Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Groes Inn 5 stars

Tyn y Groes, Conwy, LL32 8TN, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Conwy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 523 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The switch of one bedside light was unstable. Otherwise, very fine.

    Friendly staff and very nice pub and restaurant. The room has an excellent view. Free wifi was available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.5
    The staff, atmosphere, location and rooms were all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a mini fridge. Menu could maybe have a few more options with more exciting flavours on.

    The staff, atmosphere, location and rooms were all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Very comfy bed, spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a little slow and they didn't have the kippers on which were on the menu along with a dirty side plate made breakfast disappointing.

    Very comfy bed, spectacular views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel full of character. Photos are the view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One male member of staff was anything but friendly even to the other staff. Everything else was very good.

    Location was amazing, although a little remote, which we like but others may not. The food was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful apart from one member. It would have been nice to have a separate lounge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    would eat here again, but not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, was poorly maintained with the bath taps not working, toiletries empty, bath mat dirty, and the headboard smelt of stale cigarette smoke.

    The evening meal was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food needs to be more consistent and the decor is a little tired and some repairs are needed. Also, the level of cleanliness needs to be looked at such as stains on the bedding.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was great. The breakfast was excellent but some of the other meals were hit and miss and sometimes quite disappointing. The staff were also very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was trouble with the cold water tap which wouldn't come on straight away and then did, explosively, all over us. Also, white onion soup was the daily special for three days in a row.

    The comfortable bed, the balcony view over the fields of sheep and cattle, the excellent food and the beautiful bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work although we only wanted to watch the news in the evening.

    Room lovely. Stayed in room 9. Views from the room fantastic. Lovely food in the restaurant. Staff friendly and helpful. Evening meals were excellent.Breakfast well prepared and generous helpings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Good location. Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but in need of refurbishment Service at breakfast in restaurant was poor. They lost our order so had to reorder. Ended up waiting 40 mins for breakfast

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect getaway...only sound was the bleating of sheep! Spacious room, large bathroom( we stayed in the main building) in this proprty dating back to 1573. It has been refurbished to a high degree of excellence. Food was superb and service was both friendly and prompt. 10 mins drive to Conway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A slight criticism might be that the bedroom doors could not be closed quietly: they slammed shut. Something to listen to before a refurbishment.

    Easy to find, pleasant to stay, great view out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay with a dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the quality of the breakfast really good, but not so impressed with the evening meal - service was great though!

    The staff here really make you feel welcome and are so dog-friendly. This was the reason we returned, as we knew we would be warmly welcomed and our dog too! The breakfast is really good and very good portions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Handy location and a nice pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful but they were very overworked and complaining of shortages. Due to a problem with the chef, breakfast took over an hour to arrive on day 1 and then was nothing like what we had ordered, is it just me??? It was freshly cooked and very tasty. Later that day, after being assured all was well, we had to wait half an hour for the sweet to arrive - walked out at that point. The hotel is on a busy road with no footpath, so there is nowhere to walk. Fire alarm went off at 0700 on Sunday - told by management it was due to a fault. Other residents told us this was the third time this had happened in a week.

    Good location, friendly staff. Large room and bed but the décor in ours was a bit tired. Good range of beers and wines. Reasonably priced food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely meal on the evening and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault the place we only booked for one night as we were traveling around North Wales for the first time

    We had a lovely meal on the evening and the breakfast was very good , the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and a good pint of beer in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    A nice historical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 14 - the cool room noise/vibration.

    The food is superb, I felt a bit guilty knocking back the cooked breakfast later in our stay as I was simply gaining weight a bit too fast at this location! The dinner options were great and would have liked to try them more than just the one night that we did as they were good value too - but we were catching up with rellies the other nights. Room 19 is the largest one with two separate areas (lounge + bedroom area). We were initially put in room 14 which sits on top of their cool room and the vibrations from the heat pumps could be heard and felt in the room - the hotel turned off one of the fans so we got a good night's sleep on the first night but obviously keeping beer cool is important and so is guest comfort so we got moved into that much nicer room 19. Rooms 17-19 are in the main building and would be my pick if coming back. Parking is easy and free (pretty rare in the UK I found) - I originally found this hotel in a list of EV charging points when I was considering renting a Tesla for my trip - they've got 3 or 4 charging points.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place for a few days trip to Snowdonia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not enough choice for gluten free meals and breakfast. The service was a little haphazard although the staff were reasonably friendly.

    Its was a lovely location, the facilities were good, the decore was a little tired but it was clean and comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    beautiful location, amazing food and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the rooms very comfortable but would expect a bit more sound proofing. first room was right about the bar and could hear every conversation underneath us. moved to a second room and was woken at 7am by the guests in the room above us.

    Food (evening and breakfast) was 5star. All the staff polite, friendly , and really worked hard to ensure a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    overall ok as we like the location but may not return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have visited several times and I thought that the level of cleanliness and décor in the bedroom and bathrooms had deteriorated. The carpets in the lounge area still had the remains and crumbs from the previous day on them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Sheep farm was interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Lots of mosquitos and insects - No airconditioner so we had to open windows which led in a hoard of insects - Furniture looks a bit worn out - Should have more front desk/ restaurant staff as nobody was at the desk when I wanted to check in at 7pm

    - We had room 4 on the ground floor, and it had a small patio facing a vast sheep farm. There were some sheeps roaming over towards us and it was picture-worthy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is on the side of a road which can be noisy, and also there wasn't much to do once you're inside or in the immediate area around the Inn. Didn't feel like this stay was good value for money.

    The breakfast choices were great, and the beds comfortable and rooms a decent size. The food in the restaurant was lovely and had good portion sizes, although drinks seemed expensive. There is a nice view from the garden area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, peaceful and very comfortable. I've already booked my next visit!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular, although room rate includes breakfast - which I believe is fabulous, but I tend not to eat breakfast, so room only rate would be helpful.

    Beautiful room with a patio & great view. Relaxing. Slept well as bed was comfortable, it was dark, quiet & peaceful. Nice toiletries. Lovely meal in the restaurant, staff attentive. Electric car charging too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to fault, except that the service in the restaurant didn't seem too well organised; not a major problem and the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast the first morning also a bit disorganised, but I was first in!

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. It's a lovely hotel with very comfortable rooms. Both breakfast and evening meals were very good from a food point of view. Good base for exploring north Wales.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Historical inn with nice restourant and fine meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain. But the Inn for sure does’t fit to category of 5* boutique hotels. 4* would be more correct rating.

    Historical inn with nice restourant and fine meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    A remote pub with poor facilities and living on its proximity to Conway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing especially the shower - room was quite tired.Food no better than a pub. Manager did not give us any respect with his response to the cold showers.

    The rural location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second booking made on our trip using booking.com on the day of our stay and in each case they didn't have a record of our reservation. We were fortunate rooms were available for us.

    The included breakfast was great, the croissants were the best I have ever had. The large bed was a plus, not available many places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marks on the bedroom carpet and bedroom chair.pity.

    Location. Friendly staff. small comfortable area for a drink.lovely patio area. Excellent breakfast.very comfortable,large bed. Views of the hills.plenty of parking space. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.0
    Very Good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, Privacy, Fab in the summer as lovely country views, Lovely accommodations. Would recommend.

    I loved there breakfast, cooked perfectly, people friendly & weather was perfect I was very lucky. I would consider staying again next time I am up that way. The dog loved it as well as were left alone no hassle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait an hour to get a taxi to the property.

    The Inn was beautiful and historic. The owner was helpful and attentive. The hotel is 3 miles outside of Cnwy. This is both a plus and a minus. We had to take a taxi to get the property. On the plus side, the setting is idyllic and relaxing. The Inn is surrounded by pastures and bleating sheep, which was a nice respite from the tourism of Cnwy. The dining was also exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely weekend stay - would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why do we always get a room on the first floor when we have heavy bags?! (Altho staff did offer to help)

    Beautifully appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely meal in the restaurant, and good breakfast. Would happily recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    This was a celebration for my husband's 50th and I can't imagine staying anywhere better.Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was the nicest room I have ever stayed in and it did not affect our enjoyment of this wonderful place, however if you looked closely there was a layer of dust on the bedside table legs and the wallpaper was worn in places.

    The view from room was outstanding. It was quiet at night. The food was out of this world. All the staff were really friendly and helpful but especially Allison who helped when I had a problem with the booking and went out of her way to ease my worries.The bed was the largest i have ever slept in and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent base for exploring the surrounding countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we travelled with a 90 year old she found stepping into the bath/shower quite difficult - high sides on the bath.

    Rooms spacious and comfortable, staff very friendly and obliging, menu varied and reasonably priced. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Peacefully countryside inn with fine rooms and great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've stayed at the Groes Inn several times in the past. This season they have updated to make it even better. Very good restaurant! The rooms were large and comfy. Located about 15 minutes from Conwy city centre. Peaceful countryside inn!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and bed in friendly pub/hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast slow. We went for breakfast towards the end of the time slot and the buffet table was looking very depleted. The room was a little shabby (stains on carpet).

    Very comfortable room and bed in friendly pub/hotel. Good location for accessing Conway and Bodnant gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Could have been brilliant... Turned out average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was disgusting, rooms wall paper decor was a little dated. Did deduct a sum from the bill for the uncleanness but in my opinion no where near 5* accommodation ( a low 4* at best)

    Staff were brilliant, food was good and brought out in a timely manner, room was spacious, views and location were spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small seating area around bar with the staff work station behind settee - always staff standing behind us when we sat on settee. Needs larger lounge area as only two tables.

    Good sized room and good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable. Good food too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little bit shabby in the room. Bathroom could do with some updating.

    Very good room, comfy bed, ‘tired’ but still very acceptable bathroom. Lovely view, good to be able to sit outside on private patio. Good food in the restaurant and excellent poached eggs at breakfast! Reception lady was lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful view, dogs made welcome,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 15, quite dark and dull. Furniture very dull, dressing table obscured window, chair in room stained, hairdryer poor quality, quite dusty in places. Booking . Com web states wine or champagne in room but nil.

    Beautiful view, dogs made welcome,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    It was ok but nothing special, would not return,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 4 rooms at a total cost of £1,050. cobwebs when we arrived, 1 rooms toilet failed to re-fill, 1 room bath didn't empty, not cleaned or serviced after our 1st night , no aplology, friend handed clean pillow slips to do herself, grumpy staff, (extremely polite manager) no better than an average pub to be fair. Been in travel lodges as good. Beer excellent by the way.

    Bed was comfy, room was large

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Already said.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room/bed was very comfy, the food was good but the service was a bit slow & we didn't always get everything we ordered. The receptionist was very friendly/welcoming. We would stay again, but wouldn't rush back. but would recommend the accommodation to others, with a few caviats.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful second stay, will definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was nice and clean, but a little tired. With hotel having been closed for a kitchen overhaul a little tlc in the rooms would have been great

    Service, food and staff all great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful !
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little tired, could do with a little update. but still very comfortable!

    We had a lovely stay here. A comfortable hotel fantastic location, views across the valley amazing , staff very friendly, great service , food excellent . would definitely return !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Would be really happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments.

    I arrived and was treated by very friendly staff that showed me to my room. The room was large, very well presented and was clearly the best I have stayed in during the visit to England,Scotland and Wales so far. The staff in the dining room were again friendly and engaging and the food was high quality. The environment/ view surrounding the premises was magnificent. A very relaxed and enjoyable stay, pity it was only one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, good valur for money considering the location and facilities etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the way that the promo price on booking.com wasn't passed on to the hotel but I didn't question it or complain as it was only a few pounds and more than likely not the hotels fault.

    The food here is always great, breakfast in particular. Nice and comfy beds and the water pressure for showering is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Good, but not as good as it used to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 14 was very noisy - located next to fans / generator. The food was disappointing. Used to be the highlight of my stay but very average now.

    Great location, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Shame !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired,damp stains,blood stain on bedding !!!staff inconsiderate.Staff were putting breakfast set up round us ,having a romantic meal ,food average !!! In the bar a member of staff was cleaning cutlery and throwing it loudly into reseptacles ,almost faulty towers isk !!!we have stayed many times over 18 years ,so sad ,since it has been taken over by Jw Lees ,the family run touch ,attention to detail and olde world charm and up keep has gone 😣

    Oldie world,charachter ,large room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was sadly not up to the standard of the accommodation.

    The welcome and the accommodating friendly staff who sorted out a booking error with good humour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Bedroom was lovely, food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went for breakfast in the morning. We sat in the conservatory (where other people were sat eating breakfast) and we told that we were sat on a table that was set for dinner and we had to move.. even though is was 9am and as already mentioned, other people were eating breakfast in there. I just found this a little odd.

    Bedroom was lovely, food was great. Whole building was delightful, the Inn was very pretty to look at inside and out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful! Don't hesitate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like. Toilet some trouble flushing but am sure that's an easy fix.

    Room decor was absolutely lovely. -Room was perfectly warm and a generous large size. - Coffee, tea, water etc. - The bathroom well appointed with lovely products, clean, lovely towels, modern and also tastefully decorated. - bed was so comfortable with excellent quality linen. - dinner at the Inn was delicious (we had lamb). - service and staff lovely efficient, and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Only a short stay but very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    some staff although very good ,seemed a little disorganised at times

    Lovely , helpful,friendly staff ,fabulous big comfy room overlooking fields and hills, lovely food,great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached eggs were overdone Bed too hard for me but no one else complained

    Accommodation was excellent. Lees beer very good. Dinner was very enjoyable Beautiful snow filled views Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, excellent location.. our room had view and patio facing the mountains, really beautiful . And despite the cold weather room was very warm. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant Find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for this bed and breakfast.Room brilliant nice and warm massive bed.Only stayed one night but will stay again.Had evening meal which was great and good value.Breakfast was also good but with only one person serving (who was very good) was struggling on her own.All in all 10/10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    A very nice stay. would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cracked tiles on bathroom floor. No fluffy dressing gowns or hair dryer.

    Bed very comfortable. Nice and warm. Excellent view. Peaceful. Lovely toiletries. Excellent and delicious food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all - all was excellent

    Very friendly and helpful staff, balcony rooms have an amazing view, accommodation feels remote and quiet whilst being only 15 minute’s drive from the lively resort of Llandudno. Room is spacious and very comfortable. We loved having the convenience of being next to the pub - could have a drink without having to worry about driving back. All in all perfect :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Quality inn in all aspects except for soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had room on ground level near road Better soundproofing would be advised for complete comfort

    All the staff were very courteous and friendly Food and beverages were good quality Inn was full of character and very interesting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably a bit on the pricey as the bathroom,s are getting a bit tatty now

    Excellent views As I booked our rooms with a balcony over looking the Welsh hills and the staff very very friendly 👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay at an old favourite, still got it despite the years in between!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the connection with Great Orme brewery. Previously the Groes Ale and one guest beer was provided by them and I’m afraid the beer from J W Lees just didn’t cut it. Please introduce a guest beer from the many excellent local N Wales breweries.

    The food was fabulous and the breakfasts were especially delicious. Dinner on the first night was very good indeed and the late traditional Sunday Lunch we had was very good indeed. All the staff we came in contact with were lovely and helpful, we were made to feel welcome. Rooms were very comfortable, too. Glad to see some standards have not slipped!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Cosy stay, delightful Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit dated, showing signs of age, cracked tiles & a cracked basin. The kippers my partner had for breakfast was we think microwaved as very hard.

    Warm, cosy inn with very welcoming bar staff on arrival. The room was lovely with the biggest bed we have ever seen. The meal in the evening was lovely, the restaurant was very nicely decorated, comfortable to sit and unwind after a day out in Conwy. The full English breakfast in the morning was a good size and very tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Our stay at the Groes was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. The manageress was a very caring person and would do anything to help. The meals were very good especially the breakfast, which was second to none.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great food, great atmosphere, great staff, everything is top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an incredible stay at the Groes Inn. beautiful accomodation and very spacious room. All the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly, were responsive to the message I had left about proposing to my girlfriend that weekend and were full of congratulations upon seeing us. Nothing was too much of an ask and the food was incredible. Will definitely be returning here in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful, fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything, from arrival to leaving was fantastic Room was wonderful, view breathtaking, bed was huge & soothingly comfortable, food was gorgeous and large portions, staff were all very friendly and very professional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    Nice location for the coast. Comfortable room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good but the service could have been better. Evening meal was a let down. You had to walk your dogs on the road for their morning and evening walks.

    The bed was very comfy and excellent on-suite facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The room was beautiful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was beautiful. If you want to see Snowdonia National Park, this is the best place to stay. The location is perfect. The staff is wonderful and accommodating to all needs. I will go back for sure. My little dog Gracie loved it as well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend is the grows in to anyone staying in North Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the inn for four nights. The room was lovely the staff friendly and the food excellent. It was very convenient to have the restaurant and pub attached to the inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. I'll go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked either grapefruit segments or fruit salad with breakfast rather than a fruit bowl. Ran out of Creme Brulee for evening meal, it was really the only option I wanted.

    Lovely place, great rooms and good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    We totally enjoyed our stay at the Groes Inn and we highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could be advised to pay more attention to topping up the various toiletry items in the bathroom.

    The overall ambiance of the property and the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay for us and i was with two 87 year old parents and one dog!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all good.

    the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The restaurant was so good that we eat there all four nights we stayed. The hotel is exceptionally dog friendly. Will go back no doubt!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, well appointed and enjoyable stay, well be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had requested in advance a table in the restaurant and got confirmation however we were offered table in the conservatory. The view was very great but the table was sticky and no table cloth.

    Atmospheric and comfortable. Very convenient stopping off point on journey to Ireland. Friendly staff, good food and two of the best Bloody Marys ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening food could have been better was just average used to be great. Pub a little tired needs new carpets, cushions and a paint job but still ok. Did have character which is a plus.

    Loved the showers, beds and rooms and the fab breakfasts but toast was cold otherwise great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Magical, would love to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was a great memorable experience.

    Beautiful property, beautiful rooms as well, great staff, wonderful pub full of character and a great breakfast as well, would definitely recommend for a writer's retreat or for rest and relaxation if a car is at hand (generally challenging to move around different parts of North Wales for sightseeing without car).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Quiet and scenic location outside Conway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight issue with plumbing noises from the room above (loud knocking pipe) but staff are going to look into this now it is reported.

    Lovely views onto the countryside from the terrace of our ground floor room. The meals at the Inn were tasty and nicely presented. Breakfast was lovely with good choices of cooked breakfast including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, and mackerel. The shower was fantastic! Very powerful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    If I am in that area again. this is the hotel I would stay in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on the third evening meal, the staff service poor. this was after the holiday weekend. I put this down to tiredness.

    The hotel was very busy due to a bank holiday weekend, but the staff were still helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Walhalla in Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was heaven, so nothing to report on the negative side.

    EVERYTHING! Spacious rooms, well equipped, staff are welcoming and friendly, food was lovely, beakfast was great, especialy being seated under the grapevine in the conservatory, terrace had a view to kill for over the hill with the sheep coming right to the fence. Small details left for guests in the room make the experience complete, spacious bath with shower in an light and airy bathroom. The historic pub, the view, the friendliness...this was Wales at its very best!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Our stay was enjoyable but fell short of expectations in some respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very poor cell phone Internet reception in the room. We had to go downstairs to the bar for a connection, which was not ideal due to presence of other patrons. We had been to this inn before when it was under previous management. The dinner menu is much more creative and ambitious but the kitchen couldn't seem to pull it off. There is a new inn and restaurant in town and the food was much better there.

    The property is under new ownership, and the onsite management is trying very hard to be helpful to guests. Our room was spacious, and we appreciated the special line of toiletries they provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly welcoming staff at a comfortable hotel in a beautiful part of Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was a bit disappointing for a Michelin listed 'pub'.

    Lovely friendly spot in the beautiful Conway valley. Well equipped and maintained bedrooms, perhaps a bit on the pricey side. Disappointed with the food though (and the tinkling restaurant music!)...perhaps a result of keeping an all day kitchen, though a very fairly priced wine list. We were made very welcome throughout our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: