm outside. The shower in the room had a very cheap shower head, more like a tap. Overall, the hotel was good but could have been excellent with more attention to detail.

    The breakfast was very good for the standard of hotel. We had a bar lunch that was also good. The bar has a very wide range of beer and wine. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Bad bad chemical smell in bedroom so unable to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) the room smelled overwhelmingly of chemicals ?possibly due to a new carpet. we had all the windows open due to the toxic odour - which made it very loud as next to car park / deliveries etc. 2) Would not have stayed, once we had smelled the room, had we had a realistic option of somewhere else to stay. Staff strangely unapologetic about it. 3) we arrived about 11pm and asked about parking: 'don't know' so had to get up before 8am to move the car - a little frustrating that no advice was offered.

    very comfortable beds (but slept poorly due to smell). decent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely faultless!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication from the initial booking was prompt - error on my part regarding date of booking was rectified immediately with no issues at all. From the moment I walked in, I was made very welcome, late entry to the the property & breakfast times explained. The room was absolutely spotless with a lovely selection of drinks and toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable with good quality bedding. I had the full English breakfast which was faultless. Check out was very quick & efficient. From entering until leaving I was always met with a smile from all staff. I would highly recommend The Greyhound!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    A lovely stay in a beautiful old coaching inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too hard for me but my husband slept well!

    Staff went out of their way to be accommodating, especially the receptionist and the breakfast chef. Always greeted with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable friendly stay in a characterful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding was a bit hot, though room well ventilated and comfortable. Car parking: in a public, pay & display carpark which meant we had to pay the night before unless we were leaving before 8am - not a lot, but didn't expect to pay at all! Minor things in a very happy stay!

    Very friendly and helpful staff; good atmosphere with both locals and residents; very well stocked bar; food good; excellent breakfast; property old and with character; very well located just off the M1.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot even with the window left open during the night. and we both suffered throughout both nights of our stay and got very little sleep. We were miserable. Breakfast was okay but the server both mornings was very poor and unfriendly.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast, bar food or restaurant as an option,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too large for this room to access clothes

    Great breakfast, bar food or restaurant as an option, helpful staff. Good location with easy parking nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Visited for Business would definitly come back for a pleasure visit.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't fault it - food good, rooms excellent and staff brilliant.

    Quaint Coaching Inn with very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely come again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A real gem
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No car park to the hotel, but a very good public one at rear of hotel. Free during the night. One evening it was full so we had to park elsewhere.

    Wonderful find. Staff were so nice and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. Lovely room (we had a 4 poster one) Great size tv. Best we have seen in a hotel. One you could see easily from the bed!. Gardens although small were stunning, much hard work had gone into them and everyone who walked through them en route to the bar commented on them. Breakfast had excellent selection. We had smoked salmon & scrambled eggs each morning. Great selection of gins in the bar! Would happily recommend and would def return if in the area. Evening meals were great as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    2nd visit but not as good as last time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, some bar staff to interested in chatting to locals than serving....locals very loud and swearing constantly So atmosphere wasn't great for a quiet drink and eating.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    4.6
    Give it a miss.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the main road. Noise from the person staying in the next room, not their fault. Lack of any attention to Sound Proofing. Breakfast was poor - over cooked egg, Baked Beans were some of the worst I've come across, sausage was tasteless, far too many over cooked mushrooms, coffee?? Staff, totally uninterested, didn't even ask if everything was Ok. Breakfast waitress appeared to be operating like a robot! Bit of luck I wasn't a hotel inspector!

    Convenient to where I needed to go in the morning, but that would not be enough to get me to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Great quirky old historic building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room had double bed and it was difficult to pass the bed to use wardrobe. I have stayed here many times before without issue.

    Food is always delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Pub is awesome, room not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small and we had no room for our luggage anywhere. We had to place it on the floor next to the bed and walk on top of it to get to the bed. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. There were spider webs in the bathroom and a spider to match it. Yuk!

    The barmaids were extremely nice and fun to speak with. Tina is great!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great stay at a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent nice decor and layout. Parking at the back is secure and free on saturday after 6pm and Sunday. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    It was a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    As we walked through the yard into the hotel we were very impressed by the planting in the old chimney pots. The receptionist was very friendly, the room was well furnished, breakfast was good. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    From the moment we arrived, the young staff made us feel most welcome and everything was done with a smile and infectious enthusiasm...nothing was too much trouble and it was all done with such a practised ease. There is a small well-laid out restaurant, but we ordered dinner from a superbly varied menu and enjoyed it in a small ante-room at a large oak table. The staff were both brilliant in their service and also in their desire to occasionally plonk down by us on a chair and chat to us for a few minutes, which I found most enjoyable..as was the fact the chef, obviously passionate about his work, also came out after dinner to see that we were happy with his fare..indeed we were!. Spending probably too long in their well-stocked bar, we were very well looked after by another bubbly & very happy young lady (with a captivating Geordie accent), behind the bar who obviously enjoyed her work... and her infectious enthusiasm just made us all smile and again feel we were still in our home village pub rather than merely a guest in a 'hotel'.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room on top floor - lugging a suitcase etc no joke. Previous visit had been much better value. Ensuite door did not close.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Luxurious friendly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was a little small so very full when busy but this did add to the cosy feel of the place.

    The staff were extra friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and true to the theme of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, unique, friendly place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only a shower in some rooms due to space, I quite like a bath.

    I cant say enough about this hotel. It is old, has a unique atmosphere and character, beds to die for. All the rooms I have stayed in are unique, not plastic and uniform. The staff are friendly, helpful and remember you and your likes and dislikes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely pub with cosy room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room whilst great was awkward to get to with several bags including briefcase. Plus I think the pipes were noisy if someone flushed their loo. But really didnt detract from my stay

    Extras in the room and well thought out room, comfortable and warm, great TV mobile signal etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Warm Wellcome & working by a wood stove
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating needed to be put on earlier in the rooms

    Characterful Coaching Inn. Wood stove and really lovely welcoming staff, excellent food, 4 poster bed -all very very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.7
    Hotel with character close to Magna Park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit too many mirrors in the 4-poster bed rooms. Five mirrors in the main room alone felt a bit excessive.

    Clean rooms and friendly staff. Feels a bit like Fawlty Towers :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    VERY GOOD AND WILL STAY AGAIN WHEN IN AREA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant had been closed for a number of years and whilst breakfast was served in a nice room it was disappointing that we couldn't eat in the unusual vaulted restaurant

    Very nice hotel with comfortable furnishings, clean and tidy and a lovely courtyard/garden area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.9
    Stay in Lutterworth
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi is spotty in some areas. Ensure you have a room in the main area in order to conduct business.

    The room was large and the staff was able to assist with room relocation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.5
    room 9 should be a single not a double
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small,bed much too large for room, hot water in bathroom dangerously hot, fire alarm went of around 23.30 for no apparent reason,very limited parking.

    Very nice staff and good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: